Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 221 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

221 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

221 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
75
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
29
1-20 of 214 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 214 total reviews
1-20 of 214 reviews
my big sis
6/1/2016

Customer review by VALENTINE

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by VALENTINE
by VALENTINE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i buy this for my big sis for she got a big yard the that hours to cut but with the new one i buy her she can now ride than walk

Was this review helpful? (5) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VALENTINE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for small lawns such as mine.
5/12/2013

Customer review by Mowerjockey

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Mowerjockey
by Mowerjockey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The mower has a small fuel tank and after running out of gas a few times the engine is nearly impossible to restart without putting gas directly into the cylinder to get it to fire up and start. I believe the problem is priming the fuel pump on this Briggs engine. I wish that the engine had a fuel line squeeze ball or finger push primer. Its nearly impossible to drain oil so you must purchase an oil vacuum pump. Also some sort of hitch would have been nice. I found that you cannot go into reverse while cutting blade is engaged, the engine will stall out This mower was advertised as shift on the go but the manual strictly forbids this action. The operation levers are awkward but I'm learning. On the good side the engine has all the power I need as I weigh 300 lbs and cuts without strain, turn radius is good and enjoyable overall to operate. This is our first rider of any kind. We are now retired and this machine makes a world of difference in our lawn care needs for its size.

Was this review helpful? (211) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mowerjockey
Flint MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DONT BUT THIS MOWER
4/2/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/2/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a piece of junk. It has so many flaws I don't really know where to start, so I guess the fact it wont start is a good place. It wont start with gas in the carb. so I put a shut off valve on the fuel line thinking if I l let it run out of gas instead of just shutting it off it may start with fresh gas every time I mow. It still wouldn't start.It wont run on any kind of slope, be it up it or across it. It has a split diff. and on a hill, one wheel just spins and you go nowhere. I can't get off and push it a bit, as it stops when you get off the seat, and then I'm back to the starting issue. It wont cut in reverse, you have to stop the change speeds and the list goes on and on. I'm back to using my old self propelled walk behind while thjs $1000 piece of junk sits in the shed. If your really determined to buy one of these, get hold of me, I'll sell you mine for half price. It's brand new

Was this review helpful? (61) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't work the minute I got it home
7/18/2016

Customer review by Veronica

1.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Veronica
by Veronica

I got it on sale at the end of the season last year. Right off the bat it wouldn't start. Since I got the extra warranty I thought, well I'll just have them fix it. So after paying $50 to get them to come pick it up, they call and say #1) it will take at least 4 weeks to fix, and 2) not covered by the warranty, surprise surprise. After spending another $100 + for them to fix it and being without it for what seemed like half the summer, I get it home and continue to have problems with it just a bout every time I use it. Either the gears won't catch, or the blades won't drop, or the battery dies immediately after starting it. Buying this has been like driving down the highway, rolling the window down, and taking a wad of cash and tossing it right out the window. Piece of trash, stay away from this item!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Veronica
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tractor doesn't seem to exist to Murray.
4/15/2013

Customer review by TWS63

1.0 stars 4/15/2013 by TWS63
by TWS63

What a nightmare! I called The dedicated Murray help line Walmart lists on it page. I gave the gentleman that answered the name and model number of tractor. He could not find anything on this tractor its like it didn't exist. I went to the Murray home page itself typed in my model number and a picture of the tractor came up with a number to call. The gentleman from Murray also knew nothing about this tractor and even went as far as to ask me why i called this number. I said because Its a Murray tractor this is the Murray website it shows the tractor on the website but you know nothing about it. UNBELIEVABLE. Then he wanted to give me the Number for TORO! It looks like you either have to remove engine or buy siphon pump to change oil in this thing! For some reason the drain plug is between the engine and the frame. They should have stamped a hole in frame where plug is to allow a socket to get to it. Also no hitch to pull a small wagon or grass seeder.

Was this review helpful? (196) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TWS63
Groveland, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
murray 24" riding lawnmower
5/1/2016

Customer review by SpunkyGrama

5.0 stars 5/1/2016 by SpunkyGrama
by SpunkyGrama

I LOVE this little machine!!!! I am a 62 year old woman tired of push mowing. My lawn is small and this little mower can weave in and out of everywhere! I am in no way a Rocket Scientist. This is the easiest ever to operate!!! My lawn looks beautiful when i am done and I have energy to do other things afterwards. I just love it!!!! Its a mean little machine!!!!

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpunkyGrama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
don't buy
6/12/2016

Customer review by reggie

1.0 stars 6/12/2016 by reggie
by reggie

Who can I put this! I first love the mower it ran good, the cut is good for the first 3 times cutting my yard. After that I started having problem's it would not start it has Gas in it, I also checked the oil. Well I sent it to the shop he advise it was a belt issue. OK it ran OK with a lot of vibration when I got it back. Then after I shut it off and try ed to restart it! It would not start, well back to the shop it went, I got it back and was advise it had water in the carburetor and the pull was bad, and need an air filter. Or when it started the mower sounded real strong I felt like the problem has been fixed well the mower would not stay started and keep cutting off and back to not starting at all. Take it from me if I had the funds I would have bought a different mower. This mower is not with the money you spend on it now i'm back to pushing.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reggie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Even though a good deal, don't waste your money
6/3/2014

Customer review by NameWithheld331

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by NameWithheld331
by NameWithheld331
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really thought that this would be a good mower for my purposes. It was for the first time I used it. As soon as I put my second tank of gas in, it would not start, at all. I put a trickle charger on it, but the battery was fine. So I found out that the larger (20 amp) fuse was burned out. So I replaced it. While not difficult to replace, you have to take alot of things apart on the unit to access it. (removed the seat, removed the gromets, removed the handle of the shifter so that you can remove the plastic housing, unhook the battery and unhook the ignition cable. Again, while not hard, just time consuming. So again, replaced the fuse, was able to start it once, but it conked out and fuse was blown again. Went through the same process, taking everything apart, and putting back together. Finally I've called tech support and they're sending me some sort of relay cable that that they think might be bad. Supposed to be here in 5-7 days. It's 7 days now. So, here I am with grass growing and have only been able to use it once in the three weeks that I've owned. it.

Was this review helpful? (182) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NameWithheld331
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Right size
5/1/2016

Customer review by vernonite

4.0 stars 5/1/2016 by vernonite
by vernonite

I purchased this model which is narrow enough to pass through my yard gate and does not use much space in the garage (parks between vehicles). It was easy to assemble, although the instructions for mounting seat were not accurate. It came with oil in engine and a small amount of gas. It started up immediately. The clutch is quite jerky takes getting use to. Annoying feature is need to stop blade in order to use reverse.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vernonite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent small rider. Good value. Now pros/cons
3/18/2013

Customer review by HaveTrumpetWillTravel

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by HaveTrumpetWillTravel
by HaveTrumpetWillTravel

Bought to mow a gently sloping 3/4 acre. Pros: Easy assembly, started right up, well-suited for smaller yards. PTO (blade) engagement is as gentle as any I've used, no bogging down. Same goes for the transit speeds: can shift-on-the-fly with clutch/brake pedal half-way down. Very comfy and user friendly. Light weight so you can push it easily without starting. I am 6'4" / 220 lbs., it fits me well. Cons: Engine has no speed control, very small fuel tank; if there is an oil drain-plug #can't find it# you can't get to it. On the plus side, the B & S OHV engine is around 8 h.p., it would be good to be able to do oil changes easier though, plus be able to throttle down. This one runs a constant 3,200 rpm until taxed, then it throttles-up. #Have a tachometer/hour meter on mine that I added myself#. All in all a very decent U.S.A. made mower at a nice price point.

Was this review helpful? (549) (100)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HaveTrumpetWillTravel
Waynesboro, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Buy something else
4/27/2014

Customer review by MDeasternshore

2.0 stars 4/27/2014 by MDeasternshore
by MDeasternshore

Was looking for a smaller mower for a 1/2 acre lawn that would fit in my garage and turn better around trees. This looked like a great solution. The website says it come with an adjustable steering column, mulching kit and oil draining kit. What I got was a unit that was covered in bird excrement...could have at least wiped off an $800 purchase...no mulching kit, no oil draining kit, no adjustable steering column and a battery that was undersized, a year old, and deader than a doorknob. The mower also has no choke, can't pull anything and I could never get to run. I put a charger on the battery and it would no hold a charge...date on battery shows it was built over a year ago! The only good thing was that Walmart took it back and apologized for selling me what turned out to be last years model. Paid $200 more and got a Troybilt similar model at Lowes. It also came with a free pull behind trailer.

Was this review helpful? (156) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MDeasternshore
Eastern Shore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
A week of riding, newbie
4/7/2016

Customer review by Seaworthy

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Seaworthy
by Seaworthy

I'm 69 yrs old, 230 lbs, 5'2", no mechanical know-how. I've read the feedback to date & the one about not cutting in reverse is not a problem to me. My weight and short height *are* little problems: I really dislike the below-the-seat location of the ignition key and the Shift lever and the Shift knob coming off in your hand and the *very* short length of the Shift lever -- meaning that you have to really reach down between your legs to Shift. I've never had or ridden a riding mower before, so all this is a big adjustment for me. As for the adjustment of the seat and the leg reaching the brake pedal, my short leg and pot belly are a problem: The seat has 5 adjustment locations, and the farthest short is what I need but my belly then hits the steering wheel, such that only the next-to-last is available to me with a little bit of straining forward to reach the pedal. I solved the Shift lever length by adding a 6" metal pipe snugly fitting onto the lever, which now makes the Shifting fantastic without having to reach down. A screw-on cap replaced the fall-off knob, and the result looks factory-made. There hasn't been much grass to cut, but I did the 3" on a patch and matched the previous cut length. I'm practicing driving daily, all at Speed-1, which is fine for my needs but on a straigtaway distance is slow. Can't imagine how fast the higher speeds are and won't find out. Loading it at the store, 3 Walmart young employees had trouble, 340 lbs, worse for me and a neighbor to unload it at home. Since I'm mechanically challenged, will need to find a professional for ongoing maintenance. Overall, it's been fun riding so far.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seaworthy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job
5/1/2014

Customer review by SUFM

4.0 stars 5/1/2014 by SUFM
by SUFM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am 65 years old and not able to push a mower anymore, especially during summer. But I only have a small yard and a 30 or 42 inch riding mower would be more of a hinderance instead of a help. This mower fills the bill. My mower is a new 2014 model so some of the comments made by others may not apply. There is a battery with my mower (a little box mounted on the left side of the frame). And if you read the instructions they give you all the information you need including the fact that you need a siphon to clean out old oil. A siphon came with my mower. Murray was sold to Briggs & Stratton who sold the rights to the name and to manufacture the mower to MTD. So if you have a problem you should contact MTD. But the number one issue I have seen with other reviews is they didn't READ THE MANUAL. The only problem I had was a missing rubber mount which MTD is sending me.

Was this review helpful? (96) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SUFM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Mower
4/19/2016

Customer review by Mower

4.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Mower
by Mower

Very nice mower. Good quality. Easy to start and maneuver. Only caution is it is a 24" deck and with the overall width fairly narrow, it can we a little "tippy" on hills.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
24" Murray Riding Mower
6/25/2016

Customer review by Wayno

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Wayno
by Wayno
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did some research on line to specifically find a narrow cutting riding mower and found the Murray available at Walmart. I love having narrow lines in my yard because I feel that it looks so much better than the wider 42" and larger cuts. With this mower I can mow my yard on a diagonal and it looks terrific. I have no problems with this unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wayno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great lil mower
4/14/2014

Customer review by DoctorJM

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by DoctorJM
by DoctorJM

Keep in mind this mower is designed for small yards!!! Great mower, put on seat and steering wheel, connected battery cables, added gas and oil, mower was good to go. Mine did come with mulcher, I see where some did not, can't explain or complain about that mystery. I have slight decline in yard, so I found myself sifting my weight because it felt like I was going to tip over, but expected due to design of small riding mower. Still saved myself time and pushing effort by using mower, no buyers remorse here. (Purchased on 10 Apr 14). I'm sitting here thinking of a reason to give it a 4 star just because I always think theres room for improvement in everything, so I giving it a 4 star due to oil draining issue, some came with syphon mine did not, can't win them all.

Was this review helpful? (69) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctorJM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected
5/4/2014

Customer review by Mowerstuff

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Mowerstuff
by Mowerstuff
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a riding mower that I purchased from Sears over 15 years ago and it still ran great but I moved to a property that requires a slightly smaller blade. I was somewhat reluctant to buy the Murray 24" mower but after reading reviews on it I thought I would take the chance. When I got it home I made sure it had oil and I fueled it up. After hooking up the battery (two simple slide on connectors) it started right up. It doesn't have a throttle control so the engine runs at full RPM all the time but the engine is actually pretty quiet and it's not an issue. The gear selection is simple and described as shift on the fly but I always stop it to change gears. The turning radius is really good for tight areas as well. I've only used it twice but so far I'm impressed with the performance and for the price I'm not sure I could have done any better.

Was this review helpful? (58) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mowerstuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best little mowor
12/25/2015

Customer review by Kcy4

4.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Kcy4
by Kcy4

I have a small yard and this riding mower is perfect fit. It did not start at first because the ignition switch was plug in incorrectly and 5amp fuse blown corrected switch plug replaced fuse have not had a problem since. It's a great little machine

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kcy4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
niffty little mower
4/16/2014

Customer review by nebraskahandyman123

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by nebraskahandyman123
by nebraskahandyman123

Two years ago my mom bought a 28 inch rider from sears she hated it. The controls were hard for her to operate and use and it turned like a lumber wagon. We were in our local walmart and seen this little murry rider and checked it out.From the looks it seemed perfect. Weve only ised it once so far but its a fun little mower to use,plenty of power it toook me about 20 minites to have it ready to mow.Mpms only complant is getting it out of nuetral to forward but i tokd her i could fix that with a little filling o the plastic. She was so excited to try it, turns on a dime and gives you a nickles change. Im so glad walmart is stocking murry mowers again. Seems this little red mower was designed with the elderly in mind.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nebraskahandyman123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Murray 24" Rear Engine Riding Mower with Mulch Kit
7/12/2016

Customer review by WinnieThePooh

4.0 stars 7/12/2016 by WinnieThePooh
by WinnieThePooh

Not bad for the price. Started right up! It would be nice if it comes with the battery charger :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WinnieThePooh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 214 total reviews
1-20 of 214 reviews