Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 75 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
So far So good
1/4/2014

Customer review by defriter

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by defriter
by defriter

I just received the GPS a day ago. I previously had a GARMIN NUVI and it recognized the touch screen half of the time, and the cable was in a horrible spot which ultimately caused it to stop working due to the cable being bent against the dashboard. This tomtom has the cable up top and aiming to the right direction. The touch screen is very sensitive which makes it easy to type the address. The lifetime map updates can only be used 4 times a year, which is a little disappointing but not a big deal. I searched one of my favorite destinations and it actually found it, instead of having to drive to it and the save the spot on my garmin. Note: The first time you update the gps, it takes about 5 minutes to download the update but 40 minutes to update the actual gps. Even though that is a long time, this is my third GPS and they are all slow when it comes to updating. On the other side, the update was rather simple to get and even a non computer savvy person should be able to do it

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
defriter
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall good product so far.
3/14/2014

Customer review by sheldontv

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by sheldontv
by sheldontv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just received this last week, but so far it is better than my old Garmin. My biggest complaint is with the software used to load maps onto the device. I had to go and edit a bunch of INI files with each downloaded map to switch ports that the map software uses to connect to the maps web service. If I left the default port or didn't switch the configuration after each download, then the download would grind to a halt. With a fast fiber internet connection it was not on my end. This required killing the maps updated, editing a very we'll hidden configuration, and then relaunching. The actual load to the device was quick. It took me hours of research on the TomTom forums to find solutions that work and I cannot believe that a non-technical user would figure it out. If you just need U.S. Maps and are not technical, then the device is fine. If you need more, then good luck downloading (a 500mb file does not take 5 days to download when you have a 75 Mbps connection).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sheldontv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprisingly good GPS!
3/8/2014

Customer review by Reckers

5.0 stars 3/8/2014 by Reckers
by Reckers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only thing I don't like about it is that you cannot "unclick" the GPS and leave the mount when you don't want to leave the GPS on the windshield---you have to remove suction-cup and all. That said, this thing is a really good value for the money, large screen with lots of settings to customize it the way you like it. You can leave set it for the standard single-screen display or set it to go to a split-screen when you hit major intersections on the Interstate. With split-screen, you get the standard display on the left half and on the right half, your path and the lane(s) you should take are clearly marked in orange arrows. I'm planning to drive from KY to SC in a couple of weeks and this will be a great help in navigating a 10-hour drive. Power-cord is a USB end with a cigarette-lighter device you can plug into, so I like the option to choose between the two. I'm very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reckers
Louisville KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS
12/2/2013

Customer review by ScottH2010

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by ScottH2010
by ScottH2010

Love my TOM TOM, I own two. The live traffic is great in the cities for routing around trouble. Word of warning, when you update for the first time you have a code that comes in the box, DO NOT through it away. I lost my info and now my maps to not update unless I pay. Also if you register more than one TOM TOM, each needs its own email address. I never travel without it!

Was this review helpful? (115) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottH2010
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use.
12/13/2013

Customer review by tertoda

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by tertoda
by tertoda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Gave this as an early Christmas present to my daughter in law. She had never used one before so I was kind of worried. When her and my grand daughter went on their trip she used it for every thing. She easily found her destination as well as gas stations and restaurants. Every thing was very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tertoda
New Lenox Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
got it on sale. Very good for the average traveler
12/14/2013

Customer review by jansport

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by jansport
by jansport
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to register. Speaks much clearer than my 8 year old magellan. Gives much more detail for turns.Free maps are good but seams like I am always upgrading the syatem. Icon appears on computer when update is ready. This GPS is great for the average traveler.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jansport
Clarion,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TomTom GPS
12/18/2013

Customer review by 28Angels

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by 28Angels
by 28Angels
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought this was an excellent value, except it was sold out when I tried to make this purchase. I own this same device and recommend it to anyone that needs an easy GPS.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
28Angels
Seal Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent GPS
1/23/2014

Customer review by jr0009

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by jr0009
by jr0009
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

At first I thought this used a (separate) mounting bracket to secure this device to the windshield (I should have read the details better I guess), however I do like that the mounting system is built in to the device itself. It makes installation extremely easy. (just press the GPS device's suction cup against the windshield, then turn the knob on the back of the suction cup until it "clicks") This is very easy to use, and the information is easy to read. The only thing I wish this had would be to include Bluetooth (so the instructions could play over most radios).

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jr0009
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lifetime Updates doesn't mean lifetime
2/14/2015

Customer review by ajfafjkfkasliqmsnuba

1.0 stars 2/14/2015 by ajfafjkfkasliqmsnuba
by ajfafjkfkasliqmsnuba

The lifetime updates apparently only allow one update. We updated our maps once and since then the website will not update the maps without asking us to buy the maps.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ajfafjkfkasliqmsnuba
Would recommend to a friend? No
Here Tomm Tomm-
12/14/2013

Customer review by dare2know7

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by dare2know7
by dare2know7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned a tom tom for 8 yrs-but an older version. After purchasing this one-I never knew it could be so fun going places. I really like the big screen and the split screen feature come up upon exits so you never have to touch the device while driving. When you turn on your car-the device turns on (if you have it plugged in). Having to get used to removing the suction cup (nonremoveable from device) and device each exit- I really like this model.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dare2know7
Jamestown,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My first GPS
3/14/2014

Customer review by cyclecarl

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by cyclecarl
by cyclecarl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The TOM TOM is superior to the Garmin that I have used. The voice does not say "recalculating" but waits and tells you how to correctly continue. The "integrated" window attachment is a bit cumbersome and the instructions are not new user friendly. But overall I like it and Walmart offers superior value over Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyclecarl
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good choice
12/16/2013

Customer review by redledg

1.0 stars 12/16/2013 by redledg
by redledg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was an online special. We have used it twice in areas we frequent often. It consistently takes a longer or out of the way route. It is not accurate. Could not recommend it to anyone. We are considering returning it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redledg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
POORLY DESIGNED SUPPORTED WEBSITE UNIT FROZE
4/15/2014

Customer review by Mehera

1.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Mehera
by Mehera
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had very bad experience using TOM Tom web site. First could not find user manual. continued downloading the maps anyway. but could not figure out whether it did or not. After spending 5-6 hours the unit completely froze and just showed Tom Tom logo and will not go back to starter page no matter how my times I turned it on and off Had to return the unit and this is my last TOM tOM purchase I will ever do.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mehera
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great navigational tool for anyone
3/3/2014

Customer review by whitener

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by whitener
by whitener
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would recommend this product to everyone of all ages . Even the techno declined . We love it. TomTom will not let you speed or get lost. Also lets you know when a gas station is coming up and lets you know if the station is a Shell or any other one. We are very happy with our product and the services of Wal-Mart. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whitener
dunn , nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product for the price
1/15/2014

Customer review by GotThereOK

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by GotThereOK
by GotThereOK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Large screen is wonderful. Options are excellent. All expectations we're meet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GotThereOK
Tinton Falls, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
powercord could not charge it
2/9/2014

Customer review by ZuZq

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by ZuZq
by ZuZq
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was charged when I bought it. I do like the programing.Power soon ran out and could not charge it as the cord did not fit the plug in and could not charge it again.The store did not have one for exchange. I am not pleased.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZuZq
Tampa Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
no codes for maps
12/23/2013

Customer review by raodman

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by raodman
by raodman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

two and one half hours on the phone then 9and half hours downloading updates not happy

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raodman
bartlesville ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gave up on Garmin after many years
4/1/2014

Customer review by olygene

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by olygene
by olygene
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used Garmin and Magellan for many years in our 4 vehicles. But I noticed that there were tracking errors in the Garmin. I also found that the mileage indicator did not adjust as you got near your destination in text mode with the Garmin. Out of frustration, I purchased this TomTom and am I glad I did. It offers far more features than the Garmin. It also costs less (better value) and the mileage indicator works properly. I can wholeheartedly recommend this TomTom

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olygene
WA and AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
JUNK
1/2/2014

Customer review by brushybarry

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by brushybarry
by brushybarry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the worst GPS I have ever owned! It constantly loses signal and the arrow that represents my truck is never on the road, it always shows me as driving way off in the grass! Ive called TomTom twice and they have updated it twice with no success. DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK. Going back to walmart

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brushybarry
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Why wait
4/2/2014

Customer review by jtfftj

4.0 stars 4/2/2014 by jtfftj
by jtfftj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wanted something outside of my phone for trip directions. Chose this item as priced right and available immediately. Was not disappointed. Could not imagine navigating the unfamiliar streets of Los Angeles with out it. Would have liked some better printed step by step directions as a first time GPS user, but it was not too difficult to figure out by trail and error. Lots of convenient optional settings in its drop-down menus

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jtfftj
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews