Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 262 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

262 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

262 reviews | 3 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
38
3 stars
27
2 stars
41
1 stars
79
1-20 of 250 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews
I agree with tkba, squeaky soother indeed! heh
6/28/2008

Customer review by RedStick80

4.0 stars 6/28/2008 by RedStick80
by RedStick80

First off I must say that when it starts acting up (repeating itself, lights and sounds blinking/jumping, parts moving w/o sound/lights) that means the batteries are dying...it's not broken. Only once did mine not turn off when I switched it to off but the other signs of the batteries dying were already present. Also it doesn't seem like everyone is aware that there is a function on the side of it that allows the projection to come into focus...mine does great even on our 15ft ceilings. The only problem I have with it functionally is that it squeaks more than i'd like it to which seems more annoying to me than my 5mth old. Also I assumed that I would be able to manually set it on a particular nature sound (like I can on the Ocean Wonders bouncer) but you can't...I also assumed it was more like Mozart classical, I was wrong there too. Lastly it seems that things have to be pretty loud (she's screaming) before the sound sensor activates the music. The 5, 10 and 15 min timer shut-off is great...overall i'd recommend it if you can handle the squeaking.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedStick80
Baton Rouge, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT product!!!
9/26/2010

Customer review by NatesMom74

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by NatesMom74
by NatesMom74

I have purchased this as a baby shower gift for several friends and have used it for my son. If I had another child, this would be the first product I would buy! We bought this when our son was about 6 weeks old, and it helped him with seeing the shapes and motion on the wall with the projector, and next to him with the music and lights. The night we bought it, he started sleeping more and wouldn't cry the moment we laid him down! :) As he got used to it, he would automatically turn his head in the direction of it when we woud lay him down and would wait for us to turn it on each night. When he was older, he was able to entertain himself with it in his crib after he woke up in the mornings! For a LONG time! My son is almost 2 years old now, and we have just removed it from his crib because he's about to transition to a regular bed. The reason I rated a little lower on a couple items, is that eventually, the projector didn't work any longer, but the rest works great! Considering that he played with it every single day in his crib, I think the batteries lasted quite a while before having to change them. It wasn't super easy to change the batteries, because you have to remove from the crib and use a screw driver or a quarter to each of the screws, but that would never detour me from buying this product again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NatesMom74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy on sleepy eyes
10/28/2007

Customer review by homematters

5.0 stars 10/28/2007 by homematters
by homematters

This is a great crib toy for sleepy eyes. I had bought another one for my son but it was way to bright and caused him to wake up more at night. He really likes this one. It is very cute! The only thing was the first one we bought broke after only a couple of uses. but we returned it and that one has been fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
homematters
Fort Bragg NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's ok . . if only used occasionally
6/21/2009

Customer review by Mommyof2onepinkoneblue

2.0 stars 6/21/2009 by Mommyof2onepinkoneblue
by Mommyof2onepinkoneblue

I bought this product for my daughter when she was born. I really liked the fact that it projected on the ceiling, and it would sing, and also did nature sounds. What I didn't like was the fact that it took like 4 C batteries, and it went through those batteries in about a two week period. About 2 months after we bought it, the gears started grinding pretty badly, and you couldn't hear the music over it. Then it would stick and stutter through the music, and the only way to turn it off was to remove the batteries, as it wouldn't respond to the OFF switch. All in all, it worked for maybe 2 months, and I wouldn't buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommyof2onepinkoneblue
Stevensville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Saved my sanity
11/7/2007

Customer review by Growing2Boys

5.0 stars 11/7/2007 by Growing2Boys
by Growing2Boys

My 15mo old was a great sleeper, but developed separation anxiety at bedtime. I bought this hoping to ease his wake to sleep transition It worked instantly. He LOVES it. It has several settings as you can read by the description. I will agree with other reviewers that it does make a quiet mechanical noise when the inside characters move, but it doesn't take away from it's charm for my guy. He just loves the lights, the music & the ceiling show (which is VERY crisp & clear) I set it to 3 minutes each night & he does the rest. All the functions have worked. I am not sure the mechanical sound is a defect or just a part of how the product should function. Very highly recommend keeping in mind that every baby is unique. What works for some does not work for all :) The only negative I can find is that the straps will not work around a sleigh crib. I needed to secure it low inside the crib, but I am glad I did because he lays on his tummy & plays with it. Much better for sleep then sitting up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Growing2Boys
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
would be great if it worked!
9/19/2007

Customer review by PlatinumShopper

2.0 stars 9/19/2007 by PlatinumShopper
by PlatinumShopper

When I first used this crib toy, I could not have been happier. It was great: the music, the lights, the projection and even the price was a little lower than some other ones on the market. However, not even a week later, the music started to play like a broken record, so I had to run over to turn the darn thing off, but I discovered that it was not such an easy task...the whole toy refused to cooperate and was stuck on the same 3 notes and would not respond to the OFF button. I had to remove the batteries just to shut it off. So, thinking that it was just this one defective toy, I bought another one, since me and my baby really liked it... not even a week later, the exact same thing happend to the second one. Needless to say, both were returned to the store and I now own a different crib toy which my boy loves just as much, without the technical difficulties.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlatinumShopper
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poorly designed product
9/29/2009

Customer review by DutchessT

1.0 stars 9/29/2009 by DutchessT
by DutchessT

I purchased this product when my son was born. It worked great for about the first two weeks. Started making horrible grinding noises. Thought the batteries were weak so we changed them and still did not help. The gears that make the parts move grind so badly now that you cannot even hear the music or sounds. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT AT ALL!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DutchessT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Stopped working after 2 weeks - no help from VTech
1/7/2011

Customer review by VegasTwinMama

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by VegasTwinMama
by VegasTwinMama

We have used VTech toys since the girls were born, and we finally bought this crib soother two weeks ago to soothe the babies in their new beds. Well, last night the projector feature - the reason we got this soother - stopped working. We kept the soother outside their beds so they both could enjoy it, so it is not like the twins broke it, it simply stopped working. I just got off the phone with VTech customer service, and I am furious. Their customer service agent spoke broken english, and I am not sure how much she understood. Anyways, she had me go through several problem solving steps. For instance, she actually set a timer for x minutes for the batteries to stay out of the compartment, she had me flip the on and off switch 15 times, it was just one silly step after another that in the end fixed nothing. First I was on hold for about 20 minutes, then all the steps - not to mention her "documenting" everything - took a long time too, talk about wasting time. The projector portion of this crib soother is obviously broken. There could be a blown light bulb in there, I don't know, but the rest still works. After doing everything she asked, I told her I really just want the soother to work, and if her steps can't fix it then please send me a new soother and I will give her my old (a whole 2 weeks!) one. The answer was no. Because I don't have the receipt (which she kept reminding me was a very important document!), the only thing she could offer me was $10 off a new one, but, there would be a $5 shipping fee. I told her that is just awful customer service, we bought the crib soother brand new 2 weeks ago, and it stopped working for no reason, and she reiterated that the only thing she could do was to give a rebate on future new purchase. We have a house full of VTech toys - which the twins love - but they just lost some very loyal customers over a $25 crib soother. Also, I will make sure to tell anybody considering a VTech product to stay away. This was poor, poor customer service for an obviously poorly made crib soother.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VegasTwinMama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
CHOOSE A DIFFERENT PRODUCT
11/16/2011

Customer review by saturncapricorn

1.0 stars 11/16/2011 by saturncapricorn
by saturncapricorn

Bought for my daughter at about 6 weeks of age. She is now 7 months. She loves this music box and I hate it. It eats batteries. Generic batteries last only 4 days. Brand name batteries maybe 2 weeks. Gears grind and drown the music out. Projector runs batteries down very fast and that is what my daughter loves most about this toy. Also, had to use a shoe string to fasten the box to the head of the crib. The bands that come with the music box to attach to the bed are not safe. My daughter was able to pull the box down and with 4 C batteries iT makes this thing very heavy for a baby. The only pro about this product is it is sound and motion sensored and my daughter can turn it on by pushing the button very easily by herself. Suggestion, prepare to spend hundreds on batteries, or opt for rechargeable batteries, or better yet CHOOSE A DIFFERENT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saturncapricorn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
7/25/2007

Customer review by lovetoshopatwalmart

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by lovetoshopatwalmart
by lovetoshopatwalmart

I just Love it, my 5 month old can turn it on by him self and can keep him entertain for a while. I Highly recommend it....

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetoshopatwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not so great....
1/22/2013

Customer review by melissalgraves

1.0 stars 1/22/2013 by melissalgraves
by melissalgraves

my husband and i bought this for our 18 month old a few weeks ago when the previous one (another brand) quick working. i was excited about it because of the projection feature. we bought it on a saturday morning and by sunday night, we had to turn the projection feature off because it was "skipping". we also noticed that the music was getting stuck at certain parts so i only turned it on while the little one was going to bed and then i would go in and turn it off. after a wild and crazy hunt for a light-bulb, we replaced that and the batteries to see what would happen. saturday night, it worked great and little one went to sleep with no issues...on sunday night, it started skipping again but the projection part worked great...monday night, i think it just totally died. the bunny and bumblebee were moving and you could hear the gears working but there was no light or music to it at all. after turning it off, it was still "on", but still no light or music. i really liked this product and all the other reviews mentioned it lasting for years so i am a little disappointed right now.

melissalgraves
frisco, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works for us
12/23/2009

Customer review by EmWFlorida

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by EmWFlorida
by EmWFlorida

I decided to buy this product in place of a regular mobile, because they cost the same, and you can only keep a mobile in until the baby starts sitting up. I also thought this was more interesting for the baby. My daughter is 5 weeks now, so we haven't been using it that long. The batteries are still working fine, and obviously she hasn't been pulling on the straps yet, but we pulled on it ourselves when we hung it up, and it was on pretty sturdy. The only thing that I really hate about this product is the lady's voice. It sounds so creepy, and each setting has her singing, and can't turn her off. Luckily she doesnt sing the whole time, but when its on the 10 minute setting, she comes on in the middle, so when the baby is almost asleep, all of the sudden it chimes, and she says it's lullaby time, and sings... waking the baby up. I would have made it to where you can turn the vocals off. But I really do like it overall.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmWFlorida
Auburndale Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works fine for us
12/23/2009

Customer review by Loving Mommyhood

4.0 stars 12/23/2009 by Loving Mommyhood
by Loving Mommyhood

I decided to buy this product in place of a regular mobile, because they cost the same, and you can only keep a mobile in until the baby starts sitting up. I also thought this was more interesting for the baby. Alyssa Grace is 5 weeks now, so we haven't been using it that long. The batteries are still working fine, and obviously she hasn't been pulling on the straps yet, but we pulled on it ourselves when we hung it up, and it was on pretty sturdy. The only thing that I really hate about this product is the lady's voice. It sounds so creepy, and each setting has her singing, and can't turn her off. And when its on the 10 minute setting, she comes on in the middle, so when the baby is almost asleep, all of the sudden it chimes, and she says it's lullaby time, and sings... waking the baby up. I would have made it to where you can turn the vocals off. But I really do like it overall.

Loving Mommyhood
Auburndale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked in the store
1/6/2008

Customer review by emsmomma

2.0 stars 1/6/2008 by emsmomma
by emsmomma

I tired this product in the store and thought it was great, especially the auto turn on option for the baby if they wake up. I never noticed that option working. We got the machine for Christmas and by January 1 it stopped working. The lights ran for over 12 hours, made terrible grinding noises and even when put on the off switch would not turn off. The lights flash on and off and it makes moaning & grinding noises. I contacted Vtech, they said to reset it by removing the batteries, but I cant even get it to turn off in the off position. They said it would take about 4 weeks to get a replacement model. We'll see how the next one works. Hopefully the next one will work better because the week it did work my daughter loved it, there are many choices of songs, sounds, light options etc so you can keep it changing. Id recommend it if it worked properly, but as I read Im not the only one who has had a similar problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emsmomma
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great
1/11/2011

Customer review by BraidensMommy2010

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by BraidensMommy2010
by BraidensMommy2010

I read other reviews before buying this product on this website and they said that it was a good product but it didn't last long. We seem to have gotten a good one. baby braiden loves looking at the bright colors and loves the music. We were hesitant on buying it because of the other reviews but when we got it it does come with a one year warranty and ours is okay works just fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BraidensMommy2010
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best crib toy I have ever bought
2/10/2009

Customer review by mOmoF3gRtKIds

5.0 stars 2/10/2009 by mOmoF3gRtKIds
by mOmoF3gRtKIds

After many many trips to the store we decided on this crib unit. We wanted one that would project onto the ceiling above the crib and show up really well. Well we found it this product is the best thing we have purchased for our daughter. We bought it in Nov. 08 and she uses it every night and loves it. I love the fact we havent had to replace the batteries yet. Before we got this our daughter would fuss in her crib the mobile just wasnt enough to entertain her but this toy worked like a charm. The only thing I can think of that I would change is the timer length I would like it to stay on a little bit longer like 15-20 minutes. But most of the time shes asleep within the 10 minutes anyway so we love it. It projects onto the wall or ceiling really well the picture is very clear. I would recommend this product over and over again. We love it, and so does our daughter who is now almost 4 mths and still enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mOmoF3gRtKIds
SE Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Puts Him Back to Sleep
12/1/2009

Customer review by Agnieszka60187

4.0 stars 12/1/2009 by Agnieszka60187
by Agnieszka60187

This toy has saved me a lot of getting up in the middle of the night. My son would wake up and cry, the soother would turn on, automatically and either play music or those "soothing nature sounds". Now, when he is older, he loves looking at the moving picture projected on the ceiling just plays with knobs and buttons when he wakes up in the morning instead of crying (unless he is hungry, of course). The mechanism could be more quiet. It is not horrible but the waves and crickets sound better than the mechanical movement. I guess both noises could be soothing. If you use the projection a lot, you would have to replace the four D batteries, frequently. I kept it turned off for almost a year and just went with music. Love the timer you can set to 3, 5 or 10 mintues, love small lights and the fact that you can turn them off for the night and just have the sound turn on automatically (without the projector, even if you used it, initially). I am buing one of these for my cousin who is expecting her second boy in two weeks. She will need that sound-detecting sensor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agnieszka60187
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stopped working
1/23/2011

Customer review by MadisonsMoma

2.0 stars 1/23/2011 by MadisonsMoma
by MadisonsMoma

Received this as a gift and after 2 weeks the projector stopped working. I am able to have the lights and music play without the projector. I wish that I could return it. Also beware if you have a new style crib as it will not fit on the upper rail.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadisonsMoma
Montrose, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Lifesaver! LOVE IT!
1/12/2010

Customer review by Mom

5.0 stars 1/12/2010 by Mom
by Mom

This has been a life saver. My baby sleeps through the night now. We put it in his crib around 12 months old. We have never believed in letting him "cry it out" and always went in to hold him. We would give it a second for the cry-activated feature to work, and sure enough, it would turn itself on when our baby cried out, and he would immediately stop crying and be soothed by the music and lights. Then the music turns off itself depending on the time you have it set to (3-5-10 min). We rarely have to go in there now. It was a miracle! Eventually, he just started sleeping without even crying out. Now, months later, he wakes up at night (no crying), rolls over and pushes the button himself to turn it on (he likes the nature sounds and even has favorite songs) and falls right back asleep within seconds. He loves it. We take it with us everywhere we go. I will use it for our next baby and have recommended it to friends. I wish we had tried it sooner. The only con is we have to change the batteries every 1-2 weeks but that is because he loves to turn it on and play with it, even during the day. Great toy!

Mom
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Aweful Straps!
3/21/2013

Customer review by HelplessInOhio

3.0 stars 3/21/2013 by HelplessInOhio
by HelplessInOhio

To be honest I NEVER write reviews on products but I just can't let this one slide. I really like this product except for the straps that hold it onto the crib. First of all, they are flimsy foam material. Second I have wide sides on my crib and no matter how I try to secure the straps over the tops of the crib side these straps won't fit. Originally I had to add an extra hole on the bottom of the straps just so it can be held in place. Well of course I had to change the batteries in it and while trying to re-attach this to the crib it won't stay in place. I dreaded changing the batteries because of these straps and now I will throw them away and get some string to attach this toy to the crib! Seriously? I can't believe they can't make the straps longer for the more modern cribs. Step it up VTech!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HelplessInOhio
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews