Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
15
1-20 of 83 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Ten stars if I could!! For me the surface!!
11/9/2013

Customer review by IronDiesel58

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by IronDiesel58
by IronDiesel58

I bought this for my Daughter and she loves it. I thought this whole computer pad tablet thing would just be a passing fad. But I started checking it out and fell in love with it. Added the keyboard and it's a fast computer which she can take to school. Record notes in school. She even has all her textbooks on it! Her backpack use to weigh 23 pounds now she leaves the textbooks in school and carries a 1/2 pound Surface. I loved it so much I went and bought my self a Surface pro2. More memory and speed. Guess who wants it now. We added Xbox music for $99.00 a year and now she has every song just released and 40 million other songs. So pretty much every song ever made. With xbox music you can add up to five devices to it. So I have my windows phone with 583 songs, my wife had hers with 804 songs and my daughter has hers with I think somewhere around 1300+ songs. one price every song change them when ever. You don't even want to figure out how much that would of cost me on I tunes. If your interested and like music it's the only way to go. Oh plus built in WiFi. I connect through my cable company who provide it free. I'd give it all 10 stars if I could. Even more. I watched an online torcher test of this and they put it into a freezer for six hours and it powered right up. I can't say enough about it.

Was this review helpful? (153) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IronDiesel58
Westbury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for School and Work
11/22/2013

Customer review by mrzees

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by mrzees
by mrzees

I bought the surface 2 mainly because my laptop is way to heavy to tote with me to work and school. I'm a teacher, so having the surface 2 at my disposal to update class records and quickly search online is invaluable. As part time economics student, the surface allows me the flexibility to carry less physical books (thank God). Plus I've been getting more looks from other students asking me about the device. They usually marvel at the build structure and the functional keypad and kickstand. Entertainment wise, its great for watching my movies and the inbuilt bowser is great for streaming movies and watching game from my NBA broadband subscription. There are negatives though. First of all after unboxing my surface and powering it on, I observed constant glitches causing the swipes and gestures to freeze momentarily. This behaviour continued for about 2 days until I finally decided to give my surface a full charge. The surface is a tad bit to heavy to function as a one handed use device and only once have I used it in portrait mode. Secondly, using you finger to browse some sites renders the surface almost useless as some dropdown menus on many sites do not seem to respond well to the touch input. I am also very disappointed with the lack of functionality in Microsoft office 2013 for the surface 2. Many functions that university students actually use excel for aren't there. I frequently had to go back to my desktop to complete assignments. All in all its a recommended buy if you wanna do more than browse the web and watching movies. I had very high expectations of the surface 2 as a productivity device for a budget consumer like myself and so my negatives will generally outweigh the positive things I spoke about. Nevertheless, The sufrace 2 does what I want it to do 99% of the time, with adequate battery life, 200Gigs of skydrive free (THANK YOU MICROSOFT) and eye-catching design and portability, you can't go wrong. Pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (110) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrzees
Trinidad and Tobago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
11/13/2013

Customer review by clarasam

4.0 stars 11/13/2013 by clarasam
by clarasam

I absolutely love this product!! The only thing I don't like about it is the fact that I can't read my eBooks from my online school and I can't download Google Chrome and Firefox.

Was this review helpful? (74) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clarasam
Andrews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for school work and homework!
11/5/2013

Customer review by Jenchele

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Jenchele
by Jenchele

My son bought the Surface 2 for school. It's been the best purchase he's ever made. They do a lot of work that has to be saved to a flash drive then turned in. The Surface having the USB port was the biggest selling point for him, and it's more than paid off!

Was this review helpful? (80) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jenchele
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SO far so good
12/20/2013

Customer review by Ttdurx3

4.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Ttdurx3
by Ttdurx3

Alright, I did not purchase this tablet at walmart, I purchased it at staples. I don't know if a regular person would be crazy enough to buy this at best buy because even though the price of the tablet itself is the same, the 2 year accidental protection plan is $159.99 at best buy. At Walmart it's $57 and at staples it's $99. ... FOR 2 YEARS.! I got mine at staples and only had to pay about $80 because they had some deal where you get something percent off. Anyways, I am not a techy person I am an ordinary full time college student who is 20 years old. I've never owned an ipad, I've fiddled with my aunts before And I have phones that are on android This is my first tablet ever, but I used to always keep my moms tablet that was on android. I really like this tablet It IS confusing though I read lots and lots or reviews on this tablet so I knew what I was getting into I originally wanted a touchscreen laptop, but fell in love with this tablet once I saw it. ANYWAYS. I logged in which was easy I copied all of my music from my mp3 player and put it on the tablet which was confusing at first, but then I figured it out and it copied it to xbox music even though I've never owned or played xbox before. The whole personalization thing is a little complicated There isn't as much customization as I thought there would be, but like I said, I have yet to figure everything out on the tablet yet. I want to change the color of the tiles, but I don't know how. I don't even know if theres an option. (Oh yeah, and the tablet comes with NO DIRECTIONS. Just wanted to through that in there. I really wish they'd give us directions especially since it's not as easy to figure out as android tablets or ipads) You can delete tiles and move them to bigger spaces I really like the webcam on the tablet I was on it in the dark and it looked like I was in a room that was lit. I played some games on it which was awesome... I think (I'm not a gamer) but from my experience it was so smooth and no lag at all. I'm pretty sure the tablet will take some time to get used to it I'm still trying to master pulling the other multitasking things from the side. You can only do the split screen thing with 2 applications only. To get to the desktop there should be a tile, or you can assign a tile from the apps menu. I went on internet explorer on the desktop thing and like reviews said, you should only be on it if you bought the keyboard because otherwise it is a LITTLE hard. Not complicated, but for someone with bigger fingers, you might have a tough time. I was playing with the touch keyboards in staples and it seemed like I could get used to them so I purchased a white one. It's really good at picking up wifi. In my room if I'm on my laptop, it can't pick up the connection. It will only connect if I move it in a certain position then it will go away On my android phones I can get connection in my room, but it is poor. I was playing on the tablet in my room and the connection was excellent.! I'm really happy about that. Soso happy.! I LOVE the dual kickstand it helps A LOT. One thing that I HATE is that the screen is a fingerprint magnet. It's so bad that I thought that my screen would stay ruined with prints Because even when I rubbed it with something, it wouldn't come off or look clean. I have a certain cloth so I'm going to try cleaning it with that, if it doesn't work I'm going to be very upset. So PLEASE buy a screen protector. You can get them on amazon instead of wasting $30 dollars on them in the stores. Another thing I hate is that in desktop mode the keyboard won't automatically come up. You have to click it at the bottom of the screen and click X for it to go away. I's really irritating. i don't know if there is a way to make it pop up automatically when u wanna type something, but if there is I have yet to find it. I guess that's another reason why they say to stay out of desktop mode if you have no keyboard. Also in the camera sometimes a light comes on. I don't know if it's flash or not, but when I turned on the camera a white light turned on in the back. Also the sound is REALLY loud I'm so happy it's loud When I have my headphones in videos are louder on my tablet than on my imac! Oh yeah! And like others said there really are barely any apps. That's okay for me because I'm not a big app person at all. It doesn't have pandora, or spotify But it may have SOME of the main ones. Like I said I'm not an app person so I wouldn't really know. All I do on computers/tablets is browse the net, listen to music, and do school work. That's all I can really think of right now If there is anything else I'll be sure to write. I bought this tablet for fun and for school work once spring semester comes up. I'll be able to use word and powerpoint (: If I think or find out more I'll update!

Was this review helpful? (53) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ttdurx3
Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Great little computer
11/16/2013

Customer review by 2goodbuyer123

4.0 stars 11/16/2013 by 2goodbuyer123
by 2goodbuyer123

Bought this for my son, wanted more than just a expensive photo album. He really likes it, and the Walmart protection plan is awesome for the price, gives me some peace of mind. Unfortunately, make sure you read what comes in the box, because they don't come with the detachable keyboard, as shown in commercials. It runs really good, can actually get to a desktop, and the office works good too, its actually kind of snappy. Awesome USB 3 port, popup keypad on the screen, and my son said there is feedback as you type as it sort of buzzes. I can't speak to battery life, haven't had it long enough so I don't want to speculate or give false answer, sorry. Remember Microsoft doesn't have all the apps I guess the others do, but if your looking for something that could be more than just a tablet for surfing, this is good because of the detachable keyboard. And, it has that video out port, that's another great feature for making it useful for doing homework if possible.

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2goodbuyer123
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly What I Expected
11/10/2013

Customer review by AdjunctProf

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by AdjunctProf
by AdjunctProf

Great display, quick boot, and excellent battery life. I'm not a big app person so the Windows Store issue really did not figure into my decision. I wanted a tablet where I can multi-task, use Office, and get work done without lugging around my 17" laptop. I originally got the touch keyboard but returned it for the type keyboard. I'm just a little old-fashioned, I like to feel the keys depress when I type. Oh, the Bluetooth wedge mouse is a must!

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AdjunctProf
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great tablet that works like a PC.
6/19/2014

Customer review by JustaskGrandma

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by JustaskGrandma
by JustaskGrandma

The Surface 2 works on Windows 8 and has Microsoft Word, PowerPoint and Excel. It is great for taking on trips, and can run off your smart phone. It has Microsoft Defender to protect it against virus and spyware. It is great at home when you don't want to drag out your computer. Make sure to get the separate keyboard, it makes using the Surface 2 so much easier, and folds up to protect the screen when you are not using it.

Was this review helpful? (49) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustaskGrandma
Pacific, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for BUSINESS!!!!!!
8/1/2014

Customer review by Superman3131

4.0 stars 8/1/2014 by Superman3131
by Superman3131

If you looking for great computer for work and a tablet for some fun this is the tablet for you. It is very fast and the computer side of the tablet works just like a PC its great!!!! If you are looking for a tablet to put lots of fun game apps this is not the one for you. Netflix and all the streaming apps work great and camera is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Superman3131
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected!
11/29/2013

Customer review by Atckbuny

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Atckbuny
by Atckbuny

Takes a while to learn op system. Should include keyboard.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Atckbuny
Arbor Vita, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Tablet while it worked
1/15/2014

Customer review by Jatfulton

1.0 stars 1/15/2014 by Jatfulton
by Jatfulton

I picked the Tablet up from the store on Tuesday and took it back to the store on Sunday (less than one week). Without warning, the Tablet stopped powering up. I was very disappointed because I had waited for it to come back in stock for over three weeks. This was my Christmas present to myself.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jatfulton
Jonesboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tablet but needs more memory
4/29/2014

Customer review by autotraveler47

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by autotraveler47
by autotraveler47

Very nice tablet especially after all of MS updates got installed. Had to reinstall the OS to get them all to install. The addition of office to 8.1 is a plus but this is still a RT version of windows so this will not run normal windows software also 32GB is barely enough memory. A big down side is the SD card can only be used for files music pictures movies ect. after update and no extra apps I only have 7 GB left. If I were to purchase the Surface again I would go with the pro model with all the internal memory available as they are the full version of 8.1.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
autotraveler47
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely perfect
12/30/2013

Customer review by Nimblum

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Nimblum
by Nimblum

Bought as a gift for my boyfriend he loves it! Had a little trouble getting it setup but I think after updating the software its been smooth sailing. I'm personally into smaller sized tablets like the Kindle fire so to me the size is awkward. Its a long rectangle. Its very light especially compared to the iPad which in my opinions was very heavy. The kick stand seems sturdy. I expect the app store to grow due to this products popularity. A few key apps I use aren't there (like Pinterest) but I can visit the site through the browser. We arent big into apps and I got this knowing it would replace his netbook and it will definitely be more than a fine replacement for that. The micro SD slot was tricky to find but its there which definitely is huge especially since I couldn't find the 64GB model.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nimblum
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Died after three days
1/8/2014

Customer review by jamesmc2006

2.0 stars 1/8/2014 by jamesmc2006
by jamesmc2006

I recieved this tablet on Friday and by Monday I had the "blue screen of death"! I was extremely disappointed. Up until that point, I was pleased with the Bing functions, the clarity of the screen, and the speed of the processor. I was a little disappointed with the app selection from the microsoft store. I'm going to give this tablet a second chance, however, because I love that it has the entire office suite.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamesmc2006
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a little powerhouse.
2/3/2014

Customer review by 2Amendment

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by 2Amendment
by 2Amendment

My wife has a iPad and my daughter a Kindle but I needed something I could work on and the Surface 2 is GREAT. I have a windows phone and can back and forth with ease and can work off my companies cloud site without a problem. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Amendment
The Woodlands Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I was looking for
12/31/2013

Customer review by BARWRITING

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by BARWRITING
by BARWRITING

The Surface 2 is near perfect. While yes it does lack some apps, all you do is find a third party app or pin the website to your page. The hardware is excellent and the software is beautiful. My only one minor complaint is that my volume rocker buttons are a bit loose. The volume never changes at inappropriate times from it, but if I were to shake my Surface the rocker would rattle against the Surface case. Not a huge deal at all though.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BARWRITING
Belleville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just What I Was Looking For
10/9/2014

Customer review by ExcelAJ

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by ExcelAJ
by ExcelAJ

I was looking for a combination laptop and tablet that I could use wherever I travel. This is perfect for me with the separate cover/keyboard that converts this to a laptop. I have always favored Microsoft products, and now that they make their own computers, it is a win, win for me!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ExcelAJ
Yonkers, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tablet/computer
12/31/2013

Customer review by BakersfieldGal

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by BakersfieldGal
by BakersfieldGal

So far so good! The first week I didn't like so much but the more I played with it the more familiar it became. I mostly use it for internet, check email and Facebook. Its perfect for those things. I also got the Type Cover 2 keyboard and I love that too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BakersfieldGal
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The tabet is okay, but CANNOT be used w/ GoToMyPC
8/22/2014

Customer review by 2XXLWoman

3.0 stars 8/22/2014 by 2XXLWoman
by 2XXLWoman

I agree with another review I had read on this tablet. It doesn't have instructions and it's a little difficult to figure out, but then I'm not a computer geek and this is my first tablet, so I figure there is a learning curve for me on the product. My greatest complaint is that I am unable to use it with GoToMyPC, which is a major reason I wanted a tablet in the first place. Also, frequently it is slow loading a webpage (I wonder if the processor is slow). On the bright side, it does have nice graphics and I do like the fact that Microsoft Office was included in the purchase (another reason I purchased it).

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2XXLWoman
Would recommend to a friend? No
awesome!!!
1/16/2014

Customer review by simplysinister

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by simplysinister
by simplysinister

The Microsoft Surface 2 has gone above and beyond my expectations, it blows all iPads out of the water with out a doubt! The best item on the market I would recommend it to everyone! It's easy to use and have amazing features!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
simplysinister
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews