Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 38 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Stable and comfortable kayak.
3/5/2013

Customer review by OldMusician

4.0 stars 3/5/2013 by OldMusician
by OldMusician

I purchased at our local Walmart after looking and trying to research kayaks on-line and with friends. Local stores were selling it for $449.00 ! Tried it today and found it to be quite smooth in the water, easy to paddle, and quite stable ..not sure I could stand up in it, but I can move around some and that seemed nice. The cushions for the knees seem like a good idea, they may be place a bit too far forward for us shorter folk 5'8". There were two screws holding the seat back in place, one of them was cross-threaded (not sure if that was factory or Walmart associate problem#. I called KL Industries and they are sending me a replace "nut" #actually more of a moly fastener) at no charge. In the meantime I was able to use a die and carefully re-tap the existing nut and made the repair. Decals are "stick-on" type and easily damaged and were damaged from in-store handling but that doesn't affect the utility of the kayak. The paddle was an inexpensive model but is a good starter paddle or as a spare. The "towable" storage compartment is quite small with a relatively small hatch, but it might work fine ....there is no provision to attach a line to it for purposes of towing, but drilling a hole for that should not be a problem. I will most likely just remove that compartment and use the recessed space to hold other types of containers. The front hatch is very small and I'm not sure just what the use for it will be. It is about 6" deep and 5" in diameter ! All three rod holders should be useful and the "Scotty" adjustable front rod holder is extra nice. The seat seemed comfortable although I didn't do a "long-term" test .

Was this review helpful? (189) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldMusician
Crystal River FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good starter fishing kayak
5/23/2013

Customer review by DjSchmeeJ

4.0 stars 5/23/2013 by DjSchmeeJ
by DjSchmeeJ

This is my 5th or 6th kayak I have purchased. I have a nice 14ft perception touring kayak, but wanted something just for fishing. It paddles easy (the paddle that comes with it looks cheap, I use my own) and straight and is fairly steady.... you can't stand up in it if that's what you're looking for. It is a bit heavy at 48-50 lbs, and it is not completely sealed, so if you leave it out in the rain right side up water will get into it. But it has a drain plug. I suggest removing the piece on the hand grip that ties it to the deck bungee so it's easier to carry. Also suggest sealing everything better. And really needs a hand grip at the thigh pads so it would be easier to shoulder for transport. It's easy to fish from. The side walls are high enough that you won't get too much water in it, so you really don't need scupper holes. I mean... you're going to get wet in ANY kayak! There is residual plastic pieces inside that you can hear sliding around, and the cut out for the scotty rod holder falls inside when it's cut... so you'll hear that also. I put a fish finder and a couple of mods on mine easy enough, but you'll have to cut out the storage compartment to get access under the deck for the transducer. I have a video on youtube showing mine. All in All a good fishing or low end kayak to get into.

Was this review helpful? (108) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DjSchmeeJ
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great kayak for anyone who enjoys being on the wat
3/18/2014

Customer review by hackle53

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by hackle53
by hackle53

Very nice kayak, very sturdy and stable on the water...Light weight and easy to transport and tracks very well.....Shipping to the store was very fast and actually came weeks before the estimated delivery date......

Was this review helpful? (53) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hackle53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wife is mad at me
4/17/2013

Customer review by Texastrigger

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by Texastrigger
by Texastrigger

I decided to buy this yesterday and the wife was ok with that! Today we went to Canyon Lake AZ, I did stop buy me friends house to get the sub 200 dollar kayak so she could go too! After about 15 min and terrible wind she asked me to stop in this kayak to trade, I did....... long and behold I was disappointed, she was happy! she was cruising against the wind so much better than me, that my arms got tired! I bought this one for late night fishing, now I know it was worth the money! I give this thing a 10! I also recommend that you need to be able to lift 48lbs over your shoulder! {the wife didn't help carry this one} man am I happy , but over tired today! Next day off I"m going to go fishing in it! By the way did put in on top of a Ford Explorer 4x4, no problems with the luggage rack!

Was this review helpful? (102) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texastrigger
Queen Creek AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/6/2013

Customer review by My6gen

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by My6gen
by My6gen

Been looking at kayaks for awhile now. finally pulled the trigger and bought this one. Online it goes for 499. picked up at the local store only paid 449. Great deal for what you get. Of course i had to try it out. so i headed to the local river. Dropped it in and paddled away. This yak tracks very well straight line all the way. I am pleased with it. only issue i had was it had some scratches from shipping and a small ding under the boat. But does not effect the handling of the boat. For under 500 bucks i can't complain. Cant wait to get my poles and spend the day out fishing. Im not a little guy either 5'11 280. This boat floats and tracks great.... It says 395 but i am positive it can hold more than that...

Was this review helpful? (52) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
My6gen
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good for the money!
6/23/2013

Customer review by blzngmarine

4.0 stars 6/23/2013 by blzngmarine
by blzngmarine

My first Kayak and worked well when I tried it out yesterday. Only complaint is there could have been more closed storage, the opening is to small to put alot of stuff in so you have to remove them which works too but then is not waterproof. Good value for the money, free paddle works ok despite some saying it is cheap. Stable and room to move around in. I am 5'9" 230 lbs and it tracks pretty straight and moves pretty easy through the water, not the fastest but not meant to be.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blzngmarine
Berrien Springs, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very good yak
2/23/2014

Customer review by GTP1601

4.0 stars 2/23/2014 by GTP1601
by GTP1601

I did a lot of research before purchasing this kayak. What became apparent early on, is that you must evaluate your own personnel needs and usage before you decide which yak is best for you. For me: Kayak weight was a top priority. Because I paddle alone most of the time & portaging to off the beaten path creeks and rivers is a big part of it, I drew the line at 50 lbs. But I also wanted a 12ft. Boat for improved tracking and extra weight carrying & cargo space. I looked for boats that had high ratings on seat comfort and the journey answered. The paddle that came with it is fine for my use as I just need a durable big dip paddle. I like the removable waterproof hold in the stern. It is fairly large & it's convenient to just remove the whole unit for packing and transport. I'm 6'1" @ 190lbs. Legroom is good, with the adjustable foot pegs all the way forward. I have found that getting in and out is best done with a feet wet approach. Meaning I prefer to pull up on the bank straddle, then sit/rise. Rather than enter/exit from a dock. Once your in, you sit low enough that the yak feels very stable.. But with a 29" width, getting in and out is less so. However, the narrower width allows for great tracking, maneuverability and reduced the overall weight. Overall, for me, the compromise in stability is worth it. The Journey is durable. I throw it in the back of the truck, have been through brushy creeks, rocky bottoms, and have drug it hundreds of yds down gravelly paths, with nothing to show more than expected scratches. I like the looks of this yak, the high prow does a good job with light chop, but doesn't seem to catch wind. The rod holders are adequate, though I did replace the Scotty with a better model. I keep a small waterproof tackle box forward, which is fine for me, as I am not a real serious fisherman.(no fish finder , trolling motor, anchor trolley, etc.) Drawbacks of the journey: I think the biggest drawback is no access between the hulls. Therefore it makes it more difficult to modify(you can't just reach your hand inside and tighten a fastener. You have to use a Molly or a bolt anchor, etc.) Also you don't have access to all that storage space. There is a small waterproof hold forward, but it's only about the size of a cup holder. No scuppers: this wasn't that big a deal for me as I don't use this yak on the coast, but it does mean a wetter seat.(I think most sit on tops get you wet, mainly from paddle drip). I use a two inch waterproof pad to sit on, (waterproof pants in cool weather) & carry big sponge. No side handles, so I rigged a sling & take the weight on my shoulders, though it is another step. I do think it worthwhile as it is a lot easier to carry. All in all this is great kayak for me.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GTP1601
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Overall excellent VALUE !
7/30/2013

Customer review by Silentgrayfellow

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by Silentgrayfellow
by Silentgrayfellow

Purchased this at Walmart for $449 as advertised and I'm very pleased. There are pieces of plastic that slide around inside but that doesn't affect the performance. I didn't know what they were at first until I did some research and found out they were plastic cut-outs that drop down inside the hull in the manufacturing process. There is a website for Klindindustries.com where you can contact the manufacturer. I've seen some negative reviews on various kayaking network forums and blogs but they are typically biased against Walmart and a bit snooty about the quality. I for one find no problem with the quality and the fact that it doesn't have "scuppers" (to let the water run off the top# is not a problem because I never had a problem with water getting in in the first place. If you are looking for a good working kayak #holds 390 lbs# at a light weight #48 lbs# for a really good price #$480+ after taxes) then this is the kayak for you.

Was this review helpful? (84) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silentgrayfellow
Keystone Heights, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Greatest kayak ever made.
7/7/2013

Customer review by aandcmorgan

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by aandcmorgan
by aandcmorgan

We have enjoyed these 2 kaykaks so much, we have taken them out almost every weekend. We like their style. They are open so you don't worry that if you fall out, your body falls and you come ride up to the surface. They are safe and our older grandchildren love using them. You can even fish out of them.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aandcmorgan
Rio Dell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I ever would have believed
6/7/2014

Customer review by Fishfindermn

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by Fishfindermn
by Fishfindermn

This boat is perfect for lake fishing. Light enough to be easily carried by one person. I've carried it over half a mile to remote spots comfortably. I recently mounted a fish finder and trolling motor along with an anchor system. I couldn't be happier with this boat.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishfindermn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Stable for a narrow Kayak
6/3/2014

Customer review by lweetz

4.0 stars 6/3/2014 by lweetz
by lweetz

Got the kayak on sale & with bonus on credit card, I paid $410 out the door at Walmart. My husband weighs about 240 & really likes this kayak. He can get it in & out of the water pretty easy & says it is very stable for a narrower kayak. It tracks well & has sufficient dry storage for day on the lake. He has not been off the beach yet, but that is coming soon. The only future modifications will be an anchor trolly, booster seat, and maybe better handles. This kayak is kind of a hybrid, (sit on/sit in). There are no scuppers & the seat sits low, soooo thats where the water will pool if it rains or water gets in from paddling. This is the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars. Also the swivel rod holder seems a little flimsy, but fine for light fishing or just holding your rod while your on the move. Some reviews say the paddle that comes with the kayak is cheap & flimsy, It seems fine to us for a 2 piece...We also really don't have anything to compare it to since this is our first kayak. I'm sure my husband will graduate to a more ocean going kayak in the future, but this is a great beginners kayak & perfect for lake fishing. This one will probably be my hand-my-down when he moves on... :o}

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lweetz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would buy again anyday!
3/7/2014

Customer review by mms1985

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by mms1985
by mms1985

I picked up this kayak for my first Yak 3 weeks ago. I am 330lb 6'4'' and it floats me great I have put about 5miles on it in two outings. Have caught a few fish and I like that I can get up in there where there at. I have a few mods I made such as a anchor trolley, a cheat on either side to use as handles, and extended the length of the paddle, and another rod holder. I paid $449.00 and it was money well spent in my book. Would buy another if this one was stolen!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mms1985
Meridian, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great kayak for the price
6/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I did a lot of homework researching reasonable price kayaks. This model is the best price performance kayak. Stable and well made. Enough room for all that you need. Enough so I ordered a second and all came in great. Don't hesitate on this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
light and inexpensive but fragile
6/11/2014

Customer review by kennyfish

2.0 stars 6/11/2014 by kennyfish
by kennyfish

Looks great on paper at under 50lbs for a 12fter and only $450 but when I went to pick it up at my local walmart, the only two they had in stock were already damaged from shipping/handling. The first one had a punctured hull that I noticed as I was putting it on my car, the other had a big dent at one end as if it was dropped. When handling the kayak it felt very light almost too light to the point it felt cheap. Feels like a toy compared to my hobie kayak. As evidenced by the two damaged ones the hull material is very thin and appears to damage easily. I guess it could make a nice starter kayak but use with care.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kennyfish
Would recommend to a friend? No
cool kayak but i ended up returning it
10/2/2013

Customer review by kuodog

3.0 stars 10/2/2013 by kuodog
by kuodog

this was a cool looking kayak and a great price point. had storage, came with the paddle. padded seats and fishing rod holders. was planning on ocean fishing with this yak. once i realized there were no self bailing scupper holes i knew heading out and coming back to shore wouldve been a wet ride the whole time. so although i really wanted to keep it. i ended up returning it and going with something else. id say its good if your only doing lake, river, and bay fishing...

Was this review helpful? (13) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kuodog
san diego, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great kayak for the price!
8/1/2014

Customer review by KayakinLulu

5.0 stars 8/1/2014 by KayakinLulu
by KayakinLulu

I have had my Journey for 2 years now and I just love it. Very stable (have only dumped it once and that was because I was being careless). Plenty of room for fishing or camping gear. I learned last week that if I remove the tow-able on the front that area becomes my dogs seat for a long float down the river. (now that I know she loves to kayak with me she will be getting her own lifejacket) The only issue I have had it that on really hot days the plastic becomes softer and the rivets that hold the adjustable seat back pop out. Easily solved by using an inexpensive boat cushion as a back rest (which serves as an extra pfd if needed). I am on the river most days that I am off. Many great adventures ahead for us now because my hubby is getting the Journey 10' Sit On, can't wait!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KayakinLulu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't Get Enough
10/27/2014

Customer review by paddlehead

4.0 stars 10/27/2014 by paddlehead
by paddlehead

Just went out for the first time this AM. Yak was excellent under very windy and rough water. I fish mainly in a harbor (Cold Spring Harbor, NY ) This kayak is a great buy for the money. Lightweight and easy to put on top of my SUV. Tracking was excellent and the rod holder worked out well.Shipping was excellent also as it came in 2 weeks earlier than expected, wrapped nicely and in perfect condition. The paddles (a nice bonus ) are cheap but more than did the job. Expect to get wet in this on top Yak but lets get real.......your on the water. Storage is ample and I guess my one con is the rear storage compartment which is nearly impossible to get to when paddling and very difficult to open at any time. I'll be making a pull handle for it asap. All in all an excellent bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paddlehead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great kayak
9/17/2014

Customer review by Monte3

4.0 stars 9/17/2014 by Monte3
by Monte3

Very good kayak for the money I've had it on the river and a few lakes very stable and tracks Nicely everything came in perfect condition and wrapped in plastic I would recommend it to my friends

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monte3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great kayak
6/16/2014

Customer review by LUCKY6981

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by LUCKY6981
by LUCKY6981

This Kayak is perfect. its light for a 12ft. tracks really well. plenty of storage. and a great price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LUCKY6981
Kearney, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome and stable
10/27/2014

Customer review by risinger112

5.0 stars 10/27/2014 by risinger112
by risinger112

I took this kayak out in 4 foot swells with the water breaking over me and it never rolled or sank. Very stable fishing platform

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
risinger112
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews