Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
9
1-20 of 28 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Good deal!
3/21/2014

Customer review by misscricket

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by misscricket
by misscricket
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

$15 bucks for 1 gig does not seem like a good deal at first. It is basically mostly an activation fee. It keeps the device active and you get 1 gig of data for those who only need the mobile hotspot once in a while. Sure beats what the others charge for a basic low data plan. They charge 50 bucks for 5 gigs whether or not you need 5 gigs a month or not. At least I can keep my service active and if I need more data in a month I simply buy a larger data plan card. It is not for the heavy user. Of course the larger amount of data you buy that month each gig gets cheaper. As you are not paying for the initial activation fee and buying in bulk they can charge less per gig too. For me it is a great deal as in most months I don't even use the whole amount. $15 bucks for backup internet is well worth it. It means if the power and DSL are knocked out and I have important things like business to tend to online I am not out more money by losing a sale or an order I made get screwed up by the outage. If its stormy I just switch off the DSL and hop on the hotspot and stuff gets done

Was this review helpful? (122) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misscricket
Mountain City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE 1GB
1/21/2016

Customer review by MRSP

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by MRSP
by MRSP

This 1GB HAS BEEN WORKING FINE FOR BOTH MY TABLET AND SMARTPHONE!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRSP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy
1/14/2016

Customer review by Sugar

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Sugar
by Sugar

It was an easy process..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sugar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for a novice
6/26/2014

Customer review by pleasantgroveteal

4.0 stars 6/26/2014 by pleasantgroveteal
by pleasantgroveteal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for someone like me who is not a big Wifi hog but needs it in places I can't usually pick up Wifi. The amount of broadband is just right for someone like me.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pleasantgroveteal
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick and easy refill
11/6/2015

Customer review by Kayjo

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by Kayjo
by Kayjo

This was a quick way to refill my hot spot, I wasn't able to get out to the store to pick up the refill card so being able to purchase online made things so much easier. It work great for me would definitely recommend for the busy on the go person.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kayjo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Happy
12/22/2015

Customer review by ronaldo46

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by ronaldo46
by ronaldo46

Worked out great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ronaldo46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
easy to set up
6/9/2014

Customer review by spinmasterka

4.0 stars 6/9/2014 by spinmasterka
by spinmasterka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Instructions were clear was easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spinmasterka
Pawtucket RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OMG this is awesome
2/3/2015

Customer review by queeno

5.0 stars 2/3/2015 by queeno
by queeno

It's compact and works great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
queeno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Flying blind
12/9/2014

Customer review by bendooped

1.0 stars 12/9/2014 by bendooped
by bendooped

Straight talk does NOT make your data usage information available. It presents a very misleading appearance that it does. No meaningful response to multiple help requests.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bendooped
Would recommend to a friend? No
Aggressive data calucation usage
11/25/2014

Customer review by rsh7

1.0 stars 11/25/2014 by rsh7
by rsh7

Pro: - none Con: - I notice that Straight Talk must be calculating data usage at a high rate. I browsed a few web pages that should be only a few megabytes ends up being hundreds of megabytes. So buying 1GB data card is really not what it appears to be. I have tried other service providers and this is not always the case. Additional: I brought a 4G LTE hotspot and this 1GB data card. I could not get the 4G LTE hotspot to work with 4G LTE. The hotspot would only work under slower speeds.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rsh7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great backup
9/19/2014

Customer review by bootsiewoosie

4.0 stars 9/19/2014 by bootsiewoosie
by bootsiewoosie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great as a backup. Slow download speeds.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bootsiewoosie
naperville,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed..
2/13/2015

Customer review by Rose

1.0 stars 2/13/2015 by Rose
by Rose

Three days later after I activated the plan, my device showed the message the plan was "exhausted". I called the customer service, and was told that my 1 GB was used up. How can you use up 1GB in 3 days?! No further follow up from the customer service. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rose
Would recommend to a friend? No
could not use where I was at
7/3/2015

Customer review by Unhappyshopper

1.0 stars 7/3/2015 by Unhappyshopper
by Unhappyshopper

I purchased this hot spot device so I could use it when I traveled to Pa last year. The I bought 4GB card to go with it because I work from my computer. The connection was horrible and I could not work. when it worked, it was so slow. I ended up losing 3gb of data because I could no use it..This year when I went, I only bought this 1 GB card...and it did not even work at all. I even called straight talk to make sure the data was on the device and they said yes it was showing and I told them where I was at and they said I should have internet. I did not...the whole thing is probably still on there and again I will lose it because I could not use it there and I am home where I do have internet..So basically, I wasted the cost of the Hot Spot device and now 5 GB of data. And I definately will tell peope not to invest in this product

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/3/2015

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. In order to get this resolved, we would need to gather more information.<br /><br />To better assist you, please send us an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com. Please include your name, phone number and the serial number or the IMEI/MEID of the device.

Unhappyshopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works, but
6/29/2015

Customer review by INeedANewSolution

4.0 stars 6/29/2015 by INeedANewSolution
by INeedANewSolution

As others have commented, it would be nice to be able to add a new pass without voiding the current pass so I can renew when I am thinking about it and have time. Works well for my purposes other than that. Used with tablet, but would not use with a laptop that runs automatic updates. The pass would barely last a day with the updates running in the background.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
INeedANewSolution
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
2/6/2015

Customer review by Bgquma

5.0 stars 2/6/2015 by Bgquma
by Bgquma

Quick email to add to my hot spot device. I only use it for vacation traveling so I can have accessed to the internet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bgquma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sorry
1/11/2015

Customer review by cottdc

1.0 stars 1/11/2015 by cottdc
by cottdc

it was used up in less then a hour

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cottdc
Would recommend to a friend? No
straight talk(1 g) data card
10/26/2015

Customer review by klgirl

5.0 stars 10/26/2015 by klgirl
by klgirl

Right now I use the data cards when I go out of town on short vacation trips because I do not use free Hotel Wi-Fi ( I do not feel safe with unknown connections.) My hot spot works well with my netbook or laptop and I feel somewhat safer using it with the data card (which is enough for me on a 2 - 3 day trip .)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The easiest way to explore online.
5/4/2014

Customer review by Spikesworld

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Spikesworld
by Spikesworld
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think using the prepaid data is one of the best and easiest ways to explore online.

Was this review helpful? (20) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spikesworld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No service at World Financial Center, NYC.
7/5/2015

Customer review by brooklynbboy

1.0 stars 7/5/2015 by brooklynbboy
by brooklynbboy

The title says it all. I can't get service in zipcode 10281 even though their map said I could service. Waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/6/2015

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. In order to get this resolved, we would need to gather more information.<br /><br />To better assist you, please send us an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com. And we will be glad to help you.

brooklynbboy
Would recommend to a friend? No
works great
1/26/2015

Customer review by KY1971

3.0 stars 1/26/2015 by KY1971
by KY1971

It gives me what I need. I don't use the web that much. So for $15 a month I still have access when I do need it. Would be better if my local walmart carried the card.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KY1971
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews