Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 114 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

114 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

114 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
27
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 stars
12
1-20 of 114 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
PERFECT AFFORDABLE STARTER KAYAK
8/30/2014

Customer review by Clamrakersgirl

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by Clamrakersgirl
by Clamrakersgirl

Bought my pink kayak in April and anxiously waited for the water to warm up to use it! As a beginner who only rented a kayak about 4 times before buying this one, I am very happy with it! It tracks well, easy to handle size, very affordable price, good design with the paddle holders and cup holders. WalMarts ship to store pick up was questionable though, the kayak arrived gouged and the rear storage pod lid was cracked from something heavy probably dropped on it. But the manufacturer made it right and sent me a brand new part within just days of my email to them. My purpose in buying it was for some fun summertime excercise on the water, and it fits my requirement perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (40) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clamrakersgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty nice kayak.
10/6/2015

Customer review by Roger

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Roger
by Roger

This kayak is pretty well made and has nice features included in the design. My wife is pleased with it. It did arrive to the store with some scratches and nicks in the plastic, but it is not the fault of Wal-Mart. Though Wal-Mart may want to inform the shippers to be more careful. An upgraded paddle was bought, but the kayak comes with a paddle and so you will be ready to go on the water. I like the removable storage container that fits in the rear well and the kayak has bungee cords in front and back to hold things down while on the water. A paddle holder on the side is built in with a bungee cord and the screw-top storage in front of the seat is nice. It's small, but a nice touch for a kayak in this price category. The two side nets to hold items easily and close by while on the water is nice, as is the cup holder. The kayak has plenty of deck space in addition to the seating area. It is a comfortable kayak for someone under six feet tall. We are pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the money
10/26/2015

Customer review by JohnnyV

4.0 stars 10/26/2015 by JohnnyV
by JohnnyV

Many nice features for a kayak in this price bracket, drink cup holder with room for a spare, nice storage compartments, but doubt if they're waterproof, I use ziplock bags and dry bags to protect my cell phone. The rear compartment is well designed and removable, there are plenty of tie down points and side nets for smaller items. I would secure everything because if it tips over, it's gone. It is "tippy" and if you are tall and weigh more than say 150 pounds it rides a little bow down, and it doesn't track that well due to its short length. The foot pegs are too short if you're tall, I'll probably just remove mine. You will want a gel seat and some scupper plugs to keep your butt dry. You can find the small size scupper plugs, gel seat and dry bags on eBay for cheap. I would recommend adding a handle to the rear storage lid and tieing it to the storage compartment. It's hard to get open on dry land, impossible on the water. With a few simple modifications it's a great kayak for the money. There is a 12 foot version that is more money but better suited for taller and heavier kayakers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly surprised
4/10/2014

Customer review by stingraysrcool

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by stingraysrcool
by stingraysrcool
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a kayak fisherman and have a couple of high end fishing kayaks. I wanted a spare light weight kayak that had some of the features I enjoy in my other boats. I saw this online and thought it looked pretty nice but was skeptical because of the low price. I must admit once I got it I was really happy with it. I modified it to my liking but even without the modifications this is a really great boat. It tracks well and is an easy paddle. I love that it has the paddle holder on either side, the floating storage bin, storage for a cell phone, drink holder etc.... I don't think I would take this out in the bay with the waves and tides and it is not really meant to be standing up in but overall for the price this is an excellent buy. Great kayak for ponds and lakes..

Was this review helpful? (160) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stingraysrcool
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Starter with limitations
12/21/2015

Customer review by JimG

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by JimG
by JimG

I purchased this kayak to rig out as a fishing kayak to be used in local lakes and a bay area. I am 5'11", 200 lbs. First trip out on a very windy day at a local lake. The kayak design puts the center of my weight a little forward, thus in the choppy water a few wave came over the nose. Possibly when I get the rear loaded up, it may even out. The tracking was not an issue, or at least into the wind, when I turned around I did have a little trouble staying straight with the strong wind at my back, side wind was no problem. I added the rod holders with no issues. The rear storage was removed prior to purchase, and I don't think I would have used it anyway. The kayak is sturdy, floats well, tracks OK, and is pretty stable (it is a kayak, not a boat). And for the price it hard to beat. The difference between this and the Journey is about $50, the equipment will cost you $40. I wanted the tangerine color (very easy to see), and do not mind a little DIY fixup. My wife also tried it out and had no issue with the waves or the tracking. She is 5'4", 120 lbs. Bottom line the 12' would have been better, but also costs an extra $140. This is a good kayak, easy to handle in and out of the water, and not a huge investment in case I lose interest.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks good but tracks & performs badly
7/27/2015

Customer review by BKel

3.0 stars 7/27/2015 by BKel
by BKel

While it's a great looking Kayak, the tracking issues you read about (most common and numerous con review of this yak) are pretty much spot on. It's cumbersome to try to load and unload or transport by yourself. It should but doesn't come with handles on sides to help that. That isn't the main reason for the low review I- you can buy handle kits for under $15. Tracking was my biggest complaint overall. Another family member purchased the Lifetime Sit On Kayak, we tried both on the river and the Lifetime was definitely more stable, easier to paddle if your a shorter person (wasn't brushing knuckles on sides like the Bali). Better speed, balance and handling on the Lifetime versus the Bali. You have to work twice as hard in this one as you versus other styles/brands in the same price range. The plastic is much thinner on the Sun Dolphin brand versus Lifetime for the price point as well. We will be returning this one for the Lifetime model. Love the hybrid design between sit-in and sit-on, style and storage but looks alone don't make for the best paddling experience. While a good concept, it is lacking.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKel
Would recommend to a friend? No
A blast!
7/5/2014

Customer review by m4r13

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by m4r13
by m4r13

My dad bought me this pink kayak for my birthday, along with some b.a. pink boots. THANKS DAD!!! I love this thing! The only downfall? I don't use it as much as I'd like to! Weight capacity is 250 lbs. I might try to test that (my boyfriends a hunk:# GOOD: Shipped before expected date. It goes where I tell it. Fun to buzz around in the lake with #will attempt intercoastal soon). Don't feel like I'm tipping over all the time. Drain holes don't let it fill up from splashing around. Came with double sided paddle. Plenty of storage. Adjustable feets. BAD: Hard to carry by yourself - it's designed to be carried by front and rear handles or drug around from either. Splash rings for the paddles don't work too well, I just removed mine and enjoyed the sprinkles of water. Cooled me off nicely, so not too much to complain about there.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
m4r13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Budget kayak
10/24/2015

Customer review by Symster

3.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Symster
by Symster

I purchased two of these and Kayaks were delivered on time pretty quick and came wrapped well in a type of rip proof mess bags so no scratches but on one kayak it looked as if freight company stacked something on top and mashed down one edge that I hope pops back up over time. You will also want two purchase cushion to sit on as your butt will get wet. They are a bit heavy and need carry handles on the side. Also came with two quality paddles. As far as the kayak in the water it was good in calm water as they track a bit sluggish but really fun in the summer. I took the two compartments in the back completely out as they were useless to me and put in a cooler for drinks. Overall not a bad kayak for the money and great fun for the kids.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Symster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Some stability issues
1/13/2015

Customer review by FrankSWFlorida

3.0 stars 1/13/2015 by FrankSWFlorida
by FrankSWFlorida

I had read several reviews on different sites about this kayak before purchasing it. There was only one negative review about its stability, so I went ahead and bought two, one for myself and one for my wife. My wife seems to be doing okay with hers, however mine is impossible for to use as is. It tips over very easily, it is very unstable. I think the difference is I'm 6 foot and 230 pounds, broad shouldered big chested guy so I carry a lot of my weight up high and that is a problem for me with this kayak and its center of gravity. My wife is 100 pounds less than me and again, it seems to work for her for now. These are our first sit on top kayaks; we never had this problem with the sit in types because the center of gravity was so much lower, below the water line. The only way I'm going to be able to use this is to make myself some outriggers to gain stability. I would buy them but they cost at least twice as much as it will cost me to make them myself and the quality would be a lot lower than what I can fabricate. I may have to put them on my wife’s kayak as well; we haven’t had it out yet on a windy or choppy day so we’ll see. In spite of all this I still rate the kayak as a three because of all the other features that we like and they’re made in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankSWFlorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great value for the price
12/28/2015

Customer review by Makoru

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Makoru
by Makoru

but don't shipp to home, those guys will scratch the item without feel sorry for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Makoru
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fun
11/1/2015

Customer review by FuninsuninFL

4.0 stars 11/1/2015 by FuninsuninFL
by FuninsuninFL

We are first time Kayaker's so this was perfect. Although the first two I bought came with holes in them so make sure you check them before signing for delivery. They come wrapped so I did not see the slashes at first. After the second shipment came we double checked it and they were fine. Having fun using them. Plan on getting two more for the family.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FuninsuninFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great jayak for an awesome bargain!
9/29/2014

Customer review by Zenirojam

5.0 stars 9/29/2014 by Zenirojam
by Zenirojam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After a great deal of research I knew I wanted to purchase the Bali 10 ss kayak manufactured by Sundolphin. I knew I wanted a sit-in-top recreational vessel that was light weight, stable yet tracked well. This kayak does all that and it has more storage, and more tie downs, than the other vessels in this size and category. Plus...this unit came WITH a paddle. That was a pleasant bonus !

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zenirojam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor
6/9/2015

Customer review by Shawn

1.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Shawn
by Shawn

I do not recommend this kayak. It tracks horribly and is quite unstable in the water. We have the 12 ft. version and it is awesome. So I would recommend the 12 ft. over the 10 ft.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shawn
Would recommend to a friend? No
didnt turn out like I hoped
5/3/2014

Customer review by wasted1970

1.0 stars 5/3/2014 by wasted1970
by wasted1970

bought this over the winter for fishing and mounted rod holders and various other things getting it ready for spring, big mistake... when I finally took it out I couldn't believe how tippy and unstabil it was, it was a high tension balance act just to keep it upright and any shift in weight one way or the other had it constantly wanting to roll over, all the way over... it didn't track the greatest either, constantly wanting to veer off its own way requiring conscience effort to correct it... I agree with the comment about it having a bad hull design, it sits high on the water, is top heavy with rider, and doesn't have enough ballast to keep it from constantly wanting to roll, it would be good for the beach where rolling it over and getting wet is part of the fun but in a stump fill flowage with fishing gear and electronics its not a good thing, at all... Ive thought about maybe filling it half full of water to try to add lower ballast and stability but that kind of defeats the purpose, I really wanted to like it because in theory its perfect for what I wanted to do with it but its actual performance on the water kills it, and I cant return it because Ive modified it

Was this review helpful? (25) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wasted1970
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
It's...okay
6/13/2015

Customer review by Katie

3.0 stars 6/13/2015 by Katie
by Katie

I was very excited to get this kayak and get it in the water. After reading all the reviews on it I was expecting a decent kayak that would track well and be stable. I knew I didn't need anything special as I am a beginner. It is very stable as long as you aren't a 200 pound man like my dad! I am fairly small and felt that the seat was almost too big for me but that was fine. It was stable but did not track very well. I found that as soon as I would paddle on one side it would spin around or go sideways. I thought about putting a fin on the bottom of the hull to make it track a little better but I'll be taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sun Dolphin Bali 10 SS
9/14/2015

Customer review by MikeW58

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by MikeW58
by MikeW58

I normally refrain from buying from WalMart. but i did.. Ended up getting a good deal after several discounts. Very impressed with the Kayak. It handles well, easy to carry and transport. Took a day to get used to it, but on my 2nd day out i did great. Tracking is a small issue but you learn to adjust your weight . My main issue is WHY did Sun Dolphin put that huge sticker on the seat area of the Kayak? The sticker residue makes me stick to the bottom. Other than that i love it. Lots of storage room, like the little water tight storage well between the legs for my phone or camera, and the bottle/can holder is a great idea. This is NOT a White Water Rapids Type of Kayak. just saying. great for cruising on the lake or easy flowing river. Love the Tangerine color. Very comfortable after i installed a bottom cushion to sit on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeW58
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am tickled pink!
3/31/2014

Customer review by Debbie1227

5.0 stars 3/31/2014 by Debbie1227
by Debbie1227
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The items were dramatically more affordable than competitors. Quality is superior. Delivery was two weeks early :) Online description was perfect except for the surprise of adding double paddles with both kayaks. We bought two blue kayaks and are thrilled with the Walmart experience from beginning to end. Thank you Walmart staffers! Only thing lacking was I was never able to track the shipping process from 3/19/14 - 3/31/14. So when I was expecting delivery to be on 4/9/14 and got both kayaks today, I was THRILLED!

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debbie1227
Spring Hill, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for beginners
8/13/2015

Customer review by JohnandTricia

5.0 stars 8/13/2015 by JohnandTricia
by JohnandTricia

This was first kayak and I have to say I am very impressed I am a big guy at 6'4" and 240 lbs I fit in it wonderfully. The only suggestion I would make is also buy scupper plugs 4 of them or foam golf balls to fill the scupper holes unless of course you want to get wet. I have nothing but praise for this kayak.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnandTricia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not impressed
6/26/2015

Customer review by ScreenMyName

2.0 stars 6/26/2015 by ScreenMyName
by ScreenMyName

I purchased this boat at my local store. The first time I took it on the water I noticed it wanted to list to the right. It was almost impossible to control the boat, it didn't track well, and I ended up turning circles more than once. I also tipped out of this kayak 3 times when I have never once tipped out of any other kayak I have been in. I ended up returning mine. It seems others have had success with the Bali Sit-On but it wasn't the boat for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScreenMyName
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good basic kayak for the money
9/18/2015

Customer review by Eckk

3.0 stars 9/18/2015 by Eckk
by Eckk

Good basic kayak for just starting out. Only taken it out on large pond and it works fine . The foot rests are adjustable ,I'm 6'1 and they are ok but I think I will take them off so I can stretch my legs

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eckk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews