Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
12
1-20 of 39 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Good deal!
3/21/2014

Customer review by misscricket

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by misscricket
by misscricket
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

$15 bucks for 1 gig does not seem like a good deal at first. It is basically mostly an activation fee. It keeps the device active and you get 1 gig of data for those who only need the mobile hotspot once in a while. Sure beats what the others charge for a basic low data plan. They charge 50 bucks for 5 gigs whether or not you need 5 gigs a month or not. At least I can keep my service active and if I need more data in a month I simply buy a larger data plan card. It is not for the heavy user. Of course the larger amount of data you buy that month each gig gets cheaper. As you are not paying for the initial activation fee and buying in bulk they can charge less per gig too. For me it is a great deal as in most months I don't even use the whole amount. $15 bucks for backup internet is well worth it. It means if the power and DSL are knocked out and I have important things like business to tend to online I am not out more money by losing a sale or an order I made get screwed up by the outage. If its stormy I just switch off the DSL and hop on the hotspot and stuff gets done

Was this review helpful? (149) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misscricket
Mountain City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for pay-as-you go plan
5/4/2016

Customer review by Classic140

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Classic140
by Classic140

This is the 3rd card I've purchased online. This amount (1GB) seems to work fine for a 3-4 day trip using Google maps in a big city. For me, I can't get a cell signal where I live, so buying a cell plan with data doesn't make sense. I use this for travel to get data. Will buy again. The StraightTalk hotspot provides a strong signal... mine uses Verizon towers. ATT models are also available.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Classic140
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
As Advertised
6/25/2016

Customer review by SamsungLuv

2.0 stars 6/25/2016 by SamsungLuv
by SamsungLuv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This does what it says. 1GB of data on Verizon towers . Only problem I have with it is the price. it's costly. Total Wireless offers 3GB for $10 that not only rolls over but, is on the Verizon towers as well. If they had better customer service I would choose Total.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SamsungLuv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Straight Talk Card
4/14/2016

Customer review by collegestudent0978

3.0 stars 4/14/2016 by collegestudent0978
by collegestudent0978

This card was easy-to-use. The only thing I didn't realize was how fast that 1 GB would go. I think it lasted less than 30 minutes. So next time I reload I'll buy the $25 card and see if it last longer. I would buy it again though.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
collegestudent0978
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never received working service . I suggest avoid
3/9/2016

Customer review by MichaelB

1.0 stars 3/9/2016 by MichaelB
by MichaelB

I need to use my tablet on a trip. I bought this card at Walmart, and went to re-activate a tablet, which was working with Straight Talk before. All I get is SIM not Provisioned error MM #2 . After spending over an hour on the photo with Straight via multiple call, on different days, they said it was a system error and they would send me a new SIM. Of course, that makes it too late for the trip, and also the SIM card never showed up. I canceled all my service with Straight Talk (voice, data, home cell phone, and alarm) I am happier for it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichaelB
Would recommend to a friend? No
could not use where I was at
7/3/2015

Customer review by Unhappyshopper

1.0 stars 7/3/2015 by Unhappyshopper
by Unhappyshopper

I purchased this hot spot device so I could use it when I traveled to Pa last year. The I bought 4GB card to go with it because I work from my computer. The connection was horrible and I could not work. when it worked, it was so slow. I ended up losing 3gb of data because I could no use it..This year when I went, I only bought this 1 GB card...and it did not even work at all. I even called straight talk to make sure the data was on the device and they said yes it was showing and I told them where I was at and they said I should have internet. I did not...the whole thing is probably still on there and again I will lose it because I could not use it there and I am home where I do have internet..So basically, I wasted the cost of the Hot Spot device and now 5 GB of data. And I definately will tell peope not to invest in this product

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/3/2015

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. In order to get this resolved, we would need to gather more information.<br /><br />To better assist you, please send us an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com. Please include your name, phone number and the serial number or the IMEI/MEID of the device.

Unhappyshopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Prepaid hotspot
3/12/2016

Customer review by Christi

5.0 stars 3/12/2016 by Christi
by Christi

been able to order online and have it delivered by email is so much more convenient for me because I live so far away from Walmart and I hardly ever go there

Was this review helpful? (14) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for a novice
6/26/2014

Customer review by pleasantgroveteal

4.0 stars 6/26/2014 by pleasantgroveteal
by pleasantgroveteal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for someone like me who is not a big Wifi hog but needs it in places I can't usually pick up Wifi. The amount of broadband is just right for someone like me.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pleasantgroveteal
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to set up
6/9/2014

Customer review by spinmasterka

4.0 stars 6/9/2014 by spinmasterka
by spinmasterka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Instructions were clear was easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spinmasterka
Pawtucket RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE 1GB
1/21/2016

Customer review by MRSP

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by MRSP
by MRSP

This 1GB HAS BEEN WORKING FINE FOR BOTH MY TABLET AND SMARTPHONE!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRSP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy
1/14/2016

Customer review by Sugar

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Sugar
by Sugar

It was an easy process..

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sugar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Aggressive data calucation usage
11/25/2014

Customer review by rsh7

1.0 stars 11/25/2014 by rsh7
by rsh7

Pro: - none Con: - I notice that Straight Talk must be calculating data usage at a high rate. I browsed a few web pages that should be only a few megabytes ends up being hundreds of megabytes. So buying 1GB data card is really not what it appears to be. I have tried other service providers and this is not always the case. Additional: I brought a 4G LTE hotspot and this 1GB data card. I could not get the 4G LTE hotspot to work with 4G LTE. The hotspot would only work under slower speeds.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rsh7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Will not work on hotspot!
5/23/2016

Customer review by Crystal

1.0 stars 5/23/2016 by Crystal
by Crystal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have called Straight talk 3 times and each time they say I need to turn it off and back on and let it sit for 24 hours. It still says unregistered sim!

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/25/2016

Hi. My name is Ashley and I work with Straight Talk Wireless. We're sorry for the trouble. Please let me help you get this resolved. Send me an email at StraightTalkBV@StraightTalk.com and we will resolve your problem right away. Include your name, contact number and your cell phone number or phone serial number.

Crystal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Flying blind
12/9/2014

Customer review by bendooped

1.0 stars 12/9/2014 by bendooped
by bendooped

Straight talk does NOT make your data usage information available. It presents a very misleading appearance that it does. No meaningful response to multiple help requests.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bendooped
Would recommend to a friend? No
Data Straight Talk
4/30/2016

Customer review by GregS

1.0 stars 4/30/2016 by GregS
by GregS

If you have a ST plan that already works, this could work. If you bought this as part of a "kit", you are screwed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/30/2016

Good morning, GregS. The 1GB data card is not compatible with our Smartphones. These data cards are to be used on our Hot Spot units. If you should need further assistance, please send an email to StraightTalkBV@StraightTalk.com. Thank you.

GregS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great backup
9/19/2014

Customer review by bootsiewoosie

4.0 stars 9/19/2014 by bootsiewoosie
by bootsiewoosie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great as a backup. Slow download speeds.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bootsiewoosie
naperville,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Average
3/12/2016

Customer review by Bsmith

3.0 stars 3/12/2016 by Bsmith
by Bsmith

Wouldn't go on my phone

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/21/2016

Hi Bsmith. This is Linda from Straight Talk Wireless. Let us help you. Please send us an email to StraightTalkBV@StraightTalk.com in order for us to assist you with your concern. Thank you.

Bsmith
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed..
2/13/2015

Customer review by Rose

1.0 stars 2/13/2015 by Rose
by Rose

Three days later after I activated the plan, my device showed the message the plan was "exhausted". I called the customer service, and was told that my 1 GB was used up. How can you use up 1GB in 3 days?! No further follow up from the customer service. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rose
Would recommend to a friend? No
OMG this is awesome
2/3/2015

Customer review by queeno

5.0 stars 2/3/2015 by queeno
by queeno

It's compact and works great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
queeno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
hotspot
4/30/2016

Customer review by hotspot

5.0 stars 4/30/2016 by hotspot
by hotspot

Works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hotspot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews