Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

198 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

198 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
62
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 stars
31
1-20 of 198 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews
Great action camera
6/3/2014

Customer review by chilillo

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by chilillo
by chilillo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Vivitar 787 HD is a great action camera with 1080p HD image, came with waterproof case all the mounts; outdor kit mount, surf kit mount, car mount, helmet mount. The Vivitar 787 come with all you need for your adventures. I do recommend this product if you are looking for a action camera.

Was this review helpful? (39) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chilillo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little action camera
5/2/2014

Customer review by Photoman321

5.0 stars 5/2/2014 by Photoman321
by Photoman321
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was considering one of other brands at a much higher price. The Vivitar was an easy decision for my first action camera. The high definition video is great for driving through real estate projects to capture video of development progress. Pictures are worth 1,000 words. Video is worth 10,000 words. If you need still images to use in presentation, screen prints work just fine. I have recommended the Vivitar 787 to friends and co-workers with kids. It was nice having all the mounts bundled into one package.

Was this review helpful? (53) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Photoman321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome camera
5/31/2014

Customer review by NCPIERMAN

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by NCPIERMAN
by NCPIERMAN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this camera i had doubts about but i fish daily and take pics and video all the time ,easy to use downfall is camera back screen shuts off quickly but it is still recording and thats what counts a quick tap of the the button and the screen comes back on. alot of bad reports from others but from me nothing but good,pic qaulity is great not as good as a go pro but this camera isnt 300.00 it is great HD and still pics come out great,as i said it is not a go prob but it is a good quality camera for the money. picture and video is a little grainy in low light but worth every pennie i spent ;)

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCPIERMAN
hubert nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Get what you pay for
9/15/2014

Customer review by DALMOBILE

3.0 stars 9/15/2014 by DALMOBILE
by DALMOBILE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Don't expect the quality of a "GoPro". Quality is okay, but the video struggles with high contrast subjects. My use was an on-board camera for car racing. Video was "washed out" due to the "darkness" of the interior versus the "bright" light through the windshield. I turned the camera around for a rear view and the quality improved. For ~$50 with a remote, it's a pretty good deal. It is "stupid" you cannot turn ON the camera with the remote. (Remote turns OFF the camera and starts / stops the camera). Came with numerous mounting options, none of which worked for roll bar in my race car:(

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DALMOBILE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vivitar DVR 787HD
9/8/2014

Customer review by TheRex

4.0 stars 9/8/2014 by TheRex
by TheRex
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's cheaper... Not bad,good picture quality,compact,touch screen it's good... I'm happy ... :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Price - But came with a Cracked Case
3/16/2014

Customer review by ParkourFanatic

2.0 stars 3/16/2014 by ParkourFanatic
by ParkourFanatic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shipping to the store was fast and everything you get with this kit is well worth the great price. My son is using it to tape his Parkour with his friends. The waterproof case had a long crack right across where the lens of the camera goes. My son says it's okay because he'll probably not use it but that was one of the selling features for me. Seems odd that a large crack like that, right in the middle of where the lens goes, wasn't noticed by the quality people. All in all my son likes it and has used it quite a bit. Wish it had come undamaged, though.

Was this review helpful? (13) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ParkourFanatic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
almost perfect!
8/24/2014

Customer review by nbell11

4.0 stars 8/24/2014 by nbell11
by nbell11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

love the camera its small verry waterproof and the biggest thing is all the attachments 7 different bases my favorite is the surfboard and handlebar base the only issue i see is the surfboard attachment dosent spinn 360 degrees. only forward and side to side witch is a little bumber,,and there are O rings that keep nthe bolt that holds the camera to the mount .... the O rings are a little fragile.. i broke 2....again.. NO. big deal at all i picked some up at my local hardware store and it did the trick......alll in all its a great buy love the lcd screen and the remote features i use it more than my go pro now becouse of the screen and remote.. great quality pics and videos under water too baught a 4 gb mini sd card and get 40 min of video or like 4000 pics i do highly recomend this to anyone who is looking for a gopro ut cant afford it or to anyone who wants one to almost destroy its cheap enough and just as good as my go pro mabee better becouse of the features and attachments.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nbell11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought to use as a dash cam, but okay for fun too
4/21/2014

Customer review by onawve

4.0 stars 4/21/2014 by onawve
by onawve

I have a G1W dash cam in my truck. (EXCELLENT DASH CAM if your looking for a AWESOME dash cam buy a G1W). My wife wanted a dash cam for her car, and I wanted one to use in our boat so we bought this. It's not the quality of a real dash cam like the G1W, but it works well. The water proof was wanted for boating. The attachments are awesome, though we wont use most of them. On Window 7, plugging the camera into the PC the menu pops up and you can click to play the videos. There is a little fish eye effect to it, but looking at the size of the lens it's understandable. The sound works well. Get a YouTube account (free) and you can upload your videos. I'm not sure how long the water proof case will last as where it locks shut is kind of weak feeling. I would recommend this camera if your wanting something fun while hiking, jogging, or on a joy ride. I wouldn't (WOULD NOT) use it to record precious memories you want though. I bought a 2 yr warranty for this.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onawve
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vivitar customer service is horrendous!
9/19/2014

Customer review by imagrumpyoldman

1.0 stars 9/19/2014 by imagrumpyoldman
by imagrumpyoldman

Tried calling Vivitar customer support line posted on their web site 5 times; each time their automated phone system hangs up on the caller. Have emailed Vivitar support twice with no response either time. Terrible customer support system. Waterproof housing broke after only a couple of uses, trying to get replacement and unable to make contact with Vivitar. I previously emailed their customer support inquiring about chest harness for this camera; finally got a reply after 6 weeks. This is a decent camera for the bundled price from Walmart, but if you have any problems with it or needs warranty service, you're out of luck trying to get anywhere dealing with Vivitar. Vivitar's customer support system is so bad it makes it not worth purchasing their products, because if you have any problems with your purchase after the sale, you're out of luck trying to contact Vivitar Customer Support. Buy another product from a reputable supplier instead of anything from Vivitar.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imagrumpyoldman
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
don't waste your time....
2/2/2014

Customer review by RebelWithACause

1.0 stars 2/2/2014 by RebelWithACause
by RebelWithACause

I see the price has jumped up from 49.88 to 99.00 .....it should drop to 19.99 This overall, with all the accessories, seems like a great deal. It would be if it was a little more user friendly. Some of the pictures in the tiny manual didn't look like the product accessory given. Very vague instructions. Opened mine up to find one of the mounts was broken. Not such a big deal. Used it once, filmed a car video. Thought it was filming consistently, but it paused and restarted every 3 mins. Not such a big deal, the touch screen is difficult to use unless you have tiny fingers. The next time I went to use it, I mounted it on my Motorcycle, turned it on....it showed it working. Got to my destination, only to find out the screen had froze up. Per instructions, pushed in the reset button, it unfroze but lost all if any video it had recorded. Now, the next time I went to use it, it would not even come on. Got my money back.....don't waste your time on this one!

Was this review helpful? (53) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RebelWithACause
Savannah, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great camera for cruising
6/14/2014

Customer review by sapphopride

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by sapphopride
by sapphopride
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this camera for 2 reasons, to use while riding my motorcycle and also to use for water sport activities. I LOVE this camera for those purposes. I think at $50 you really couldn't ask for any more, all of the mounts are worth that to me. The video is pretty good, and the sound is so sensitive it actually picked up everything I was saying through the helmet. It takes awesome photos and with the vivitar download you have great organizing and editing tools. It's easy to use with a touch screen that is really self explanatory. My only complaint is that the directions for mounts are non existent. The helmet mount is for a bike helmet with big air holes, not a solid motorcycle helmet. I ended up using the car mount (suction cup) which held very well up to speeds of 120 mph. So I'd like to see a better description of the mounts and how they can be used, but a great camera overall for young and old.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sapphopride
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better then I thought it was going to be.
7/29/2014

Customer review by MarysvilleOhioMom

4.0 stars 7/29/2014 by MarysvilleOhioMom
by MarysvilleOhioMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really wanted a GoPro camera to mount on guns, bows, and crossbows to video target shooting and hunts. We found this package deal online and decided to try it. I figured that if it was terrible, I would return it and save for a GoPro. Needless to say, I am keeping it and may buy another. Took it out of the box, mounted it in my car to test it, couldn't believe how good it was. Went to the range with my homemade scope mount, fired rounds through a 17HMR, everything looked good so far. I mounted it to my .270, then fired away. The next day, I downloaded the videos and played them. Holy cow was I amazed. The camera took the recoil of the 270 with no issues. I now want a second one to mount on my son's gear. You cannot go wrong with this, there is only 1 downside that I see with it. The videos do break up into 3 to 5 minute increments. For what I am using it for, this is not a big issue. I do wish it had a removable battery so I can have extras.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarysvilleOhioMom
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cluncky and poor design
2/10/2014

Customer review by 24and24

1.0 stars 2/10/2014 by 24and24
by 24and24

I returned this camera in just a few days time even though I really tried to like it. I purchase it since it had a rugged dust and waterproof case, but this becomes a big stumbling block when trying to switch between camera modes. You literally have to stop what you are doing, remove the camera from the case, switch modes, place it back in the case, then reset the camera mounting. And that my friends, is absolute rubbish! If you keep you fingernails trimmed short, it will be very difficult to operate the case latch also. The video capture perspective is very odd and does not give a real feel look to what is actually being shot. As well, the sound quality is very muffled with odd noises that certainly are not heard in the real world. The only positives I can give this camera is that it takes a wonderful still image that is much better than a typical cell phone image. Also, it has a great array of mounting options that are probably more valuable than the camera itself. So all in all, I would not even consider this as an entry level camera. Simply save more money and purchase something that is a proven performer.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
24and24
KC, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
limited control access
10/21/2014

Customer review by saberblue

3.0 stars 10/21/2014 by saberblue
by saberblue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a cheap version of a go pro camera for hunting purposes. The cost was very good and it had a built in playback/view screen. My biggest complaint is that the 787HD only came with a plastic watrproof case, which is fine if don't need to access the screen. However, once incased ,you can not use any featrures, like play back,zoom in/out, delete, etc , except just to turn on/off, without opening the water proof case and removing the camera. Vivitar does sell a DVR 785HD camera very similiar to the 787HD, but comes with an optional case that can be used instead of the water proof one, which allows access to the controls. I returned the 787HD for the 785HD(Walmart doesn't sell the 785HD) because of the optional case,along with the waterproof case, bicycle clamp, and helmut strap. So far the battery life seems short, but I only need it for a short time anyway. I don't understand why the 787HD doesn't come with the optional case, and Vivitar doesn't sell one, so it's the 785HD for me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saberblue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More than worth the money!
7/24/2014

Customer review by mrpaul152

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by mrpaul152
by mrpaul152
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 12 year old son and I were looking in store to purchase Go Pro and was skeptical to spend almost $400 for the set up. Just happened to get redirected when checking out accessories in the store on my phone when this camera popped up. I was surprised when we had read it has the same megapixels as the top of the line Go Pro and decided for $50 what the heck we will give it a try and man is it a good little camera. It has quite a bit of mounting kits (some that we will probably never use) and the waterproof camera. My son could not wait to use so on the way home he talked me into taking him to the community pool so he could try out. Very impressive camera under water. Next he mounted on his bicycle and then the dirt bike. Nothing but new adventures awaiting him and he is super excited to be able to film them now. Thanks Vivitar for making this camera affordable and I hope you are able to make your fortune with this camera and put a dent in the Go Pro market. Did I mention the site to store shipping? Wow 4 days and it was there. Keep up the great work Vivitar!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrpaul152
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected
3/13/2014

Customer review by 0101010101

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by 0101010101
by 0101010101

I purchased the kit mostly because of the mounts that were included and that they were compatible with gopros. For $40, it was well worth it just for the mounts. Obviously the video quality isn't as good as my GoPro Hero3+, but it's pretty good for the price. The video starts to become grainy when there's an overcast but is still visible under a well lit area in the evening. The best part about the camera is that it has a touchscreen lcd display. The display automatically turns off by itself after a minute but there is also a button on the camera to turn it off or on. You can record in 1080p/60fps/30fps or 720p/30fps resolution. You can also record with the camera upside down by simply pressing one of the buttons on the lcd display. So far I've only used the camera in car mode since I primarily used it as a dashcam or security camera. The camera has a small blue led light in the front and although it's not too bright that it would distract other drivers, I covered it up with tape. When in car mode, it automatically turns on and records whenever it's plugged in. It divides the videos into 3 minute parts and continually records by looping over the oldest video files when the memory card becomes full. When it's not plugged in, the battery life lasts about 2 hours (when recording in 720p). With a 32gb memory card, you can record about 8 hours of 720p video. Overall, I'm impressed with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
0101010101
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for!
1/17/2014

Customer review by casper956

2.0 stars 1/17/2014 by casper956
by casper956
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Im going to return this unit, me and my friend purchase one. Their is an AUDIO sync issue & also the video freezes sometimes, I have tried many things for example: use a faster sd card class (10), I tried recording in different modes and quality, reset the unit,re-formatting the card which I have tried 3.. This issue is on both cameras. We are both returning it, if u don't care about the audio sync then you should be fine. The video quality is good, and is very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
casper956
mission, texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
**CARD ERROR**
6/2/2014

Customer review by Raltag

1.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Raltag
by Raltag
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was excited upon receiving this camera. It has a lot of mounting accessories for different activities. The problem I have was constantly getting a Card Error. I have 4 different types of microSD cards. Kingston Class 4 8GB microSDHC, Samsung Class 6 8GB microSDHC and Samsung Class 10 16GB EVO microSDHC. To my dismay, non of these worked. I tried to format each of them and even formatting the card through my Sony digital camera but the same thing happens. I also tried resetting it through the reset button to no avail. Initially, the Class 10 seemed to work when I put it in, but when I clicked on record, it gives that error. I also followed an advice to connect this to the computer with the card in it but unfortunately, it will not read it. I guess the card reader/writer of this camera is done. Luckily, I bought a 2yr plan for this for 5 bucks so hopefully I could make use of it. Otherwise, I will need to return it. I like this camera and all the accessories so hopefully I could get a new one or have it replaced with one that actually works. I suggest testing this camera right away to make sure you are not getting the error as I experienced when received.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raltag
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price. A lot of mounting options
1/19/2014

Customer review by Billdnj

4.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Billdnj
by Billdnj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's not bad for the price. But I have already broken a helmet mount and the latch for the water proof housing. A pen will open the housing just fine I used a knife and broke it.. Also if you are wondering it records in .avi It has to be converted to mp4. Before it can viewed on an I pad or used in iMovie. It does not have image stabilization, But the picture quality is very good. Also the battery last about 2 hours. You can film with the camera mounted upside down. It also records at 30 fps 1080p or 60 fps 720p. I have mostly used this camera mountain biking and am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billdnj
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Incredible deal compared to goPro, but mine broke
4/9/2014

Customer review by SlipHappySammy

3.0 stars 4/9/2014 by SlipHappySammy
by SlipHappySammy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let me start off by saying i purchased this bundle in February for the sale price of $40 including all mounts. It was a great deal and even at $55 I would recommend it over the goPro for anyone casually looking to use an action camera as when it comes to function they are pretty much identical. Anyway the camera is easy to use and does what it says but it isnt perfect. The touch screen controls are fairly cumbersome and laggy, the camera feels cheap and plasticky and it is terrible in any low light situation whatsoever. However, the video quality is exactly on par with what youd get using a $300 gopro. Sound recording is better than expected, and all of the included mounts work great. The water proof mount works, I snorkeled with it, and the adhesive helmet mount is solid. Now the reason I give it 3 stars is because I purchased in Feb and the unit has just stopped working in April. It lasted less than two months. The record button has broken and lost its click, meaning the camera records and stops recording every few seconds because the button is just stuck in the 'engaged' mode. I have emailed Vivitar about the problem and hopefully they will replace it, as the unit is supposed to have a 1 yr warranty. If vivitar replaces my camera I would give this camera 4 stars but as it is I have to give it 3 since it broke within two months.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SlipHappySammy
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews