Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 32 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Very bright with lots of features
12/10/2013

Customer review by DaveK7

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by DaveK7
by DaveK7

Has removable carry handle, a hide-away hanging hook, a USB charging port for portable devices, and three different sources of power: internal battery with solar cell, internal battery with dynamo crank, and conventional AAA battery compartment on bottom. Has push-button light control with 3 levels of brightness. Has red and green LEDs to show internal battery condition. Has an additional port that is not explained in the instruction sheet.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveK7
Midwest USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Lantern!
1/13/2014

Customer review by Coastrman7

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Coastrman7
by Coastrman7

Got two of these for Christmas gifts specifically because of the crank / solar features. When they were opened on Christmas morning and tried they were so incredibly bright it was stunning! Even though I have a couple of the 'old' lantern advertised on TV right now I am going to purchase two of these for myself.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coastrman7
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for power outages!!
6/30/2014

Customer review by GohappyTexan

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by GohappyTexan
by GohappyTexan

I recently bought this after a storm came through our area and we had nothing but small flashlights and an oil lamp. The oil lamp kept smoking and smelling up the already hot house. I saw these online at WM and placed an order for two of them. WELL.... I should have just ordered one. These lamps are AMAZINGLY BRIGHT!!! They have 3 levels of light settings on them and they can run on either solar power or 3AAA batteries which is what I have installed in them for those just in case moments when storms roll through. Overall I am VERY happy with the purchase of this item.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GohappyTexan
San Angelo, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awsome Light. Works Great nice and bright.
5/28/2014

Customer review by Luv2workout55

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by Luv2workout55
by Luv2workout55

I purchased this to use inside a little " bunk house" that we have in our yard. It is 8 x 12 and has three windows. We turned this lantern on the day we got it and it lit right out of the box. We hang it on a shepherds hook outside of the bunk house, (you can hang it with the carrying hand or there is also a hook built into the handle that you can swing out) we just use the handle because it fits nice and secure on the shepherds hook & then take it inside at night if we want light. We don't have electricity yet. It works wonderfully . We also used it the other night for added lighting in our pavilion, and for walking people to their cars. We live in a rural area and no street lights and it worked great for that also! Used it on all three settings. All work very nicely. Had to hang it up when using the maximum setting as it was so bright it actually hurt your eyes. Which I think is great. Haven't used the crank method of charging or the usb, or regular batteries, just solar but my husband and I really like this light. Will also be great in the event of power outage. Just might buy another one as soon as I get the money and keep one charged and ready inside of our house. I definitely recommend this products. The price was, in my opinion, also very reasonable. This item also arrived very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luv2workout55
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BRIGHT Light & 3 Energy Sources, But...
4/20/2014

Customer review by LadyLiberTEA

3.0 stars 4/20/2014 by LadyLiberTEA
by LadyLiberTEA

Top feels flimsy but nice soft plastic base though 3-AAA battery compartment lid in it seems could break easily & senior hubby didn't seat it well & it fell out. Electricity portal but no adapter/cord. No instructions. Appears only charges phones via internet USB portal? Lots of unbreakable longlasting harsh blue-white LED bulbs require little hand cranking for powerfully bright dimmable light, plus solar panel in top, and battery compartment in base. Good price for emergency light.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyLiberTEA
Philadelphia area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive but reliable
11/28/2014

Customer review by Plrent

5.0 stars 11/28/2014 by Plrent
by Plrent

When I first opened the box it was clear that there were no instructions to offer you an clue as to how to use this product; but it does not take a rocket scientist to figure it out. A big plus is that if you run out of batteries, no problem; all you have to do is open the crank handle and gently turn it for about a minute; making sure that the GREEN LIGHT on the bottom side of the unit remains lit while turning. If you do so the charge will last for about 20 minutes on the lowest setting. The unit has the ability to charge if you will leave it in the sun; and if done will last around 6 hours on the lowest setting. My unit has a USB port; but in order to allow it to charge your device you will need to make sure to put (3) AAA batteries in the bottom. Use something hard to pry the battery door open or you will probably break a nail. At any rate; this reasonably sized light does what it says (at least in the sale posted ads). I bought 6 originally and gave them to every member of my family; and all 6 tested equally reliable. However, it is NOT recommended that you keep the solar cell in use if you are not actually going to be using the light; as solar cells can burn out and I don't know what effect it would have on the battery if you continually charged the unit without actually using it. Thus, it would be best to keep it in the box until needed; put batteries in it (when you actually need it); and use the solar when your out camping.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Plrent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
5/14/2014

Customer review by WishalRao

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by WishalRao
by WishalRao

This is a wonderful lantern which you charge not only with solar but also with your hand. Perfect for places without electricity. Have ordered few more for gifts.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WishalRao
Folsom, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bright Lantern
1/10/2015

Customer review by HowardfromTexas

4.0 stars 1/10/2015 by HowardfromTexas
by HowardfromTexas

I ordered this lantern from walmart because the price was a little lower than Amazon. It arrived in a reasonable amount of time, in a plain brown box with no markings. There are no brands or logos on the lantern. I opened the box and found the lantern wrapped in bubble wrap. I was a little disappointed to find the knob on the dynamo crank to be broken off. I however found that with the knob broken off I could still turn the dynamo easily. If you buy something you expect it to be in one piece, but the lantern still functioned properly. I was very impressed with how bright the lamp was, and the material the lamp is made of appears to be durable. (except the knob on the crank). We had a power outage a few days after the lantern arrived and I used it to illuminate a 400 sq ft. room and it did the job. I really like the fact that it is Solar power, and can also be charged using the Dynamo. If that is not enough it will also use batteries. Of course I do not know why you would want to use batteries if you do not have to. I deducted one star because of the broken knob, if it were not for that I would have given it five stars. I would recommend this lantern to a friend and am planning on buying a few more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HowardfromTexas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheaply made
7/22/2014

Customer review by FrustratedInMontana

2.0 stars 7/22/2014 by FrustratedInMontana
by FrustratedInMontana

This is my second attempt to purchase a working model of this lantern. Both times, it was the crank handle for the "Dynamo" charger which did not function. The first one, the handle was broken, I returned it. The second one, the handle would not rotate at all. I decided to keep it anyway because the solar powered part "appears" to work and it produces a bright light, even straight out of the box. It was cheap enough I'm not going to sweat over the money, just stash it away in my "prepper" supplies.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrustratedInMontana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bright light .Solar works. Recharges cell phone!!!
5/27/2014

Customer review by phantom199

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by phantom199
by phantom199

Bright light .Solar works. Recharges cell phone!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phantom199
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Looking and Functional Product
8/4/2014

Customer review by designpremier123

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by designpremier123
by designpremier123

This product has everything one would look for when you have no electricity. The only thing it is missing is a radio. Great price for all the functions!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
designpremier123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BEST EMERGENCY LIGHTING
3/11/2014

Customer review by DDS54

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by DDS54
by DDS54

My only complaint: you can not charge from u. s. power 110/115 @ 60 hz but, it can be modified. Still via: dc, solar or crank - you have light!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDS54
N.M.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
IF these hold up and perform, then awesome product
7/29/2014

Customer review by FrednPaula

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by FrednPaula
by FrednPaula

Wife and I leaving for Africa this week. Taking 9 solar lanterns to orphanges in various locations around Uganda, where they have NO electricity. If this product performs and holds up as well as I am hoping, then this is an AWESOME product and value!! What a blessing it'll be. Thanks Walmart....and China! =) Ask me again end of August 2014.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrednPaula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for my needs
6/26/2014

Customer review by 1STCAVGUY

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by 1STCAVGUY
by 1STCAVGUY

I hate wasting money on batteries. Plus in power outages they are wasted in no time. This is great for a few reasons. You can crank it to charge or i prefere sun power. During the day leave out in the sunlight and you will have enough power for the night.You have the option to charge your cell phone even though i never tested it yet. But it's an option that can be important to some. finally a nice price unlike other similar items i have seen online

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1STCAVGUY
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
everything is almost great
8/1/2014

Customer review by lightNoWorkyWorky

1.0 stars 8/1/2014 by lightNoWorkyWorky
by lightNoWorkyWorky

It works great except it didn't ship with the plastic lid that clicks in place to secure the batteries.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lightNoWorkyWorky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice little lantern
12/9/2014

Customer review by wolffie60

5.0 stars 12/9/2014 by wolffie60
by wolffie60

Great buy for the price lightweight and with the 36 LED LIGHTS very bright and bonus! Its solar. Fits nicely in a backpack I'm planning on purchasing another for myself and one for a gift for my camping buddy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolffie60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
super
1/6/2015

Customer review by benny001

5.0 stars 1/6/2015 by benny001
by benny001

Excellent at home or on the go. Can be used with out batteries or electric socket just what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
benny001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent lantern for camping!
8/4/2014

Customer review by Trub65

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by Trub65
by Trub65

Best lantern we have ever purchased. We like our first one so much that we wanted a second one. We use them camping all the time for our camp trailer and tent. We never have to worry about batteries or propane! It recharges really well during the day. We seldom have to use the crank to help recharge it, but it does work and would come in handy if needed. Our first Whetstone has a 2 way lighting system, but this one has a 3 way! Overall it is a very dependable lantern. We have even used it for a night light for our children in the trailer on the lowest setting and it was still lit come morning, but ready for a recharge! I believe that we've had our first one for 4 years now! I highly recommend this lantern!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trub65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic
8/13/2014

Customer review by Angiemcc

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by Angiemcc
by Angiemcc

So bright I am buying more!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angiemcc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful Camping Lantern
7/22/2014

Customer review by fan7of7walmart

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by fan7of7walmart
by fan7of7walmart

I ordered this Solar and Dynamo Powered Camping Lantern after I seen it online. It has passed meet my expectations and is a must to own product for camping. It able to charge a your cell phone as long as you have the right connection for it. I like that it is solar powered, Dynamo Powered, and battery powered as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fan7of7walmart
Area 51 Sector C, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews