Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

8 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

8 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-8 of 8 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Pretty good...but...
7/14/2015

Customer review by kurtz

4.0 stars 7/14/2015 by kurtz
by kurtz

All in all, I'm satisfied with quality, function and price. I bought two, one for a mountain bike and one for a 70 lb. trailer hitch cargo platform. The quality seems very adequate with a couple of exceptions: - The rope provided seems a bit "delicate" especially for heavy items. It jumped the pulley during set-up and got a bit frayed. The catch seems to abrade the rope as you lower. I don't really trust the rope over the longterm so I added a secondary support under the cargo platform just in case. Eventually, I may need to replace the rope. - I managed to strip the heads on most of the screws when I removed them to adjust the pulley spacing.. The instructions did not specify the correct drill bit size. My biggest issue is with the whole hoist approach. It sounds great but, in practice, is bit clumsy. Too gain the mechanical advantage via the pulleys, one has to pull a lot of rope. The rope tends to tangle on things and the provided wall cleat is not large enough to accommodate all of it. One needs three hands...to hold the bike, place the hooks, and pull the rope. It's OK if you have a big clear place beneath the hoist, but if you had a big clear place, you wouldn't need the hoist!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kurtz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
should have bought some screw hooks
1/12/2016

Customer review by Biker

2.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Biker
by Biker

This would be great if you needed to store your bikes REALLY high. Also, the hooks that hold the bike on are flat and the pully system takes up one end higher. Because of this the bike kept falling off the hooks when I raised it. Not worth the hassle of install.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Biker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for Tandems!!
1/16/2015

Customer review by TandemsOC

5.0 stars 1/16/2015 by TandemsOC
by TandemsOC

We just moved to a new home and I bought these for hanging our two tandem bicycles in the garage. They were easy to install and setup, probably what took the most time was getting the measurements right for the long bikes before drilling the mounting holes. I didn't use the supplied screws, instead opting for lag bolts for the tandems which each weighed about 40 lbs. The rope brake is a great idea and makes lifting and lowering easier and safer. I may eventually change the ropes to something more substantial, but it works great with the rope that was supplied. My only regret is that I didn't try these earlier at our former home. This is an excellent product, and getting a pair of hoists for less than $30 is ridiculous!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TandemsOC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product
12/14/2013

Customer review by Shopper654

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Shopper654
by Shopper654
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For years I lifted our bikes up onto hooks. This is a good safe product which allows the bike to be hoisted into storage position without much effort or the chance of dropping it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopper654
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More Storage Room
6/5/2015

Customer review by lee1105

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by lee1105
by lee1105

This was easy to hang in the garage once I found the ceiling truss. Went into attic and put a thin nail along side the truss so I could pinpoint the truss from finished garage ceiling. As suggested in other reviews I picked up a box of 3 1/2" wood screws and washers, so I would get a good grip into the truss and placed both bikes so I could pull into the garage with my hood under them. Suggest watching you tube video on subject it was helpful been up for 3 week now and no problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lee1105
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product is as shown online
7/23/2015

Customer review by Houstonian

4.0 stars 7/23/2015 by Houstonian
by Houstonian

Product came well packaged and is exactly as shown online. Easy to install, strong and good finish.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Houstonian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Space Saver and easy to use
5/5/2015

Customer review by Lilly

5.0 stars 5/5/2015 by Lilly
by Lilly

This product was fairly easy to install. My husband mounted some pieces of wood to the studs in the garage ceiling, then had no worries with mounting the metal brackets to the pieces of wood. Very nice!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good
2/2/2015

Customer review by Rick

4.0 stars 2/2/2015 by Rick
by Rick

Instructions not so much

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes