Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 294 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

294 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

294 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
155
4 stars
100
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 stars
18
1-20 of 294 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 294 total reviews
1-20 of 294 reviews
Great deal for the money
3/24/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

At $299, this is a great bike. No, it's not a "real" fatbike, but it's still a lot of fun. The bike was packaged well. No damage or scratches. It was fairly easy to assemble. The only things that needed adjusting were the brakes and the front hub (it was WAY too tight. The tires/tubes that come on this bike are junk and are WAY too heavy. I replaced them with some "real" fat bike tires and tubes and dropped a LOT of weight. I also replaced the stem and bars with some lighter ones i had laying around. With these slight modifications, this is a perfectly sand/mud-worthy fat bike and is a ton of fun. This is nowhere close to what you'll get spending $1k+ on a real fat bike, but it's somewhere to start. Now my girlfriend has a fat bike to tool around on with me.

Was this review helpful? (113) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Folsom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice!
5/7/2014

Customer review by BQBQ

4.0 stars 5/7/2014 by BQBQ
by BQBQ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cool Bike for the money. It is heavy, but lighter replacement parts are available. Shipped well. Arrived without damage. It is a good idea to go over the bike slowly before riding. Grease the bearings, make sure everything is tight and adjusted. If you cannot do that, your local bike shop will gladly give it a "tune-up/set-up" for a reasonable fee. I also put an old pair of BMX pedals on that I had laying around. This bike is a conversation starter. Expect to be asked many questions when riding. I'm looking forward to riding on the beach this summer.

Was this review helpful? (35) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BQBQ
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Conversation Peice!
4/1/2014

Customer review by AdamBombRXP

4.0 stars 4/1/2014 by AdamBombRXP
by AdamBombRXP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Its a fun bike to ride. You sure get allot of attention while riding it. I rode Fort Lauderdale's Critical Mass and was stopped so many times because riders wanted to take a look at it. Its a great bike for the price. With some newer brakes and a few other things it will be a better bike. Its a heavy bike

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdamBombRXP
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well made, useful for the money
8/29/2014

Customer review by Apexsurfer

4.0 stars 8/29/2014 by Apexsurfer
by Apexsurfer

I took delivery late in August 2014 and found the box in poor condition, but the bike inside only had one scratch which was hard to find. It was boxed very well, which is why it weathered whatever happened to it in shipping via Fedex ground. It came out of the box then went together very easily using parts that appear to be well made and precisely engineered. The derailer and brakes appeared to be set up ok out of the box as well. I'm fortunate to have an electric air compressor to pump the tires as they were shipped with only 5lbs of pressure, but require 25 or 30lbs of pressure for riding - which took some time, even with the fancy compressor. Total assembly time about 20-minutes I am quite pleased with the bike and intend to use it for local transport (instead of jumping in a car all the time). It appears to be very well suited for this task. Seven gears is plenty for me - fine if its a bit heavier than similar configured but much much more expensive bikes. Will likely replace the seat with a more comfortable one for cruising. I'm 6'4" 195lbs, and my middle son is 5'4" 135lbs - fits us both very well and is easy enough to handle

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Apexsurfer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth it.
4/7/2014

Customer review by StinklePink

4.0 stars 4/7/2014 by StinklePink
by StinklePink

As many have said, this is not a Surly Pugsley or equivalent. Those bikes have much better components, are lighter and also cost over $2K. I wanted a bike for my 5' tall, 11 year old son who was just about ready to graduate to a 26" MTB. I was going to build him a full suspension ride but I though at lower tire pressures, this would be a decent alternative and the price was right. It is heavy...very heavy! However it is trail worthy when riding low tire pressure. The breaks are mediocre at best. They will need to go and will het swapped out for a hydraulic setup. The gearing is not right. The 7-Speed grip shift is OK but it needs a much taller gear or two in the rear. Will be changing that as well. Handlebar, stem and seat are adequate but cheapo. Not unexpected and things I was planning to change over time. All-and-all......good purchase. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (48) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StinklePink
Cary, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great bike for the price
6/7/2014

Customer review by Tommy1233456

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by Tommy1233456
by Tommy1233456
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this bike, it arrived on time, was easy to assemble is fun to ride and people really notice how fat the tires are. I made mine a 21 speed with the addition of multiple front sprockets and a deraileur. I am 6 2 and it fits me well although I did change the bars to some with a 4.5 inch rise.

Was this review helpful? (143) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tommy1233456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent big tired bike for the price
6/12/2014

Customer review by wntrdgfrm

4.0 stars 6/12/2014 by wntrdgfrm
by wntrdgfrm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ride on gravel country roads to exercise my dogs. The large tires go so much better than the tires on my regular mountain bike. The bike itself is heavier than the $1500.00 models available, however I am very happy with it and the price especially since I could afford it.

Was this review helpful? (56) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wntrdgfrm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needs work out of the box
4/16/2014

Customer review by gpb26

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by gpb26
by gpb26
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall it's a good fat tire bike. I set it up from the box with some internet help. The brakes need to be centered and adjusted (no biggy) The delrailler was frustrating. I could get the first six gears ok but I could not get enough adjustment to get the seventh. I took it to a very good bike shop and even they had a difficult time to get the chain to jump up to 7. Now it does get the 7th gear (with some extra twist on the shifter. I'll just live with it. But it did not cost 3K........

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gpb26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice entry level 'Fat Bike'
3/23/2014

Customer review by oneadamtwelve

4.0 stars 3/23/2014 by oneadamtwelve
by oneadamtwelve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I jumped on this bike when it first came online in early March for $225. A really great deal at that price and much more bike than the Beast for only $25 more. Not sure I would have ordered the Dolomite at the current price of $350, just glad I got mine when I did. I changed the tires on mine since I am only planning to ride on the street. Also switched to a rapid fire thumb shifter and changed the grips to something more comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oneadamtwelve
Sandusky, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much capability for the price.
3/16/2014

Customer review by FaintFuzzy

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by FaintFuzzy
by FaintFuzzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this bike for use on bike paths and loose sand conditions. This bike is very sturdy and can handle a heavier rider. I haven't crushed it into the ground as I have others. Good low speed stability. The bicycle is heavy. The lowest gear is too high. The 5 star rating is based on my expectations of a bike at the initial offer price. I am very pleased with the purchase, it was a "no brainer".

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FaintFuzzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun fat bike for $300
5/31/2014

Customer review by Danothered

4.0 stars 5/31/2014 by Danothered
by Danothered

I am a mountain biker. I love fat tires! I wanted try try a fattie but didn't want to spend a fortune on it. I primarily plan to use this on the bike trails, cruising around town, and maybe on a snow ride on the trails.. Now to the bike.. The packaging was pretty good; there was no damage on the bike.. It is pretty heavy and the components are low end.. I went online and bought a new seat and a rapid fire trigger shifter (to replace the grip shifter)... Not that there was anything wrong with them... Just my preference.. The brakes are kind of squeaky and the levers feel really cheap.. If you plan to ride it on real mtb trails, you might consider changing the rear cassette to a shimano cassette with the ultra low granny gear (maybe a $20 upgrade)... And put a couple of extra links in the chain as the granny gear really takes up some of its length and pulls on the derailleur... I plan to keep any upgrade to $20 bucks or less.. Like the seat was 10 bucks, the shifter < $20.. I plan to upgrade the brakes to hydraulic disc when I find a killer deal on them.. I call it personalization... On the cheap.. Overall: a smokin' deal at $250 (that would be a 5 star rating), a fun bike for 300 bucks(4 stars)... I don't know if I would have purchased it for $350 though (3 stars).. Don't buy this bike if you are trying to make it into a pugsley, surley, or other high end fat bike on the cheap. Save your time, money, and frustration and go buy a real fat bike. Buy this bike if you want to have fun cruising around, don't have tons of cash to throw at a real fat bike. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? (36) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danothered
Golden, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome entry level fat bike
10/31/2014

Customer review by Momikey

5.0 stars 10/31/2014 by Momikey
by Momikey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike does require a few tools if you plan on assembling it at home. But once its greased and adjusted, the bike is a blast to ride and gets over most terrain with ease. Lots of upgrades have been made available if you look online as there are now groups of followers dedicated to these mongoose fate bikes. Excited to see how it rides in the snow. This bike does come geared as a cruiser, so if you plan to hit any trails or hills you may want to consider another bike or a smaller set of gears for up front. Also I bought mine a few weeks ago and it was shipped with the newer set of tires that look to be leaps and bounds better for offroad use as compared to when this bike first came out.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momikey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Step above the Beast Mongoose
4/15/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/15/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bike was double boxed packing saved all but the smallest of paint damage. Harder to adjust disc brakes as was not aligned from Mongoose. Fine bike for play and exercise offroad and on.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rotors warped, Seat and pedals broke, no grease.
9/1/2014

Customer review by MrBadWrench

1.0 stars 9/1/2014 by MrBadWrench
by MrBadWrench
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There was virtually no grease anywhere on this bike. The seat wobbles on the seatpost and no amount of tightening will make it stop. Both front and rear brake rotors are warped. I had to buy new pedals because the pedals that came with the bike did not spin. I replaced the pedals, bars, stem, seat, rear freewheel and greased everything. For an amateur bike mechanic none of these were issues but for someone who expects to bolt the front wheel and bars on and ride it this bike is a miserable failure. Its a shame too because It has the potential to be a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrBadWrench
Bum Funk Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun Fun Fun
8/6/2014

Customer review by UncleDaved

4.0 stars 8/6/2014 by UncleDaved
by UncleDaved
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought as a gift for my nephew. He loves it!! Rides nice, sturdy bike as he is a larger young man and just fun!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UncleDaved
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fat Tire Bicycle
11/3/2014

Customer review by Dugas47

5.0 stars 11/3/2014 by Dugas47
by Dugas47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The 26" Mongoose Dolomite was very easy to set up. Rides great, the only issue is: the gear selector is off. When it reads one(1), it is actually in 2nd. I tried to adjust, but was unable to do so. If the selector is twisted past the one, and held, it will go into first. I did purchase another more comfortable seat. For the price, this bike can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dugas47
Dallas TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fat Sand bike conversion
4/8/2014

Customer review by hugosh

4.0 stars 4/8/2014 by hugosh
by hugosh

Fat Sands bike conversion pic. Made my old Fat Sand bike single speed into a 7 speed with some Dolomite parts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hugosh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great starter fat bike
9/30/2015

Customer review by pinoybiker

5.0 stars 9/30/2015 by pinoybiker
by pinoybiker
Top 100 contributor

ordered the bike online and walmart delivered on time, and packaging was good, no damage or scratches on the bike. i got the mongoose beast and hitch already, and weightwise, this dolomite is the heaviest. same frame shape as the beast but with the added disc brakes and gears. the hitch is lighter coz of tapered fork shape and drilled out rims. but because of the 7 speed shimano drivetrain, with twist shifters, this bike rides light and could easily take some uphill trails. its still got steel frames so definitely heavier than more expensive aluminum fat bikes. what sets this bike apart is its iconic color, when you see this bike at the trail from a distance, dark blue body and red rims, you'll know its a dolomite. both front and rear disc brakes work great after proper alignments and adjustments. worth to note, the tires on this new batch of dolomites are the same as the ones on the hitch, which feature larger knobs. and still, i would not recommend for use on very rough mountain terrain as the hubs may not absorb the abuse. light off road and sand it could take easily. i take it to mostly limestone trails here in IL. the bike has a solid ride feel to it, and as usual, with TLC (good maintenance), dolomite is goin to give you years of riding fun. so just enjoy and ride safely guys.

Was this review helpful? (85) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pinoybiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 100 contributor
Awesome Fat Tire Bicycle!!!!!
8/11/2014

Customer review by JayDawg123

5.0 stars 8/11/2014 by JayDawg123
by JayDawg123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Mongoose Dolomite arrived just a few days after ordering. I was somewhat concerned about the condition of the box (beat up box with several holes torn in it from the pedals and axle nuts), but the bike was intact with only a few minor scratches in the paint. I assume all this was done during shipment. As far as the bike goes, it is super cool. I assembled it in about 15 minutes and have ridden it about 15 miles thus far. I took it to the beac last week and everyone there loved it. It definitely gets attention. Anyone thinking about buying this bike needs to know it is heavier than other comparable sized bikes. It also takes more effort to pedal it, but in my opinion, it is worth the extra effort. I had to adjust the disc brake caliper and some other fine tuning, but that is to be expected. Bottom line is, I would highly reccomend this bike for anyone that wants an affordable "fat tire" bike. Other "fat tire" bikes go for $1000 and up. Granted they will have better components and are probably much lighter, I'll take the Mongoose any day. Happy biking!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayDawg123
Chesterfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for Price
1/14/2016

Customer review by DavidPaul

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by DavidPaul
by DavidPaul

Item was delivered to my door early, except for some minor adjustments to bearings and disk brakes, which is to be expected, the bike is GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavidPaul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 294 total reviews
1-20 of 294 reviews