Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.1out of 5 stars
3.1 out of 5 | 348 reviews
5 stars
117
4 stars
65
3 stars
25
2 stars
33
1 stars
108
Sort by: 
1-20 of 347 reviews
1-20 of 347 reviews
Great mobile internet for a pay as you go service
3/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
Bought this to use at work so I can use my ipad at break and and lunch. I have AT&T for my cell phone and we get really bad service at work and this works great. This is the cheapest pay as you go mobile hot spot service out there. Surfing is fast and coverage is great. The device feels well made but I really wished it had a LCD screen but I'm quite happy without it. If you need the ability to browse the internet, then this is the best device. No contract, pay as you and for what you want. Well pleased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (969)No (193)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!!!!
11/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
This hotspot is fantastic.....I seen it on walmarts site, and went right out a purchased it. I didn't have internet at home...It is perfect for me and my daughter......And simple to use..:)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (884)No (149)
Report
Was this review helpful?
needs help
8/24/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have not been able to get it to work
Was this review helpful?
Yes (85)No (168)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Straight Talk Mobile Wi-Fi Hot Spot
2/18/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recommend this little box. It took a while to read all of the instructions to learn about how to use it, but after that, I have had no problems. I found that I used the data faster than expected, but that was due to being on sites that have pop-up video ads. Therefore, I spend as little time as possible on those sites. I have no problem getting a signal even where I live. I have only used it at home. I find it is important to make sure you have the Wi-Fi button "off" and the unit itself "off". That way, you know for sure your data package is not being used. I found the pricing on this to be good. For someone who doesn't stream videos, this is good. Pay-per-use works for me. I haven't had it for 1 month yet, but I intend on purchasing a $40 data card which should work for me. Plus, with this program, you can purchase and put in reserve, data, so you don't need worry about running out of data when the offices are closed. Really pleased that I am out from under that cable company now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (274)No (83)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hard to set up, but worth the wait!
10/10/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am so glad I researched this item online before purchasing. I found a great blog that gave step by step instructions on how to set this up. Without that, it would have been a disaster as the instructions included were not nearly clear enough. The wifi does work in the middle of nowhere where our cabin is located, with this mobile hotspot. It seems to need recharging quite often, so we just leave it plugged in. It can be slow at certain times, but all in all, it was a good buy. Once you pay the $80 for the gadget itself, you just buy a data card for $15 or $25 depending on the amount of data you use and that is it. Way cheaper than what we pay at home in the cities. Because we are not the most tech-savvy people in the world, we first had to figure out how to connect one of our phones to a laptop long enough to get on the internet to find the Straight Talk website and get it going. That was a little frustrating, but like I said, once you get it going, it works fine!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (258)No (57)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Device is great but know the data carrier you want
10/29/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Glad I researched this devise before buying. The device has worked perfectly! But obtaining the StraightTalk data package was very confusing. I had read to get the StraightTalk data package with the red map; not the blue. As I understand it, red is for Verizon with the greatest coverage. Walmart only had the blue ones but I had called StraightTalk before purchasing and was told I could just call them when I got the device and they could set up what I wanted by giving them a credit card number to charge it to. I wanted this for my iPod Touch in the car when traveling because I do not have, want or need a smart phone with those calling plans. So this is perfect for me. Local driving tests indicate its is going do what I bought it for. StraightTalk support was very helpful and forthcoming with information. But the company appears to be primarily servicing cell phones and a pure data package for a mobile hot spot is different. I found it a little difficult to get to the right place on the web site.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (278)No (106)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Burned through 1GB Data Allotment in two days
7/10/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The device itself was easy to setup following the instructions. The device worked as promoted. The downside is the data usage seems off. I burned through almost 1 GB in two days with minimal usage other than checking email, facebook, a couple hours of internet browsing and downloading one Kindle book. We did not use our devices to stream any video, pictures etc. To put this in perspective we own several ios devices with data plans on AT&T and one device (Ipad mini) on Tmobile, and have a Tmobile 3G hotspot. None of my other devices even come close to this rate of data usage for the activities listed above. Something is just not right. So I called straight talk customer support. They do not have any tools available to track data usage. I was told that they bill in 1KB increments. I plan to do some more experimentation using my ios devices ability to track data usage. Wondering if anyone has noticed the same problem or figured out any solutions?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (458)No (74)
Report
Was this review helpful?
If you do not use it frequently, service disabled
8/23/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this for use on weekends at a location without internet so we only use it once or twice a month. It seems when you do not use it for a week or more your service is disabled and there is nothing you can do yourself to reactivate it. You MUST call the service center to have technical support "update" your account information. It happens every time we do not use it for a week. Secondly, the fact that you can choose to add more data using data cards is nice BUT BUT BUT you cannot load them on top of each other. If you have 500MB of data left, up load a new card, YOU LOSE the 500MB you had left and it updates with whatever your card amount was. IN order to not lose data MBs that you paid for you have to try and time it to when you reach almost 0MB left but have just enough to process the update OR you are calling the service center again to "update" your account information. I would not get Straight talk again. Choose another vendor.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (450)No (78)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hoped for the best...dropped straight talk hotspot
4/21/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
How did it work? The unit worked fine until it needed to be updated....They told me I could update it online, but if it it's not working properly....HOW could I do that? TO update or find the problem ,I had to deal with customer service..I am a polite person so I would say, "I'm sorry, could you repeat that?." After repeated dealings every month, I reached the desperate level...I actually said..."You need to enunciate by speaking slowly and carefully so that you can be understood." Customer Satisfaction...Changed to another carrier with unlimited usage and NO slowdowns for "Excessive usage (Excessive usage should mean you have exceeded your purchase card....NOT with this service)"for $31 per month...I will give them the excuse that they grew too quickly and I joined at that time...Too many problems for me...I can be on all the time with my new service and it actually works without me sitting here watching the circle spin and spin and spin and spin.....well u get the circle...oh, oh ,oh , I mean the point
Was this review helpful?
Yes (117)No (43)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Customer service
12/22/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I really like the Hotspot--1 GB a month is more than I need. The price cannot be beat. However, the customer support is HORRIBLE--ATROCIOUS! I talked with several reps on the phone and sent e-mails--they didn't have a clue about my problem or question and I could hardly understand them. I signed up for auto-refill thinking it would be seamless each month. NOT SO! At the end of the service month--it STOPS and it is several hours before it goes back on, even with auto-refill. One rep told me I had used my 1 GB--(I only had used about 800 MBs). She told me it would be on again in about 2 hours...it was about 6. So, I now will just do a manual re-fill, forget the auto re-fill. There is nothing like this product for the price--the next nearest was over 45 dollars a month. So, while I checked "no" for recommending, it would be conditional. Good product, super price but ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. If you do choose to buy this, OK, but I strongly suggest you don't use 'auto-refill', you will be out of service for several hours every month.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (151)No (37)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Hotspot w/ Verizon Coverage
3/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Although this hotspot is limited to 3G you could not ask for better coverage across both urban and rural areas. I did not want to pay the higher monthly cost of a Verizon hotspot and was willing to live without 4g. It works well with my Win7 laptop, Win 8.1 tablet, and Google Chromebook. Great for data on the go at a low cost, just don't expect to replace your cable/dsl broadband with it. Warning: Straight Talk will waste an hour of your time activating the hotspot on the phone. They would not allow it to be activated online for me and instead left me in customer service limbo with a gentleman who most likely was not from this country and could not understand me very well. After it was finished getting activated it was easy enough to change the network settings on the device (it comes unsecured by default). Be careful changing admin login settings as it did not seem to work right when I did.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (238)No (42)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I needed
9/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm a truck driver and need internet access to book loads, check my settlements, fuel account etc. I have had a U.S. Cellular USB modem that I got only because we had had their phone service for many years and I didn't know any better. The service was extremely slow and coverage very limited. I could be in downtown Chicago and not load a page. I had 5 gigs per month for 52.00 but couldn't use it because the service was so bad. I wanted to get on the verizon network because they have the best coverage map, but didn't want to get into another contract.My grown son kept telling me to get on Straight Talk and I finally pulled the trigger. The difference is amazing. I can load pages on the road as fast as I can at home with Broadband. I've used it in IL,IN,KY,IA,OH and MO so far and have never had a problem. I have not yet used it to watch Netflix etc. yet because I want to get a handle on my monthly usage for the business but based on past experience I expect the data to cost less than half of what US Cellular was charging me. This may not be the answer for everyone but it's just what I needed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (204)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BUYER BEWARE Straight Talk Mobile HotSpot
12/22/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Cannot recommend this product for the general public. Set up can be very confusing with the instructions supplied. Almost impossible to reconnect with unit after a reset. Battery life falls well short of advertisement. In high web traffic areas, disconnect and dropped connections are many as the major carriers with which Straight Talk has contracts " throttle back " band width to serve their own customers at peek hours. Straight Talk and UMX have very little or nonexistent technical support. Straight Talk must have used a quantum physics formula to figure data usage as the low end data cards are practically used up in the blink of an eye. DO NOT BUY A LARGE DATA CARD UNTIL YOU SEE IF YOU ARE HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE. DATA CARDS ARE NOREFUNDABLE !!!!!!!!!!!!! Definitely would not recommend this to the average customer, suspect returns will be astronomical. My unit is on the way back to Walmart. BUYER BEWARE !!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (264)No (85)
Report
Was this review helpful?
performance issues
8/26/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
no, i currently don't own the device, but i plan to purchase it soon for our rv. i'm a very seasoned PC person with a Master's in Computer Science. I am very knowledgeable in communication theory. I'd like to try to explain some performance issues. 1) 3G is only rated to transmit at 200 kbits per second. That puts it well behind wired Ethernet and current wi-fi speeds. 2) Almost all communications media advertise their "top" speed. In reality, most communications speeds fall way short of their advertised speeds (due to interference, media sharing, etc). 3) Almost all communications media have a "fall-back" protocol. They always try to initiate communications at their highest speed, but if they fail, they will "fall-back" to their next lowest speed. This continues until they can no longer communicate and they will drop the connection. Maybe too much information, but i hope it helps.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (266)No (72)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I wasted money.
8/27/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It seemed like a good deal. It was awkward to set up and the device works like a video game from 1982. I repeatedly set up a password, but it would almost always revert back to the administrator. I paid for two months worth of data, yet after around 3 hours of use the data was used up. When I called customer service, I was told an investigation would be done and data would be returned to me. After 4 days I still had no data. I called back and was told (something along the lines of) that because I didn't set a password to secure the device that someone had stolen my data, yet the device always showed as SECURE on my WiFi notification, and I had the device on for a total of about 3 hours. Basically, I paid approximately $38 per hour for service and hours of frustration. I'm furious, but I'm moving on to another provider to ease the fury.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (79)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product...
8/7/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This unit is a great unit if you are in a spot where high speed cable, DSL, or Satellite can't be an option... The service is through Verizon Wireless Cellular Towers. It is manufactured by a company called UNIMAX. It produces its own version. There version is the same... Other then it is more expensive... The service is more per month also. I bought a 5gb card for the two month time limit. I have been surfing the web all day and haven't used that much pre paid data. I was informed that the more data you use (Netflix, youtube, web radio, ect.) it will be less effective. For the use of web surfing its great. You can use up to 5 devices on this unit. If your in a dead spot or get a yellow or red signal reading. You can invest in a Cellphone Tower Repeater on ebay. They have to run on 850mhz 3g towers. 1900 MHz tower work 4g. So look up if your area is within 12 to 15 miles from your location. If you have hills around you with tree's signals with decrease. Therefore you will need a Cellular repeater. Otherwise its a great unit. The time or gigs you buy are for 2 months. Not like regular Verizon, Att, ect. So enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product....but GB's disappear quickly..
4/5/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was one of the last "dial up" customers and was forced to find another source for my internet. The "HotSpot" works as described....very good signal strength at my location....it is easy to operate....There is one serious drawback....Even though my old dial up was slower....it was unlimited....I started with a 1 GB card with the hotspot just to see how long it would last for me.....I don't do U Tube , any streaming video or movies....basically check my email, do banking and manage my healthcare on the VA website and play a few games on a social website. The ! GB only lasts me about 2 weeks.....and I was seriously limiting my time online as I saw how fast my card was being used up. Living on a fixed income I have to keep my bills down....so even though the Hotspot is good service it means alot less time online for me now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (122)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Maybe good for a one person
4/29/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used this product for the past 2 weeks and will be returning it. I bought it to hopefully lower my monthly fees. It would work OK for just me because I do not stream videos or music. If you only need to use the internet a few times a week for social media or research, then this product will lower your monthly bills. However, if you use the internet daily and stream anything then you will use up at least 1 GB in a day. That is 30 GB a month or $300 of cards. Better off getting a monthly service for $40 to $50. If you share this product with even one person even if you don't stream anything then forget it and buy a monthly service. I only see this product as useful for one person who needs it infrequently or for on the road if they want more security then using a public wi-fi. Also people complained about the security. It is unsecured until you go in and change it. Just click on Wi-Fi and change the security to WPA2-PSK. If you leave it open then other people nearby my use your Wi-Fi which is how some people may see their GB used up quickly. One more thing, the internet is slow. Seems to run about the same as when I had AT&T which ran at 2.5 to 3.0 mps.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (123)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works as expected...
8/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
purchased this for use for me and my wife when camping (RV)...runs on verizon network so i get good coverage...have had no issues. i seen some people complaining about other people being able to connect to it and use up the data package, but if you set up the security (dont leave it set to "open") you wont have any issues..use it mainly with our Ipads, and speeds were really fast, a lot faster than i expected. like the fact that they have different data packages i can buy. usually just buy the 1gb card since we only use it when we are on the road and that's plenty for us to use with our pads for a few days to a week out of the month when camping. (as long as you are not watching Tv shows or movies) when not using camping, like during the winter, i just let the plan run out then reactivate as needed...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (63)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It doesn't work, at least not for long
9/8/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this about 6 weeks ago. I set it up, and it worked fine for a few day. Then, after not using it for a few weeks, I turned it on, and it wouldn't connect to the internet. I could connect my laptop to it, and everything seemed to be configured correctly, but it wouldn't connect to the internet. I called Straight Talk customer service, and reset it and updated the PRL as instructed (several times). Eventually we got it working again. I tried using it again a few days ago, and was having the same problem again. I contacted customer service again, and was eventually told that I had to talk to another department that was "closed today." I was told that I should call back tomorrow. The representative wouldn't tell me the name of the department I had to talk to, and hung up on me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640664, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-