Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1953 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1953 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1953 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1213
4 stars
377
3 stars
93
2 stars
83
1 stars
187
1-20 of 1771 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1771 total reviews
1-20 of 1771 reviews
Good for , not built to last
2/2/2015

Customer review by meowdisob

3.0 stars 2/2/2015 by meowdisob
by meowdisob

Got this about 8 months ago and it is a pretty good vacuum. It won't totally clean a really dusty/dirty carpet in one go over, but it works perfectly for most vacuuming needs. The only problem with it is that it's not built to last for long. In ±8 months of use, I've already had to replace the brush roll; the foam filter is already worn and beginning to disintegrate; the upholstery attachment has broken; and the locking mechanism is no longer airtight - large amounts of debris are escaping the waste compartment and getting into the filter; and pet fur etc gets wound around the green cylinder. This is with regular and thorough cleaning of the entire vacuum including the hose and non-removable upper compartment. If I didn't take it apart and clean everything, it definitely would not still be functional. I use the vacuum frequently, so I imagine it would have a longer lifespan for more casual vacuumers, but if you want something you won't need to replace for a long time - look elsewhere!

meowdisob
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
powerful
6/13/2016

Customer review by zirona

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by zirona
by zirona

bought it online about 5 months ago. I chose this model based solely on the reviews here and waited with my own review just to make sure it's accurate. the first time i used it i was relieved to hear it was quieter than my previous one but now i guess i got used to it and i consider it to be loud:) However, the performance is outstanding. i was actually shocked to see how dirty my carpet really was bec it didn't seem so. the vacuum still operates flawlessly, the only thing is that it kind of vibrates so if there are any objects like 5cm radius from where you are vacuuming, it attracts them so things like socks get sucked into , and unfortunalely this is how i broke my husband's fishing rod - it attracted/sucked the tip and broke it in two (it was lying in the corner where i was vacuuming nearby:) Upon delivery the vacuum came with a broken plastic piece that goes into the wheel so the wheel occasionally falls off but still i love this vacuum and i do recommend it

zirona
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked Great Until .....
5/17/2016

Customer review by Hate Returns

3.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Hate Returns
by Hate Returns

I purchased this unit 01/16/2016 and it worked great for the first almost 3 months. It picked up dog fur etc.on the carpets and did all right on the bare floors. Suction was very good. Only thing I found to be annoying was the unit would tip easily when I was vac the stairs. I could live with that as I would just anchor it against the hand railing so it would come flying down the stairs at me while I was using the attachment. All was good until about the 3 month mark ...... unit got really loud / suction was not what it used to be / unit sounded like it had something rattling around in it / handle would vibrate at times and I began getting static like "shocks" which I did not recall having previously ... therefore overall very disappointing. I have performed all the maintenance and care with no positive results. Glad I saved my old unit (different brand) for the basement as I can use it as a back up while this one is repaired.

Hate Returns
Kitchener, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Get what you pay for!!
4/18/2014

Customer review by Tamaralynn

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by Tamaralynn
by Tamaralynn

I had an old Filter Queen that died a slow and horrible death. Hubby was hesitant about getting a new vacuum, and wanted to fix his clunker up ($200 plus). I finally convinced him to let me buy a cheap vacuum for now -at least until he finally get around to at least clean the messy floors (been without a working vacuum for over a week and I was getting very antsy). Bought this today at Walmart for $68. It was a breeze to put together! Was very pleasantly surprised at how much this picked up, not only the surface mess, but SO much dirt that was in the carpet. We have old nasty burber carpet that is difficult to clean properly. I love the suction power, and even drives itself forward as it cleans (hubby's favorite feature). Great attachments. My only complaint is there isn't a switch to change from power head to tool mode (powerhead continues to rotate). The hose doesn't stretch very far, but other than that - this is a great buy!

Tamaralynn
Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Pulls like a shopvac, but with HEPA!
1/16/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

I used to love my type7 bagged Bissell, but I look at it now & it's like seeing an old flame who's nowhere near as hot as your new girl - "yeah, Babe, we'll hook up for sure some time. Uh, gotta go, bye!" (Shameface). Seriously, though - this thing picks up dog hair & gunk I didn't even know I had - stuff I was even steam cleaning over! Folks mentioning reduced efficiency over time, here's the deal: bissell uprights sometimes clog at the little plastic flextube leading from the beater bar to the main hose, Easy to disassemble & clean with a hangar-wire. Takes all of ten minutes. Remove the belt guard plate on the bottom & lay the upper part of the vacuum down like you're cleaning under the bed, & that flextube can be slid right out for unplugging. Check the main hose while you're at it. Try not to pick up any toothpicks, Q-Tips, large twigs, etc. & you shouldn't have too many probs. & yes, you can clean the curved Hepa filter on the front with water, just don't go scrubbing on it. Or better yet blow it out with compressed air from a compressor, just be GENTLE.

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV
Gender:Male
Great product, except...!
7/7/2012

Customer review by pmae

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by pmae
by pmae

I originally purchased this Bissell Vacuum cleaner the beginning of June, 2012. I have had other Bissell vacuums in the past and been pleased with them. This time though I wanted a slightly better model as I have been having many more problems with my allergies (plus I own a cat!). It worked really well and brought my shag carpeting back to life! It sucked up the cat hair and worked MUCH better than the one I had before. BUT, I left it running and sitting on my shag carpeting while I moved a chair out of the way. That was a mistake, as it caused my rug to melt and mat, as well as causing it to melt onto the bar and brush on the underside. I did exchange it and got the same one (that shows how much I liked this model!), BUT now I don't leave it sitting still for even 1 second to avoid the same problem. I don't know why that happened, but I did want to put out a word of warning. The vacuum itself moves very nicely even on the deep shag rug I have, and also works well on my bare floors and very low pile rugs. Just don't let it sit while running in one spot!

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Pmae, there are several other vacuums that may be better suited for you. These models all have brush on/off switches: http://www.bissell.com/product_comparison.aspx?ids=2465,2464,20874&icid=ccrr

pmae
Norfolk, VA, USA
Gender:Female
Massive flaw that ruins an otherwise serviceable vacuum
5/21/2013

Customer review by CodyC

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by CodyC
by CodyC

This isn't a bad vacuum altogether. It vacuums well, it's easy to use, and it's cheap and easy to assemble. What ends up ruining it completely is the hose. The collection hose needs to be connected to a socket on the back of the vacuum to deposit the detritus into the collector. The problem is that the hose simply attaches to the socket through two tiny protrusions on the end that fit into slots on the socket. It doesn't actually lock, and even a minor jostling (such as tilting the vacuum up to lock it upright after you finish) will promptly cause the hose to fall out. Even worse, the hose can be turned 180 degrees and inserted upside-down, which looks completely identical to the proper position but will fall out simply from gravity, or if you look at it funny. Did I mention that if the hose falls out, you'll end up with trash falling at your feet and the vacuum no longer works at all?

Comment from Lisa - 5/23/2013

Thank you for your review. The hose should lock in place by twisting it to the right; if not you do have a warranty with your machine. Please contact us at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

CodyC
Longwood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Won't Turn on After 10 uses
9/8/2013

Customer review by lolastarr

1.0 stars 9/8/2013 by lolastarr
by lolastarr

Very disappointed that after 10 uses, my PowerForce Helix Turbo will no turn on by depressing the red on/off button. If I had posted this user prior to this unfortunate event, it would have been between a 3 - 4 because of the issues it has picking up direct on bare wood floors and how little gets picked up from pile carpet (despite the settings changes available). If fact, like another user posted, it you use the carpet specific settings for carpet vacuuming, the machine just blows the dirt around. So, you use the bare floor setting on carpeting, and that works fine. But , I was forced to buy another vacuum for the hard floors. As a Bissell fan, I am soo disappointed by my machine not turning on now. After 10 uses and a compulsive cleaner of the washable filters, I would have assumed my upkeep would have warranted me many happy years of vacuum performance.

Comment from Lisa - 9/10/2013

We appreciate your feedback. BISSELL has a bare floor tool available that would work with your model for future reference. Please click at this link to view: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=2437&partid=4646

lolastarr
Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
vacuum itself gets dusty when you use it
1/21/2013

Customer review by Mommyreffic

3.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Mommyreffic
by Mommyreffic

I bought this product yesterday due to the good reviews i've read. I was impressed at how easy it was to assemble (wont take longer than 5 mins). It was also very light and very easy to maneuver. It has alot of suction and i was able to see all the dirt i have in my house from the dirt cup. i was completely blown Away! it sucks up all the seen and unseen dirt all over the place. However, when i use the turbo brush or any other attachments, i found out that the hose is quite too short. I also noticed that when i take out the hose from the base, dust sprinkles back to air and the vacuum itself becomes dusty too. I had to wipe down the vacuum after use. Cleaning the dirt bag and the filters are no biggy. In fact i actually enjoyed it since i could see all the dirt i never thought i had. However, it spits out some dust back in to the air when i empty the dirt bag. Cleaning filters can be a little messy too as the dust keep falling from it. Other than that, that's the only concern i have from this product. I noticed my husband kept sneezing after a few mins of Vacuuming. I think the dust from the hose base might be the biggest culprit.

Mommyreffic
Maryland, USA
Gender:Female
Love & Hate Realationship (Happy Ending)
9/30/2013

Customer review by Love the Force

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Love the Force
by Love the Force

Okay, I had this vacuum for over a year and was disappointed when it started to pick up less and less (to the point that it took less time to just sweep as opposed to vacuuming). Nothing was really getting into the upper tank or dirt container Ahhhhh. I purchased new filters (and it’s a lot of them) without any luck. I was getting so frustrated that I was ready to set it on the curb and buy something else but I went on line and researched what others have done. Lo and behold after checking the belt and some of the hoses for holes I realized that the culprit was the foot hose and boy was it clogged (I mean really-really clogged). I turned it over, unscrewed the screw and it It took about 20 min to dig everything out but once I did it ran as good as new whoo hoo. At last the dirt actually went into the tanks and I was no longer just pushing dirt around. So before you give up on the wonderful vacume I would suggest checking the foot hose and not just by lifting the hose wand and glancing inside I mean taking the screw out and laying it down so that the hose can stretch out and you’ll be able to see all the dirt that’s trapped inside.

Love the Force
Michigan
Gender:Female
Superior suction, GREAT Attachments
7/21/2015

Customer review by Older then Dirt

5.0 stars 7/21/2015 by Older then Dirt
by Older then Dirt

My first "bagless" vaccumm. I'm a bit concerned that over time the suction will diminish but right now, I'm betting it could "suck golf balls through a garden hose". I was surprised to see all the dog hair my old vacuum missed over time. The darn canister was almost full on the first use- all dog hair. The BEST attachment is the portable suction head. Great for stairs, furniture and the like. One note about attaching this suction head mounting bracket to your machine handle #during assembly out of the box#: the mounting bracket is supposed to slide down into the smaller hole. Well, I tried my darndest and couldn't get it to lock in place. I put a slight coat of dishwashing soap on the narrow part of the hole and it slid in with a minimum of effort. It would be nice if they included that tip in the set-up instructions

Older then Dirt
By the Shore, New Jersey
Gender:Male
higher expectation than this
3/12/2012

Customer review by pam55

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by pam55
by pam55

I have purchased Powerforce bagless cleaners for the last 15 years. I wanted a new vacuum to put the older one downstairs. Paid more for this one than the blue Powerforce thinking it would be better. WRONG! the hose that you pull off to use attachments does not have a handle like the old one--very difficult to grab and then put back on so it doesn't come off while vacuuming. The hose is also stiffer to use with attachments, too. I also prefer the on/off button up higher to turn on with hand rather than foot. Also, this one didn't have headlight like older less expensive model. It was lacking the extra extender bar for reaching higher places with wand. Overall, I would not buy this again. I know the less expensive blue Powerforce is much better. It can't be returned because I used it and it looks dirty, so too bad for me.

Comment from Joe - 3/14/2012

Pam55, thanks for your feedback. We continuously make new versions of our units and they can include new features as well as eliminate others. We are sorry that you're not happy with your unit. You can view the units and look at their features either in the stores (on the box) or online we give pictures and descriptions of features. I hope this helps for any future purchases.

pam55
Mid-Michigan
Gender:Female
proffessioals choice
11/5/2013

Customer review by nodustylungs51

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by nodustylungs51
by nodustylungs51

I am a professional Building manager, and have been in the "business" over 35 years. The single most important improvement I have witnessed is the advent of the bagless vacuum. I will admit at first I was quite unimpressed. Wow have you come a long way. I do recommend your vacs to anyone, both in and out of the workplace. I own this vac at home, as well as at work. I clean the cup after each use, and wash the filters and cup every other week. With this in mind the vac is like new all the time. If you can not smell dust while vacuuming, it is a great day. With my cleaning schedule of the vac, I never inhale what is going into the cup. Naturally I do not abuse the vac, and it doesn't abuse me. What a great advancement in cleaning, and I haven't even mentioned the more than acceptable price. What a great vac. and company.

nodustylungs51
Oskaloosa, IA, USA
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC!
10/14/2013

Customer review by simsdiva9

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by simsdiva9
by simsdiva9

I have been married for 35 years and in that time I have owned several vacuums. Some better than others, however, I have never owned such a fantastic vacuum. We have a 6 year old yellow lab with medium length hair and a 4 year old granddaughter that visits 3-4 days a week. The first time I vacuumed with this new vacuum I almost cried. The amount of fine dirt it sucked out our carpets in such a small area amazed me, and the almost crying was from knowing our granddaughter had been playing on that same area with her face rather close watching cartoons, etc. The pet brush has just as much power. So far, a week has gone by and I vacuum daily (it is shedding season) and I am still amazed at the power this lightweight, mid-priced vacuum has. Will definitely be telling my friends about this purchase! Go BISSELL!!!

simsdiva9
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Great vacuum for the price!
4/14/2016

Customer review by shaydick

4.0 stars 4/14/2016 by shaydick
by shaydick

I bought this vacuum close to 3 years ago to use on a few rugs that I had in my house and it was great! I moved to a house with carpeted bedrooms and had to use this vacuum more often. It all of a sudden stop sucking up anything! Did a little research and checked for any clogs or broken parts etc. Turns out the belt had broken in half! Went to Walmart and picked up a new one for $4.00 package came with 2 new belts. Easy to install and the vacuum is working like new again. I am going to be more careful and take care of it from now on! If you do some maintenance these vacuums will last a long time. Its funny I almost went out and bought a new vacuum for $150.00 and all it took was a $4.00 part!

shaydick
Keswick Beach, Georgina, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Buy something else
1/20/2014

Customer review by Lisa

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Lisa
by Lisa

It's hard to explain how much I detest this vacuum cleaner. I have bought plenty of Bissell products in the past, so I know they make some good vacuum cleaners; this is not one of them. This vacuum cleaner needs to be cleaned every 5 minutes or it doesn't work effectively. It is messy and difficult to clean, and the filters clog so fast. When you remove the attachment tube to use it, dirt and dust fly up out of the open hole that the tube rests in when not in use. While I vacuum, I see dust flying around in the air- coming from my vacuum cleaner!! It is annoying beyond belief. I spend more time cleaning this stupid vacuum cleaner than I do vacuuming. So do yourself a favor and buy something else. As for me, I can't wait for this thing to break so I can do the same.

Comment from Lisa - 1/27/2014

Thanks for your feedback, and we are sorry for your difficulty. With blowing dust, this could be a clog in your machine. Please check out the link for some easy tips to get your machine working again. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1498

Lisa
Illinois, USA
Gender:Female
Love my new vacuum!
3/21/2013

Customer review by Missy

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by Missy
by Missy

Recently purchased the Powerforce Helix Turbo for our home, we have two cats and 2 sets of carpeted stairs, so lots of upkeep and work, the Helix does the job! I had previously had a Dirt Devil, which turned out to be a real LEMON! The belt fell off with every use and after two uses the canister and the filter had to be cleaned out completely to have any suction at all. My new vacuum has given me ZERO problems, it's as powerful as the first day I used it and I can not believe how much it picks up, it's shocking! I actually took a photo of the canister contents one day, beacuse I was so shocked! I love the light weight construction, and it doesn't feel like a cheap piece of plastic, the turbo brush works great on the cat hair and the stairs, I couldn't be happier!

Missy
Reynoldsburg, OH, USA
Gender:Female
not sure what to think..
6/24/2014

Customer review by Rochelle2093

3.0 stars 6/24/2014 by Rochelle2093
by Rochelle2093

I have mixed reviews. I've had this vacuum for almost 3 years and it has been great, hasn't had a broken belt or anything. however, it used to clean up my 2 dog's hair perfectly, however only the last year it has picked and chosen (so to speak) which spots it'd like to vacuum up. When I vacuum it leaves lines and have to vacuum over the spot a million times at different angles. I have cleaned out the filters, and all the little compartments #which is very tedious work, and I end up getting more dirt on myself and floor than in the vacuum). I'm wanting a better vacuum for pet hair but not spend a fortune. Anyone recommend maybe a dual carpet cleaner/vacuum combo from Bissell? any response would be greatly appreciated.

Rochelle2093
Republic, MO, USA
Gender:Female
why change something that works with something that doesn't
5/14/2012

Customer review by cindy

1.0 stars 5/14/2012 by cindy
by cindy

TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE!!!! This was my favorite vacuum until I bought a new one, bissell has changed it and it is for the worse, the hose is cheapy, it broke off it within a week, there is now no handle on the wand so you have to pull on the hose, so that will probably pull out of the end soon! the dirt container now comes out in 2 pieces, it used to come out as one and u twisted off the bottom for the filter, so now u have to fuddle to put it back in, the wand is shorter, the cord is shorter. the upholstery attachment fell off and is now in 5 pieces, I have used this type of Bissell for over 10 years and the new improved.. BAD<> BAD!! whoever redesigned it apparently doesn't vacuum at ALL!!

Comment from Joe - 5/23/2012

Thanks for the review Cindy. The Powerforce Helix Turbo is actually a new platform. The features you are looking for are on our CleanView Helix Deluxe model shown at this link: http://www.bissell.com/clean-view-helix-deluxe-vacuum/?icid=ccrr I hope this clears up any confusion.

cindy
Florida, USA
Gender:Female
simply the best.....
10/7/2013

Customer review by wattamutt

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by wattamutt
by wattamutt

this is the best vacuum. its more convenient than the very expensive vacuum from a dealer that i have. when i come home from work the last thing i want to do is fight with a 35 pound vacuum to clean the steps . this is light enough to hold with one hand and you just pop out the hose and use it on the steps. the suction is better than the very expensive model also. this will suck the curtains right off if your not careful. also gets all the pet hair from everything too. and the little turbo brush is great for the furniture. hey... i didnt get a turbo brush with with my big heavy vacuum! well anyway, no more hassles for me at least. just clean carpets and furniture. WAY TO GO BISSELL!!

wattamutt
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1771 total reviews
1-20 of 1771 reviews