Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 153 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

153 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

153 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
39
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
1-20 of 153 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
PERFECT AFFORDABLE STARTER KAYAK
8/30/2014

Customer review by Clamrakersgirl

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by Clamrakersgirl
by Clamrakersgirl

Bought my pink kayak in April and anxiously waited for the water to warm up to use it! As a beginner who only rented a kayak about 4 times before buying this one, I am very happy with it! It tracks well, easy to handle size, very affordable price, good design with the paddle holders and cup holders. WalMarts ship to store pick up was questionable though, the kayak arrived gouged and the rear storage pod lid was cracked from something heavy probably dropped on it. But the manufacturer made it right and sent me a brand new part within just days of my email to them. My purpose in buying it was for some fun summertime excercise on the water, and it fits my requirement perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (167) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clamrakersgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty nice kayak.
10/6/2015

Customer review by Roger

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Roger
by Roger

This kayak is pretty well made and has nice features included in the design. My wife is pleased with it. It did arrive to the store with some scratches and nicks in the plastic, but it is not the fault of Wal-Mart. Though Wal-Mart may want to inform the shippers to be more careful. An upgraded paddle was bought, but the kayak comes with a paddle and so you will be ready to go on the water. I like the removable storage container that fits in the rear well and the kayak has bungee cords in front and back to hold things down while on the water. A paddle holder on the side is built in with a bungee cord and the screw-top storage in front of the seat is nice. It's small, but a nice touch for a kayak in this price category. The two side nets to hold items easily and close by while on the water is nice, as is the cup holder. The kayak has plenty of deck space in addition to the seating area. It is a comfortable kayak for someone under six feet tall. We are pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (97) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bali 10SS
4/19/2016

Customer review by steve

4.0 stars 4/19/2016 by steve
by steve

I bought two of these kayaks. We have been kayaking for about ten years and owned Ocean Kayaks. Ocean is quality but very costly. Two cost me about $3400 when I left the store. Well we sold the Ocean Kayak and never thought about Kayaking again until we were in Wally World. There the were. $233 each with paddle.. Bought Two. Got them home and one was ok but the other was deeply scratch and gouged. Called Wally and returned the bad one. The new one was scratched also and I contacted the factory ( KL Industries). They said " boats are inspected before leaving factory, it must be the Walmart shippers....... OK sure..... Anyway we are experienced and the 10 Bali is a little unstable if you are over 200 pounds. I am 195. Because I fish from my boat I designed "outriggers" and now there is no worries about flipping when fishing. Outriggers are so nice that my wife wants her own..... Easy to make if you are interested I can send pictures and materials list. But,,,, overall the 10 SS Bali is a good boat.... Compared to the $899 Ocean Kayak, you know you get what you pay for......

Was this review helpful? (80) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For beginners
6/21/2016

Customer review by Jerseygirl

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Jerseygirl
by Jerseygirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of you sit on top kayaks . To be 100% honest I was really nervous after reading the reviews saying that they were very tipsy and not good quality . Those reviews are wrong ! This kayak is amazing very easy to use is not very tipsy, lightweight , very durable and I don't think I can live without my kayak now . My boyfriend and I are beginners and have gone out every night and enjoyed every second of kayaking . I do recommend a gel seat to keep the water from coming in where there are holes and to have a little bit more comfort. I would recommend this kayak to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerseygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Kayak
7/12/2016

Customer review by Dorie

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Dorie
by Dorie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well worth the money and easy to load not to heavy, but built well. Lots of storage for cargo and a cooler area in the back!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dorie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ol' Blue
7/4/2016

Customer review by Netta

3.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Netta
by Netta
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this kayak because I needed a longer one on the river. It took a little getting use to because it was narrower them what I had. The foot rest is a little straight up and done which kept my heels getting tired. Love everything else though.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Netta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the money
10/26/2015

Customer review by JohnnyV

4.0 stars 10/26/2015 by JohnnyV
by JohnnyV

Many nice features for a kayak in this price bracket, drink cup holder with room for a spare, nice storage compartments, but doubt if they're waterproof, I use ziplock bags and dry bags to protect my cell phone. The rear compartment is well designed and removable, there are plenty of tie down points and side nets for smaller items. I would secure everything because if it tips over, it's gone. It is "tippy" and if you are tall and weigh more than say 150 pounds it rides a little bow down, and it doesn't track that well due to its short length. The foot pegs are too short if you're tall, I'll probably just remove mine. You will want a gel seat and some scupper plugs to keep your butt dry. You can find the small size scupper plugs, gel seat and dry bags on eBay for cheap. I would recommend adding a handle to the rear storage lid and tieing it to the storage compartment. It's hard to get open on dry land, impossible on the water. With a few simple modifications it's a great kayak for the money. There is a 12 foot version that is more money but better suited for taller and heavier kayakers.

Was this review helpful? (81) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kayak
7/27/2016

Customer review by Nana

4.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Nana
by Nana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the money, this is a very good kayak. The interesting thing is that I ordered two, one blue, one red. They came from two different places and were delivered in two different ways. This one was delivered to my local Walmart with the packaging intact and the free paddles. There was one small ding in the boat, but nothing that would prevent you from getting out there and using it. My feeling is that that was the first of many dings and scratches to come. It is a very comfortable boat with great storage for snacks, lunch, or any other small items. I look forward to many wonderful adventures on the water with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good but tracks & performs badly
7/27/2015

Customer review by BKel

3.0 stars 7/27/2015 by BKel
by BKel

While it's a great looking Kayak, the tracking issues you read about (most common and numerous con review of this yak) are pretty much spot on. It's cumbersome to try to load and unload or transport by yourself. It should but doesn't come with handles on sides to help that. That isn't the main reason for the low review I- you can buy handle kits for under $15. Tracking was my biggest complaint overall. Another family member purchased the Lifetime Sit On Kayak, we tried both on the river and the Lifetime was definitely more stable, easier to paddle if your a shorter person (wasn't brushing knuckles on sides like the Bali). Better speed, balance and handling on the Lifetime versus the Bali. You have to work twice as hard in this one as you versus other styles/brands in the same price range. The plastic is much thinner on the Sun Dolphin brand versus Lifetime for the price point as well. We will be returning this one for the Lifetime model. Love the hybrid design between sit-in and sit-on, style and storage but looks alone don't make for the best paddling experience. While a good concept, it is lacking.

Was this review helpful? (36) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Siton Kayak
5/23/2016

Customer review by CruisingFool

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by CruisingFool
by CruisingFool
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price you can not beat this kayak. It's pretty rugged for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CruisingFool
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Starter with limitations
12/21/2015

Customer review by JimG

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by JimG
by JimG

I purchased this kayak to rig out as a fishing kayak to be used in local lakes and a bay area. I am 5'11", 200 lbs. First trip out on a very windy day at a local lake. The kayak design puts the center of my weight a little forward, thus in the choppy water a few wave came over the nose. Possibly when I get the rear loaded up, it may even out. The tracking was not an issue, or at least into the wind, when I turned around I did have a little trouble staying straight with the strong wind at my back, side wind was no problem. I added the rod holders with no issues. The rear storage was removed prior to purchase, and I don't think I would have used it anyway. The kayak is sturdy, floats well, tracks OK, and is pretty stable (it is a kayak, not a boat). And for the price it hard to beat. The difference between this and the Journey is about $50, the equipment will cost you $40. I wanted the tangerine color (very easy to see), and do not mind a little DIY fixup. My wife also tried it out and had no issue with the waves or the tracking. She is 5'4", 120 lbs. Bottom line the 12' would have been better, but also costs an extra $140. This is a good kayak, easy to handle in and out of the water, and not a huge investment in case I lose interest.

Was this review helpful? (45) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not walk RUN away from buying this Kayak
6/20/2016

Customer review by shean

1.0 stars 6/20/2016 by shean
by shean

I waited forever to be able to buy and use this kayak. I have been kayaking for years. I took it out hours later on an 8 mile river trip, and struggled with it the entire time. It does not track well at all and the MOMENT you stop paddling the kayak turns around backward. I also had 2 other people with me on the trip try out my kayak for a while and the same thing happened to them. I had nothing loaded in the kayak to make it turn- it's simply a terribly designed kayak.

Was this review helpful? (7) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shean
Would recommend to a friend? No
kayak purchase and receiving
4/30/2016

Customer review by Jerry

4.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Jerry
by Jerry

Everything with on-line purchase was excellent. However, after my purchase I looked at the identical kayak on the shelf in the local Walmart $36 less ($233) with PADDLE. The on-line kayak did not include paddle. I went to my home pc asap but the option to cancel had been taken out just a couple of hours or so after purchase on line. I bought the $233 kayak IN the store with paddle. With the savings, I bought a new life jacket.

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great introductory level kayak
4/19/2016

Customer review by hjharrison108

4.0 stars 4/19/2016 by hjharrison108
by hjharrison108

My wife and I bought a pair of these kayaks in late Autumn last year. They are very stable and track fairly well. They aren't the greatest in open water on large lakes, but we've really enjoyed them on the smaller lakes and rivers in the area.

Was this review helpful? (28) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hjharrison108
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No dry compartments and a wet booty!
5/11/2016

Customer review by krook84

1.0 stars 5/11/2016 by krook84
by krook84

Not a fan of this kayak at all. First mine arrived with a bungee hook broken off and the hole was stripped out so it cannot even be reattached. So my bungees in the back do not hold the plate on during transit. Also, neither the rear nor center compartments are water tight. In fact, not even CLOSE to water tight. The center compartment was 100% filled with water by the time I was finished kayaking for the day and the rear was about 25% full. So there is no place to keep a cell phone, key fobs, or a towel. The front of the kayak is easily weighed down if you place anything on the front storage area. I had a softside lunch box size cooler with 6 cans in it and it weighed the front down so much that it was very difficult to steer. Once placed in the back it was fine. Not sure what you could strap there that wouldn't cause this problem. The bailing holes in the seat of a kayak are helpful if you take on water, I guess....but be prepared to have a wet rear end the entire time you're out. I'm not a heavy girl but the water came IN through the holes and soaked my hind end the whole trip. Not that I planned to stay dry while out on the lake, but I didn't necessarily enjoy sitting in water the entire day. The only positive remarks I have are: the blue color is very nice and the seat is pretty comfortable. Other than that, it's junk.

Was this review helpful? (13) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krook84
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a great Kayak :(
7/22/2016

Customer review by Krissy

1.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Krissy
by Krissy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This kayak sits way too high in the water, making it extremely unstable and difficult to maneuver. The moment you stop paddling, the kayak begins to spin. I have another 10' SunDolphin Kayak (a sit-in kayak) and have no issues with it. The only reason I gave this a star is for the compartments and beautiful color. But it may as well only be a decoration for the garage as it's useless in the water. :(

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krissy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleasantly surprised
4/10/2014

Customer review by stingraysrcool

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by stingraysrcool
by stingraysrcool
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a kayak fisherman and have a couple of high end fishing kayaks. I wanted a spare light weight kayak that had some of the features I enjoy in my other boats. I saw this online and thought it looked pretty nice but was skeptical because of the low price. I must admit once I got it I was really happy with it. I modified it to my liking but even without the modifications this is a really great boat. It tracks well and is an easy paddle. I love that it has the paddle holder on either side, the floating storage bin, storage for a cell phone, drink holder etc.... I don't think I would take this out in the bay with the waves and tides and it is not really meant to be standing up in but overall for the price this is an excellent buy. Great kayak for ponds and lakes..

Was this review helpful? (192) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stingraysrcool
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall good
3/20/2016

Customer review by Brad

4.0 stars 3/20/2016 by Brad
by Brad

Nice kayak built well. My only complaint is it was shipped in plastic bad and had a few deep scratches top and bottom.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shipping
5/29/2016

Customer review by Shipping

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by Shipping
by Shipping
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The kayak is perfect but it was delivered with a gash and the customer service was very helpful in getting a replacement

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shipping
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A blast!
7/5/2014

Customer review by m4r13

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by m4r13
by m4r13

My dad bought me this pink kayak for my birthday, along with some b.a. pink boots. THANKS DAD!!! I love this thing! The only downfall? I don't use it as much as I'd like to! Weight capacity is 250 lbs. I might try to test that (my boyfriends a hunk:# GOOD: Shipped before expected date. It goes where I tell it. Fun to buzz around in the lake with #will attempt intercoastal soon). Don't feel like I'm tipping over all the time. Drain holes don't let it fill up from splashing around. Came with double sided paddle. Plenty of storage. Adjustable feets. BAD: Hard to carry by yourself - it's designed to be carried by front and rear handles or drug around from either. Splash rings for the paddles don't work too well, I just removed mine and enjoyed the sprinkles of water. Cooled me off nicely, so not too much to complain about there.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
m4r13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews