Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

64 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

64 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 64 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
A brilliant design. The future of radio.
11/10/2013

Customer review by Heaviside

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by Heaviside
by Heaviside

This is a brilliant design, of which I have not seen the likes before. It is a good FM radio set with Bluetooth, allowing you to stream music from other devices and it has a CD player. The brilliant aspect is its removable Tablet, which connects to your WiFi and to the radio set with Bluetooth. This makes your radio a full blown Internet radio and standard FM radio and a (small) streaming video device. I listen to local radio stations as well as to stations streaming on-line and I play XM radio on the unit. I can also read my e-mail from the Tablet, but I have sufficient other means. The unit is in my home office, almost next to a router and works very well, both in streaming mode as in FM mode and as a CD player. The unit has two good speakers and provides very good sound for my purposes. I could not find the webcam as listed on Walmart’s site, though that has not been the reason to buy this radio. I am extremely happy with this radio and I absolutely recommend it. It is easy to set up and to use. You can ignore the Tablet completely if you are not interested in it. You would still have a good stereo entertainment unit with Bluetooth connectivity. The only reason I give it 4 1/2 stars (and not 5) is that the Tablet got into hang-up mode by freezing up and had to be exchanged. However, RCA’s support UPSed me a replacement unit that works great. I am very pleased with this device and I would buy it again immediately. One can see how future entertainment devices (tv, radio and computers) are converging on the Internet. This RCA device is a great example of that convergence.

Was this review helpful? (72) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heaviside
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More Than I Expected!
12/10/2013

Customer review by Chiropractica

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Chiropractica
by Chiropractica

I have been wanting a simple radio with Bluetooth for a while. This exceeded my expectations! All new technology. I didn't know this was a tablet too. This is the most modern radio I have seen to date. It's super easy to use and pretty loud! I simply didn't want to listen to music on the computer, tv, smartphone etc. I also didn't want a huge boom box or expensive entertainment system. My apartment is small and this fits perfectly on a shelf with remote control use. I also notice sooooo many speaker systems that cater to the "I" things and not Android, but this is Android (JellyBean) and I could not be happier! I was going to wrap this and put this under the tree, but, I decided to keep on my shelf NOW because it is that wonderful, in my opinion! I would not hesitate to purchase again and I really recommend this system!

Was this review helpful? (46) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chiropractica
Harrison, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bought this for my teen son who was thrilled
11/22/2013

Customer review by hadensgrandma

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by hadensgrandma
by hadensgrandma

This is a great little system. Bought this to replace my son's stereo system that his Iphone connected to. Hooked right up to Bluetooth. The tablet is a plus, worked great. Sound quality could be better, but still not complaining it sounds good for the price. He loves it , and mom got points for this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (29) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hadensgrandma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unexpected surprise
5/11/2014

Customer review by RandallJ

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by RandallJ
by RandallJ

I got this for my small retail shop and it really is quite brilliant... wont blow the doors down but is a solid sound for such a small device.. While not very obvious here, the actual screen detaches from the main unit to go on the run just like a tablet.. (rather thick mind you but really kind of slick). The detached unit will still play music through a small onboard speaker but has a mini jack for headphones.. You could watch a movie or youtube while carrying this around in your hand. Sound is mostly adequate but not for a serious audiophile.. (what do you expect from a CD/Inet radio device?).. CON: CD only, no DVD

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandallJ
46825
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome product
1/1/2014

Customer review by ebraun

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by ebraun
by ebraun

I bought this for my 10 year old daughter and she absolutely loves this product! "Its the best music system that I would ever want....its amazing!" Great sound, easy to use, a lot of product for a great price. I might have to get one for myself!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ebraun
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The new compact stereo with Internet access
12/24/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was looking for a smaller stereo to fit a limited shelf space in my kitchen, and this unit has decent sound, a built-in CD player and FM tuner, and also functions as a removable tablet computer that can access YouTube videos, online music etc. It has limited but expandable storage, and runs on Android OS. And it can also connect to a computer (with a USB to Micro USB cable, not supplied). It has a capability to record the audio from the FM tuner to the internal memory, and the recording can then be transferred to a computer. I found the clock setting to be difficult as it defaulted to Eastern zone time and though I can set the local time to Mountain Time I haven't yet been able to set the main clock to Mountain Time. The user manual is silent on this point, Other than that, it can also connect with Google+ and other Google apps, and has a good variety of internet features I have yet to explore.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Salt Lake City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Future is RCA today!
12/24/2013

Customer review by MissFortunes

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by MissFortunes
by MissFortunes

This system is BOMB. You can do everything you'd expect a tablet to do but it integrates seamlessly with other technology via WiFi or Bluetooth. Turn your TV into WebTV, stream music from multiple sources, using existing accounts without needing to purchase. The only negative I have found...I can't get the tablet to charge directly from external battery source or to the wall, only docked to the speaker unit. The ability to use the tablet anywhere in the house to change the music...awesome. Bluetooth pairing multiple devices so I can play stored music through the tablet...double awesome. Be careful about your entire Google profile and passwords...you need to secure this tablet same as any other.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissFortunes
phoenix,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks like a Mac Plus!
3/10/2014

Customer review by HTuttleNY

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by HTuttleNY
by HTuttleNY

Working great for me so far. Sound is fine for casual music listening. I ordered better speakers and a sub for using this out on the patio this summer. This has standard stick-the-wires-in-the-springlever-hole speaker wire connectors on the back and speakers. You do need to turn on Bluetooth and connect (via settings on the tablet) the two in order to use the tablet/controller off the unit. Slight inconvenience but no biggie. Set up Google syncing and it automatically downloaded all my apps (that would run on it). Even loaded XBMC/Mashup on it for access to all the online videos, tv and music. Will be using it mostly with YouTube video music and Pandora. Will also add a 32gb SD card loaded with music. Can also connect a usb hard drive for even more media. And...for us old fogies, the main box looks like an original Macintosh computer!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HTuttleNY
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great interrnet system
2/22/2014

Customer review by auburnfields

5.0 stars 2/22/2014 by auburnfields
by auburnfields

I am so pleased that I bought this system, it was purchased as a valentines gift for my husband, but has turned into a family gift. It is so easy to use that my three year old can turn it on and find music that she likes to listen to. I would definitely recommend this product. Kind of pricey, but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auburnfields
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Very nice..
3/11/2014

Customer review by majorhavok

5.0 stars 3/11/2014 by majorhavok
by majorhavok

I bought this for a garage stereo with not the highest expectations. I am thrilled! the setup was less than an hour including setting up google play on my computer to pull music from the itunes program and "my music" folder. I let it upload overnight, but I was able to start playing songs on my new stereo right away as they were put "in the cloud". extremely cool system, I liked that the table disconnects but still plays music on the speakers as you walk around. The ONLY thing that could be better is the screen size on the tablet and the quality. It's no where near ipad retina quality and the viewing angle isn't the best, but what do you really expect for $178? This thing is a steal at this price. I watched youtube videos, browsed the web and played music all on the first night. Great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
majorhavok
Corona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Value for Tablet and Radio
3/21/2014

Customer review by lilguch

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by lilguch
by lilguch

Very innovative product. A regular use tablet, love the flexibility of watching Netflix, playing the radio, cd or streaming music. Incredible value, you will love it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilguch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
7/3/2014

Customer review by carolt495

4.0 stars 7/3/2014 by carolt495
by carolt495

This is the digital era and we love Pandora at my house and we installed outside speakers and the quality of the sound is amazing..It can be used as a tablet but to be honest I will only use it as a radio feature. The look of the stereo is not cheap looking its got a sleek design.. This is better than hanging my docking station out the window..ha ha

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carolt495
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really dissapointed
1/4/2014

Customer review by jt1256

2.0 stars 1/4/2014 by jt1256
by jt1256

My son's mom gave this to him for Christmas and we had to take it back the next day. The sound would only play using bluetooth. We exchanged it for another one and it intermittently had the same problem. We figured out that if he turned bluetooth on and off it would work when we put the tablet back on the stereo. After a couple days the tablet froze and we had to reset (via the reset button on back). It worked for a few days and today it started freezing and the screen had lines on it and it started flashing. After a few more resets it is semi-working. A poorly designed tablet really ruins this good idea. If this was made to accept a nexus or similar quality tablet and just not include a subpar tablet this would be a HUGE improvement.

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jt1256
kittanning, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poor Quality
5/13/2014

Customer review by hippityhoopla

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by hippityhoopla
by hippityhoopla

I bought this unit because it has capabilities to store music and play it life an MP3 player. I bought it for my home office I only use it for background noise while I work. It has been less then a year and the screen went out on it. I don't even use the screen. I just use the remote. I hit power and play so it goes through my play list. It wont play my music and the screen will not turn on. I was not impressed with this unit from the beginning. I would not recommend this unit to anyone. It's not a value and it's poor quality. Stay away.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hippityhoopla
Would recommend to a friend? No
My son Loves it!
1/12/2015

Customer review by Christilove

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by Christilove
by Christilove

I got this for my son for Christmas and he LOVE'S it! I had no idea what all I was buying. I didn't know that it has a removable tablet! I would totally recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 1/12/2015

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Internet Music System.

Christilove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome so far
12/29/2014

Customer review by 64086

5.0 stars 12/29/2014 by 64086
by 64086

We purchased this for our son for Christmas. We wanted something that would play regular radio stations, CD's, and internet radio. We love it. It not only does all of that, but we can download our favorite books through our librarylibrary so now my son can listen to books too. Great idea and radio.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 1/12/2015

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Internet Music System.

64086
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
would like more instructions
8/15/2014

Customer review by cucaqueen

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by cucaqueen
by cucaqueen

Great, up to date, not so easy for a non techy.Could use more in depth manual.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cucaqueen
Southern Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NICE TO HAVE A SMART AUDIO SYSTEM
12/11/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/11/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The RCA Smart Audio system is a beginners amazement. It has Internet Wifi capabilities and other nice smart features; nonetheless, the tablet should be catchier, thinner, and with a better resolution...it might be pricier but a smart audio system is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/12/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your internet music system.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Party Stereo
12/29/2013

Customer review by Mudgy

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Mudgy
by Mudgy

Easy to set-up, easy to use, great sound. Ideal for granddaughter's/daughter's 18th birthday party.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mudgy
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks sounds nice, but would not hold internet
2/15/2015

Customer review by RBB60

1.0 stars 2/15/2015 by RBB60
by RBB60

Easy to set up. The little 7" tablet was great. Sound was good. It looks great. Nice features. HOWEVER, no matter where I located the unit, it would not hold a connection to Pandora or Spotify. Would play a song or two fine, then disconnect. I tried several different locations in the room, but nothing helped. I even contacted RCA Support (email) their suggested solution was to try a different location in the room. I have a very strong wifi signal in this room, but that didn't seem to matter. I also have a Kindle Fire HD, the Pandora and Spotify worked fine every where in this room...no disconnects. I ended up returning the unit. Wish it would have worked because it's a great idea.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 3/30/2015

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the tablets, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of RCA tablets.

RBB60
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews