Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 116 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

116 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

5 stars
42
4 stars
40
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 stars
12
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 102 total reviews
review
3/28/2013

Customer review by GoVille

5.0 stars by GoVille

I reviewed most reviews and the complaints that it took several hours to put together, cheap, all dented up. So on and so forth. I just purchased the grill and first thing is look over the box, no damages. I excepted grill. Unpacked the box which was packed tight and no damages, was kind of hard to get out of box with all that foam. Made sure all parts are accounted for and no damages. According to reviews I was anticipating several hours of assembling a grill. Folks; only took about an hour with me taking my time, drinking some coffee. Going to fire it up and season it for the spring, summer, gall and winter. I recommend this grill. Just make sure box is not damaged or punctured. Rich from Louisville, KY (GO CARDS)

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GoVille
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value for the money. Great grill overal
4/3/2013

Customer review by KingOtheBBQ

4.0 stars by KingOtheBBQ

First let me just start by asking....what the heck do you expect for under $200? Seriously! This is a 5 burner grill + side burner and (a partially) enclosed cabinet for tank storage. The grill is on good quality caster wheels and features electronic ignition. I've seen bbq grills with the same features made by other manufactures which cost literally hundreds of dollars more. Sure you can find grills made of higher quality materials, thicker metal, heavier, sturdier, led lighting, infrared burner, etc, etc.. I fell in love with a Jenn-Air grill which had many of those features, but there was only one problem...the price. The cost was $1700. So in contrast, I have this wonderful 5 burner grill from Backyard BBQ that I picked up at Walmart for under $200. and I just love it. Living here in SoCal, with the year round weather, I cook with my grill nearly every weekend and occasionally during the week. The truth is I look for things to cook on my grill and I'm happy with the results every time. The negatives? Well...the grill did come out of the box damaged and that is one point that really bothered me. Compared to the other grills I saw on display at Walmart my grill seemed to have less damage, but they were all damaged from one degree to another. Also I invested in a rotisserie from Master Forge and that brought up my total cost to around $260. Still for the money, you cannot go wrong with this product. I recommend investing in a high quality cover if you keep your grill outside as I do. I highly recommend this grill to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KingOtheBBQ
Sunny So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great grill.. great price
2/28/2013

Customer review by sweetgirl922

5.0 stars by sweetgirl922

We bought this grill last year and I was a little skeptical that you get what you pay for, but so far this grill has been great and we are considering buying another for our downstairs deck!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sweetgirl922
Honesdale, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good mid-range grill
2/26/2013

Customer review by IheartSunshine

4.0 stars by IheartSunshine

A good mid-range grill for the price. The top is thin stainless steel - not well insulated and dents fairly easy.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
IheartSunshine
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good grill..
2/26/2013

Customer review by StrongVet

4.0 stars by StrongVet

We purchased this grill yesterday from our local WalMart. We had been looking for a gas grill that was economical, attractive and functional. This grill fit all our requirements. The set up was easy, tools are included in the box. We used it last night in 22degree weather, with no problems!! The side burner even worked well in the cold, snow and wind.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
StrongVet
Cheyenne, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great grill for the price!
5/28/2013

Customer review by SamsMomIAm

5.0 stars by SamsMomIAm

I purchased the grill online for in-store pickup. I have a mid-sized car - be aware, the box is BIG! The Walmart clerk assisted me in getting it into the car; we had to take it out of the box, but it fit quite nicely then. (At this point, I was able to check for dents while we loaded it - it had been well packed, and there were no visible dents or scratches.) As has been mentioned in other reviews, the instructions are pretty much picture only, but we managed to get it assembled with very little problem. It heats up quickly, and to a very high temperature - the 12,000 BTUs per burner make it easy to get enough heat to sear the outside of your steak/chicken, and the temperature controls are sensitive enough to control the heat during the real cooking. Cooked our entire meal - slow cooked chicken, fast cooked steaks, potatoes in aluminum foil, and the baked beans on the side burner - on this grill. Love. Love. Love.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SamsMomIAm
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good value for the money.
2/12/2013

Customer review by loyalguy

4.0 stars by loyalguy

Not an exceptionally study grill, but it is a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
loyalguy
North Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/27/2013

Customer review by Jabmtoo

4.0 stars by Jabmtoo

I had a more expensive grill, but was looking for a grill that cooked hotter. I found it. My Brinkman was a better built grill, but it tanned the meat more than BBQ'd it. I had to cook 1" steaks on high for 6 to 7 minutes each side just to medium well. Turning the heat down to medium would take days to cook a steak. It would barely brown chicken or pork chops on any temp. My other grill (less than a year old) had (4) 10,000 BTU burners and a "Seer" burner under the lid. It didn't "Seer" any better than the other burners. This grill has (5) 12,000 BTU and can cook like a blast furnace if you want it to. Now I can "Seer" anywhere on my grill and also have the temp cooking range from very low to very hot. This grill is not quite as sturdy as the Brinkman, but it cooks much better. I would definitely buy it again if I need another grill. I paid $300.00 for my old grill and gave it away as almost new. I paid $200.00 for this grill and love it. Shipping time was very good also. I would recommend this grill.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jabmtoo
Birmingham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/22/2013

Customer review by Skatergirl916

4.0 stars by Skatergirl916

Great BBQ grill for the price. It's huge! Gets up to 700 degrees in the blink of an eye. You'll never find yourself turning it up more than medium. This baby can crank! Easy to follow instructions. Only bad part was it came with a few dings. From what I hear, they all do nowadays. If you're looking for a grill that can do it all, look no further.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Skatergirl916
Roseville,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best in the market for the price
7/31/2013

Customer review by RosieBou

4.0 stars by RosieBou

After searching high and low online and in stores for a grill that met my budget needs ($200 or less), this grill was the clear winner in value for the price. There's nothing $200 or under that gives you five burners plus a side burner, 4 casters (instead of the usual two big side wheels), and front opening doors for easier tank handling. The grill cooks well (and fast!!) and is very stylish. My one complaint is that the materials are on the cheap side (which, really, is to be expected for the price). I had to assemble my grill myself and it took three of us to put it together, because many of the metal pieces were warped or bent slightly and had to be nudged back into place. I think a combination of cheaper materials and poor packaging causes this. If you're not buying this pre-assembled, be prepared to spend a lot of time and energy putting it together. But in the end, it is worth it, because you have an amazing value for your dollar!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RosieBou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You should get what you pay for
5/6/2013

Customer review by Mayla1

2.0 stars by Mayla1

Bought the grill about a month ago. I opened the box and the paper thin hood was dented. I do keep my grill covered and we haven't had much rain. We are in a drought. Still the hood started rusting on the sides in about 2 weeks. The description of the knobs say nickle plated but I think they are plastic. The grill does cook nice and having the 5 burners that work separately is a great feature. I just wish the hood wasn't made so cheap Wish I would have waited. Now I'm seeing better made grills for close to $200.00

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mayla1
Trumbull, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Kickin2high
11/25/2013

Customer review by kicking2high

5.0 stars by kicking2high

Purchased this for a family celebration and loved it. We found it to be easy to use and clean. I couldn't believe how quickly it turned on and ready to use. If I purchased another one, I would definitely have the store assemble it as there were lots of little pieces to sort out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kicking2high
Moreno Valley CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good solid product
4/13/2014

Customer review by AleMarie

5.0 stars by AleMarie

It is your basic grill. It works great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AleMarie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really GOOD GRILL, for the money
4/20/2013

Customer review by JmodlinM8

4.0 stars by JmodlinM8

This thing gets to 500 degrees in about 3 minutes. And is ready to use. Had ours shipped and has a ding in the stainless steel lid.... The only thing that was wrong...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JmodlinM8
Anderson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/6/2013

Customer review by GrillMaster01

5.0 stars by GrillMaster01

Easy to build and well worth $198.00! Large cooking area i was able to cook London Broil on the left side, Chicken in the middle, and Peppers and onions on the right! When I first fired it up i left it on for about 5 min. before checking on it. The temp gauge was reading 700 degrees!! Glad I got it when I did because it's sold out online now!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GrillMaster01
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Grill
9/3/2013

Customer review by iig64

5.0 stars by iig64

I did a lot of searching and looking at reviews before purchasing this grill. We are very pleased so far on how the grill cooks and ease of cleaning. I love the cast iron grates it does cook meats evenly and easy to clean afterwards. I love the fact that the drip tray is removable and clean it after something very messy. Excellent grill for the money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
iig64
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great grill for the price
11/16/2013

Customer review by cheifchef

5.0 stars by cheifchef

This is replacing a Brinkman that I bought 2 years ago at twice the cost. I cook outdoors often and am very pleased with this Backyard Grill. Having 4 coasters that swivel is great since I store my grill in the garage and it makes it easier to move around. I also like how quickly it heats up and seems to reach a higher cooking temp then my old grill. I've only owned this for about a month but it is a great grill for under $200.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cheifchef
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great grill for a great price!
8/9/2013

Customer review by LEBrownEyes

4.0 stars by LEBrownEyes

We saw this grill on display & thought the $198 price posted was for the as-is display in the foyer. We were more than pleased to find out that it's the everyday price. 5 burners on the main grilling surface plus a covered side cooking burner, enclosed cabinet, 4 casters, side shelf, temperature gauge & cast iron cooking grates make this a great value! We ordered online & ship site to store for free pick up later that day. It didn't take too long to assemble & everything required was included, including a screwdriver! :) The instruction manual is quite large (think newspaper size). Some complained of the lid being dented - ours was fine, but I could see how it might easily be dented in shipping as the metal on the lid is thinner than others. We've grilled a few times on it already & are pleased with the operation of. The lid isn't too heavy & even has little rubber feet on the bottom so it doesn't slam down. The maker of this grill is Blue Rhino (same company as the propane tank exchange). I'd recommend the purchase of this grill. Thank you Walmart! If it was an option, I'd have given it 4.5 stars. (I rarely ever give anything the lowest or highest rating avail so this is a great score)

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LEBrownEyes
Oak Ridge, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill, Great Price
4/21/2014

Customer review by shophappy4me

4.0 stars by shophappy4me

It was a little difficult to put together, but it was worth the work, it is a great grill and you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shophappy4me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/22/2013

Customer review by LagrangeBBQ

2.0 stars by LagrangeBBQ

Looked great on picture. it is very flimsy made of very thin metal/steel. Now i know why the price was so good. To be fair i have not cooked anything yet; only finished the installation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LagrangeBBQ
Lagrangeville NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 102 total reviews