Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 298 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

298 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
211
4 stars
52
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
14
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 243 total reviews
Looks good and lasts forever
11/8/2009

Customer review by heaterd

5.0 stars by heaterd

I had to write a review on this product. My mother-in-law wants a good can opener, and she likes ours, so I decided to check out Walmart to see if they had it. Turns out they do have it, and at a good price. I have owned this can opener for 6 or 7 years now, and haven't had a single problem out of it. The price is right and it looks great too. I can attest to its longevity and its ease of use. It's also very easy to clean. I can't say anything bad about it.

Was this review helpful? (200) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
heaterd
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Buy
3/14/2008

Customer review by Annd

5.0 stars by Annd

I had my previous can opener for about 10 years! I updated because the kitchen was remodeled. Before this (my final purchase), I bought a name brand one, opened the package and the thing practically feel apart in my hands- horrible quality, I didn't realize it was even legal to make and sell a product in that condition. I went to the store horrified and bought an old fashion hand use manual can opener, it couldn't even open one can! Finally, I researched online, this can opener had good reviews so I took a chance. It meets my standards. It works good, fast, and is sturdy!

Was this review helpful? (100) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Annd
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BEST CAN OPENER ON THE MARKET
3/3/2010

Customer review by RussianEnigma

5.0 stars by RussianEnigma

Point blank: I have MS, arthritis, and carpal tunnel & this is the first opener I didn't have to fight to pierce the can, it opens like butter & holds the can securely by itself while opening & when finished. Awesome product! Don't miss!!

Was this review helpful? (75) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RussianEnigma
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best One Weve Bought
7/8/2008

Customer review by Twofurone

5.0 stars by Twofurone

We have gone through about four or five can openers in the past five year, some on sale at another store, but "looked" good enough. Inevitably, they would either just fall apart while using it, or in the case of the "hands-free" opener, not only would changing batteries be and inconvenience, but it also would get caught in the label on the can and jam up on us. This Hamilton Beach opener is great for tall cans, it doesn't get caught in the label, and works great every time. No complaints and for the price, it's a super value if you want something that is durable and dependable.

Was this review helpful? (68) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Twofurone
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
CAN OPENER
4/30/2008

Customer review by TEACHERINNY

5.0 stars by TEACHERINNY

LOVE IT..WORKS SMOOTH AND FAST!

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TEACHERINNY
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent can opener for those with arthritis
3/4/2014

Customer review by Prtyeyes

5.0 stars by Prtyeyes

This product is so easy to use and cuts the can with a smooth cut. It's a heavy can opener so you don't have to worry about it tipping over. I have arthritis and using a hand can opener hurts my hands. I highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a excellent can opener for under 20.00 you can beat it!!

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Prtyeyes
Taylorsville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Really good buy but use it carefullly
12/27/2013

Customer review by Elysant

4.0 stars by Elysant

After a string of can openers breaking, I researched and found this one. It had great reviews and I thought it would last. It worked great. we've had it for about 2 years, and we've had no problems at all, but on Christmas Day, I needed to use it, and the metal part instead of allowing the piece that punctures the can go down, bent on contact with the can, and there was no way to repair or use it. I was stuck, and we finally unearthed a really bad old hand can opener, and had to struggle with that. I like this product. I just don't know why that happened suddenly with it. I guess I'd recommend it, but just watch how you use it. I don't really know how it bent, and it would have to be as I was preparing Christmas Dinner. I'm going to replace it, perhaps with the same one, as I have until now been very happy with it, but I might look at other models too. See what they have at my store. One thing, it is difficult for my small hands to pick up and move easily - have to use both hands. Design I guess.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Elysant
N. E. Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice Can Opener
11/3/2008

Customer review by loves2cook

5.0 stars by loves2cook

We were in a great need of a new can opener. I saw this one and I liked the sleekness of the design. WoW! What a wonderful can opener...very easy to use, love the looks and it is extremely quiet! Very good product, good price and good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
loves2cook
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Frustrating!
6/7/2012

Customer review by Sandy98765

1.0 stars by Sandy98765

I got this because of the great reviews but after a month of use my husband said this has to go!! He was trying to open some simple tuna cans and it was tearing off the paper and not cutting right. We had a bit of trouble when we first started using it but thought we would get the "hang" of it. But no we could not make it do even the simple things it was designed to do ~ open a can. So back it went. I wish it had worked.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sandy98765
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheap construction
12/31/2009

Customer review by whinnybritches

1.0 stars by whinnybritches

This can opener is pretty but that's as far as it goes. It is true, it does not do well opening larger cans, and it often does let them spill. It is difficult to get a can seated and started and takes a few tries to get it going. Lastly, the little arm that holds the magnet is made of cheap pot metal coated in chrome. I've only used this can opener maybe 50 times and the little arm holding the magnet broke off. Now, my lids sink into the can and I have to fish them out. The magnet is a vital feature. More thought should have been put into the engineering of the little arm that holds the magnet so that it would not break off.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
whinnybritches
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
really good can opener is the best A++
10/29/2013

Customer review by muneka0117

5.0 stars by muneka0117

I been having my can opener already for 7years and still working the same then when I bought it highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
muneka0117
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
How can it be called a can opener when it won't?
7/30/2012

Customer review by veriedisappointed

1.0 stars by veriedisappointed

Bought this can opener to replace one we've had for many years that finally bit the dust. Took it out of the box and set it on the counter. Tried to use it for the first time 3 days later...it didn't have enough power to open the can...kept stalling out. Did this on several cans. Unfortunately, I had already thrown away the box and reciept...I mean, come on...it's a can opener! Why would it not work? Went today and bought a Cuisinart from Bed Bath & Beyond. Very nice piece that should last for a long time. Don't waste your time & money with this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
veriedisappointed
Knoxville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Drops can after it's completely opened
12/12/2008

Customer review by QueenKing

2.0 stars by QueenKing

I'm very disappointed. I've had this opener for several weeks and on two occassions I've had the can fall to the counter top once it was opened and it made a big mess!

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
QueenKing
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Can Opener I ever owned !!!
3/20/2012

Customer review by Lynneal

5.0 stars by Lynneal

I can't believe this can opener for the price. I have owned many can openers but this one by far is simply the best. Its attractive and runs smooth with a very quiet operation. Honestly I can't find one fault with it. In my opinion if you are looking for quality at the right price, you definitely can't go wrong with this can opener.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lynneal
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great can opener
8/3/2014

Customer review by Nominumbre

5.0 stars by Nominumbre

I love this can opener, it Is the second time I have purchased this can opener. I broke the first one after 6 years of use, but, immediately purchased the same thing.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nominumbre
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really Nice!!!
9/14/2012

Customer review by Jessicaleah91

5.0 stars by Jessicaleah91

i got this for a wedding gift and i love it... i love how it can come apart for cleaning and how you can move the magnetic piece for different sized cans... although the first time me and my husband used it we put the can on and both walked away and it dropped the can... i guess its not as strong as i thought it would be and since then i stand there and kinda hold the can while its going so it dont fall.. but other then that its really nice...

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jessicaleah91
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love my new can opener!
8/16/2011

Customer review by Kirar

4.0 stars by Kirar

I bought this can opener in a pinch because the one we had just wouldn't cut anymore. I brought this home and after a little assembly (and I do mean little. All you have to do is attach the handle) it was ready to go! It also has a nice compartment in the back where you can store the cord out of sight when not in use. I love this can opener! The only thing I would change is that it is a little bulky. Not bad at all but if you are tight on space you may want to measure it. But overall, I love love love this thing!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kirar
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Difficult to work
2/12/2011

Customer review by DogTrainer15801

1.0 stars by DogTrainer15801

I purchases this for my mother who is sight impaired but even I couldn't get it to work. It ripped the paper off the can and did nothing else. She bought a manaul opener.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DogTrainer15801
DuBois PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Weak motor and not steady
6/18/2010

Customer review by jbjohnsa30

1.0 stars by jbjohnsa30

I bought this to replace my old wore out can opener based on its mid-scale price and appearance. Boy I was dissapointed when I opened my first can of tamales. The can opener groaned and stuggled with the weight. I also had to hold on to the can opener so it would not fall over which makes hands free worthless. I am goining to return this and replace it with something that has a broader base and a heavier motor. Also the knife sharpener is not the grinding wheel type so it doesn't actually sharpen a knife. It just hones it smooth like a steel would do.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jbjohnsa30
Mesquite TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this can opener!
4/18/2012

Customer review by grannyloveswalmart

5.0 stars by grannyloveswalmart

I purchased another brand and had problems every time I tried to use it. I got rid of it and purchased this one. I have not had any problems with this can opener. It works perfectly every time I use it. I have arthritis and am so trilled that I finally have a can opener that works so well with no effort from me!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grannyloveswalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 243 total reviews