Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 176 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

176 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

176 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
44
3 stars
17
2 stars
6
1 stars
24
1-20 of 176 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews
PERFECT AFFORDABLE STARTER KAYAK
8/30/2014

Customer review by Clamrakersgirl

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by Clamrakersgirl
by Clamrakersgirl

Bought my pink kayak in April and anxiously waited for the water to warm up to use it! As a beginner who only rented a kayak about 4 times before buying this one, I am very happy with it! It tracks well, easy to handle size, very affordable price, good design with the paddle holders and cup holders. WalMarts ship to store pick up was questionable though, the kayak arrived gouged and the rear storage pod lid was cracked from something heavy probably dropped on it. But the manufacturer made it right and sent me a brand new part within just days of my email to them. My purpose in buying it was for some fun summertime excercise on the water, and it fits my requirement perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (189) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clamrakersgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tracking problems, seating position bad.
8/26/2016

Customer review by Flyfishyakin

1.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Flyfishyakin
by Flyfishyakin

My first sit on kayak so didn't know what to expect.. Felt unstable right away and would not go straight. When you stop paddling it turns around. The seating configuration puts your feet higher than your butt. And your weight is on your tail bone. After 45 minutes I was in pain. I'm 5'2" and can fit in it ok. My husband is 5'10" and it is to small. We both had the same seat pain and tracking issues. After our first outing I noticed the storage compartment in front of the seat was full of water. We got scupper plugs for the next trip. The bow sits lower than the stern due to the hull being wider on the back half. If we put heavy rocks in the back it would track better. We sometimes hit our fingertips on the side rod holder latch that holds the bungee. There is a sharp edge along the side where the two halves are joined. I bloodied my heel on it and my daughter tore up her shin on it. We will probably end up giving this to a family member for their kids to play with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flyfishyakin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty nice kayak.
10/6/2015

Customer review by Roger

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Roger
by Roger

This kayak is pretty well made and has nice features included in the design. My wife is pleased with it. It did arrive to the store with some scratches and nicks in the plastic, but it is not the fault of Wal-Mart. Though Wal-Mart may want to inform the shippers to be more careful. An upgraded paddle was bought, but the kayak comes with a paddle and so you will be ready to go on the water. I like the removable storage container that fits in the rear well and the kayak has bungee cords in front and back to hold things down while on the water. A paddle holder on the side is built in with a bungee cord and the screw-top storage in front of the seat is nice. It's small, but a nice touch for a kayak in this price category. The two side nets to hold items easily and close by while on the water is nice, as is the cup holder. The kayak has plenty of deck space in addition to the seating area. It is a comfortable kayak for someone under six feet tall. We are pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (113) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bali 10SS
4/19/2016

Customer review by steve

4.0 stars 4/19/2016 by steve
by steve

I bought two of these kayaks. We have been kayaking for about ten years and owned Ocean Kayaks. Ocean is quality but very costly. Two cost me about $3400 when I left the store. Well we sold the Ocean Kayak and never thought about Kayaking again until we were in Wally World. There the were. $233 each with paddle.. Bought Two. Got them home and one was ok but the other was deeply scratch and gouged. Called Wally and returned the bad one. The new one was scratched also and I contacted the factory ( KL Industries). They said " boats are inspected before leaving factory, it must be the Walmart shippers....... OK sure..... Anyway we are experienced and the 10 Bali is a little unstable if you are over 200 pounds. I am 195. Because I fish from my boat I designed "outriggers" and now there is no worries about flipping when fishing. Outriggers are so nice that my wife wants her own..... Easy to make if you are interested I can send pictures and materials list. But,,,, overall the 10 SS Bali is a good boat.... Compared to the $899 Ocean Kayak, you know you get what you pay for......

Was this review helpful? (93) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
8/18/2016

Customer review by Nicole

2.0 stars 8/18/2016 by Nicole
by Nicole
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This kayak has great functionality which is what had drawn me to it in the first place. That part doesn't disappoint. There are many compartments and storage spaces. However, the paddle it came with is cheap & it's not nearly long enough for the type of paddling this kayak requires. It doesn't track straight AT ALL so you have to paddle a lot to get to where you're going. This kayak also doesn't glide which is another reason you have to constantly paddle to get to where you're going. I would however recommend this kayak for fishing but nothing else. I bought my husband a pelican kayak & it's a million times better than this one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicole
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY FOR KAYAKING .... BEST FOR A POOL FLOAT
8/13/2016

Customer review by Tammy

1.0 stars 8/13/2016 by Tammy
by Tammy

Bought this to kayak down the river. During my 4 hours of trying to enjoying my kayaking I had to pull over 3 separate times to remove the drain plug and dump gallons of water out which made the kayak unstable. Not to mention you DO IN FACT sit in water most of the time you are in this. You also CAN NOT sit idle in this without it turning around on you within moments. So the only way to glide straight is to constantly paddle and I seriously mean constantly. I even tried positioning my body more up right, centering, leaning back....it didn't matter. The kayak would turn. I would caution you to be careful if you decide to buy this model because once this happened and I ended up going down a mild rapid backwards. I had to return this because I just couldn't see wasting $250.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/15/2016

I am sorry about your recent experience , we pride ourselves in making the safest and best quality boats on the market today. If you would like to call customer service we would like to gather more information from you to share with quality control and engineering.

Tammy
Would recommend to a friend? No
For beginners
6/21/2016

Customer review by Jerseygirl

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Jerseygirl
by Jerseygirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of you sit on top kayaks . To be 100% honest I was really nervous after reading the reviews saying that they were very tipsy and not good quality . Those reviews are wrong ! This kayak is amazing very easy to use is not very tipsy, lightweight , very durable and I don't think I can live without my kayak now . My boyfriend and I are beginners and have gone out every night and enjoyed every second of kayaking . I do recommend a gel seat to keep the water from coming in where there are holes and to have a little bit more comfort. I would recommend this kayak to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (39) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerseygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Kayak
7/12/2016

Customer review by Dorie

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Dorie
by Dorie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well worth the money and easy to load not to heavy, but built well. Lots of storage for cargo and a cooler area in the back!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dorie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the money
10/26/2015

Customer review by JohnnyV

4.0 stars 10/26/2015 by JohnnyV
by JohnnyV

Many nice features for a kayak in this price bracket, drink cup holder with room for a spare, nice storage compartments, but doubt if they're waterproof, I use ziplock bags and dry bags to protect my cell phone. The rear compartment is well designed and removable, there are plenty of tie down points and side nets for smaller items. I would secure everything because if it tips over, it's gone. It is "tippy" and if you are tall and weigh more than say 150 pounds it rides a little bow down, and it doesn't track that well due to its short length. The foot pegs are too short if you're tall, I'll probably just remove mine. You will want a gel seat and some scupper plugs to keep your butt dry. You can find the small size scupper plugs, gel seat and dry bags on eBay for cheap. I would recommend adding a handle to the rear storage lid and tieing it to the storage compartment. It's hard to get open on dry land, impossible on the water. With a few simple modifications it's a great kayak for the money. There is a 12 foot version that is more money but better suited for taller and heavier kayakers.

Was this review helpful? (81) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a great Kayak :(
7/22/2016

Customer review by Krissy

1.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Krissy
by Krissy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This kayak sits way too high in the water, making it extremely unstable and difficult to maneuver. The moment you stop paddling, the kayak begins to spin. I have another 10' SunDolphin Kayak (a sit-in kayak) and have no issues with it. The only reason I gave this a star is for the compartments and beautiful color. But it may as well only be a decoration for the garage as it's useless in the water. :(

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krissy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ol' Blue
7/4/2016

Customer review by Netta

3.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Netta
by Netta
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this kayak because I needed a longer one on the river. It took a little getting use to because it was narrower them what I had. The foot rest is a little straight up and done which kept my heels getting tired. Love everything else though.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Netta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Sit- On Kayak
8/29/2016

Customer review by Gallway

5.0 stars 8/29/2016 by Gallway
by Gallway
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although new to Kayaking I feel this is a great kayak. It is easy to get on and off. I love that you use different muscles with this one. All though the holes in the bottom made me nervous the first time I took it out, this they didn't really phase me. Very different than a sit-in kayak but love it all the same. Did have some problems at first but then once I figured out how to move and balance and paddle I fell in love with it. Would recommend to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gallway
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good but tracks & performs badly
7/27/2015

Customer review by BKel

3.0 stars 7/27/2015 by BKel
by BKel

While it's a great looking Kayak, the tracking issues you read about (most common and numerous con review of this yak) are pretty much spot on. It's cumbersome to try to load and unload or transport by yourself. It should but doesn't come with handles on sides to help that. That isn't the main reason for the low review I- you can buy handle kits for under $15. Tracking was my biggest complaint overall. Another family member purchased the Lifetime Sit On Kayak, we tried both on the river and the Lifetime was definitely more stable, easier to paddle if your a shorter person (wasn't brushing knuckles on sides like the Bali). Better speed, balance and handling on the Lifetime versus the Bali. You have to work twice as hard in this one as you versus other styles/brands in the same price range. The plastic is much thinner on the Sun Dolphin brand versus Lifetime for the price point as well. We will be returning this one for the Lifetime model. Love the hybrid design between sit-in and sit-on, style and storage but looks alone don't make for the best paddling experience. While a good concept, it is lacking.

Was this review helpful? (40) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Starter with limitations
12/21/2015

Customer review by JimG

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by JimG
by JimG

I purchased this kayak to rig out as a fishing kayak to be used in local lakes and a bay area. I am 5'11", 200 lbs. First trip out on a very windy day at a local lake. The kayak design puts the center of my weight a little forward, thus in the choppy water a few wave came over the nose. Possibly when I get the rear loaded up, it may even out. The tracking was not an issue, or at least into the wind, when I turned around I did have a little trouble staying straight with the strong wind at my back, side wind was no problem. I added the rod holders with no issues. The rear storage was removed prior to purchase, and I don't think I would have used it anyway. The kayak is sturdy, floats well, tracks OK, and is pretty stable (it is a kayak, not a boat). And for the price it hard to beat. The difference between this and the Journey is about $50, the equipment will cost you $40. I wanted the tangerine color (very easy to see), and do not mind a little DIY fixup. My wife also tried it out and had no issue with the waves or the tracking. She is 5'4", 120 lbs. Bottom line the 12' would have been better, but also costs an extra $140. This is a good kayak, easy to handle in and out of the water, and not a huge investment in case I lose interest.

Was this review helpful? (48) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly surprised
4/10/2014

Customer review by stingraysrcool

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by stingraysrcool
by stingraysrcool
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a kayak fisherman and have a couple of high end fishing kayaks. I wanted a spare light weight kayak that had some of the features I enjoy in my other boats. I saw this online and thought it looked pretty nice but was skeptical because of the low price. I must admit once I got it I was really happy with it. I modified it to my liking but even without the modifications this is a really great boat. It tracks well and is an easy paddle. I love that it has the paddle holder on either side, the floating storage bin, storage for a cell phone, drink holder etc.... I don't think I would take this out in the bay with the waves and tides and it is not really meant to be standing up in but overall for the price this is an excellent buy. Great kayak for ponds and lakes..

Was this review helpful? (196) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stingraysrcool
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun for recreation on the lake!
8/24/2016

Customer review by Lisa

3.0 stars 8/24/2016 by Lisa
by Lisa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is fun for recreation kayaking on the lake. The tracking is not great, but okay. No protection with shipping except for plastic wrap so arrived with a few scratches and the decal is half ripped off, but not enough to return such a large item. Overall am pleased!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor handling
8/17/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 8/17/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased these kayaks hoplng they would be stable on the lake After using them for about an hour we got totally frustrated as they didn't want to go straight very well Kept flopping from side to side We. Brought them back to Walmart . We where hoplng they would be stable so we could enjoy using them for a long time. Thru no falt of Walmart as they where suppose to be a good product. Walmart took them back without any problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sun Dolphin 10 foot sit on kayak
8/24/2016

Customer review by Frustrated

4.0 stars 8/24/2016 by Frustrated
by Frustrated
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

comfortable with plenty of storage space in the back, takes a little getting used to balance wise but overall good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frustrated
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
kayak purchase and receiving
4/30/2016

Customer review by Jerry

4.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Jerry
by Jerry

Everything with on-line purchase was excellent. However, after my purchase I looked at the identical kayak on the shelf in the local Walmart $36 less ($233) with PADDLE. The on-line kayak did not include paddle. I went to my home pc asap but the option to cancel had been taken out just a couple of hours or so after purchase on line. I bought the $233 kayak IN the store with paddle. With the savings, I bought a new life jacket.

Was this review helpful? (20) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not walk RUN away from buying this Kayak
6/20/2016

Customer review by shean

1.0 stars 6/20/2016 by shean
by shean

I waited forever to be able to buy and use this kayak. I have been kayaking for years. I took it out hours later on an 8 mile river trip, and struggled with it the entire time. It does not track well at all and the MOMENT you stop paddling the kayak turns around backward. I also had 2 other people with me on the trip try out my kayak for a while and the same thing happened to them. I had nothing loaded in the kayak to make it turn- it's simply a terribly designed kayak.

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shean
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews