Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 81 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews
Wow, what a disappointing, overpriced gimmicky
12/11/2013

Customer review by Wholesaleforless

2.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Wholesaleforless
by Wholesaleforless
Top 1000 contributor

Well, it finally arrived early this afternoon. Imagine my disappointment when the bluetooth kept disconnecting from my phone after 15 seconds. Turns out, that even though I have one of the only 3 models it's compatible with (Samsung Galaxy S4#, I STILL had to download a program from Samsung's apps to make the phone and watch work together. However, upon downloading, and with NFC turned on in the settings #it already was#, it is SUPPOSED to automatically link up with my phone, and transfer the phone data. It didn't, and Samsung "support" could offer no suggestions. I manually connected it, and it started to work. However, the weather displayed on the watch only updates when you wake your phone up and go to the screen with the weather on it #assuming it's not your home screen# and refresh that screen. If you are going to do all of that, what's the point in looking at the watch first, lol? If you are not using this with your phone AND a bluetooth earpiece it seems even more useless. If you DON'T have a bluetooth earpiece, and answer the phone with the watch, you still really need to pick up the phone to carry on a conversation, so what's the point? AND it's $300 for this lack of functionality. I don't think so.

Was this review helpful? (144) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wholesaleforless
Prescott Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
cool gadget
10/11/2013

Customer review by bugster69

4.0 stars 10/11/2013 by bugster69
by bugster69

it is really a cool gadget. right out of the box was able to talk on it for almost an hour and still have more than half the battery left. call quality was good on other end, was told sounded better than Bluetooth through car stereo. unable to see Facebook notifications, it says view on phone. one thing that's kind of big for me that is lacking is a basic calendar. screen is small to see your full calendar with agendas, but just to have a month view would be beneficial to me. but I'm sure an app will be coming out soon. it fits nice, doesn't seem as bulky when wearing it. its smaller than some regular time pieces out there. the camera is a cool feature and works well. although haven't used it much, just tested. s voice text reply works good, and is convenient. battery life wasn't an issue got about 26 hrs of use. I turned it off after about 14 hrs, over night and turned on in morning, and it lasted another 12 hrs before shutting off. now if it could only connect to my note 2...

bugster69
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Wear it every day!
2/10/2014

Customer review by HexWorx

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by HexWorx
by HexWorx

I found this device so handy in the 3 months I have owned it. I like it MUCH better than using a bluetooth earpiece, for one thing. I have a Galaxy Note 3, which I love, but is a bit large for my side pocket phone on my purse. With the Gear, I can keep the phone in my purse and still never miss a call or text. I use it as a pedometer to keep track of my "steps per day" and the voice memo and basic voice commands work like a charm. I keep my watch view analog with the date (you can choose what the watch display looks like), so I don't keep track of the weather updates. However, when I check it through the app it doesn't appear to have updated. I haven't played with the settings to see if you can get it to updated at more frequent intervals or if it automatically updates the weather if you have it on your display. The little wrist camera was a surprise. I thought it was an unnecessary feature at first, but I find I use it frequently. Sometimes I can't get my phone out quick enough to get a cute picture before the moment is gone, but the camera is only a finger swipe away. I have gotten very quick. No zoom and focus, of course, but I am very pleased with the quality. Uploads directly to my smartphone for easy sharing. Overall, I did not find very many useful apps, except the quick link to Evernote and the timer. ("Set timer for __ minutes," I commanded to my wrist. That has been handy more than once.) No problem for me as the basic functionality suits my needs. Connecting the bluetooth was a little sketchy to set up, but I can't rule out "operator error." Once connected I found the link good and range was at least two rooms away, but that is farther than I need. Going out of range was noted with a little vibration on my wrist. I think this is a great accessory to the Samsung Galaxy Note 3. While I think the price is high, I do not regret this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HexWorx
Georgetown Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My second Review on the Gear.... MY first Review never posted
11/8/2013

Customer review by Sam4lifesung

1.0 stars 11/8/2013 by Sam4lifesung
by Sam4lifesung

I am shocked that my first review did not post. I submitted a not so favorable review and surprise Samsung did not post. I am quite shocked as I love all of my Samsung products, they would chose not to post my review. I had 2 watches because the first was broken. The speaker was fuzzy and did not work. The second watch was broken too so I returned it. I did however use it for almost 2 full weeks. In that time, I realized that it was uncomfortable to wear and very clumsy. The voice function did not work well. Other than being a giant speaker phone on my wrist, I never missed this watch while wearing it. In fact, I did not wear it when I was fearful of water, and potential damage. The functions of the watch were extremely limited to clock face changing and some other health aps. It was fun for a few days then the fun wore off. I would strong wait for either more aps and true function to buy this watch or let them lower the price considerably. I would have rated this higher, but I did not feel compelled to wear or keep the watch as much as I wanted......

Sam4lifesung
Houston Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
!
3/13/2014

Customer review by Spug

4.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Spug
by Spug

The Samsungs Galaxy Gear came with the Galaxy S4 i purchased and i was excited.¨ -Pros -It looks great (I have the jet black version) -Buit quality was great and felt great in hand. -Pretty good battery life -Great to anwser to calls when your phone is not in reach to your hand -Good screen -Cons -Only 15 sec video recording -No internet -Not many apps/games -Couldnt change wallpaper I was kinda sad because there were not many apps or games and there was no WiFi to connect and that meant there were no internet connection :( Then i looked up on internet how to root it and it became an awesone almost full phone in my hand! I could connect to internet with the bluetooth with one of the many features the root included I can now talk with people in skype take 60sec long vidos, acces internet youtube, facebook, instagram etc. i could change my wallpaper and change themes, download any android game i wanted from play store (Gear actually is pretty powerful) and they ran really good for such small device. I wouldnt probably buy it as it is if your not going to root it if you do id absolutely recommend it to anybody! Sory about my bad english i tried my best

Spug
Finland
I. Love. It.
12/16/2013

Customer review by TeDouble73

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by TeDouble73
by TeDouble73

I have had my Gear for almost a month now. I can't picture going an hour without it, Working in a fast paced retail store, I can keep in contact with my Vendors, Sales Team, and Product Reps without having to take my phone out of my pocket, leave the selling floor and send a message or make a call. Now I can do it discretely and quickly using the S Voice function. I can also check my email and fb notifications using a 3rd party app. The camera takes AMAZING quality pics, I think better that the front facing camera on my GN3! I can't wait to see what apps will be developed for it. I suggest buying a pack of Invisishield and cut it to fit so you do not scratch the screen. HINT: Place the shield against the outside face of the Gear Dock, and with pen, trace on the INSIDE of the Dock for an almost accurate fit.

TeDouble73
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Connected to a Note 2
10/17/2013

Customer review by Maliceful

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Maliceful
by Maliceful

The watch has the bells and whistles we expected and it will hopefully lead to creative ideas for further generations of the wearable device. The phone calls are clear and everyone has mentioned that they could not discern I was talking, while driving, through my watch (I did have the watch hand on the wheel BTW). The camera is a nice feature but does open the door for creepy shots, though the sound for the capture cannot easily be disabled. The S voice function is incredible and helps keep the phone in the pocket for those simple tasks. Having said all this, I have it paired to my Note 2. If you side-load the app for Galaxy gear you get access without any extra labor. This will give you access, however, some of the functions are limited or do not function but the calls, camera, contacts, and many other things operate fully. If you are the root type and have the right model there is a ROM that delivers 4.3 to the Note 2 allowing for access now! Do this at your own peril as no one will replace your phone if you brick it! The device is great and I cannot wait to see where programmers make their mark by a truly inspired idea for an app or the engineer that makes the next big move in this smartphone world.

Maliceful
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Next level stuff...
10/24/2013

Customer review by KingOfWands

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by KingOfWands
by KingOfWands

Best accessory in the Galaxy lineup. Pairs magically with my Note 3 and gives a completely new level of usability. It's almost weird wearing a watch again after all these years, but this is something I can get used to. Take pictures OR video with a flick of the finger and a "snap" of the tongue. With great quality and user setting, this is going to be a ton of fun. Customize your watch screen with a free app called Watch Styler. Turn your own face into the face of a watch. Get text and email alerts, or take a call with a quick swipe of the screen. The functions and delivery are flawless with little to get used to. It's well designed and easy to use. This truly is some next level stuff. Kudos Samsung... A job well done.

KingOfWands
Jacksonville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Cool / slick device needs minor improvements
10/6/2013

Customer review by Blackeyed

5.0 stars 10/6/2013 by Blackeyed
by Blackeyed

The Galaxy Gear is a really solid device and exceeds what my expectations were in almost every way; a few areas are in need of improvement (in my opinion). First starting off with the build of the Galaxy Gear, it has a slim design that is not raised far above the wrist, and a good size screen with clarity. The camera takes really good/high quality photos in good to okay light settings. Both the microphone and speakers blow me away on such a small device and I find myself using the gear to communicate while driving rather than using the stock Bluetooth speaker system in my SUV. The Gear has a really advance customizable display that support feature for novice up to expert users. Two areas I would like improved are battery life and security. The battery life is not the best right now, and to be honest it could be from me playing with it all day/night long (I’m on vacation right now) along with the Galaxy Note 3. The other issue I believe can be resolved, has to do with the ability for someone to turn off the “lost / stolen” finder alert when activated by the Galaxy Note 3 or Galaxy Gear. This should be patched so that there is a pin or pattern associated with deactivating this alert. Well in a nutshell this is a great device and looking forward to buying a few more colors in the near future.

Blackeyed
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Expected So Much More
12/31/2013

Customer review by jrsrealtor

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by jrsrealtor
by jrsrealtor

Received this as a Christmas present and wish I had gotten a pair of socks. As another reviewer said, I fear getting the Gear wet. I do not care for this watch at all, the limited functionality of it makes it not much more than a conversation piece. It is big and bulky creating problems when wearing a jacket/coat or long sleeve shirt. The colors you can customize it with are limiting and not very appealing, to me at least. The screen goes off to conserve battery (which it needs to do), but illuminates when you don't want it to and doesn't illuminate when you do want it to. The apps are limiting, the S Voice isn't terrible, but is less than stellar. If it misinterprets a text there is no way to correct it, without doing the whole thing over. Battery life, while decent, is not anywhere near what I expected. I believe the lowest I have been is 48% in a day, but I am scared to try going two days on a charge. The cradle, is not the best design, because you have to enclose the watch in it and then it lays on its side. It is a bit snug on the wrist as well, and the band isn't as flexible as it could be to accommodate wider wrists. I want to like the Gear, but I feel I will not be replacing my current watch with this. I really wish I could of had the money the giver spent on it rather than the device.

jrsrealtor
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Excellent but needs a few minor changes
10/16/2013

Customer review by AndroidEngineer

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by AndroidEngineer
by AndroidEngineer

I really like this watch; it's comfortable to wear, looks good, and is a great platform to expand as more apps become available. The email notifications and ability to answer calls work great, and the camera is better than I expected. The battery life is not bad; I can get nearly 2 full days on it the way I use it. A few areas Samsung could improve on: 1. Make it a bit more responsive; coming out of standby to read the time takes maybe 2 seconds; should be near instant. 2. The camera lens sticks out quite a bit from the band; it makes me nervous about scratching it. 3. More configuration options in the management app; it's a good start but there needs to be more there.

AndroidEngineer
San Clemente, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
New Tech Old Feelings
9/10/2014

Customer review by badnews326

4.0 stars 9/10/2014 by badnews326
by badnews326

Ever since I was a kid watching "Night Rider" and "Inspector Gadget" I have always wanted a watch that i could talk to and see pictures...Galaxy Gear is that watch that i had to have. Although I purchased the first model galaxy gear, i think the product was very worth the buy. I love that i can see some emails and also see/take pics and make calls. I wish the watch had more apps to help with thing that are part of everyday life, like finding your keys, TV remote functionality, maybe an app that works with xbox...thing of this nature. I truely do love this product and hope that these other issue will be upgraded into the next best thing!

badnews326
Little Rock, AR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
pretty good for a 1st gen
9/4/2014

Customer review by mtiselin

4.0 stars 9/4/2014 by mtiselin
by mtiselin

This is overall a pretty good watch, overpriced for what it does compared to a pebble, but decent. The Tizen upgrade was horrible, not as many apps and battery life was atrocious. The only issued I've had were moisture in the camera (a not uncommon problem) but that was resolved by Samsung's excellent customer service. As a bonus when I sent it in for repair it was reset to android so I'm happy about that. If I would have had to continue with Tizen I would have probably thrown it away. I know it's a first gen, but really am hoping that Samsung will release an android wear update for it to really make it great. Thanks, Mike

mtiselin
Madison, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Good smart watch for the price
7/22/2014

Customer review by Tekengineer

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by Tekengineer
by Tekengineer

This watch has excellent battery run time, and works great with Evernote in the android version. Even though they don't have Evernote in the Tizen OS update, there are a lot of great apps to make up for that. Both my son and I have the original Galaxy Gear, and we both like them very much. Excellent for when you are in a movie or an important meeting and you need to see if a message is important, or if an important phone number is calling into your phone without disturbing the movie or meeting. Can be nice for answering calls when your hands are busy and you don't want to pull your phone out, such as riding a bike.

Tekengineer
Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Pairs well with my phone
2/23/2014

Customer review by ourneon

4.0 stars 2/23/2014 by ourneon
by ourneon

I'm not sure yet if this watch is what I expected or not...having owned it for about two weeks I am still learning about all of its capabilities. What do I love - alerts at a glance, weather, pedometer. Not so much - heavy, not water resistant, always afraid I will break it from daily use, charging is a little awkard. I am a technophile and enjoy my toys. Having only worn it for such a short time, and still discovering what it & my phone can do, I feel that I may have more to say in a few months. But for now I am enjoying how often people stop me and say, "Is that THAT WATCH?" Everyone wants one...

ourneon
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Galaxy Gear 1 w/Tizen Update
9/15/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Had the watch for 5 months with the Android OS which was alright, but the Tizen OS UPDATE IS A MUST! It is paired with my Note 3. I absolutely love this watch. Be Dick Tracy. Be 007. Be Somebody. Great for talking to peeps without all that phone holding hassle. The battery last around 1-2 days if you don't turn on the 'motion on' and turn down the screen brightness. simple. The only downer is not being water proof. Hopefully Gear 2 fixed this. Got this watch at a reasonable price. Try this if you are new to smart watches. I have the Pebble also, but I prefer this device. Whip it good.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Best smartwatch i ever used
5/19/2014

Customer review by Herg123

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Herg123
by Herg123

I find this watch not only very handy because of its notifications system but also the gimmicks like a camera module are what i like about this smartwatch. The screen which has a great ppi is also a pleasure to look at. In very bright areas the screen isnt extremely bright but in a country like Belgium this isnt an issue. The battery life which has received a ton of complaints is not a bad as it may seem. I reach at least 3 days of juice from one charge and charging your gear goes in no time. Overall i find this a great product that meets my expectations and is very useful

Herg123
Melle, Belgium
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Impressive Tech. Love it
12/10/2013

Customer review by WRichieX

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by WRichieX
by WRichieX

My GF just got this for me over the weekend for my birthday and actually before the 4.3 update came out (which it did today). It was pretty limited in terms of what it could do but the potential was impressive. I've done a ton of research prior and was debating on getting due to the poor reviews. All I can say is, IMPRESSED! What more could you ask for? You buy a smart watch for one reason...to be connected to your phone on notifications. This thing does that and much more. Yes, I know some things are not connected fully (facebook) but who cares? All I care about is emails, calendar, messages, calls. This thing now saves me the time of pulling out my phone only to realize it's a stupid facebook notification. Samsung stated 25hrs of battery. I have no idea where they came up with that number. I've been on this all day as soon as I got the update at 8am and 11 hours later, my battery is 91%. I will say though, that limited phone connectivities is an understandable gripe, but this product is young and I think it's safe to assume updates will keep coming with more functions. They also say that this watch is not water proof. However, I have seen water tests where this watch has been dunked in water for a bit and still works perfectly (Although I prob will avoid water). People have different preferences and some will hate this product and some will love it. I'm on the Love it side. Overall, very impressed.

WRichieX
Chicago
Expertise:Expert
Happy with it
10/24/2013

Customer review by willwork4shoes

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by willwork4shoes
by willwork4shoes

I love the concept of the galaxy gear. I am able to text, make and receive phone calls, and read emails without pulling my phone out of my purse. I can even make a grocery list on my phone and use it from my gear at the store (again without pulling my phone out of my purse). A few things I would change or improve are: - it should be waterproof (I shouldn't have to take it off to wash my hands.) - the clasp on the band - the ability to change bands Other things should improve as apps are added to work with it. Overall, I'm happy with my purchase.

willwork4shoes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The greatest Xmas gift
9/4/2014

Customer review by LJPjr

5.0 stars 9/4/2014 by LJPjr
by LJPjr

I purchased the watch for myself as a Xmas gift. I enjoy the ease with which the watch functions with my phone. For me, the greatest advantage of the watch is the email notification. Because of the email notification on the watch, I never have to pull out my phone unless it is an email that I want to read or respond to. I also enjoy responding to calls on my watch when I'm at home or in the office--occasionally when I know my caller is not going to talk about anything private, I will answer telephone calls on my watch in public.

LJPjr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews