Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

46 reviews | 4 out of 5

5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
Excellent kayak for $300
4/7/2014

Customer review by Javyrod

5.0 stars by Javyrod

Kayak was only $300 and was supposed to come with thigh pads, paddle leash, and fishing rod swivel rod holder. It is missing the leash and pads but did come with a paddle. At other retailers the kayak cost North of $320 up to $450. You can beat the price and is a great bang for your buck. fyi- contact for customer service regarding missing parts or to apply discount:Walmart's # is 800-925-6278.

Was this review helpful? (51) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Javyrod
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great kayak for the price
9/4/2014

Customer review by Massbassattack

5.0 stars by Massbassattack

I recently purchased this kayak on WalMart.com and chose site to store for a shipping option. This was to replace my 12'6" cobra sit on top fishing kayak that has become to heavy for me to continue living onto my car by myself. The sun dolphin arrived at my local WalMart 10 days early which was great because the anticipation was killing me. I took ot out today for the first time and was not upset in the least bit. It tracks a bit awkward which is to be expected from a 10' wide beam kayak but after paddling for an hour or so I was used to it. I would definitely recommend a cushion for the seat bottom as a long fishing trip can get a bit uncomfortable. Overall, the layout and design features are great with the exception of the dry storage which is too small and will be cut out tomorrow. Great buy for the price! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Massbassattack
fall river massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice kayak
3/21/2014

Customer review by 311Music

2.0 stars by 311Music

I just purchased this kayak and it's very good for backwater fishing. Delivery was pretty quick but it arrived filthy and had a ton of scratches. It was also supposed to come with thigh pads, a center swivel rod holder and a paddle leash but it did not. It did come with a paddle but I recommend getting a better quality paddle. Overall it's a nice kayak.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
311Music
Florida Gulf Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Value for Your $
3/28/2014

Customer review by TheRoostersTail

4.0 stars by TheRoostersTail

I have been fishing out of a 10ft john boat for the past 3 years and the Journey SS is a huge upgrade! I can still carry 3 days of camping/fishing gear after some creative rigging. It's a dream when it comes to easy padding but it doesn't track as good as you would want it to..3 out of 5 stars. All the rod holders,paddle,dry storage,seat,and bungies are excellent..5 out of 5. Everything seems to be made with high quality standards in mind. Only dislike were the scupper holes located under seat. I had to plug with O rings and washers. Which is no big deal but mine lives in the creek not the ocean. It is a good buy for $328.00 and olive drab gets HOT after its been out in the sun all day.

Was this review helpful? (28) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheRoostersTail
Brush Creek,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sun Dolphin Journey 10 SS Sand Color
9/5/2014

Customer review by tennispsychologist

3.0 stars by tennispsychologist

I just received the kayak today and it really is a mixed bag. There first of all shipping issues as the thin plastic bag allows the boat to arrive with dents and scratches. Next quality control is below average as one of the bungee rivets is under the fishing rod holder and the gap could let water in. The bungee cord that holds the paddle was broken. screw missing on the adjustable footpads. I really wanted to be enthusiastic but the minor issues do add up. I just got back from the Swift Creek Lake and had it out for about 40 minutes. I am a novice so not sure how to compare it but it was fun to see three Blue Heron close up. Tracking and stability got better as I practiced. Walmart worked with me and applied a small discount for the problems encountered. I then called the manufacturer and they were enthusiastic with help and since it is American made I decided to keep it. I will do another review when I learn more about using it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tennispsychologist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent kayak for the money
7/28/2014

Customer review by TheOutdoorsmans

5.0 stars by TheOutdoorsmans

I bought two of the Journey 10' fishing kayaks and one of the 10' Bali Kayaks, we love them! Excellent features compared to boats that cost much more. Love the removable PAC and the way the cockpit is laid out. Only downfall is that it could use a seat cushion, butt gets a litte numb after several hours of use. Great boats!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheOutdoorsmans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sundolphin Journey ss10 full review
5/8/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This is a great kayak. It is loaded with features. I will list them below but wanted to express my thoughts on the product. Wal-Mart’s ship to store service was great. I picked it up in less than two weeks after I ordered it. It came wrapped in plastic and was in great shape. I am 5’8 about 175 lbs. and fit in it very comfortably . I can even have my 4 year old son sit in between my legs and it is quite nice. We even removed the PACS system – rear storage container and my six year old sat in that cubby with no issues. A really cool kayak for the price. For fishing it really excels. I can go out and fish with access to my gear and extra rods mounted. One great feature is the side paddle holders – you can quickly attach the paddle and fish – I would however suggest a paddle leash for any kayak. Tracking is fine in this kayak – come on it is a $270 FISHING kayak – what do you expect? The performance of a $900 kayak? It is stable which is key to fishing and roomy as well. It does not have a bottom pad for the seat so I ordered one for $30. Also, it seem to be put together roughly – items off center here and there. To some this won’t matter to me I tend to notice things like a picture frame off center lol. Anyway – everything works. The scupper holes are a mystery to me. There are four total – two up near your feet and two under your seat/butt. The kayak does not come with plugs to fill them so I went out without plugs and it did let water in. I tried to paddle quickly to see if a vacuum would form and pull the water out – it didn’t. Oh well – I have plugs on order and will test them out. Any modification – drilling holes to use screws or rivet will put the tiny pieces of plastic inside the kayak. You will not be able to get these pieces out – something to note – and you will hear them slide inside when carrying. Otherwise this is a great deal. PROS: Price - $279 minus any rebates or gift cards etc. – great deal 10 Footer – just right for one person Four scupper holes Comes with a paddle – basic but functional Storage in the back PACS system can be towed so you have even more room for storage Cup holder Adjustable foot rests Side pouch storage Center storage (small) Center Rod holder that swivels TWO permanent rod holders Knee pads Front and Rear retractable handles for carrying the kayak Very stable in the water Tracks very nice for a $270 kayak Not too heavy – about 45lbs TWO side paddle holders – quick in / out release Great for fishing CONS: NO BOTTOM SEAT – only back padding Poor construction regarding bolt on items – rod holder mount is off center – rivets are off center – it was as if they threw it together quickly off the assembly line No plugs come with kayak for the scupper holes Only two color options – Dark Green and Sand/Tan

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Milford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great fishing kayak
4/18/2014

Customer review by Cattleman7

5.0 stars by Cattleman7

Well the online description did not do it justice. Really nice kayak with the extras for fishing at a great price. The previous model had no scupper holes but this one does. The portable accessory dry storage carrier which can be towed is great. Two flush mount rod holders and one swivel rod holder. Small dry storage in cockpit area for wallet an keys. Tracks well for a 10 footer. You may want to consider the 12 footer if you will be hauling a lot of gear, ie. camping. I'm real happy with this purchase. Great starter fishing kayak at an unbelievable price. btw it came with a paddle I wasn't expecting.

Was this review helpful? (54) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cattleman7
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Value
9/20/2014

Customer review by Borzoe

5.0 stars by Borzoe

Great kayak for the price. You'll need to at least double the price you pay to get into a better fishing kayak. Ordered another one. I also like the 12' model, but these are easier to haul.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Borzoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Manuverable!
1/5/2015

Customer review by kellykayak

5.0 stars by kellykayak

I sold my paddle board to purchase this for my son for fishing and we could not be more pleased. Is very easy to paddle and control. I have 2 other kayaks for touring. Cannot wait for spring to come so we can begin reeling in the redfish and trout!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kellykayak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok kayak
4/7/2014

Customer review by FishnFowl

2.0 stars by FishnFowl

Took the Journey 10 SS for maiden voyage yesterday and had fun. It doesn't track as well as I had hoped, but I am used to sit-in kayaks so I may just need to put more hours in to perfect my technique. Be very careful when fishing or moving around in the cockpit. The high center of gravity really makes this style kayak very prone to tipping. I was concerned that if I caught a fish, I would end up in Davey Jones locker so I quit fishing from it and just enjoyed the exercise and fresh air. Be sure to ALWAYS wear a PFD and secure phone and valuables in dry bag. For the money it is an enjoyable kayak, but I think my next one will be a sit-in configuration.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FishnFowl
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great entry level kayak
8/13/2014

Customer review by Pogy

4.0 stars by Pogy

My kayak arrived site-to-store yesterday and I am very pleased with all aspects of the on-line purchase experience. The kayak arrived in excellent condition. The only disappointment is that it came without a paddle. Having read previous reviews, most mentioned that a paddle was included. Having just received it, I can't comment on its performance yet; however the quality of the kayak appears to be excellent.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pogy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good fishing yak for the price!
4/14/2014

Customer review by YakAngler07

4.0 stars by YakAngler07

I picked this kayak up after having it shipped to my local Walmart via Site to Store. The pick-up process went smooth and only took 5 minutes because they let me drive around to the back of the store and helped load it into my truck. After inspecting the kayak, I did notice a few minor scuffs and scratches. The "Journey 10 SS" stickers on the bow of the boat were partially missing and pealing off. This is because the kayak is simply shipped in a plastic bag resulting in minor damage during the shipping process. Otherwise, it appeared just as pictured on Walmart's site. No bottom seat. Mine was also missing the advertised "paddle leash". It did however come with a free 2-piece paddle. One of the paddle pieces had a drip ring, the other did not. I assume one is missing here also. I will be reaching out to Walmart and KL industries (the manufacture) to resolve some of the missing parts issues. Overall, it appears to be a good quality kayak with a few cheap plastic parts added. I don't think you can beat it for the price, plus it's made in the USA! The accessories already included on the kayak such as the fishing rod holder and flush mount rod holders make it a great beginners angler kayak. This will allow me to fish from new locations instead of the same old public bank sites. I have not taken it out on the water yet so I cannot comment on how it handles. I am also new to kayaking and will be learning as I go. From other reviews I have read online, I assume it will track straight and be pretty stable on my local ponds, lakes, and rivers. It is not advised to stand up while fishing from this kayak though. I will be buying additional accessories such as: a spare paddle, anchor, decals/stickers, life jacket, and additional fishing gear before I am ready for spring fishing! Happy kayaking and tight lines.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
YakAngler07
Sioux City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good for smooth water
7/27/2014

Customer review by jtl03

3.0 stars by jtl03

Overall good for the money. they are popular and hard to come by. Does not track well compared to sit in. set up nicely. Plastic is paper thin. Shoaled it and almost cut through it. Use some sort of protection for the bottom. Easiest is fiber strand masking tape. Would not recommend if your using for river fishing that requires negotiating rock scrubs (like moving water). For the price can get you fishing for half the price of a competitor.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jtl03
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Kayak for easy access fishing and fun.
5/2/2014

Customer review by Cajunfishing

4.0 stars by Cajunfishing

In Cajun country many fishing spots are close to your parking area. Just getting away from the road and just a little into the estuary's is all this kayak had to do for me. It came in great shape can't wait to use it. Shipping was quick enough for free and the kayak was a great deal for me. It does have 4 scupper holes . This kayak is compliment to my 14' canoe, 13' Pirogue' and SUP. Looking forward to having fun in the sun this summer with the new kayak!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cajunfishing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginner kayak
10/22/2014

Customer review by SamTG

4.0 stars by SamTG

We were looking for an entry level kayak that could be used for fishing and exploring. Can't beat this for the money paid. Great setup for fishing and a convenient waterproof center storage area for holding your wallet and iphone. Light and easy to maneuver in the water. The 12' model would probably track better but the 10' is easier to haul and store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SamTG
Orlando FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great kayak at a nice price
12/23/2014

Customer review by BruceKayak

5.0 stars by BruceKayak

I came upon this kayak after researching for a fishing kayak for my son. He sent me photos of the ones his friends had, and this came standard with lots of nice features at a great price. I received it and the cover for the storage bay was damaged during shipping. Walmart was unable to replace just the damaged part, but offered to replace the entire kayak. Instead I contacted th manufacturer who apologized and sent me out a replacement cover which I got in a few days. Pleased with both Walmart and manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BruceKayak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaky Kayak
11/19/2014

Customer review by ButmynicknameisBob

1.0 stars by ButmynicknameisBob

The first time out the kayak leaked so bad that after only 15 min in the water it became so unstable that I was tilted out twice and and had to walk the kayak back. It took several min to drain the kayak so I could get it back on the roof of my car. Needless to say, I was very disappointed and had to return the kayak. I don't think I will order another from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ButmynicknameisBob
Would recommend to a friend? No
Well worth the price!
2/26/2015

Customer review by Nicklaus

5.0 stars by Nicklaus

I purchased this kayak with the intent of fishing a couple of the mid sized rivers here in West Virginia (Guyandotte, Tug, Etc) and I have to say the 10' is perfect. While it doesn't trek as well as the sit in kayaks, use it a few times and you will get the technique down to trek good. Plus, if your planning on fishing rivers, you'll be using the current anyways. One thing to mention is it is a little top heavy and will take a bit to get used to the balancing part. With that said, you will get wet fishing in this. If your looking to cold weather fish, I would purchase a sit in. Pros: It was shipped and arrived a few days early. It was just as described and in perfect condition. Great for fishing. Roomy and more storage space than expected. Cons: Doesn't trek as well as sit in. Little top heavy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nicklaus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FINALLY
2/1/2015

Customer review by fishingreviewbuddy

2.0 stars by fishingreviewbuddy

Alright I finally got to take this bad boy out. You ready alright here it is it's great all-around kayak except it doesn't Trac well and it's too narrow. I almost fell out a few times barely reaching forward. I'm going to put pontoons on and a trolling motor. Also no scupper plugs come with it so you'll have to get your own. You can still catch fish from it but stay to calm water s or you may get yourself in trouble. I would know. By the time I was ready to head back it took me two hours to get back to shore against the tide and strong winds. My Buddy made it back in one hour in a twelve got ascend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fishingreviewbuddy
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 46 total reviews