Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 292 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

292 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

292 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
177
4 stars
61
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 stars
25
1-20 of 292 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 292 total reviews
1-20 of 292 reviews
Very good and VERY BAD
2/16/2016

Customer review by jbefumo

3.0 stars 2/16/2016 by jbefumo
by jbefumo

I own two Brother printers, this one, and a Laser. The latter is absolutely flawless, always. This one? Well, if you're hooking it directly to your PC via USB cable, then I would give it 5 stars. If you're using it wireless, then I'd give it ZERO, so I'm compromising and giving it a 3. When it works, it works flawlessly. I love it. Unfortunately, every time we have a power glitch, or have to reset our router, it's gone, and refuses to reconnect without a LOT a messing around. You CAN'T use the automatic recognition feature - doesn't work. You have to go to to your router page, find the IP address (yes, the router still sees it), then do a manual reinstall, which sometimes works, and sometimes doesn't. I'm giving up and sacrificing some precious desk space so I can directly connect it until it can be replaced. Would I buy another Brother? Not sure. Would LIKE to give them a second try, but the fact that they haven't fixed this yet (I am using the latest downloads from their site) argues against the gamble.

jbefumo
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
horrible experience
7/16/2014

Customer review by littlesister

1.0 stars 7/16/2014 by littlesister
by littlesister

I would not give this printer even 1 star. I had connection issues and received poor help from the call center. I had to make almost a dozen calls to resolve connection issues, and I'm still not sure the scanner is connected. Be prepared to call the support center at 9 a.m, unless you want to wait a half hour or more. They must have a small staff or a huge # of problems. The manual gives incomplete info for MAC users. Reps sometimes send printed instructions but these come late and don't always relate to the problem I described. I've hung up thinking a problem was resolved only to find that it isn't. On one occasion, after being disconnected twice, I finally reached an agent. I had been on hold for 25 minutes. When he learned I have a MAC he told me he'd have to connect me to a MAC agent. I'd already spent over an hour on the phone and couldn't wait any longer. I'd never recommend the MFC-J450DW to anyone. I'd never recommend any Brother product to anyone.

littlesister
new york state
Would recommend to a friend? No
Meets or exceeds my home office requirements
8/21/2015

Customer review by EJack

4.0 stars 8/21/2015 by EJack
by EJack

I purchased this printer after experiencing mechanical failure of another brand. I am running Windows 10 on an HO Pavilion 500 with 8 gigs of ram. The print and scan functions run very well with this setup. I have not used fax. The automatic double sided printing feature is quite nice and will save paper and time. Ink colors are true and ink is quite smear proof compare to other inks I have used. In the past I have generally re-loaded my own cartridges but will use the brother ink for a while. The Brother ink is definitely superior as regards smearing. You don't get a new print head with every cartridge so longevity of that leaves a question mark in my mind. I bought a three year warranty as a result. My primary uses for this printer will be with MS Office and printing from my CAD program. Some limited photo printing will be tried as well due to the color quality. If I could confirm good reliability, I would rate this one a 5 especially for the price.

EJack
Brandon, MS, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Economical and Practical
12/10/2015

Customer review by deriter

4.0 stars 12/10/2015 by deriter
by deriter

Purchased this unit to replace HP printer that kept recycling setup and leaked black ink. The OEM ink for the J450DW runs about 50% less than HP. The LC101, 103 series inks were not available at either Sam's Club or Walmart. I ordered replacement OEM ink via eBay. Not sure is remanufactured ink is suitable. The printer itself performs adequately. The only problems I've had is after loading more paper which requires the tray to be remove, it will occasionally spit more pages. Also when printing pictures on glossy, the glossy side is down and under the paper in the tray. Mechanism picks up sheets from the bottom of the tray. So far I'm pleased with the performance versus the price. I did purchase the additional square deal warranty because of previous printer problems. Long term reliability is always my concern.

deriter
Johnson City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excited to Disappointed
7/11/2015

Customer review by SMLD

1.0 stars 7/11/2015 by SMLD
by SMLD

I did a lot of research before purchasing this machine. It got very good reviews. I also liked the fact it was rated good for ink economy. I didn't need the fax part but I wasn't going to worry about that. Who knows maybe some day I would. Well, the machine came and first off, it was very heavy. I was surprised. The footprint bigger than I hoped, but that was easy to get over. It was quieter than my old HP (bonus). Here is where it went south. It took forever to print. Meaning I would hit print and then it would think/process the info and then finally print. Another problem was it wouldn't also work with wifi. Sometimes it would other times no. When it didn't sometime you had to restart, sometimes you had to reset the network settings. It was not convenient at all. It is certainly not the plug and play that I had hoped for.

SMLD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dynamite all-in-one for the money.
8/15/2015

Customer review by Jazzdrummer

5.0 stars 8/15/2015 by Jazzdrummer
by Jazzdrummer

I purchase the Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One to replace an out-of-date 10 year old flatbed scanner (took forever to scan), bulky color printer (slower than molasses), and added a fax (comes in handy once in a while.) The foot print is about 50% of those two items I retired and gave me more desk space. Setup was easy and wireless networking was simple. The fax works flawlessly without involving your computer in the process at all. It is an exceptional value for the money and has my complete recommendation. I now have two Brother devices I am very happy I purchase. The other is a Brother HL-2270DW Laser printer purchased 03/2011 which still runs perfectly after intense usage (about 35 reams of paper, both sides). Buy it you’ll like it.

Jazzdrummer
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
decent printer
2/20/2016

Customer review by bobtheprinter

4.0 stars 2/20/2016 by bobtheprinter
by bobtheprinter

Only one fairly minor problem. The printer told me I had a paper jam when I didn't. Following the printers instructions to clear the jam didn't work and I couldn't get the printer back in operation. I finally decided to unplug the printer and then replug it in and hit "start". That worked. This has happened twice. The first time I panicked as I couldn't get the printer to work for about a half hour until I figured out the unplugging thing. The second time I didn't panic and quickly unplugged the printer and got it back into operation. Otherwise there were no other problems with a pretty good printer. I do wish it held more paper though.

bobtheprinter
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice printer
1/9/2016

Customer review by print12

4.0 stars 1/9/2016 by print12
by print12

This printer is adequate for what I need to print and works well on the simple things. The only negative thing I have to say is that it does not come with a book. I want to scan in photos and it wouldn't let me change them to a 4 x 6 size would only scan in at 8 1/2 x 11. I had to go on-line and after searching the web site for 30 minutes found what I thought to be my manual but it wasn't. Finally found how to change setting only it didn't change the outcome of the scanning in of pictures, they still scanned in at 8 1/2 x 11. Frustrated with trying to find an explanation it was easier to give them to someone else to just scan in on their computer/printer.

print12
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Uses too much ink
6/16/2016

Customer review by roses

1.0 stars 6/16/2016 by roses
by roses

I have to keep it turned off or else it cleans itself almost daily and uses up the ink doing that. The only reason I bought this is to have a color wireless printer. I have spent way too much money buying cartridges when it eats the ink cleaning itself. I hardly ever need the color function so this is a waste of money.

roses
Nevada, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really pleased, so far
2/8/2016

Customer review by Leonardo

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Leonardo
by Leonardo

I have been an HP user since the last Millennium, but decided to try something else. I needed an universal WiFi device, and so far it proved to be great. Easy setup, everything works as it should, even the iPhone printing. Double sided printing is handy, saves paper. I sometimes have to use Fax, it works great, does not interfere with my answering system, so I leave the phone cable plugged in all the time. Bottom line, it was cheap to buy, super easy to set up, and is reliable. I only had it for a couple of months, so I am not sure how the ink consumption is going to work out, but so far, so good. 5 STARS

Leonardo
Greater Boston area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
1/28/2016

Customer review by Mizjane

2.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Mizjane
by Mizjane

As for black ink printing, the copy comes out faded. I printed in color on glossy stock, and that came out acceptable. When I tried to print on card stock it jammed every time. I have had several standard paper jams in all parts of the printer. The Automatic Document Feeder inserts a blank top margin of slightly over 1/2 inch which results in chopping off the bottom 1/2 inch of the scanned document. Not knowing this has cost me many hours of verifying every page, and doing most of them over. More ink and more paper, too. Many documents I must scan page by page on the glass. I haven't even tried the Fax feature yet.

Mizjane
Would recommend to a friend? No
I loved the size and the features of the MFC J450D
5/13/2016

Customer review by paul plasters

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by paul plasters
by paul plasters

But before I got through the first Ink cartridge it quit printing ledgeably. Thankfully in just 2 days Brother replaced the machine, with the MFC J470DW. That is almost the exact same printer. I love the way you can print on both sides, and even print from my cell phone. Dollar for dollar, it is the best printer you can buy. Yes I would buy another if this one wore out, or got stolen.

paul plasters
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
does not like
6/20/2016

Customer review by thebird

1.0 stars 6/20/2016 by thebird
by thebird

Does not like it in no way ; is too expensive for his performance and small ink amount on each ink cartridge.

thebird
Puerto rico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Like Any Other Printer Out There
2/22/2015

Customer review by HomeUser1234

3.0 stars 2/22/2015 by HomeUser1234
by HomeUser1234

Received this printer as a gift. Activated it using the printer and getting it to recognize the wireless device was a little complicated but got it to work. Only problem doing this way is you don't get all the programs to make it easy to use. Tried the download option but it wanted me to hook up the printer using a usb cord which wasn't supplied. Tried the cd and again it wanted me to hook up the usb cord. If that is how you have to get it onto your computer to utilize all the programs it should be provided and explained in the directions for set up. Found an old usb plug that worked and finally got it uploaded. Problem now is that the control center 4 that makes it easy to use from the computer doesn't work. Also the directions to scan directly off the printer only worked thru the web service. The multi document paper feeder doesn't work for scanning but does for copying. Go figure. Got tired of trying to figure out the problems and using it the way it is. If it wasn't given as a gift I would return the printer as my old one worked fine for my needs. The multi document feeder was the focal point of the present but doesn't really work so still doing it individually by hand. With all the special gizmos I wouldn't recommend this printer as it isn't that easy to get all the functions to work correctly.

HomeUser1234
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best one i have ever had .
5/22/2016

Customer review by shortbox88

5.0 stars 5/22/2016 by shortbox88
by shortbox88

This printer is the 2 one i have gotten. I bought the old model of this one several years ago. after having 2 other brands.. Brother is and will be the only brand / model i will buy. I like the new wireless system on this one , being able to do my work and not having to be attached to the printer.

shortbox88
Wisconsin Rapids, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Workhorse of a printer
6/6/2016

Customer review by Framelady

4.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Framelady
by Framelady

Until recently I have no problems, unfortunately since I placed it in my home office it occasionally loses Wi-Fi connection. I must say the tech help is the best. Always patient and helpfully.

Framelady
Camarillo, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far, reliable
5/16/2016

Customer review by Terry PhD

4.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Terry PhD
by Terry PhD

I like my new printer so far, I haven't had it for long now. It has done what I asked it to do. I think the paper tray could be more substantial, the paper guides are difficult to maneuver. And it is not easy to get the paper out when re-loading with envelopes. It would be much easier if there were a finger dip in the tray.

Terry PhD
Bethlehem, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't work
11/10/2015

Customer review by LastBrother

1.0 stars 11/10/2015 by LastBrother
by LastBrother

I could never get this machine to recognize my computer, so it was only decorative. The software CD was out of date, so I downloaded software from Brother's website...with download complete, no driver...The download instructions said I should "extract the driver files using a disk utility," at which time I ordered an HP to replace my previous HP that worked like a champ for years without downloads or extracting...written instruction booklet was completely useless...online instructions incomplete...The most I could ever get it to do was display "check connection." Who has hours to spend setting up simple office equipment?

LastBrother
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Features for this MFC-J450W
6/6/2016

Customer review by Nacho

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Nacho
by Nacho

I am very impressed by the way this MFC-J45OW performs as stated in all the videos and details from Brother. It is a great VALUE for the money that is costs.

Nacho
Boca Raton, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My fourth Brother
5/18/2016

Customer review by usa1

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by usa1
by usa1

I had used perhaps ten brands since 1983, before settling on Brother inkjet and laser printers about 5 years ago. All were straightforward to install and are working well with my and my wife's computers. The 450 is the first I've used in wireless mode.

usa1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 292 total reviews
1-20 of 292 reviews