Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
11
1-20 of 35 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
A tracfone customer since 1998
12/19/2013

Customer review by CAMPJEEP

5.0 stars 12/19/2013 by CAMPJEEP
by CAMPJEEP

I really like the zte valet, being a long time tracfone customer I feel like I am going from a VW to a BMW but I know I am not. the zte valet is at the low end of android phone barrel. This is a true smartphone unlike my LG 800, but it was a good call phone. I have a ton of apps on the valet and I have customized it just how I want. The Super-Bright LED Flashlight Surpax Technology Inc is a handy app. The TRACFONE APP from google play store is a good one to check your balance and service date and to add min and data time. The power bar widget(COMES WITH PHONE) is the one I use the most, I use it to turn the data off so I don't lose it all. You can turn the wi-fi on from there,and turn sync on, GPS, bluetooth and the screen brightness. I will take a picture of the power bar and put on customer images on this phones main page.( Remember to turn off data when you're not using it. ) I have norton anti-malware (free) app and it works great, It always checks every new app I install and if it updates a app it checks that also. I have had the phone for 3 weeks now and have not had any problems, I read all the review sites and blogs and that has helped. I just seen in the Q&A on the phones home page on this site what the mirow was for and they told you about a good flashlight app on google,it works great...If you need a 9 or 10 rated phone you will probbley will not be happy with this low end phone, but for a pre-paid phone I like mine. I do notice that I do not have as many signal bars as I did on my other tracfones but I can use this phone where the others would not work and have not dropped any calls.. So what I am trying to say here is that I can call and talk just about anywhere I go west va - ohio - ky. ( On this phone mabey 1 to 3 bars and my others phones I would have 3 and 4 bars...) Voice is good. camera indoors is really bad and outside is just O K. Hint, have your kids buy you time cards, google play cards and data cards for fathers, mothers, birthdays and xmas... ha ha. I bought my first T. F. in 1998, I seen it in a jeep mag and took it out west Leadville, CO and it worked,I was shocked. What's great about it: Android 4.1 Operating System, 1.0Ghz processor. What's not so great: Camera indoor pictures.

Was this review helpful? (212) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CAMPJEEP
COLUMBUS,OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Entry level smartphone
8/6/2014

Customer review by dremelnomore

5.0 stars 8/6/2014 by dremelnomore
by dremelnomore

Alright for starters this is a very entry level smartphone, if you are familiar with TracFone you know the phones they offer are usually older or lower end, and the smartphones are no different. It only has a 1Ghz cpu and 512MB of ram and the screen is 3.5 inches. Try to get this when WalMart has it on special. Despite the low numbers and the low special price, this phone works pretty good for what it is. Android Jelly Bean 4.1.1 means it will run nearly all available apps. The phone comes with a 4 gig micro sd card, and it will handle up to a 32 gig card, I would recommend getting at least an 8 or 16 gig and putting as many apps, photos, songs, and videos on the card as possible. I do recommend downloading a different browser, one of the many lightweight ones on Google Play. I use CM, (Clean Master), Opera and others like it work well also, Chrome really taxes this phones resources, and the other built in browser takes you to some TracFone home page. TracFone has a my account app that will allow you to check your minutes,data and texts, available on TracFones site or Google Play. Unlike other TracFones there is no built in way of checking this data. I also recommend an anti virus and an app like Clean Master optimizer, which cleans junk files allowing the phone to run faster and keeps storage space open. The smartphones run on Verizon and are 3G only, Walmart's system for checking if the phone works in your area is flawed, use the TracFone site instead. If Verizon is solid in your area, this phone will work great. The Wi-Fi antenna on this phone is a little weak, but Wi-Fi does work very well when you are connected. Triple minutes, other reviewers cover how this works as TracFone uses a different system on the smartphones. Also you can transfer your minutes and number from another TracFone to this one, even if the other TracFone is not a smartphone.

Was this review helpful? (70) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dremelnomore
Northern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Check with tracfone before ordering for your area
2/19/2014

Customer review by Edward6394

3.0 stars 2/19/2014 by Edward6394
by Edward6394

On this site they ask for your zip to see if the phone will work in your area and the results are not accurate. It said i would have service in my zip code but i do not. If you call tracfone they will tell you if it will work or not. You have to have Verizon service in your area for the phone to work.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Edward6394
Nettie West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Don't waste your money
5/18/2014

Customer review by HoboinMontana

2.0 stars 5/18/2014 by HoboinMontana
by HoboinMontana

Being this is my first (Smart phone)type cell phone I don't have any thing to compare it to. I don't have any complaints about it being an Android phone. My complaint is the phone it self No matter what you do you cant hear it when it ring. I am no spring chicken, but I am not def. either I had to download a ship's horn as a ringtone and keep the volume as high as it goes so I could hear it when it rings. and yes I check the volume several times a day to make sure I can hear it The pictures it take aren't very good I tried to download A check to my account and I couldn't because the check could not be seen clearly. I did this out side on a clear sunny afternoon. also It wont let you send pictures you take with the phone in a text message I would not recommend this phone to anyone

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoboinMontana
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't expect too much
11/4/2014

Customer review by RKH64

2.0 stars 11/4/2014 by RKH64
by RKH64

This is definitely a starter/lower end smartphone. It will handle the basics, but if you like apps you'll quickly run out of space & phone will be very slow. (Tried moving some to the SD card & then they wouldn't work properly.) Even when it indicates that Wi-Fi is available I have a very hard time connecting/staying connected. The camera doesn't take good enough quality pictures to use for submitting receipts, etc. I wanted a Smartphone to take advantage of money saving apps, but many are not compatible with this phone. I can't receive or send photos in texts nor can I upload photos to Facebook - not enough memory. About once a week I have to remove the battery because it won't power on. I wish that talk, text & data weren't in separate "buckets" - would prefer if talk & text were counted together & data separately. Your remaining balance doesn't show on the main screen, you have to go to the Tracfone website to check balances - kind of inconvenient. Battery life is very short, have to charge nearly every day...& I'm not a heavy user. On the plus side, this phone has very good sound quality. Calls are much clearer than on my previous Tracfone.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RKH64
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tug of war!
2/26/2014

Customer review by ImpulsiveThinker

2.0 stars 2/26/2014 by ImpulsiveThinker
by ImpulsiveThinker

Tracfone had a great idea when they decided to incorporate Android devices on their pay by the airtime card design. This phone (ZTE's Valet) feels like most entry-level androids with its capabilities to download and use games and other apps from Google's Play Store. Tracfone has input a downloadable Balance App that allows customers to view and receive an updated balance message that shows remaining minutes, service days, messages and MBs of data. Pros: there is no monthly bill, instead the allotment of minutes, messages, and data all come from the airtime card purchased. For example, purchasing the 450 unit airtime card with this phone provided 90 days of service, 1350 minutes, 1350 text messages, and 1350 Mb of data. Cons: the network on the Valet is infrequently available. Calls may or may not connect. The valet displays service connectivity via the bars where the smallest bar is a dot and the largest bar is a long line. There are two colors for the bars. Gray means signal is available but messages will not send or receive. Blue bars means, depending on how many are lit the messages may or may not send! This unreliable account for sending and receiving messages is NOT helping. Don't count on sending or receiving picture or multimedia messages with the allotment of text messages. They may or may not send depending of many circumstances. A customer might think, as with other tracfones, sending and receiving multimedia messages would require data (many minutes) and messages (minutes) and be allowed. In my experience, "message not sent" or "SENDING..." Shows up every time!!! Not knowing if the VALET uses Verizon or Sprint towers is annoying. Both company's signal is available in my area but Verizon's signal is stronger! Good luck using data! I have had numerous occasions in the last week when I have attempted to access the internet and was unable. 3G is available all over my area for Verizon and Sprint, but I have been unable to access the internet when away from a WIFI connection! This error (or lack of access to any network outside of WIFI) limits the ability to consider this VALET as a replacement or alternative to the monthly obligation used with other subsidiaries of TRACFONE and other wireless carriers! I thought Tracfone had hit the nail on the head by bringing Android phones to their no-monthly-bills wireless but I was wrong! I'm stuck between keeping the ZTE Valet (and keeping the text + talk allotment of minutes while sacrificing the data allotment because the Valet doesn't connect to the internet when away from WIFI, and therefore, doesn't use much data) or going back to a phone that allows me to utilize every aspect I'm paying for. Somehow, data is being used even though no websites connect outside of WIFI. It would be advantageous to the Tracfone customer to find advanced Android devices, such as the Samsung Galaxy sIII and S4 available on the tracfone not-by-the-month service without the network issues! There is NO sense in paying more money for the same issues.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImpulsiveThinker
Sarasota County, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great basic android phone
8/2/2014

Customer review by Kansas5602

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by Kansas5602
by Kansas5602

I have had this phone for about a month now. This has been a very good basic android phone. I have downloaded my favorite apps from the google play store with no problems and they run just as well as my dual core tablet. Pictures are average but then I didn't buy this as a camera. The battery life with average use is running 3 days plus. Not sure why the complaints about this phone? Unless you are downgrading from a iphone or top of the line Samsung this phone will handle most of the needs for the average user. The wifi signal could be a little stronger but has no problems connecting. Sound is terrific and plenty of volume on mine. For the price you can't beat it!

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kansas5602
67212
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
My first smartphone. two thumbs up
1/30/2014

Customer review by SlickRichie

5.0 stars 1/30/2014 by SlickRichie
by SlickRichie

Works great for me. Android phone with google apps. I can use skype at my house to call cheap anywhere! I get bad cell phone reception so wanted a phone that could connect to my internet to place calls. I got the 2 year optional agreement plan also. Good deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SlickRichie
Dallas,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
disappointed
3/23/2014

Customer review by Beachgirl4ever

1.0 stars 3/23/2014 by Beachgirl4ever
by Beachgirl4ever

I give this phone a bad review because you all sell tracfone's that don't work in this area and I would like to point out that you shouldn't let people know when they punch in the zip code for this area that this phone is a CDMA phone and these phones don't support towers for this area so therefore this phone will not work in this area

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachgirl4ever
LaVale MD 21503
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this phone does not run all android apps
12/31/2014

Customer review by FormerUser2

1.0 stars 12/31/2014 by FormerUser2
by FormerUser2

i bought this phone two years ago to use to control my home security system (iris from lowes). when the app would not work, i contacted the iris developer and asked for help. after several updates the app still did not work. I took the phone back to best buy and asked them to check it. they demonstrated that the app worked on another phone but could not get the zte valet to work the app. best buy exchanged my phone assuming that it was just a defective model. the new phone did not run the app either. for another year i struggled to find out why the app would not work. finally i bought another phone to test for myself. the app worked fine on the new phone. the zte valet phone is purposely limited in functionality and should be avoided.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FormerUser2
Would recommend to a friend? No
It is an Android Phone, but...
8/2/2014

Customer review by DonnyInCA

3.0 stars 8/2/2014 by DonnyInCA
by DonnyInCA

As many have said, its a very entry level Android phone. This may be a good choice for your young teen, unless they are set on wanting an "I" product. It is capable of meeting your basic phone needs, some web surfing, Google Maps, texting, etc. I wouldn't depend on it for like what you would use your home tablet devices for... it just doesn't have the speed, memory, or bright clear display. When I do multitasking, it often lags and seems to take a long time for the apps to run or finish. The screen is not sharp and difficult to see in bright places or outdoors. The Wi-Fi reception is not as strong as I like it to be, I must have the phone closer to my wireless router for the best results. Since it is on Verizon towers, it does work in my area where typically no other wireless service can provide. I use this as a backup phone to my BlackBerry that I have for work, so if I'd compare the two... Then I would say this phone is doable. I am hoping that Tracfone will start to offer a little better quality level phones soon. Straight Talk is part of the Tracfone family and they have a lot of excellent phone choices like iPhone 5S, Galaxy S4, etc. Looking forward to see more higher level phone choices from Tracfone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DonnyInCA
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great starter android phone...
10/22/2014

Customer review by salescatcher63

5.0 stars 10/22/2014 by salescatcher63
by salescatcher63

This product is easy to function. It's a great phone for those learning the android program. The options that the phone carries are excellent. The fact that it comes with a (small but good) disc also makes it desirable for those new to phones who are learning it's expandable capabilities as well.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
salescatcher63
Castle Rock, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Awesome Phone
3/21/2014

Customer review by GreenDude

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by GreenDude
by GreenDude

This was a sweet phone for your buck. Highly recommend this phone, with triple minutes.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenDude
Havelock, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of junk!!!
6/21/2014

Customer review by theverns

1.0 stars 6/21/2014 by theverns
by theverns

This is the worst phone ever made. It does things on it's own, like calls, changes settings, like going from ringing to silent and this is when it is just sitting on a table. You can call the phone and it won't ring. It is very hard to maneuver to set things up like contacts. It is just a piece of junk and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. This phone is not worth the money. Also, you cannot transfer the minutes from this phone to any other Tracfone. Tracfone only allows a transfer of the telephone number and service, but not minutes. This is the worst phone ever made!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theverns
Would recommend to a friend? No
nice phone for the money
12/14/2013

Customer review by bbbbbx

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by bbbbbx
by bbbbbx

good value

Was this review helpful? (17) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbbbbx
flint, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth it!
9/9/2014

Customer review by cam2491

1.0 stars 9/9/2014 by cam2491
by cam2491

I got this phone, and it is very cheap in every way. The touch screen only works when it wants.. The volume for the speaker is too low, and the screen is very grainy. Would not buy again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cam2491
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Mediocre garbage with a short lifespan
10/6/2014

Customer review by CrunchyCookie

1.0 stars 10/6/2014 by CrunchyCookie
by CrunchyCookie

Generally speaking, this is a 3-star phone at best. It's not because of the low-end specs you'd expect at its discount price point -- 3G, 3.5" screen, 1 GHz single-core processor, blurry 3 megapixel camera with no autofocus -- all of which are fine with me. Actually, having Android 4.1 Jelly Bean and 4 GB of internal storage is kind of impressive. But a couple things are broken out of the box. The touch screen is insensitive and inconsistent, sometimes registering your fingers and sometimes not. The Wi-Fi is weak, barely able to see the router in your own living room. Apps and the camera sometimes crash, requiring a reboot to get them working again. There's also this quirk that causes it to randomly add extra home screens that I have to delete every few days. Annoying. Then after a while, stuff starts to break for real. At some point it starts spontaneously forgetting your settings (sounds, ringtones, vibration, screen rotation). Then the in-call menu starts being unstable, making it impossible to use the dialpad or speakerphone, or even hang up. For me, the final nail in the coffin (literally) came at the 8-month mark -- I stopped being able to speak into the phone. No matter who calls who, I can hear the other person but they can't hear me. So as far as being a phone, this one couldn't even make it to the 1-year mark. Pathetic. If you're thinking of the other three Tracfone models, keep in mind that two of them are even worse: -The Samsung Galaxy Centura ($130) has decent specs (Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich, 1 GHz processor, more memory) but everyone says it's prone to randomly crashing, freezing, and forgetting what time it is. -The Huawei Glory ($100), which is even more broken. See any review for details. -The third one is the LG Optimus Dynamic II -- the only one that's worth even looking at. I replaced my Valet with it and am happy so far.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrunchyCookie
Palo Alto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I got a lemon
8/18/2014

Customer review by Dimeit

1.0 stars 8/18/2014 by Dimeit
by Dimeit

Nothing but trouble with this phone since the day I got it and Tracfone customer service is terrible. Now have a phone that won't make or receive calls.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dimeit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good basic phone and phone service for the money.
3/19/2014

Customer review by TakeMeHomeCountryRoads

5.0 stars 3/19/2014 by TakeMeHomeCountryRoads
by TakeMeHomeCountryRoads

So far it has worked excellent. I am not a heavy phone user but I am happy with the purchase and use of the phone for now.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TakeMeHomeCountryRoads
Beckley & Mount Hope WV Area.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MY new phone
11/13/2014

Customer review by grammaApril

4.0 stars 11/13/2014 by grammaApril
by grammaApril

The phone is fine. Unfortunately I don't have wifi so I can't download anything. Also, It won't connect to my bluetooth, that may have to be set up yet. Still new to me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grammaApril
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews