Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 114 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

114 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

114 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
27
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 stars
12
1-20 of 114 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
HAVEN'T USED IT YET , IT WAS A GIFT I live in N.J.
1/12/2016

Customer review by PJPEPA

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by PJPEPA
by PJPEPA

It looks like a very good kayak , so far the only thing I am disappointed with is, it's advertised as a 10ft kayak. It measures only 9ft 3inches long . Waiting to hear back from Sun Dolphin on the Bali 10ft sit -on kayak // WHY

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PJPEPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just right!
3/17/2014

Customer review by Jtrain9498

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by Jtrain9498
by Jtrain9498
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My wife and I bought these kayaks to use on a lake and we love them. We added pole holders and made them like the "fishing" ones! We love them! Great price and very functional! Two thumbs up to Sun Dolphin and WalMart... thanks!

Was this review helpful? (39) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jtrain9498
North GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inspect closely and don't buy online
5/31/2014

Customer review by Chuck

2.0 stars 5/31/2014 by Chuck
by Chuck

★★☆☆☆ I bought three sun dolphin sit on top kayaks. I own an 8 ft Bali, a 10 ft Bali and a 12 foot Journey fishing set up. We have been having a blast with them. We decided to buy a fourth one and this when my honeymoon with Sun Dolphin took a turn. I twice I ordered another 10ft Bali through my local big box retailer and each time the kayak was missing bolts on the foot rests, a pulled out bolt flange on the foot rest or rivets torn out on the seat. If it happened once I could let it slide but twice disturbed me. I sit on this thing in the middle of a very big lake and the obvious decline in craftsmanship has me questioning my original purchases. (I have looked them over and they are fine). I liked the fact that my kayaks were made in America but the lack of quality control and decline in quality should have everyone thoroughly inspecting their kayak upon purchase and before use.

Chuck
Gender:Male
Disappointed
8/9/2015

Customer review by Sinking Ginger

1.0 stars 8/9/2015 by Sinking Ginger
by Sinking Ginger

Bought this yesterday was very excited as my husband and 2 kids all have their own kayaks so to make it a family affair I bought this. We took it out, as soon as I got in it started taking on water. It felt as it was sinking. I made my husband take it out first because I was nervous. We got about 100 ft out and he kept going in circles there was no control it would just keep turning. By the time we got to where we were going he was sitting in 3 inches if not more of water. I then tried it again, after ridi g his I was even more disappointed. It was unstable, didn't track at all, and took on water. It is going back to the store today. I would not recommend this kayak.

Sinking Ginger
Candia, NH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
stability and control
7/20/2015

Customer review by Nice1

1.0 stars 7/20/2015 by Nice1
by Nice1

Have to agree with the last review. Unfortunately I bought this kayak before seeing that review. We have one kayak which we bought last year (not a sun dolphin) and loved it. Couldn't find it again anywhere, so we bought this sun dolphin Bali 10 as it looked similar. It was a bit more expensive, but I thought maybe it would be even better...WRONG. Everyone has trouble steering it and the stability is questionable. Considering returning it...

Nice1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!!!
7/14/2015

Customer review by Millie

5.0 stars 7/14/2015 by Millie
by Millie

I love my Sun Dolphin Bali 10' ss Sit on Kayak. I use it on spring rivers and ocean canals. I live in Miami Beach, FL and during one of my outings I made a wrong turn and ended up in open ocean waters and my kayak was steady. I have never flipped in the spring rivers rapids or in the ocean waves. I highly suggest wearing kayaking shoes and wearing your life vest when you go out there. Better to be safe than sorry. Happy Kayaking! :)

Millie
Miami Beach, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
love this kayak
7/23/2015

Customer review by rivergirl28

5.0 stars 7/23/2015 by rivergirl28
by rivergirl28

Bought this kayak at beginning of summer, as a beginner in kayaking I was a little leary of the stability. I have been through very rough river rapids and felt very comfortable and confident in this kayak. Very easy to maneuver and nice comfy seat. Love the storage space. Best value of any I've seen yet.

rivergirl28
VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
terrible steering and control
7/11/2015

Customer review by unsatisafied

1.0 stars 7/11/2015 by unsatisafied
by unsatisafied

I bought it today and cannot stand it! Stability was not there, and it goes where ever it wants to go. A log would serve the same purpose.

unsatisafied
Southern, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Little Kayak
3/28/2015

Customer review by Duder

5.0 stars 3/28/2015 by Duder
by Duder

I bought this kayak primarily for river kayaking with the occasional ocean fishing trip. This is my third kayak and after reading some reviews about stability I was a little worried . I weigh 240lbs so I am already almost to heavy for this kayak. The first time I took it out was to a small lake near by so I could test the stability be for taking it to a moving river or to the ocean. After first trip this boat seems perfectly stable with me in it, I trust its stability in moving water with no problems. For the price this is a great little kayak and I would definitely buy another.

Duder
Santa Rosa, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love it and almost made 5 stars
5/17/2015

Customer review by fowler6320

4.0 stars 5/17/2015 by fowler6320
by fowler6320

Love my sit on kayak...had a sit in and enjoy the openness of the sit on much better. I would have given 5 * if there were handles on the side. I kayak alone and don't want to drag it across the gravel going to the lake so a way to carry it on its side would make it perfect!!

fowler6320
Canandaigua, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
First time out.
5/23/2015

Customer review by Dave

2.0 stars 5/23/2015 by Dave
by Dave

I bought this kayak yesterday, I was going to buy two, but thought I better buy one and try it out first. I must say that you need to be careful about the rails for the foot pegs, they are very, very sharp.

Dave
Eastern Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
great kayak
1/30/2015

Customer review by Pauly1222

5.0 stars 1/30/2015 by Pauly1222
by Pauly1222

I've gone kayaking before and finally I thought it was time to own my own. so I bought a bali ss 10' kayak. just got it today, inspected it and it all looks great, I previously read other comments about the seat not being any good and I see what there talking about but its not something that cant be changed or accommodated to your liking. for the price of the kayak, its great and especially if your just beginning or just wanna go out and have fun.

Pauly1222
Moreno Valley, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Bought a Bali SS 10'
8/4/2014

Customer review by kayaker123

3.0 stars 8/4/2014 by kayaker123
by kayaker123

Good price, good craftsmanship and made in the USA / locally.  Backrest is useless and when filled out the warranty, asked if an upgrade was available - no one in the company had the courtesy to reply back.  Made a pillow out of the largest zip-lock baggie that I could find (filled with a role of large bubble wrap), sealed it and put inside of a smaller cotton pillowcase.  Attached straps that tie onto the handle of the storage insert and it works marvelously!  No back ache since.

kayaker123
MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Bought two, love them both!
7/14/2014

Customer review by Terry

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Terry
by Terry

I purchased one (Bali 10 SS) online and fully inspected it when it arrived. a few scratches as if it was poorly treated during transport, but other than that - this is better than the kayaks my friends bought at double the price. Storage compartment is really waterproof, room to hold my drinks, and so many other features like tying on to another kayak so you can sit and float together, and so on. I recommend this kayak... I bought a second one and will be ordering a third very soon!

Terry
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Just add water!
1/30/2015

Customer review by DJ Todd

5.0 stars 1/30/2015 by DJ Todd
by DJ Todd

Just received my new Bali SS10, looks great and functions great. Great value boat!

DJ Todd
Tha south
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
seat and back rest
5/26/2014

Customer review by puppydog

3.0 stars 5/26/2014 by puppydog
by puppydog

Very nice kayak but doesn't have a padded seat and back rest is inadequate. 

puppydog
clearwater, florida
Gender:Female
nice design
6/5/2014

Customer review by jose

3.0 stars 6/5/2014 by jose
by jose

i not happy w the quality, looks good ,to soft material on top.

jose
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? No
PERFECT AFFORDABLE STARTER KAYAK
8/30/2014

Customer review by Clamrakersgirl

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by Clamrakersgirl
by Clamrakersgirl

Bought my pink kayak in April and anxiously waited for the water to warm up to use it! As a beginner who only rented a kayak about 4 times before buying this one, I am very happy with it! It tracks well, easy to handle size, very affordable price, good design with the paddle holders and cup holders. WalMarts ship to store pick up was questionable though, the kayak arrived gouged and the rear storage pod lid was cracked from something heavy probably dropped on it. But the manufacturer made it right and sent me a brand new part within just days of my email to them. My purpose in buying it was for some fun summertime excercise on the water, and it fits my requirement perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (40) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clamrakersgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty nice kayak.
10/6/2015

Customer review by Roger

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Roger
by Roger

This kayak is pretty well made and has nice features included in the design. My wife is pleased with it. It did arrive to the store with some scratches and nicks in the plastic, but it is not the fault of Wal-Mart. Though Wal-Mart may want to inform the shippers to be more careful. An upgraded paddle was bought, but the kayak comes with a paddle and so you will be ready to go on the water. I like the removable storage container that fits in the rear well and the kayak has bungee cords in front and back to hold things down while on the water. A paddle holder on the side is built in with a bungee cord and the screw-top storage in front of the seat is nice. It's small, but a nice touch for a kayak in this price category. The two side nets to hold items easily and close by while on the water is nice, as is the cup holder. The kayak has plenty of deck space in addition to the seating area. It is a comfortable kayak for someone under six feet tall. We are pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the money
10/26/2015

Customer review by JohnnyV

4.0 stars 10/26/2015 by JohnnyV
by JohnnyV

Many nice features for a kayak in this price bracket, drink cup holder with room for a spare, nice storage compartments, but doubt if they're waterproof, I use ziplock bags and dry bags to protect my cell phone. The rear compartment is well designed and removable, there are plenty of tie down points and side nets for smaller items. I would secure everything because if it tips over, it's gone. It is "tippy" and if you are tall and weigh more than say 150 pounds it rides a little bow down, and it doesn't track that well due to its short length. The foot pegs are too short if you're tall, I'll probably just remove mine. You will want a gel seat and some scupper plugs to keep your butt dry. You can find the small size scupper plugs, gel seat and dry bags on eBay for cheap. I would recommend adding a handle to the rear storage lid and tieing it to the storage compartment. It's hard to get open on dry land, impossible on the water. With a few simple modifications it's a great kayak for the money. There is a 12 foot version that is more money but better suited for taller and heavier kayakers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews