Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 233 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

233 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

233 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
72
4 stars
44
3 stars
19
2 stars
25
1 stars
73
1-20 of 233 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 233 total reviews
1-20 of 233 reviews
Internet Connection on the Go,very nice product.
11/23/2013

Customer review by skenney

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by skenney
by skenney

I live in Cedar Rapids,Ia. and I saw this hotspot last week, I'd never heard of St. Talk having a hotspot, so I snapped it up Quick. It is on VERIZON towers, which is the best in my area. The writing in the instruction book is tiny, so get out the mag. glasses. I was really excited to open it up and use it, TAKE your TIME and READ the Instructions. You have to activate it BEFORE you open up the browser 192.168.1.1 like it says to do. Once activated, turn device on (charge it first)and open that address in top address bar of your browser. The username and password are in that instruction book(don't throw away) Once you do that you will be in the program settings for it. I changed the user name and password so I would be able to remember it. It looks like a little rubber hockey puck. Now I don't have to pay Mediacom for internet. I bought the $50 card which is good for 2 months and has 5GB of data. If you are a (lite) internet user, and you only check e-mail and news etc. you could probably get by with the $15 card that is good for 30 days with a 1GB data. They also offer a 30 day card with 2GB for $25, and a 60 day card with 4GB for $40 or a $75 card for 60 days with 7GB. Does NOT have a sim card, it is CDMA VERIZON. Here is a link to the pdf. manual, it can be downloaded, much easier than trying to read the tiny writing in the instruction book. http://www.straighttalk.com/wps/wcm/connect/d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3/U240C_UM_eng.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CACHEID=d9ff38af-b3cb-4777-a962-b256b381bbc3

Was this review helpful? (1082) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skenney
cedar rapids iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Great Product (step-by-step setup instructions)
3/15/2014

Customer review by therealscoop01

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by therealscoop01
by therealscoop01

Set up tip! Like many other reviewers, I couldn't access 192.168.1.1. These instructions are provided so that even the most inexperienced computer user can follow along and easily set up their new hotspot. 1. Locate the red card that says START HERE! Follow the 4 steps on the card in order to activate your hotspot. Keep this handy as you will need the serial number shortly. 2. Turn on your hotspot by holding down the power button until all 5 indicator lights come on (5-10 seconds or so). 3. On your computer: A. Click the start icon (it looks like the windows logo inside a bubble) B. Roll your mouse over CONTROL PANEL and left click C. Click on NETWORK AND INTERNET D. Click on CONNECT TO A NETWORK (under network and sharing center) E. Locate your device and click on it (starts with UMX$) F. Click on CONNECT G. Open your internet browser (internet explorer, google chrome, firefox, etc.) H. In the top line where you put in web addresses, type in 192.168.1.1 and press enter. 4. Go back to your red card and open it up. You are now ready to begin Step #3 under the letter A. Now just follow the rest of the instructions on the card and you'll be surfing the web in no time. You can do an internet search for data use estimator and find about how much data you might need to purchase (I was unable to paste a link into this review.) My suggestion is to buy less, not more, data than you think you will need. When you refill your hotspot, make sure there is no remaining data on your account or you will lose it... the refill doesn't ADD to your data, it starts it over. For example, if I still had 1.5GB of data and I refilled the device with 4GB of data, I wouldn't have 5.5GB, I would have 4GB.

Was this review helpful? (416) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
therealscoop01
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best price for a hotspot using Verizon's network.
12/13/2013

Customer review by Antbib

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Antbib
by Antbib

I had a Verizon jetpack 4G hotspot, and while it worked well, I had to pay $60 a month for 3 gb of data. Because this one is limited to 3G speeds, the monthly cost is dramatically lower. 3G is more than adequate for email, some Internet browsing, social networks, and even the occasional YouTube video. However, if you think this is the way to get cheap access to Netflix and other data-intense streaming services, you'll be disappointed. The speed won't be enough, and you'll burn through your allotted data in no time. For frequent travelers like myself, the ability to have affordable, basic Internet and email on the road makes it highly attractive. If your data consumption is low, this is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (266) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Antbib
Aiken, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!!!!
11/29/2013

Customer review by Bridge40

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Bridge40
by Bridge40

This hotspot is fantastic.....I seen it on walmarts site, and went right out a purchased it. I didn't have internet at home...It is perfect for me and my daughter......And simple to use..:)

Was this review helpful? (482) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bridge40
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great mobile internet for a pay as you go service
3/19/2014

Customer review by ncboy1982

5.0 stars 3/19/2014 by ncboy1982
by ncboy1982

Bought this to use at work so I can use my ipad at break and and lunch. I have AT&T for my cell phone and we get really bad service at work and this works great. This is the cheapest pay as you go mobile hot spot service out there. Surfing is fast and coverage is great. The device feels well made but I really wished it had a LCD screen but I'm quite happy without it. If you need the ability to browse the internet, then this is the best device. No contract, pay as you and for what you want. Well pleased.

Was this review helpful? (455) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ncboy1982
Kernersville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Top 1000 contributor
If you do not use it frequently, service disabled
8/23/2014

Customer review by BinFL

1.0 stars 8/23/2014 by BinFL
by BinFL

We purchased this for use on weekends at a location without internet so we only use it once or twice a month. It seems when you do not use it for a week or more your service is disabled and there is nothing you can do yourself to reactivate it. You MUST call the service center to have technical support "update" your account information. It happens every time we do not use it for a week. Secondly, the fact that you can choose to add more data using data cards is nice BUT BUT BUT you cannot load them on top of each other. If you have 500MB of data left, up load a new card, YOU LOSE the 500MB you had left and it updates with whatever your card amount was. IN order to not lose data MBs that you paid for you have to try and time it to when you reach almost 0MB left but have just enough to process the update OR you are calling the service center again to "update" your account information. I would not get Straight talk again. Choose another vendor.

Was this review helpful? (213) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BinFL
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Hotspot w/ Verizon Coverage
3/16/2014

Customer review by DGamer1000

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by DGamer1000
by DGamer1000

Although this hotspot is limited to 3G you could not ask for better coverage across both urban and rural areas. I did not want to pay the higher monthly cost of a Verizon hotspot and was willing to live without 4g. It works well with my Win7 laptop, Win 8.1 tablet, and Google Chromebook. Great for data on the go at a low cost, just don't expect to replace your cable/dsl broadband with it. Warning: Straight Talk will waste an hour of your time activating the hotspot on the phone. They would not allow it to be activated online for me and instead left me in customer service limbo with a gentleman who most likely was not from this country and could not understand me very well. After it was finished getting activated it was easy enough to change the network settings on the device (it comes unsecured by default). Be careful changing admin login settings as it did not seem to work right when I did.

Was this review helpful? (158) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DGamer1000
Auburn, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Burned through 1GB Data Allotment in two days
7/10/2014

Customer review by customer2035

3.0 stars 7/10/2014 by customer2035
by customer2035

The device itself was easy to setup following the instructions. The device worked as promoted. The downside is the data usage seems off. I burned through almost 1 GB in two days with minimal usage other than checking email, facebook, a couple hours of internet browsing and downloading one Kindle book. We did not use our devices to stream any video, pictures etc. To put this in perspective we own several ios devices with data plans on AT&T and one device (Ipad mini) on Tmobile, and have a Tmobile 3G hotspot. None of my other devices even come close to this rate of data usage for the activities listed above. Something is just not right. So I called straight talk customer support. They do not have any tools available to track data usage. I was told that they bill in 1KB increments. I plan to do some more experimentation using my ios devices ability to track data usage. Wondering if anyone has noticed the same problem or figured out any solutions?

Was this review helpful? (231) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
customer2035
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works like a charm!
3/6/2014

Customer review by Dustycwboy

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by Dustycwboy
by Dustycwboy

I purchased this for my camper. Brought it back and followed the directions for install. It would have been a smooth install IF... I could understand the operator. Witch was a little frustrating but after hanging up with the operator i opened the book and followed everything i might have missed. Fired right up. Now remember wherever your going to use this you have to have a cell phone signal for a Verizon tower. The stronger the signal the less lag you will get. I loaded the 1 GB card that comes with the device. I also purchased a 5 GB card for $50 but want to see how fast 1 GB gets used. All in all I set it up with minimal effort. ( if you can follow instructions its quite simple. As a mater of fact i am sitting in the middle of the woods in the Rockies typing this in my camper.. way cool i might add lol I play games without lag.. i have 4 out of 5 bars here on my phone and its with the same company. How fast the usage goes has yet to be discovered. I've been on most of the day tho watching YouTube videos. So far video has no lag. I'm impressed. I have cable internet at home and I can see its a little slower but not much it sure isn't as slow as old dial up. Anyways... hope this helped you and for those who want to know I bought this device because its my cell phone provider also. The price was good and i can reload anytime with my cc online wherever I am.

Was this review helpful? (233) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dustycwboy
Denver, Co.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed
9/14/2014

Customer review by gregbo520

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by gregbo520
by gregbo520

I'm a truck driver and need internet access to book loads, check my settlements, fuel account etc. I have had a U.S. Cellular USB modem that I got only because we had had their phone service for many years and I didn't know any better. The service was extremely slow and coverage very limited. I could be in downtown Chicago and not load a page. I had 5 gigs per month for 52.00 but couldn't use it because the service was so bad. I wanted to get on the verizon network because they have the best coverage map, but didn't want to get into another contract.My grown son kept telling me to get on Straight Talk and I finally pulled the trigger. The difference is amazing. I can load pages on the road as fast as I can at home with Broadband. I've used it in IL,IN,KY,IA,OH and MO so far and have never had a problem. I have not yet used it to watch Netflix etc. yet because I want to get a handle on my monthly usage for the business but based on past experience I expect the data to cost less than half of what US Cellular was charging me. This may not be the answer for everyone but it's just what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (116) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gregbo520
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beware huge security risk
4/11/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/11/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

One big reason I got this hotspot is so I can carry my own private wifi network with me when traveling, not rely on unsecure public or hotel networks. But I discovered by accident that the device defaults to NO SECURITY AT ALL. In other words the guy sitting next to you in the airport may be connected to your hotspot and sucking up the data you paid for, never mind maybe hacking into your computer, and you will never know. You can set up security via the Wifi tab on the setup home page, but you are not prompted to do that and the available codes are complicated and over the head of the average user. Straight Talk should change the default settings so that connecting requires entering a password, like the serial number of the device, that confirms you have physical possession of it. Until they do, your security is up to you. Good advice available online via Google, the owners manual is useless for this. Other than the security risk, the device is easy to set up, battery life is good, and it works well as long as there is Verizon available. A good choice if you only need your own wifi occasionally, because you can let it go dormant when you are not traveling and then re-activate it any time you need it (1 GB/30 days minimum).

Was this review helpful? (210) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Straight Talk Wifi Mobile Hotspot 3G
12/8/2013

Customer review by Hopefull311

1.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Hopefull311
by Hopefull311

This device was purchased for me as a birthday present on 11/30/13. As previously stated, this device is compact and easy to use. I had good reception as long as I was next to a window. The setup process via the Unimax web server (192.168.1.1) was relatively easy as well. I encountered multiple connection problems accessing the WIFI and security settings of the device through my browser (Firefox 25.0.1). After selecting a feature to modify, my browser would become stuck and continually display the message “connecting please wait.” Through trail and error, I eventually resolved this issue on my own. It had nothing to do with restarting the computer in safe mode, adjusting computer settings, having a virus, using antivirus programs, and firewall settings. Okay, let's check the amount of data used thus far. Another challenge in and of itself. What! I have used 6.97GB of 7GB of my data allowance. I did not check my email, do any light web surfing, nor stream web videos. According to Walmart, my data plan is good for 60 days! Low and behold, each time you access the Unimax web server it deducts from your data allowance. And, everything is rounded up to the next MB. It does not matter if you successfully connect to the desired web page. The Unimax web server is the only way you can access, modify or view the settings of the U240C. Whose brilliant idea was this? What is the ROI to the consumer? By the way, I spent an hour on the telephone with Straighttalk customer service department. However, their solution was to “escalate” my issue to the next level. I declined the invitation and promptly returned the device to Walmart for a refund. I suggest that anyone seriously considering buying this device, weight the pros and cons carefully before purchasing it. There are numerous alternatives available on the market that are more efficient, cost-effective, and reliable.

Was this review helpful? (173) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hopefull311
Boynton Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not sure their data usage calculation is legit
12/10/2013

Customer review by Marbelz

1.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Marbelz
by Marbelz

when I purchased this only a couple weeks ago there was only a glowing happy review of this product so I jumped in. Well I wish I hadn't. first off, the unit won't stay charged. only has a small time frame to use it without having to plug it back in again. But the biggest issue is the over use of data! I have another hot spot box that is directly from Verizon but it is getting old and I didn't want to renew my plan so I thought I'd try this thing. I've never had a pay as you go phone or wifi before. Well Straight Talk must calculate it's data usage way different than Verizon does. In just one single week I used up my data plan with this thing and I don't use that much data with my verizon box in an entire month. It wouldn't work so I had to call ST and of course got switched between multiple people that I couldn't understand until I finally had someone I could understand. She right away told me I probably used all my data and kept telling me youtube and netflix use a lot of data. I repeatedly said I never watch video on my computer, never ever! I don't download stuff. I am the most boring internet user ever. So she then blamed it on someone stealing my data without me knowing it. But that wasn't possible either. I live in the country and have no neighbors and I changed the security settings right when I set it up so that nobody could steal my data. I know my monthly usage with Verizon and there is NO WAY I used that much data in a single week! I truly believe there is something fishy about their data usage calculations!

Was this review helpful? (214) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marbelz
midwest
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Device
11/29/2013

Customer review by joro65

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by joro65
by joro65

I just purchased this 2 days ago after losing a long fight with T-mobile over their mobile hotspot that stopped working and started burning up gigabytes like crazy. Already I'm impressed with this device. Reception has been great; way better than T-mobile's 4g. I also think that the rate plans are reasonable as long as you're not doing a lot of video streaming. I will be travelling for the next 5 months and look forward to having internet access wherever I go. I understand this is on the Verizon network so reception should be good everywhere. One caution: Read ALL of the instructions before you use it. It's an easy activation via phone. Just have all of your information ready and accessible. Once you've activated it you can set it up on line.

Was this review helpful? (151) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joro65
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hard to set up, but worth the wait!
10/10/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/10/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am so glad I researched this item online before purchasing. I found a great blog that gave step by step instructions on how to set this up. Without that, it would have been a disaster as the instructions included were not nearly clear enough. The wifi does work in the middle of nowhere where our cabin is located, with this mobile hotspot. It seems to need recharging quite often, so we just leave it plugged in. It can be slow at certain times, but all in all, it was a good buy. Once you pay the $80 for the gadget itself, you just buy a data card for $15 or $25 depending on the amount of data you use and that is it. Way cheaper than what we pay at home in the cities. Because we are not the most tech-savvy people in the world, we first had to figure out how to connect one of our phones to a laptop long enough to get on the internet to find the Straight Talk website and get it going. That was a little frustrating, but like I said, once you get it going, it works fine!

Was this review helpful? (92) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Browerville, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product....but GB's disappear quickly..
4/5/2014

Customer review by CCRider72

3.0 stars 4/5/2014 by CCRider72
by CCRider72

I was one of the last "dial up" customers and was forced to find another source for my internet. The "HotSpot" works as described....very good signal strength at my location....it is easy to operate....There is one serious drawback....Even though my old dial up was slower....it was unlimited....I started with a 1 GB card with the hotspot just to see how long it would last for me.....I don't do U Tube , any streaming video or movies....basically check my email, do banking and manage my healthcare on the VA website and play a few games on a social website. The ! GB only lasts me about 2 weeks.....and I was seriously limiting my time online as I saw how fast my card was being used up. Living on a fixed income I have to keep my bills down....so even though the Hotspot is good service it means alot less time online for me now.

Was this review helpful? (85) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCRider72
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very light usage only but realistically read this.
12/1/2013

Customer review by wurlitzer11

1.0 stars 12/1/2013 by wurlitzer11
by wurlitzer11

It looks good huh, wireless internet for ALL of your devices. Wow! 4 GB for $40.00 for the internet and I can connect 5 devices at once! Sounds too good to be true! Or is it? Now lets see, if you like to watch youtube videos which is STREAMING, that 4GB should last forever right? But wait, it's only been 20 minutes and my family of 5 are loving the speed and everything and then................ STOP! What happened to the internet you guys? It's not working. I better call ST tech support, I know they can help me. What? I used up my $40.00 card? No! That can't be. All 5 of us were only on for 20 minutes and Bam! The internet just stopped. It shows I am connected but nothing is coming through. Ugh! What do you mean streaming video on youtube uses more GB of DATA much more than downloading internet files, ,mp3's, pics etc.... O well, I can just by another $40.00 card, that's all but wow it sure adds up quick. This is a realistic example of what you get with these wireless devices, Verizon, AT&T, ETC, all have similar stuff. I know someone who was TIED down to those low 4gb plans and talk about feeling restrained. He spent upwards of $90 one month and I told him he should get rid of that unit. But if you just want to use it for that very quick check of email and news, (just don't watch the news video because it's streaming too) then it may be ok. Now remember folks, most places have FREE wireless internet no matter where you go to check your email, news and watch streaming video including youtube and spend 2 hours there and have it free. So if you purchase one of these devices and waste your hard earned money on one of those plans on top of it, you will see just how far you go with it. You might as well flush the money you just spent down the toilet. Let's face it, how many of you actually use 4 gb in a matter of hours by yourself lf you like to listen to or watch youtube. Unless your a hermit who only reads text and does not have your pics, flash or video activated in your internet browser, this is the thing for you. I hope after you read the very small print, that you see what you really get and thanks to this review, I just saved you $120.00 for the unit and the monthly plan. So be careful when you see something like this that looks too good to be true because it may just drain your wallet.

Was this review helpful? (450) (89)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wurlitzer11
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? No
Maybe good for a one person
4/29/2014

Customer review by LoveToBlog

3.0 stars 4/29/2014 by LoveToBlog
by LoveToBlog

I have used this product for the past 2 weeks and will be returning it. I bought it to hopefully lower my monthly fees. It would work OK for just me because I do not stream videos or music. If you only need to use the internet a few times a week for social media or research, then this product will lower your monthly bills. However, if you use the internet daily and stream anything then you will use up at least 1 GB in a day. That is 30 GB a month or $300 of cards. Better off getting a monthly service for $40 to $50. If you share this product with even one person even if you don't stream anything then forget it and buy a monthly service. I only see this product as useful for one person who needs it infrequently or for on the road if they want more security then using a public wi-fi. Also people complained about the security. It is unsecured until you go in and change it. Just click on Wi-Fi and change the security to WPA2-PSK. If you leave it open then other people nearby my use your Wi-Fi which is how some people may see their GB used up quickly. One more thing, the internet is slow. Seems to run about the same as when I had AT&T which ran at 2.5 to 3.0 mps.

Was this review helpful? (95) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToBlog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good unit for internet access in 3g areas.
12/11/2013

Customer review by GriffinsArk

3.0 stars 12/11/2013 by GriffinsArk
by GriffinsArk

I got the hotspot to access the 3g coverage. I have been using an old MiFi 2200 that is extremely slow and wanted to see how this would work in our area. It was a little bit of a gamble, but knowing that it worked on the Verizon signal and that Verizon is the best network in our area prompted me to try it out. I normally use about 2 GB of data a month with my old system, with this I used up a GB in 5 days. I can watch movies on NetFlix now if I want to, but the data usage would be through the roof. Also upgrading my speed caused YouTube to upgrade my video streaming and that burned through some serious data. Straight Talk also has some issues to deal with... having reserve or auto pay for this device would be senseless unless you know you won't use up your data in the allotted time. If you use up your data before the end of the date cycle of the card you will have to call Straight Talk to manage your reserve cause you can't do it online without internet access. I suppose if I got a smart phone I could recharge it there, but Straight Talk needs to revamp the system to keep the unit going as long as I have data in reserve! Otherwise, WHAT'S THE POINT!? It is kind of like having a spare tire, but leaving it at home.

Was this review helpful? (84) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GriffinsArk
Chatham, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
performance issues
8/26/2014

Customer review by bob869

3.0 stars 8/26/2014 by bob869
by bob869

no, i currently don't own the device, but i plan to purchase it soon for our rv. i'm a very seasoned PC person with a Master's in Computer Science. I am very knowledgeable in communication theory. I'd like to try to explain some performance issues. 1) 3G is only rated to transmit at 200 kbits per second. That puts it well behind wired Ethernet and current wi-fi speeds. 2) Almost all communications media advertise their "top" speed. In reality, most communications speeds fall way short of their advertised speeds (due to interference, media sharing, etc). 3) Almost all communications media have a "fall-back" protocol. They always try to initiate communications at their highest speed, but if they fail, they will "fall-back" to their next lowest speed. This continues until they can no longer communicate and they will drop the connection. Maybe too much information, but i hope it helps.

Was this review helpful? (212) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bob869
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 233 total reviews
1-20 of 233 reviews