Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1862 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1862 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1862 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1156
4 stars
360
3 stars
87
2 stars
80
1 stars
179
1-20 of 1680 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1680 total reviews
1-20 of 1680 reviews
Picks up EVERYTHING.. even in thick Berber carpet
1/20/2008

Customer review by MrAnalysis

5.0 stars 1/20/2008 by MrAnalysis
by MrAnalysis

I just got a dog about 2 weeks before purchasing this vacuum and I was in the process of re-potty training her. I used club soda and baking soda to soak up her mess but my other vacuum would not pick up the baking soda that well. It died days later & I bought this one. I LOVE this thing. It picks up the baking soda from the clean-ups, the dust bunnies in the carpet that I had no clue I had, and all of the pet hair that was not picked up by the other vacuum. What was AWESOME about this vacuum was the 2 DIFFERENT dirt collection cannisters, the WASHABLE air filter & two additional H.E.P.A. filters. There was no odor from the baking soda that had soaked up the excess mess nor from the dog hair. It smelled like nothing.. until you opened the canister and realized that all of the odor was captured by the filters. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY DOG OWNER ON A BUDGET. From looking at my nickname you can tell that I analyzed each one before I bought & I am glad I chose this one.

Was this review helpful? (127) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrAnalysis
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Decision
6/7/2008

Customer review by PoorButContentGradStudent

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by PoorButContentGradStudent
by PoorButContentGradStudent

Back in the fall I bought a cheaper/slimmer vacuum model by Dirt Devil, and paid for it. This is my upgrade, which is what I should have gotten the first time. It's a great product, easy to maintain and care for- Well worth the price. - When I was a kid we had a bag vacuum cleaner; which was proceeded by a water vacuum cleaner that cost about 2 grand. I must conclude, nothing beats the emptying of this style vacuum. And there is absolutely no difference in capability. - Being that I'm a grad student and by definition, lazy unless exams are concerned, I prefer to do all my cleaning with one utensil. With that said, sweeping the kitchen and bathroom floor is out of the question. This vacuum cleaner supports my laziness and does the job for me. It has settings that allow you to vacuum hardwood/tile, and it quite good at the task.

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoorButContentGradStudent
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Great and did I say GREAT!
3/22/2010

Customer review by WonderCleaner

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by WonderCleaner
by WonderCleaner

This is a great vacuum, defiantly met my expectations. Ive been without a working vacuum for 2days and have 3dogs so there was dog hair all over my area rug. This vacuum cleaned up everything within 10mins. This has great suction for the price. Ill post pictures =) I highly recommend this especially if your just using it for bare floors and area rugs.

Was this review helpful? (81) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WonderCleaner
Tucson Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Was great until i used it a few times .......
6/20/2010

Customer review by JessicaInArizona

3.0 stars 6/20/2010 by JessicaInArizona
by JessicaInArizona

I loved this vacuum when i bought it about a month ago. It picked up and worked amazing! But, now, it seems to spit some dirt back out and does not pick up anywhere close to how it did when i first purchased. I clean it out after each time using it and i put it away and take really good care of it,but i wish i would have bought a more expensive reliable cleaner then this. I do not like it at all now, as it does not pick up unless i go over my carpet about 4 times, and that is horrible, i like to get done by going over my carpet once and not having to redo it. I will be buying a new one soon, as i am very dissatisfied with this product!

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JessicaInArizona
Goodyear, Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time
5/18/2011

Customer review by Slim0830

1.0 stars 5/18/2011 by Slim0830
by Slim0830

Went through 4 of these units before it burned a hole in my area rug, the height adjustment kept breaking every time, I don't have stairs in my house so the unit was never "banged around" and each unit lasted between a few weeks to a month or so.. 3 rooms were carpeted so it wasn't being over used. I called Bissell customer service to say the least I wasted a half an hour of my time. I now own a Dyson, even if you don't want to spend the money on something that expensive I would never recommend this product see the photo for yourself the unit still looks new, and you can see the rug

Was this review helpful? (40) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slim0830
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
big performance, small price
10/11/2009

Customer review by 808Details

5.0 stars 10/11/2009 by 808Details
by 808Details

I'm a professional Auto Detailer and just got new carpet put in. I wanted a vacuum that was lighter, just as powerful and a reasonable price.... oh, and a filter that was easy to change out. The power force turbo is a great machine for normal vacuuming and one step up from the non turbo for I think 20 bucks more. *Easy to put together *not that noisy* Easy to push and pull *Long enough cord to plug in central and reach my whole house (1230 SQ. Ft.) I accidentally hit my towel in the bedroom and immediately snapped the rubber band drive. Don’t hit a towel! They sent me two new rubber bands with in a week. They were going to charge me I think 8 bucks and I said send it out free with a smile on ur face and I wont take it back and exchange it for another one. They did! Band was easy to replace. Haven’t used the attachment. I rarely write reviews but thought this little "turbo" vac deserved one for the price, performance and ease of use combination. Aloha

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
808Details
Honolulu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Product at a Great Value!
3/14/2011

Customer review by LexyLovesWalmart

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by LexyLovesWalmart
by LexyLovesWalmart

I was fed up with bag less vacuums due to the constant clogging in three different places and sick of having to always clean the brush and practicayl take apart the whole thing just to get rid of all the clogs. I moved to stick vacs when we got rid of the carpet in our apartment a few years back. We bought a fine Persian rug for our living room a few years ago and the stick vacs we have just were not cutting it. I was leery when my husband brought this home saying it was "The best Value "I put it together in 5 min - just two screws to attach the handle and a simple twist of the wrist to attach the hose to the unit. I just got done vacuuming with this and the dirt this thing lifted from our rug is amazing! Our Persian looks like new anyone who want a CLEAN CARPET, GET THIS VACUUM!

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LexyLovesWalmart
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awful vacuum, don't bother.
12/29/2008

Customer review by nini02

1.0 stars 12/29/2008 by nini02
by nini02

Don't waste your time or money on this item. I bought this vacuum because there were a lot of good reviews here, but there are also quite a few with the exact same problems I'm having. Honestly, this vacuum is useless. I would be just as well off if I didn't vacuum at all. From the first time I turned it on, it has barely picked anything up and is constantly spewing a cloud of dust from around the base - and because of that, there is always a layer of dust on outside of the vacuum. The air is full of dust by the time I'm done using this thing. I thought I was getting a machine that would help with my dust allergies, but this thing makes it MUCH worse. It is going on Freecycle as soon as I get out to buy a new vacuum. I've included a picture of the base with it's layer of dust - the dark line is where I wiped the dust off so you could see just how bad it is....

Was this review helpful? (25) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nini02
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WHAT A VACUUM...
1/11/2009

Customer review by STREETERFAMILY

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by STREETERFAMILY
by STREETERFAMILY

I have had my old vacuum for a long.... time.. We needed a last moment replacement right before Christmas. Well I read the reviews on Wal-mart.com and OMG this was a wonderful tool to pick out my vacuum. It sucks up everything.. You can clean the filters The hose is very long Best off Simple to put together!! Buy to try yourself!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STREETERFAMILY
Freehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Whatta vacuum!
1/1/2012

Customer review by mstina61

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by mstina61
by mstina61

Just purchased this product to replace an older canister model that was on it's way out. Was skeptical at first because of the low price (buy cheap, get cheap). After reading the reviews on this site, I decided to give it a try. Wow! Was I pleasantly surprised. This thing picks up dirt and dust that my old vacuum left behind, and I vacuum regularly, at least once a week. The dust cup needs to be emptied after each use, it's true, but it's no big deal and I'd rather put it away in the closet clean anyway. Assembly consists of putting the handle on with two screws and snapping the hose and attachments in place. The on/off foot control is nice and the cord is LONG, which makes it easy to move to another room if you have a small house. Granted, I don't know how it will hold out over time, but Bissell is a brand name and I have owned other Bissell products before and was happy with them. If you're on the fence about this vacuum, I'd say for 60 bucks, go for it. You'll probably be very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mstina61
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does what a vacumum is suppose to do!
1/7/2014

Customer review by luvthisstore1

3.0 stars 1/7/2014 by luvthisstore1
by luvthisstore1

First off, the other ratings are so old, decided to add my two cents. I had just vacuumed yesterday with my nano also purchased at Wal-Mart some five years ago- It fell apart - but I guess I got my moneys worth out of it. The fact that I just vacuumed yesterday and re vacuumed with the bissell today, was amazing! Filled the canister up completely! Yuk, that was a lot of (deep) dirt, the nano was leaving behind. It is light weight, which is also good. I used the attachment on the stairs, and it worked well but you have to drag the whole unit behind you while going up the stairs. Also, luv being able to get it under the bed to vacuum! However, it defeats the purpose of an alergin filter if you have to take the whole thing apart to wash the filters. With all this being said, and not wanting to schlep it back to the store, its a keeper. I am an old lady, and have had a lot of vacuums and still feel, for the price, this is still a good buy. was also on sale...at the store...saved $10-

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvthisstore1
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect Vacuum
11/6/2008

Customer review by ResearchHolic

5.0 stars 11/6/2008 by ResearchHolic
by ResearchHolic

I was getting really frsutrated last year when trying to find a new vacuum. I tried the hoover and the dirt devil, both received great reviews but didn't live up to my expectation. I was about to splerge and buy a dyson but then I came across this Bissell. I was a litte sceptical but fell in love. It vacuums my wood floors perfectly and my carpet. That was my problem with the other vacuums. I needed one that did both floors and carpet well. I love that it doesn't eat up my cords or curtains when on the lowest setting and it has washable filters. It is even pretty light. I just wish the cord was 2 feet longer but that is being a little too picky. I hate changing filters so I don't clean them until I notice the suction is getting weak and have cleaned them 4 times in the past year. I am so pleased and would reccommend this to anyone. Trust me, I have done the research and tried many vacuums and have had this one for a year. It is right up there with the Dyson!

Was this review helpful? (255) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ResearchHolic
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bissell Powerforce Turbo
12/26/2015

Customer review by mrmarkus

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by mrmarkus
by mrmarkus

When I received my vac. the plastic bezel that covers the brush and belt assembly had a piece broken out, apparently the package was dropped during shipment. I thought about taking it back to Walmart however, I called Bissell customer service. There was no problem and the lady at Customer service advised that she would send the replacement at no charge. I have since received & replaced the part. I am very happy with this new machine it has a powerful 10Amp motor and gets the job done. Most of the filters are washable, just make sure they are completely dry before reinstalling. I really like the orange/black color.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrmarkus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pulls like a shopvac, but with HEPA!
1/16/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

I used to love my type7 bagged Bissell, but I look at it now & it's like seeing an old flame who's nowhere near as hot as your new girl - "yeah, Babe, we'll hook up for sure some time. Uh, gotta go, bye!" (Shameface). Seriously, though - this thing picks up dog hair & gunk I didn't even know I had - stuff I was even steam cleaning over! Folks mentioning reduced efficiency over time, here's the deal: bissell uprights sometimes clog at the little plastic flextube leading from the beater bar to the main hose, Easy to disassemble & clean with a hangar-wire. Takes all of ten minutes. Remove the belt guard plate on the bottom & lay the upper part of the vacuum down like you're cleaning under the bed, & that flextube can be slid right out for unplugging. Check the main hose while you're at it. Try not to pick up any toothpicks, Q-Tips, large twigs, etc. & you shouldn't have too many probs. & yes, you can clean the curved Hepa filter on the front with water, just don't go scrubbing on it. Or better yet blow it out with compressed air from a compressor, just be GENTLE.

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV
Gender:Male
Best vacuum ever
5/2/2009

Customer review by LadySophia

5.0 stars 5/2/2009 by LadySophia
by LadySophia

I have owned way too many vacuum cleaners in the past 40 years, all have been more expensive than this one, and none as good! OK, we've had terrible luck with vacuum cleaners! Most seem great...at first...then things go wrong....very wrong! I have had this Bissel for almost a year, and I love it! I have a Siberian Husky and a Himalayan cat, so lots of hair and fur. This vacuum takes care of it on the carpet, floor and with the little vac attachment, on the furniture as well! I love that it is easy to empty, with no bags to buy. It's easy to remove and clean the three filters; just pop them out, wash and dry, and no replacements to buy! The attachments are all easy to attach, use, and store "on board." I like the foot controls too. It's much lighter weight than other machines I have owned. We have had to replace the belt only once and that was easy to do too! This is a well designed and efficient machine. I do recommend this machine...and this is the 1st time I have written a review!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadySophia
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Toddler-tough!
3/11/2010

Customer review by Llamatron

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by Llamatron
by Llamatron

I have used this vacuum to pick up cat litter, fabric scraps, sticky rice, thread, and other stuff that ends up on the floor in the house of a seamstress, toddler, cat, and messy husband! It sucks it all up, plus lots of dust and other stuff I've never seen come up from the carpet before with our old vacuum (an old hand-me-down). We weren't use to such a powerful vacuum and it has accidentally sucked up some stuff we didn't mean for it to (luckily, you can search for little legos in the dirt container). The best part is that you can put the filter in the dishwasher (not the HEPA filter, the regular vacuum filter). We haven't done that yet, but the lady we talked to at Wal-Mart (another customer who was coming to get a second powerforce) said she had been very satisfied with its performance. Oh, and my toddler had knocked it over and stood and jumped on it and it doesn't break. Nice!

Was this review helpful? (420) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Llamatron
Walmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
loved it til it broke
12/6/2010

Customer review by churchladyccc

1.0 stars 12/6/2010 by churchladyccc
by churchladyccc

I will update this review and give it a 5 star rating if Bissell replaces the broken beater bar. I absolutely loved this vacuum all summer. I purchased it this spring and could not believe how awesome it was! Its suction was so powerful it reduced how often I had to mop..which in my book is the best compliment a vacuum manufacturer could receive! We have an old wood floor with gaps between the slats and stuff came out that normally needed removed by hand. Sooo, the other day sweeping that floor the beater bar bearings? melted? and fused the bar stopping it from spinning. The vacuum is fine but, of course, is mostly useless without the bar. Well, except for the hand held beater bar which is also great at removing pet hair. It still works fine but couldn't store a vacuum just for the hand tools. The only other criticism I would give is the hose is a tiny bit short for reaching much beyond furniture..it will reach high and low but it requires a little more arm strength than past vacuums I've used..not a deal breaker for me tho!

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
churchladyccc
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Why pay more?
12/16/2015

Customer review by RSP0720

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by RSP0720
by RSP0720

I originally ordered this as a second vacuum for the basement rec room but now I'm not so sure. I have a Dyson that I normally use but decided to check out this one before I sent it downstairs. This one Is nosier than the Dyson but seems to be just as powerful and it has the attachments I'd need as well. So I'm wondering - do the more expensive ones just have prettier cases and a better name?

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RSP0720
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I highly recommend this vacuum
2/16/2008

Customer review by ChatBrat

5.0 stars 2/16/2008 by ChatBrat
by ChatBrat

I bought this vacuum based on the great reviews I've read on many websites (Wal-Mart, Amazon, etc) and I am so glad I did. A few reviewers said that they vacuumed their carpet with their old vacuum and got it as clean as they could with that and then they ran their new Bissell over the same area. We did that as well, just out of curiosity, and we are AMAZED and SHOCKED. You wouldn't believe the ton of hair, dirt, and dust that we vacuumed up with this Bissell that the old vacuum left behind!!! We were equally amazed and shocked how well the upholstery wand and brush work. We vacuumed our couch and we couldn't believe the amount of stuff that was vacuumed up. Dog hair, cat hair, people hair, dust and lint... it was really gross. This vacuum has many nice features and I just love it. I've never been this excited about a vacuum before. I feel kinda silly but I tell ya, you just have to see this for yourself. We paid $68.00 for this and I can't believe they're not charging more for it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChatBrat
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Never loses suction
1/6/2016

Customer review by Nurseteen

4.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Nurseteen
by Nurseteen

Vacuum appears to be living up to its ability to remove dirt/dust

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nurseteen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1680 total reviews
1-20 of 1680 reviews