Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
66
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-20 of 189 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews
Great for small lawns such as mine.
5/12/2013

Customer review by Mowerjockey

4.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Mowerjockey
by Mowerjockey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The mower has a small fuel tank and after running out of gas a few times the engine is nearly impossible to restart without putting gas directly into the cylinder to get it to fire up and start. I believe the problem is priming the fuel pump on this Briggs engine. I wish that the engine had a fuel line squeeze ball or finger push primer. Its nearly impossible to drain oil so you must purchase an oil vacuum pump. Also some sort of hitch would have been nice. I found that you cannot go into reverse while cutting blade is engaged, the engine will stall out This mower was advertised as shift on the go but the manual strictly forbids this action. The operation levers are awkward but I'm learning. On the good side the engine has all the power I need as I weigh 300 lbs and cuts without strain, turn radius is good and enjoyable overall to operate. This is our first rider of any kind. We are now retired and this machine makes a world of difference in our lawn care needs for its size.

Was this review helpful? (127) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mowerjockey
Flint MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tractor doesn't seem to exist to Murray.
4/15/2013

Customer review by TWS63

1.0 stars 4/15/2013 by TWS63
by TWS63

What a nightmare! I called The dedicated Murray help line Walmart lists on it page. I gave the gentleman that answered the name and model number of tractor. He could not find anything on this tractor its like it didn't exist. I went to the Murray home page itself typed in my model number and a picture of the tractor came up with a number to call. The gentleman from Murray also knew nothing about this tractor and even went as far as to ask me why i called this number. I said because Its a Murray tractor this is the Murray website it shows the tractor on the website but you know nothing about it. UNBELIEVABLE. Then he wanted to give me the Number for TORO! It looks like you either have to remove engine or buy siphon pump to change oil in this thing! For some reason the drain plug is between the engine and the frame. They should have stamped a hole in frame where plug is to allow a socket to get to it. Also no hitch to pull a small wagon or grass seeder.

Was this review helpful? (145) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TWS63
Groveland, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Even though a good deal, don't waste your money
6/3/2014

Customer review by NameWithheld331

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by NameWithheld331
by NameWithheld331
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really thought that this would be a good mower for my purposes. It was for the first time I used it. As soon as I put my second tank of gas in, it would not start, at all. I put a trickle charger on it, but the battery was fine. So I found out that the larger (20 amp) fuse was burned out. So I replaced it. While not difficult to replace, you have to take alot of things apart on the unit to access it. (removed the seat, removed the gromets, removed the handle of the shifter so that you can remove the plastic housing, unhook the battery and unhook the ignition cable. Again, while not hard, just time consuming. So again, replaced the fuse, was able to start it once, but it conked out and fuse was blown again. Went through the same process, taking everything apart, and putting back together. Finally I've called tech support and they're sending me some sort of relay cable that that they think might be bad. Supposed to be here in 5-7 days. It's 7 days now. So, here I am with grass growing and have only been able to use it once in the three weeks that I've owned. it.

Was this review helpful? (130) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NameWithheld331
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent small rider. Good value. Now pros/cons
3/18/2013

Customer review by HaveTrumpetWillTravel

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by HaveTrumpetWillTravel
by HaveTrumpetWillTravel

Bought to mow a gently sloping 3/4 acre. Pros: Easy assembly, started right up, well-suited for smaller yards. PTO (blade) engagement is as gentle as any I've used, no bogging down. Same goes for the transit speeds: can shift-on-the-fly with clutch/brake pedal half-way down. Very comfy and user friendly. Light weight so you can push it easily without starting. I am 6'4" / 220 lbs., it fits me well. Cons: Engine has no speed control, very small fuel tank; if there is an oil drain-plug #can't find it# you can't get to it. On the plus side, the B & S OHV engine is around 8 h.p., it would be good to be able to do oil changes easier though, plus be able to throttle down. This one runs a constant 3,200 rpm until taxed, then it throttles-up. #Have a tachometer/hour meter on mine that I added myself#. All in all a very decent U.S.A. made mower at a nice price point.

Was this review helpful? (515) (92)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HaveTrumpetWillTravel
Waynesboro, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Buy something else
4/27/2014

Customer review by MDeasternshore

2.0 stars 4/27/2014 by MDeasternshore
by MDeasternshore

Was looking for a smaller mower for a 1/2 acre lawn that would fit in my garage and turn better around trees. This looked like a great solution. The website says it come with an adjustable steering column, mulching kit and oil draining kit. What I got was a unit that was covered in bird excrement...could have at least wiped off an $800 purchase...no mulching kit, no oil draining kit, no adjustable steering column and a battery that was undersized, a year old, and deader than a doorknob. The mower also has no choke, can't pull anything and I could never get to run. I put a charger on the battery and it would no hold a charge...date on battery shows it was built over a year ago! The only good thing was that Walmart took it back and apologized for selling me what turned out to be last years model. Paid $200 more and got a Troybilt similar model at Lowes. It also came with a free pull behind trailer.

Was this review helpful? (132) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MDeasternshore
Eastern Shore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Does the job
5/1/2014

Customer review by SUFM

4.0 stars 5/1/2014 by SUFM
by SUFM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am 65 years old and not able to push a mower anymore, especially during summer. But I only have a small yard and a 30 or 42 inch riding mower would be more of a hinderance instead of a help. This mower fills the bill. My mower is a new 2014 model so some of the comments made by others may not apply. There is a battery with my mower (a little box mounted on the left side of the frame). And if you read the instructions they give you all the information you need including the fact that you need a siphon to clean out old oil. A siphon came with my mower. Murray was sold to Briggs & Stratton who sold the rights to the name and to manufacture the mower to MTD. So if you have a problem you should contact MTD. But the number one issue I have seen with other reviews is they didn't READ THE MANUAL. The only problem I had was a missing rubber mount which MTD is sending me.

Was this review helpful? (79) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SUFM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great lil mower
4/14/2014

Customer review by DoctorJM

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by DoctorJM
by DoctorJM

Keep in mind this mower is designed for small yards!!! Great mower, put on seat and steering wheel, connected battery cables, added gas and oil, mower was good to go. Mine did come with mulcher, I see where some did not, can't explain or complain about that mystery. I have slight decline in yard, so I found myself sifting my weight because it felt like I was going to tip over, but expected due to design of small riding mower. Still saved myself time and pushing effort by using mower, no buyers remorse here. (Purchased on 10 Apr 14). I'm sitting here thinking of a reason to give it a 4 star just because I always think theres room for improvement in everything, so I giving it a 4 star due to oil draining issue, some came with syphon mine did not, can't win them all.

Was this review helpful? (62) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctorJM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected
5/4/2014

Customer review by Mowerstuff

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Mowerstuff
by Mowerstuff
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a riding mower that I purchased from Sears over 15 years ago and it still ran great but I moved to a property that requires a slightly smaller blade. I was somewhat reluctant to buy the Murray 24" mower but after reading reviews on it I thought I would take the chance. When I got it home I made sure it had oil and I fueled it up. After hooking up the battery (two simple slide on connectors) it started right up. It doesn't have a throttle control so the engine runs at full RPM all the time but the engine is actually pretty quiet and it's not an issue. The gear selection is simple and described as shift on the fly but I always stop it to change gears. The turning radius is really good for tight areas as well. I've only used it twice but so far I'm impressed with the performance and for the price I'm not sure I could have done any better.

Was this review helpful? (51) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mowerstuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not for yards with many obstacles
8/3/2014

Customer review by copinjam

4.0 stars 8/3/2014 by copinjam
by copinjam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Don't get me wrong, this is a great riding mower, however the awkward placement of the controls make it a pain to back up too many times. The 24 inch deck is great for yards with narrow areas and tight obstacles. It is a lot quieter than I imagined even with the PTO engaged. I wish that Murray would have had some accessories available for this rider such as a rear bagger, tow bar for a yard trailer and casters or skids for the mowing deck. I do recommend anyone purchasing this mower to also purchase a "Sharpie" magic marker and to darken the raised control indicators. They are left the same color as the body and hard to see in full sunlight. My mower came in a crate and was very easy to assemble, just the seat and steering wheel had to be attached. After reading the manual, checking the oil level and fueling up, I enjoyed mowing my lawn.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
copinjam
Port Charlotte, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
niffty little mower
4/16/2014

Customer review by nebraskahandyman123

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by nebraskahandyman123
by nebraskahandyman123

Two years ago my mom bought a 28 inch rider from sears she hated it. The controls were hard for her to operate and use and it turned like a lumber wagon. We were in our local walmart and seen this little murry rider and checked it out.From the looks it seemed perfect. Weve only ised it once so far but its a fun little mower to use,plenty of power it toook me about 20 minites to have it ready to mow.Mpms only complant is getting it out of nuetral to forward but i tokd her i could fix that with a little filling o the plastic. She was so excited to try it, turns on a dime and gives you a nickles change. Im so glad walmart is stocking murry mowers again. Seems this little red mower was designed with the elderly in mind.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nebraskahandyman123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fantastic riding lawnmower for small yards.
4/11/2013

Customer review by tryingtomoveon

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by tryingtomoveon
by tryingtomoveon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I first saw the lawn mower I came close to changing my mind. After going ahead and making the purchase; I found that it was a very good decision. Our last Murray lawn mower, was twice the size of this economy model, maneuvering around the yard was difficult and many flowers were lost due to the tightness of the pathways. This mower made all of the turns and the hurdles of the past were easily cut around. This was definitely a great deal, I just wish it had a headlight so I could use it after dark.

Was this review helpful? (214) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tryingtomoveon
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Mower for the price
5/15/2013

Customer review by heronhiker

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by heronhiker
by heronhiker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were looking for a small riding mower as the lots we have are not very large just too much to walk. This mower fits us perfectly, rides well, turns well, very easy to learn (we had never used a riding mower) and the best bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heronhiker
Butlerville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for smallish yard
3/31/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/31/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was not expecting this mini-tractor to be so powerful for it's size - but it's totally adequate for our less than 1/2 acre yard - great Briggs engine - smooth tranny - small turning rad. - we love it -

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mobile Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Riding Mower
5/27/2013

Customer review by initdeep

4.0 stars 5/27/2013 by initdeep
by initdeep

Pretty good mower, does turn a little to sharp and could tip if going to fast, but keep your speed slow and your fine. Hate the fact you can't mow in reverse, does have plenty of power and can go though some pretty tall grass. Doesn't have a mulcher kit but does cut clippings pretty small, best speed is at 2 if your yard is kind of bumpy. Happy with mower.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
initdeep
Muncie, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works for me
6/1/2013

Customer review by Gartie

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by Gartie
by Gartie

I had no way to pick it up and I didn't want to ask someone to pick it up for me since I live over 20 miles from the store. So it was very nice to be able to have the option for it to be delivered at my house. There were a few parts that I had to put on it. I was glad that I had Ratchet socket set. Which I have used maybe 4 times before. It sure did help. I've mowed about 5 times so far. I really like it. It mows nice. It's a good size for my yard, about 75' by 100' lot. It's small enough to fit through my back gate. It had been years since I used a riding mower, and the thing I did notice I didn't care for is, it won't mow going backwards like they used to. I know it's a safety feature which makes sense, but a couple of areas of the yard I have to pull forward and back a few times to get it mowed. But no big deal, all mowers must be like that now.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gartie
Sulphur Springs, Ark.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Buy This Mower !!!
4/28/2014

Customer review by Hensarling

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by Hensarling
by Hensarling

Don't waste $$ on the Zero turn radius mowers, if you have smaller suburban yard. My yards are all on grades (10-20 degrees) this mower has plenty power and can get into any space. If you have trees, flower beds, small gate openings and are not trying to mow an acre of flat land, this is the tool. VERY,VERY, happy with my purchase. Yes it jumps out the gate when you first start using it but it calms down within the first use. (probably the belts breaking in) Turning radius is awesome, circle your tree. Put a little gas in it, connect the battery, and GO. Very happy My only complaint is trying to leave a review on Walmart site.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hensarling
Huntsville Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/17/2013

Customer review by Jberwalk1

5.0 stars 5/17/2013 by Jberwalk1
by Jberwalk1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Drives and mows great, Fits well in my small garage,runs up and down hills well,EZ to put togeather.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jberwalk1
West plains MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mulch Kit for Mini Rider model 13A326JC058
12/18/2013

Customer review by SummervilleSC

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by SummervilleSC
by SummervilleSC

My father purchased this mower and he really enjoys it! But he wanted a mulching kit. So after a lot of phone calls to Murray and many Google searches I found a mulch kit model number 19A30015000 which is currently (12/2013) available from Murray at 1-800-828-5500 for $30 plus shipping. I don't know if Walmart carries this kit, but wanted to share this information for anyone looking for a mulch kit for this model.

Was this review helpful? (144) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SummervilleSC
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to assemble easy to use
4/22/2014

Customer review by Rsgreene12

4.0 stars 4/22/2014 by Rsgreene12
by Rsgreene12

Ordered with free site to store-Very well packaged and 10-15 minutes to assemble-Also the 2014 models DO have a mulch plug and a oil siphon kit so if your local walmart has last years model just order online with free shipping to store.Nice little mower for a smaller yard.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rsgreene12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice mower
3/28/2014

Customer review by Rasputinman

4.0 stars 3/28/2014 by Rasputinman
by Rasputinman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just finished cutting the lawn and must say this mower did a great job. The clutch is very touchy but given time I'm sure I'll get accustomed to it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rasputinman
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews