Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 234 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

234 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

234 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
101
4 stars
79
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
30
1-20 of 227 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews
my big sis
6/1/2016

Customer review by VALENTINE

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by VALENTINE
by VALENTINE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i buy this for my big sis for she got a big yard the that hours to cut but with the new one i buy her she can now ride than walk

Was this review helpful? (9) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VALENTINE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for small lawns such as mine.
5/12/2013

Customer review by Mowerjockey

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Mowerjockey
by Mowerjockey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The mower has a small fuel tank and after running out of gas a few times the engine is nearly impossible to restart without putting gas directly into the cylinder to get it to fire up and start. I believe the problem is priming the fuel pump on this Briggs engine. I wish that the engine had a fuel line squeeze ball or finger push primer. Its nearly impossible to drain oil so you must purchase an oil vacuum pump. Also some sort of hitch would have been nice. I found that you cannot go into reverse while cutting blade is engaged, the engine will stall out This mower was advertised as shift on the go but the manual strictly forbids this action. The operation levers are awkward but I'm learning. On the good side the engine has all the power I need as I weigh 300 lbs and cuts without strain, turn radius is good and enjoyable overall to operate. This is our first rider of any kind. We are now retired and this machine makes a world of difference in our lawn care needs for its size.

Was this review helpful? (233) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mowerjockey
Flint MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tractor doesn't seem to exist to Murray.
4/15/2013

Customer review by TWS63

1.0 stars 4/15/2013 by TWS63
by TWS63

What a nightmare! I called The dedicated Murray help line Walmart lists on it page. I gave the gentleman that answered the name and model number of tractor. He could not find anything on this tractor its like it didn't exist. I went to the Murray home page itself typed in my model number and a picture of the tractor came up with a number to call. The gentleman from Murray also knew nothing about this tractor and even went as far as to ask me why i called this number. I said because Its a Murray tractor this is the Murray website it shows the tractor on the website but you know nothing about it. UNBELIEVABLE. Then he wanted to give me the Number for TORO! It looks like you either have to remove engine or buy siphon pump to change oil in this thing! For some reason the drain plug is between the engine and the frame. They should have stamped a hole in frame where plug is to allow a socket to get to it. Also no hitch to pull a small wagon or grass seeder.

Was this review helpful? (220) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TWS63
Groveland, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Even though a good deal, don't waste your money
6/3/2014

Customer review by NameWithheld331

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by NameWithheld331
by NameWithheld331
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really thought that this would be a good mower for my purposes. It was for the first time I used it. As soon as I put my second tank of gas in, it would not start, at all. I put a trickle charger on it, but the battery was fine. So I found out that the larger (20 amp) fuse was burned out. So I replaced it. While not difficult to replace, you have to take alot of things apart on the unit to access it. (removed the seat, removed the gromets, removed the handle of the shifter so that you can remove the plastic housing, unhook the battery and unhook the ignition cable. Again, while not hard, just time consuming. So again, replaced the fuse, was able to start it once, but it conked out and fuse was blown again. Went through the same process, taking everything apart, and putting back together. Finally I've called tech support and they're sending me some sort of relay cable that that they think might be bad. Supposed to be here in 5-7 days. It's 7 days now. So, here I am with grass growing and have only been able to use it once in the three weeks that I've owned. it.

Was this review helpful? (191) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NameWithheld331
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work the minute I got it home
7/18/2016

Customer review by Veronica

1.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Veronica
by Veronica

I got it on sale at the end of the season last year. Right off the bat it wouldn't start. Since I got the extra warranty I thought, well I'll just have them fix it. So after paying $50 to get them to come pick it up, they call and say #1) it will take at least 4 weeks to fix, and 2) not covered by the warranty, surprise surprise. After spending another $100 + for them to fix it and being without it for what seemed like half the summer, I get it home and continue to have problems with it just a bout every time I use it. Either the gears won't catch, or the blades won't drop, or the battery dies immediately after starting it. Buying this has been like driving down the highway, rolling the window down, and taking a wad of cash and tossing it right out the window. Piece of trash, stay away from this item!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Veronica
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent small rider. Good value. Now pros/cons
3/18/2013

Customer review by HaveTrumpetWillTravel

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by HaveTrumpetWillTravel
by HaveTrumpetWillTravel

Bought to mow a gently sloping 3/4 acre. Pros: Easy assembly, started right up, well-suited for smaller yards. PTO (blade) engagement is as gentle as any I've used, no bogging down. Same goes for the transit speeds: can shift-on-the-fly with clutch/brake pedal half-way down. Very comfy and user friendly. Light weight so you can push it easily without starting. I am 6'4" / 220 lbs., it fits me well. Cons: Engine has no speed control, very small fuel tank; if there is an oil drain-plug #can't find it# you can't get to it. On the plus side, the B & S OHV engine is around 8 h.p., it would be good to be able to do oil changes easier though, plus be able to throttle down. This one runs a constant 3,200 rpm until taxed, then it throttles-up. #Have a tachometer/hour meter on mine that I added myself#. All in all a very decent U.S.A. made mower at a nice price point.

Was this review helpful? (559) (100)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HaveTrumpetWillTravel
Waynesboro, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Buy something else
4/27/2014

Customer review by MDeasternshore

2.0 stars 4/27/2014 by MDeasternshore
by MDeasternshore

Was looking for a smaller mower for a 1/2 acre lawn that would fit in my garage and turn better around trees. This looked like a great solution. The website says it come with an adjustable steering column, mulching kit and oil draining kit. What I got was a unit that was covered in bird excrement...could have at least wiped off an $800 purchase...no mulching kit, no oil draining kit, no adjustable steering column and a battery that was undersized, a year old, and deader than a doorknob. The mower also has no choke, can't pull anything and I could never get to run. I put a charger on the battery and it would no hold a charge...date on battery shows it was built over a year ago! The only good thing was that Walmart took it back and apologized for selling me what turned out to be last years model. Paid $200 more and got a Troybilt similar model at Lowes. It also came with a free pull behind trailer.

Was this review helpful? (158) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MDeasternshore
Eastern Shore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
DONT BUT THIS MOWER
4/2/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/2/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a piece of junk. It has so many flaws I don't really know where to start, so I guess the fact it wont start is a good place. It wont start with gas in the carb. so I put a shut off valve on the fuel line thinking if I l let it run out of gas instead of just shutting it off it may start with fresh gas every time I mow. It still wouldn't start.It wont run on any kind of slope, be it up it or across it. It has a split diff. and on a hill, one wheel just spins and you go nowhere. I can't get off and push it a bit, as it stops when you get off the seat, and then I'm back to the starting issue. It wont cut in reverse, you have to stop the change speeds and the list goes on and on. I'm back to using my old self propelled walk behind while thjs $1000 piece of junk sits in the shed. If your really determined to buy one of these, get hold of me, I'll sell you mine for half price. It's brand new

Was this review helpful? (84) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the job
5/1/2014

Customer review by SUFM

4.0 stars 5/1/2014 by SUFM
by SUFM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am 65 years old and not able to push a mower anymore, especially during summer. But I only have a small yard and a 30 or 42 inch riding mower would be more of a hinderance instead of a help. This mower fills the bill. My mower is a new 2014 model so some of the comments made by others may not apply. There is a battery with my mower (a little box mounted on the left side of the frame). And if you read the instructions they give you all the information you need including the fact that you need a siphon to clean out old oil. A siphon came with my mower. Murray was sold to Briggs & Stratton who sold the rights to the name and to manufacture the mower to MTD. So if you have a problem you should contact MTD. But the number one issue I have seen with other reviews is they didn't READ THE MANUAL. The only problem I had was a missing rubber mount which MTD is sending me.

Was this review helpful? (97) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SUFM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
murray 24" riding lawnmower
5/1/2016

Customer review by SpunkyGrama

5.0 stars 5/1/2016 by SpunkyGrama
by SpunkyGrama

I LOVE this little machine!!!! I am a 62 year old woman tired of push mowing. My lawn is small and this little mower can weave in and out of everywhere! I am in no way a Rocket Scientist. This is the easiest ever to operate!!! My lawn looks beautiful when i am done and I have energy to do other things afterwards. I just love it!!!! Its a mean little machine!!!!

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpunkyGrama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great lil mower
4/14/2014

Customer review by DoctorJM

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by DoctorJM
by DoctorJM

Keep in mind this mower is designed for small yards!!! Great mower, put on seat and steering wheel, connected battery cables, added gas and oil, mower was good to go. Mine did come with mulcher, I see where some did not, can't explain or complain about that mystery. I have slight decline in yard, so I found myself sifting my weight because it felt like I was going to tip over, but expected due to design of small riding mower. Still saved myself time and pushing effort by using mower, no buyers remorse here. (Purchased on 10 Apr 14). I'm sitting here thinking of a reason to give it a 4 star just because I always think theres room for improvement in everything, so I giving it a 4 star due to oil draining issue, some came with syphon mine did not, can't win them all.

Was this review helpful? (70) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctorJM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected
5/4/2014

Customer review by Mowerstuff

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Mowerstuff
by Mowerstuff
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a riding mower that I purchased from Sears over 15 years ago and it still ran great but I moved to a property that requires a slightly smaller blade. I was somewhat reluctant to buy the Murray 24" mower but after reading reviews on it I thought I would take the chance. When I got it home I made sure it had oil and I fueled it up. After hooking up the battery (two simple slide on connectors) it started right up. It doesn't have a throttle control so the engine runs at full RPM all the time but the engine is actually pretty quiet and it's not an issue. The gear selection is simple and described as shift on the fly but I always stop it to change gears. The turning radius is really good for tight areas as well. I've only used it twice but so far I'm impressed with the performance and for the price I'm not sure I could have done any better.

Was this review helpful? (60) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mowerstuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
niffty little mower
4/16/2014

Customer review by nebraskahandyman123

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by nebraskahandyman123
by nebraskahandyman123

Two years ago my mom bought a 28 inch rider from sears she hated it. The controls were hard for her to operate and use and it turned like a lumber wagon. We were in our local walmart and seen this little murry rider and checked it out.From the looks it seemed perfect. Weve only ised it once so far but its a fun little mower to use,plenty of power it toook me about 20 minites to have it ready to mow.Mpms only complant is getting it out of nuetral to forward but i tokd her i could fix that with a little filling o the plastic. She was so excited to try it, turns on a dime and gives you a nickles change. Im so glad walmart is stocking murry mowers again. Seems this little red mower was designed with the elderly in mind.

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nebraskahandyman123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Buy This Mower !!!
4/28/2014

Customer review by Hensarling

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Hensarling
by Hensarling

Don't waste $$ on the Zero turn radius mowers, if you have smaller suburban yard. My yards are all on grades (10-20 degrees) this mower has plenty power and can get into any space. If you have trees, flower beds, small gate openings and are not trying to mow an acre of flat land, this is the tool. VERY,VERY, happy with my purchase. Yes it jumps out the gate when you first start using it but it calms down within the first use. (probably the belts breaking in) Turning radius is awesome, circle your tree. Put a little gas in it, connect the battery, and GO. Very happy My only complaint is trying to leave a review on Walmart site.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hensarling
Huntsville Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works for me
6/1/2013

Customer review by Gartie

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by Gartie
by Gartie

I had no way to pick it up and I didn't want to ask someone to pick it up for me since I live over 20 miles from the store. So it was very nice to be able to have the option for it to be delivered at my house. There were a few parts that I had to put on it. I was glad that I had Ratchet socket set. Which I have used maybe 4 times before. It sure did help. I've mowed about 5 times so far. I really like it. It mows nice. It's a good size for my yard, about 75' by 100' lot. It's small enough to fit through my back gate. It had been years since I used a riding mower, and the thing I did notice I didn't care for is, it won't mow going backwards like they used to. I know it's a safety feature which makes sense, but a couple of areas of the yard I have to pull forward and back a few times to get it mowed. But no big deal, all mowers must be like that now.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gartie
Sulphur Springs, Ark.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fantastic riding lawnmower for small yards.
4/11/2013

Customer review by tryingtomoveon

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by tryingtomoveon
by tryingtomoveon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I first saw the lawn mower I came close to changing my mind. After going ahead and making the purchase; I found that it was a very good decision. Our last Murray lawn mower, was twice the size of this economy model, maneuvering around the yard was difficult and many flowers were lost due to the tightness of the pathways. This mower made all of the turns and the hurdles of the past were easily cut around. This was definitely a great deal, I just wish it had a headlight so I could use it after dark.

Was this review helpful? (226) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tryingtomoveon
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Mower for the price
5/15/2013

Customer review by heronhiker

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by heronhiker
by heronhiker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were looking for a small riding mower as the lots we have are not very large just too much to walk. This mower fits us perfectly, rides well, turns well, very easy to learn (we had never used a riding mower) and the best bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heronhiker
Butlerville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/17/2013

Customer review by Jberwalk1

5.0 stars 5/17/2013 by Jberwalk1
by Jberwalk1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Drives and mows great, Fits well in my small garage,runs up and down hills well,EZ to put togeather.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jberwalk1
West plains MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprise, Surprise, Surprise
6/3/2014

Customer review by B1man

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by B1man
by B1man

I brought this mower in March 2013. Mine did not come with mulching attachment. I went to change the oil this year and discovered the oil drain plug is not accessible. Briggs & Stratton rep. said it is apparently a design flaw. I see by previous comments that they apparently come with a oil siphon pump now. Must be the fix, because mine did not come with such a pump. I really liked the mower except for not being able to drain the old oil. They ruined a good mower by this flaw.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
B1man
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Mulch Kit for Mini Rider model 13A326JC058
12/18/2013

Customer review by SummervilleSC

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by SummervilleSC
by SummervilleSC

My father purchased this mower and he really enjoys it! But he wanted a mulching kit. So after a lot of phone calls to Murray and many Google searches I found a mulch kit model number 19A30015000 which is currently (12/2013) available from Murray at 1-800-828-5500 for $30 plus shipping. I don't know if Walmart carries this kit, but wanted to share this information for anyone looking for a mulch kit for this model.

Was this review helpful? (155) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SummervilleSC
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews