Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

131 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
94
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 131 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
Ruined S Note
12/8/2013

Customer review by FranktheEagle

3.0 stars 12/8/2013 by FranktheEagle
by FranktheEagle

There are a lot of reasons why I bought this tablet but one of the main reasons was S Note and the handwriting to text conversion. I was also excited by the handwritten math problem conversion and solution search feature (would come in handy helping my high school aged daughter with her math studies). Well, I bought this tablet but couldn't seem to find these great S Note features. The menu that came up is much more limited than what I had seen when I was doing my research. As it turns out, Samsung changed the S Note features on the 2014 edition and stripped away these great tools. After searching support and endless websites dedicated to Note, I finally found someone who found these features are still there, sort of, but are extremely difficult to access and don't really work the way they did on the previous version. Why, why, why did you change S Note? You ruined it! Change it back please and offer a download to fix my 2014 back to the way the previous version of the Note 10 worked. I am so sad!!!

FranktheEagle
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Beginner
Great overall product
5/16/2014

Customer review by Swadi2014

3.0 stars 5/16/2014 by Swadi2014
by Swadi2014

I went from original Note 10.1 to the new 10.1 2014 as soon as they were released. I have enjoyed using the product that it was a no brainier going to new model. It replaced my Livescribe Pen (which is great on its own). The Note worked great until latest release from Google and it got upgraded from 4.3 to 4.4.2. This where I feel the additional price for note looses its value if you want to use it in business setting. Google took away ability to write to SD card and Samsung release of 4.4.2 didn't address this issue! When you use your note to take notes at meeting like me you have SD card with work folders for various customers where you want to save your notes to. Not anymore, you are forced to save your work to internal storage then manually move it to SD card to view later but no edit!. For this reason I gave the product Average overall. Also with upgrade performance seems to degrade as being less responsive. I would say if the SD card issue not resolved from Google and Samsung, my next tablet will be Surface.

Swadi2014
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
handy device
9/1/2015

Customer review by tqmer

5.0 stars 9/1/2015 by tqmer
by tqmer

I bought this tablet in july 2015 after reviewing lots of brands. I was in between Galaxy tabA and this. After considering the screen resolution this tablet is excellent. The size and quality is good for reading e-books. it is very comfortable for book reading, reviewing, taking notes. Even you can use multiple screen to read the book in one and taking notes in other. excellent. Also watching movies is cool on this screen. And, if it was a nonreflective screen it would be better. Battery life is adequate but if you need to charge your battery while using the tab you should turn the tablet over 180 deg or 90 deg because of the charging connector's position. My device has android 4.3. Even most of the countries use 4.4.2 kit kat, only 4.3 update is available in Turkiye, also there is no (+2 Istanbul) date&time option in my device. which may caused updating problems of samsung software and activation problem of free subscription given with device.

tqmer
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Game changer
6/13/2014

Customer review by raptornomad

4.0 stars 6/13/2014 by raptornomad
by raptornomad

Tablets are usually thought as media consumption devices, but the galaxy note 10.1 2014 refutes all that with simply the s note and the s pen. Right now, I have hundreds of pages of notes on my device, helping me through immunology and organic chemistry alike. Even as an EMT, it has helped me numerous times for taking down information and getting signatures. The only gripe I have with this tablet is the screen. Don't get me wrong, the screen is marvelous for a LCD, but I'd prefer an AMOLED on a device as expensive as this. The recent announced galaxy tab s made me excited for the future note 10.1 (or 10.5). I'll definitely buy another note if it has an AMOLED screen. Recommended for tree huggers and people who likes to keep a small foot print in almost everything (I haven't used my Vaio pro 13 for 6 months now, poor thing). It is usually fun when professors walking towards you expecting you to be slacking off on a tablet where in reality you are taking tons and tons of notes. Had several of them compliment me of this device.

raptornomad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Device S-pen is indispensable
1/20/2016

Customer review by MeriMei

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by MeriMei
by MeriMei

I love the flexibility of the SPen. It allows for so much creativity. The large display makes streaming movies very easy and enjoyable. While I do use headphones more than the built-in speakers by personal choice it does provide adequate sound on its own. As apps evolve I wish there was more native memory since most don't run off the micro SD card. The micro SD card is limited to 32GB (twice the native memory of 16GB) but that is more than sufficient for normal use. While running graphic heavy apps and games it does eat up the battery life, but the high quality visual experience is exceptional. I have several other Samsung products including another tablet and the Galaxy S6 phone, but this device still gets regular use. I can attest that the 2014 10.1" tablet is quite durable. I highly recommend Samsung products and I have been satisfied with all of the Samsung devices I have owned and will continue to purchase them in the future.

MeriMei
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Buy It, stop thinking, just do it!
3/22/2014

Customer review by sbob24111

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by sbob24111
by sbob24111

I had been wanting a tablet for a while for school purposes and when this new edition was released I knew it was the perfect one I had been looking for. Most companies will hype up a product telling you how great it is and then it is sort of okay. Well everything they tell you about this product is even better. The battery will last forever!! Yet it will still charge fairly quickly (as long as you use a charger with high enough voltage/amperage (not sure what its called), like the one it comes with) . It is very thin yet durable and made out of solid materials that do not feel cheap in the least. The screen is sooooo sharp its unbelievable!!!! The stylus works great and the tablet is perfect for note taking. The split app screen is smooth and flawless, I have had this tablet since the day it came out and have not once had it lag or crash and I use it all day everyday and have plenty of performance intensive games, watch tv and movies, and take notes on it. I have recommended this tablet to everyone I know even thinking of buying a tablet.

sbob24111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Tablet Rich with Features
10/8/2014

Customer review by darkhorse11

5.0 stars 10/8/2014 by darkhorse11
by darkhorse11

Overall impressed with the performance and features of this tablet. The only issue we experienced after a couple of months of ownership was with the screen not coming back on after closing the cover when going into sleep mode. At first it was intermittent but finally became a permanent issue. The only way to recover was to do a hard reboot but that also became a unresponsive fix after awhile. The Tablet was on but with a black screen. I did a search for if this issue in the forums and did not see so assumed that we had an isolated case. Nonetheless, Samsung was quick to resolve the problem under warranty and we have our Tablet back in perfect working order within a week after sending it in. So not only do you get a great product from Samsung you also receive exceptional service in the rare times you have an issue. I've had other products from Samsung with no issues. We were able to backup the Tablet even with the screen off on a computer before sending it in using their Kies restore software. Again, great product with great customer service.

darkhorse11
Olympia, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
AMAZING!!!!!!
11/16/2013

Customer review by luckylex88

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by luckylex88
by luckylex88

I've been wanting tablet and was stuck between the Ipad or the note. I'm happy I decided to get the note its a mazing the apps you get with it and the performance is excellent. the quality in images is great, the lightweight makes it easier to carry around and the easy access to all the apps and able to personalize it makes it great. the air features a great and hands free features as well are great. the sync with my flat screen and all my other Samsung products was easy and great to have access to everything by tab is cool. blew my mind how easy is to work all around and do all the things you can do with it. I recommend that you get screen and cover for it and keep it safe for the price it might be a bit expensive but once you see everything it comes with and the features to make it your own its worth every penny. the S pen makes things much easier and just overall its way better than the Ipad. the only con is the S pen when it is in the tablet has tendency to turn screen on but once you set up a password to unlock the screen solves the problem.

luckylex88
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
About software problem
3/21/2014

Customer review by vmakharashvili

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by vmakharashvili
by vmakharashvili

Actually, I liked this product. I just purchased it and really loved it. Also it has my native Georgian language, which is really cool. However, I have some problems with Samsung keyboard software. In Georgian language the software has gaps: in place of "d" there should be Georgian letter "დ", which is not and in place of this there is letter "ღ", which looks quite similar, but is absolutely different letter. As a result there are two "ღ" letters on Georgian language keyboard. Also, Georgian letters "ბ" and "გ" have changed places, they should be shifted. I also have galaxy S4. I recently updated software there and now I have android 4.4.2, which has a great keyboard and Georgian language on Samsung keyboard is perfect there. I am writing this in the feedback because I didn't know how to contact with you to ask you to somewhat update Georgian keyboard gaps on Samsung galaxy note 10.12014. I have android 4.3. Thank you!

vmakharashvili
Waltham, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Absolutely awesome productivity with the S Pen. The software needs a lot of work though.
8/26/2014

Customer review by thestoryguy

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by thestoryguy
by thestoryguy

I like many of the changes from the old note 10.1 however some of the changes to the software seem unnecessary or make it worse. For instance, S Note is better in some ways such as you can now record audio while switching pages and the transform tool is nice. However, getting rid of the auto-shape tool which straightened lines automatically was a bizarre decision. Now underlining or highlighting text is a THREE STEP PROCESS as you have to go through the menus to straighten each line. Another thing I dislike is the eraser now erases chunks of the lines you draw instead of exact sections. Even with the segment tool off, the eraser is very inaccurate. The calendar has a change which I dislike. I organized my tasks into categories for my business in the Calendar app. That ability is now gone. Why TAKE AWAY a useful feature? Dumb decision! I also dislike the speakers on the sides. The sound is just not as good.

thestoryguy
Aberdeen, SD 57401, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
This produt has awesome productivity enhancements through the stylus software.
9/11/2014

Customer review by Eli2morena

4.0 stars 9/11/2014 by Eli2morena
by Eli2morena

I love the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition because of the stylus' unique drawing and handwriting capabilities. The processor is really fast and I have not have any problems. The size is perfect if you are going to use it for your business. The resolution and video qualities are amazing. I can multitask easy. I like the "leatherlike" finish because it looks professional. I am not really impress by the cameras, if you are going to use it to take pictures that are not important then I think you will be fine. The picture quality is not great but it does have several options like (Beauty face, Best photo and so on). The tablet freezes from time to time. The speakers are not perfect either. Overall, the tablet is great for businesses and for multitasking. Also, for people that like to hand write notes and draw. I would like to see more apps that are comparable with the stylus.

Eli2morena
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Darn near perfect - but...
9/5/2014

Customer review by Slowphoton

4.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Slowphoton
by Slowphoton

The good: the stylus and S-Note allows you to do everything from free-form notes and sketches to filling in cross-word puzzles; the flexibility to easily turn on and off features such as screen rotation - this facilitates reading remarkably; the screen is very sharp with crisp colors and fast enough to avoid blurring; light-weight; very good wi-fi reception. The fair: Battery life is average at best. I realize a bigger battery would make it heavier, but if I'm away from a wall outlet I have to be very cautious about use. The bad: Putting the USB port at the bottom of the device was a horrible decision. This complicates the use of cases. For example: I cannot use this as a slide-show projector because of the short battery life and the inability to charge the unit while standing in its case. This is my second 10.1 Note (2014) as the first one had its display fail after four days. Given other comments this appears to be a weak area and I'm paying close attention to my current one. No HDMI output. I like the ability to port content, either in memory or streaming, to a larger platform. This lacks that functionality.

Slowphoton
Arlington, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product except CPU
10/4/2014

Customer review by immandoo

4.0 stars 10/4/2014 by immandoo
by immandoo

I am using this tablet(WiFi version) almost an year, and am quite satisfied with its design and functions. I used to have iPad 3, but switched to Samsung for note taking feature. It was a good choice as I expected. However, I have to say that this device has huge defect in terms of performance. Note works quite well, but I have to restart the device every time if I want real flawless hand writing. I guess it is because of Samsung's own chip, exynos 5420. Samsung chose to equip this chip in order to show their ability and advanced technology, but it seems like it was mistake, this chip cannot support the function of the device. Though I like the device, frequent delays of writing and browsing makes me very uncomfortable of using device. Samsung needs lots of work to catch up the quality of snapdragon.

immandoo
Temple, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
not what I was hoping for
5/27/2015

Customer review by lmhcg

3.0 stars 5/27/2015 by lmhcg
by lmhcg

After two years, I must say this device has not lived up to my expectations. I had to send it back to the company after it stopped working completely within the first few months... At least it was still under factory warranty. I was sold on Samsung because of the ability to add storage. My device does not even recognize a Samsung micro card??? Also I've found that the synchronization is challenging at best and obsolete at worst: between our three Samsung devices themselves, nor with the Samsung Link, Samsung Kies (think itunes) app, and basic common applications. The inability of Samsung to maintain their advertised program: a Samsung Hub promising music, reading, gaming, and media resources with easy accessibility is also a major disappointment. Overall, I wish I had gone American made...

lmhcg
New England
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Best tablet for college student
11/6/2013

Customer review by topgun303

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by topgun303
by topgun303

I am an electrical engineering student and I use my Samsung Galaxy note 10.1 2014 for note taking during lectures. Android market is great with many apps for note taking. One Problem I did find with the tablet is following:- It seems the 2014 Note 10.1 is suffering from a multitouch issue, very probably caused by a buggy driver. 1. To show the defect start up any decent multitouch testing app (MultiTouch Test, MultiTouch Tester, YAMTT, etc.). 2. Get used to how the multitouch app functions. 3. Put your whole hand on the screen for several seconds (3 or 4 seconds should do). 4. If your driver has this bug you will now notice the multitouch interface has gone bananas. I will give samsung 5 stars once this issue is fixed by samsung engineers.

topgun303
clifton virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Amzing tablet with 2 flaws, both software related.
7/5/2014

Customer review by poisonousberries

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by poisonousberries
by poisonousberries

There isn't much to complain about - this tablet is insanely powerful. Some of the coolest features not found on stock Android are the S Pen, Multi-window and ability to move apps onto the SD card. I'm glad that Samsung doesn't hate SD cards like Google apparently does. I had to dock a few stars for the following reasons: - Samsung removed the ability to bluetooth tether TO the tablet (you can tether from another device and receive internet, just not share the connection from this tablet to another). - No built-in root access. In order to get some apps to run like a firewall and hard-reset-proof anti-theft you have to resort to hacking the OS. Not allowing root access as an option denies you, the owner, full use of your tablet.

poisonousberries
Note 3 great but one annoying problem
10/9/2014

Customer review by briguy40

3.0 stars 10/9/2014 by briguy40
by briguy40

This is the first tablet experience of my own. Played with my friends' tablets though. This tablet is the real deal but there is a bug, or design flaw, that seems pervasive in the Note 10's (3 I've tried). There is a spot on the screen that is about 1.5" x1.5" where the stylus (and finger most times) will not be recognized. It's located just below the camera and Samsung logo. I've sent my tablet back, did an exchange, and showed it to a Samsung rep. 3 separate devices all had the same problem. As one who bought it to take for business notes, diagram, sketch, etc., I find it very annoying and possible deal breaker. Too bad really. I love the device but this would make me reconsider my next purchase.

briguy40
Connecticut, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Head ache
9/3/2015

Customer review by startingtohatesamsung

1.0 stars 9/3/2015 by startingtohatesamsung
by startingtohatesamsung

Used lightly with a cover. When i went on vacation for a week i left the tablet at home. I came back and the battery was dead so naturally i charged it. Since then the screen would only light up when it was first turned on. after putting it to sleep the screen wouldn't light up. I could tell it was on because of the touch screen vibrations. No way to fix other than to send it in for a replacement. Basically no tablet for a few weeks and losing all of your data. Or you can pop the back open (but it's most likely not going to fit the way it originally did) disconnect a few cables, reconnect them, and it will work. I've had to do this repeatedly ever since then.

startingtohatesamsung
Lawton, OK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Features don't matter if you can't charge it!
4/7/2014

Customer review by MeandCoop

2.0 stars 4/7/2014 by MeandCoop
by MeandCoop

I bought this unit in November, by this year I had problems getting it to charge. At first I could wiggle the plug into a place/angle to get it to charge. I even tried the charger from my samsung phone which has the same plug, but a better cable. Frustration. I UPS'd it in for repair today. Really hurts to send it away after I paid so much for it. They told me turn around was 4 days after they got it, so I'll update my review when I get it back. I really liked the unit on my Disney trip in December, took really nice photos and movies. I didn't like the new user privacy agreement that I recently got that said they could access all my emails. took my e-mail off the tablet.

MeandCoop
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Samsung Galaxy Note® 10.1 2014 Edition (Wi-Fi), Black 16GB (SM-P6000ZKYXAR)
8/12/2014

Customer review by Scheli

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Scheli
by Scheli

I have had my Galaxy Note 2014 edition for 6 months, (plus a little more) I have encountered no problems along the way. I use this device for everything from school to leisure. I watch movies, play a couple games, Farmville - Country Escape, and Mindcraft Tablet edition. I have downloaded numerous applications, including Word type program, anti-virus (avast) Banking apps, and several more. The battery life is great, I have been able to watch 4 - 1 hour episodes of a series. Games such as Farmville - Country Escape, the battery might last 35 to 45 minutes, it does drain a lot of power. The grafx are great. There has been no lag with response from touch to load an app.

Scheli
Quincy, CA 95971, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews