Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

146 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

146 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
40
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 146 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
Too Small for My Size/Weight Class
8/4/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/4/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

During my online shopping, The Specs for this 10ft kayak mislead me to believe that it could accommodate my 6'2", 212# body size/mass, but in reality, it cannot adequately do so with proper steer-ability & roll-stability. The stationary, molded seat (for me) is too far forward, which places the nose of the craft too far down in the water, which leads to loss of steer-ability. My height, & upper torso weight, leads to an unstable condition, where the craft wants to flip over: this tendency commands that I lean back & slouch down to facilitate better control. If I sit straight up, the craft wants to roll... which it did during a squall & set me adrift, with loss of valuable gear! Solution: I should have purchased the 12ft model for myself, which would solve both of the height & weight discrepancies mentioned above. The 10ft model is great for my wife &/or children. (I will see about exchanging my 10ft model for the more expensive 12ft Sun Dolphin Journey, Fishing Kayak) Regards, F K

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just Purchased
1/14/2016

Customer review by jamesr

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by jamesr
by jamesr

I bought it because this is my first ever kayak & I didnt want to break the bank buying one. I havent taken it out on the water yet and currently my kayak has a few dings and scratches and the glue on the thigh pads doesnt look like its gonna hold. Besides that it looks like a sturdy kayak and the accessories (rod holders, storage space, etc) are a plus. Taking off all the stickers is annoying and the giant sticker on the seat left my seat all sticky. I plan on using Goo Be Gone and adding a seat cushion since there is no cushion to sit on. All of the screws in the kayak are not sealed or dont contain washers so water will get in the yak as most reviews will tell you. I knew this when I purchased it so I plan on doing some work on it by resealing everything and adding some accessories to it. I dont mind spending a few extra bucks fixing it up since its only a $300 kayak. I will try to review again after I get it out on the water. I gave it 4 stars because its currently rated at 3.9 and didnt want to alter the rating since I have put it on water just yet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamesr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Buy
2/4/2016

Customer review by Unclewilly

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Unclewilly
by Unclewilly

Brother and I took it out on Maiden Voyage and it was great. Overall, best buy you can get for a Kayak. Some "adjustments" we are making. No Seat Cushion provided, so a "boat throw cushion" works great. The "pull behind" sealed storage only has the handle to tie to, so it pulls backwards causing it to flip over going fast. We are securing (and sealing) an "eye hook" to the front with a clip-on attached to both ends of a light nylon rope. Clip it on the front of pull behind and on to side of Kayak for easy pull it to you use. Small cooler easily fits in storage behind seat, but hard to twist around to get to it while cruising. That is what it is, hard to change that. Small Tackle Box easily secures to front storage. Side storage great for pliers, extra lures, etc. Center Dry Storage great for wallet, smokes, etc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unclewilly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little fishing vessel for the money.
10/20/2015

Customer review by Fishidy

5.0 stars 10/20/2015 by Fishidy
by Fishidy

Really well thought out in terms of rod/paddle holders, storage, etc. It's very stable and easy to maneuver even for a novice. I have 2 complaints: one that there isn't any good grab handles on the mid section of it that would allow you to hoist it up over your head or on your shoulder, two it is self bailing meaning there are holes in the bottom that allow water to pass through from the seating are of the kayak. It's great for letter water that gets in to flow out, but also allows a small amount of water to flow into the boat. I'm about 190lbs and when I set in it, the water bubbles up through the holes under my butt and stays there about 1" deep in side the bottom of the boat. This means your bottom is sitting in about an inch of water the whole time your using it. Not a big deal if I'm in Florida, but I live in Wisconsin - the water's quite cold in October so unless you have water proof pants you pretty much freeze your butt off in the fall and spring.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishidy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sun Dolphin Journey 10 SS Sand Color
9/5/2014

Customer review by tennispsychologist

3.0 stars 9/5/2014 by tennispsychologist
by tennispsychologist

I just received the kayak today and it really is a mixed bag. There first of all shipping issues as the thin plastic bag allows the boat to arrive with dents and scratches. Next quality control is below average as one of the bungee rivets is under the fishing rod holder and the gap could let water in. The bungee cord that holds the paddle was broken. screw missing on the adjustable footpads. I really wanted to be enthusiastic but the minor issues do add up. I just got back from the Swift Creek Lake and had it out for about 40 minutes. I am a novice so not sure how to compare it but it was fun to see three Blue Heron close up. Tracking and stability got better as I practiced. Walmart worked with me and applied a small discount for the problems encountered. I then called the manufacturer and they were enthusiastic with help and since it is American made I decided to keep it. I will do another review when I learn more about using it.

Was this review helpful? (74) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tennispsychologist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sweet deal, bro
1/13/2016

Customer review by MountainDroobie

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by MountainDroobie
by MountainDroobie

My company started a new benefit program where they will reimburse you up to $300 for fitness related equipment and gym memberships. So I figured, well I'm getting myself a kayak. Ordered this one. Shipping said it was 3-5 days. Took closer to 15 days. That being said, it was wrapped in heavy duty plastic, and the paddle was wrapped separately. There is absolutely no damage to the kayak at all. Some people complained about shipping damage, even as small as just a couple scuffs. My kayak is perfect. No damage. Obviously, with it being January, I can't really rate the kayak in the water. But it's sure is cool looking, seems like a quality build, and I can't wait to get it in the water.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MountainDroobie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Was exactly what i ordered!
1/2/2016

Customer review by GBfromMissouri

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by GBfromMissouri
by GBfromMissouri

Everything was described correctly in the add I looked at and the reviews I read were helpful in making an informed decision. In the end I am happy with my purchase and would recommend to a friend who would like to get not only on the water but catch a few fish!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GBfromMissouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding value!
10/5/2015

Customer review by AdrianPB

5.0 stars 10/5/2015 by AdrianPB
by AdrianPB

Buddies and I decided to get kayaks.They spend big and I don't. I'm still laughing at how much they loved this kayak and all its accessories. One guy is selling his to the son-in law to go get one of these. I've paddled a few kayaks and they all trak to the left, I still think that has more to do with paddling technique/strength than the boats hull. If you are like me and just go a few miles and fish and relax then this kayak is for you. Biggest feature for me is the deep seat that's back comes up high enough for me to recline. Others I tried had a foam pad that cut terribly into the lower back. and left you sitting poker straight. The paddle is light aluminum and enters the water well (quietly). The scotty rod holder is perfect and two flush mounts allow for quick lure change outs. The PAC I don't use though it is waterproof and tows behind. Removing it reveals a nice well for your tackle box. Bungee your thermos in the provided holder and set your coffee mug in the cup holder and your set. Drain plugs fore and aft are a nice touch as are the thigh pads. Trust me, you could nap in this kayak! The dry storage between your legs won't hold a full size smart phone but is great for wallet and keys. Plug the scupper holes with foam practice golf balls, 6 for a buck at Walmart. side storage I use for small lure box. Kayak has paddle lash on both sides, nice! Weighs 40 lbs, take a rope, make a loop at each end to slide over the boats nose and rear, shoulder the rope and carry easily. I got green as there are too many reflective surfaces on the water already bothering our eyes, don't need an orange kayak adding to that. Get one dudes, you'll have a comfortable day of fishing ahead of you.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdrianPB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic deal if on sale! If not - still good
10/27/2015

Customer review by Chase

5.0 stars 10/27/2015 by Chase
by Chase

Price - These were on sale for only $199 and came with a paddle! This was a fantastic deal! The paddle was a cheap $25 aluminum paddle, nothing special, but to be included with the kayak for $200 total was a cherry on top! Kayak Layout - the kayak has a ton of space and very good layout for the 10ft size. It came with 2 flush rod holders and one swivel rod holder for between your legs. Also, it came with adjustable foot pegs (that are also removable if you are 6'2" or taller) My opinion - I am 6'4" and 210 lbs so I am on the higher end of the spectrum to use this thing but I found that it has a ton of space compared to other kayaks in the market at other stores. Pelican, Future Beach, Perception, etc didnt have as much storage space as these do. They have a huge compartment behind the seat (or a removable and waterproof container (which is called the "PAC") that fills this recessed spot) and they also have a little compartment up in front of your feet which no other kayaks in this price range have! Stability is very good with this thing too, especially since it has a fairly flat bottom. One other thing - because it is only 10 ft long, it may not track as well as a longer kayak, but it is also about 50% of the price of a 12+ ft kayak so its a price trade off.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chase
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fishing kayak
1/14/2016

Customer review by caretaker

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by caretaker
by caretaker

everything went easy. Everything was just what I wanted arrived on time no problems

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caretaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great kayak for the price
9/4/2014

Customer review by Massbassattack

5.0 stars 9/4/2014 by Massbassattack
by Massbassattack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently purchased this kayak on WalMart.com and chose site to store for a shipping option. This was to replace my 12'6" cobra sit on top fishing kayak that has become to heavy for me to continue living onto my car by myself. The sun dolphin arrived at my local WalMart 10 days early which was great because the anticipation was killing me. I took ot out today for the first time and was not upset in the least bit. It tracks a bit awkward which is to be expected from a 10' wide beam kayak but after paddling for an hour or so I was used to it. I would definitely recommend a cushion for the seat bottom as a long fishing trip can get a bit uncomfortable. Overall, the layout and design features are great with the exception of the dry storage which is too small and will be cut out tomorrow. Great buy for the price! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (109) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Massbassattack
fall river massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well worth the price!
2/26/2015

Customer review by Nicklaus

5.0 stars 2/26/2015 by Nicklaus
by Nicklaus

I purchased this kayak with the intent of fishing a couple of the mid sized rivers here in West Virginia (Guyandotte, Tug, Etc) and I have to say the 10' is perfect. While it doesn't trek as well as the sit in kayaks, use it a few times and you will get the technique down to trek good. Plus, if your planning on fishing rivers, you'll be using the current anyways. One thing to mention is it is a little top heavy and will take a bit to get used to the balancing part. With that said, you will get wet fishing in this. If your looking to cold weather fish, I would purchase a sit in. Pros: It was shipped and arrived a few days early. It was just as described and in perfect condition. Great for fishing. Roomy and more storage space than expected. Cons: Doesn't trek as well as sit in. Little top heavy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicklaus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a bad Kayak but it does have bugs.
3/2/2015

Customer review by Doug

3.0 stars 3/2/2015 by Doug
by Doug

I am 5' 7" and had to adjust the foot rest all the way forward. A taller person would probably have to remove them to be comfortable. The seat is place too forward and the bow is lower than the stern. I weigh 175 and the bow was only 5" above the water line. If I had more weight in the stern, the kayak would have leveled off but then the water would run back towards the seat rather than to the feet. This does help drain the water towards your feet but the kayak does take more water over the bow in choppy water. It tracks ok and the side tackle box holders are ok, The aft storage compartment lid doesn't really lock very well and had come off in shipment. Cover the lid before you drive down the highway or it will blow off. Needs a cord to secure it to the box to prevent in being lost. There are no good handles to lift it for one man loading and it is the least stable of my 4 kayaks. Almost a sit in and harder to get out of that the rest. It is low priced and adequate for the beginning fisherman but a serious fisherman may want to think about spending more and getting a better kayak. I would recommend it for smaller people but not tall or heavy people.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doug
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
9/20/2014

Customer review by Borzoe

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by Borzoe
by Borzoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great kayak for the price. You'll need to at least double the price you pay to get into a better fishing kayak. Ordered another one. I also like the 12' model, but these are easier to haul.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Borzoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not surprised for what i paid
6/15/2015

Customer review by Bradley

3.0 stars 6/15/2015 by Bradley
by Bradley
Walmart associate

Wasn't expecting perfection from reading other reviews. Plan on buying a better paddle, the $18 paddle that comes with it is no good. Main design flaw is that the rod holders were not sealed, when i flipped it (and flipping is part of kayaking) the hull took on gallons of water from around the rod holders while it sat upside down. Had to tow it to shore to drain it before I could get back in it. I made foam gaskets and siliconed the rod holders water tight. Despite that i plan on purchasing another for my son. River fishing and it went through class II rapids just fine. As always with kayak fishing, Rig everything to float and dress to swim.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bradley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Great buy for the money!
6/4/2015

Customer review by Navyson2

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by Navyson2
by Navyson2

I bought the 10' simply because it would be easier to just throw in the truck and go. It turned out to be a surprise in the water. I took it to the Neches river when it was 3 feet above flood stage. The kayak tracked well even in that current. I didn't have any trouble paddling up stream. I'm not saying it wasn't work, but the boat held a straight line and I was easily able to stay out of the brush. Of course, coming back down river was much easier and a whole lot more fun. This is a solid little boat with a lot of nice features. The center rod holder works perfect, and it has plenty of storage. I think I'll buy a couple more for my grandkids.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Navyson2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wobbly performance
7/22/2015

Customer review by pauca007

3.0 stars 7/22/2015 by pauca007
by pauca007

I recently purchased the well priced Sun Dolphin Journey 10' and have been kayaking along the NC sounds and rivers with it and although I am a starter I found out compared to kayaks I rented (perception kayaks) this one is very unstable. Although they call it a fishing kayak, fishing is quiet uncomfortable without any outriggers, which I had to build to make the ride decent. Another thing this kayak needs is a rudder, simply because the wind will rotate your kayak which feels like a leaf of a tree. Very hard to keep your direction straight without any help from a rudder. The material is pretty sturdy and looks like made for life. One thing you certainly need to do is to seal all the parts that are attached to the boat because the kayak leaks through all the screw holes of the attachments. All in all: For starters good enough and those who aren't afraid to make some adjustments to the kayak.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pauca007
Would recommend to a friend? No
I like my 1st kayak. Lots of fun.
8/2/2015

Customer review by David

5.0 stars 8/2/2015 by David
by David

The boat handles well but I am still getting used to balancing. It is a little wobbly from side to side which is due to its narrower hull design. My wife got a different kayak which is wider and hers is not as wobbly. I am still getting used to the handling of the boat so I haven't used it to fish yet. Beware that the kayak does have storage compartments but they are not completely water proof. You will want to purchase some water proof bags to keep important stuff like your keys and your phone and then place those bags inside the storage holes. The kayak also does not have enough tie down hooks. I transport mine in the bed of a small pickup truck with a camper shell, so the kayak hangs over the tail gate a little bit. I need to get some extra tie down hooks to mount to the kayak. I think I made a good investment in selecting this kayak to be my first Kayak.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sun Dolphin
11/1/2015

Customer review by RonJon

4.0 stars 11/1/2015 by RonJon
by RonJon

Have not had an opportunity to take out my new boat yet as a result of the weather. It came in good condition, with everything intact. The same problems exist on my as are with the other reviewers. None of the attachments on the boat, the rod holders, dry well or added clips had any silicon jell or rubber gaskets mounted under it. The seat back felt pretty good when adjusted, but they're correct, about no seat, gonna have to get a bottom seat. Can't wait to hit the water and see how it tracks. If your planning on getting one, plan on a tube of silicon jell and a seat, and you'll be good to go. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to break into kayaking and not spending a fortune to do it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RonJon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaks
3/1/2015

Customer review by SunSeekingNomad

1.0 stars 3/1/2015 by SunSeekingNomad
by SunSeekingNomad

Item arrived within the time frame quoted. Three of the four cockpit drains leaked into the cavity because of faulty plastic spot welds. One of the paddle keepers also pulled out after on two uses. For an adult male (5' 10'', 170#)the footrest are too short and I thought the nose plowed into the water, ie, not properly balanced.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunSeekingNomad
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews