Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
97
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 128 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
More than I expected
12/7/2013

Customer review by Nightingale828

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Nightingale828
by Nightingale828

I've been sewing for over 25 years. I've always had basic machines that have lasted me years and years. I originally purchased the Singer 7258 and it went back, was an awful machine, nothing was right starting with the timing. So, I got this one at Walmart, figuring I could return it if I had problems. Pros: Easy to thread and understand. (see cons also# Has the extended table included. Has many accessories, all the feet you'll ever need. It's quiet! Sounds like a mini spaceship. Runs smooth. Does everything you can expect it to. Is a dream to work with. Cons #these are pretty minor!# The thread cutter isn't 'smoothly' accessible. You HAVE to place your spool of thread so the thread comes from UNDER the spool. And most thread spools have a 'catch' at that end of the spool which grabs your thread as you're sewing. #I heated mine on a hot iron and smoothed the spool thread catch# The LED light could be brighter. All in all, I'm super pleased with this machine and excited to use it every day.

Was this review helpful? (229) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nightingale828
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE it!!
10/5/2013

Customer review by MommyandHerAngels

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by MommyandHerAngels
by MommyandHerAngels

This machine sews like a dream. It's pretty quiet and handles thick layers of fabric with ease. I love all the stitch patterns it comes with and was amazed it came with 11 presser feet!! One of the feet I was shocked it came with was the walking foot which is perfect for quilting, normally on other machines you have to buy it separately. It has a larger work space area than most machines, and with the table that is included makes it even that much better! Sewing larger projects is less of a pain with this machine..I use this sewing machine everyday and I am very happy with it. It does not come with a cover like some do, but for what you are getting I wasn't disappointed at all. I just made myself a quilted dust cover for it. Absolutely happy I went with this sewing machine. I am a Brother customer for life. Thanks for a great product at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (192) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyandHerAngels
Cape Cod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine even for a beginner
1/24/2014

Customer review by Bo2014

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Bo2014
by Bo2014

I recently purchased the Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting machine. I am a true beginner meaning I have never used a sewing machine in my 50+ yrs of life. My very 1st project was a patchwork baby quilt (I probably should have started with something smaller and easier). After 5 days my project is complete and I am both pleased and humbled by it's finished look! I am very pleased with this machine. The user manual is very easy to follow and extremely helpful for a beginner. My craving for learning to sew, the 130 stitch and quilting availability and the reasonable price led me to purchase this machine. I'm looking forward to sewing and quilting many more projects. Just a few quirks but I attribute them to the user and not the machine. My Lil' Brother is surely becoming my best friend!

Was this review helpful? (115) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bo2014
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/19/2013

Customer review by bunnydesign

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by bunnydesign
by bunnydesign

LOVE IT!!!!!! I have 4 different sewing machines I got this one on August 2013 I know how to sew but knowing about machines no i'm not a technician it took me minutes and a couple of hours to figure what buttons where for din't even see the video and it is awesome so far it i have made a few thousand dollars sewing and selling what i make so this machine is on all day and almost all night long I got it for $200 and added $20 dollar 3 year plan I'm getting more than what I paid I must say that the attachable table I don't use it it does not attach well but since I don't use it I have not even cared to see if i'm attaching it right but besides that I LOVE IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (87) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bunnydesign
los angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Passed my test
6/2/2014

Customer review by heathermarie06

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by heathermarie06
by heathermarie06

I purchased this machine while working on a quilt. It was quilt as you go and in some places there were 15 layers of fabric to sew. This machine passed with flying colors. I used almost every feature. Yes the feed dogs appear they are not coming back up after free motion quilting but they do. The tension is controlled by sliding the thread between two metal plates on the far right before bringing it down to the front of machine. I replaced the needle a few times but it wasn't the machines fault. The semi auto threader works great. I own another brother but felt it was cheaper to purchase this one than have it serviced. Even the quilt shop owners can't find a reliable dealer to service their machines. I was already familiar with an auto threader and understood what the machine was trying to do. This version is better than the complete auto. I have been sewing/quilting for 36 years. This machine is willing if you are.

Was this review helpful? (126) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heathermarie06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really great machine for the price
4/5/2014

Customer review by pickymomof3

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by pickymomof3
by pickymomof3

I bought this machine at my local walmart after first purchasing the Brother CE1100PRW. That machine is not nearly as nice as this one and after trying it out, it didn't sew nicely at all. Also had thread nests on the underneath of the sample fabric i sewed on. I decided to take it back and get this one. Definitely worth the extra $60 dollars. I have sewed a few things with this machine and through some very thick fabric and it hasn't had a single problem. Also has a self threading needle that is easy to work. This one has a lit up lcd screen whereas the other one did not. It also comes with the extra snap on work area and nice extra feet including a walking foot that is about 30 dollars alone on amazon. I am very happy with this machine!

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pickymomof3
IN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good for a step up from beginner
9/22/2013

Customer review by meme2five

4.0 stars 9/22/2013 by meme2five
by meme2five

I was disappointed in the monogram part of the machine but it's good for doing decorative stitching & learning to make quilts.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meme2five
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good machine for the price
12/15/2013

Customer review by geekkam

4.0 stars 12/15/2013 by geekkam
by geekkam

I really like this machine. My old one broke down during the middle of a quilting project. I went online and looked for machines that cost less than $200. I found the Brother Sewing and Quilting Machine. I compared this machine with others and finally decided to buy it. I like several of the features. I like the large quilting bed and keep it on all the time. I like that it has the extra quilting feet. The project I was working on was a wall-hanging with many blocks and decorative stitches. The old one went out while I was doing decorative stitching. The Brother picked up where I left off. I use the Start/Stop button instead of the foot pedal. It's much easier for me. I had trouble at first with learning how wind the thread through the upper threader and now I'm still having trouble with the lower part of the needle threader, so I thread it by hand. Threading the bobbin is really easy for me. I watched the DVD twice and read parts of the book before I tried any of the functions. I always keep my sewing manual near my machine.

Was this review helpful? (87) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geekkam
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for my first Sewing Machine
10/18/2013

Customer review by mntwinsfan1015

5.0 stars 10/18/2013 by mntwinsfan1015
by mntwinsfan1015

I recently got this sewing machine for my birthday. I have used it and really like the stitches and ease of working with it. I use it for quilting and love that it comes with the walking foot and the extra table so it has extra room when needed. It came with a bunch of different feet. It also comes with a video to watch to learn how to put the thread in and use all the feature.

Was this review helpful? (64) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mntwinsfan1015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginner-intermediate machine!
1/18/2014

Customer review by servo925

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by servo925
by servo925

I got this for Christmas and well, I cried! But I had no idea how amazing it would be. It has many bells and whistles. I'm a newbie, but I now can thread this thing in a minute. I haven't gotten to the design stitching or monogramming. The only problem I'm trying to figure out is the tension part. Sometimes my stitches come out wrong and sometimes my bobbin gets messed up. Other than that, it's been an awesome machine. I never thought I would be quilting, but that's what I've been working on now! There is a good book and video that comes with it, which I read and watched immediately.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
servo925
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This has everything!
2/2/2014

Customer review by Hnds4praise

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Hnds4praise
by Hnds4praise

I do a lot of quilting and needed a more portable machine to use when i go to classes or sew-in days. This is perfect! I can do start to finish on a quilt project with this machine. I'm having so much fun using it!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hnds4praise
San Tan Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for home sewing and baby quilts
5/9/2014

Customer review by wsk001

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by wsk001
by wsk001

Pros: Great machine at a good price. Easy to operate. Sews well on different thickness of materials. Fantastic for quilting baby quilts using the furnished quilting walking foot and extra extended tray. Lots of included useful accessories including DVD instructions and good manual. This machine replaced my 25+ years old machine and its amazing how soon I've become thrilled with this new Brother 130-Stitch SQ9185. Cons: Although 4 bobbins were included with the machine, I would encourage others who buy this machine online to also buy extra Brother SA156 bobbins at the same time, as the WalMart stores didn't carry those bobbins in stock. I would have liked a metal top spool holder instead of the plastic, but the style works smooth, and the top spool doesn't actually spin, like on older machines, just has a very smooth threading motion. Very satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wsk001
southwest Missouri USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very happy with my gift
10/14/2013

Customer review by FlTwoSpirits

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by FlTwoSpirits
by FlTwoSpirits

My parents gave me this machine as a gift, after my Singer Electronic stopped working correctly. I had used other machines in quilting classes, and found this machine easy to use and understand. I have not had the issue with the dog feet that others have reported on here. Happy sewing!

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlTwoSpirits
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good purchase!
1/8/2014

Customer review by Decafd1

4.0 stars 1/8/2014 by Decafd1
by Decafd1

I have to admit that I bought this machine thinking it was a less expensive model--and only realized later when I checked the receipt that it cost almost double what I thought it had! Evidently someone had put it on the wrong shelf--but it was Christmas Eve and I had to get my gifts made........so we kept it. At first I was overwhelmed by all the bells and whistles: I hadn't done any sewing for years, and all I wanted to do was to get my projects done (the older sewing machine I had planned to use wouldn't work# without having to spend a lot of time watching videos or reading instruction manuals. Fortunately for me the machine IS easy to use and does a good job! All I had to do was to read the quick start instructions to find out what I needed to know to wind the bobbin #quick and easy#, thread the machine #manually for now#, and serge the burlap bags I was sewing. I did have some trouble with the machine jamming up and flashing an E6 error a few times, but I attribute that to the fabrics I was using #old coffee bags). Had I used the walking foot I might have done better. Anyway, I finished both projects and was very happy with the machine! I used the attachable table--which fit nicely and really did make my larger project easier to deal with. I'm looking forward to working on other projects with a less difficult fabric so I can use those special stitches and do some monogramming!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Decafd1
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
AWESOME machine!
1/7/2014

Customer review by Humarock1150

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by Humarock1150
by Humarock1150

I haven't sewn since highschool, 1974....so I asked for this for Christmas as now i have the time to try 'new things'. I wanted to learn how to quilt, my hubby got this for me for Christmas and I finished my first quilt in 4 days! This machine works like a dream, easy to thread, easy to get the bobbin in and just easy especially for a beginner.....and all the feet! Don't even read any further, just GET IT, you wont be sorry. It's got the extension board, it's got all the feet....a dream!

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Humarock1150
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Brother 130-stitch sewing machine is wonderful
6/21/2014

Customer review by OmaRose

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by OmaRose
by OmaRose

It has been years since I did any sewing. About A month ago I joined a quilting class and needed a new machine. After surfing the web, talking to the instructors and sewing on another students Brother I knew the Brother would be the right machine. Walmart website offered it at a great price free shipping to my local Walmart and could pick it up the very next day. This sewing machine is everything and more then I expected. Threading both top and bobbin is very easy with built in needle threaded, changing the presser feet is snap on & off, because it is a sewing and quilting machine there are presser feet just for quilts. This is a plus for a learning quilter as well as the experience one. I took it out of the box watched the DVD that comes with the machine thread it and I was sewing. Started by trying some of the 130 stitches and button hole maker. Again I can't stress the ease this machine is to use. I replaced a hem in one of my granddaughters dresses using the blind stitch. I've done blind stitching but this machine made the hem look if it had been done on professional/commercial machine. To change from one stitch to another, push a button or two and you can do any of the 130 stitches. I would recommend this machine for the beginner or the skilled sewer.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OmaRose
Midway, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not too happy
10/7/2013

Customer review by sherraleigh

2.0 stars 10/7/2013 by sherraleigh
by sherraleigh

I have had a Brother before and was very please. I was very excited about this machine and ready to spend the day sewing... however I spent most of the day trying to keep fabric from getting stuck in feeder dogs or dealing with Error E6.... I tried different size with in stiches... I will have to take back to Walmart and hopefully get one that will work properly...

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sherraleigh
Raleigh, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Nothing but trouble.
10/11/2013

Customer review by barginshopper2010

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by barginshopper2010
by barginshopper2010

Sewing would bind up and show problem E6. Every time I use it I have an issue. RETURN

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barginshopper2010
Seneca, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Almost perfect EXCEPT
10/21/2014

Customer review by Patienthusband

1.0 stars 10/21/2014 by Patienthusband
by Patienthusband

My wife does a lot of holiday sewing. She starts in July doing Halloween bags so this year we got her a new machine. For the first 30 days it was a good machine and she completed 50 Halloween bags for the local children's Hospital-then the trouble started. The DVD was very helpful to start and she watched so she could thread needles and use all the fancy stiches. She had owned another "bottom of the line" Brother and trusted them. After 50+ bags she began to have tension problems that neither the DVD nor manual could correct. Reluctantly she traded it in because she loved the stitches and ease of use. I tried to convince her to go with a more expensive machine, but she was attached to this model and got another. After another 60 Halloween bags, costumes , and a back pack for our grandson she will be returning it for the upgraded machine since once again she had tension problems and bobbin winding problems (if the thread is jarred while winding the bobbin you will end up winding thread onto the spindle underneath the bobbin rather than the bobbin)-since I have had to assist her on 3 occasion this is a problem that Brother should address SOON. Also the more the needle threader is used the less reliable it becomes. Another problem Brother should address especially for women who are over 60 and want to be able to thread the needle themselves. Long story short the machine is going back and she is getting another one. Because she is doing so much sewing right now every time it has been under warranty. You guessed it-she is getting another Brother. She has been sewing since she was 9 and has used Singers (great when they were all metal- but not so good when they went plastic) a Nikki (I bought it when I was in the reserves and it was great for small sewing jobs), a Bernia her mother owned and now the Brother. She still has her bottom of the line Brother -great for straight, reverse, zig/zag stitches that she can use in a prince, she wants to do more. Here's hoping the SE 400 does the trick,

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patienthusband
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to use, multi-purpose, machine
12/21/2013

Customer review by MrPostMan

4.0 stars 12/21/2013 by MrPostMan
by MrPostMan

First of all, I am not claiming that I know how to sew or have used many machines to compare this to. With that being said, I have found this machine really easy to use. Setup was easy thanks to the instructions and included instructional DVD. The fast bobbin winder is a breeze to use, as is threading the machine in general. My only complaint about threading is that the built in needle threader does not always get the needle threaded, so far there has been about a 95% success rate with using it. I love all of the built in stitches that this machine has. Selecting the stitch pattern is also simple, the machine has the stitch pattern guide right on the machine, the LCD screen also reminds you of which presser foot to use. Monogramming is easy, but don't let that be the selling feature for you. There is only one font and only one size to monogram with, basic block lettering a little over 1/4" tall. Monogramming is fairly easy and is great for adding a name to the breast pocket of a shirt. Changing needles, presser feet, thread, and bobbins is simple to do thanks to the included tools and instructions ( threading and bobbin instructions are printed on the maching itself). I have not used all features of the machine, nor have I sewn many materials on it, but what I have used came out great. The machine seems to have sufficient power and speed to get tough jobs done quickly. All-in-all, I would recommend this machine to anyone (especially for a novice like me) who needs a simple and reliable machine to sew or quilt.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrPostMan
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews