Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 203 reviews
5 stars
97
4 stars
48
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 stars
28
Sort by: 
1-20 of 203 reviews
1-20 of 203 reviews
Middle of the road kayak
6/19/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would say this kayak is an ok deal for the price but there are definitely major flaws. 1- When you stop paddling, you immediately spin. I think it is because it floats so high on the water and doesn't sink down in. 2- There are no scupper plugs so your butt gets wet. I have yet to find any scupper plugs that do fit this model. 3- The seat is also very hard on the butt. I have kayaked for 10+ years and have never gotten a sore butt like this on any other kayak. I own 2 sit in Pelican kayaks and have rented many sit on. I decided to buy 2 of these sit on kayaks because I think they feel more stable and I like the ride of them but these are worse than any sit on I have ever rented. 4- They are not as sturdy, and I do not like the foot pedals. My dad is 6 ft. 1 and the pedals are too short for him. 5- Also, it cost $50 to ship the pink model and only $10 for shipping on the blue! The blue kayak came with drip rings on the paddle; the pink did not. They each had stickers in different places and even though they are the same, there are a lot of little differences between the two. If I could return these, I would. But they have been used once and we already bought registration tags for them so I'm hoping to find a comfortable seat cushion and over time I will get use to it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PERFECT AFFORDABLE STARTER KAYAK
8/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought my pink kayak in April and anxiously waited for the water to warm up to use it! As a beginner who only rented a kayak about 4 times before buying this one, I am very happy with it! It tracks well, easy to handle size, very affordable price, good design with the paddle holders and cup holders. WalMarts ship to store pick up was questionable though, the kayak arrived gouged and the rear storage pod lid was cracked from something heavy probably dropped on it. But the manufacturer made it right and sent me a brand new part within just days of my email to them. My purpose in buying it was for some fun summertime excercise on the water, and it fits my requirement perfectly!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (277)No (72)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun investment
6/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Received the yak in good condition with a paddle, which isn't mentioned on the site. Good yak for the money. Glides through the water nicely. Will definitely buy another one. I will also purchase my own paddle to get the correct length I need.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
5/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so excited to receive my pink kayak!!! Quick delivery and excellent service!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty nice kayak.
10/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This kayak is pretty well made and has nice features included in the design. My wife is pleased with it. It did arrive to the store with some scratches and nicks in the plastic, but it is not the fault of Wal-Mart. Though Wal-Mart may want to inform the shippers to be more careful. An upgraded paddle was bought, but the kayak comes with a paddle and so you will be ready to go on the water. I like the removable storage container that fits in the rear well and the kayak has bungee cords in front and back to hold things down while on the water. A paddle holder on the side is built in with a bungee cord and the screw-top storage in front of the seat is nice. It's small, but a nice touch for a kayak in this price category. The two side nets to hold items easily and close by while on the water is nice, as is the cup holder. The kayak has plenty of deck space in addition to the seating area. It is a comfortable kayak for someone under six feet tall. We are pleased with this purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (166)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than expected
4/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this kayak for my (almost) 10-year-old daughter who insisted that I find her a "pink" kayak. I found that this brand had the best reviews on most sites including Amazon. I was able to find this exact kayak on several sites including Ebay, but Walmart's price was about $200.00 less than any of them. I was worried about what the condition would be like because several reviewers said that theirs had arrived damaged, but ours was absolutely perfect. We live on a small pond, so my daughter took it out right away. Her first time kayaking and she had pretty much mastered all the turning, paddling, stopping, within five minutes. The kayak tracks great, no wonky movements, very stable. The paddle that came with it works great. She and I have no trouble carrying it with the front/back carry handles from our garage about 50 feet to the back of the house into the pond. My husband and I both tried it out as well and now my husband might be getting one. Great kayak, great price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice recreational kayak!
6/8/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use to have a 10' Lifetime Peyette 116 Kayak, but wanted the sit-on style of kayak so I decided to give this Sun Dolphin Bali a try. After a day on the water I am very pleased with this kayak, but the paddle that it came with is not very good. I ended up using the paddle that came with my Lifetime kayak instead. It is adjustable for angle and a longer length, which is important when paddling a fairly wide kayak such as the Bali. The problem that other reviewers are having with speed and tracking may very well be due to the inferior quality of the paddle that this kayak comes with. I also recommend using some sort of a seat cushion when using this kayak , as the hard seat is not very comfortable for more than a short period of time. I use a medical grade gel cushion (the type that you use in a wheel chair), which works great for comfort, and I like that it makes for a slightly higher sitting position. As for stability, I did not feel like I was in any danger of tipping over, but I do think that the sit-in style of kayak is probably more stable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tracking problems, seating position bad.
8/26/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My first sit on kayak so didn't know what to expect.. Felt unstable right away and would not go straight. When you stop paddling it turns around. The seating configuration puts your feet higher than your butt. And your weight is on your tail bone. After 45 minutes I was in pain. I'm 5'2" and can fit in it ok. My husband is 5'10" and it is to small. We both had the same seat pain and tracking issues. After our first outing I noticed the storage compartment in front of the seat was full of water. We got scupper plugs for the next trip. The bow sits lower than the stern due to the hull being wider on the back half. If we put heavy rocks in the back it would track better. We sometimes hit our fingertips on the side rod holder latch that holds the bungee. There is a sharp edge along the side where the two halves are joined. I bloodied my heel on it and my daughter tore up her shin on it. We will probably end up giving this to a family member for their kids to play with.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bali 10SS
4/19/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought two of these kayaks. We have been kayaking for about ten years and owned Ocean Kayaks. Ocean is quality but very costly. Two cost me about $3400 when I left the store. Well we sold the Ocean Kayak and never thought about Kayaking again until we were in Wally World. There the were. $233 each with paddle.. Bought Two. Got them home and one was ok but the other was deeply scratch and gouged. Called Wally and returned the bad one. The new one was scratched also and I contacted the factory ( KL Industries). They said " boats are inspected before leaving factory, it must be the Walmart shippers....... OK sure..... Anyway we are experienced and the 10 Bali is a little unstable if you are over 200 pounds. I am 195. Because I fish from my boat I designed "outriggers" and now there is no worries about flipping when fishing. Outriggers are so nice that my wife wants her own..... Easy to make if you are interested I can send pictures and materials list. But,,,, overall the 10 SS Bali is a good boat.... Compared to the $899 Ocean Kayak, you know you get what you pay for......
Was this review helpful?
Yes (139)No (37)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ok. Does not track well, seat is not comfortable
10/16/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I think this would be a nice kayak for kids. The seat is not adjustable and very hard on back. Tons of cool storage and looks nice, however does not track well. I have a completely different kayak that is much easier to maneuver and takes less effort. Fine if only short trips with with tide
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the money
10/26/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Many nice features for a kayak in this price bracket, drink cup holder with room for a spare, nice storage compartments, but doubt if they're waterproof, I use ziplock bags and dry bags to protect my cell phone. The rear compartment is well designed and removable, there are plenty of tie down points and side nets for smaller items. I would secure everything because if it tips over, it's gone. It is "tippy" and if you are tall and weigh more than say 150 pounds it rides a little bow down, and it doesn't track that well due to its short length. The foot pegs are too short if you're tall, I'll probably just remove mine. You will want a gel seat and some scupper plugs to keep your butt dry. You can find the small size scupper plugs, gel seat and dry bags on eBay for cheap. I would recommend adding a handle to the rear storage lid and tieing it to the storage compartment. It's hard to get open on dry land, impossible on the water. With a few simple modifications it's a great kayak for the money. There is a 12 foot version that is more money but better suited for taller and heavier kayakers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (102)No (48)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pleasantly surprised
4/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am a kayak fisherman and have a couple of high end fishing kayaks. I wanted a spare light weight kayak that had some of the features I enjoy in my other boats. I saw this online and thought it looked pretty nice but was skeptical because of the low price. I must admit once I got it I was really happy with it. I modified it to my liking but even without the modifications this is a really great boat. It tracks well and is an easy paddle. I love that it has the paddle holder on either side, the floating storage bin, storage for a cell phone, drink holder etc.... I don't think I would take this out in the bay with the waves and tides and it is not really meant to be standing up in but overall for the price this is an excellent buy. Great kayak for ponds and lakes..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (224)No (51)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Please do not buy this kayak!
8/15/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You will be sorry. I have several kayaks and quite a bit of experience with kayaks. This piece of plastic is not a kayak. Does not track at all and spins with the wind. Yes, I do know how to paddle and have the correct paddle for me so don't think that's my problem. It really needs a skeg or new design. In addition, the paddle holder attachments are in a bad place as they interfere with your paddling motion by hitting your arm. Biggest problem is no handles! And it's very slick and difficult to handle as one cannot find the center of gravity. Extremely difficult to load on car top. Again, please do not buy this kayak, you can do better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks good but tracks & performs badly
7/27/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
While it's a great looking Kayak, the tracking issues you read about (most common and numerous con review of this yak) are pretty much spot on. It's cumbersome to try to load and unload or transport by yourself. It should but doesn't come with handles on sides to help that. That isn't the main reason for the low review I- you can buy handle kits for under $15. Tracking was my biggest complaint overall. Another family member purchased the Lifetime Sit On Kayak, we tried both on the river and the Lifetime was definitely more stable, easier to paddle if your a shorter person (wasn't brushing knuckles on sides like the Bali). Better speed, balance and handling on the Lifetime versus the Bali. You have to work twice as hard in this one as you versus other styles/brands in the same price range. The plastic is much thinner on the Sun Dolphin brand versus Lifetime for the price point as well. We will be returning this one for the Lifetime model. Love the hybrid design between sit-in and sit-on, style and storage but looks alone don't make for the best paddling experience. While a good concept, it is lacking.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little kayak
8/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great little kayak for the price. It has plenty of storage, tie downs and even a molded in cup holder. Because it's only 10' it doesn't track as well as a longer kayak, but it tracks well enough, especially once you get accustomed to working with it. I've been out on a pond with moderately stiff winds and it handled that well enough. I do need to make some adjustment for the seating area as I am on the short side and it seems to be built for taller people. It doesn't stop me from using it. It would just make for a nicer ride. I do wish it came with scupper plugs. But I can probably find them somewhere. One thing that I would really like, as an improvement, would be a molded in feature for tying it to a vehicle for transport. As it is, it doesn't really have anything to attach tie down lines to. I've worked around that, but it would be nice if something was built in. All in all a really nice little kayak.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A blast!
7/5/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My dad bought me this pink kayak for my birthday, along with some b.a. pink boots. THANKS DAD!!! I love this thing! The only downfall? I don't use it as much as I'd like to! Weight capacity is 250 lbs. I might try to test that (my boyfriends a hunk:# GOOD: Shipped before expected date. It goes where I tell it. Fun to buzz around in the lake with #will attempt intercoastal soon). Don't feel like I'm tipping over all the time. Drain holes don't let it fill up from splashing around. Came with double sided paddle. Plenty of storage. Adjustable feets. BAD: Hard to carry by yourself - it's designed to be carried by front and rear handles or drug around from either. Splash rings for the paddles don't work too well, I just removed mine and enjoyed the sprinkles of water. Cooled me off nicely, so not too much to complain about there.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Starter with limitations
12/21/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this kayak to rig out as a fishing kayak to be used in local lakes and a bay area. I am 5'11", 200 lbs. First trip out on a very windy day at a local lake. The kayak design puts the center of my weight a little forward, thus in the choppy water a few wave came over the nose. Possibly when I get the rear loaded up, it may even out. The tracking was not an issue, or at least into the wind, when I turned around I did have a little trouble staying straight with the strong wind at my back, side wind was no problem. I added the rod holders with no issues. The rear storage was removed prior to purchase, and I don't think I would have used it anyway. The kayak is sturdy, floats well, tracks OK, and is pretty stable (it is a kayak, not a boat). And for the price it hard to beat. The difference between this and the Journey is about $50, the equipment will cost you $40. I wanted the tangerine color (very easy to see), and do not mind a little DIY fixup. My wife also tried it out and had no issue with the waves or the tracking. She is 5'4", 120 lbs. Bottom line the 12' would have been better, but also costs an extra $140. This is a good kayak, easy to handle in and out of the water, and not a huge investment in case I lose interest.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (57)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Kayak for the price.
11/1/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Prior to purchasing we had read several reviews on different sites about this kayak taking on water and being hard to maneuver. We took it out today for a test run. It was 50 degrees, and I didn't want to get wet. So, we plugged all of the scupper holes. I was as dry when I ended my adventure as I was when I started. I am very new to Kayaking and had very little trouble steering this boat. The few problems I had where due to my inexperience. My husband bought this as an early Christmas present. He got it at an excellent price. I gave it 4 stars because of a few minor issues I had with the boat. The sticker residue on the seat is annoying. I am going to put a seat pad over it. Also, the storage compartment in the back is extremely hard to open on dry land, and would be useless in the water. I am 5ft. 7 and the foot pegs are almost too short for me. They may be coming off in the future. It did come with a few scratches due to shipping, but nothing major. Yes, I would purchase this boat for the price he paid for it. There is nothing on the market that would compete with it for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great low cost kayak.
8/7/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First, this is an entry kayak and you should understand that going into it. I took this on a 7 mile cabrewing trip down a river and it was great. Is it tippy? Sure you can tip it but not as easily as some people say. I didn't tip it but I'm used to how kayaks function. It's not a flat bottom boat folks. It's a kayak! Yea they tip but I feel more comfortable in it than a canoe which I feel is extremely tippy. It does lack in the tracking compared to some but is not terrible. The only negative I have is that it is a little heavy for one person to lift onto the top of a car. Also a warning that it is thick and you will have to buy the more expensive adjustable roof racks.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hard to steer
9/9/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have the same problem as the previous reviewer, as soon as you stop paddling you spin. It does appear as if you sit too high on the water. It is definetly very difficult to navigate in this kayak. Three different people have tried it with the same issues, we have dubbed it the "crazy" kayak I would NOT recommend
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642858, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-