Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 262 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

262 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

262 reviews | 3 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
38
3 stars
27
2 stars
41
1 stars
79
1-20 of 250 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews
It's ok . . if only used occasionally
6/21/2009

Customer review by Mommyof2onepinkoneblue

2.0 stars 6/21/2009 by Mommyof2onepinkoneblue
by Mommyof2onepinkoneblue

I bought this product for my daughter when she was born. I really liked the fact that it projected on the ceiling, and it would sing, and also did nature sounds. What I didn't like was the fact that it took like 4 C batteries, and it went through those batteries in about a two week period. About 2 months after we bought it, the gears started grinding pretty badly, and you couldn't hear the music over it. Then it would stick and stutter through the music, and the only way to turn it off was to remove the batteries, as it wouldn't respond to the OFF switch. All in all, it worked for maybe 2 months, and I wouldn't buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommyof2onepinkoneblue
Stevensville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stopped working after 2 weeks - no help from VTech
1/7/2011

Customer review by VegasTwinMama

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by VegasTwinMama
by VegasTwinMama

We have used VTech toys since the girls were born, and we finally bought this crib soother two weeks ago to soothe the babies in their new beds. Well, last night the projector feature - the reason we got this soother - stopped working. We kept the soother outside their beds so they both could enjoy it, so it is not like the twins broke it, it simply stopped working. I just got off the phone with VTech customer service, and I am furious. Their customer service agent spoke broken english, and I am not sure how much she understood. Anyways, she had me go through several problem solving steps. For instance, she actually set a timer for x minutes for the batteries to stay out of the compartment, she had me flip the on and off switch 15 times, it was just one silly step after another that in the end fixed nothing. First I was on hold for about 20 minutes, then all the steps - not to mention her "documenting" everything - took a long time too, talk about wasting time. The projector portion of this crib soother is obviously broken. There could be a blown light bulb in there, I don't know, but the rest still works. After doing everything she asked, I told her I really just want the soother to work, and if her steps can't fix it then please send me a new soother and I will give her my old (a whole 2 weeks!) one. The answer was no. Because I don't have the receipt (which she kept reminding me was a very important document!), the only thing she could offer me was $10 off a new one, but, there would be a $5 shipping fee. I told her that is just awful customer service, we bought the crib soother brand new 2 weeks ago, and it stopped working for no reason, and she reiterated that the only thing she could do was to give a rebate on future new purchase. We have a house full of VTech toys - which the twins love - but they just lost some very loyal customers over a $25 crib soother. Also, I will make sure to tell anybody considering a VTech product to stay away. This was poor, poor customer service for an obviously poorly made crib soother.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VegasTwinMama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poorly designed product
9/29/2009

Customer review by DutchessT

1.0 stars 9/29/2009 by DutchessT
by DutchessT

I purchased this product when my son was born. It worked great for about the first two weeks. Started making horrible grinding noises. Thought the batteries were weak so we changed them and still did not help. The gears that make the parts move grind so badly now that you cannot even hear the music or sounds. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT AT ALL!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DutchessT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Love it!
7/25/2007

Customer review by lovetoshopatwalmart

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by lovetoshopatwalmart
by lovetoshopatwalmart

I just Love it, my 5 month old can turn it on by him self and can keep him entertain for a while. I Highly recommend it....

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoshopatwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
would be great if it worked!
9/19/2007

Customer review by PlatinumShopper

2.0 stars 9/19/2007 by PlatinumShopper
by PlatinumShopper

When I first used this crib toy, I could not have been happier. It was great: the music, the lights, the projection and even the price was a little lower than some other ones on the market. However, not even a week later, the music started to play like a broken record, so I had to run over to turn the darn thing off, but I discovered that it was not such an easy task...the whole toy refused to cooperate and was stuck on the same 3 notes and would not respond to the OFF button. I had to remove the batteries just to shut it off. So, thinking that it was just this one defective toy, I bought another one, since me and my baby really liked it... not even a week later, the exact same thing happend to the second one. Needless to say, both were returned to the store and I now own a different crib toy which my boy loves just as much, without the technical difficulties.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlatinumShopper
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great
1/11/2011

Customer review by BraidensMommy2010

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by BraidensMommy2010
by BraidensMommy2010

I read other reviews before buying this product on this website and they said that it was a good product but it didn't last long. We seem to have gotten a good one. baby braiden loves looking at the bright colors and loves the music. We were hesitant on buying it because of the other reviews but when we got it it does come with a one year warranty and ours is okay works just fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BraidensMommy2010
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stopped working
1/23/2011

Customer review by MadisonsMoma

2.0 stars 1/23/2011 by MadisonsMoma
by MadisonsMoma

Received this as a gift and after 2 weeks the projector stopped working. I am able to have the lights and music play without the projector. I wish that I could return it. Also beware if you have a new style crib as it will not fit on the upper rail.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadisonsMoma
Montrose, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I agree with tkba, squeaky soother indeed! heh
6/28/2008

Customer review by RedStick80

4.0 stars 6/28/2008 by RedStick80
by RedStick80

First off I must say that when it starts acting up (repeating itself, lights and sounds blinking/jumping, parts moving w/o sound/lights) that means the batteries are dying...it's not broken. Only once did mine not turn off when I switched it to off but the other signs of the batteries dying were already present. Also it doesn't seem like everyone is aware that there is a function on the side of it that allows the projection to come into focus...mine does great even on our 15ft ceilings. The only problem I have with it functionally is that it squeaks more than i'd like it to which seems more annoying to me than my 5mth old. Also I assumed that I would be able to manually set it on a particular nature sound (like I can on the Ocean Wonders bouncer) but you can't...I also assumed it was more like Mozart classical, I was wrong there too. Lastly it seems that things have to be pretty loud (she's screaming) before the sound sensor activates the music. The 5, 10 and 15 min timer shut-off is great...overall i'd recommend it if you can handle the squeaking.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedStick80
Baton Rouge, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT product!!!
9/26/2010

Customer review by NatesMom74

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by NatesMom74
by NatesMom74

I have purchased this as a baby shower gift for several friends and have used it for my son. If I had another child, this would be the first product I would buy! We bought this when our son was about 6 weeks old, and it helped him with seeing the shapes and motion on the wall with the projector, and next to him with the music and lights. The night we bought it, he started sleeping more and wouldn't cry the moment we laid him down! :) As he got used to it, he would automatically turn his head in the direction of it when we woud lay him down and would wait for us to turn it on each night. When he was older, he was able to entertain himself with it in his crib after he woke up in the mornings! For a LONG time! My son is almost 2 years old now, and we have just removed it from his crib because he's about to transition to a regular bed. The reason I rated a little lower on a couple items, is that eventually, the projector didn't work any longer, but the rest works great! Considering that he played with it every single day in his crib, I think the batteries lasted quite a while before having to change them. It wasn't super easy to change the batteries, because you have to remove from the crib and use a screw driver or a quarter to each of the screws, but that would never detour me from buying this product again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NatesMom74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointing!
11/2/2008

Customer review by SweetLeilani71

2.0 stars 11/2/2008 by SweetLeilani71
by SweetLeilani71

When I first purchased this toy it was great. The songs and the lights were wonderful. After a few months of use the gears were making a lot of noise. So loud that it became hard to hear the music. It eventually stopped worked all together. It didn't last long enough for my daughter to enjoy. Very disappointing, since it was a great toy to begin with.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetLeilani71
Arlington, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Grandson wants more!
10/21/2007

Customer review by Seans1Grammy

5.0 stars 10/21/2007 by Seans1Grammy
by Seans1Grammy

I watch my grandson every weekend due to his parents work schedule. We put this crib toy in his bed almost a year ago. He will soon be 2 and last night the toy didn't turn on. It wasn't the batteries, and it doesn't work anymore. He was devastated! I must get out and buy another before next weekend! He goes to sleep always listening to it and if he wakes up in the night, only needs to push a button and it sings to him again. He loves it. It may not have lasted as long as I expected, but is well worth the money and will be again! My only concern is when we put him in a twin bed, how we will mount it! Great item!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seans1Grammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy on sleepy eyes
10/28/2007

Customer review by homematters

5.0 stars 10/28/2007 by homematters
by homematters

This is a great crib toy for sleepy eyes. I had bought another one for my son but it was way to bright and caused him to wake up more at night. He really likes this one. It is very cute! The only thing was the first one we bought broke after only a couple of uses. but we returned it and that one has been fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homematters
Fort Bragg NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Useful !
8/19/2007

Customer review by Makailasmommy

5.0 stars 8/19/2007 by Makailasmommy
by Makailasmommy

You wont realize how much you need this until you have it. It has settings for lullabies, nature sounds, or a combo of both, plus timer settings for 3 5 or 10 minutes. Also I never knew it till one day i left the room and came back in later b/c i heard my 1 month daughter crying and found that it was on playing and she was quiet again! comes to find out that after the timer expires, if your baby wakes up and hits the botton button it turns itself on and lulls them back to sleep. My daughter loves the lullabies and the lights, she just lays there and stares at it quietly while I need to get things done in the morning. Awesome product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Makailasmommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
its cute
12/30/2010

Customer review by sdhjk

4.0 stars 12/30/2010 by sdhjk
by sdhjk

i like it the only thing i don't like is before it plays music it talks tells ur baby goodnight and other stuff that wakes my baby up

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sdhjk
Petrolia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Aweful Straps!
3/21/2013

Customer review by HelplessInOhio

3.0 stars 3/21/2013 by HelplessInOhio
by HelplessInOhio

To be honest I NEVER write reviews on products but I just can't let this one slide. I really like this product except for the straps that hold it onto the crib. First of all, they are flimsy foam material. Second I have wide sides on my crib and no matter how I try to secure the straps over the tops of the crib side these straps won't fit. Originally I had to add an extra hole on the bottom of the straps just so it can be held in place. Well of course I had to change the batteries in it and while trying to re-attach this to the crib it won't stay in place. I dreaded changing the batteries because of these straps and now I will throw them away and get some string to attach this toy to the crib! Seriously? I can't believe they can't make the straps longer for the more modern cribs. Step it up VTech!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelplessInOhio
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Buy It!
11/9/2010

Customer review by DanyetteR

1.0 stars 11/9/2010 by DanyetteR
by DanyetteR

I bought this product for my son and loved it at first and so did he!! Especially since he learned how to push the button to make it come on himself. HOWEVER, after about 2 months, it stopped working.... would not shut off, light wouldn't come on and the gears were grinding ike crazy and music was repeating. So I returned it and exchanged it for the exact same thing. This time it only took 2 weeks for the same thing to happen. So yet again, I exchanged it for another one, two weeks later, same problem. Now on the 4th one, the same thing has happened again after only one week. I will be returning it for something else this time. What a shame too, becuase my son really did like it. Don't buy this product it is made very poorly and will break within the first month you own it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanyetteR
Apollo Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awful and a waste of money
12/5/2012

Customer review by Moeremis

1.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Moeremis
by Moeremis

I purchased this item for my infant's crib and it lasted about a week. The light inside started to flicker and then it just stayed on. If I tried to get it to shut off it would get stuck on repeat. I had my baby to sleep and it just started to go off, "It's night night time, It's night night time, It's night night time" over and over. If you're a parent you know how frustrating it can be to have a sleeping baby woken up. I thought it was just a fluke so I took it back to the store and traded it out for a new one. In a week the second one was doing the exact same thing. Not worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moeremis
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
extra comforting
1/20/2011

Customer review by cindyloo19

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by cindyloo19
by cindyloo19

I gave this to my new grandson for Christmas. It was a great success. It is motion activated so when he moves it plays a chosen music or nature sound. The whole family loves it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cindyloo19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Soother
9/20/2007

Customer review by 1EZMOM

5.0 stars 9/20/2007 by 1EZMOM
by 1EZMOM

My daughter has had this toy since she was 6 months old. It helped her with the transition of sleeping in her big baby bed as opposed to small bed in our room. She is now 2 1/2 and in the toddler bed and still loving it. She calls it her dodo machine. When she cries it turns on and sooths her back to sleep. I haven't seen any of the comparable products with this feature. I change the 4 "C" batteries about once a month.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1EZMOM
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEST baby toy ever made!
9/29/2007

Customer review by preciousbaby

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by preciousbaby
by preciousbaby

We (baby and me) love this thing! When he fusses a little at night, the very nice quality audio feature automatically turns on for the time limit I pre-set. And, it actually works- he falls back to sleep!!! Now, I only have to get up if something is wrong and he keeps on crying. Also, you can turn it on by pushing the button and choose if you want all lights to come on with sound or any combination. The light show on the ceiling is much better than the FP soother we got and had to hang a foot away from the ceiling to get any focus. This toy has a focus button! And the light show is multi-colored and moves. The FP does is much plainer. I don't care if I'll have to keep buying batteries. This product is a great price, as I would pay much more for it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
preciousbaby
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews