Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

82 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

82 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
24
1-20 of 82 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
Great buy for entry level and advanced users.
10/18/2013

Customer review by spartaman

4.0 stars 10/18/2013 by spartaman
by spartaman

I have had many phones over the years with most being android phones. My current is the Motorola Razr. It is a 600ish dollar phone and even now, is a great phone. But I decided to move on and change carriers but no longer was interested in paying soo much for a phone. I came across this beauty one day at walmart. After much research, an attractive price, and potential money savings, I went for it. As of this review I have had the phone for about a day or so and have pretty much found both its flaws and its jems. Lets just get the bad out of the way. The following are not actually bad but read on to see why I listed them. 1. Cameras 2. Screen 3. speakers 4. No hot swap of sim or micro sd cards. 5. Non removable battery The cameras are a 5mp rear and .3mp vga/qvga camera arrangement. Picture quality is actually pretty good compared to my razr, and the color clarity is actually better. Blinding flash as well. The issue is lighting. The flash is a blue tinged led which helps with the color shots, but tends to flash slightly to fast for the camera to catch up leading to dark shots. While being used in camcorder mode, the cameras just have difficulty with low light rooms and darkness in general. My razr blasted it out of the water in its low light capability. Daylight however was quite good. The screen is a decent LCD screen. I am not sure if it is glass or hard plastic but it does not give like the cheaper tft screens. While viewable from extreme angle, it does change contrast while doing so, especially from the top of the screen looking down. I am pretty sure it is a plastic screen which will scratch much easier than glass. Regardless, I always use a protector and case so it is not so much an issue. Clarity is pretty good and I have not noticed much in the way of blur or distortion. But, it is a little bit jarring when used to the viewing angles of the razr, but again, for $160 I am not displeased. The speakers. They are ok but like most laptop computers, are not very good. sound at high volume distorts a little bit and for heavy metal buzzes here and there, but sounds about as bad as my razrs speaker. I have always noticed that my brothers cheaper regular phones always have louder speakers no matter what smart phone I buy. But, headphones and bluetooth options do negate this issue as well. There is no hot swapping ability for the sim or the micro sd card. For me this is not ever been a problem. You generally dont swaps sims very often, and I have actually even forgot I had an sd card in my phone for the last 2 years. so the capability is not really an issue for me. The boot up process is under 30 seconds at most so not a big deal even to swap them anyway. I do however dislike the little metal cage/door lock for the cards. I dont like that method for insertion or removal. The battery is non removable. I am used to most phones having a permanent battery and enjoy the slimmer phone because of it. For the price you can just buy a new phone in 2 years when the battery starts losing life. The battery is exposed when you take off the back to get to the sim and sd cards, but states not to attempt to remove it. I would assume it is possible, but again, by the time you need to get a new battery, you would be ready for a new phone anyway. New batteries are usually around $80 anyway. Overall I think the phones quad core cpu and mostly bloatware free UI is great. Unlike my razr, it came with many useful apps preloaded, but are removable and for the most part actually good. some of the custom Icons have been called childish, but I find them just artsy and colorful. Otherwise, the phone is a great buy. Now for the plans, I actually am going to be using the phone on the tmobile post paid plan, but for the most part is comparable to other plans and usually is cheaper. Could be used with any gsm carrier. I am not sure which sim it uses. It is small i think the nano sim...but could be the mini...is about the size of a micro sd card.

Was this review helpful? (131) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spartaman
Troy OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
11/5/2013

Customer review by Kentucky78

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Kentucky78
by Kentucky78

I have never been one for spending much money on a phone nor paying the crazy prices a phone, a data plan, a talk plan and a text plan...... etc. This is why I use the T Mobile/Walmart plan. It is great and you can't beat the price for 3 smart phone unlimited talk, text and data plans. Now to the phone, yes I spent $150 on the Fierce and I am very pleased with it. There is a slot for a micro card so between the memory card and the phone storage I have downloaded numerous apps and many music albums and still have memory to spare! I absolutely love this phone! I will never pay the $$$ for a unlocked Iphone as long as great alternatives like this phone are available.

Was this review helpful? (70) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kentucky78
42134
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would be great, but for one major flaw
5/12/2014

Customer review by NerdyNerd

1.0 stars 5/12/2014 by NerdyNerd
by NerdyNerd

I purchased this phone having seen a handful of bad reviews and assuming they were individual defective products. I brought it home, powered it on, and was largely impressed. I began to acquaint myself with the phone, activated it and began to use it. About an hour after activation, I had it plugged into the USB port on my desktop and turned the phone off for the purpose of putting in a microSD. At that point, the phone would no longer turn on. After several hours searching through help forums, I learned that if this phone is hooked up to a computer and it is turned off or restarted, it will never turn on again. This happens to seemingly EVERY phone that is on USB and restarted. DO NOT buy this phone.

Was this review helpful? (73) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NerdyNerd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Performance / Cost Ratio
12/12/2013

Customer review by matter23

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by matter23
by matter23

This phone is a great deal! Quad-core performance rocks! However, the camera and display are only merely satisfactory. This camera will never take good pictures with no auto-focus. The phone is very delicate and I highly suggest a case / cover, etc. If you want a phone you can have for emergency talk, unlimited text and 5 GB of 4g access (slower but unlimited after that), using this with the $30 per month pre-paid plan is a great option. You can transfer your existing number. In my case, it took T-Mobile a few days to get it done. Even though I have a land-line phone and wi-fi at home, it is nice to be able to take cell phone calls over my wi-fi and not use up my precious 100 emergency minutes. Be advised that Google Voice will not take calls that come directly to the cell phone. T-Mobile does not allow voice mail carrier options on their pre-paid phones. However, if you are using your Google Voice number as your primary number, you can ask T-Mobile to disable their voice mail and that would work for you. It was an easy root, for those who are interested in that.

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
matter23
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mid-grade Android and priced right
11/4/2013

Customer review by herstadmom

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by herstadmom
by herstadmom

I bought this phone recently, and love it. It is a step up from my previous Samsung phone that actually cost more. This phone runs on Android 4.2, and has a quad-core 1.2 GHz processor. There are some apps I have to download that came pre-installed on my previous phone. However, the Fierce is not loaded with apps that are not removable. I wish Walmart would sell accessories for this phone. It just makes sense to sell cases and screen protectors for a phone Walmart sells.

Was this review helpful? (59) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
herstadmom
Port Orchard, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Efficient First smart phone
2/28/2014

Customer review by AlyRN

4.0 stars 2/28/2014 by AlyRN
by AlyRN

When I decided to finally move on from my NET10 prepaid phone and purchase a smart phone, I looked around for the most cost effective deal. T-Mobile's $30/month was the best deal that I could find. I was first hesitant about buying this phone because of all of the negative reviews that I saw on this site and other places. However, my personal experience with this phone has been positive. I have not experienced the phone randomly shutting off as some people mentioned. It was an easy adjustment to get used to the Android and I am able to download a variety of the popular apps. I am able to quickly jump from app to app with no lagging. My only negative comment about the phone itself is that the quality of the camera isn't the greatest. As mentioned, it has a hard time focusing on objects close up. Also, it is not extremely vibrant in the color tone. Other than that, it has worked great for me, and I was able to find a solid and cheap case for it on ebay.

Was this review helpful? (50) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlyRN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Budget Phone
12/28/2013

Customer review by Quidzark

4.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Quidzark
by Quidzark

The negative reviews this phone gets have valid points. The camera isn't great, the touch screen isn't the most responsive, the processor isn't top of the line. It does, however, have excellent call quality, the camera is passable, and it's a good choice if you're not a "power user". In short, it's a good deal for the price and it meets my needs. I live in a very rural area. Had terrible cell phone reception. This phone combined w/ T-Mobile's Wi-Fi calling was a big improvement over the call quality I was getting w/ ATT. That was my first priority - good call quality. I drive over 100 miles round trip for work, across Houston, TX. I needed to be able to access the internet to get real-time traffic conditions on the fly. I can pull up the TranStar traffic map at what I consider a reasonable speed. That was my second priority. If you have similar needs, this is a good phone. I think it would also be a good choice for a novice smart phone buyer - an inexpensive way to test the waters. The pre-loaded apps offer a good introduction to smart phone capabilities. They don't run as fast as they do on a more expensive phone, but they do run well enough.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Quidzark
Waller, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No replaceable battery, does not play WMA files
8/12/2014

Customer review by BadChuck

3.0 stars 8/12/2014 by BadChuck
by BadChuck

With a quad core processor, the phone is fast and can run the current versions of Netflix and XfinityTVGo neither of which my Samsung Exhibit II could handle without freezing. Though I have had no problems with the phone in the 6 months I have owned it, there are shortcomings making me wish I had spent more. The included apps leave much to be desired; specifically the clock app is very basic not allowing you to customize the sleep mode for each alarm set and far more annoying the music player does not handle WMA files. Also, there is no bar code scanner and installing one does not add scanning capability to apps such as GroceryIQ or the new receipt scanning feature for the Walmart app. Last, the battery is not replaceable which would have been a deal killer for me and the reason I would never buy an iPhone even if I could afford one. P.S. - Beware of the T-Mobile pay by the day plans as you will be charged for the day for simply turning the phone on which is a problem if you want to use the phone as a tablet connected to WiFi.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BadChuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great phone.
5/6/2014

Customer review by mingtanghao

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by mingtanghao
by mingtanghao

the people who made this phone did it with a lot of thought. Jellybean 4.2.2 platform has security and features that are outstanding. Loaded with good antivirus and other programs. The only downside that I have experienced is too much google. So, I uninstalled the google updates , and gained 150 mb. in memory. But all in all, I think this phone is every bit as good as the more expensive phones, if not better. A note of advice, since the battery is non removable, get a good battery saver apt. You recharge your phone less often and extend the length of the battery.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mingtanghao
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
quit less than 90 days
4/21/2014

Customer review by Girru

1.0 stars 4/21/2014 by Girru
by Girru

Over all, this has been a solid device. Until yesterday that is. Put into service late January, 2014. Phone is used for browsing web, checking emails, texting, making an occasional phone call and playing Words With Friends. Has been working well up until now. All of a sudden, the phone won't come on. Even tried holding the power button down as the manufacturer suggests. Nothing. Can't take out the battery to do a reset. $150 with tax is not top of the line, but I expect more than 90 days of use out of such a device.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Girru
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
huge screen what an upgrade!
12/26/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

great camera, big screen, fast processors.. apps load fast....

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albq, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
11/30/2013

Customer review by Santima

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Santima
by Santima

I absolutely love this phone. It does everything that you would expect from a more expensive phone. It's been a while since I used a smart phone because they won't pick up service where I live but I had to upgrade and I'm glad I chose this phone. I love it so much I can't put it down.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Santima
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Touch screen doesn't seem to be accurate
12/21/2013

Customer review by imsdagn

1.0 stars 12/21/2013 by imsdagn
by imsdagn

I was not happy with the way the touch screen operates. You frequently have to touch the icon more than once and often it opens something different than what you expected. You actually have to touch just a little above the icon to get it to respond correctly.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imsdagn
Zaesville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so easy to learn
11/27/2013

Customer review by ashmook

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by ashmook
by ashmook

This is my first smart phone and so far I Love it. Camera better than any other phone I have had and the efficient texting is going to save me carpel tunnel.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashmook
san diego, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not even worth the money I paid...
9/13/2014

Customer review by truth9999

1.0 stars 9/13/2014 by truth9999
by truth9999

This is the worst phone I have ever had. This is also my first review on anything I have ever brought. I always read reviews when purchasing things. I bought this phone on spur of the moment to switch to T-Mobile from METRO for the family plan. T-Mobile store wanted about $75 more, so I bought this from the prepaid section at Walmart for a third of what T-Mobile wanted. VERY SLOW when dialing, scrolling, doing ANYTHING. I am amazed at how slow EVERYTHING is on this phone. I do not know if it is the name (that right there should have turned me off) because it is not a name I know. Please spend a little more and get a better phone. Now I have to go purchase another phone-"the cheap comes out expensive".

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
truth9999
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good phone for the price.
4/14/2014

Customer review by lvmy3kds

2.0 stars 4/14/2014 by lvmy3kds
by lvmy3kds

Bought this phone in December for my daughter. Has been a great phone until 4 months later. The headset icon will not go off after disconnecting the headphones, so phone calls cannot be heard without plugging in headphones. Read online that many have had the same problem. Does not want to charge and then the screen was on, but wouldn't recognize touching it. Had to do a master reset before the screen would work again, but the headset icon was still on. Glad we bought the protection plan.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lvmy3kds
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
JUNK / WORHTLESS
9/9/2014

Customer review by LTNKMA

1.0 stars 9/9/2014 by LTNKMA
by LTNKMA

The 1st 1 lasted all of 24Hrs. The 2nd 1 lasted about 24days. Now even w/purchasing the xtra WM Warranty Im having 2 send it 2 manufacture 4 warranty repairs. Luckily I have my proof of purchase. $99.88 + $24 Xtra WM Warranty = Piece of Junk that has caused my more grief then the $ "saved" by buying this Piece of Junk!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LTNKMA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Phone quit working
11/5/2013

Customer review by CARCS

1.0 stars 11/5/2013 by CARCS
by CARCS

I purchased this phone on 10/20/13. The first day I got it I had it for approximately 2 hours and it shut off and wouldn't turn back on even when it was on the charger. I exchanged it for the same model and it worked until today. It was on the charger all day today and I went to make a phone call and noticed it will not power on again. So now I have to take it back again. Don't buy this phone.

Was this review helpful? (28) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CARCS
Jacksonville,mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This phone is awful
11/10/2013

Customer review by FLmommy18

1.0 stars 11/10/2013 by FLmommy18
by FLmommy18

I purchased this phone on October 29th and is stopped working, went back to Wal-Mart to exchange it for another one a week later, it worked for 4 days and crashed exchanged it for another one and now it had crashed again! Will not power on and is completely dead as I type this review! I am taking it back to Wal-Mart and exchanging it for the LG for Family Mobile. I do not know why this keeps happening to me, but I would not recommend this phone to anyone unless you want to back several trips back to the store to exchange it!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLmommy18
Orlando, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just great!
11/29/2013

Customer review by KMB877

4.0 stars 11/29/2013 by KMB877
by KMB877

Excellent smart phone. Only one thing does not made my happy: the camera. Below mediocrity. So, if you can survive without a good camera, get-it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KMB877
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews