Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

27 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

27 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 27 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Great reel, Great price
4/15/2016

Customer review by NateM

4.0 stars 4/15/2016 by NateM
by NateM

I purchased this reel to test it out after my Abu Garcia Cardinal series reels kept constantly breaking at $30/ea. I paid a grand total of $11.54 on-line with same day pick-up at the Wal-Mart I live near. I used it for a week casting into heavier currents in the Green Bay river tributaries durning the great walleye run this spring. I am a serious fisherman that spends a lot of hours casting or on the boat. Here was my conclusion: Pros: -Great components hold up well in tough retrieving conditions like deep diving baits in heavy current. -Awesome anti-reverse -Great gear system -Extrememly accurate drag system (very impressed with this component) Con: -Handle could be more comfortable (it is a one way handle that only fits between the thumb and forefinger one way) Not a big deal, and the only reason it's not rated 5 stars. Overall, for the price it's outstanding. I now own 5 of them. And I will probably buy more since $11 for the online price in my area is insanly good.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NateM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quite Impressive!
3/9/2015

Customer review by Strictlyspinning

5.0 stars 3/9/2015 by Strictlyspinning
by Strictlyspinning

I was curious about this reel, having seen it in Wal-Mart stores for about a year. On the surface, it is a very nice looking reel. I finally bought it and after opening it, that is when I realized exactly what a fine quality reel it is. The first thing I noticed what how smooth it was. The 6+1 ball bearing setup,one-way clutch bearing (for instant anti-reverse), machined anodized aluminum spool (w/ quit ample line capacity), compression bail spring system, heavy duty bail wire(for balanced rotation), and comfortable ergonomic crank knob round out the features. I have bought MANY spinning reels at Wal-Mart and although I haven't used this on the water yet, I can tell the the quality is better than some reels I have paid $40 for...and it has the feel of some of the very most expensive spinning reels in the store. This would be a great all-purpose spinning reel, using it for everything from spinners to plastic worms to live bait. Buy it, you will love the quality!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Strictlyspinning
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good reel and even greater price
4/6/2016

Customer review by massbass413

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by massbass413
by massbass413

Smooth and long casting reel. Got it for my son who is 9 yrs old. Who just started bass fishing.Paired the reel with a Shimano fx2 spinning rod. He can't be happier. The combo cost me under 25 bucks. I will be buying a few more for nephews and his friends when we go out fishing.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
massbass413
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
outdoor angler spinning reel 30
4/6/2016

Customer review by james

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by james
by james

Bought this reel with low expectations, so I put 20 pound braided line on it and took it out. Casted great on a 3/8 oz. Split shot and brought in many perch, bluegill, and crappie. Until a whale (this is my story) took the bait. It charged, wrapped itself around a dock and broke the hook. Even with all the thrashing I gave this reel trying to break it, the hooks fail every time. I have since purchased 2 more and recommend this $11 reel to everyone. What are you waiting for?

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
james
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible Fishing Reel
3/18/2016

Customer review by 2bros

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by 2bros
by 2bros

I remember seeing this reel at a local Walmart a long time ago. I could not believe the smooth action and the instant anti-reverse feature. I purchased two of these reels online. When I received them, I realized the high quality and the versatility of these reels. The reel can hold 220 yards of 6-pound test, 170 yards of 8-pound test, or 140 yards of 10-pound test line. Can you imagine? If you are using mono fishing lines, use 6 pound or less for trout or smaller fish; 8 pound test for steelhead; and 10 pound test for striped bass. If you are going for salmon from the banks, use braided line rated for 20 pound. See what I mean about the versatility? In my opinion, the instant anti-reverse will enable better hook set because there is no “kick-back” to your fishing line. I like it so much I ordered three more of the same reels. Now, I am going to have to find just the correct rods to match up with these reels.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2bros
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works good but heavier than i thought
7/24/2016

Customer review by Snowwhite

4.0 stars 7/24/2016 by Snowwhite
by Snowwhite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If compare to Daiwa product with about same type, this reel is heavier and bigger. works smoothly and nice style. Price is right.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snowwhite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality Reel at an absolute bargain of a price
3/28/2014

Customer review by Sanjuro

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by Sanjuro
by Sanjuro

This spinning reel is a great buy. Has all the features of the much higher priced name brand reels, but at a fraction of the cost. The reel has spins very smoothly on the 6+1 bearings. It has an aluminum bail that operates as well as some of my other reels that cost 3-4 times as much. The bail snaps back to the close position with authority like they are supposed to. Also love the machined aluminum parts like the spool and the drag adjustment. I'm serious this reel is quite the bargain and it performs as well as my much higher priced name brand reels. I don't think you find a better reel without spending $50+. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sanjuro
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great reel - very smooth
6/14/2016

Customer review by mrstangblb

5.0 stars 6/14/2016 by mrstangblb
by mrstangblb

I read the great reviews on this reel and figured I'd give it a try - and I'm glad I did. This thing is strong and smooth, and it casts very well. Now if I can just catch something with it! That's not the reel's fault - and maybe in the next week or two I'll haul one in. I fished all day this past Saturday with this reel and am very impressed with it. I can highly recommend it - it seems every bit as good as the Okuma reel that I bought recently.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrstangblb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Cheap reel!!
5/31/2016

Customer review by bucketmouthhunter

4.0 stars 5/31/2016 by bucketmouthhunter
by bucketmouthhunter

I like this reel, it works well and has lots of features. i bought one that was great and got one that is defective and will be returned. still seems well built and rugged for the price i will be getting another one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bucketmouthhunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good for the price
4/21/2016

Customer review by elvin

4.0 stars 4/21/2016 by elvin
by elvin

works great / good reel for the price

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elvin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent reel at a rock bottom price.
6/21/2014

Customer review by alexrw3

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by alexrw3
by alexrw3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This reel shocked me. It feels like a much more expensive reel, it is extremely smooth and has a generous line capacity. I like the weight, the bail closes with just the right amount of pressure and the drag is very smooth and effective. Time will tell how durable it is, but for now I am a very happy camper. This reel for the .com price of $12 is the fishing bargain of the year.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alexrw3
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very cost effective reel
4/5/2014

Customer review by aerroyl

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by aerroyl
by aerroyl

like the smooth action and the instant anti reverse. fine product for the prlce and comparable to others. thier RD30 is a fine reel also. Outdoor Angler are presenting good quality reels that meet my expectations as a consumer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aerroyl
plano texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great reel for the price.
4/23/2016

Customer review by fromGA

5.0 stars 4/23/2016 by fromGA
by fromGA

Works great this makes for 5 so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fromGA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Smooth
4/3/2016

Customer review by TheLearningLunker

5.0 stars 4/3/2016 by TheLearningLunker
by TheLearningLunker

We go to Wal-Mart once a week, and I always check out the fishing section. I've noticed this on the shelf and always wondered about it. Purchased one the other day and tried it out. Wow!...2nd cast and I was reeling in a crappie! This reel is WELL WORTH the money. It is Super Smooth and feels great, it might be my favorite to date. I've been fishing 4 years now; my grandson taught me; and have collected 10 combo's so far...couple of "Ugly Sticks", a "Mitchell" and "Shakespeare's". Think I'll go back and get a couple more! I would definitely recommend this to anyone just starting out or lifetime anglers! Tight lines to all! :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheLearningLunker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great reel for anyone! Beginner or advanced
4/15/2014

Customer review by Pikehunterguy

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Pikehunterguy
by Pikehunterguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had very low expectations for a cheap reel for Walmart. I bought it as a backup reel. It exceeds my expectations by far! My new favorite reel. Very smooth, built well, and can handle bigger fish.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pikehunterguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good
4/7/2016

Customer review by angry

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by angry
by angry

Easy. Gear ratio is very good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great reel for under $20
8/19/2014

Customer review by BB9933

5.0 stars 8/19/2014 by BB9933
by BB9933
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this reel for $12 as part of the end of the summer sale and brought it up New Hampshire to do some small mouth bass fishing. It performed wonderfully and very happy about my purchase. I paired it with a Shimano Stimula 6'6 Medium Heavy rod and pairs very well

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BB9933
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stunned!
8/30/2014

Customer review by MammothForever

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by MammothForever
by MammothForever

Okay, I have a lot of nice, expensive reels that I've collected over the years. I am from the school of thought which says, "You get what you pay for." However, this reel defies that logic (perhaps...I may be letting my initial impressions get the better of me)...but this reel is butter smooth and the instant anti-reverse is just as "instant" as any of my other $100+ reels. The aluminum bail is a very nice touch and the handle grip is very comfortable and screams high quality. Although I have yet to test this reel, it feels solid and smooth in my hand, and I have held a lot of expensive reels in my time as a fishing gearhead. I actually got this reel at the Rollback price of 12 bucks but still way, way worth it for $20.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MammothForever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
3/31/2016

Customer review by FDMS

5.0 stars 3/31/2016 by FDMS
by FDMS

I'm not sure how long it will last, but for a $10 Reel I am impressed. It looks and handles like a reel costing much more. Only used it a few times, so time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FDMS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST SPINNING REEL FOR UNDER $40
9/1/2015

Customer review by Thomas

5.0 stars 9/1/2015 by Thomas
by Thomas

I bought one of these reels and after a month of use and catching some big fish I ordered 2 more from walmart.com. These reels are super smooth out of the box and have a great drag system. I mainly fish plastic worms and hard baits like crankbaits and spinnerbaits. These reels have held up great so far and I make over 400 casts a day about 3 days a week. The bail system is solid, the drag is smooth, and the reel handle turns super smooth. have one spooled with 20 lb braid, and the 2 newer ones I spooled with 10 lb trilene.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews