Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2715 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

2715 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

2715 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1639
4 stars
658
3 stars
111
2 stars
99
1 stars
208
1-20 of 2418 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2418 total reviews
1-20 of 2418 reviews
CHECK!! Carpet Height adjuster knob is functional
8/5/2011

Customer review by Fusic

4.0 stars 8/5/2011 by Fusic
by Fusic

I just got this in the mail and was super excited! My trusty,heavy 15 year old Phantom Lighting had seen better days and finding replacement belts is near to impossible. After much browsing I opted for the Bissell Powerforce based on the reviews it has gotten. I opted for the bright pink and let me tell you it is BRIGHT PINK- Love it!! Assembly was simple; two screws and off I went vacuuming. I seriously couldn't believe the amount of dirt is had collected on my 7 year old carpet.((Enclosed Picture)) The trouble began when I went to vacuum my hard wood floors. I adjusted the knob and it moved smooth-probably to smooth. I went to vacuum and noticed it shooting little things at me. I tilted the machine and check everything and the stupid little height adjusting wheels are stuck on HIGH. I used a shoe and tried to beat it down in to position to no avail. I am taking this back to get another of the same kind- I love it, being the wheel issue my only problem.

Was this review helpful? (218) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fusic
Elkton,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Vacuum & Great Price
8/1/2012

Customer review by Lovetoshopmimi3

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by Lovetoshopmimi3
by Lovetoshopmimi3

I bought this vacuum last weekend at Walmart. We were using an old outdated one and when I saw that this one was on sale, I decided to go ahead and try it after reading all the good reviews. I must say that I absolutely love it!! It has all the specs I was looking for: Bagless, lightweight, attachments, 5 adjustable height settings, 12 amps power, and washable filters. I have two cockatiels which get seed, pellets, food, dust, feathers etc. all over our carpet and this vacuum definitely stands up to the challenge. I had no idea what was lurking in our bedroom carpet until I used this vaucum. I took a couple of pictures of the first time that I used it and only about half of our bedroom was vacuumed and what is in these photos came out. The only thing that can get a little annoying is how much air comes out of the front of the vacuum. It can blow stuff away. Other than this, it is AWESOME!!

Was this review helpful? (227) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovetoshopmimi3
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good cleaning action but hard to clean
5/11/2014

Customer review by newreviewer4amazon

4.0 stars 5/11/2014 by newreviewer4amazon
by newreviewer4amazon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The kit was easy to assemble. It is a great cleaner, it picks up lint and dust, the carpet looked great afterward. The attachments work well and it has good suction when it's clean. It's not super loud either. Louder than some but not as loud as others I have had. It has the usual attachments and they works like a typical upright. It took me a while to figure out that you store the snout inside the extension tube. One disadvantage, there is no bag, which is good in some ways, no bags to buy or run out of, but the container fills up really fast and emptying it is messy. Best done outside. And cleaning the foam is another step that doesn't have to be done with a bag system. Maybe I'll get better at it with practice. I am definitely keeping it as it cleans well and that's what it's all about.

Was this review helpful? (196) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newreviewer4amazon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Happy With My Purchase
12/28/2013

Customer review by Sam2587

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Sam2587
by Sam2587

I needed an inexpensive vacuum with great suction power for the area rug in my living room. Hair, dust and lint were stuck on the carpet so much so that a simple stick vacuum wasn't cleaning the way I needed it to. This vacuum was easy to assemble and I was very impressed with the suction and power. The amount of dust and lint it picked up during its first use was very satisfying! I am glad that I didn't have to pay at least $80 to get a good vacuum that does what I need it to do.

Was this review helpful? (150) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sam2587
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product, but HORRIBLE customer service!
2/21/2014

Customer review by Pootersnaps

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by Pootersnaps
by Pootersnaps

My previous vacuum had broken, and I had been w/out a vacuum for a month, so my floors were HORRIBLY dirty! The first time I ran the vacuum, you will see what all it picked up in my pictures! I have really long hair, plus I have a cat, and it picked it all up and didn't get tangled or etc. inside the vacuum. It is so easy to take apart and clean. There are only maybe 5 pieces that you empty, rinse out, let dry, and reassemble. It was very easy to assemble and put together, the instructions were simple and easy to follow. You do need your own screwdriver to put in 2 screws (which I found out the hard way, of course!#. I DID have a problem figuring out how to put everything BACK together, so I called the 800 number for customer service on the little booklet that comes w/ it. This was a DISASTER! First I had to wait on hold for OVER 20 MINUTES! By that time, I had finally figured out how to put everything back together, but I was so aggravated I asked to speak to a supervisor. Then I had to WAIT AGAIN! The supervisor was busy at the moment, so then they transferred me to the CORPORATE OFFICE. Well, I FINALLY was able to speak w/ someone, and I did my ranting and raving #in a nice and polite fashion!). In summary, I would say that the product itself is a great buy and great value, but if you need help w/ anything product related, I would probably try the website first before calling the 800 number, otherwise, be prepared to wait a while!

Was this review helpful? (273) (133)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pootersnaps
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great for lightweight cleaning
8/3/2014

Customer review by gmm80

3.0 stars 8/3/2014 by gmm80
by gmm80

This is a cheap vacuum, both in price and quality, but it does have it's good points. Pros: Good suction Inexpensive Lightweight Cons: Stupid cord design Awkward carrying handle placement Very short hose Small canister The power cord is located on the lower left of the machine. There is a clip over the hose that keeps the cord off the floor that feeds the cord over to the right. But the holders that you wrap the cord around are back on the left, so you have to remove the cord from the clip to stow the cord. The carrying handle is on the back of the machine. This is fine if you're just carrying the machine around. But if you're using the machine and need to pick it up, say to vacuum an area rug without sucking up the edges, it would be much easier if the handle was on the front of the machine. I recently lost my dog, a 60 lb. chow chow/husky mix. She shed profusely and this vacuum would not have been sufficient to remove her hair from the carpet. I would have had to empty the canister every pass, because it's so small. If you need to use the hose to vacuum more than a couple stairs, you probably won't be happy with this machine. The hose is very short, and does not stretch much due to the hard plastic it's made of. Luckily, the machine I'm replacing is also a Bissell, and it has a much longer, flexible hose that I can use for vacuuming stairs. Unfortunately, it only fits one end of the machine, so I have to switch back to the original hose to use it as an upright. I'm pretty hard on vacuums, I use mine just about every day and they tend to fall down if you try to overextend the hose for stair cleaning. I have a Dyson that I've owned for about 10 years and the only thing I've had to do is replace the hose. I wouldn't be surprised if it lasted another 10 years or longer. But that was a $400 vacuum. This Bissell is less than $50, so I don't expect to have a long life, but so far I'm pleased with the performance. Not really a deciding factor for me, but it does come in some cute colors. This would probably be a nice machine for a dorm room or small apartment.

Was this review helpful? (45) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gmm80
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Amazing Vacuum!
5/6/2016

Customer review by Nikyta

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Nikyta
by Nikyta

Easy to put together and, WOW! It cleaned my carpet so well that I don't feel as though I ever TRULY vacuumed before. I used my old, bag vacuum just a few days earlier, and after one pass, I maxed out the canister. Felt so much cleaner. I highly recommend this machine to anyone looking for a lot of power on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nikyta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm in LOVE!!
6/1/2012

Customer review by TishyTasha

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by TishyTasha
by TishyTasha

I just bought this vacuum & can't say how much I love it without boring you.. Basically, put it together in about 5 minutes & started doing the carpets... I have two boxers and they are shedding their winter coat which ended up in the bag less cup along with a ton of other stuff.. It also fluffed my carpet it and now it's back to feeling like when I first moved in.. Filters are easy to clean and put back together.. I haven't found any cons but if you were a little worried about the price for this vac and thinking twice on it..... DON'T you won't be disappointed.. Love love love it!!! ***The picture below is just from vacuuming one little section in my hallway***

Was this review helpful? (64) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TishyTasha
Jefferson City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great vacuum for anyone on a budget!
11/29/2010

Customer review by DanielleTheNeatFreak

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by DanielleTheNeatFreak
by DanielleTheNeatFreak

I had purchased this vacuum on Black Friday, along with the Shark steam mop. I was able to get it for the $39 in store, versus the $46. I had just recently moved into my new apartment and it was "cleaned", but you can never be too sure. We didnt have a vacuum yet, so we used my boyfriend vacuum from his work (which is an Oreck, which was HORRIBLE on our carpet (we have plush) because it was so hard to push). I used the Oreck probably twice since we moved in. But I wanted my own vacuum, and one that has a hose. I wanted something basic, and not one with all the bells and whistles cause its just two of us in a two bedroom apartment. The reviews were decent, and I figured for the price, it would be worth a try. I got home that morning and assembled it (a whole two screws!) and started cleaning away. I only cleaned the living room, the small "hallway" and the bedroom. It picked up SOOO much junk that the Oreck missed and when the apartment complex "cleaned". I took a photo cause I just couldnt believe it (which is enclosed in this review). The vacuum moves nicely. Theres really no resistance at all. The hose has a nice suction to it. The only downfalls about this vacuum is the hose doesn't seem to stretch well (but this also could be because the vacuum is still new) and it doesnt get right up to the wall (but this is also where you can use the hose). So far, Im glad I bought this vacuum and hope it keeps me happy!

Was this review helpful? (328) (98)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanielleTheNeatFreak
Weymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good sweeper but......
8/1/2014

Customer review by tracidaycare

4.0 stars 8/1/2014 by tracidaycare
by tracidaycare

I was a little skeptical when I seen this sweeper for 47 bucks but let me tell u, the suction power on this sweeper is awesome!!! I have two dogs a St Bernard and a Choc lab, so I have tons of dog hair. The canister that holds the dirt and hair isnt very big so I am constantly emptying it every few mins :( Also the cord is very short. Other than that the sweeper is great!

Was this review helpful? (69) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tracidaycare
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product and Great Price
3/11/2014

Customer review by Strawberri51

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by Strawberri51
by Strawberri51
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Bissell PowerForce is awesome! I have a dog and it does a great job of picking up his hair right on contact. I like that the attachments to the main hose makes reaching in corners and underneath of things makes it so much easier on my back. The filter is washable which makes it even better! I love it! I haven't had it for very long so I cannot give it 5 stars, but I hope it continues to perform just as well ...

Was this review helpful? (82) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Strawberri51
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Small Machine
12/23/2011

Customer review by Sentee

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Sentee
by Sentee

I enjoy cleaning this townhouse now, because of the light weight. It's very powerful and I don't have to spend any more money on vaccuum cleaner bags. Even my grandson likes cleaning his room now, and this baby picks up. I like the attachment for the corners and getting dust off the sofa. It' a great little machine.

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sentee
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Deal
1/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I already had one of these vacuums. I got one for my daughter for Christmas. She sent me a picture of her first use. The canister was half full of sand. Her old vacuum had not been doing a very good job.

Was this review helpful? (43) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
6/8/2012

Customer review by CaliCutie

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by CaliCutie
by CaliCutie
Top 25 contributor

My old one cost 4x as much and was starting to not do so hot. I bought this because of the cost, weight and the fact it was bagless. I had clean carpets in my living room with the old one and did them with the new one and was disgusted with the amount of pet hair and sheer filth that the old one had left behind.

Was this review helpful? (39) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaliCutie
Chico, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Top 25 contributor
DO NOT BUY THIS VACUUM
10/27/2014

Customer review by Jasmine4689

1.0 stars 10/27/2014 by Jasmine4689
by Jasmine4689

After reading all of these wonderful reviews, I decided to purchase this vacuum 5 months ago. BIGGEST.MISTAKE.EVER. It worked pretty well the first few uses. I vacuum about every 3 or 4 days and after the second month, I realized less and less was being picked up. By the 5th month, the only thing this vacuum was good for was just moving the lint/objects around. It could not pick up hair, lint...etc. It literally just moved it from one place to another. Also, If it hit the wall or couch, it would spray dust everywhere. I always use carpet freshener, and THOUGHT it could at least pick that up... BOY WAS A I WRONG. Yesterday, I decided to purchase the Shark Navigator Lift-Away Vacuum...and this vacuum is AMAZING! I went over my entire place and the amount of dirt and carpet freshener that was in the cup was ridiculous! It was almost filled to the max. This Bissell was good for making noise , creating messes and transferring dirt around. SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY AND BUY A SHARK NAVIGATOR!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jasmine4689
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
6/1/2009

Customer review by catluvver

1.0 stars 6/1/2009 by catluvver
by catluvver

I picked up this vacuum at Wal-Mart on April 09, 2009, took it home and ran it around my 2 room apartment. It did a beautiful job. Ten day later I began to run it a second time and the belt broke. When I got the new belt and installed it, it was noisy like a double winger airplane but still picked up. Having been bedridden for a few weeks it sat until today. I vacuumed my computer keyboard and the belt broke again. I installed its 3rd belt in 43 days and as soon as I turned it on, that belt broke and it was melted to the roller. It was installed correctly, as I've been putting belts on for some 54 years (I'm 72) and I know what I'm doing. The belts are shoddy and the vacuum apparently isn't much better. The performance stinks. Can I return this or do I eat my loss? I used to own a Bissell Shampoo Cleaner for my house and it was a worker. I made my purchase of your vacuum judging by that cleaners performance. Very sorry I did. I wrote a glowing review when I first used the thing and now eat my words.

Was this review helpful? (156) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catluvver
Deer Park, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nothing like my old Bissell
4/16/2015

Customer review by Kansan

1.0 stars 4/16/2015 by Kansan
by Kansan

I absolutely LOVED my old Bissell. It was only 3 years old but I had used it so heavily I thought I would treat myself to a new Bissell and pass my ol' faithful on to our daughter when she moves out. I read with delight the glowing reviews of this Helix so I bought it expecting a machine similar to what was to become the hand-me-down. Imagine my surprise when I unpacked the newbie only to find a rather cheap knockoff of the former machine. The hose has an unhandy way it fastens onto the machine, so when you need to reach into the corner to suck that bit of...whatever up, the silly thing is a challenge to remove and to reattach. The bagless canister is in two, unattached parts, meaning if your aren't pretty careful when you get ready to empty it, you'll knock the bottom piece out of position and maybe even onto the floor. My chief complaint is the length of the power cord: ridiculously short at only 16 feet. I've had this new machine for about a week and its going back to Walmart today.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kansan
Would recommend to a friend? No
waste of money
4/23/2010

Customer review by Pabst

1.0 stars 4/23/2010 by Pabst
by Pabst

Like a lot of people we were on a budget and when it came time to purchase a vacuum we didnt take the time to read reviews or shop around. Instead we bought it due to it's price. We regret buying this vacuum. The hose attachment has no reach,the cord to the vacuum is not long im always ripping the cord out of the wall or having to plug it in many outlets just to vacuum a 1200 sqft house.It is easier to adjust the height adjustment if you lock it up right position if not the weight of this plastic vacuum makes it hard to adjust. The sucking power of this machine well lets just say I can get on all fours and inhale the dirt off the floor better than this vacuum can. When vacuuming I noticed the vacuum going towards the right instead of in a straight line. (Since when do we need to take it to the shop to get in in lined?) Folks Im not trying to be funny here Im giving my honest opinion and if you are on a budget look to spend a few dollars more and purchase something that is dependable and well built

Was this review helpful? (32) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pabst
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
Great Vacuum!
11/22/2015

Customer review by BJewell2

4.0 stars 11/22/2015 by BJewell2
by BJewell2

(I wrote another review on the wrong vacuum...I actually purchased this one - the bagless one) I have been in need of a vacuum for quite some time now. Within the last month I have purchased three and have returned two (different brands). Before purchasing the Bissell Powerforce Helix I read many of the reviews and the majority of them were very positive. The set-up was very easy with the twist of just two screws that are provided. Once I had it set-up and turned it on, while I don't think it's too loud there is a very high pitched screech that comes from the motor. I thought that it would go away after a few minutes but it did not. Question: has anyone else had this issue? It's actually a great small vacuum that I'm sure will do all that I need it to accomplish. One thing that I really like about it, other than the fact that the suction is great, is that it also self-propels which make my job a little easier. If I have to return it I will purchase another one because it's a great vacuum with its minor flaw. :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BJewell2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent vacuum! GREAT value for College kids!
3/14/2016

Customer review by MammaCaps

5.0 stars 3/14/2016 by MammaCaps
by MammaCaps

This is the perfect vacuum for a college student! Easy minimal assembly. Don't waste your money on a stick vacuum--they don't do anything--even on bare dorm floors! This is perfect on bare floors and area rugs. Have never had to use it on wall to wall carpet. TIP: empty the container every single use; you'll be amazed at how much stuff it collects. Emptying it saves the motor and extends the life of the vacuum. I was extremely hesitant to buy one 3 years ago because there were several negative reviews. IGNORE THOSE! Glad I took a chance. It's a GREAT powerful machine! Take care of it and it is one heck of a good little vacuum! One of my kids has had hers for 3 years and it still runs like new; just bought another for my second child (when the roommates stick vacuum wasn't cutting it). HUGE difference!! Everyone wants to borrow it. No worries with this unit! LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MammaCaps
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 2418 total reviews
1-20 of 2418 reviews