Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
37
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
1-20 of 150 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 150 total reviews
1-20 of 150 reviews
Fun investment
6/23/2016

Customer review by Wyomingjunkie

5.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Wyomingjunkie
by Wyomingjunkie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Received the yak in good condition with a paddle, which isn't mentioned on the site. Good yak for the money. Glides through the water nicely. Will definitely buy another one. I will also purchase my own paddle to get the correct length I need.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wyomingjunkie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
7/15/2016

Customer review by Edgar

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Edgar
by Edgar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product, nice ride

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edgar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
6/21/2016

Customer review by DBro

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by DBro
by DBro
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Kayak is awesome. It was missing a knee pad when it arrived. I called sun dolphin and they sent me two new pads. Light weight and comes with a paddle

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DBro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HAVEN'T USED IT YET , IT WAS A GIFT I live in N.J.
1/12/2016

Customer review by PJPEPA

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by PJPEPA
by PJPEPA

It looks like a very good kayak , so far the only thing I am disappointed with is, it's advertised as a 10ft kayak. It measures only 9ft 3inches long . Waiting to hear back from Sun Dolphin on the Bali 10ft sit -on kayak // WHY

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PJPEPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just right!
3/17/2014

Customer review by Jtrain9498

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by Jtrain9498
by Jtrain9498
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My wife and I bought these kayaks to use on a lake and we love them. We added pole holders and made them like the "fishing" ones! We love them! Great price and very functional! Two thumbs up to Sun Dolphin and WalMart... thanks!

Was this review helpful? (40) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jtrain9498
North GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
3/27/2016

Customer review by Theander

5.0 stars 3/27/2016 by Theander
by Theander

Plenty of room cup holder was a plus also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Theander
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PERFECT AFFORDABLE STARTER KAYAK
8/30/2014

Customer review by Clamrakersgirl

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by Clamrakersgirl
by Clamrakersgirl

Bought my pink kayak in April and anxiously waited for the water to warm up to use it! As a beginner who only rented a kayak about 4 times before buying this one, I am very happy with it! It tracks well, easy to handle size, very affordable price, good design with the paddle holders and cup holders. WalMarts ship to store pick up was questionable though, the kayak arrived gouged and the rear storage pod lid was cracked from something heavy probably dropped on it. But the manufacturer made it right and sent me a brand new part within just days of my email to them. My purpose in buying it was for some fun summertime excercise on the water, and it fits my requirement perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (165) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clamrakersgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
5/8/2016

Customer review by Tiffany

5.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Tiffany
by Tiffany

I was so excited to receive my pink kayak!!! Quick delivery and excellent service!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiffany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty nice kayak.
10/6/2015

Customer review by Roger

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Roger
by Roger

This kayak is pretty well made and has nice features included in the design. My wife is pleased with it. It did arrive to the store with some scratches and nicks in the plastic, but it is not the fault of Wal-Mart. Though Wal-Mart may want to inform the shippers to be more careful. An upgraded paddle was bought, but the kayak comes with a paddle and so you will be ready to go on the water. I like the removable storage container that fits in the rear well and the kayak has bungee cords in front and back to hold things down while on the water. A paddle holder on the side is built in with a bungee cord and the screw-top storage in front of the seat is nice. It's small, but a nice touch for a kayak in this price category. The two side nets to hold items easily and close by while on the water is nice, as is the cup holder. The kayak has plenty of deck space in addition to the seating area. It is a comfortable kayak for someone under six feet tall. We are pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (94) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bali 10SS
4/19/2016

Customer review by steve

4.0 stars 4/19/2016 by steve
by steve

I bought two of these kayaks. We have been kayaking for about ten years and owned Ocean Kayaks. Ocean is quality but very costly. Two cost me about $3400 when I left the store. Well we sold the Ocean Kayak and never thought about Kayaking again until we were in Wally World. There the were. $233 each with paddle.. Bought Two. Got them home and one was ok but the other was deeply scratch and gouged. Called Wally and returned the bad one. The new one was scratched also and I contacted the factory ( KL Industries). They said " boats are inspected before leaving factory, it must be the Walmart shippers....... OK sure..... Anyway we are experienced and the 10 Bali is a little unstable if you are over 200 pounds. I am 195. Because I fish from my boat I designed "outriggers" and now there is no worries about flipping when fishing. Outriggers are so nice that my wife wants her own..... Easy to make if you are interested I can send pictures and materials list. But,,,, overall the 10 SS Bali is a good boat.... Compared to the $899 Ocean Kayak, you know you get what you pay for......

Was this review helpful? (79) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For beginners
6/21/2016

Customer review by Jerseygirl

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Jerseygirl
by Jerseygirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of you sit on top kayaks . To be 100% honest I was really nervous after reading the reviews saying that they were very tipsy and not good quality . Those reviews are wrong ! This kayak is amazing very easy to use is not very tipsy, lightweight , very durable and I don't think I can live without my kayak now . My boyfriend and I are beginners and have gone out every night and enjoyed every second of kayaking . I do recommend a gel seat to keep the water from coming in where there are holes and to have a little bit more comfort. I would recommend this kayak to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerseygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected
4/2/2014

Customer review by kayakelly

5.0 stars 4/2/2014 by kayakelly
by kayakelly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this kayak for my (almost) 10-year-old daughter who insisted that I find her a "pink" kayak. I found that this brand had the best reviews on most sites including Amazon. I was able to find this exact kayak on several sites including Ebay, but Walmart's price was about $200.00 less than any of them. I was worried about what the condition would be like because several reviewers said that theirs had arrived damaged, but ours was absolutely perfect. We live on a small pond, so my daughter took it out right away. Her first time kayaking and she had pretty much mastered all the turning, paddling, stopping, within five minutes. The kayak tracks great, no wonky movements, very stable. The paddle that came with it works great. She and I have no trouble carrying it with the front/back carry handles from our garage about 50 feet to the back of the house into the pond. My husband and I both tried it out as well and now my husband might be getting one. Great kayak, great price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kayakelly
Reston, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Kayak
7/12/2016

Customer review by Dorie

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Dorie
by Dorie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well worth the money and easy to load not to heavy, but built well. Lots of storage for cargo and a cooler area in the back!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dorie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ol' Blue
7/4/2016

Customer review by Netta

3.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Netta
by Netta
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this kayak because I needed a longer one on the river. It took a little getting use to because it was narrower them what I had. The foot rest is a little straight up and done which kept my heels getting tired. Love everything else though.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Netta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the money
10/26/2015

Customer review by JohnnyV

4.0 stars 10/26/2015 by JohnnyV
by JohnnyV

Many nice features for a kayak in this price bracket, drink cup holder with room for a spare, nice storage compartments, but doubt if they're waterproof, I use ziplock bags and dry bags to protect my cell phone. The rear compartment is well designed and removable, there are plenty of tie down points and side nets for smaller items. I would secure everything because if it tips over, it's gone. It is "tippy" and if you are tall and weigh more than say 150 pounds it rides a little bow down, and it doesn't track that well due to its short length. The foot pegs are too short if you're tall, I'll probably just remove mine. You will want a gel seat and some scupper plugs to keep your butt dry. You can find the small size scupper plugs, gel seat and dry bags on eBay for cheap. I would recommend adding a handle to the rear storage lid and tieing it to the storage compartment. It's hard to get open on dry land, impossible on the water. With a few simple modifications it's a great kayak for the money. There is a 12 foot version that is more money but better suited for taller and heavier kayakers.

Was this review helpful? (79) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shipping and getting a damage item
7/2/2016

Customer review by Steve

2.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Steve
by Steve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This review is less about how the kayak operates and more about the problems getting it. First off it was about 2 weeks later than the Walmart site tells you (said June 22nd and I would have gotten it on July 5). I got it slightly earlier because I had to drive to the shippers warehouse about an hour away so I could have it in time for the July 4th weekend. It was brought out to my truck by dragging it across the entire warehouse floor. When I got it home the waterproof container had a very large dent in it which I popped back mostly in place besides of a nice crease that I can't get out. The next thing it was missing was a screw that holds the black rubber grommet for securing the waterproof compartment in place. I guess I have to find a screw somewhere that fits. Very unhappy with how I got my item and the condition it was in.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!
6/8/2016

Customer review by April

5.0 stars 6/8/2016 by April
by April
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've only went out once so far because of the weather but we've had a great experience. The delivery was free but did take a while. When The Kayaks did arrive they were in great condition and came with paddles. We took them out on the lake the same day. I am 5'5 and the other person I went with is 6ft. We could both carry our kayaks easily through the sand into the water. The waterproof compartments did not work unless I possibly didn't have mine closed correctly. I plan to retest that one more time however I am not the type of person who takes things out on the lake/river that I don't want wet. They are a little wobbly in the water but for me that's what makes a kayak fun! Overall a great buy and highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
April
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good but tracks & performs badly
7/27/2015

Customer review by BKel

3.0 stars 7/27/2015 by BKel
by BKel

While it's a great looking Kayak, the tracking issues you read about (most common and numerous con review of this yak) are pretty much spot on. It's cumbersome to try to load and unload or transport by yourself. It should but doesn't come with handles on sides to help that. That isn't the main reason for the low review I- you can buy handle kits for under $15. Tracking was my biggest complaint overall. Another family member purchased the Lifetime Sit On Kayak, we tried both on the river and the Lifetime was definitely more stable, easier to paddle if your a shorter person (wasn't brushing knuckles on sides like the Bali). Better speed, balance and handling on the Lifetime versus the Bali. You have to work twice as hard in this one as you versus other styles/brands in the same price range. The plastic is much thinner on the Sun Dolphin brand versus Lifetime for the price point as well. We will be returning this one for the Lifetime model. Love the hybrid design between sit-in and sit-on, style and storage but looks alone don't make for the best paddling experience. While a good concept, it is lacking.

Was this review helpful? (34) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Starter with limitations
12/21/2015

Customer review by JimG

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by JimG
by JimG

I purchased this kayak to rig out as a fishing kayak to be used in local lakes and a bay area. I am 5'11", 200 lbs. First trip out on a very windy day at a local lake. The kayak design puts the center of my weight a little forward, thus in the choppy water a few wave came over the nose. Possibly when I get the rear loaded up, it may even out. The tracking was not an issue, or at least into the wind, when I turned around I did have a little trouble staying straight with the strong wind at my back, side wind was no problem. I added the rod holders with no issues. The rear storage was removed prior to purchase, and I don't think I would have used it anyway. The kayak is sturdy, floats well, tracks OK, and is pretty stable (it is a kayak, not a boat). And for the price it hard to beat. The difference between this and the Journey is about $50, the equipment will cost you $40. I wanted the tangerine color (very easy to see), and do not mind a little DIY fixup. My wife also tried it out and had no issue with the waves or the tracking. She is 5'4", 120 lbs. Bottom line the 12' would have been better, but also costs an extra $140. This is a good kayak, easy to handle in and out of the water, and not a huge investment in case I lose interest.

Was this review helpful? (43) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
kayak purchase and receiving
4/30/2016

Customer review by Jerry

4.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Jerry
by Jerry

Everything with on-line purchase was excellent. However, after my purchase I looked at the identical kayak on the shelf in the local Walmart $36 less ($233) with PADDLE. The on-line kayak did not include paddle. I went to my home pc asap but the option to cancel had been taken out just a couple of hours or so after purchase on line. I bought the $233 kayak IN the store with paddle. With the savings, I bought a new life jacket.

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 150 total reviews
1-20 of 150 reviews