Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
14
1-20 of 76 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
Great Hair Tool
3/24/2014

Customer review by NNYk

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by NNYk
by NNYk

A friend bought the more expensive one like this from QVC and so a few of us started searching for something similar, but less expensive. The reviews on the In-Styler were good so I ordered it from Walmart. They had the best price, and there is a local store in case it didn't work out. It is absolutely great, easy to use. Once you get the hang of it your hair will look good every day.... even if you just curl the ends. Don't buy the cheaper ones for under $30 they burn the hair. I am very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (112) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NNYk
Ny Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best styler I've ever used.
1/25/2014

Customer review by Linej

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Linej
by Linej

What a relief. Finally a styler that doesn't burn you. And the Ionic seems to really work on my hair. I brush it through my dry hair to begin and it smooths all the frizzes away. Then I style it to add soft bounce into my long hair. My hair looked great from the first try. No burn, you can grip the barrel and tip of the styler. You can even start the styler from the scalp with no burn. Just don't stick your fingers between the brush combs. It is hot even on medium. Medium works best for my hair. The value on this styler is half the price of others and the Ionic really helps get the frizz out. Love it, and think I'll buy another for someone else.

Was this review helpful? (70) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Linej
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great curling iron
7/1/2014

Customer review by Katy50

5.0 stars 7/1/2014 by Katy50
by Katy50

I was thinking of buying the Perfecter and ran across this item. It looked very similar but not as pricey. I have a conair big roll brush curling iron but it barely curls my hair unless I turn it all the way up and it was really damaging. Right out of the box I noticed this was a well made product. It does a good job curling my hair and it stays pretty well considering the southern heat and humidity. I have only been using for a week and my hair already looks less stressed out. Walmart had the best price. Shuts off automatically and the cord doesn't tangle. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katy50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as good as expected!
1/24/2014

Customer review by KatM1972

2.0 stars 1/24/2014 by KatM1972
by KatM1972

I bought this hoping to curl my hair without making my hair frizzy. The first time I used it my hair got stuck in it even though I was being careful not to have that happen. I had to have my husband help me get it out of my hair & it took at least a half hour. I tried to use it again trying to be extra careful not to get it stuck & it got stuck again. My husband told me that he thought it was a piece of junk & to take it back which I will be doing. It may be good for somebody with shoulder length hair or shorter hair. Women with long hair should avoid. I am used to using these kind of brushes since I have a hot air brush that doesn't get hot enough to curl, that is why I bought this styler. I have no problem with the other brush it just doesn't curl like the prestige ionic styler is suppose to. I don't like writing bad reviews about any products unless I have a very good reason.

Was this review helpful? (39) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatM1972
Hallstead, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Does what it says
12/10/2013

Customer review by tuflue

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by tuflue
by tuflue

I had bought the "other" brand of this styler & wound up returning it; for the high price, it just wasn't worth it. This one is about half the price and does the same job. The only improvement (which is with most wand-type stylers), is placement of the on/off/lo/hi switch; I always seem to turn it up or off. However, I will keep the product as it makes my hair smooth.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tuflue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Practice first before turning on the InStyler iron
5/20/2014

Customer review by Bets4

3.0 stars 5/20/2014 by Bets4
by Bets4

Once you get the hang of it, it is easy to use, you just have to be careful that you don't get your hair tangled up in it, do not use it like you would a regular curling iron. I recommend that you first practice using this product on your hair before you actually turn it on. At first sight it looks simple to use, but once your hair is wrapped up in it, and you can't get it out, some people may panic. I am a hair dresser and I also got my hair tangled in it; when that happened to me I immediately turned off and unplugged the system, then slowly untangled my hair. I now have it down, I now know how much hair in each section to curl at a time, and how to curl it without wrapping my hair up in the iron. So remember, practice first before turning it on.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bets4
Orange County California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Defective Product Design
3/7/2014

Customer review by stewssew

1.0 stars 3/7/2014 by stewssew
by stewssew

BEWARE!!!!! Stay away from this product unless you want to deal with a lot of hassles and frustration. I have had two defective InStyler's ordered from two different stores in the last three weeks. I searched the internet to see if other people were having the same issues that I was with this product, and was stunned to find many dissatisfied customers who had to return the product for the same reason I did. It is made very cheap with a bad switch design. The switch is in a bad place on the handle so it turns off many times while styling your hair if you bump it or touch the handle wrong while styling your hair. It is a very poor design. I could even live with that if the thing worked. The heating element is defective. The first one I ordered lasted four days, and the second one only lasted two days. When it quits working the ready light just blinks continuously but the unit won't heat up. It works great when it works, but you can't ever count on it working when you need it. It's priced way too high for the super cheap quality. Walmart was great about returning the first two defective stylers, but I finally sent the third defective unit to the manufacturer. I had to pay for shipping and insurance to send it back to them and it's been ten days and I've received no product and no response to my letter, emails, and phone messages. I called the customer service number listed in the pamphlet that came in the box. I've really gotten the run around and talked to customer service reps in New York, California, and Connecticut.This is an awful company with the worst customer service I have ever dealt with. I've even dealt with two supervisors who have yet to respond, follow through, or even care about resolving the problem. I very rarely write reviews, but I felt it necessary to warn people from experiencing the nightmare that I have experienced. This company is NOT a reputable company, and they have no clue how to provide effective customer service.

Was this review helpful? (34) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stewssew
Would recommend to a friend? No
love it!
1/25/2014

Customer review by Tam126

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Tam126
by Tam126

I had seen the infomercial for the more expensive, fusion hair perfector. Then, I found this one on Walmart's site. I felt better about ordering it from Walmart in case I had to return it. It works great and smooths out my hair in a thrice. I even have moderate success in using it to curl the ends. The only difficulty is that it seems like it works best to curl if tresses are the same length. It is harder to get curls in my hair with its many layers. But, I love this product for taking my course, just washed and dried hair and making it presentable in about 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (61) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tam126
Greece, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pleased overall
2/15/2014

Customer review by Kittiekat813

4.0 stars 2/15/2014 by Kittiekat813
by Kittiekat813

After the first pass through my hair, I noticed immediate shine and smoothness. I have super fine hair cut in a bob, and smoothness is essential. It doesn't give me much lift, but that's ok. Aside from my hair dryer, I will retire most of my other styling tools.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kittiekat813
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great curling brush for those used to one!
2/26/2014

Customer review by Bubzi

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Bubzi
by Bubzi

This Curling brush heats up Very Quickly! Glides through the hair and performs beautifully! I have fine thin hair and the curl lasts all day! There is no danger of burns from the unit itself, the bristles stay cool! Does not tangle in hair when used properly.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bubzi
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT FOR STRAIGHTENING LONG HAIR
4/10/2014

Customer review by kathyfk

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by kathyfk
by kathyfk

I have long, thick, wavy, frizzy hair and this works great. I have the original instyler, which I love, but it can burn easily - your head, hand and the bathroom counter. when I saw this one I didn't believe it would work as good and had seen some not so good reviews. I absolutely love it. My hair feels like straw before and is much softer after. It straightens, gets rid of the waves and best of all gets rid of the frizz. I don't use it for curling (just a little at the very ends) and not sure that it would work that good but if you need to tame that long frizzy hair this is the best!!!! I prefer using it once my hair drys, but I have used it on damp hair and it's fine, but takes a little longer - If it's not totally dry when I'm finished, the damp areas wave and sometimes frizz up a little, but not too bad.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kathyfk
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I LIKE
12/1/2013

Customer review by sweet4u

4.0 stars 12/1/2013 by sweet4u
by sweet4u

this styler does what it say, but could it a little hotter for a super curl,but I love that you can't burn yourself good product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweet4u
Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too good to be true
7/23/2014

Customer review by laslv

2.0 stars 7/23/2014 by laslv
by laslv

This product says it's a 4 in 1 and says it can straighten hair. My daughter and I thought it looked just like the InStyler ProStyler that sells on their website for over $100. So this would be a great deal at under $50 if it were the same thing. But it's not. The Walmart website only shows one photo and you can't tell if the unit opens to be a straightener. The wording says one of the four things it does is straighten. This does not have a straightening feature and the unit does not open to pull your hair through. They expect you to run the round brush through your hair to straighten it. That will not work if your hair is thick and curly like mine. My daughter's hair is more manageable, but it didn't straighten hers and really didn't do a great job curling it either. Your hair gets stuck in the bristles easily. For half the price you can get a curling iron to curl or a straightener to straighten. I hope the local Walmart will take this back.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laslv
las vegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
over-rated Ionic styler
11/30/2013

Customer review by Gramma883

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Gramma883
by Gramma883

I saw this advertised on TV and thought it would replace all my other tools for styling hair. It does not work any better than a regular curling iron. I have been using it for about a week and do not see any difference. My curling iron was overheating and is many years old so I needed to replace anyway. I think this is fine for ordinary styling, but do not see the results that are shown on TV at all. My hair is fine and the low setting did absolutely nothing. I used the high setting and got a little wave but nothing like shown in ads! I would recommend for an ordinary curling iron, but not an extraordinary multi-tool styling tool. I am disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gramma883
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really wanted this to work, but had same problems
5/9/2014

Customer review by MeMawMO

1.0 stars 5/9/2014 by MeMawMO
by MeMawMO

1. Day one, had some learning curler issues, like tangling, but overall shiny curled hair. 2. Day two and three. The curler was plugged in, and when turned on, the light came on, but no heat. Unplugged and turned on. The heat came on. However, with some spray product now in my hair from yesterday, the brush did not go through the hair smoothly, even with a precombing. The more spray buildup, the worse it gets. Since I only wash my hair every three days, this could be an ongoing problem. The on/off switch is easily turned off accidentally while in use and then the curler needs to reheat. Also, the longer the hair, the more likely it is that this curler will get tangled. I do not know if the heating system is faulty, but was not ready to wait and see if it would permanently quit heating. I returned it to Walmart. They are great about customer service.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MeMawMO
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Not a total let down.
1/24/2014

Customer review by Consummation

3.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Consummation
by Consummation

I bought this product thinking it would instantly make my hair staight through just few strokes, (I have short hair) but what it actually did after I blow dryed my hair and everything was that it just staightened it a tiny bit and it made my hair very dry. But then using this product on my sisters hair to curl it was very useful. So in my opinion this product is useful as a shortcut to straightening your hair half way then going in with the flat iron to finish it off. As a curling iron it's very useful, but one thing is for sure; nothing can replace your flat iron and hair dryer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Consummation
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as good as I thought...
2/4/2014

Customer review by Apples4201

1.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Apples4201
by Apples4201

I bought this product figuring I could get rid of my hot roller set or just use it once in a while. My hair is getting longer and all I really want is to just run a brush thru my hair to get a little bit of volume and shine with some bounce of a curl at the ends. Maybe I need more practice with the device, but I was afraid of it getting tangled in my hair. It was hard to brush through my hair and I was not able to achieve the desired results as in the videos I've seen this product being demonstrated in. Am very disappointed in this product, but I will keep practicing.. hopefully I will get good results eventually.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Apples4201
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bye Bye Blow Dryer
4/9/2014

Customer review by Alanyspr

4.0 stars 4/9/2014 by Alanyspr
by Alanyspr

This thing is amazing!!!! I mean as a woman who has Dominican Hair, I can wash it, let the Tina Turner hair dry and start the process with the product and it works wonders.. I mean I go from freeze hair to soft and not dead straight like flat irons do. I love how easy is to use and how my hair looks "natural"

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alanyspr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Item
6/9/2014

Customer review by MJ1104

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by MJ1104
by MJ1104

Bought this item with caution...but I absolutely love it, my hair looks soft and shiny everyday. Makes beautiful curls in just minutes. My only issue is where the on/off switch is located sometimes when styling i hit the switch and it turns off, other then that I feel its a great item.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJ1104
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
InStyler leaves my hair beautiful and shiny!
7/22/2014

Customer review by nmdavis

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by nmdavis
by nmdavis

This InStyler Ionic 4-IN-1 Styler is wonderful and at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nmdavis
Deer Park Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews