Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 281 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

281 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

281 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
171
4 stars
57
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 stars
25
1-20 of 281 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews
Very good and VERY BAD
2/16/2016

Customer review by jbefumo

3.0 stars 2/16/2016 by jbefumo
by jbefumo

I own two Brother printers, this one, and a Laser. The latter is absolutely flawless, always. This one? Well, if you're hooking it directly to your PC via USB cable, then I would give it 5 stars. If you're using it wireless, then I'd give it ZERO, so I'm compromising and giving it a 3. When it works, it works flawlessly. I love it. Unfortunately, every time we have a power glitch, or have to reset our router, it's gone, and refuses to reconnect without a LOT a messing around. You CAN'T use the automatic recognition feature - doesn't work. You have to go to to your router page, find the IP address (yes, the router still sees it), then do a manual reinstall, which sometimes works, and sometimes doesn't. I'm giving up and sacrificing some precious desk space so I can directly connect it until it can be replaced. Would I buy another Brother? Not sure. Would LIKE to give them a second try, but the fact that they haven't fixed this yet (I am using the latest downloads from their site) argues against the gamble.

jbefumo
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Solid Feeling Machine
6/21/2014

Customer review by BearPup

4.0 stars 6/21/2014 by BearPup
by BearPup

This is my first Brother printer and my initial impression is that its a solid machine that makes Good to Above Average output. Setup: the hardest part was getting the cartridges installed properly - black plastic going into black plastic holders does not make for easy insertion. Other than that, the machine pretty much sets up the machine for you. At this price level I'm pleased to find an enclosed paper tray and output paper stop (my defunct HP didn't have that). Output: text is reasonably crisp and without any extraneous marks. Its not laser quality, my HP did print slightly darker blacks, but for everyday use, its perfectly fine. The story is the same for color printing: on the plain paper / vivid settings, output was well saturated, but not what I would call vivid. I imagine it will work much better with photo paper. Final Thoughts: One of the features that I specifically wanted on this printer was an Auto Document Feeder; to date and with some differences in the input quality, the ADF worked fine. Its all part of this feeling like a solid product. Despite what may feel like my criticisms, this is a good printer, it feels solid and has more than acceptable output; but neither does it elicit an "Oh, Wow" response. But for what I paid (on sale), its an excellent deal. Regards, BearPup

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BearPup
Northern Vermont, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
I like this unit so far
9/7/2014

Customer review by hopster313

4.0 stars 9/7/2014 by hopster313
by hopster313
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used all the features of this device, except for faxing, and so far it works pretty well. I copied a 20 page document in about a minute. Scanning is easy and gives you the option to save to PDF, which simplifies things for sure. Changing print options is fairly simple too. While the device is in operation it is a bit noisy. And the paper tray only holds approximately 30 sheets at a time. For me that is no bid deal but if you are doing high volume tasks that could be an issue. The plastic parts do seem to be on the flimsy side but if you aren't going to be doing a lot of volume there shouldn't be a problem. For light home use this device is a really good value; for business purposes, I would spend a few more dollars and get a device more suited for higher volume usage.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hopster313
philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Totally and Completely Awesome!
9/8/2014

Customer review by computeruser2

4.0 stars 9/8/2014 by computeruser2
by computeruser2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love this printer! Wireless is definitely the way to go! I can now easily print, scan and copy using my mobile devices, as well as my laptop, with absolutely no wires! It only took about five minutes to connect the printer to my network, right from the printer itself. Took another 10 minutes to set up my laptop with the CD-ROM. I also downloaded the app from the app store for free, which makes it really easy to scan, print and copy with my mobile devices. This app is not absolutely necessary to print, scan or copy, because the individual apps themselves are able to recognize the printer, but it is a really cool and convenient option. Now I can scan pictures directly into my mobile devices, and use them as wallpaper! The printer is also super-fast, and you can change the desired print quality right from the printer itself. Making quick copies is also really easy with just the touch of a button. There are two things, however, that could use improvement. The cover is a bit flimsy and has a tendency to detach itself if you push or pull it at the wrong angle. If you avoid that angle, however, everything is fine. The other bad thing is the paper tray is also a bit flimsy and also has a tendency to detach itself if you pull it out too far. Other than those two things, though, everything works great. I really like the way you can see the ink levels at a glance, right on the printer's screen. I also really like the way the cover has some weight to it, which helps with the quality when copying and scanning. And I also like the way the printer turns itself off automatically after a period of non-use. It also wakes itself up automatically when you start using it- you don't even have to fiddle with the power button. I am so glad I found this printer and am enjoying it immensely!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
computeruser2
Eagle Lake, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastick!!!!
6/30/2014

Customer review by HomeGirl01

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by HomeGirl01
by HomeGirl01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I could not be happier, after trying 2!!! HP 1512 and both had printing problems right out of the box. And I was a HP fan!! this printer is GREAT!!!! uses very little ink and prints FAST! very clear and clean printing and ink is very cheap with after market sights on EBay. I am now a Brothers fan set up was VERY easy the machine does it all for you, just read the instructions and you are good to go, I was surprised how easy it was, I did not use the Fax as I do not have a land line, but that is not why I got it, I just hooked it up to my computer and good to go. Can't say enough good about this printer, very reasonably priced, very cheap for what all it can do. THANKS BROTHER FOR MAKING SUCH A GOOD PRINTER AT A REASONBLE PRICE

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HomeGirl01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Uses too much ink
6/16/2016

Customer review by roses

1.0 stars 6/16/2016 by roses
by roses

I have to keep it turned off or else it cleans itself almost daily and uses up the ink doing that. The only reason I bought this is to have a color wireless printer. I have spent way too much money buying cartridges when it eats the ink cleaning itself. I hardly ever need the color function so this is a waste of money.

roses
Nevada, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
does not like
6/20/2016

Customer review by thebird

1.0 stars 6/20/2016 by thebird
by thebird

Does not like it in no way ; is too expensive for his performance and small ink amount on each ink cartridge.

thebird
Puerto rico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great printer, only likes expensive ink:)
5/14/2015

Customer review by HappyHusband123

4.0 stars 5/14/2015 by HappyHusband123
by HappyHusband123

The printer itself works great. It's relatively quiet. It prints well in the fast mode which saves ink and is quicker. It's my second brother printer and their quality is very good. The major downside is the ink. I haven't found a way, yet, to successfully use non-Brother ink. There are plenty on the market, but Brother is trying harder and harder to keep consumers from using other ink. I even switched the brother chip on the ink cartridge, but the printer still seems to know it's being reused. The other downside is that if any of the four ink cartridges are empty, you cannot print anything. This means if the yellow is empty, you can't even print black and white because the printer refuses to print. I know one of the reasons is so the ink lines won't get air bubbles or dry out causing damage, but it would still be nice to not get hamstrung by an empty cartridge that doesn't even need to be used.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyHusband123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good all-in-one printer for the price
4/22/2014

Customer review by Madacada

5.0 stars 4/22/2014 by Madacada
by Madacada
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This printer was very easy to install. The print quallity was better than I expected. Well worth the money I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madacada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect! Best Price :-)
4/15/2014

Customer review by GivingFeelsAwesome

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by GivingFeelsAwesome
by GivingFeelsAwesome
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Saw this printer on Amazon with excellent reviews and found here for $20 less. Most attractive feature is the fact that one can purchase aftermarket Inc. any relatively low price. I've only had it for a few days but I am very happy with my purchase. Very nice to be able to hit print from your phone or iPad.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GivingFeelsAwesome
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent printer for the price
5/27/2014

Customer review by jeepchic13

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by jeepchic13
by jeepchic13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice all in one printer. I really love the wifi print function. I have downloaded the print app to my phone and Kindle Fire and both work perfectly with this printer. I got this printer mainly to print pictures and it has great. Prints photos quickly and they have very good print quality.

Was this review helpful? (67) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeepchic13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Not Great
7/31/2014

Customer review by Chuckles159

4.0 stars 7/31/2014 by Chuckles159
by Chuckles159
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Installs and works great with Windows 8 and 8.1. Installed ok with Windows 7 Home Premium, but is not recognized correctly in the printers and devices area. It works with Windows 7..... but there seems to be an issue with the scanner. I don't think Windows 7 recognizes that it's all ONE device. It tries to make my laptop the scanner, gives me the yellow triangle in the devices and printers area....and can't find drivers for the scanner. I read online that Brother didn't have the correct drivers / support for Windows 7. Print quality seems good, price was good.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuckles159
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Workhorse of a printer
6/6/2016

Customer review by Framelady

4.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Framelady
by Framelady

Until recently I have no problems, unfortunately since I placed it in my home office it occasionally loses Wi-Fi connection. I must say the tech help is the best. Always patient and helpfully.

Framelady
Camarillo, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Features for this MFC-J450W
6/6/2016

Customer review by Nacho

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Nacho
by Nacho

I am very impressed by the way this MFC-J45OW performs as stated in all the videos and details from Brother. It is a great VALUE for the money that is costs.

Nacho
Boca Raton, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
horrible experience
7/16/2014

Customer review by littlesister

1.0 stars 7/16/2014 by littlesister
by littlesister

I would not give this printer even 1 star. I had connection issues and received poor help from the call center. I had to make almost a dozen calls to resolve connection issues, and I'm still not sure the scanner is connected. Be prepared to call the support center at 9 a.m, unless you want to wait a half hour or more. They must have a small staff or a huge # of problems. The manual gives incomplete info for MAC users. Reps sometimes send printed instructions but these come late and don't always relate to the problem I described. I've hung up thinking a problem was resolved only to find that it isn't. On one occasion, after being disconnected twice, I finally reached an agent. I had been on hold for 25 minutes. When he learned I have a MAC he told me he'd have to connect me to a MAC agent. I'd already spent over an hour on the phone and couldn't wait any longer. I'd never recommend the MFC-J450DW to anyone. I'd never recommend any Brother product to anyone.

littlesister
new york state
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great buy
12/11/2013

Customer review by Monique47

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Monique47
by Monique47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cannot believe this product for this price,...very happy with the product, the price and the purchase..i now own 3 Brother's in my home office,, very happy with all 3.

Was this review helpful? (93) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monique47
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great printer
5/19/2014

Customer review by rwk357

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by rwk357
by rwk357
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

easy to set up, and easy to use. Works well with windows 8.1

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rwk357
Troy Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NFC J450DW
5/29/2016

Customer review by 4 fishel12

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by 4 fishel12
by 4 fishel12

Great product Easy to use, set up. Was really surprised on how easy it was to set up on my network and new Inac. Very happy

4 fishel12
NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best one i have ever had .
5/22/2016

Customer review by shortbox88

5.0 stars 5/22/2016 by shortbox88
by shortbox88

This printer is the 2 one i have gotten. I bought the old model of this one several years ago. after having 2 other brands.. Brother is and will be the only brand / model i will buy. I like the new wireless system on this one , being able to do my work and not having to be attached to the printer.

shortbox88
Wisconsin Rapids, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replacing the ink cartridges is difficult!!!
1/29/2015

Customer review by Rachel

1.0 stars 1/29/2015 by Rachel
by Rachel

While the physicality is easy I continue to get an error message stating the printer does not detect the new cartridges. Has anyone ran into this issue? I need help!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rachel
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews