Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 242 reviews
5 stars
106
4 stars
80
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
32
Sort by: 
1-20 of 235 reviews
1-20 of 235 reviews
my big sis
6/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
i buy this for my big sis for she got a big yard the that hours to cut but with the new one i buy her she can now ride than walk
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for small lawns such as mine.
5/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The mower has a small fuel tank and after running out of gas a few times the engine is nearly impossible to restart without putting gas directly into the cylinder to get it to fire up and start. I believe the problem is priming the fuel pump on this Briggs engine. I wish that the engine had a fuel line squeeze ball or finger push primer. Its nearly impossible to drain oil so you must purchase an oil vacuum pump. Also some sort of hitch would have been nice. I found that you cannot go into reverse while cutting blade is engaged, the engine will stall out This mower was advertised as shift on the go but the manual strictly forbids this action. The operation levers are awkward but I'm learning. On the good side the engine has all the power I need as I weigh 300 lbs and cuts without strain, turn radius is good and enjoyable overall to operate. This is our first rider of any kind. We are now retired and this machine makes a world of difference in our lawn care needs for its size.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (271)No (63)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tractor doesn't seem to exist to Murray.
4/15/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
What a nightmare! I called The dedicated Murray help line Walmart lists on it page. I gave the gentleman that answered the name and model number of tractor. He could not find anything on this tractor its like it didn't exist. I went to the Murray home page itself typed in my model number and a picture of the tractor came up with a number to call. The gentleman from Murray also knew nothing about this tractor and even went as far as to ask me why i called this number. I said because Its a Murray tractor this is the Murray website it shows the tractor on the website but you know nothing about it. UNBELIEVABLE. Then he wanted to give me the Number for TORO! It looks like you either have to remove engine or buy siphon pump to change oil in this thing! For some reason the drain plug is between the engine and the frame. They should have stamped a hole in frame where plug is to allow a socket to get to it. Also no hitch to pull a small wagon or grass seeder.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (245)No (62)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Even though a good deal, don't waste your money
6/3/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I really thought that this would be a good mower for my purposes. It was for the first time I used it. As soon as I put my second tank of gas in, it would not start, at all. I put a trickle charger on it, but the battery was fine. So I found out that the larger (20 amp) fuse was burned out. So I replaced it. While not difficult to replace, you have to take alot of things apart on the unit to access it. (removed the seat, removed the gromets, removed the handle of the shifter so that you can remove the plastic housing, unhook the battery and unhook the ignition cable. Again, while not hard, just time consuming. So again, replaced the fuse, was able to start it once, but it conked out and fuse was blown again. Went through the same process, taking everything apart, and putting back together. Finally I've called tech support and they're sending me some sort of relay cable that that they think might be bad. Supposed to be here in 5-7 days. It's 7 days now. So, here I am with grass growing and have only been able to use it once in the three weeks that I've owned. it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (220)No (49)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent small rider. Good value. Now pros/cons
3/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought to mow a gently sloping 3/4 acre. Pros: Easy assembly, started right up, well-suited for smaller yards. PTO (blade) engagement is as gentle as any I've used, no bogging down. Same goes for the transit speeds: can shift-on-the-fly with clutch/brake pedal half-way down. Very comfy and user friendly. Light weight so you can push it easily without starting. I am 6'4" / 220 lbs., it fits me well. Cons: Engine has no speed control, very small fuel tank; if there is an oil drain-plug #can't find it# you can't get to it. On the plus side, the B & S OHV engine is around 8 h.p., it would be good to be able to do oil changes easier though, plus be able to throttle down. This one runs a constant 3,200 rpm until taxed, then it throttles-up. #Have a tachometer/hour meter on mine that I added myself#. All in all a very decent U.S.A. made mower at a nice price point.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (579)No (105)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little rider mower
9/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We had this before and had to replace. Decided to go with same mower. However this one has a mulch kit which makes the yard look beautiful. Great little rider mower for small yards. Easy to transport in our Canyon pick-up truck. We will buy it again when this one wears out if it's still offered.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
this mower has been nothing but trouble,
5/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this is the worst purchace i have ever made. had to buy battery charger for that toy size battery $35:00 for that, It is still under warranty for 2 years, I have to deliver it to the place and pay a fee for them to run DIONOSTICs on it, I just tryed to crank it, would not start again, had to empty the gas go buy fresh gas and that STA-BIL fuel stabilizer, another $15:00 ...mower will still not crank.I got this for the size, I am a 5ft 60yr old widow,,I live alone,,They will not send any one to help me! i only have a small car. Even if i had a TRUCK I COULD NOT DELIVER IT ANY WHERE, SO PEOPLE BEWARE,,,Not a GOOD PURCHACE !!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Buy something else
4/27/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Was looking for a smaller mower for a 1/2 acre lawn that would fit in my garage and turn better around trees. This looked like a great solution. The website says it come with an adjustable steering column, mulching kit and oil draining kit. What I got was a unit that was covered in bird excrement...could have at least wiped off an $800 purchase...no mulching kit, no oil draining kit, no adjustable steering column and a battery that was undersized, a year old, and deader than a doorknob. The mower also has no choke, can't pull anything and I could never get to run. I put a charger on the battery and it would no hold a charge...date on battery shows it was built over a year ago! The only good thing was that Walmart took it back and apologized for selling me what turned out to be last years model. Paid $200 more and got a Troybilt similar model at Lowes. It also came with a free pull behind trailer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (168)No (52)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't work the minute I got it home
7/18/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got it on sale at the end of the season last year. Right off the bat it wouldn't start. Since I got the extra warranty I thought, well I'll just have them fix it. So after paying $50 to get them to come pick it up, they call and say #1) it will take at least 4 weeks to fix, and 2) not covered by the warranty, surprise surprise. After spending another $100 + for them to fix it and being without it for what seemed like half the summer, I get it home and continue to have problems with it just a bout every time I use it. Either the gears won't catch, or the blades won't drop, or the battery dies immediately after starting it. Buying this has been like driving down the highway, rolling the window down, and taking a wad of cash and tossing it right out the window. Piece of trash, stay away from this item!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the job
5/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am 65 years old and not able to push a mower anymore, especially during summer. But I only have a small yard and a 30 or 42 inch riding mower would be more of a hinderance instead of a help. This mower fills the bill. My mower is a new 2014 model so some of the comments made by others may not apply. There is a battery with my mower (a little box mounted on the left side of the frame). And if you read the instructions they give you all the information you need including the fact that you need a siphon to clean out old oil. A siphon came with my mower. Murray was sold to Briggs & Stratton who sold the rights to the name and to manufacture the mower to MTD. So if you have a problem you should contact MTD. But the number one issue I have seen with other reviews is they didn't READ THE MANUAL. The only problem I had was a missing rubber mount which MTD is sending me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (109)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Experienced
3/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
PROS: Bought this mower in 2015 and use it to cut a 1100sf yard in the city. Very maneuverable, dependable and economical. Small gas tank but I have gas left over at the end of the cut. Small enough to get into and through small places. Controls are easy to learn; read the manual! CONS: Changing oil requires a small vacuum pump ($5 to $8) which came with mine and is actually easier than getting under tractor and pulling a plug and nowhere close to being as messy. When sitting for a week + gas would flood the cylinder and cause hard starting. I installed a in-line shutoff valve ($2.49) and have had no further problems. I'm a happy camper with this little mower.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DONT BUT THIS MOWER
4/2/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a piece of junk. It has so many flaws I don't really know where to start, so I guess the fact it wont start is a good place. It wont start with gas in the carb. so I put a shut off valve on the fuel line thinking if I l let it run out of gas instead of just shutting it off it may start with fresh gas every time I mow. It still wouldn't start.It wont run on any kind of slope, be it up it or across it. It has a split diff. and on a hill, one wheel just spins and you go nowhere. I can't get off and push it a bit, as it stops when you get off the seat, and then I'm back to the starting issue. It wont cut in reverse, you have to stop the change speeds and the list goes on and on. I'm back to using my old self propelled walk behind while thjs $1000 piece of junk sits in the shed. If your really determined to buy one of these, get hold of me, I'll sell you mine for half price. It's brand new
Was this review helpful?
Yes (95)No (42)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this Mover !
9/10/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I needed a small riding mover for my yard. I have some health issues and pushing the mower was getting too much. Riding this mower makes cutting my lawn enjoyable and I don't dread cutting my large rear yard when it is growing so fast. The only complaint is the rear cover over the belts seems to vibrate and needs a foam seal to stop the vibration noise. I unplugged the wire going to the contact which shuts the mower off when you put it in reverse with the blades running. That bothered me, but no more. It is a great riding mower and I love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great lil mower
4/14/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Keep in mind this mower is designed for small yards!!! Great mower, put on seat and steering wheel, connected battery cables, added gas and oil, mower was good to go. Mine did come with mulcher, I see where some did not, can't explain or complain about that mystery. I have slight decline in yard, so I found myself sifting my weight because it felt like I was going to tip over, but expected due to design of small riding mower. Still saved myself time and pushing effort by using mower, no buyers remorse here. (Purchased on 10 Apr 14). I'm sitting here thinking of a reason to give it a 4 star just because I always think theres room for improvement in everything, so I giving it a 4 star due to oil draining issue, some came with syphon mine did not, can't win them all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (77)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than expected
5/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had a riding mower that I purchased from Sears over 15 years ago and it still ran great but I moved to a property that requires a slightly smaller blade. I was somewhat reluctant to buy the Murray 24" mower but after reading reviews on it I thought I would take the chance. When I got it home I made sure it had oil and I fueled it up. After hooking up the battery (two simple slide on connectors) it started right up. It doesn't have a throttle control so the engine runs at full RPM all the time but the engine is actually pretty quiet and it's not an issue. The gear selection is simple and described as shift on the fly but I always stop it to change gears. The turning radius is really good for tight areas as well. I've only used it twice but so far I'm impressed with the performance and for the price I'm not sure I could have done any better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (65)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works for me
6/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had no way to pick it up and I didn't want to ask someone to pick it up for me since I live over 20 miles from the store. So it was very nice to be able to have the option for it to be delivered at my house. There were a few parts that I had to put on it. I was glad that I had Ratchet socket set. Which I have used maybe 4 times before. It sure did help. I've mowed about 5 times so far. I really like it. It mows nice. It's a good size for my yard, about 75' by 100' lot. It's small enough to fit through my back gate. It had been years since I used a riding mower, and the thing I did notice I didn't care for is, it won't mow going backwards like they used to. I know it's a safety feature which makes sense, but a couple of areas of the yard I have to pull forward and back a few times to get it mowed. But no big deal, all mowers must be like that now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
murray 24" riding lawnmower
5/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I LOVE this little machine!!!! I am a 62 year old woman tired of push mowing. My lawn is small and this little mower can weave in and out of everywhere! I am in no way a Rocket Scientist. This is the easiest ever to operate!!! My lawn looks beautiful when i am done and I have energy to do other things afterwards. I just love it!!!! Its a mean little machine!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Buy This Mower !!!
4/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Don't waste $$ on the Zero turn radius mowers, if you have smaller suburban yard. My yards are all on grades (10-20 degrees) this mower has plenty power and can get into any space. If you have trees, flower beds, small gate openings and are not trying to mow an acre of flat land, this is the tool. VERY,VERY, happy with my purchase. Yes it jumps out the gate when you first start using it but it calms down within the first use. (probably the belts breaking in) Turning radius is awesome, circle your tree. Put a little gas in it, connect the battery, and GO. Very happy My only complaint is trying to leave a review on Walmart site.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
niffty little mower
4/16/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Two years ago my mom bought a 28 inch rider from sears she hated it. The controls were hard for her to operate and use and it turned like a lumber wagon. We were in our local walmart and seen this little murry rider and checked it out.From the looks it seemed perfect. Weve only ised it once so far but its a fun little mower to use,plenty of power it toook me about 20 minites to have it ready to mow.Mpms only complant is getting it out of nuetral to forward but i tokd her i could fix that with a little filling o the plastic. She was so excited to try it, turns on a dime and gives you a nickles change. Im so glad walmart is stocking murry mowers again. Seems this little red mower was designed with the elderly in mind.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic riding lawnmower for small yards.
4/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
When I first saw the lawn mower I came close to changing my mind. After going ahead and making the purchase; I found that it was a very good decision. Our last Murray lawn mower, was twice the size of this economy model, maneuvering around the yard was difficult and many flowers were lost due to the tightness of the pathways. This mower made all of the turns and the hurdles of the past were easily cut around. This was definitely a great deal, I just wish it had a headlight so I could use it after dark.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (235)No (40)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642846, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-