Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

99 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

99 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 99 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
Better than expected
4/2/2014

Customer review by kayakelly

5.0 stars 4/2/2014 by kayakelly
by kayakelly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this kayak for my (almost) 10-year-old daughter who insisted that I find her a "pink" kayak. I found that this brand had the best reviews on most sites including Amazon. I was able to find this exact kayak on several sites including Ebay, but Walmart's price was about $200.00 less than any of them. I was worried about what the condition would be like because several reviewers said that theirs had arrived damaged, but ours was absolutely perfect. We live on a small pond, so my daughter took it out right away. Her first time kayaking and she had pretty much mastered all the turning, paddling, stopping, within five minutes. The kayak tracks great, no wonky movements, very stable. The paddle that came with it works great. She and I have no trouble carrying it with the front/back carry handles from our garage about 50 feet to the back of the house into the pond. My husband and I both tried it out as well and now my husband might be getting one. Great kayak, great price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kayakelly
Reston, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Kayak for the price.
11/1/2015

Customer review by TennesseeMomtoTrinity

4.0 stars 11/1/2015 by TennesseeMomtoTrinity
by TennesseeMomtoTrinity

Prior to purchasing we had read several reviews on different sites about this kayak taking on water and being hard to maneuver. We took it out today for a test run. It was 50 degrees, and I didn't want to get wet. So, we plugged all of the scupper holes. I was as dry when I ended my adventure as I was when I started. I am very new to Kayaking and had very little trouble steering this boat. The few problems I had where due to my inexperience. My husband bought this as an early Christmas present. He got it at an excellent price. I gave it 4 stars because of a few minor issues I had with the boat. The sticker residue on the seat is annoying. I am going to put a seat pad over it. Also, the storage compartment in the back is extremely hard to open on dry land, and would be useless in the water. I am 5ft. 7 and the foot pegs are almost too short for me. They may be coming off in the future. It did come with a few scratches due to shipping, but nothing major. Yes, I would purchase this boat for the price he paid for it. There is nothing on the market that would compete with it for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TennesseeMomtoTrinity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7 year old daughter LOVES her kayak
2/21/2014

Customer review by FLShopper123456789

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by FLShopper123456789
by FLShopper123456789

Daughter loves this kayak and can steer it well. I have not jumped in it yet to see how it steers, but she is loving it! It has holes to let the water which splashes in drain out. It has a nice cargo compartment. The front and back handles are good. We had it shipped to store and picked up from there. When we picked it up we noticed a significant tear in the bungee cord. Looked like the kayak had been pushed against something which caused the tear and a few scratches at the front of the kayak. Given it was only a couple days before our daughter's birthday, we didn't have time to deal with waiting for another one to be shipped. Here's where I talk about the great service I was given. The store manager was super nice. She gave me a package of bungee from the outdoor section of the store and said that if I was unable to properly replace the bungee then she would happily let me bring it back and exchange AFTER my daughter's birthday. Well, we have used the kayak 4 or 5 times which included good use of the handles which are on the torn bungee, and the bungee is still holding on (all be it by a thread). Will try to replace soon. Things I would change about the kayak: There is no way to secure the kayak. From my tiny experience I have seen kayaks secured to docks with chain cable going thru something. There is not such a something on this kayak. The water draining holes are too small to be used for securing and there isn't an opening under the seat (like I have in mine). I usually have to tote the kayak quite a way on my own. There is very little to hold onto in the middle of the kayak.

Was this review helpful? (72) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLShopper123456789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good deal for the money
4/3/2014

Customer review by Lucie1966

4.0 stars 4/3/2014 by Lucie1966
by Lucie1966

My husband and I bought 2 of these one in red and one in pink.Love them with one major issue..the containers that are supposed to be waterproof are anything but..don't trust putting anything you do not want to get wet or ruined in either container!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucie1966
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great kayak for the price
3/25/2014

Customer review by PinkKayakGirl

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by PinkKayakGirl
by PinkKayakGirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to say, this kayak is more than I expected for the price. Very easy to handle. Light enough to haul around on your own. Will be great for fishing on the lakes & running the rivers. I also love the 2 dry storage areas & the tie down cords. I also LOVE that's it's MADE IN AMERICA!

Was this review helpful? (22) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PinkKayakGirl
Minnesota/Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great kayak! Very stable
4/13/2014

Customer review by Cakiepat

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by Cakiepat
by Cakiepat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This kayak has a lot of great features. It is also very stable to ride on

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cakiepat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great kayak for the money
4/9/2014

Customer review by coconut59

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by coconut59
by coconut59
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

after I purchased my journey 10ss my wife just had to have a bali 10 in PINK , lol

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coconut59
gardiner , n.y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PERFECT AFFORDABLE STARTER KAYAK
8/30/2014

Customer review by Clamrakersgirl

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by Clamrakersgirl
by Clamrakersgirl

Bought my pink kayak in April and anxiously waited for the water to warm up to use it! As a beginner who only rented a kayak about 4 times before buying this one, I am very happy with it! It tracks well, easy to handle size, very affordable price, good design with the paddle holders and cup holders. WalMarts ship to store pick up was questionable though, the kayak arrived gouged and the rear storage pod lid was cracked from something heavy probably dropped on it. But the manufacturer made it right and sent me a brand new part within just days of my email to them. My purpose in buying it was for some fun summertime excercise on the water, and it fits my requirement perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (41) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clamrakersgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty nice kayak.
10/6/2015

Customer review by Roger

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Roger
by Roger

This kayak is pretty well made and has nice features included in the design. My wife is pleased with it. It did arrive to the store with some scratches and nicks in the plastic, but it is not the fault of Wal-Mart. Though Wal-Mart may want to inform the shippers to be more careful. An upgraded paddle was bought, but the kayak comes with a paddle and so you will be ready to go on the water. I like the removable storage container that fits in the rear well and the kayak has bungee cords in front and back to hold things down while on the water. A paddle holder on the side is built in with a bungee cord and the screw-top storage in front of the seat is nice. It's small, but a nice touch for a kayak in this price category. The two side nets to hold items easily and close by while on the water is nice, as is the cup holder. The kayak has plenty of deck space in addition to the seating area. It is a comfortable kayak for someone under six feet tall. We are pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the money
10/26/2015

Customer review by JohnnyV

4.0 stars 10/26/2015 by JohnnyV
by JohnnyV

Many nice features for a kayak in this price bracket, drink cup holder with room for a spare, nice storage compartments, but doubt if they're waterproof, I use ziplock bags and dry bags to protect my cell phone. The rear compartment is well designed and removable, there are plenty of tie down points and side nets for smaller items. I would secure everything because if it tips over, it's gone. It is "tippy" and if you are tall and weigh more than say 150 pounds it rides a little bow down, and it doesn't track that well due to its short length. The foot pegs are too short if you're tall, I'll probably just remove mine. You will want a gel seat and some scupper plugs to keep your butt dry. You can find the small size scupper plugs, gel seat and dry bags on eBay for cheap. I would recommend adding a handle to the rear storage lid and tieing it to the storage compartment. It's hard to get open on dry land, impossible on the water. With a few simple modifications it's a great kayak for the money. There is a 12 foot version that is more money but better suited for taller and heavier kayakers.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Starter with limitations
12/21/2015

Customer review by JimG

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by JimG
by JimG

I purchased this kayak to rig out as a fishing kayak to be used in local lakes and a bay area. I am 5'11", 200 lbs. First trip out on a very windy day at a local lake. The kayak design puts the center of my weight a little forward, thus in the choppy water a few wave came over the nose. Possibly when I get the rear loaded up, it may even out. The tracking was not an issue, or at least into the wind, when I turned around I did have a little trouble staying straight with the strong wind at my back, side wind was no problem. I added the rod holders with no issues. The rear storage was removed prior to purchase, and I don't think I would have used it anyway. The kayak is sturdy, floats well, tracks OK, and is pretty stable (it is a kayak, not a boat). And for the price it hard to beat. The difference between this and the Journey is about $50, the equipment will cost you $40. I wanted the tangerine color (very easy to see), and do not mind a little DIY fixup. My wife also tried it out and had no issue with the waves or the tracking. She is 5'4", 120 lbs. Bottom line the 12' would have been better, but also costs an extra $140. This is a good kayak, easy to handle in and out of the water, and not a huge investment in case I lose interest.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HAVEN'T USED IT YET , IT WAS A GIFT I live in N.J.
1/12/2016

Customer review by PJPEPA

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by PJPEPA
by PJPEPA

It looks like a very good kayak , so far the only thing I am disappointed with is, it's advertised as a 10ft kayak. It measures only 9ft 3inches long . Waiting to hear back from Sun Dolphin on the Bali 10ft sit -on kayak // WHY

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PJPEPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly surprised
4/10/2014

Customer review by stingraysrcool

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by stingraysrcool
by stingraysrcool
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a kayak fisherman and have a couple of high end fishing kayaks. I wanted a spare light weight kayak that had some of the features I enjoy in my other boats. I saw this online and thought it looked pretty nice but was skeptical because of the low price. I must admit once I got it I was really happy with it. I modified it to my liking but even without the modifications this is a really great boat. It tracks well and is an easy paddle. I love that it has the paddle holder on either side, the floating storage bin, storage for a cell phone, drink holder etc.... I don't think I would take this out in the bay with the waves and tides and it is not really meant to be standing up in but overall for the price this is an excellent buy. Great kayak for ponds and lakes..

Was this review helpful? (161) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stingraysrcool
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good but tracks & performs badly
7/27/2015

Customer review by BKel

3.0 stars 7/27/2015 by BKel
by BKel

While it's a great looking Kayak, the tracking issues you read about (most common and numerous con review of this yak) are pretty much spot on. It's cumbersome to try to load and unload or transport by yourself. It should but doesn't come with handles on sides to help that. That isn't the main reason for the low review I- you can buy handle kits for under $15. Tracking was my biggest complaint overall. Another family member purchased the Lifetime Sit On Kayak, we tried both on the river and the Lifetime was definitely more stable, easier to paddle if your a shorter person (wasn't brushing knuckles on sides like the Bali). Better speed, balance and handling on the Lifetime versus the Bali. You have to work twice as hard in this one as you versus other styles/brands in the same price range. The plastic is much thinner on the Sun Dolphin brand versus Lifetime for the price point as well. We will be returning this one for the Lifetime model. Love the hybrid design between sit-in and sit-on, style and storage but looks alone don't make for the best paddling experience. While a good concept, it is lacking.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKel
Would recommend to a friend? No
A blast!
7/5/2014

Customer review by m4r13

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by m4r13
by m4r13

My dad bought me this pink kayak for my birthday, along with some b.a. pink boots. THANKS DAD!!! I love this thing! The only downfall? I don't use it as much as I'd like to! Weight capacity is 250 lbs. I might try to test that (my boyfriends a hunk:# GOOD: Shipped before expected date. It goes where I tell it. Fun to buzz around in the lake with #will attempt intercoastal soon). Don't feel like I'm tipping over all the time. Drain holes don't let it fill up from splashing around. Came with double sided paddle. Plenty of storage. Adjustable feets. BAD: Hard to carry by yourself - it's designed to be carried by front and rear handles or drug around from either. Splash rings for the paddles don't work too well, I just removed mine and enjoyed the sprinkles of water. Cooled me off nicely, so not too much to complain about there.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
m4r13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Budget kayak
10/24/2015

Customer review by Symster

3.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Symster
by Symster

I purchased two of these and Kayaks were delivered on time pretty quick and came wrapped well in a type of rip proof mess bags so no scratches but on one kayak it looked as if freight company stacked something on top and mashed down one edge that I hope pops back up over time. You will also want two purchase cushion to sit on as your butt will get wet. They are a bit heavy and need carry handles on the side. Also came with two quality paddles. As far as the kayak in the water it was good in calm water as they track a bit sluggish but really fun in the summer. I took the two compartments in the back completely out as they were useless to me and put in a cooler for drinks. Overall not a bad kayak for the money and great fun for the kids.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Symster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kayak good- paddles damaged
1/3/2016

Customer review by Elizabeth

4.0 stars 1/3/2016 by Elizabeth
by Elizabeth

Kayaks arrived and are what we expected. The paddles are squished and not able to be used. Having diffficulty getting them replaced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elizabeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Some stability issues
1/13/2015

Customer review by FrankSWFlorida

3.0 stars 1/13/2015 by FrankSWFlorida
by FrankSWFlorida

I had read several reviews on different sites about this kayak before purchasing it. There was only one negative review about its stability, so I went ahead and bought two, one for myself and one for my wife. My wife seems to be doing okay with hers, however mine is impossible for to use as is. It tips over very easily, it is very unstable. I think the difference is I'm 6 foot and 230 pounds, broad shouldered big chested guy so I carry a lot of my weight up high and that is a problem for me with this kayak and its center of gravity. My wife is 100 pounds less than me and again, it seems to work for her for now. These are our first sit on top kayaks; we never had this problem with the sit in types because the center of gravity was so much lower, below the water line. The only way I'm going to be able to use this is to make myself some outriggers to gain stability. I would buy them but they cost at least twice as much as it will cost me to make them myself and the quality would be a lot lower than what I can fabricate. I may have to put them on my wife’s kayak as well; we haven’t had it out yet on a windy or choppy day so we’ll see. In spite of all this I still rate the kayak as a three because of all the other features that we like and they’re made in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankSWFlorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great value for the price
12/28/2015

Customer review by Makoru

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Makoru
by Makoru

but don't shipp to home, those guys will scratch the item without feel sorry for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Makoru
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great jayak for an awesome bargain!
9/29/2014

Customer review by Zenirojam

5.0 stars 9/29/2014 by Zenirojam
by Zenirojam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After a great deal of research I knew I wanted to purchase the Bali 10 ss kayak manufactured by Sundolphin. I knew I wanted a sit-in-top recreational vessel that was light weight, stable yet tracked well. This kayak does all that and it has more storage, and more tie downs, than the other vessels in this size and category. Plus...this unit came WITH a paddle. That was a pleasant bonus !

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zenirojam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews