Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 240 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

240 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

240 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
149
4 stars
48
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 stars
20
1-20 of 240 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 240 total reviews
1-20 of 240 reviews
A Solid Feeling Machine
6/21/2014

Customer review by BearPup

4.0 stars 6/21/2014 by BearPup
by BearPup

This is my first Brother printer and my initial impression is that its a solid machine that makes Good to Above Average output. Setup: the hardest part was getting the cartridges installed properly - black plastic going into black plastic holders does not make for easy insertion. Other than that, the machine pretty much sets up the machine for you. At this price level I'm pleased to find an enclosed paper tray and output paper stop (my defunct HP didn't have that). Output: text is reasonably crisp and without any extraneous marks. Its not laser quality, my HP did print slightly darker blacks, but for everyday use, its perfectly fine. The story is the same for color printing: on the plain paper / vivid settings, output was well saturated, but not what I would call vivid. I imagine it will work much better with photo paper. Final Thoughts: One of the features that I specifically wanted on this printer was an Auto Document Feeder; to date and with some differences in the input quality, the ADF worked fine. Its all part of this feeling like a solid product. Despite what may feel like my criticisms, this is a good printer, it feels solid and has more than acceptable output; but neither does it elicit an "Oh, Wow" response. But for what I paid (on sale), its an excellent deal. Regards, BearPup

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BearPup
Northern Vermont, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
A+
1/27/2016

Customer review by myyak

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by myyak
by myyak

THIS IS MY 4TH BROTHER PRINTER ALL WERE STILL WORKING ONLY CHANGED BECAUSE NEW FEATURES.THE LAST 3 ALL USED SAME STYLE INK CARTRIDGES.THAT IS ONE OF BEST FEATURES.MFC ARE GREAT FOR HOME USE, AND BROTHER ALWAYS UPDATES IT'S DRIVER ,SOFTWARE FOR WINDOWS.YOU HAVE BEST SALES ON LINE AT YOUR WEB/SITE.WILL ALWAYS BE A BROTHER

myyak
S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brother printers are best for reliability
1/27/2016

Customer review by Hiker

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Hiker
by Hiker

Have two laser printers ( mono and color ) and a jet 450 DW . All are replacements for previous big name printers that gave nothing much but trouble. The lasers have worked flawlessly for years. The MFC J450 DW has done likewise since day 1. Thanks for building printers that work!

Hiker
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice printer
1/9/2016

Customer review by print12

4.0 stars 1/9/2016 by print12
by print12

This printer is adequate for what I need to print and works well on the simple things. The only negative thing I have to say is that it does not come with a book. I want to scan in photos and it wouldn't let me change them to a 4 x 6 size would only scan in at 8 1/2 x 11. I had to go on-line and after searching the web site for 30 minutes found what I thought to be my manual but it wasn't. Finally found how to change setting only it didn't change the outcome of the scanning in of pictures, they still scanned in at 8 1/2 x 11. Frustrated with trying to find an explanation it was easier to give them to someone else to just scan in on their computer/printer.

print12
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great on ink. Love this printer!
1/14/2016

Customer review by Jezziebones

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Jezziebones
by Jezziebones

I had been using a Canon Pixma printer but I was going broke putting ink in it. Ink usage was my number one reason for getting a new printer. I don't do a lot of printing, but I spent almost $175 in ink last year. I purchased my Brother printer in mid November, and have been printing out holiday recipes (more printing than normal) and I am still using the partial ink cartridges that came with the printer! At this rate the printer will pay for itself compared to the Canon. I highly recommend this printer

Jezziebones
Southampton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like this unit so far
9/7/2014

Customer review by hopster313

4.0 stars 9/7/2014 by hopster313
by hopster313
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used all the features of this device, except for faxing, and so far it works pretty well. I copied a 20 page document in about a minute. Scanning is easy and gives you the option to save to PDF, which simplifies things for sure. Changing print options is fairly simple too. While the device is in operation it is a bit noisy. And the paper tray only holds approximately 30 sheets at a time. For me that is no bid deal but if you are doing high volume tasks that could be an issue. The plastic parts do seem to be on the flimsy side but if you aren't going to be doing a lot of volume there shouldn't be a problem. For light home use this device is a really good value; for business purposes, I would spend a few more dollars and get a device more suited for higher volume usage.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hopster313
philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Economical and Practical
12/10/2015

Customer review by deriter

4.0 stars 12/10/2015 by deriter
by deriter

Purchased this unit to replace HP printer that kept recycling setup and leaked black ink. The OEM ink for the J450DW runs about 50% less than HP. The LC101, 103 series inks were not available at either Sam's Club or Walmart. I ordered replacement OEM ink via eBay. Not sure is remanufactured ink is suitable. The printer itself performs adequately. The only problems I've had is after loading more paper which requires the tray to be remove, it will occasionally spit more pages. Also when printing pictures on glossy, the glossy side is down and under the paper in the tray. Mechanism picks up sheets from the bottom of the tray. So far I'm pleased with the performance versus the price. I did purchase the additional square deal warranty because of previous printer problems. Long term reliability is always my concern.

deriter
Johnson City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
injet printer
1/21/2016

Customer review by abby

4.0 stars 1/21/2016 by abby
by abby

As a senior citizen I found this printer a little difficult to use. I like simple products and this was not a simple installation for me. Once running, it works ok.

abby
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An improvement over my old printers.
1/20/2016

Customer review by Charon5

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Charon5
by Charon5

Excellent copies. One little know holding the cover to the p;rinter inks broke off. So far, the remaining knob is useful and I can close the cover properly. Also, a lot faster than the MFC 3360 and the DCP 165C.

Charon5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Xcellent
1/20/2016

Customer review by ptofimpact

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by ptofimpact
by ptofimpact

I had an older Brother which I replaced with this new model. Quick setup, prints, scans, copies with ease. I wouldnt buy any other brand MFC Printer~

ptofimpact
Coastal NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What was I thinking!
1/8/2016

Customer review by madartist

1.0 stars 1/8/2016 by madartist
by madartist

I thought that this would be a good all in one printer, fax scanner. What was I thinking it is not what the reviews were that I read. When I got it and loaded the ink in, it seemed to print fine, I thought ok this is great. Well that did not last long at all, I than had to change the ink cartridge and well that was the end of the honeymoon. The black ink skips all the time when printing, I have to keep cleaning it and restarting to print again, still skipping when printing. I can honestly say this was a mistake and will not make this again

madartist
Northwest Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent
1/20/2016

Customer review by Lynnied2

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Lynnied2
by Lynnied2

I love this printer. Easy to use, unlike my last printer and I like the inkjets. I would recommend this.

Lynnied2
Clearwater, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
does the job
1/18/2016

Customer review by JandS

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by JandS
by JandS

faster then the old MFJ-440 that we had to replace just wished it had the same cartridges that the other brother printers we have but if it lasts as long as the old 440 we will be pleased

JandS
Louisville Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love my Brother printers.
1/14/2016

Customer review by Hardy

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Hardy
by Hardy

This is a great printer for the money. My second Brother printer. One for the house and one for the shop> Produces excellent copies and provides a no stress setup. No problems-they just work.

Hardy
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great printer, only likes expensive ink:)
5/14/2015

Customer review by HappyHusband123

4.0 stars 5/14/2015 by HappyHusband123
by HappyHusband123

The printer itself works great. It's relatively quiet. It prints well in the fast mode which saves ink and is quicker. It's my second brother printer and their quality is very good. The major downside is the ink. I haven't found a way, yet, to successfully use non-Brother ink. There are plenty on the market, but Brother is trying harder and harder to keep consumers from using other ink. I even switched the brother chip on the ink cartridge, but the printer still seems to know it's being reused. The other downside is that if any of the four ink cartridges are empty, you cannot print anything. This means if the yellow is empty, you can't even print black and white because the printer refuses to print. I know one of the reasons is so the ink lines won't get air bubbles or dry out causing damage, but it would still be nice to not get hamstrung by an empty cartridge that doesn't even need to be used.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyHusband123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Totally and Completely Awesome!
9/8/2014

Customer review by computeruser2

4.0 stars 9/8/2014 by computeruser2
by computeruser2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love this printer! Wireless is definitely the way to go! I can now easily print, scan and copy using my mobile devices, as well as my laptop, with absolutely no wires! It only took about five minutes to connect the printer to my network, right from the printer itself. Took another 10 minutes to set up my laptop with the CD-ROM. I also downloaded the app from the app store for free, which makes it really easy to scan, print and copy with my mobile devices. This app is not absolutely necessary to print, scan or copy, because the individual apps themselves are able to recognize the printer, but it is a really cool and convenient option. Now I can scan pictures directly into my mobile devices, and use them as wallpaper! The printer is also super-fast, and you can change the desired print quality right from the printer itself. Making quick copies is also really easy with just the touch of a button. There are two things, however, that could use improvement. The cover is a bit flimsy and has a tendency to detach itself if you push or pull it at the wrong angle. If you avoid that angle, however, everything is fine. The other bad thing is the paper tray is also a bit flimsy and also has a tendency to detach itself if you pull it out too far. Other than those two things, though, everything works great. I really like the way you can see the ink levels at a glance, right on the printer's screen. I also really like the way the cover has some weight to it, which helps with the quality when copying and scanning. And I also like the way the printer turns itself off automatically after a period of non-use. It also wakes itself up automatically when you start using it- you don't even have to fiddle with the power button. I am so glad I found this printer and am enjoying it immensely!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
computeruser2
Eagle Lake, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Beast
1/13/2016

Customer review by Raffyrg

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Raffyrg
by Raffyrg

It is amazing machine I really love it Brother has done it again.

Raffyrg
Naguabo PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Copier
1/7/2016

Customer review by PUTNAMGAL

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by PUTNAMGAL
by PUTNAMGAL

We like this copier. It is small and has the functions we need for a small office. It is well designed. As designers we select the products we use that we feel are well designed. We buy a lot of black or white items. And this copier is black.

PUTNAMGAL
Putnam County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastick!!!!
6/30/2014

Customer review by HomeGirl01

5.0 stars 6/30/2014 by HomeGirl01
by HomeGirl01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I could not be happier, after trying 2!!! HP 1512 and both had printing problems right out of the box. And I was a HP fan!! this printer is GREAT!!!! uses very little ink and prints FAST! very clear and clean printing and ink is very cheap with after market sights on EBay. I am now a Brothers fan set up was VERY easy the machine does it all for you, just read the instructions and you are good to go, I was surprised how easy it was, I did not use the Fax as I do not have a land line, but that is not why I got it, I just hooked it up to my computer and good to go. Can't say enough good about this printer, very reasonably priced, very cheap for what all it can do. THANKS BROTHER FOR MAKING SUCH A GOOD PRINTER AT A REASONBLE PRICE

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HomeGirl01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works so far
1/8/2016

Customer review by plurb

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by plurb
by plurb

light use, seems to work fine. Faster output than last printer. Don't know the standby electrical load, but hasn't seemed to boost the electric bill.

plurb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 240 total reviews
1-20 of 240 reviews