Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1901 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1901 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1901 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1179
4 stars
367
3 stars
90
2 stars
82
1 stars
183
1-20 of 1719 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1719 total reviews
1-20 of 1719 reviews
Picks up EVERYTHING.. even in thick Berber carpet
1/20/2008

Customer review by MrAnalysis

5.0 stars 1/20/2008 by MrAnalysis
by MrAnalysis

I just got a dog about 2 weeks before purchasing this vacuum and I was in the process of re-potty training her. I used club soda and baking soda to soak up her mess but my other vacuum would not pick up the baking soda that well. It died days later & I bought this one. I LOVE this thing. It picks up the baking soda from the clean-ups, the dust bunnies in the carpet that I had no clue I had, and all of the pet hair that was not picked up by the other vacuum. What was AWESOME about this vacuum was the 2 DIFFERENT dirt collection cannisters, the WASHABLE air filter & two additional H.E.P.A. filters. There was no odor from the baking soda that had soaked up the excess mess nor from the dog hair. It smelled like nothing.. until you opened the canister and realized that all of the odor was captured by the filters. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY DOG OWNER ON A BUDGET. From looking at my nickname you can tell that I analyzed each one before I bought & I am glad I chose this one.

Was this review helpful? (184) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrAnalysis
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Decision
6/7/2008

Customer review by PoorButContentGradStudent

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by PoorButContentGradStudent
by PoorButContentGradStudent

Back in the fall I bought a cheaper/slimmer vacuum model by Dirt Devil, and paid for it. This is my upgrade, which is what I should have gotten the first time. It's a great product, easy to maintain and care for- Well worth the price. - When I was a kid we had a bag vacuum cleaner; which was proceeded by a water vacuum cleaner that cost about 2 grand. I must conclude, nothing beats the emptying of this style vacuum. And there is absolutely no difference in capability. - Being that I'm a grad student and by definition, lazy unless exams are concerned, I prefer to do all my cleaning with one utensil. With that said, sweeping the kitchen and bathroom floor is out of the question. This vacuum cleaner supports my laziness and does the job for me. It has settings that allow you to vacuum hardwood/tile, and it quite good at the task.

Was this review helpful? (83) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoorButContentGradStudent
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Great and did I say GREAT!
3/22/2010

Customer review by WonderCleaner

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by WonderCleaner
by WonderCleaner

This is a great vacuum, defiantly met my expectations. Ive been without a working vacuum for 2days and have 3dogs so there was dog hair all over my area rug. This vacuum cleaned up everything within 10mins. This has great suction for the price. Ill post pictures =) I highly recommend this especially if your just using it for bare floors and area rugs.

Was this review helpful? (102) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WonderCleaner
Tucson Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Was great until i used it a few times .......
6/20/2010

Customer review by JessicaInArizona

3.0 stars 6/20/2010 by JessicaInArizona
by JessicaInArizona

I loved this vacuum when i bought it about a month ago. It picked up and worked amazing! But, now, it seems to spit some dirt back out and does not pick up anywhere close to how it did when i first purchased. I clean it out after each time using it and i put it away and take really good care of it,but i wish i would have bought a more expensive reliable cleaner then this. I do not like it at all now, as it does not pick up unless i go over my carpet about 4 times, and that is horrible, i like to get done by going over my carpet once and not having to redo it. I will be buying a new one soon, as i am very dissatisfied with this product!

Was this review helpful? (42) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JessicaInArizona
Goodyear, Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time
5/18/2011

Customer review by Slim0830

1.0 stars 5/18/2011 by Slim0830
by Slim0830

Went through 4 of these units before it burned a hole in my area rug, the height adjustment kept breaking every time, I don't have stairs in my house so the unit was never "banged around" and each unit lasted between a few weeks to a month or so.. 3 rooms were carpeted so it wasn't being over used. I called Bissell customer service to say the least I wasted a half an hour of my time. I now own a Dyson, even if you don't want to spend the money on something that expensive I would never recommend this product see the photo for yourself the unit still looks new, and you can see the rug

Was this review helpful? (51) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slim0830
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
big performance, small price
10/11/2009

Customer review by 808Details

5.0 stars 10/11/2009 by 808Details
by 808Details

I'm a professional Auto Detailer and just got new carpet put in. I wanted a vacuum that was lighter, just as powerful and a reasonable price.... oh, and a filter that was easy to change out. The power force turbo is a great machine for normal vacuuming and one step up from the non turbo for I think 20 bucks more. *Easy to put together *not that noisy* Easy to push and pull *Long enough cord to plug in central and reach my whole house (1230 SQ. Ft.) I accidentally hit my towel in the bedroom and immediately snapped the rubber band drive. Don’t hit a towel! They sent me two new rubber bands with in a week. They were going to charge me I think 8 bucks and I said send it out free with a smile on ur face and I wont take it back and exchange it for another one. They did! Band was easy to replace. Haven’t used the attachment. I rarely write reviews but thought this little "turbo" vac deserved one for the price, performance and ease of use combination. Aloha

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
808Details
Honolulu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Product at a Great Value!
3/14/2011

Customer review by LexyLovesWalmart

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by LexyLovesWalmart
by LexyLovesWalmart

I was fed up with bag less vacuums due to the constant clogging in three different places and sick of having to always clean the brush and practicayl take apart the whole thing just to get rid of all the clogs. I moved to stick vacs when we got rid of the carpet in our apartment a few years back. We bought a fine Persian rug for our living room a few years ago and the stick vacs we have just were not cutting it. I was leery when my husband brought this home saying it was "The best Value "I put it together in 5 min - just two screws to attach the handle and a simple twist of the wrist to attach the hose to the unit. I just got done vacuuming with this and the dirt this thing lifted from our rug is amazing! Our Persian looks like new anyone who want a CLEAN CARPET, GET THIS VACUUM!

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LexyLovesWalmart
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awful vacuum, don't bother.
12/29/2008

Customer review by nini02

1.0 stars 12/29/2008 by nini02
by nini02

Don't waste your time or money on this item. I bought this vacuum because there were a lot of good reviews here, but there are also quite a few with the exact same problems I'm having. Honestly, this vacuum is useless. I would be just as well off if I didn't vacuum at all. From the first time I turned it on, it has barely picked anything up and is constantly spewing a cloud of dust from around the base - and because of that, there is always a layer of dust on outside of the vacuum. The air is full of dust by the time I'm done using this thing. I thought I was getting a machine that would help with my dust allergies, but this thing makes it MUCH worse. It is going on Freecycle as soon as I get out to buy a new vacuum. I've included a picture of the base with it's layer of dust - the dark line is where I wiped the dust off so you could see just how bad it is....

Was this review helpful? (30) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nini02
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WHAT A VACUUM...
1/11/2009

Customer review by STREETERFAMILY

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by STREETERFAMILY
by STREETERFAMILY

I have had my old vacuum for a long.... time.. We needed a last moment replacement right before Christmas. Well I read the reviews on Wal-mart.com and OMG this was a wonderful tool to pick out my vacuum. It sucks up everything.. You can clean the filters The hose is very long Best off Simple to put together!! Buy to try yourself!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STREETERFAMILY
Freehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Whatta vacuum!
1/1/2012

Customer review by mstina61

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by mstina61
by mstina61

Just purchased this product to replace an older canister model that was on it's way out. Was skeptical at first because of the low price (buy cheap, get cheap). After reading the reviews on this site, I decided to give it a try. Wow! Was I pleasantly surprised. This thing picks up dirt and dust that my old vacuum left behind, and I vacuum regularly, at least once a week. The dust cup needs to be emptied after each use, it's true, but it's no big deal and I'd rather put it away in the closet clean anyway. Assembly consists of putting the handle on with two screws and snapping the hose and attachments in place. The on/off foot control is nice and the cord is LONG, which makes it easy to move to another room if you have a small house. Granted, I don't know how it will hold out over time, but Bissell is a brand name and I have owned other Bissell products before and was happy with them. If you're on the fence about this vacuum, I'd say for 60 bucks, go for it. You'll probably be very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mstina61
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great vacuum - but you need to care for it.
3/20/2016

Customer review by jlisuzzo

5.0 stars 3/20/2016 by jlisuzzo
by jlisuzzo
Walmart associate

We bought this vacuum to replace an old heavier one we had. We really like the power of this unit. I see many people leaving reviews about it not sucking up dirt, or throwing a dust cloud when using it. That's just simple cleaning of the filters. There are several filters in line of the flow, which makes this unit very good on cleaning. You MUST wash all the foam filters regularly AND replace the paper filter at least once a year. It's not hard and all the filters are easily accessible and wash in warm water. Just remember that YOU CAN'T WASH THE PAPER FILTER. If you do it will not dry properly and really stink the place up. The replacement paper filters are only around $10. Great unit for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlisuzzo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Perfect Vacuum
11/6/2008

Customer review by ResearchHolic

5.0 stars 11/6/2008 by ResearchHolic
by ResearchHolic

I was getting really frsutrated last year when trying to find a new vacuum. I tried the hoover and the dirt devil, both received great reviews but didn't live up to my expectation. I was about to splerge and buy a dyson but then I came across this Bissell. I was a litte sceptical but fell in love. It vacuums my wood floors perfectly and my carpet. That was my problem with the other vacuums. I needed one that did both floors and carpet well. I love that it doesn't eat up my cords or curtains when on the lowest setting and it has washable filters. It is even pretty light. I just wish the cord was 2 feet longer but that is being a little too picky. I hate changing filters so I don't clean them until I notice the suction is getting weak and have cleaned them 4 times in the past year. I am so pleased and would reccommend this to anyone. Trust me, I have done the research and tried many vacuums and have had this one for a year. It is right up there with the Dyson!

Was this review helpful? (258) (62)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ResearchHolic
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does what a vacumum is suppose to do!
1/7/2014

Customer review by luvthisstore1

3.0 stars 1/7/2014 by luvthisstore1
by luvthisstore1

First off, the other ratings are so old, decided to add my two cents. I had just vacuumed yesterday with my nano also purchased at Wal-Mart some five years ago- It fell apart - but I guess I got my moneys worth out of it. The fact that I just vacuumed yesterday and re vacuumed with the bissell today, was amazing! Filled the canister up completely! Yuk, that was a lot of (deep) dirt, the nano was leaving behind. It is light weight, which is also good. I used the attachment on the stairs, and it worked well but you have to drag the whole unit behind you while going up the stairs. Also, luv being able to get it under the bed to vacuum! However, it defeats the purpose of an alergin filter if you have to take the whole thing apart to wash the filters. With all this being said, and not wanting to schlep it back to the store, its a keeper. I am an old lady, and have had a lot of vacuums and still feel, for the price, this is still a good buy. was also on sale...at the store...saved $10-

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvthisstore1
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best vacuum ever
5/2/2009

Customer review by LadySophia

5.0 stars 5/2/2009 by LadySophia
by LadySophia

I have owned way too many vacuum cleaners in the past 40 years, all have been more expensive than this one, and none as good! OK, we've had terrible luck with vacuum cleaners! Most seem great...at first...then things go wrong....very wrong! I have had this Bissel for almost a year, and I love it! I have a Siberian Husky and a Himalayan cat, so lots of hair and fur. This vacuum takes care of it on the carpet, floor and with the little vac attachment, on the furniture as well! I love that it is easy to empty, with no bags to buy. It's easy to remove and clean the three filters; just pop them out, wash and dry, and no replacements to buy! The attachments are all easy to attach, use, and store "on board." I like the foot controls too. It's much lighter weight than other machines I have owned. We have had to replace the belt only once and that was easy to do too! This is a well designed and efficient machine. I do recommend this machine...and this is the 1st time I have written a review!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadySophia
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing value, fantastic performance
4/11/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/11/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Well, I had to buy a vacuum... wife moved out and took her $600 Dyson. She was after me for years to buy this Dyson, all I ever heard about. Anyway, her and it were gone and I figured I'd better get a vacuum. Checked the internet, this one was well reviewed. Got to the store and it was on sale, I'm feeling pretty good! Got it home, unpacked it, plugged it in and ran it around the house. Not having done a lot of housework I looked in the little collection container after a minute or two, it was full! I emptied it and went back to vacuuming. 3-4 minutes later, full again. In just my living room and bedroom, I filled the container 4 times! Now here's the kicker, she vacuumed before she left 2 days earlier! I find it a shear joy to run this around and vacuum, I'm always amazed at how the carpet stands up straight and how bright it looks. This is a great value and it continues to perform flawlessly. The little turbo gizmo works great on furniture and furnace registers too. And boy do I feel like a sap having paid $600 for that stinking Dyson... I could have a fleet of PowerForce Turbos for that money! Looking at carpet cleaners now, and it will be a Bissell.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Toddler-tough!
3/11/2010

Customer review by Llamatron

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by Llamatron
by Llamatron

I have used this vacuum to pick up cat litter, fabric scraps, sticky rice, thread, and other stuff that ends up on the floor in the house of a seamstress, toddler, cat, and messy husband! It sucks it all up, plus lots of dust and other stuff I've never seen come up from the carpet before with our old vacuum (an old hand-me-down). We weren't use to such a powerful vacuum and it has accidentally sucked up some stuff we didn't mean for it to (luckily, you can search for little legos in the dirt container). The best part is that you can put the filter in the dishwasher (not the HEPA filter, the regular vacuum filter). We haven't done that yet, but the lady we talked to at Wal-Mart (another customer who was coming to get a second powerforce) said she had been very satisfied with its performance. Oh, and my toddler had knocked it over and stood and jumped on it and it doesn't break. Nice!

Was this review helpful? (428) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Llamatron
Walmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
loved it til it broke
12/6/2010

Customer review by churchladyccc

1.0 stars 12/6/2010 by churchladyccc
by churchladyccc

I will update this review and give it a 5 star rating if Bissell replaces the broken beater bar. I absolutely loved this vacuum all summer. I purchased it this spring and could not believe how awesome it was! Its suction was so powerful it reduced how often I had to mop..which in my book is the best compliment a vacuum manufacturer could receive! We have an old wood floor with gaps between the slats and stuff came out that normally needed removed by hand. Sooo, the other day sweeping that floor the beater bar bearings? melted? and fused the bar stopping it from spinning. The vacuum is fine but, of course, is mostly useless without the bar. Well, except for the hand held beater bar which is also great at removing pet hair. It still works fine but couldn't store a vacuum just for the hand tools. The only other criticism I would give is the hose is a tiny bit short for reaching much beyond furniture..it will reach high and low but it requires a little more arm strength than past vacuums I've used..not a deal breaker for me tho!

Was this review helpful? (27) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
churchladyccc
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I highly recommend this vacuum
2/16/2008

Customer review by ChatBrat

5.0 stars 2/16/2008 by ChatBrat
by ChatBrat

I bought this vacuum based on the great reviews I've read on many websites (Wal-Mart, Amazon, etc) and I am so glad I did. A few reviewers said that they vacuumed their carpet with their old vacuum and got it as clean as they could with that and then they ran their new Bissell over the same area. We did that as well, just out of curiosity, and we are AMAZED and SHOCKED. You wouldn't believe the ton of hair, dirt, and dust that we vacuumed up with this Bissell that the old vacuum left behind!!! We were equally amazed and shocked how well the upholstery wand and brush work. We vacuumed our couch and we couldn't believe the amount of stuff that was vacuumed up. Dog hair, cat hair, people hair, dust and lint... it was really gross. This vacuum has many nice features and I just love it. I've never been this excited about a vacuum before. I feel kinda silly but I tell ya, you just have to see this for yourself. We paid $68.00 for this and I can't believe they're not charging more for it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChatBrat
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very Pleased w/Vacuum
6/14/2010

Customer review by notgoth

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by notgoth
by notgoth

I live in a 3 story condo & got tired of carrying the vacuum cleaner up & down the stairs, so I have a machine on each floor. I'd always been a Hoover fan, but went on-line to take a look at my options & read the reviews b/f heading out to Walmart for my purchase. As "HEPA filtration at a low price, 02/03/2010" stated...it was less expensive (by about $10), and under the model #6585 in the store. One of my big concerns when purchasing a less expensive vac is that it appears the lower the price the LOUDER they seem to be. This vac is actually very quiet compared to most vacs on the market! It also was lighter in weight than I'm accustomed & noticed both qualities right away. As for performance...no complaints. It sucks up just fine. There is only one feature I wish it had and that was a 'lift handle' on the front of the upright. While I'm getting used to the new machine, I use the cord peg when lifting. Otherwise, I LOVE this machine for it's value & quality that I plan on replacing my other vacs with this exact brand (and the neighbors will be happy b/c it is less noisy than my others!).

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
notgoth
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good for households with pets!
2/18/2008

Customer review by CatMommy

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by CatMommy
by CatMommy

I have 10 cats in my household, all with very thick coats that are constantly shedding, so a good vacuum cleaner is a must. Over the past few years, I've had good ones and I've had not-so-good ones. This vacuum goes beyond good. It is excellent!! My husband and I put it together and ran it as soon as we got it home. We are thoroughly impressed! Our rug is 10 times brighter and much softer. I'd forgotten what it looked like new. This vacuum got up a large portion of the cat hair and dirt in the first use. After emptying the filter, we ran it again and got out the rest of the cat hair and dirt (it was all packed into that poor rug) This vacuum is easy to assemble, easy to use and easy to clean. It gets the job done and then some. I highly recommend it to anyone, especially a person with a lot of cat and/or dog friends.

Was this review helpful? (618) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatMommy
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1719 total reviews
1-20 of 1719 reviews