Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 353 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

353 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

353 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
249
4 stars
58
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 stars
18
1-20 of 297 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 297 total reviews
1-20 of 297 reviews
Excellent can opener for those with arthritis
3/4/2014

Customer review by Prtyeyes

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by Prtyeyes
by Prtyeyes

This product is so easy to use and cuts the can with a smooth cut. It's a heavy can opener so you don't have to worry about it tipping over. I have arthritis and using a hand can opener hurts my hands. I highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a excellent can opener for under 20.00 you can beat it!!

Was this review helpful? (80) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prtyeyes
Taylorsville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very good electric can opener
7/4/2014

Customer review by Hotmimi

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Hotmimi
by Hotmimi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my CanOpener

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hotmimi
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really good buy but use it carefullly
12/27/2013

Customer review by Elysant

4.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Elysant
by Elysant

After a string of can openers breaking, I researched and found this one. It had great reviews and I thought it would last. It worked great. we've had it for about 2 years, and we've had no problems at all, but on Christmas Day, I needed to use it, and the metal part instead of allowing the piece that punctures the can go down, bent on contact with the can, and there was no way to repair or use it. I was stuck, and we finally unearthed a really bad old hand can opener, and had to struggle with that. I like this product. I just don't know why that happened suddenly with it. I guess I'd recommend it, but just watch how you use it. I don't really know how it bent, and it would have to be as I was preparing Christmas Dinner. I'm going to replace it, perhaps with the same one, as I have until now been very happy with it, but I might look at other models too. See what they have at my store. One thing, it is difficult for my small hands to pick up and move easily - have to use both hands. Design I guess.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elysant
N. E. Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
can opener: works well for me
10/29/2011

Customer review by Shopping2dayNE

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by Shopping2dayNE
by Shopping2dayNE

This can opener was affordable and works well for me. What makes it the right purchase for me is that the detachable head can be removed, washed and air dried and it doesn't rust like the hand crank can openers I have used. It saves my hands from all the hand cranking too. I usually use it twice a day. I like the design and color. The first one I owned I left behind when I moved but it still worked fine. The one I own now is my second. I read the instructions - that helped. Please note: the button on the top that releases the opener head seems a little less springy than the first one I owned. But the button works okay. The first one I owned I bought in person. Maybe the can opener was a little damaged during shipping. Or maybe the button is fine, the way it is supposed to be and I just don't remember the first one very well. Or maybe there was a design change. But it currently looks good and works well for opening cans of chicken(9.75 ounce) and green beans.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopping2dayNE
Central United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Major disappointment!!
9/27/2015

Customer review by ALPaqRat

1.0 stars 9/27/2015 by ALPaqRat
by ALPaqRat

RE: Hamilton Beach Classic Chrome Heavyweight Can Opener, Model No. 76380 Short story: Keep your money and save yourself the hassle of returning. This one is a DUD! Long Story: After comparing many can openers and reading reviews on each one, over the course of several months, I was very excited to be getting this one. Although some of the reviews claimed it to be quiet, it really wasn't much quieter than the cheap, dollar store can opener I have now, but the biggest issue... it only cuts an inch or two (at best) and then it just stops!! I had to remove the can completely and then reinsert it under the cutting blade and start over, only to repeat time and time again. I tried using it for two days, hoping it would get better, but I became so frustrated with it, I went back to using my old one. I have 4 dogs and open several cans every day, as such, I need a reliable can opener -- not one that takes 5 minutes to open one can. Needless to say, I will be returning this to my local store promptly!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALPaqRat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Strong Magnet acutally holds the lid!!
1/24/2016

Customer review by EagleEyesss

4.0 stars 1/24/2016 by EagleEyesss
by EagleEyesss

The "Chrome" is actually a heavy shiny plastic material that looks good with the shiny Black color. I like this Hamilton Beach Electric Can Opener, because the magnet is very strong and it actually holds the lid, plus it is taller, for bigger cans. It is heavier, weight wise, however, when I open a Pumpkin can, I had to keep my hand on the bottom, or it would tip over. It also cuts open the cans quickly, every time, and does not stop until the job is done, and is VERY easy to use with my arthritic hands! The cord is bit short. Since my outlet is right behind this can open, I love how I can push the excess cord back into the cord storage department. I have not tried the manual knife sharpener, and I do not see a bottle opener on it. It does come apart easily for cleaning, and noise level is fine, no louder than others I have used. Just wish this was an under-the-counter mount, like my old one was.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EagleEyesss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks good and lasts forever
11/8/2009

Customer review by heaterd

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by heaterd
by heaterd

I had to write a review on this product. My mother-in-law wants a good can opener, and she likes ours, so I decided to check out Walmart to see if they had it. Turns out they do have it, and at a good price. I have owned this can opener for 6 or 7 years now, and haven't had a single problem out of it. The price is right and it looks great too. I can attest to its longevity and its ease of use. It's also very easy to clean. I can't say anything bad about it.

Was this review helpful? (273) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heaterd
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEST CAN OPENER ON THE MARKET
3/3/2010

Customer review by RussianEnigma

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by RussianEnigma
by RussianEnigma

Point blank: I have MS, arthritis, and carpal tunnel & this is the first opener I didn't have to fight to pierce the can, it opens like butter & holds the can securely by itself while opening & when finished. Awesome product! Don't miss!!

Was this review helpful? (142) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RussianEnigma
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Buy
3/14/2008

Customer review by Annd

5.0 stars 3/14/2008 by Annd
by Annd

I had my previous can opener for about 10 years! I updated because the kitchen was remodeled. Before this (my final purchase), I bought a name brand one, opened the package and the thing practically feel apart in my hands- horrible quality, I didn't realize it was even legal to make and sell a product in that condition. I went to the store horrified and bought an old fashion hand use manual can opener, it couldn't even open one can! Finally, I researched online, this can opener had good reviews so I took a chance. It meets my standards. It works good, fast, and is sturdy!

Was this review helpful? (140) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annd
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hamilton Beach Can Opener
9/14/2016

Customer review by NoName

3.0 stars 9/14/2016 by NoName
by NoName
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is good. It opens cans fine. I would not say it is heavy duty but does the job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoName
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best One Weve Bought
7/8/2008

Customer review by Twofurone

5.0 stars 7/8/2008 by Twofurone
by Twofurone

We have gone through about four or five can openers in the past five year, some on sale at another store, but "looked" good enough. Inevitably, they would either just fall apart while using it, or in the case of the "hands-free" opener, not only would changing batteries be and inconvenience, but it also would get caught in the label on the can and jam up on us. This Hamilton Beach opener is great for tall cans, it doesn't get caught in the label, and works great every time. No complaints and for the price, it's a super value if you want something that is durable and dependable.

Was this review helpful? (85) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twofurone
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice Can Opener
11/3/2008

Customer review by loves2cook

5.0 stars 11/3/2008 by loves2cook
by loves2cook

We were in a great need of a new can opener. I saw this one and I liked the sleekness of the design. WoW! What a wonderful can opener...very easy to use, love the looks and it is extremely quiet! Very good product, good price and good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loves2cook
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
How can it be called a can opener when it won't?
7/30/2012

Customer review by veriedisappointed

1.0 stars 7/30/2012 by veriedisappointed
by veriedisappointed

Bought this can opener to replace one we've had for many years that finally bit the dust. Took it out of the box and set it on the counter. Tried to use it for the first time 3 days later...it didn't have enough power to open the can...kept stalling out. Did this on several cans. Unfortunately, I had already thrown away the box and reciept...I mean, come on...it's a can opener! Why would it not work? Went today and bought a Cuisinart from Bed Bath & Beyond. Very nice piece that should last for a long time. Don't waste your time & money with this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
veriedisappointed
Knoxville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great product, gets the job done .
9/1/2016

Customer review by Anne

5.0 stars 9/1/2016 by Anne
by Anne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works well, no mess . Opens cans 1,2,3.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Frustrating!
6/7/2012

Customer review by Sandy98765

1.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Sandy98765
by Sandy98765

I got this because of the great reviews but after a month of use my husband said this has to go!! He was trying to open some simple tuna cans and it was tearing off the paper and not cutting right. We had a bit of trouble when we first started using it but thought we would get the "hang" of it. But no we could not make it do even the simple things it was designed to do ~ open a can. So back it went. I wish it had worked.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy98765
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
CAN OPENER
4/30/2008

Customer review by TEACHERINNY

5.0 stars 4/30/2008 by TEACHERINNY
by TEACHERINNY

LOVE IT..WORKS SMOOTH AND FAST!

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TEACHERINNY
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my new can opener!
8/16/2011

Customer review by Kirar

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by Kirar
by Kirar

I bought this can opener in a pinch because the one we had just wouldn't cut anymore. I brought this home and after a little assembly (and I do mean little. All you have to do is attach the handle) it was ready to go! It also has a nice compartment in the back where you can store the cord out of sight when not in use. I love this can opener! The only thing I would change is that it is a little bulky. Not bad at all but if you are tight on space you may want to measure it. But overall, I love love love this thing!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kirar
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best for the price
5/21/2016

Customer review by electronicman42

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by electronicman42
by electronicman42

This can opener had great reviews for being sturdy and long lasting. I agree 100%! This product is built well, although the levers are plastic, they are heavy duty plastic. Love the ease of popping the whole top assembly off for cleaning. Love the height for large cans. It smoothly removes lids with little effort on your part. You don't even have to hold the lever down while cutting. Great can opener!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
electronicman42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
9/19/2014

Customer review by bigsmith6

5.0 stars 9/19/2014 by bigsmith6
by bigsmith6
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this can opener for my grandma for her birthday because she needed one and couldn't open the old one on her own because of pain in her hand due to a recent stroke and maybe arthritus. She called back later that night very happy, hadn't heard her that happy in a while because she liked how smooth, quiet, and most of all how you don't even have to hold it. It opens cans on it's own and stops on it's own with regular size cans. It has a manuel knife sharpener and not sure if it had the bottle opener which the Wal-Mart website said but i'll check and maybe update this sometime. Overall, very impressed and happy that she loved it. The reviews were a big reason why I decided to purchase this because it provided more details besides the color and price ofcourse.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigsmith6
Jax, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really Nice!!!
9/14/2012

Customer review by Jessicaleah91

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by Jessicaleah91
by Jessicaleah91

i got this for a wedding gift and i love it... i love how it can come apart for cleaning and how you can move the magnetic piece for different sized cans... although the first time me and my husband used it we put the can on and both walked away and it dropped the can... i guess its not as strong as i thought it would be and since then i stand there and kinda hold the can while its going so it dont fall.. but other then that its really nice...

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jessicaleah91
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 297 total reviews
1-20 of 297 reviews