Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 293 reviews
5 stars
178
4 stars
61
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 stars
25
Sort by: 
1-20 of 293 reviews
1-20 of 293 reviews
A Solid Feeling Machine
6/21/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my first Brother printer and my initial impression is that its a solid machine that makes Good to Above Average output. Setup: the hardest part was getting the cartridges installed properly - black plastic going into black plastic holders does not make for easy insertion. Other than that, the machine pretty much sets up the machine for you. At this price level I'm pleased to find an enclosed paper tray and output paper stop (my defunct HP didn't have that). Output: text is reasonably crisp and without any extraneous marks. Its not laser quality, my HP did print slightly darker blacks, but for everyday use, its perfectly fine. The story is the same for color printing: on the plain paper / vivid settings, output was well saturated, but not what I would call vivid. I imagine it will work much better with photo paper. Final Thoughts: One of the features that I specifically wanted on this printer was an Auto Document Feeder; to date and with some differences in the input quality, the ADF worked fine. Its all part of this feeling like a solid product. Despite what may feel like my criticisms, this is a good printer, it feels solid and has more than acceptable output; but neither does it elicit an "Oh, Wow" response. But for what I paid (on sale), its an excellent deal. Regards, BearPup
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I like this unit so far
9/7/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used all the features of this device, except for faxing, and so far it works pretty well. I copied a 20 page document in about a minute. Scanning is easy and gives you the option to save to PDF, which simplifies things for sure. Changing print options is fairly simple too. While the device is in operation it is a bit noisy. And the paper tray only holds approximately 30 sheets at a time. For me that is no bid deal but if you are doing high volume tasks that could be an issue. The plastic parts do seem to be on the flimsy side but if you aren't going to be doing a lot of volume there shouldn't be a problem. For light home use this device is a really good value; for business purposes, I would spend a few more dollars and get a device more suited for higher volume usage.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Totally and Completely Awesome!
9/8/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I absolutely love this printer! Wireless is definitely the way to go! I can now easily print, scan and copy using my mobile devices, as well as my laptop, with absolutely no wires! It only took about five minutes to connect the printer to my network, right from the printer itself. Took another 10 minutes to set up my laptop with the CD-ROM. I also downloaded the app from the app store for free, which makes it really easy to scan, print and copy with my mobile devices. This app is not absolutely necessary to print, scan or copy, because the individual apps themselves are able to recognize the printer, but it is a really cool and convenient option. Now I can scan pictures directly into my mobile devices, and use them as wallpaper! The printer is also super-fast, and you can change the desired print quality right from the printer itself. Making quick copies is also really easy with just the touch of a button. There are two things, however, that could use improvement. The cover is a bit flimsy and has a tendency to detach itself if you push or pull it at the wrong angle. If you avoid that angle, however, everything is fine. The other bad thing is the paper tray is also a bit flimsy and also has a tendency to detach itself if you pull it out too far. Other than those two things, though, everything works great. I really like the way you can see the ink levels at a glance, right on the printer's screen. I also really like the way the cover has some weight to it, which helps with the quality when copying and scanning. And I also like the way the printer turns itself off automatically after a period of non-use. It also wakes itself up automatically when you start using it- you don't even have to fiddle with the power button. I am so glad I found this printer and am enjoying it immensely!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastick!!!!
6/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I could not be happier, after trying 2!!! HP 1512 and both had printing problems right out of the box. And I was a HP fan!! this printer is GREAT!!!! uses very little ink and prints FAST! very clear and clean printing and ink is very cheap with after market sights on EBay. I am now a Brothers fan set up was VERY easy the machine does it all for you, just read the instructions and you are good to go, I was surprised how easy it was, I did not use the Fax as I do not have a land line, but that is not why I got it, I just hooked it up to my computer and good to go. Can't say enough good about this printer, very reasonably priced, very cheap for what all it can do. THANKS BROTHER FOR MAKING SUCH A GOOD PRINTER AT A REASONBLE PRICE
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good all-in-one printer for the price
4/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This printer was very easy to install. The print quallity was better than I expected. Well worth the money I paid for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect! Best Price :-)
4/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Saw this printer on Amazon with excellent reviews and found here for $20 less. Most attractive feature is the fact that one can purchase aftermarket Inc. any relatively low price. I've only had it for a few days but I am very happy with my purchase. Very nice to be able to hit print from your phone or iPad.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great printer, only likes expensive ink:)
5/14/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The printer itself works great. It's relatively quiet. It prints well in the fast mode which saves ink and is quicker. It's my second brother printer and their quality is very good. The major downside is the ink. I haven't found a way, yet, to successfully use non-Brother ink. There are plenty on the market, but Brother is trying harder and harder to keep consumers from using other ink. I even switched the brother chip on the ink cartridge, but the printer still seems to know it's being reused. The other downside is that if any of the four ink cartridges are empty, you cannot print anything. This means if the yellow is empty, you can't even print black and white because the printer refuses to print. I know one of the reasons is so the ink lines won't get air bubbles or dry out causing damage, but it would still be nice to not get hamstrung by an empty cartridge that doesn't even need to be used.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent printer for the price
5/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very nice all in one printer. I really love the wifi print function. I have downloaded the print app to my phone and Kindle Fire and both work perfectly with this printer. I got this printer mainly to print pictures and it has great. Prints photos quickly and they have very good print quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great home printer
8/10/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had this printer for 2 years now and apart from a little cleaning with the paper feed roller now and then from a paper jam, it is a great home printer, fax and scanner device that is easy on the ink usage. Makes great photos on glossy paper also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Not Great
7/31/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Installs and works great with Windows 8 and 8.1. Installed ok with Windows 7 Home Premium, but is not recognized correctly in the printers and devices area. It works with Windows 7..... but there seems to be an issue with the scanner. I don't think Windows 7 recognizes that it's all ONE device. It tries to make my laptop the scanner, gives me the yellow triangle in the devices and printers area....and can't find drivers for the scanner. I read online that Brother didn't have the correct drivers / support for Windows 7. Print quality seems good, price was good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good and VERY BAD
2/16/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I own two Brother printers, this one, and a Laser. The latter is absolutely flawless, always. This one? Well, if you're hooking it directly to your PC via USB cable, then I would give it 5 stars. If you're using it wireless, then I'd give it ZERO, so I'm compromising and giving it a 3. When it works, it works flawlessly. I love it. Unfortunately, every time we have a power glitch, or have to reset our router, it's gone, and refuses to reconnect without a LOT a messing around. You CAN'T use the automatic recognition feature - doesn't work. You have to go to to your router page, find the IP address (yes, the router still sees it), then do a manual reinstall, which sometimes works, and sometimes doesn't. I'm giving up and sacrificing some precious desk space so I can directly connect it until it can be replaced. Would I buy another Brother? Not sure. Would LIKE to give them a second try, but the fact that they haven't fixed this yet (I am using the latest downloads from their site) argues against the gamble.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great buy
12/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Cannot believe this product for this price,...very happy with the product, the price and the purchase..i now own 3 Brother's in my home office,, very happy with all 3.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (93)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great printer
5/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
easy to set up, and easy to use. Works well with windows 8.1
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
horrible experience
7/16/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would not give this printer even 1 star. I had connection issues and received poor help from the call center. I had to make almost a dozen calls to resolve connection issues, and I'm still not sure the scanner is connected. Be prepared to call the support center at 9 a.m, unless you want to wait a half hour or more. They must have a small staff or a huge # of problems. The manual gives incomplete info for MAC users. Reps sometimes send printed instructions but these come late and don't always relate to the problem I described. I've hung up thinking a problem was resolved only to find that it isn't. On one occasion, after being disconnected twice, I finally reached an agent. I had been on hold for 25 minutes. When he learned I have a MAC he told me he'd have to connect me to a MAC agent. I'd already spent over an hour on the phone and couldn't wait any longer. I'd never recommend the MFC-J450DW to anyone. I'd never recommend any Brother product to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent printer for those who don't require much
6/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This printer is excellent for it's price and size. Easy to install and very good print quality. I'm always happy with Brother products. Just remember; buy something you can always pronounce the name of!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Meets or exceeds my home office requirements
8/21/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this printer after experiencing mechanical failure of another brand. I am running Windows 10 on an HO Pavilion 500 with 8 gigs of ram. The print and scan functions run very well with this setup. I have not used fax. The automatic double sided printing feature is quite nice and will save paper and time. Ink colors are true and ink is quite smear proof compare to other inks I have used. In the past I have generally re-loaded my own cartridges but will use the brother ink for a while. The Brother ink is definitely superior as regards smearing. You don't get a new print head with every cartridge so longevity of that leaves a question mark in my mind. I bought a three year warranty as a result. My primary uses for this printer will be with MS Office and printing from my CAD program. Some limited photo printing will be tried as well due to the color quality. If I could confirm good reliability, I would rate this one a 5 especially for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Won't Print
1/20/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had this less than 10 days and it won't print. Spent hours on the phone with technical support. They blame the ink cartridge, but have no solutions. I am returning this printer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Replacing the ink cartridges is difficult!!!
1/29/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
While the physicality is easy I continue to get an error message stating the printer does not detect the new cartridges. Has anyone ran into this issue? I need help!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy setup, works great so far.
1/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It was very quick and easy to set up and has worked great so far. Copy quality is very good and the ink cartridge location is very convenient.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for scanning pictures and docs
6/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am very pleased with this all-in-one printer. I wanted it specifically for scanning and it exceeds my expectations. The quality and color are superb! The only draw back so far is that it will not accommodate printing 8-1/2 X 14 size. Other than that it is a quality machine for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642864, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-