Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 345 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

345 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

345 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
231
4 stars
46
3 stars
19
2 stars
15
1 stars
34
1-20 of 345 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 345 total reviews
1-20 of 345 reviews
Great Improvement!
10/24/2013

Customer review by Ty78

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Ty78
by Ty78

This is a big improvement over the previous model! I picked mine up at the grand opening of the Microsoft Store in Millenia Mall, Orlando. There is a lot to like about it: screen quality, flash support, access to control panel and folders, windows 8.1 (which has its own improvements) better windows store experience, better stand, new look and finish (unlike the pro), better cameras (with panoramic mode), new keyboard with backlight, options on surface to turn off the trackpad (this is huge!) better kindle app (able to highlight words), and a few free caveats to get you going (office with outlook, premium Skype for a year, 200 GB skydrive for 2 years). There a few cons as well: such as some lag, freezing, and apps crashing. I'm pretty sure these will be fixed with updates. I have only had it for a couple of days, so I will give an update in about a week. The pros definitely outweigh the cons now. With this upgrade, there is no need for me to spend an extra $500 for the pro!

Ty78
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Too many limitations
12/4/2014

Customer review by JetRocket11

2.0 stars 12/4/2014 by JetRocket11
by JetRocket11

MS Surface 2 is an OK tablet but it's far from great. This is a good tablet for someone just doing some light web browsing or using Skype but this device has it's share of limitations. For starters it runs Windows 8 RT version and has an ARM processor which means you can't install any apps you want from the web. All apps must be obtained from the app store and the selection doesn't even come close to rivaling the Google Play Store or the Apple App Store. This is a big deal considering that Surface 2 does not come with a Windows Media Player and good alternatives such as VLC is not available in the app store as of this time. So sites with audio/video with format such as ASX did not work at all. Also, any site that relies on Microsoft Silverlight did not work either and you can't install Silverlight on Surface 2. Personally I would not recommend this product. For the same price you can go get a 2 in 1 touchscreen laptop which will have an Intel or AMD processor, full version of Windows 8, more RAM and more HD space.

JetRocket11
Surface Pro 2 is an awsome device
9/7/2014

Customer review by bgoure

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by bgoure
by bgoure

Been trying for about two years to get the best device for both traveling (long battery life) and power (i.e., office, project, graphing, data analysis). Just got my new Surface Pro 2 last week (with the power keyboard). It is fantastic! After I got this device I reset my Ipad2 and gave it to my sister and my MacBook Air 13 (OS 10.9) has become a spare office device. Office just works much better on a Windows device than the Mac. With the power key board I have 18+ hours of life without being plugged in, and if I turn off the wifi and put it on power saver mode it is over 25hr! (now I can do real work on a flight from Melbourne to SFO!). The key board is excellent, the graphics are superb, and with the power keyboard it only weights 0.25 lbs more than the MacBook Air, but has 2X the battery life. The touch stylis if fantastic, I can annotate reports, sign contracts, and just doodle just like I was writing on paper. Awesome device Microsoft -- job well done! P.S. the Drawboard PDF app plus the Surface Pro 2 and Office is unbeatable!

bgoure
A great device
1/17/2014

Customer review by chuckok

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by chuckok
by chuckok

I've been using the device for about 4 months and have found that it does everything that I need in a PC device; its light easy to use, and good battery life. Once I got the handle of the touch interface (i.e. splitting the on screen keyboard for using my thumbs to type), I've found that I don't even use a keyboard. My only challenges with the device is that it is a bit pricey by the time you add a keyboard, arch touch mouse, microSD card and video adapter. And, though the jot stylus will work for taking notes in OneNote, it leaves a bit to be desired. It preferable to have the Surface Pro screen and pen for this type of usage on the Surface 2 device, without sacrificing the light weight and battery life. Finally, POP 3 functionality is a challenge. Having to set-up an Outlook.com e-mail and connecting to an external service provider in order to get mail into the Metro Mail app isn't something the average user should have to work through.

chuckok
Winchester, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
my best purchase ever!
11/3/2013

Customer review by gomezzz

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by gomezzz
by gomezzz

don't understand those people complaining about Windows RT. it gives you so much more possibilities than an Android device... and if you want a full blown Windows device, buy a laptop! it's just perfect. and it's only logical to have one, if you're a fan of Windows 8.1 anyway. you don't have to be a huge Windows 8.1 fan as I am. I own a Windows Phone and a Windows 8.1 desktop, therefore it was no question for me, whether I should buy a Surface 2 or Surface Pro 2, Surface 2 is the perfect addition to my Windows desktop and Windows Phone. it's solid made, with excellent battery, excellent display and everything! I just love it, carrying it everywhere with me. it's fast and there is nothing I couldn't do with it. I love hove my stuff and settings are synced with my desktop. make a change with your tiles on the desktop, you have it on your Surface 2 and vice versa. OK, I don't want to sound as if I'm payed by MS for writing this... therefore, there is one little thing, that I miss: native .mkv support. with that, I'd be even more satisfied...

gomezzz
Dunajská Streda, Slovakia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Small thing for you biggest tasks
1/14/2014

Customer review by MadRise

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by MadRise
by MadRise

While ago when tablets found a place in people's life, I figured out that I can't use them as an everyday device. windows 8 and after that 8.1 introduced us to an OS that is really productive. Now I can go to my job and use it as my laptop for my ordinary tasks (Who needs an 11" tablet or laptop for AutoCAD or Photoshop, It needs a big screen) also I can play games like other tablets although it has less games compare to android and ios for now. Surfing internet is fantastic on this device, no wondering why other browser makers don't release an app for the device. because they can't succeed it and now I can proudly tell to my friends that IE is the best browser. With a great screen, extraordinary design (stand is a new standard for me), superb quality and material, lightning speed, fantastic performance and amazing Operating system the time of buying a tablet for real use has come and its surface2.

MadRise
Tehran
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
perfect for windows lovers
12/12/2013

Customer review by vikramsid

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by vikramsid
by vikramsid

I always wanted a productive tablet and because of this reason I never owned any tablet until now. I fell in love with surface2 right after it was released. I bought this a few weeks back before thanksgiving and I am loving this product. It is a very well designed and thought through product that Microsoft released. Windows 8.1 is very user friendly as well as productive unlike other mobile OS in the market (I always think other tablets available in the market are really made for kids and for me they are just no more than toys). With this we get the real multi tasking operating system and with office!!! Thanks and Love you Microsoft for designing this tablet. I feel like you guys have designed this specially for me :) I will definitely wait for the next product expecting with a much sleek design and please make the kick stand 'U' not rectangle so you can save some space. What say guys?

vikramsid
Richmond, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love my Surface @
3/13/2015

Customer review by Newby

5.0 stars 3/13/2015 by Newby
by Newby

The first tablet type device I bought was a Kindle Fire, it was okay to start with. Then an IT person at my work told me about the Microsoft Surface. Said it was an awesome computer. So I went online and checked it out. Liked what I saw and bought my Surface 2 in August, I'm not a tecky but I kept plugging along trying to learn it. I had a glitch thing happen around Feb, and the Customer Service people tried to help me through online chatting to resolve it. They weren't able to do so, and because it was still under warranty, they gave me a brand new one with no problems whatsoever. Since then, I've been playing around with it and I'm so amazed at what this tablet can do. When I show my friends and work mates this computer can do, they are amazed at it too. At one point, when I first got my Surface, I considered getting an Ipad, but now, if decide to get another one, it will be an upgrade, like Surface Pro 2 or 3. I really like the touch screen, makes it so much easier. I can use the keyboard to type and the touch screen to do other things, I don't need a mouse. I would recommend this to a friend and have.

Newby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very cool! Sleek, efficient! Features are awesome
6/28/2014

Customer review by Kail

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by Kail
by Kail

I was initially a bit let down because I bought this device to install hearthstone - I thought I could install it through the operating system. That is actually only possible with the surface 2 pro which is double the price. HOWEVER. That was on me for not researching prior to my purchase. That game will come out on this app market later this year so I don't mind. I have to say though, I love this device. The weight, the feel, everything. There are some awesome kids apps for my son to play (which is teaching him math, colors, shapes). For the price, and in comparison to the iPad, this rocks. I know the iPad has the app market going for it, but you can't plug in usb's, you can't plug in a mouse, you can't use it like a laptop like you can with the surface. THIS IS PERFECT FOR STUDENTS. I will rock it through my classes when I go back to school in the spring.

Kail
The only thing I need now (besides my WPhone :p )
8/7/2014

Customer review by MaryFromMex

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by MaryFromMex
by MaryFromMex

With the Windows One Experience everything is so easy. I bought this tablet 8 months ago, and it keeps surprising me, this device is very versatile, I have music, videos, movies, shows, great addictive games, a natural keyboard that looks amazing and turns on at evening and night. I can read magazines, books. Bottom line it has all the entertainment that I wanted. Besides I haven't used my laptop in months. It also offers Skype for a year to worldwide landlines (and with Skype WiFi you can connect in airports and many other places for free), OneDrive huge extra storage, and Office for free! OneNote has become my favorite app, since you can take your note with the on-screen keyboard, type cover, by handwriting with a stylus, or even voice notes, wow! Besides everything synchronizes with OneDrive safely and I love to use the metered connections restrictions since I use my Windows Phone to connect it to the internet. Ah! And the battery last all day long for me. Totally recommended! Next time I have to change my tablet I would buy the next Surface available. (Anybody interested in my laptop? I don't use it anymore)

MaryFromMex
I love my Surface 2
3/14/2014

Customer review by jimmybjammin

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by jimmybjammin
by jimmybjammin

I was excited over a Surface when it came out then bought a Surface 2 RT as the high definition screen is very clear and exactly what I want. I would typically get headaches using a blurry screen within two hours but never once had a head ache on my Surface 2 during ten hours of use constant use. The battery lasts from sunrise to sunset surfing the internet, watching videos and quickly lets me flip to work mode with Office 2013 RT where I have outlook anywhere/teamviewer for remote support when I am on call in IT. I also use it's USB with a Microsoft USB full wireless keyboard/combo set I had for years. It's the best and trust the reviews, we all love the Surface 2 with Windows 8.1 as its a single device for everything in our life on campus as well as work/play. I just wish MS had a full store of apps. It has come a long way and the games are fun/smooth.

jimmybjammin
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Better than any iPad
11/15/2013

Customer review by pstavros1967

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by pstavros1967
by pstavros1967

I own 2 2nd gen iPads, sold my original Surface RT and bought 2 Surface 2's. What a great job Microsoft did in making the Surface 2, The new processor is head and shoulders above the previous generation Surface RT. There is virtually no lag when opening Microsoft Office 2010, as quick as you launch an app it opens. The new 1080p display is beautiful and movies look awesome. It runs every program that I need on a daily basis for work it's super light, compact and perfect for travel. If you need something light for answering email and working in Office 2010 it can't be beat! An iPad may have more apps but only 15% are actually usable the rest are junk. I'll never buy another iPad again, I'm dedicated to the Windows 8 interface from now on. I have the Lumia 1020, a Surface 2 and a custom built Thin its Windows 8 27" touch screen family computer.

pstavros1967
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The Surface 2 is awesome!!
11/4/2013

Customer review by Bstoss

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Bstoss
by Bstoss

I purchased the Surface 2 less than a week ago and I have put it through many tests. It passed them all with flying colors. I went with the Surface 2 because I needed something that was easier to travel with. I hated taking my 17" laptop and my iPad 2. Not to mention my smartphone and other devices for client presentations. The Surface 2 does everything that I need and through RDP I can leave my laptop locked in the docking station. The only mistake I made was purchasing the Touch 2 (i liked how thin it was). I have since returned it for the Type Cover 2.  Great device, light, powerful, fast and create a great image when presenting to a client. You will not go wrong with the Surface 2. The app store has 95% of what I need and the other 5% I have a full browser, which give a much better user experience. What more can I say. It's awesome!!!

Bstoss
KC, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best tablet, seriously!
12/6/2013

Customer review by Calgirl

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Calgirl
by Calgirl

I have my Surface 2 tablet for a week now. This serves all my personal computing needs. My office laptop serves my work needs. This is my first tablet. I never bought an iPad or other tablets out there because they looked like just a toy since I already have a smartphone. Maybe a lot of people like to play with toys (expensive ones that too) and spend (waste) time on a ton of apps on their iPad, but I am not one of them. I love the Surface tablet so much it seems that Microsoft had me in mind when it designed the product. Its lightweight, can stand on its own, its fast, it looks beautiful and can switch back and forth from a serious mode to light hearted entertainment mode. I just hope this stays in the market for a long time and not get lots in all the noise (from companies XXle) so that I get all the support and upgrades in the future.

Calgirl
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great became greater.
10/29/2013

Customer review by LawrenceL

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by LawrenceL
by LawrenceL

I simply love this piece of machinery. Bought my Surface RT a year ago and I'm really pleased with it. Got my Surface 2 on launch day a week ago (pre-order) and while the software equals my updated Surface RT, the Surface 2 is just... better. Hardware is leaner, it's faster, screen is awesome (Full HD), and the seemingly small addition of a second position for the kickstand really adds to comfort. I can manage all my projects, all emergencies at work, all server maintenance and much much more on this tiny device. Simply because it comes with good stock software, and there's a great Remote Desktop app that, together with the VPN, allows me to manage any other computer/server that I have access to. One of the best features though is that it handles multiple accounts. So my wife and kids can use it without messing up my apps and settings.

LawrenceL
Goteborg, Sweden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This Product is Utterly Useless
8/2/2014

Customer review by KayKae

1.0 stars 8/2/2014 by KayKae
by KayKae

I bought this PC for the same reason everyone gets a Windows product: to instal third party software. To my greatest surprise, this tablet does not allow the installation of any software that does not come from the Microsoft store. Apparently, the Surface RT tablets have this in common. If I wanted a tablet that will restrict my access, I would have simply gone for an iPad and gotten the quality, beauty and durability that it has to offer. I cannot understand how Microsoft will dare make this tablet. At this point, hasn't Microsoft know we only patronize Windows product for the ability to use third party software??? Or is it under the illusion that it stands a chance of competing with iPad and the Android? I am a particularly angry off because I will need to change my travel plans to send back this lemon product they sold to me...

KayKae
Awesome Device!
1/4/2014

Customer review by aengineer

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by aengineer
by aengineer

I've previously owned Android and Apple tablets, but was never able to find them useful enough to do work on. The Surface 2 is an excellent device, with a great screen and really easy to use interface. I love the way gestures are used to work with apps and it does appear that the app selection gets better every week. Having Office and Outlook on the tablet is fantastic. I have a Type 2 cover and it is easy to type on and helps protect the screen well. I think some people have commented on the aspect ratio of the tablet as a negative, but I find it great for watching movies and being to see a lot of a web site at once when in Portrait mode. I think more people need to give Microsoft and RT a shot. It's just unfortunate initial marketing wasn't too good. RT just isn't a very good name for an operating system!

aengineer
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing Tablet
1/15/2014

Customer review by Surface2owner

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by Surface2owner
by Surface2owner

Originally, I planned on getting the ipad mini but after researching tablets for 3 days I decided to invest in the Surface 2. I owned the Ipad 3rd generation and it just sat there because everything that can be done on the ipad can be done on the iphone. I was skeptical at first because I thought that I would buy the Surface 2 and never use it just like I did with the ipad. I couldn't have been more wrong. I don't even use my laptop anymore. The keyboard is kind of expensive but I think it is definitely worth it if you are going to buy the tablet. Besides, even with the keyboard your getting a better bang for your buck than an apple tablet. I love this Surface 2. I hope that Microsoft can keep up the good work in terms of tablet. I definitely will be investing in the company's ecosystem. Goodbye apple. 

Surface2owner
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Huge Improvement
10/27/2013

Customer review by SeanP79

4.0 stars 10/27/2013 by SeanP79
by SeanP79

Bought on launch day while traveling for work. In terms of form factor, not a huge change over the previous generation. Biggest improvements for me are the new display resolution which is a noticeable improvement over the previous generation and the improved speed. While the improved speed is great I feel like there is room for improvement here. There are some improvements I'd like to see in windows 8.x rt as well. For example, getting rid of the desktop and having office apps styled like the touch OneNote app. Other changes I'd like to see are: 1. when swiping from right and then back left for app switching, each app in the app list should have an "x" on it some where so that it can be closed 2) I'd like to see this app list not have a finite number of apps and it be scrollable.

SeanP79
Wynantskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Unreliable product
3/26/2014

Customer review by Fran

1.0 stars 3/26/2014 by Fran
by Fran

I bought my surface 2 on the 19th of march before my 3 weeks trip through Europe because the full USB and the sd reader was perfect for what I needed. On the 21st of march when I was trying to switch on, suddenly the famous "blue screen" with error on the BIOS came up. So it became an unusable device. When i contacted the support from MS they said that i have 30 days for an exchange in a phisical shop in US and to be positive, that for sure i will find the way on this 3 weeks. I am coming back to the US on the 13, I will exchange it, it looked a very nice, fast device on those 2 days, but if I see any, even the smallest bug, i will return it and come back to the Android or IOS system. As soon as i exchange i will update my review with the experience and with the new device.

Fran
Chicago, Illinois, Estados Unidos
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 345 total reviews
1-20 of 345 reviews