Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 29 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Just bought today!
6/20/2015

Customer review by OhioPrepper

4.0 stars 6/20/2015 by OhioPrepper
by OhioPrepper

Made the mistake of getting the Murray 42inch cut 2 weeks ago only to find out the low back seat is dangerous and slams into reverse,no deck wheels...Then I seen it! There was a sign saying 1,050 for the Snapper 42inch 18.5hp (marked down 350.00) from 1,398.00 at Walmart.If my yard was bigger I would have bought the 46inch which was marked down from 1,600 to 1,200 (400.00) off... I have not mowed yet but so far all the bells and whistles works,and boy ole boy does it have them. high back seat,4 deck wheels, cruise,automatic transmission ect...All this for only 50.00 more than the cheap Murray that had a low back seat,no deck wheels, clutch shifter,headlights that stay on all the time,not like the snapper.Its 3x the machine for 50.00 more,Thank you corporate for having this markdown before our 30days was up on the Murray :) Will post again after mowing a few times.....P.S. I think we found our replacement for our 18yr old MTD-Agway that stopped production in 1998.

Was this review helpful? (24) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OhioPrepper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BAD Tire When It Arrived (Need Resolution)
7/16/2016

Customer review by MissMaryland

3.0 stars 7/16/2016 by MissMaryland
by MissMaryland
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this mower on June 10th. I ordered online and picked it up in the store a week later. It took me a while to determine how it worked but after I did it was great. I noticed the tire was very low on air so I added some air and used the mower. 2 weeks later I attempted to use my mower and the tire was almost completely flat. I tried to add air but it took very little and wouldn't take any more. I think the place where you add air is dry rot. I inspected the tire and there are no holes. Luckily I have a back up mower to use. I went to the website that was on the mower sticker regarding warranty and places in my area for parts and service for my mower. I'm hoping that I wont have to use my money to replace the tire since it was defective when I purchased it. That would be terrible after just paying about $1400 for the mower 1 month ago.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/12/2016

We're sorry about the difficulties you are experiencing with your Snapper Riding Mower. So that we may more thoroughly review and respond, please contact customer support at 800-743-4115.

MissMaryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm impressed!
6/12/2014

Customer review by Tp2ply

4.0 stars 6/12/2014 by Tp2ply
by Tp2ply
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this mower two weeks ago while Walmart was "over stocked" with them. Good price, mower does a great job with a very clean cut. It's a little stiff to steer but it's new. The hydrostatic transaxle concerns me longevity-wise but works great and is very convenient. Normally the blade stops rotating when you back it up, to prevent running over someone like a child or pet. The "reverse operating system" is a great feature safety wise. You can mow in reverse but need to turn the key to a different position to over-ride the safety system. You should run the engine at full speed as Snapper advises because an engine run at a constant speed lasts much long - Briggs & Stratton make very good engines from my years of past experience. If you're concerned about longevity - get the extended warranty, if not, don't. I'm still concerned about the transaxle! Don't know that it will last 12 years, as my last riding mower did.

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tp2ply
Haines City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Snapper 42" Cut 18.5HP Riding Mower
5/21/2016

Customer review by Janice

4.0 stars 5/21/2016 by Janice
by Janice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not used it myself. Our son has used it and watching him mow, the tractor maneuvers good. It cuts a good swath. It appears it is easy to drive and control. It has 6 levels to choose from (blade level) which is good since where we live the field tends to be very uneven as well as the lawn. It appears to be a good value for the money spent. My husband read reviews on the mower...he has used many different types of mowers when he worked as a maintenance worker for many years. I will have to read the manual before I use the lawn mower so to understand how it works.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
snapper 42" 18hp
3/18/2016

Customer review by Scottd

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by Scottd
by Scottd

Plenty of power, cut tall grass with no problem. Foot pedals nice control vs hand controls.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scottd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Snapper Mower
5/12/2016

Customer review by rick

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by rick
by rick

Arrived on time and I have only used it once but it appears to be great, this is a little early for a review since I have only had it for a week and only used it once, I would request another review in a couple months but I'm sure it will be good to.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Snapper 42" cut
1/20/2016

Customer review by Littlemow

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Littlemow
by Littlemow

Just got it and only used it twice. It handles good and feels good. I have a 15 year old John Deere and this Snapper is just for a back up but I am pleased with it .

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Littlemow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Snapper Lawn Tractor
6/4/2015

Customer review by JimS

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by JimS
by JimS

This Lawn tractor is great. The foot pedals for forward and reverse are heads and tails better then the hand controls on the mower we had before. The only thing missing and it almost cost Snapper a star is no stereo,Cd player, or tape deck even.jk. But it would be nice, I mean after all Snapper you did put cruise control on it so........

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great mower!
5/27/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far this mower performs better than my John Deere lawn tractor. Lots of power.

Was this review helpful? (39) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love this mower!
5/20/2014

Customer review by grosmcsrs

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by grosmcsrs
by grosmcsrs

this is our first riding mower. we have an acre of fairly uneven yard. this mower easily adjusted to the terrain and lengths. and though it looked complicated to operate at first, we had the hang of it quickly and the yard done faster than I'd hoped. Ditto on needing a crowbar and hammer to get it out of the crate it ships in - that was where all of our effort seemed to be required.

Was this review helpful? (43) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grosmcsrs
Covington, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Quality product
6/17/2014

Customer review by Momwithayard

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by Momwithayard
by Momwithayard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm impressed by the quality of the mower, very sturdy, and well built. Fired right up and did a great job on the lawn. I should mention I started by buying a Troybilt low end mower from Lowes. The thing was a piece of junk. After several times of Lowes coming out to work on it I finally told them to just keep it. Then I saw this Snapper on the internet, it was about $400 more expensive but worth it.

Was this review helpful? (36) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momwithayard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waitng for Snapper
3/9/2014

Customer review by Wally34

4.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Wally34
by Wally34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had checked it out at the local Snapper dealer. When it became available from Walmart's site to store at a good price, I bought it. The difference was I had to uncrate the mower myself. Of course you'll need a trailer, crowbar, hammer, and saw. Once out, don't forget to engage the transmission in the back of the mower! Added gasoline and it ran great!

Was this review helpful? (29) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wally34
Kingsville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Defective
5/10/2015

Customer review by Yardguy

1.0 stars 5/10/2015 by Yardguy
by Yardguy

Got the mower home and off the trailer, made one pass in the yard and the drive trane belt fell off and had a large chunk ripped out of it. My yard is flat with no obstructions. Just came loose and fell off. I returned it to store and I replace it with same model. Had the new one 12 days and 2 mows out of it. Same thing happend. Drive trane belt fell off and ripped apart. No I'm shopping for a different brand. Will never look at another snapper again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yardguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Makes for a good a good looking yard.
4/26/2014

Customer review by VaJohn

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by VaJohn
by VaJohn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wish I could have gotten it cheaper. I am totally satisfied with the product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VaJohn
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a five star tractor !
9/11/2014

Customer review by sidewinder

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by sidewinder
by sidewinder

My ST 2046 Tractor is as smooth as silk. The V Twin engine is vibration free and the hydrostatic drive is awesome. The quality of this tractor is the best ive seen. The paint job is even superb. My neighbor is envious because he just bought a 22 hp tractor (starts with an H) that he paid a thousand dollars more than mine. They are almost identical except that I have 2 less hp , but I have 4 anti scalping wheels as his only has two. His hood is plastic, mine is metal. I have a bumper and he does not. His gas tank is under the hood, mine is easier to fill. I love good old American Quality and this tractor says it all. I had 1 little problem and Joe from customer support resolved it quickly. I cant wait till the grass grows again.

sidewinder
Beaver County, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice Mower
6/2/2014

Customer review by Woodman1

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Woodman1
by Woodman1

I go this tractor just this weekend after an exhaustive search, so far I am very happy with it, after wasting several hours going from box store to box store I ended up at the right place. My local mower shop took over an hour on a busy Saturday to set the mower up and go over all the features with me. After I got it home I mowed my neighbor’s yard that was about a foot tall. The ST 46 went through it with no problems the hydro drive is very smooth and the steering is also very tight not sloppy like all the others I tried. I was skeptical about the Brigg’s engine after having several blow up on me and only time will tell about its durability but it sounds great. For the money I don't think you can find a better mower.

Woodman1
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I love this mower
5/5/2014

Customer review by jimmie57

5.0 stars 5/5/2014 by jimmie57
by jimmie57

I had a rear engine Snapper SR1030 for 18 years with almost zero problems. Naturally my next one is a Snapper. This one is so easy to drive with it smooth , steering, tight turning and foot peddle controlled hydrostatic drive. I also like the fact that it has 4 anti scalp wheels on the deck and will mow in reverse. The hood on several brands is plastic now days but this one is steel. I have only cut the grass once but I keep looking out the window to see when it is long enough to cut again. Might cut it tomorrow anyway. This model appears to have all the features of the more expensive models but is several hundred dollars less.

jimmie57
Texas City, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I like my mower, with one, just one drawback.
4/7/2014

Customer review by Pleasemulchme

4.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Pleasemulchme
by Pleasemulchme

I bought this 2 weeks ago. I had a hydro-stat, and ended up my last one, not getting another one. I regretted that purchase ever since I made it, in 2010. I sold it and bought another hydro-static from Snapper. I really like the mower. The only drawback is, I've bought this mower and cannot get a mulching kit designed for it. That really stinks! I think they should have had a kit for it, when the mower was put out for the public. Other than that, I really like the mower!

Pleasemulchme
Prince George County, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome mower
8/17/2014

Customer review by Xochilsbud

5.0 stars 8/17/2014 by Xochilsbud
by Xochilsbud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this mower. It has great power, ease of use and has all the features for a lower price. I hope I'm able to use it for quite some time to come.

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xochilsbud
Smithville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE BIG RED SNAPPER
9/3/2014

Customer review by SERENA71359

3.0 stars 9/3/2014 by SERENA71359
by SERENA71359

THE RED SNAPPER THAT WOULDN'T, THAT IS KEEP IT'S MOWER DECK BELT ON. IT JUST WANTS TO RIDE ALL OVER THE YARD WITH THE BELT THAT FLYS OFF EVERY TIME YOU TRY TO ENGAGE IT TO MOW. THE BIG RED SNAPPER REFUSES TO MOW BECAUSE IT WANTS OLE SO MUCH TO KEEP IT'S SHINY RED APPEARANCE WITHOUT ANY GRASS THROWN UPON IT!!!

SERENA71359
Du Quoin, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews