Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

63 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

63 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

36%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 stars
28
1-20 of 63 total reviews
36%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
Bad batteries on all three of these!
1/26/2016

Customer review by KrisC

1.0 stars 1/26/2016 by KrisC
by KrisC

I bought THREE of these Dirt Devil Vac+Dust. The first one stopped holding a charge after about 5 uses. I was able to return it back to Walmart and exchange for another one. Brought it home, charged it, and began using. About 6 weeks to 2 months later, same thing. Battery died after about 2 to 3 minutes of use. Quit using and just continued to use my older Swiffer that I had bought this to replace. A couple of months later, I just so happened to be talking to my daughters about vacuums, and they said there were no longer using the Dirt Devils that I had bought them because they wouldn't stay charged for more than a minute. So that's a total of FOUR DIRT DEVIL stick vacuums with defective batteries. DEFINITELY NOT A COINCIDENCE HERE. And of course, it's been too long to return, so I basically wasted over $100 and still using my old Swiffer stick. Very disappointed. Apparently can't purchase batteries for these things, although if I could, it would likely cost more than the vacuum itself.

KrisC
Lafayette, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Total Waste of Money
12/21/2015

Customer review by justanoldguy

1.0 stars 12/21/2015 by justanoldguy
by justanoldguy
Top 1000 contributor

This item purchased from local Walmart* store in September of this year(2015). I have used it twice and have been totally disappointed in the performance of the sweeper! To wit: Charging overnight did not completely charge battery, with no indication of a fully charged battery provided, On/Off switch in handle will turn sweeper off at random times during use, Motor is not powerful enough to provide enough suction to pull dust / debris into dust compartment, When mop attachment is full of dust it must be cleaned using a real vacuum cleaner before proceeding, Mop leaves little blobs of collected dust on the floor, This expensive powered duster is no more than a manual dust mop with a motor. Hopefully, Goodwill will accept it as my gift!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justanoldguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top 1000 contributor
2015
1/27/2016

Customer review by dara

3.0 stars 1/27/2016 by dara
by dara

I love my cordless vac & dust , works great on my hardwood & laminate floors . The only downfall is it doesn't last , after about 6mnth s of use the battery seems to ware out & doesn't hold a charge I have gone through 4 of them in the last 1 1/2 years. would be nice to be able to replace the batteries..

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/27/2016

Hi dara! We can't imagine how frustrating this must be, but with continued usage, the battery's performance will decrease. Unfortunately, the battery is not replaceable, but the great news is, your Vac + Dust can go through a reset process to restore the run time. Give it a shot below: 1. Unplug your charger from the outlet. Leave it unplugged for about 1-2 minutes. 2. Power on the stick vac and let it run until the battery depletes. 3. Re-charge for a full 24 hours. After you've completed this process, your run time should be restored to 10-12 minutes. We can be reached via phone at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST), if you still have further questions. We've got you covered!

dara
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I JUST LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
12/17/2014

Customer review by Crystal

5.0 stars 12/17/2014 by Crystal
by Crystal

I just got this a few weeks ago and I just truly love it....I have a dog that sheds and also a lot of what I call Mystery Dust because it's a mystery where its coming from...lol anyhow, this makes it so much easier for me getting all this up off the bare floors and I have quite a lot of bare floor area... it's so lightweight which I need because I'm older and have problems with my arms and using anything heavy or hard to maneuver...it goes under the couch, table, desk, bed and does a great job....so EASY to empty, the button the releases the cup is so easy to push and doesn't hurt my fingers like others I've tried... I got the Corded version because I want it to run when I want it to run and don't want to wait for it to charge up before I can use it. The cord is a good length, but sometimes will use an extension when needed. Great job Dirt Devil....I just love love love my Vac+Dust! I also got your Spray and Mop....WOW having both of these makes my life soooo much easier and cleaner!

Crystal
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Advanced
Gender:Female
Dirt Devil cordless Vac+Dust
1/18/2016

Customer review by schh

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by schh
by schh

My cordless Dirt Devil Vac+Dust does not hold a charge and the power switch has not worked 100% of the time.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/21/2016

Hi schh! This certainly does not sound too good and we want to make this right. In order for us to better assist, you'll be receiving a private email shortly. Thank you!

schh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not as a expected
1/15/2016

Customer review by Nurse

2.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Nurse
by Nurse

I've used and loved dirt devil products for years but unfortunately this product is awful. It doesnt pick up particles from my floors, wish I'd bought another swiffer vac instead.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/16/2016

Hi Nurse! Surely, your Vac + Dust should have the best suction on the planet and not give you any issues during cleaning. We want to help! Poor suction can be caused by a few key factors like: a dirty filter, full dirt container, and low battery power. Give this a try: press the dirt cup release button on the body of the unit. Once done, remove the dirt container off the back of the stick vac. Next, gasp the center tab on the filter and pull out of the dirt cup. Rinse it under warm water and allow to air dry for 24 hours completely. If the battery power has significantly reduced, give this battery reset procedure below a shot: 1. First, unplug the charger from the outlet. Leave it unplugged for at least 1-2 minutes. 2. Next, power on the unit and let it run until the battery dies. 3 Finally, re-charge the unit for 24 hours. On your next use, the suction power should increase and you should be good to go. If you still need us, please call us at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST), leave us a comment on Facebook, or tweet us @DirtDevil. Thanks!

Nurse
TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Already stopped working
1/10/2016

Customer review by sandy64

1.0 stars 1/10/2016 by sandy64
by sandy64

I was so excited about buying this vac for my mother. But very sad when it stopped holding its charge for less then 30 seconds. It doesn’t even have suction in that 30 seconds. It has been kept clean after every use. I wish it had worked for her.

Comment from Kenya - 1/10/2016

Hi sandy64! That is unacceptable. You should be getting at least an 8-10 minute run time from your Vac + Dust. We want to help. Often times a simple battery reset will restore the run time. Try this: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the vacuum down until it completely dies. 3. Re-charge for a full 24 hours. That should do it. If you noticed the cleaner has lost suction it may be time to replace the filter. Replacement filters are always available here: http://bit.ly/1PQHd3l. Let us know if you still need us!

sandy64
Aztec, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great while it lasted!
12/28/2015

Customer review by Toogoodtobe true

1.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Toogoodtobe true
by Toogoodtobe true

I bought this vacuum in several months ago for my hardwood floor and stairs. I decided to switch from the stiffer vac and at first was so pleased with the performance. Recently I noticed the vacuum wasn't keeping its charge, I actually can't even get my living room floor done before it pretty much dies out. I can't find my receipt so warranty isn't an option. So like I said, it works great, but didn't last.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/29/2015

Hi there! We don't wish for you to be disappointed with your Vac + Dust and we're truly sorry to hear your of your troubles. We want to help resolve this matter for you! Please follow these steps below to get everything back in working order and if you still need anything further, please give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST), leave us a comment on Facebook, or tweet us @DirtDevil. We're here for you! 1. First, unplug the charger. It must be unplugged for 1-2 minutes. 2. Secondly, turn on the Vac +Dust and let it run until it dies. 3. Lastly, allow it to charge for 24 hours. After completing this procedure, the run time will be restored to 12-15 minutes. That should do it!

Toogoodtobe true
Nova Scotia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Truly a disappointment
10/12/2015

Customer review by Lee2

1.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Lee2
by Lee2

This had promise, a cordless vac/dust combo. I like the fact that the pads were flexible to be able to get under cabinets, baseboards. I like the fact that the pads were washable and you didn't have to buy refills etc. But that is where the happiness ends. Horrible machine, I should have returned it to Walmart where I bought it, but I threw out the box, and instructions after a few honest attempts at liking this machine. It will end up in the garage corner where the rest of the mops/dusters await to go to the dump, and all my hard earned money down the drain. After plugging in this machine and letting it charge for 24 hours, the max amount of time for vacuuming?? maybe 5-10 minutes maybe tops. That isn't enough time to vacuum my non carpeted main floor. IF you want to properly use the vac, this is not enough time to do a thorough job.... I guess you can only do a light vacuuming job which will not cover my main floor I guess I can only quickly "pass" over the kitchen, living room, foyer and powder room. Horrible battery life!!! Don't waste your time, energy, breath, or hard earned money on this one!!!

Comment from Kenya - 10/14/2015

Hi Lee2! In no way do we want you to be disappointed with your Vac + Dust. This model was designed for quick pickups and has a run time of about 8-10 minutes. The Vac + Dust Corded may be better suited for your needs. Take a look at it here: http://bit.ly/1rOkZ8z . Hope this is helpful!

Lee2
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't buy it. It sucks!
10/26/2015

Customer review by MrsSandy

1.0 stars 10/26/2015 by MrsSandy
by MrsSandy

It only runs for 10 min. I think it It needs more suction. I have kitchen, & space around very large area rug in living room & a normal size hall to clean & it won't stay charged long enough to do that. If the problem is u can’t keep it light in weight & have it stay charged long enough to be a real working product; I want this company to know; I don't need a product so light in weight that it won't do the job. I wish this company would use the idea of a battery like Hoover uses. The Hoover cordless FloorMate has a battery that runs 30 min with only a 3 hr charge time. I don't want the Hoover floorMate because I don't want something to wash my floors , I ONLY WANT • A dust & vac, • I want that soft cloth on the floor to prevent scratching like many vac's have. • I don't want wheels on the floors, the smallest vac's don't clean the floor as well. I HATE WHEELS they cause scratches on the floors over time. Dirt Devil please fix this problem; I know u can do it, & u will make the people happy. Remember, it doesn't have to be so light that it doesn't work. I don’t like tossing our money down the drain. I don't have enough money to buy garbage. Just fix it! Thank You Mrs. Sandy

Comment from Kenya - 10/28/2015

Hi MrsSandy! We appreciate your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our products. The Vac + Dust Cordless was designed for quick pick-ups. Your run time should be around 10-12 minutes. If you need it to run a bit longer, our corded version may be better suited to your needs. Check it out here: http://bit.ly/1rOkZ8z. Hope this is helpful!

MrsSandy
Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste of money
12/31/2015

Customer review by Sarah

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Sarah
by Sarah

Got this product for Christmas. I have two dogs so I was looking for a light vac for daily use on hardwood floors. This vac keeps shutting off after 2 or so minutes of use. Have to hold down the power button to get it to stay on. The concept of this product is exactly what I want but if it won't stay on, I can't use it! Hopefully this product can be returned since it was a gift, otherwise it is going in the trash.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarah
Would recommend to a friend? No
worthless
12/17/2015

Customer review by stan

1.0 stars 12/17/2015 by stan
by stan

Very weak suction from the cordless model. A waste of time and money...good idea though.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/18/2015

Hi Stan! In no way do we wish for you to feel as though you've wasted your time or money, for that matter. We want to help give you a few tips to get your Vac +Dust working like new. If the dirt cup is full, we suggest emptying it when it reaches the max fill line. This should be done regularly. To access the filter, press the dirt cup release button located above the cup on the body of the unit. Then, grasp filter tab and pull the filter out from the dirt cup. Now, hold the filter under running water and rinse until the dirt disappears. Do not use soap or detergent. On your next use, your stick vac should work like never before. Hope this was helpful! `

stan
Fairplay, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dies in a year
12/7/2015

Customer review by btquantum

3.0 stars 12/7/2015 by btquantum
by btquantum

I bought this about a year ago and love the feautures! We had wood floor put in our whole house and this worked great. However, just after 1 year the motor only holds a charge for 1-2 minutes. since I cant find the receipt (and I think we are at 13 months), I am out of luck. :(

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/8/2015

Hi btquantum! Oh no, your Vac+Dust should last more than a year and we want to help turn this problem around for you! With continued use, the battery's function will decrease and it's beneficial to reset the battery. Try this battery reset procedure below and after completing the steps, your runtime should noticeably improve. If you're still having problems afterwards, please call us at 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 EST) and we'll be glad to assist you. Thanks! 1. First, unplug your charger from the outlet. Leave it unplugged for at least 1-2 minutes. 2. Next, turn on the Vac+ Dust until the battery runs completely dead. 3. Finally, plug the charger back in and let the unit charge for a full 24 hours. On your next use, the average runtime should be around 12-15 minutes on a full charge. Hope this is helpful!

btquantum
denver, co
Would recommend to a friend? No
does not hold charge
12/9/2015

Customer review by elfie

1.0 stars 12/9/2015 by elfie
by elfie

i have had one for just over a year and loved it. but now it doesnt hold the charge anymore very disappointed

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/13/2015

Hi elfie! We don't wish for you to be disappointed with your Vac+Dust and have put forth this battery reset procedure to help boost up the runtime! Please complete the steps below and call us at 1-800-321-1134, leave us a comment on Facebook or tweet us @Dirt Devil, if you need any more assistance. Thank you! 1. First, unplug the vacuum from the outlet. Leave it unplugged for 1-2 minutes. 2. Next, turn on the stick vac and let it run until the battery completely runs out. 3. Finally, plug in the charger and allow the unit to charge for 24 hours. On your next use, the run time should improve and should last anywhere from 12-15 minutes. Hope this helps!

elfie
ont.canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cordless Dirt Devil Vac + Dust
12/24/2015

Customer review by Marg

3.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Marg
by Marg

The dirt Devil Vac + Dust cordless stick vacuum is ok for small areas. Since the vacuum is cordless the strength of the suction diminishes quickly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
11/29/2015

Customer review by Andrea

1.0 stars 11/29/2015 by Andrea
by Andrea

I received this as a gift in June for my birthday I absolutely loved it however in November it wouldn't stay on I have to hold the on switch in order for it to work I was so disappointed

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/1/2015

Hi Andrea! This does not sound like Dirt Devil quality and we want to help bring a resolution to this matter for you! We'll be reaching out to you privately to further assist. Thank you!

Andrea
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Save your money not worth the time or investment
9/29/2015

Customer review by HOSE A

1.0 stars 9/29/2015 by HOSE A
by HOSE A

I purchased this about two months ago. The pad it came with was not the best pad for my laminate flooring. The pad caused lots of friction during normal use. So then I went on the website and gave it one more chance. I decided to order the microfiber padding, thinking this should fix the problem. NOPE!!! Even worse!! The padding was too thick!! It gets in the way of the vac takes longer to pick up simple crumbs. NOT to mention it causes even worse friction than the original one. Come on Dirt Devil your engineers are not giving you quality designs. Go back to the drawing board please.

Comment from Joscelyn - 9/30/2015

Hi HOSE A! We have an idea as to why the pad may have friction during usage. When cleaning most surfaces in your home, such as: kitchen, bathroom, or hardwood flooring, it is important to ensure these surfaces are completely dry before using the Vac + Dust over those areas. If the surface is somewhat damp or moist, it will affect the way the mop glides. Try using a dry cloth to remove the moisture from the surfaces. We hope this clears up your concern. Let us know if this was helpful!

HOSE A
Santa Clara, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointing.
10/9/2015

Customer review by bbreaze

1.0 stars 10/9/2015 by bbreaze
by bbreaze

I bought this about a month ago and the first use was wonderful. Then cleaned out the filter and recharged it... For two days. It barely has a charge and isn't working well at all. Ran it a little, same story, third verse. Extremely disappointed.

bbreaze
Arcadia, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Portable and Handy
9/24/2015

Customer review by ranimal

1.0 stars 9/24/2015 by ranimal
by ranimal

Have only had for about eight (8) months. Takes forever literally to fully charge battery for such short usage. Now the on off switch will not work unless held in. I have owned other Dirt Devil products with no problems.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/13/2015

Hi ranimal! This is such a hassel and we would'nt expect you to deal with this. We want to keep you as one of our consumers and would like to reach out to you privately. You will be receiving an email shortly for more questions!

ranimal
Tishomingo, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't waste your money
9/25/2015

Customer review by Alice

1.0 stars 9/25/2015 by Alice
by Alice

Purchased 6 months ago. Use once or twice a week on hardwood floor. Already battery life is less than 2 minutes. And I have to hold my finger on the button as it turns off if I don't.

Comment from Kenya - 9/28/2015

Hi Alice! That is not good to hear. You should not be having any issues with the run time or the power button. We are sending you a private email. We want to help. Thanks!

Alice
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews