Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 187 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

187 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

187 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
61
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-20 of 180 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
Excellent small rider. Good value. Now pros/cons
3/18/2013

Customer review by HaveTrumpetWillTravel

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by HaveTrumpetWillTravel
by HaveTrumpetWillTravel

Bought to mow a gently sloping 3/4 acre. Pros: Easy assembly, started right up, well-suited for smaller yards. PTO (blade) engagement is as gentle as any I've used, no bogging down. Same goes for the transit speeds: can shift-on-the-fly with clutch/brake pedal half-way down. Very comfy and user friendly. Light weight so you can push it easily without starting. I am 6'4" / 220 lbs., it fits me well. Cons: Engine has no speed control, very small fuel tank; if there is an oil drain-plug #can't find it# you can't get to it. On the plus side, the B & S OHV engine is around 8 h.p., it would be good to be able to do oil changes easier though, plus be able to throttle down. This one runs a constant 3,200 rpm until taxed, then it throttles-up. #Have a tachometer/hour meter on mine that I added myself#. All in all a very decent U.S.A. made mower at a nice price point.

Was this review helpful? (490) (82)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HaveTrumpetWillTravel
Waynesboro, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fantastic riding lawnmower for small yards.
4/11/2013

Customer review by tryingtomoveon

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by tryingtomoveon
by tryingtomoveon

When I first saw the lawn mower I came close to changing my mind. After going ahead and making the purchase; I found that it was a very good decision. Our last Murray lawn mower, was twice the size of this economy model, maneuvering around the yard was difficult and many flowers were lost due to the tightness of the pathways. This mower made all of the turns and the hurdles of the past were easily cut around. This was definitely a great deal, I just wish it had a headlight so I could use it after dark.

Was this review helpful? (204) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tryingtomoveon
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Even though a good deal, don't waste your money
6/3/2014

Customer review by NameWithheld331

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by NameWithheld331
by NameWithheld331

I really thought that this would be a good mower for my purposes. It was for the first time I used it. As soon as I put my second tank of gas in, it would not start, at all. I put a trickle charger on it, but the battery was fine. So I found out that the larger (20 amp) fuse was burned out. So I replaced it. While not difficult to replace, you have to take alot of things apart on the unit to access it. (removed the seat, removed the gromets, removed the handle of the shifter so that you can remove the plastic housing, unhook the battery and unhook the ignition cable. Again, while not hard, just time consuming. So again, replaced the fuse, was able to start it once, but it conked out and fuse was blown again. Went through the same process, taking everything apart, and putting back together. Finally I've called tech support and they're sending me some sort of relay cable that that they think might be bad. Supposed to be here in 5-7 days. It's 7 days now. So, here I am with grass growing and have only been able to use it once in the three weeks that I've owned. it.

Was this review helpful? (112) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NameWithheld331
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mulch Kit for Mini Rider model 13A326JC058
12/18/2013

Customer review by SummervilleSC

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by SummervilleSC
by SummervilleSC

My father purchased this mower and he really enjoys it! But he wanted a mulching kit. So after a lot of phone calls to Murray and many Google searches I found a mulch kit model number 19A30015000 which is currently (12/2013) available from Murray at 1-800-828-5500 for $30 plus shipping. I don't know if Walmart carries this kit, but wanted to share this information for anyone looking for a mulch kit for this model.

Was this review helpful? (119) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SummervilleSC
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for small lawns such as mine.
5/12/2013

Customer review by Mowerjockey

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Mowerjockey
by Mowerjockey

The mower has a small fuel tank and after running out of gas a few times the engine is nearly impossible to restart without putting gas directly into the cylinder to get it to fire up and start. I believe the problem is priming the fuel pump on this Briggs engine. I wish that the engine had a fuel line squeeze ball or finger push primer. Its nearly impossible to drain oil so you must purchase an oil vacuum pump. Also some sort of hitch would have been nice. I found that you cannot go into reverse while cutting blade is engaged, the engine will stall out This mower was advertised as shift on the go but the manual strictly forbids this action. The operation levers are awkward but I'm learning. On the good side the engine has all the power I need as I weigh 300 lbs and cuts without strain, turn radius is good and enjoyable overall to operate. This is our first rider of any kind. We are now retired and this machine makes a world of difference in our lawn care needs for its size.

Was this review helpful? (119) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mowerjockey
Flint MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy something else
4/27/2014

Customer review by MDeasternshore

2.0 stars 4/27/2014 by MDeasternshore
by MDeasternshore

Was looking for a smaller mower for a 1/2 acre lawn that would fit in my garage and turn better around trees. This looked like a great solution. The website says it come with an adjustable steering column, mulching kit and oil draining kit. What I got was a unit that was covered in bird excrement...could have at least wiped off an $800 purchase...no mulching kit, no oil draining kit, no adjustable steering column and a battery that was undersized, a year old, and deader than a doorknob. The mower also has no choke, can't pull anything and I could never get to run. I put a charger on the battery and it would no hold a charge...date on battery shows it was built over a year ago! The only good thing was that Walmart took it back and apologized for selling me what turned out to be last years model. Paid $200 more and got a Troybilt similar model at Lowes. It also came with a free pull behind trailer.

Was this review helpful? (120) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MDeasternshore
Eastern Shore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Tractor doesn't seem to exist to Murray.
4/15/2013

Customer review by TWS63

1.0 stars 4/15/2013 by TWS63
by TWS63

What a nightmare! I called The dedicated Murray help line Walmart lists on it page. I gave the gentleman that answered the name and model number of tractor. He could not find anything on this tractor its like it didn't exist. I went to the Murray home page itself typed in my model number and a picture of the tractor came up with a number to call. The gentleman from Murray also knew nothing about this tractor and even went as far as to ask me why i called this number. I said because Its a Murray tractor this is the Murray website it shows the tractor on the website but you know nothing about it. UNBELIEVABLE. Then he wanted to give me the Number for TORO! It looks like you either have to remove engine or buy siphon pump to change oil in this thing! For some reason the drain plug is between the engine and the frame. They should have stamped a hole in frame where plug is to allow a socket to get to it. Also no hitch to pull a small wagon or grass seeder.

Was this review helpful? (142) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TWS63
Groveland, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great lil mower
4/14/2014

Customer review by DoctorJM

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by DoctorJM
by DoctorJM

Keep in mind this mower is designed for small yards!!! Great mower, put on seat and steering wheel, connected battery cables, added gas and oil, mower was good to go. Mine did come with mulcher, I see where some did not, can't explain or complain about that mystery. I have slight decline in yard, so I found myself sifting my weight because it felt like I was going to tip over, but expected due to design of small riding mower. Still saved myself time and pushing effort by using mower, no buyers remorse here. (Purchased on 10 Apr 14). I'm sitting here thinking of a reason to give it a 4 star just because I always think theres room for improvement in everything, so I giving it a 4 star due to oil draining issue, some came with syphon mine did not, can't win them all.

Was this review helpful? (57) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoctorJM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job
5/1/2014

Customer review by SUFM

4.0 stars 5/1/2014 by SUFM
by SUFM

I am 65 years old and not able to push a mower anymore, especially during summer. But I only have a small yard and a 30 or 42 inch riding mower would be more of a hinderance instead of a help. This mower fills the bill. My mower is a new 2014 model so some of the comments made by others may not apply. There is a battery with my mower (a little box mounted on the left side of the frame). And if you read the instructions they give you all the information you need including the fact that you need a siphon to clean out old oil. A siphon came with my mower. Murray was sold to Briggs & Stratton who sold the rights to the name and to manufacture the mower to MTD. So if you have a problem you should contact MTD. But the number one issue I have seen with other reviews is they didn't READ THE MANUAL. The only problem I had was a missing rubber mount which MTD is sending me.

Was this review helpful? (76) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SUFM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great mower for an average side yard.
4/4/2013

Customer review by marvelousmike

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by marvelousmike
by marvelousmike

The mower is great. I got this for my dad, who is 76, and he still enjoys being outside. This is what he wanted for his birthday.

Was this review helpful? (110) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marvelousmike
houston,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/21/2013

Customer review by Roushman99

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Roushman99
by Roushman99

Seems to be a good little mower.. Just got to get used to cut line on discharge side, it is further in than most, No drain for oil, and no throttle control. I am 6'1" @ 300# and we get along good. Besides the few cons there, its a good little machine !

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roushman99
Lincolnton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Parts not available!!!!!
5/9/2013

Customer review by intharuff

1.0 stars 5/9/2013 by intharuff
by intharuff

This little mower did a decent job the first two times I used it. After that it struggled to start (the battery is "baby small"). Also, you cannot get parts for this mower. Blades and such are not available at the store, at Lowes or Home Depot, at specialy mower shops (told me they have tried ordering and can never get them) and even at the Murray/MTD dealers and manufacturer line. The mower has a good price point, turns well and is attractive if you don't need a big mower, but not this one. Stay away.

Was this review helpful? (50) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
intharuff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great little mower
4/15/2013

Customer review by taxidermynut

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by taxidermynut
by taxidermynut

For a yard that is to small for todays Garden Tractors this mower is the ticket. With a 24" mowerdeck not only does the job in no time, the whole machine is narrow enough to get through my gates without having to take down some fencing. Glad I purchased this machine.

Was this review helpful? (94) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taxidermynut
southern oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great beginner riding mower
4/18/2013

Customer review by 203lawn

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by 203lawn
by 203lawn

Been using push mowers to cut 1/2 acre lawn, and finally I needed to purchase a ride on mower. This was a good value, cuts great and takes me 15minutes to cut grass, rather than 2 hours. It's a good buy, and very affordable.

Was this review helpful? (94) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
203lawn
Danbury,CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Better than expected
5/4/2014

Customer review by Mowerstuff

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Mowerstuff
by Mowerstuff

I had a riding mower that I purchased from Sears over 15 years ago and it still ran great but I moved to a property that requires a slightly smaller blade. I was somewhat reluctant to buy the Murray 24" mower but after reading reviews on it I thought I would take the chance. When I got it home I made sure it had oil and I fueled it up. After hooking up the battery (two simple slide on connectors) it started right up. It doesn't have a throttle control so the engine runs at full RPM all the time but the engine is actually pretty quiet and it's not an issue. The gear selection is simple and described as shift on the fly but I always stop it to change gears. The turning radius is really good for tight areas as well. I've only used it twice but so far I'm impressed with the performance and for the price I'm not sure I could have done any better.

Was this review helpful? (51) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mowerstuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
niffty little mower
4/16/2014

Customer review by nebraskahandyman123

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by nebraskahandyman123
by nebraskahandyman123

Two years ago my mom bought a 28 inch rider from sears she hated it. The controls were hard for her to operate and use and it turned like a lumber wagon. We were in our local walmart and seen this little murry rider and checked it out.From the looks it seemed perfect. Weve only ised it once so far but its a fun little mower to use,plenty of power it toook me about 20 minites to have it ready to mow.Mpms only complant is getting it out of nuetral to forward but i tokd her i could fix that with a little filling o the plastic. She was so excited to try it, turns on a dime and gives you a nickles change. Im so glad walmart is stocking murry mowers again. Seems this little red mower was designed with the elderly in mind.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nebraskahandyman123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
riding mower murry
3/2/2014

Customer review by buggs1958

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by buggs1958
by buggs1958

I have had both knees replaced and wanted something that would be easy to get on and off of,this mower was perfect,it does the job just as good as any larger one,I would recommend this to anyone who has difficulties getting on and off a rider,and wants a great machine.

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buggs1958
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to assemble easy to use
4/22/2014

Customer review by Rsgreene12

4.0 stars 4/22/2014 by Rsgreene12
by Rsgreene12

Ordered with free site to store-Very well packaged and 10-15 minutes to assemble-Also the 2014 models DO have a mulch plug and a oil siphon kit so if your local walmart has last years model just order online with free shipping to store.Nice little mower for a smaller yard.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rsgreene12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Riding Mower
5/27/2013

Customer review by initdeep

4.0 stars 5/27/2013 by initdeep
by initdeep

Pretty good mower, does turn a little to sharp and could tip if going to fast, but keep your speed slow and your fine. Hate the fact you can't mow in reverse, does have plenty of power and can go though some pretty tall grass. Doesn't have a mulcher kit but does cut clippings pretty small, best speed is at 2 if your yard is kind of bumpy. Happy with mower.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
initdeep
Muncie, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Mower for the price
5/15/2013

Customer review by heronhiker

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by heronhiker
by heronhiker

We were looking for a small riding mower as the lots we have are not very large just too much to walk. This mower fits us perfectly, rides well, turns well, very easy to learn (we had never used a riding mower) and the best bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heronhiker
Butlerville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews