Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 177 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

177 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

177 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 177 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 177 total reviews
1-20 of 177 reviews
Passed my test
6/2/2014

Customer review by heathermarie06

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by heathermarie06
by heathermarie06

I purchased this machine while working on a quilt. It was quilt as you go and in some places there were 15 layers of fabric to sew. This machine passed with flying colors. I used almost every feature. Yes the feed dogs appear they are not coming back up after free motion quilting but they do. The tension is controlled by sliding the thread between two metal plates on the far right before bringing it down to the front of machine. I replaced the needle a few times but it wasn't the machines fault. The semi auto threader works great. I own another brother but felt it was cheaper to purchase this one than have it serviced. Even the quilt shop owners can't find a reliable dealer to service their machines. I was already familiar with an auto threader and understood what the machine was trying to do. This version is better than the complete auto. I have been sewing/quilting for 36 years. This machine is willing if you are.

Was this review helpful? (175) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heathermarie06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Machine even for a beginner
1/24/2014

Customer review by Bo2014

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Bo2014
by Bo2014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently purchased the Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting machine. I am a true beginner meaning I have never used a sewing machine in my 50+ yrs of life. My very 1st project was a patchwork baby quilt (I probably should have started with something smaller and easier). After 5 days my project is complete and I am both pleased and humbled by it's finished look! I am very pleased with this machine. The user manual is very easy to follow and extremely helpful for a beginner. My craving for learning to sew, the 130 stitch and quilting availability and the reasonable price led me to purchase this machine. I'm looking forward to sewing and quilting many more projects. Just a few quirks but I attribute them to the user and not the machine. My Lil' Brother is surely becoming my best friend!

Was this review helpful? (191) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bo2014
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for home sewing and baby quilts
5/9/2014

Customer review by wsk001

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by wsk001
by wsk001

Pros: Great machine at a good price. Easy to operate. Sews well on different thickness of materials. Fantastic for quilting baby quilts using the furnished quilting walking foot and extra extended tray. Lots of included useful accessories including DVD instructions and good manual. This machine replaced my 25+ years old machine and its amazing how soon I've become thrilled with this new Brother 130-Stitch SQ9185. Cons: Although 4 bobbins were included with the machine, I would encourage others who buy this machine online to also buy extra Brother SA156 bobbins at the same time, as the WalMart stores didn't carry those bobbins in stock. I would have liked a metal top spool holder instead of the plastic, but the style works smooth, and the top spool doesn't actually spin, like on older machines, just has a very smooth threading motion. Very satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wsk001
southwest Missouri USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for all, beginner to pro!!
9/21/2014

Customer review by Katet453

5.0 stars 9/21/2014 by Katet453
by Katet453
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted it for a while and it has not let my expectations down..The more I use it the more I love it. I just finished quilting a king size quilt...Could not have worked any better!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katet453
Panama City Beach Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sewing machine for quilting.
10/30/2014

Customer review by nanajaj

4.0 stars 10/30/2014 by nanajaj
by nanajaj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this sewing machine on line and picked it up in the store the same day. It arrived a day earlier than estimated and I was thrilled because I was able to take it with me to my quilting class that night. It has many great features with stitches and accessories. I love that it has a quilting foot and a walking foot. I also love the up/down needle feature and the automatic sewing feature where you don't have to use the foot pedal. I love the machine what can I say. :)

Was this review helpful? (15) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanajaj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More than I expected
12/7/2013

Customer review by Nightingale828

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Nightingale828
by Nightingale828

I've been sewing for over 25 years. I've always had basic machines that have lasted me years and years. I originally purchased the Singer 7258 and it went back, was an awful machine, nothing was right starting with the timing. So, I got this one at Walmart, figuring I could return it if I had problems. Pros: Easy to thread and understand. (see cons also# Has the extended table included. Has many accessories, all the feet you'll ever need. It's quiet! Sounds like a mini spaceship. Runs smooth. Does everything you can expect it to. Is a dream to work with. Cons #these are pretty minor!# The thread cutter isn't 'smoothly' accessible. You HAVE to place your spool of thread so the thread comes from UNDER the spool. And most thread spools have a 'catch' at that end of the spool which grabs your thread as you're sewing. #I heated mine on a hot iron and smoothed the spool thread catch# The LED light could be brighter. All in all, I'm super pleased with this machine and excited to use it every day.

Was this review helpful? (341) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nightingale828
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For the Service Desk Girl at the Avon, CT Store
12/11/2015

Customer review by Hawkseyes

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Hawkseyes
by Hawkseyes

This is my 2nd day using this machine and I highly recommend it. I'm 67 years old and have been sewing since I was 5 years old. I've used everything from a 1943 Singer Treadle Machine to a computerized sewing/embroidery machine. I'm very impressed with this machine. I love the fact that it has start/stop, reverse, needle position and speed control buttons on the front of the machine. This feature allows me to put the foot pedal up on a shelf in storage and use the features on the machine. The Start is a delayed start, giving you plenty of time to make sure your project is lined up properly for sewing. The Stop feature is a quick dead stop, which you need when something is going wrong. Being able to adjust the sewing speed with the slider is awesome. It is a slow progression, you can set it at any point between slow to fast and get a steady speed. No more leg or toe cramps, or chasing the foot pedal under the cabinet. It's a fantastic machine for the money, even a full price! I'll come back in a month and let you know if I'm still as thrilled with the machine!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawkseyes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth the money
12/19/2015

Customer review by oleanny

1.0 stars 12/19/2015 by oleanny
by oleanny

My brother bought me this machine a little over a year ago, I loved it, did alot of sewing with it, but as soon as the year warrenty was done it broke down a few times, I have had it cleaned and ajusted, tenshion was all messed up, it worked for a while then it started breaking the thread and skipping stiches and no matter what I did to try to fix it, it worked for a bit then the whole thing started over again, had it repaired many times, am very upset that it is not in working order, never buy another Brother machine again, time to go back to a Singer Machine. When I got it the price was about $300, now I see they are marked down, and it has good reviews, that's one reason I got it, was the reviews. If you want a machine that lasts only a year this is the one, not for me, I really liked all the features on the machine, but if it keeps breaking down those features on it sure aren't any good,next one I will go back to Singer, the last Singer I had lasted along time, wanted to try a different brand, that had good reviews, sorry to say this was a waste of money

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oleanny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Novice sewer, very happy with my purchase!
5/4/2015

Customer review by kksmama

5.0 stars 5/4/2015 by kksmama
by kksmama

My neighbor let me use her 40 year old Singer while showing me the ropes of sewing. I finally decided I enjoyed sewing enough to purchase my own machine. I was going to get a basic 100 machine at Wal-mart but saw this one. She told me to avoid computerized machines (she's old fashioned and likes to avoid technical problems). However, I decided on a whim to get it. WOW! Threading the needle and getting started took under 10 minutes. Her machine she let me borrow would have tension issues, and I would have to rethread on several occasions in one sewing session. I went over the manual, and played around with a few of the features, like adding my daughter's initials to a few things. I then sewed a dress and a whale plush toy for my daughter that night....this is all by a very new sewer. I have so much to learn, but am thrilled with my purchase. Excellent machine to start out. I hope to move my way up the sewing classes, and eventually get a machine that embroiders as well. For now, this machine does way more than I need or know!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kksmama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting Machine
11/29/2015

Customer review by crazyshopper44

4.0 stars 11/29/2015 by crazyshopper44
by crazyshopper44

This machine has many pros and a few cons. Pros: Top loading bobbin that brings thread to top by itself. Saving time. Quick filling bobbin option. Comes with extra sewing feet that work great for quilting, one being the walking foot! Many decorative stitches some with mirror images. Does letters and numbers . Fairly quiet. (Have not found one that is as smooth and quiet as my 28 year old Kenmore. I still love it but wanted some of the new option). This one comes close. I also love the extended table that came with it. Cons: The bobbins do not hold as much thread as my old ones do. This drives me crazy as I am always running out. It takes it's own bobbins and you have to buy a lot of them so you have plenty done up ahead of time . You have to use plastic bobbins or things will get scratched and not work properly . This leads me into my next con. I feel I have to be extra careful not to scratch anything in the bobbin area as the booklet warns against this. Afraid this one is not going to last 28+ years. All in all I am happy with this machine if they fix the bobbin problem and make it more heavy duty I would give it five plus.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crazyshopper44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding machine
1/13/2016

Customer review by shaithus

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by shaithus
by shaithus

I have used older singers in the past. My most recent was a 1926 Model 66... I was given this unit for Christmas and I really must give it very high marks... this unit can be operated with or without the foot pedal.. Using it without is absolutely fantastic. I can now get controlled sewing speed with back-stitch and precise stitches. Ive used this so far on canvas albeit not many layers and with a double needle. It feeds the material evenly and sews wonderfully. I have not used all of the attachments so far but, this is an easy machine to learn, easy machine to thread, the drop in bobbin is easier to deal with the self threading needle assy works great. I especially love the extended table top. I really do like this machine!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shaithus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brother Sewing Machine
2/2/2016

Customer review by GDSWE

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by GDSWE
by GDSWE

This is a wonderful machine , I love it. It has 130 stitches. And quilting capable. I have a brother serger also ,have been using it for several years. And a lightweight brother sewing machine. I have great success with Brother products.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GDSWE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good machine for the price
12/15/2013

Customer review by geekkam

4.0 stars 12/15/2013 by geekkam
by geekkam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like this machine. My old one broke down during the middle of a quilting project. I went online and looked for machines that cost less than $200. I found the Brother Sewing and Quilting Machine. I compared this machine with others and finally decided to buy it. I like several of the features. I like the large quilting bed and keep it on all the time. I like that it has the extra quilting feet. The project I was working on was a wall-hanging with many blocks and decorative stitches. The old one went out while I was doing decorative stitching. The Brother picked up where I left off. I use the Start/Stop button instead of the foot pedal. It's much easier for me. I had trouble at first with learning how wind the thread through the upper threader and now I'm still having trouble with the lower part of the needle threader, so I thread it by hand. Threading the bobbin is really easy for me. I watched the DVD twice and read parts of the book before I tried any of the functions. I always keep my sewing manual near my machine.

Was this review helpful? (112) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geekkam
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sewing machine
1/20/2016

Customer review by MiamiOHfan

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by MiamiOHfan
by MiamiOHfan

I haven't used a sewing machine since the 70's, and I became curious as to the improvements made in the machines after shopping for a new machine with my mom. She purchased a fairly basic mechanical Husqvarna machine after owning nothing but Singer machines for almost 60 years. As I watched her use some of her new machine's features i.e. easy bobbin winding, top loading bobbins, and automatic needle threader, I was amazed at how far along sewing machines had come! I decided that day to research the machines available that a 'newbie' could use without a lot stress and confusion and found Brother computerized machines to be fairly priced with lots of advanced and automatic features. After reading reviews of Walmart's prices and return policies and the advantage of ordering online and having it shipped to a local Walmart, I made my decision to buy my Brother sewing machine from Walmart. I've used the new Brother SQ9185 for a couple weeks creating simple projects, and I LOVE the ease of threading the needle, changing presser feet, the 130 stitches, and the additional quilting feet and accessories that came with the machine. Now that I'm retired, I'm hoping to try quilting and make some totes and other basic projects, and this machine makes the process of sewing again more enjoyable!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiamiOHfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE it!!
10/5/2013

Customer review by MommyandHerAngels

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by MommyandHerAngels
by MommyandHerAngels

This machine sews like a dream. It's pretty quiet and handles thick layers of fabric with ease. I love all the stitch patterns it comes with and was amazed it came with 11 presser feet!! One of the feet I was shocked it came with was the walking foot which is perfect for quilting, normally on other machines you have to buy it separately. It has a larger work space area than most machines, and with the table that is included makes it even that much better! Sewing larger projects is less of a pain with this machine..I use this sewing machine everyday and I am very happy with it. It does not come with a cover like some do, but for what you are getting I wasn't disappointed at all. I just made myself a quilted dust cover for it. Absolutely happy I went with this sewing machine. I am a Brother customer for life. Thanks for a great product at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (267) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyandHerAngels
Cape Cod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Brother 130 stitch sewing machine
1/28/2016

Customer review by jiller

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by jiller
by jiller

I.love.this machine. It's quiet, and runs very smoothly. I love the extra stitches to choose from and can't wait to use the lettering.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jiller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it..learning new things
1/27/2016

Customer review by SueM

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by SueM
by SueM

My old machine was 25 years old so I am enjoying this new one. It does take some time for someone like me to learn new tricks since it is computerized, but with the book handy I am loving it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy for dudes to operate too!
1/19/2016

Customer review by Robb

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Robb
by Robb

I was able to start sewing shortly after unpacking the sewing machine out of the box. The self-threading needle option works great, as does the bobbin threader and drop in bobbin feature. I purchased this machine primarily to hem up pants and to make alterations on clothing that doesn't quite fit right. Now my wife is now coming up with several different projects for me to work on. Yes, I am a guy who knows how to sew, and my wife does not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
1/18/2016

Customer review by Sewbeit

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Sewbeit
by Sewbeit

I am new to sewing and wanted to make a quilt,in my research of machines this one seemed to be the best choice for me it has all the basic sewing ability with the added features I needed to make quilting easier, it comes with all the proper accessories for lots of differant sewing projects, I am very happy with it preformance! My only complaint would be a little better lighting .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sewbeit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Little Workhorse!
2/1/2016

Customer review by HappyQuilter

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by HappyQuilter
by HappyQuilter

As a beginner quilter, I wanted to upgrade to a machine with quilting features, but also one that was reasonably priced, as these machines can run thousands of dollars. I was a little skeptical with this one as it was so inexpensive, but after doing my research, and having previously owned a Brother machine that I was happy with, I decided to give this one a try. Was I ever surprised! It is lightweight, extremely easy to use, and has features I would have expected to pay much more for. I use it almost every day and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to expand their creativity on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyQuilter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 177 total reviews
1-20 of 177 reviews