Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 794 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

794 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

794 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
255
4 stars
186
3 stars
70
2 stars
61
1 stars
222
1-20 of 794 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 794 total reviews
1-20 of 794 reviews
Pioneer Scores BIG!!!
12/28/2013

Customer review by Klupo

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Klupo
by Klupo

First let me put this out there. For those who do not know (and you really should) when they package electronics (ie. Tablets Laptops TV's) they will put a flat matted protective piece of plastic on the screen to protect from getting scratched. I read a few of the reviews on here stating that the Pioneer tablet is scratched and it is not. Just remove the protective screen and you will see. Then take out the screen protector they give you and place it on the tablet screen to protect when you use it. Now to the tablet, I gave it to my wife as a Christmas gift from my daughter and she loves it. It was very easy to set up and install the update. Nice size nice weight and smooth performance. She has been playing her games on it since she received it. For the money you can't beat it. Battery life comes in around 5 hours like it says. It really is a nice little tablet for the price. I even purchased the protection plan for 28 dollars and that is for 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (566) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Klupo
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy if you need a basic tablet.
2/5/2014

Customer review by MIXMASTERICE

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by MIXMASTERICE
by MIXMASTERICE

First off, I've read several 1 star reviews for this tablet, most of which pertain to the screen being scratched. This tablet comes with a protective film that you remove, then you can apply the included screen protector if you choose. A lot of people jumped the gun with their poor review due to user error and some even went to far as to return the tablet as defective. Those people must feel really foolish now. The tablet itself is a great buy for under $60. Processor and memory is sufficient for 90% of what people buy a tablet for. I use mine for games, email, instagram, snapchat, web browsing, music and netflix. It will run most games just fine, including The Pinball Arcade. I'm sure some of the more demanding games may not run well, since this is a dual core processor and not a quad core like some of the tablets that are much more expensive. in the end, this is a great budget tablet and has a solid, quality feel to it. Screen is nice enough and battery life seems fine. Some aps like instagram aren't available through the google store, but you can get them through other stores, which is what I did. Highly recommended and I'm not uncomfortable letting my young kids use this for fear of them breaking it.

Was this review helpful? (284) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MIXMASTERICE
Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stay away, do not buy without a service plan
5/6/2014

Customer review by Ro0ks

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by Ro0ks
by Ro0ks

I purchased my tablet back on feb 28th and held off on writing a review. Now I'm glad I did, at first it worked fine, stuttering occasionally in graphic intensive games. I put it through normal day to day use up until Friday morning May 02/14. Tablet was slow and unresponsive so I rebooted the device, it booted back up into a static pioneer logo (normally its animated) and hung for an hour. I then rebooted the device again and so my troubles began, now it sits in bootloop endlessly playing the pioneer logo. normally one would simply reboot into android recovery and wipe_data/factory_reset. Now this is where it gets fuzzy, Pioneer licensed out its logo and name to E & S International Enterprises, Inc. for the tablet distribution and they also hired a call center outside of pioneer to handle technical questions about their products. I've yet to have this issue resolved outside of "send us the tablet and we will inspect it and if it's not a HARDWARE issue you will be charged to fix it" really that is what Cs told me today. Seems the company that they hired for technical questions cant answer the one i need answering. How do you put the device into recovery mode to do a factory reset ? Their answer today was: "we dont have that information pioneer did not tell us how" So now I own a 75$ paperweight unless I want to pay more money for them to "fix" the issue,given that If I knew how to reboot into recovery i could fix it myself? If you read this review and still plan on purchasing the tablet buy walmart's service plan Pioneer's Cs reps will just frustrate you.

Was this review helpful? (119) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ro0ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does a lot for a low price!
1/26/2014

Customer review by Farffle12

4.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Farffle12
by Farffle12

I wanted a tablet that I could read kindle books on, use Skype, check email, and occasionally browse the internet. This tablet does all of that. Touchscreen is great. Sound gets loud out of the speakers and it runs very well. Internet seems very fast compared to other tablets I have tried. Netflix works and looks awesome! The cons: Battery life isn't the greatest (advertised on the box as 3 hours video/5 hours music), but it gets what they say. With the screen dimmed down to 25% (which still leaves it plenty bright), I can get at least 3.5 hours of web surfing or movie watching on this thing. I would guess in airplane mode while reading a book with the Kindle app, you could easily get 5-6 hours. I haven't tried this however. As another reviewer stated, there is an annoying "capture screen" button right in the bottom middle where you would expect the "home" button that I have hit several times on accident. I have no idea why you would need this, much less front and center. Once you are used to it, it isn't a big deal. I have had the occasional app crash, but once I restart it seems to work fine. The pre-installed YouTube app would lock up the tablet every time. After updating it, it works, but the video has to constantly buffering. If I go to YouTube through Google Chrome, it works great. Overall, it is a great tablet for the $59.99 I paid for it. My father was wishing he would have bought this one instead of his new Kindle Paperwhite because it had more options and the Kindle app looks better on this than his Kindle.

Was this review helpful? (86) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Farffle12
Brainerd, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All good with this purchase.
12/17/2013

Customer review by FirstAndroid

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by FirstAndroid
by FirstAndroid

Little hesitant ordering this tablet when it went available on walmart site with no review yet but for $89 bucks, what the heck. I received the item a week ago and the first thing I noticed was scratches on the LCD but found out it was only the film plastic that protect the screen. I peeled it off and applied the free lcd protector and its all good. Connected to my wifi in seconds with no issue and downloaded the updated driver (first thing to do as instructed on the box) and from then on everything ran smoothly. I played it for at least an hour + and started to like it but this one is for my daughter so I put it back in the box, wrapped and goes straight under the tree. I guess I got lucky receiving the tablet with no scratches (as it should being as new) as what other buyers experienced.

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FirstAndroid
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very fast...1st take off screen protector
1/27/2014

Customer review by lovetangerines

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by lovetangerines
by lovetangerines

I have owned this tablet for two weeks and I am extremely happy. When I first opened the box I was about to throw a fit because the screen looked completely scratched, but then my son showed me that there was a screen protector on there. As soon as he took it off that's when my eyes lit up. Playing movies on it is GREAT!! The screen is crisp and clear, the movies play without buffering once, Bluetooth and wifi have very strong connections and it has an endless amount of apps. Highly recommend this tablet but first take off the screen protector so you're not disappointed like me.

Was this review helpful? (121) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetangerines
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WARNING: Take off screen protector!!!!
1/27/2014

Customer review by urlittlesecret

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by urlittlesecret
by urlittlesecret

I received my tablet and I ope it up looked SCRATCHED, I was so angry. But then when I'm writing email to Walmart and I'm playing with it I see there is screen protector. So happy because picture is really good, and tablet is fast. I love it, but take off screen protect or else you will not be happy

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
urlittlesecret
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My kids love it!
1/24/2014

Customer review by greatmommie

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by greatmommie
by greatmommie

I bought this for my two boys who are ALWAYS on my iPad and they have downloaded all of the games onto this tablet. They love it and it didn't cost me a fortune. Even if they break it, I can replace it for less than $100. My iPad is a totally different story. I was a little surprised to know that Pioneer made tablets. I have an awesome Pioneer radio in my truck that is synced to my phone through in android app so I guess the next thing for them is making tablets.

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greatmommie
Canoga Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tablet even better price
12/18/2013

Customer review by jumpyjump

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by jumpyjump
by jumpyjump

The price point is amazing -- and the tablet is great! I bought an additional one for myself as an extra tablet to have at home and so far I am loving it. Connects to the internet quickly, access to google play offers thousands of apps. Picture is incredible, I have been laying in bed for a week :). If you want a great tablet that won't hurt your pocket and works greets this the tablet for you.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jumpyjump
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great Tablet For Anyone Pioneer Great Name!
5/3/2014

Customer review by buzzman81

5.0 stars 5/3/2014 by buzzman81
by buzzman81

I bought this Tablet because i had lots of Pioneer products. This is great for the price. It works great and there are plenty of apps from google play store, free. I have put google play on my P/C Desktop and what it does is send the app i install to the tablet, Amazing. The sound is great, Louder then the Laptop i have. I was really impresed with this Pioneer tablet. Also i have lots of Bookmarks. Theres an app for bookmarks makes it easy to get to a site. I actually went out and bought one for my wife, It even downloads books and you can get the Kindle app and read books. I have had this 3 months, No problems, So if your looking for a cheap but great tablet get this one. I really never write reviews but did because it is so great!! The battery last about 4 hours not to bad. I also put in a 32gig byte Micro sd card in it.Thanks for reading this review.

Was this review helpful? (132) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buzzman81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Great tablet once you figure out the charger.
3/28/2014

Customer review by IM6040

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by IM6040
by IM6040

This is one super tablet for the price. Not owning any Android product, I was worried that set up would be difficult. It was a snap. I read all the 1 star negative reviews and most seem to be about two items. 1. The screen is not scratched. It has a protective film that needs removed. 2. More disturbing is the charging system. Many people returned this great tablet because it would not charge. It will charge but Gigabyte(the manufacturer) has a convaluted method for charging. No other electronic device charges like this. If you plug in the charger, the display shows it is charging. It is NOT. You need to leave the tablet turned on-plug in the charger- and walk away. In a few seconds the screen will turn off and the charging begins. After a few hours, unplug the charger and the tablet will come back on fully charged. No where in any literature is this method mentioned. How many people returned this great value tablet when it worked perfectly. Hopefully people will read this and purchase this tablet. The only negative is the navagation apt closes before it can be used.

Was this review helpful? (253) (97)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IM6040
Lower Burrell Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
These tablets are great at first
4/11/2014

Customer review by ashleyvol

3.0 stars 4/11/2014 by ashleyvol
by ashleyvol

I have purchase a total of 7 tablets now because they were a great deal, but i had two that were defective within the 15 days so they got returned. one wouldn't go off the pioneer screen and the other stopped working. now i have had them for a couple months and my husbands reset its self to factory mode then when i set it back up you are unable to download apps and it says there is no memory. so i contacted the manufacture i plan to ship it out and hopefully get it fixed but now today my tablet will not turn on at all :( this is starting to make me angry. and my sons tablet is skipping and freezing up when he is playing on his and my daughter her don't want to charge half the time and sometimes wont even come on. I think that these are great tablets but they just need to work out the issues with them. I seen that other people were having the same issues I hope they get resolved I feel that maybe they should recall them because apparently they don't last after 2 months. I purchased mine in February 2014 and March 2014 so haven't had them long.

Was this review helpful? (57) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashleyvol
toledo oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Walmart associate
Pioneer R1 7" tablet
3/30/2014

Customer review by runninron69

4.0 stars 3/30/2014 by runninron69
by runninron69

Bearing in mind this was my first ever tablet, it took a little getting used to the Android 4.2.2 Jellybean OS. Setting it up with my wireless network and getting everything arranged like I wanted them took me a couple of days of fiddling with it, off and on. I was a little tentative about trying to delete apps I had no use for because of the warning about "deleting this app may cause other apps to malfunction or stop working". If you have reliable information about this I would appreciate some feedback. I am used to the speed of the 8 core, 4.7 OC processer in my desktop and the tablet's dual core processer seems really, really slow even though it really isn't. Sadly, on the third day I had it, my nurse/ caregiver picked it up to look at it, dropped it and the screen shattered into hundreds of splinters. I'm waiting for the replacement to get here so I can start all over. Yeah, it was good enough that I had no hesitation about reordering the same tablet as a replacement.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
runninron69
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Great for price kids love them
2/21/2014

Customer review by Robbie77

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by Robbie77
by Robbie77

Works great for day to day use

Was this review helpful? (68) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robbie77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big problems getting warranty service
9/28/2014

Customer review by OneLeaf

1.0 stars 9/28/2014 by OneLeaf
by OneLeaf

I purchased this tablet in March 2014 and it stopped working in September.I’m in my 2nd week of trying to get warranty service. First of all they don’t take your call you have to verbally leave a message with a description of the problem and wait for them to call you back. I had to call 2 times and it took 3 or 4 days to get a return call. It was when I was at work and of course I didn’t have the information they wanted in front of me so they have to e-mail me for verification.Again days later nothing, So I call them back and finally get someone to answer the phone, Please wait while I check on your status, Sorry your email is Comcast they treat our email as spam you need a different email address. I created a new email and did receive a reply finally. I had to supply name ,address, Where purchased and all that good stuff and guess what have still not gotten a response back.-- support@hkcdigital.com --- I don’t know why PIONEER uses them for warranty service they are definitely a FAIL

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneLeaf
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good tablet, good value
2/9/2014

Customer review by mikepieronek

4.0 stars 2/9/2014 by mikepieronek
by mikepieronek

I bought an iPad (3rd generation) with Retina display shortly after it came out; about 2 years ago. It cost 10X as much as this Pioneer R1. The iPad display is extremely clear and easy to read. I bought this Pioneer tablet for $60 during a sale. I have paid more for a tank of gas for my mini-van. I work on websites for a few clients and I wanted to see how they looked on Android tablets. I have no experience with Android and wanted to learn more about it. The screen: The colors are good, quite bright. The viewing angle is not great. It is difficult to view this screen "off angle". I was showing a video to my wife and she couldn't see it until I turned the screen almost directly at her. Once the screen turns away the colors flatten out and the contrast drops off. The resolution is quite good for this price point. Small text is readable but only just. Oh and my screen had the screen protector from the factory on it. The plastic is thin and tightly fit, almost no bubbles to clue you in to being there. Once removed the glass is perfect and the contrast and color is much improved. Remove the plastic and you'll be happy. Speed: The CPU changes speed based on load. Using a performance tool I can see the tablet can run at 1.2GHz but it usually runs at about .4GHz when working on the desktop. Touch sensitivity and reaction time are ok. It doesn't feel as responsive as the iPad. I have to touch smaller screen elements several times on occasion to properly activate. It's my only experience with and Android tablet so I nothing to compare it to. It is not as snappy as my 2 year old iPad. I am curious if a Google Nexus tablet would have a snapper feel to it. Size and battery: 7" tablet is a nice size to carry around. This Pioneer tablet is thicker than my iPad. I like the rubberized back. Easy to hold. The battery life is rated at 5 hrs. I haven't used the tablet continuously to confirm that time. This tablet doesn't sleep well. Let it fall asleep overnight and your battery will be near dead in the morning. To save your battery you have to turn off the tablet between uses. It takes 30+ second to boot it. The iPad on the other hand has at least a 10hour battery and will sleep for days without loosing much of its charge. If I take my iPad to work with 50% charge I know I can go all day using it on and off and not worry about the battery. If I go to work with 50% battery on the R1 I will have a dead tablet by lunch if I just sleep it. Build quality is pretty good. I like the micro SD slot. I put a bunch of MP4s made on my Mac on the card and put it into to the R1. I was able to play the videos easily. I can't to this with the iPad or a Nexus, no sd slot. The webcam is ok for video chats but you'll never take a picture you want to keep with it. I think this tablet is an incredible value. I can't comprehend how they can make a tablet so capable with so many features for so little money. It works very well for such a bargain price. For reviewing websites this suites my needs. The voice searching is very good. I like how Google shows the text as you say it. If I could own only one tablet it would be an iPad, no question. The IOS operating system is much more enjoyable to use. Android feels like Windows does to a Mac user. The battery life and performance would be a deal breaker compared to iPad. Is this tablet worth the money? Yes. It absolutely is. Great tablet for kids and teens.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikepieronek
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!
8/28/2014

Customer review by PittsburghMike1214

1.0 stars 8/28/2014 by PittsburghMike1214
by PittsburghMike1214

We bought this tablet as a replacement for our 8 year old. It locked up within a month of using it. It was returned to the manufacturer for repair (we had to pay shipping). It has been 6+ weeks and I cannot get an answer from them as to when we will get it back. They have the absolute, I mean absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. Please avoid the headache and look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PittsburghMike1214
Would recommend to a friend? No
Smooth Operator
12/14/2013

Customer review by OUdad

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by OUdad
by OUdad

Bought this for my daughter for Christmas took it home to set it up and install apps. make sure everything works well. I am no computer geek but found this system very smooth.watched a HD video with no hesitations at all. which I know will play a lot of. downloaded a bunch of girl games. played them awesome. I would say it works smoother than my wife's Samsung 4s. she had to take it out of my hands and put it back in the box and hide it from me..great deal. I only took one pic. it seemed decent enough from what I remember.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OUdad
Moore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A nice tablet!
2/17/2014

Customer review by HopeTown

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by HopeTown
by HopeTown

This is my second tablet. I got it for $59.99 when it is on sale. I am not looking for a tablet that I can do everything but just receiving emails, listening to music, talking with someone on-line, or so. I totally don't expect this one can handle anything document editing at all. If short, I am trying to replace clock, radio, calculator, and telephone (?) with this device. So far, the tablet does these jobs nicely and respond to my request quickly. The sound quality is good to me and the image quality is excellent 60 cm away. I leave it next to my desktop with a hand-made stand so that I can do these things without affecting what I really work on using MS Office. Therefore, this one is a perfect match to me. There are few cons on this device, too. 1. While charging and surfing simultaneously, this device does get hot -- but not totally unacceptable. 2. I don't consider the touch screen is very responsive. If you try to take notes with handwriting, this device will heavily disappoint you. Though it is not unusable, but the handwriting output is definitely far from "good quality". My Lenovo Idealpad K1 can do a much better job. 3. The volume of microphone is low. You need to speak up so you can be heard. Overall, I like this device. It meets most of my requirements. With the price I pay, I definitely recommend this to my friends !

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HopeTown
Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Please avoid this tablet!
9/12/2014

Customer review by yoly19

1.0 stars 9/12/2014 by yoly19
by yoly19

I purchased this tablet on 3/10, at first this worked well. I was going to purchase the warranty walmart offers within the 30 days of this purchase and I forgot. So by May we started noticing while it was left charging the tablet would get really hot, then it started freezing and there would be no way to turn it off only way was to leave the battery to run out. The final issue was that it stopped charging I thought this had something to do with it becoming hot when it would charge. Just to make sure I left the tablet connected to the charger for a full day, next day tried a different outlet and left it there for several hours and still nothing. Contacted Pioneer and paid to ship the tablet out to them, after several weeks they get back to me and tell me they found no issues and I had to pay $15 for them to ship it back.

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yoly19
MIAMI,FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
1-20 of 794 total reviews
1-20 of 794 reviews