Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2451 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

2451 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

2451 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1474
4 stars
603
3 stars
100
2 stars
92
1 stars
182
1-20 of 2155 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2155 total reviews
1-20 of 2155 reviews
Impressive for a Plasti-Vac
8/6/2009

Customer review by IMSMatt

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by IMSMatt
by IMSMatt

I have this model of cleaner with the addition of the headlight and stretch hose, otherwise its one in the same. Heres the thing, mine was found in the trash over a year ago! It was tossed because of a snapped belt and a clog in the hose which are the most common reasons for throwing away a perfectly good vacuum. Well after installing a belt and cleaning it top to bottom, the thing fired up and ran perfect. For a $50 vacuum it easily proved itself to be well worth the asking price. I am sort of a vacuum guru and did do the research, tests and comparisons to other well known machines such as the Dyson. Believe it or not, the Power Force can and will out clean a Dyson as long as the filters are clean. The issue with these Bissells is that the filtration design is a complete joke. The trick to keeping this vacuum running strong is to periodically take it to the garage and blow the filters and dust cup with an air compressor. I know it sounds inconvenient but thats the catch to owning a bagless vacuum (fast clogging filters and a dusty mess). Another benefit to blowing out the filters is that you won't have to replace them as often. Lets put it this way, my Bissell has the same filter that it did the night I found it on the curb and has yet to need replacing. Now, if you need a vacuum and are on a tight budget, don't have horrible allergies and don't mind the added maintenance to a bagless then this vacuum is just as suitable as the others sitting on the shelf. Quality wise, its not bullet proof but seems to hold up rather well. The motor actually runs smooth and quiet rather than loud and whinny like most vacuums in this price range. I give it 5 stars, not because its perfect BUT because for $50 it exceeds its price tag! Remember folks, regardless of the vacuum you end up purchasing, be sure to change the belt once a year (as they stretch and slip) and keep those filters clean! By keeping up on the maintenance you will be quite surprised at how long a cheap department store vacuum cleaner will last for.

Was this review helpful? (1340) (105)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IMSMatt
Jonesville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 250 contributor
Love this vacuum!!!!!
7/7/2009

Customer review by Iclean4u

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by Iclean4u
by Iclean4u

I have my own housecleaning business. I bought this product 1 1/2 years ago. What made me buy this was how light-weight it is, bagless and the low price. A year and a half later it is still going strong with no problems. This vacuum has powerful suction and deep cleans carpet. Many of my customers have pets and this vacuum does a fantastic job in picking up the hair. A few of my customers have even gone out and bought this vacuum because they were so impressed with its performance. I am going to buy a second one just to keep in my house. You will not go wrong buying this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (1248) (110)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iclean4u
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it just keeps going!
1/17/2010

Customer review by chellieandkids

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by chellieandkids
by chellieandkids

I bought this vacuum 6yrs ago. No joke. It still works like a champ and pulls tons of stuff from the carpet. I'll admit I probably could use a new one... this one has lived through several moves across the US, several houses/apts, cats, kids, new carpets, have replaced the belt once, and it's beginning to fall apart and is sporting some duct tape(cause I cut the hose open once)... but it's been my ONLY vacuum for 6yrs! definitely got my moneys worth! I have totally abused this vacuum and have made it suck up things I probably shouldn't have made it do. All filters are cleanable in the sink which I LOVE. Good chance I'll buy the same one when I go to buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (525) (99)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chellieandkids
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great produst @ a GR8 price
6/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The vacuum has good suction and is very handy and maneuverable. works better than some $100 vacuums. Go online to get it for $39 v/s $46 in store. I tried a few before getting this one and am very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (418) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great vacuum for anyone on a budget!
11/29/2010

Customer review by DanielleTheNeatFreak

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by DanielleTheNeatFreak
by DanielleTheNeatFreak

I had purchased this vacuum on Black Friday, along with the Shark steam mop. I was able to get it for the $39 in store, versus the $46. I had just recently moved into my new apartment and it was "cleaned", but you can never be too sure. We didnt have a vacuum yet, so we used my boyfriend vacuum from his work (which is an Oreck, which was HORRIBLE on our carpet (we have plush) because it was so hard to push). I used the Oreck probably twice since we moved in. But I wanted my own vacuum, and one that has a hose. I wanted something basic, and not one with all the bells and whistles cause its just two of us in a two bedroom apartment. The reviews were decent, and I figured for the price, it would be worth a try. I got home that morning and assembled it (a whole two screws!) and started cleaning away. I only cleaned the living room, the small "hallway" and the bedroom. It picked up SOOO much junk that the Oreck missed and when the apartment complex "cleaned". I took a photo cause I just couldnt believe it (which is enclosed in this review). The vacuum moves nicely. Theres really no resistance at all. The hose has a nice suction to it. The only downfalls about this vacuum is the hose doesn't seem to stretch well (but this also could be because the vacuum is still new) and it doesnt get right up to the wall (but this is also where you can use the hose). So far, Im glad I bought this vacuum and hope it keeps me happy!

Was this review helpful? (254) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanielleTheNeatFreak
Weymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Definitely should've...
4/7/2010

Customer review by Cajunette

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by Cajunette
by Cajunette

Should've gotten this one right away after hours of reviewing vacuum cleaners! And I wanted too, I promise! Went to Walmart with three upright vacuums jotted down on a piece of paper. Once I got there the Hoover Nano Light, which was first on my list, was sold out. Second and third on my list I had the Bissell Powerforce Bagless and the Bissell Powerforce Bagged. Looked at both of them, pacing back and forth while contemplating which one I should get... and then... all of a sudden this cute little yellow Eureka Maxima 972B caught my eye. My mind started telling me that it would be easier to maneuver around table and chair legs, cord could be rolled up and tucked away, it was easy to pick up and could do all kinds of other stuff that I now can't remember. Sooo... I left the uprights for what they were, and went home with the Eureka Maxima. Got home, unpacked it, plugged it in, and vacuumed for about 5-10 minutes. I noticed that it was loud, and the suction power didn't impress me from the start. And then when I turned the foot of the vacuum upside down, this long thick gross lint of dust, dirt and hair was tangled up in the bristle and hanging out of the vacuum. I then opened the vacuum and inspected the dust bag, took it out, turned it upside down and nothing fell out, not one dust particle. It hadn't sucked up anything! Boy, what a letdown. I realize that bristles of vacuums will usually get some hair entangled in them but this was a tad, if not a whole lot... too much. So the Eureka (after having troubles with rolling up the powercord back into it) went back into its box, and within two hours of my purchase I went back to Walmart, got my money back and went straight for the Bissell Powerforce Bagless. And let me tell ya... what a treat it was to feel, see and hear this one do its job. You can absolutely tell this one has some power! It has a height adjustment knob with five settings, to be chosen accordingly to the surface to be cleaned. I tested it on a rug, on carpet and on a hardwood floor. Again after 5-10 minutes I inspected the bristles and it was clean... no hairs, no dust, nothing hanging from the bristles. Great, lets check the dirt container. Which by the way... is easily taken off. And voila... all that had gotten sucked up was right where it should be... in the dirt container. Bravo, that's what I was looking for. Now don't ask me about durability, or the tools that come with it because I haven't had it for a day yet. But so far I'm impressed with the suction power, the low noise, the look and the manageability of this vacuum cleaner. And all that for only $46, 4 dollars less than the Eureka that failed in every aspect. Believe the high star reviews on this one, people... they're true. Like I said at the beginning... Definitely should've gotten this one right away after hours of reviewing vacuum cleaners!

Was this review helpful? (287) (75)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cajunette
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good cleaning action but hard to clean
5/11/2014

Customer review by newreviewer4amazon

4.0 stars 5/11/2014 by newreviewer4amazon
by newreviewer4amazon

The kit was easy to assemble. It is a great cleaner, it picks up lint and dust, the carpet looked great afterward. The attachments work well and it has good suction when it's clean. It's not super loud either. Louder than some but not as loud as others I have had. It has the usual attachments and they works like a typical upright. It took me a while to figure out that you store the snout inside the extension tube. One disadvantage, there is no bag, which is good in some ways, no bags to buy or run out of, but the container fills up really fast and emptying it is messy. Best done outside. And cleaning the foam is another step that doesn't have to be done with a bag system. Maybe I'll get better at it with practice. I am definitely keeping it as it cleans well and that's what it's all about.

Was this review helpful? (122) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newreviewer4amazon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Very Nice Product
4/7/2011

Customer review by SergeantsLady

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by SergeantsLady
by SergeantsLady

Oh My Gosh! I had just finished vacuuming my livingroom carpet when my other vacuum quit working. I went to Wal-Mart and purchased the Bissell Powerforce. I got home, put the vacuum together with the two screws that were enclosed and started vacuuming. I was totally shocked at how much dirt and pet hair actually came out of my carpet. All this time I thought my other vacuum had been doing a good job, but I guess not. I am absolutely happy with my Bissell Powerforce and would purchase another one if something would go wrong with this one.

Was this review helpful? (98) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SergeantsLady
Joplin, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Vacuum & Great Price
8/1/2012

Customer review by Lovetoshopmimi3

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by Lovetoshopmimi3
by Lovetoshopmimi3

I bought this vacuum last weekend at Walmart. We were using an old outdated one and when I saw that this one was on sale, I decided to go ahead and try it after reading all the good reviews. I must say that I absolutely love it!! It has all the specs I was looking for: Bagless, lightweight, attachments, 5 adjustable height settings, 12 amps power, and washable filters. I have two cockatiels which get seed, pellets, food, dust, feathers etc. all over our carpet and this vacuum definitely stands up to the challenge. I had no idea what was lurking in our bedroom carpet until I used this vaucum. I took a couple of pictures of the first time that I used it and only about half of our bedroom was vacuumed and what is in these photos came out. The only thing that can get a little annoying is how much air comes out of the front of the vacuum. It can blow stuff away. Other than this, it is AWESOME!!

Was this review helpful? (114) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovetoshopmimi3
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, but HORRIBLE customer service!
2/21/2014

Customer review by Pootersnaps

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by Pootersnaps
by Pootersnaps

My previous vacuum had broken, and I had been w/out a vacuum for a month, so my floors were HORRIBLY dirty! The first time I ran the vacuum, you will see what all it picked up in my pictures! I have really long hair, plus I have a cat, and it picked it all up and didn't get tangled or etc. inside the vacuum. It is so easy to take apart and clean. There are only maybe 5 pieces that you empty, rinse out, let dry, and reassemble. It was very easy to assemble and put together, the instructions were simple and easy to follow. You do need your own screwdriver to put in 2 screws (which I found out the hard way, of course!#. I DID have a problem figuring out how to put everything BACK together, so I called the 800 number for customer service on the little booklet that comes w/ it. This was a DISASTER! First I had to wait on hold for OVER 20 MINUTES! By that time, I had finally figured out how to put everything back together, but I was so aggravated I asked to speak to a supervisor. Then I had to WAIT AGAIN! The supervisor was busy at the moment, so then they transferred me to the CORPORATE OFFICE. Well, I FINALLY was able to speak w/ someone, and I did my ranting and raving #in a nice and polite fashion!). In summary, I would say that the product itself is a great buy and great value, but if you need help w/ anything product related, I would probably try the website first before calling the 800 number, otherwise, be prepared to wait a while!

Was this review helpful? (191) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pootersnaps
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great vaccumm
12/27/2009

Customer review by kengab

5.0 stars 12/27/2009 by kengab
by kengab

I have had this for two years and have never even had to change the belt!!!! Sucks up great and leaves my carpet fluffy. I have three girls and a in home daycare and two long haired cats so I vacuum three to four times daily and it is still running strong.

Was this review helpful? (103) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kengab
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Be Afraid To Go Bagless
6/5/2010

Customer review by PNNYSVNGPRNCSS

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by PNNYSVNGPRNCSS
by PNNYSVNGPRNCSS

Great vacuum, worked amazingly well for picking up dog hair...especially with a husky "blowing his coat" and having our home look like an indoor snowglobe. I really needed a vacuum that could handle a job like this. Great price also. I just clean the filters after every use to help prolong the life of it. Good Luck!

Was this review helpful? (60) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PNNYSVNGPRNCSS
Owings Mills, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Vac Made . . . for the money
6/9/2009

Customer review by a1qualitycleaningcom

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by a1qualitycleaningcom
by a1qualitycleaningcom

Having read one poor review I felt compelled to write this. I own a cleaning company and own a few of these. For the price, it is the best vacuum made. It isn't the best vacuum but for under $50, to expect more than this vacuum does would be unreasonable. It has good power, simple but adequate attachments and lasts, lasts, lasts. Anyone that has had a poor experience probably purchased a defect.

Was this review helpful? (56) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
a1qualitycleaningcom
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love This Vaccum
1/17/2010

Customer review by LoveToCook10

5.0 stars 1/17/2010 by LoveToCook10
by LoveToCook10

My Hoover vaccum I got a couple years ago went out on me. So I had to borrow my neighbor's Bissell Bag Vaccum and feel in love with it. So I had to have one of my own. Since I have bought my vaccum cleaner I use it 4-5 times a day. I have a 4 year old and she can make some pretty good messes in the living room. This vaccum sucks everything up in no time. You definetly get your money worth from yet! I would buy this vaccum a 100 times if I had to.

Was this review helpful? (70) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToCook10
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Happy With My Purchase
12/28/2013

Customer review by Sam2587

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Sam2587
by Sam2587

I needed an inexpensive vacuum with great suction power for the area rug in my living room. Hair, dust and lint were stuck on the carpet so much so that a simple stick vacuum wasn't cleaning the way I needed it to. This vacuum was easy to assemble and I was very impressed with the suction and power. The amount of dust and lint it picked up during its first use was very satisfying! I am glad that I didn't have to pay at least $80 to get a good vacuum that does what I need it to do.

Was this review helpful? (93) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sam2587
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
CHECK!! Carpet Height adjuster knob is functional
8/5/2011

Customer review by Fusic

4.0 stars 8/5/2011 by Fusic
by Fusic

I just got this in the mail and was super excited! My trusty,heavy 15 year old Phantom Lighting had seen better days and finding replacement belts is near to impossible. After much browsing I opted for the Bissell Powerforce based on the reviews it has gotten. I opted for the bright pink and let me tell you it is BRIGHT PINK- Love it!! Assembly was simple; two screws and off I went vacuuming. I seriously couldn't believe the amount of dirt is had collected on my 7 year old carpet.((Enclosed Picture)) The trouble began when I went to vacuum my hard wood floors. I adjusted the knob and it moved smooth-probably to smooth. I went to vacuum and noticed it shooting little things at me. I tilted the machine and check everything and the stupid little height adjusting wheels are stuck on HIGH. I used a shoe and tried to beat it down in to position to no avail. I am taking this back to get another of the same kind- I love it, being the wheel issue my only problem.

Was this review helpful? (110) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fusic
Elkton,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Powerful suction, priced perfectly!
1/5/2010

Customer review by Gillis1000

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by Gillis1000
by Gillis1000

It's not the best vacuum made, but it's as powerful as the best. It does a remarkably wonderful job cleaning up the carpets and rugs in my home. It seems a bit plasticy, and. I think it could be easily damaged. That said, at under $49.00 bucks, this is a real bargain. However, any price point above that.., you might want to consider something else. If it's in stock, you may find this vacuum for a buck or two cheaper in the store. BUT seriously, at under $50 bucks, with a bit of normal care, this vacuum truly is perfect for most households. No need to buy bags or filters. It’s bagless –just slide open the container and toss the contents into the trash bin. -easy. Easily adjusts (via a dial) for different carpet/rug heights… And, it comes with a set of basic tools. –nothing fancy, but very effective. It’s very light, but this vacuum has loads of power. You’ll be amazed at what it gets out of your carpets. ---after a good vacuuming, your carpets will look almost as if they’ve been shampooed. Be sure to empty the container often; otherwise, the suction power drops significantly. It gets so much out of the carpets –it fills up rather quickly. Also, it has a washable air filter…. Another cost saving feature. You won’t have to rinse it out often, but keep an eye on it; especially, if you’ve done a load of cleaning. There is only one peculiar problem with the vacuum: the power cord is quite short. Even cleaning a modest sized room, I must move the cord from outlet to outlet to clean the entire room. BUT, this is NOT a deal breaker by any means, though. –it’s just a bit odd that it’s so short, that’s all. Anyhow, this certainly is one of the best vacuums I’ve ever owned. Ok, ...perhaps not the best built, but it certainly is a workhorse of a vacuum. I'm very pleased at choosing this vacuum and do recommend it. I certainly never, in a million years, expected a vacuum to work so well for under $50. Never! The Bissell Powerforce Bagless Upright Vacuum really does a terrific job!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gillis1000
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Best vacuum ever!
3/6/2011

Customer review by houseguy50

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by houseguy50
by houseguy50

My wife and I bought this vacuum to replace another one that stopped working after only a year. We have a dog that sheds, and we are aware that keeping after the hair in the carpet is extremely hard on the machines, so we weren't dissappointed. But we didn't want to spend a lot of money, so we went to Walmart, which carries a great selection across a broad range of prices, and selected the Bissell Powerforce Bagless Models 6583. It was our first bagless, and our first Bissell. We were amazed at how much stuff came out of the carpet the first time we used it. In fact, just for the living room alone, we had to empty the reservoir 3 or 4 times. We were very pleased with all the features ... lightweight, quiet, powerful, and compact ... all the things no previous vacuum were (at least not all in one package). So after using the vacuum for a year, it started getting a bit weak. I decided to see if I could maybe clean it out a little. That's when I discovered that I could take it apart without tools and thoroughly clean it. When I was done, it worked like NEW!! So now I clean it out every couple of months; takes only a few minutes if you don't wait a year to do it. We have had this machine for about three years now and it is still working great. No other vacuum, regardless of price, ever lasted so long or worked so good. We are so very pleased that we recommend it to everyone who will listen.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
houseguy50
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product and Great Price
3/11/2014

Customer review by Strawberri51

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by Strawberri51
by Strawberri51

This Bissell PowerForce is awesome! I have a dog and it does a great job of picking up his hair right on contact. I like that the attachments to the main hose makes reaching in corners and underneath of things makes it so much easier on my back. The filter is washable which makes it even better! I love it! I haven't had it for very long so I cannot give it 5 stars, but I hope it continues to perform just as well ...

Was this review helpful? (62) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Strawberri51
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware!!!!
3/4/2010

Customer review by Letsshopallthetime

1.0 stars 3/4/2010 by Letsshopallthetime
by Letsshopallthetime

I bought the Bissell Power Force Bagless 6584 vacuum at walmart since it was on sale and i was saving $7 than the regular price. I had heard that Bissell is good and after years of using Eureka, i wanted a change. Well obviously it worked fine in the first 3 months but even after keeping it clean and washing the filters per the manual, it gave out on me in the 4th month. It just wouldn't suction. I called the company and they walked me thru some steps, i had already followed that thru the manual so guess what, the company tells me to take the vacuum to a nearest service center which happens to be 80 miles from where i live. I asked if they would replace the piece or what and i was told no. I chose not to spend 20 dollars woth of gas for a 35 dollar vacuum. I requested if they would refund the money and i got a no for that too. Well i feel that in these days of bad economy and crisis going on if customers are not well taken care of then who will bother about the company. Yeah it was a cheaper deal than my Eureka , but hey i know that the eureka will last me for at least 5 years without quitting, the money i spend behind Bissell was down the drain anyways.

Was this review helpful? (76) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Letsshopallthetime
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 2155 total reviews
1-20 of 2155 reviews