Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

120 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

120 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
13
2 stars
21
1 stars
55
1-20 of 120 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
Loose parts
7/11/2016

Customer review by HMinMI

1.0 stars 7/11/2016 by HMinMI
by HMinMI

I have received two of these from Amazon and both times there were three loose parts in the tank, resembling a dismantled check valve assembly. The tank also is not sealed at the bottom so filling and placing the tank would be difficult. Is there assembly required and how, as the tank does not appear to come apart?

Comment from Karissa - 7/12/2016

Hi HMinMI! Oh no, there should not be any loose parts inside of the tank for your Spray + Mop with SWIPES. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

HMinMI
Traverse City, MI, United States
Won't spray but once.....
6/22/2016

Customer review by Shamrocklady2

1.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Shamrocklady2
by Shamrocklady2

I loved my Dirt Devil Spray Mop, but it suddenly stopped spraying. When I get ready to mop it will spray the first time I pull the trigger. But then it just has no pump action and a tiny bit of water comes out. If I wait a minute and spray again it works once and then fizzles out again. It's like there's no vacuum. I checked and the top is tight. I followed your suggestion about the warm water, but that didn't do anything. It's not clogged as it does spray the first time. I've had it about a year, but it should last longer than that. Every Dirt Devil product I've had has been great except this one.

Comment from Karissa - 6/22/2016

Hi Shamrocklady2! Your Spray + Mop with SWIPES should last longer than this. We want to help. We appreciate you following the previous suggestions given. We will be reaching out to you for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Shamrocklady2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Makes mopping easy & cost efficient.
11/8/2013

Customer review by Nixterbocker

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by Nixterbocker
by Nixterbocker
Walmart associate

I love this product! It has all the convenience and ease of a Swiffer, but way more environmentally friendly - not to mention less of a strain on your wallet. I always hated the idea of having to waste swiffer pads after use and then have to keep buying more. The Dirt Devil Spray & Mop has reusable pad that you can easily wash after cleaning. I've used and washed mine at least 10 times and it's still intact! Great quality product for an awesome price.

Was this review helpful? (67) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nixterbocker
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
LOVE it! Much better than the Swiffer
1/20/2014

Customer review by Roxstar

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Roxstar
by Roxstar

I was a Swiffer addict, but after 3 of them broke within 3 months of owning them, I decided to look for something better. So far, I love the Dirt Devil mop. I love there are no batteries. I love the pads are machine washable (and I don't have to keep buying refills). I love the dispenser can be filled with the cleaning solution of my choice (and I don't have to keep buying refills). As for the person who said you need a screwdriver to take the cleaning solution bottle out is wrong. It just pulls right out, no tools needed. So far I haven't found anything I don't like. The test will be how long it lasts.

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roxstar
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great buy but they need to sell replacement bottle
5/11/2014

Customer review by TstOnline

4.0 stars 5/11/2014 by TstOnline
by TstOnline

We had to buy a second one since the refillable bottle broke. They should sell just the bottle as a replacement. We absolutely love how it cleans the floors! Sure the pad gets really, really dirty fast, but you put a replacement pad on it and keep right on going! The Dirt Devil cleaner is really good and you don't have to keep spraying the solution all the time. The very first time I did my daughters place (she bought an as-is, totally trashed trailer), the pad was totally black. She wanted to just throw the pad away it was so nasty. I soaked the pad in the washer with a cup of bleach and regular detergent before washing it. It came out as white as it was when we first bought it! I love this mop and I will never, ever go back to using a regular wring out mop again!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TstOnline
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
less work using a regular mop and bucket
12/6/2015

Customer review by JacarandaRose

1.0 stars 12/6/2015 by JacarandaRose
by JacarandaRose

I bought this thinking it would be easier to move around than a mop... NOT with every pull toward me the head flips its more work than the old mop and bucket. Thought it maybe easier using the curved part of the head going forward but no still flips. The sprayer is hard to depress 15 to 20 times to get ample solution on the floor and leaks when trying to add a new mop head or swipe. I tried using this 3 times and each time left me frustrated its going in the forgotten about corner in the Garage and pulling out my mop and bucket.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JacarandaRose
Would recommend to a friend? No
Trigger doesn't work
4/13/2016

Customer review by Mayflower4life

1.0 stars 4/13/2016 by Mayflower4life
by Mayflower4life

I bought mine at Walmart last Saturday, I was happy to have one for my wood floor. .but unfortunately it that trigger is getting on my nerves and I followed the instructions to arrange all the pieces properly together. .and if that famous trigger doesn't work normally, there's no way it would be able to spray. ..I bought it for 2 reasons 1) CORDLESS 2) PADS ARE WASHABLE so now I got disappointed -; ((((

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/19/2016

Hi Mayflower4life! We don't want you to feel disappointed in your Spray+Mop with SWIPES. We want to help. Please give this a try to get the unit to dispense: Pump the trigger 20 times and hold it down for 20 seconds. This will pump the water through and allow it to be dispersed onto the floor. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you! -Karissa, Dirt Devil Customer Care

Mayflower4life
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Better than I expected
11/27/2013

Customer review by NYTrekkie

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by NYTrekkie
by NYTrekkie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got rid of my steam mop and replaced it with the Dirt Devil - No cords to worry about and it works just as well if not better - The pads are thicker and tend to hold onto more dirt before being pushed around!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NYTrekkie
Riverview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Leaky mop!
3/28/2016

Customer review by Tina

2.0 stars 3/28/2016 by Tina
by Tina

I thought I as loving my little red cordless Dirt Devil spray and mop until I find the cleaning liquid disappearing too fast! There seems to be a leak in the system , when I mop a bit fast. I've taken it apart and can't seem to see why except that perhaps this is just the way it is made. I won't be buying their expensive cleaner again. I'll come up with my own. Too bad .I thought it as wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/12/2016

Hi Tina! Your Spray + Mop with SWIPES shouldn't leak during use. Please keep in mind the water will continue to spray as long as the trigger is held down, and will stop once it's let go. You can try holding the water tank over the sink to see if it leaks. If so, you may need a new tank number 440005479. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

Tina
Would recommend to a friend? No
great cleaning tool
2/4/2014

Customer review by YankeeMeema

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by YankeeMeema
by YankeeMeema
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have problems with my back and this has made cleaning my floors easier than I ever imagined. It does such a nice job on my wood floors and my bath and kitchen floors. I bought the sanitizing floor cleaner offered with it and it makes my tile floors sparkle. For my wood floor I use a squirt wood floor cleaner, I really like its cleaning power. I will say that I bought an extra pad to go on it thinking I would need it and it turns out I rinse the dirty pad under running water in my sink and its ready to go the next time. I haven't tried throwing it in the washer yet but I feel it would do just fine.

Was this review helpful? (19) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YankeeMeema
Schroon Lake, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Used it a few times now it doesn't spray
4/8/2016

Customer review by storm08

1.0 stars 4/8/2016 by storm08
by storm08

Cost to much for it not to work. The sprayer or trigger is broke after only using it a couple of times.... I may have owed it for 6 months but it stopped working soon after buying it

Comment from Kenya - 4/14/2016

Hi storm08! That shouldn’t have happened. We want to help. We’re sending you an email to better assist. Thanks!

storm08
Sidney, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Mop
3/12/2014

Customer review by DinBAMA01

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by DinBAMA01
by DinBAMA01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cheaper to use bc the pads are washable & you can use your own cleaning fluid. Works great!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DinBAMA01
Fultondale, AL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke first time using it
3/5/2016

Customer review by Mookah

1.0 stars 3/5/2016 by Mookah
by Mookah

I bought this for my Mother for Christmas, and she just used it for the first time today, as she is kind of old school and had a hard time letting go of her regular mop. I got it for her because its suppose to be easier. She set it up correctly, and the second time she pressed the red handle, it broke. Now, my mother is 77 years old, it wasn't her strength that broke it, it was a poor product. I hope they send her a new one. I do not have the receipt anymore.

Comment from Karissa - 3/8/2016

Hi Mookah! Oh no, that doesn't sound like Dirt Devil quality. We see you've reached out to us and we're currently working on a resolution for you. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We're here for you!

Mookah
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the hassle
5/9/2014

Customer review by Red1123

1.0 stars 5/9/2014 by Red1123
by Red1123

I first purchased this product about 4 months ago. We really loved the concept of the product because the pads are washable and reusable, we didn't want something similar with disposable pads. At first it worked great, but only for the first week. After the first week we started having problems with the trigger. When we'd pull the trigger it would spray the solution like it's supposed to the first time, but any subsequent time that we would pull the trigger it would be stuck from the first spray and would only spray out the tiniest little amount of fluid. Imagine my frustration as I am trying to clean my apartment, having to fiddle with this darn thing every 15 seconds to try to get it to spray. I ran warm water through the system several times like they suggest and it didn't solve anything. Interestingly enough, if the container which held the cleaning solution was not locked in, it would spray fine, as soon as the container was locked in, the trigger stopped working properly, like it wasn't fitting in the right way, even though the container was inserted properly. My boyfriend and I tried 50 different ways to get it work properly before taking it back and exchanging for a new one. We ended up with 3 of them by the time it was over and every single one was the same way. I finally gave up and returned the 3rd a couple of days ago because this product obviously has some design flaw. 3 mops in a 4 month time period and none of them worked right, never again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Red1123
Kingston, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poorly Designed
2/14/2016

Customer review by CanineCohort

1.0 stars 2/14/2016 by CanineCohort
by CanineCohort

I purchased this mop whem another brand mop that I was using broke, but I wish I had given it more thought before purchasing it. It is great for spot cleaning, but it will never work for mopping an entire room, as the design of the pad will not allow it to get into corners. Another problem is that, before I was finished, my 61 year old hand was very tried from constantly squeeszing the trigger. I wished I had kept the receipt so that I could return it.

Comment from Karissa Carrijo - 2/17/2016

Hi CanineCohort! We appreciate hearing from our customers. Your Spray+Mop should be able to clean corners because of the flexible edges on the microfiber pad. We strive to provide the best products and services, and your comments will be passed along. If you have any further questions feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST.) We’re here for you!

CanineCohort
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
waste of time and money!
3/19/2015

Customer review by BThornburg

1.0 stars 3/19/2015 by BThornburg
by BThornburg

 It had the features that made this a desired product. Many different types of cleaning pads, including dusting, scrubbing, and disposable. The cleaner bottle allows me to use my choice of products, including plain water. I have pets and grandchildren so I appreciate the ease and versatility of this product. Completely disappointed,  the first 3 pulls of the trigger, the tube from the bottle to the spray nozzle pulled apart. Called and filed a claim to have it replaced. Received a claim number and that was it. 2 weeks later when I was emailed a customer survey, I complained about being ignored. Dirt Devil sent me a new spray mop. I received it today, and it promptly broke the same exact way after 5 pulls of the trigger. This is more hassle than a customer deserves. I just wanted to mop my floor, not gonna happen with a dirt devil spray mop.

Comment from John - 3/20/2015

Hi BThornburg, That should not have happened and we truly apologize. We are sending you an email now. Thanks!

BThornburg
Minden, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Monthly
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
GREAT MOP WITH PROBLEMS
2/18/2016

Customer review by CDFN

3.0 stars 2/18/2016 by CDFN
by CDFN

I BOUGHT THIS MOP FOR WOOD FLOORS SMALL HOME. THE CONCEPT IS GREAT, BUT THERE ARE GLITCHES. THE SPRAY LEVER SPRING DOESN'T WORK PROPERLY , IT HAS TO BE PUMPED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE HANDLE CATCHES, EACH TIME I HAVE TO PULL IT,NOT JUST TO START AND THE SPRAY NOZZLE KEEPS GETTING STOPPED UP.

Comment from Karissa - 2/22/2016

Hi CDFN! Oh no, your Spray+Mop should dispense without issue. We have a few suggestions that ought to help: 1. Remove the water tank and run the port end under warm water. Use a paper towel to clean off any excess residue. 2. Look in the area the tank sits in. Use a wet paper towel to clean out. 3. Fill the tank with only warm water and place back into the machine. Squeeze the trigger 3 times then hold it down. This will help to clear out any blockages. Once completed the unit should start to dispense. If you have any further concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

CDFN
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Replaced mop
3/13/2016

Customer review by Nana

4.0 stars 3/13/2016 by Nana
by Nana

The first one I ordered would not spray at all. I contacted Dirt Devil & they replaced it free of charge & also sent a bottle of cleaner. This one works, Very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I needed.... Until it broke :(
3/20/2014

Customer review by Mcookie

3.0 stars 3/20/2014 by Mcookie
by Mcookie

I was so happy when I found this and the price was good too but I should have known it was too good to be true.  I clean homes for a living and was using a Swiffer wet jet but the motor in it that makes it spray the cleaner on the floor was so loud and it got expensive to buy the refills so I was thrilled to find this manual mop and I can use whatever cleaner I want?  Shut up!  But after using it for only a few months the trigger takes like 30 seconds to reset itself so I ended up taking way too much time trying to get the cleaner sprayed onto the floor to mop it because I could only get the trigger to spray one time every 30 seconds or so.  I tried to see if it was sticking to something inside the handle but it keeps "sticking" so I had to go back to the wet jet for now.  Also the microfiber pads are stupid expensive just for one pad!    

Comment from Ian - 3/21/2014

Hi Mcookie, your Spray + Mop should always dispense. I have a few quick tips that should help with this: After each use, put some warm tap water only into the water tank and pump the handle trigger to flush out any suds that may be in the sprayer. Also make sure that the tank is secured into the body all the way. I'm sending you a private email now so that we can help make this right. Thanks!

Mcookie
Columbus, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Love this.
6/26/2014

Customer review by lv2swm

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by lv2swm
by lv2swm

I got so tired of my Swiffer and how much dirt it left on my tile flooring. This has cloth pads and you can use any cleaner you like. I used water with a bit of bleach and my floors look wonderful and I didn't have to get on my hands and knees to scrub. Also, it takes no batteries as it's almost like a very tall spray bottle. You can use any cleaner you like - the Dirt Devil product or another one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lv2swm
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews