Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

41 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

41 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

39%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 41 total reviews
39%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Great buy for the money!
10/26/2013

Customer review by ohmg

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by ohmg
by ohmg

I'm replacing a Samsung Centura with this phone. This is a great buy. It has a higher processor, (1Ghz) than some of the other Straight Talk phones. It is also a MP3 player and comes with a 4GB microSD card. It is also loaded with the newest android 4.1 (Jelly Bean). I get great service where I live which is a rural area that normally has poor reception.

Was this review helpful? (96) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohmg
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good phone for the money
11/2/2013

Customer review by unclemuncle

4.0 stars 11/2/2013 by unclemuncle
by unclemuncle

For under $100 you will not buy a new phone any better. Plays youtube videos fine and games are ok.has some issues connecting in large buildings, but will get it done.battery life is good and screen looks nice. Only bad thing about the phone imo is the camera, only 3mp and the color is kinda washed out and IT HAS NO AUTO FOCUS! So if you wanna use them bar code scanner apps like red laser, you can not! Up close the numbers on the bar are to blurry for the camera to read and far away there to small.but you can still enter the numbers manually in the program. But it takes normal pictures and video fine.All in all its a good phone, its as close as I think you can get to a high end phone for the money

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unclemuncle
rome new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very impressed.. call quailty is great!!
11/7/2013

Customer review by nonyabnizz

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by nonyabnizz
by nonyabnizz

This ZTE valet is the first low end phone I have ever bothered to try mostly I have allways Bought high end Motorola or HTC ext.. but this phone has all the features that matter and is so inexpensive I'm going to buy another for our teenagers. The call quality is very good, the screen resolution is very good.. I can't find anything Negative to say about this phone at all.. and for me that's really saying something If you are on the fence about the valet.. dont be.. its worth the price and then some!

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nonyabnizz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very disappointed for the price.
1/18/2014

Customer review by DAsh06

2.0 stars 1/18/2014 by DAsh06
by DAsh06

I am replacing a Straight Talk Galaxy SII I bought on this website last March. ABSOLUTELY LOVED my Galaxy. This phone is like going back to a phone from the 80s after using a Galaxy. It freezes in the middle of texting and just goes to the home page. The wallpaper just changes on its own and goes back to factory almost every day. Apps take FOREVER to load. This phone should of cost no more than 30 dollars for the poor quality. The biggest complaint...... NO ONE can understand me on this phone. I have been told I sound like I am Charlie Browns teacher. It also has a horrible echo. How embarrassing when my bosses call me and they can not understand me. I bought this phone Jan 2 when my galaxy just decided to not cut back on. I intended on buying the SIII at tax time and really do not have the money to do so at this time but something has to give. Glad Walmart has a 30 day return policy. THIS PHONE IS GOING BACK!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DAsh06
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Useless cell phone
4/8/2014

Customer review by travelingfortherapy

1.0 stars 4/8/2014 by travelingfortherapy
by travelingfortherapy

I have found this phone a very frustrating experience. Volume: Even with volume on HIGH, ringtones cannot be heard. I have tried every ringtone and making the change is difficult as the phone will not change even though a different name is identified. You have to turn the phone totally off each time and most often will still not change! Camera: The 3MP camera is useless with mobile banking - pictures very blurry. Even taking normal pictures (not banking), the pictures are very blurry. I was hoping to complete many deposits while traveling but the bank could not recognize the picture it was so blurry. Accessibility: Phone turns off when held to the ear as your ear hits the phone and changes the settings. You have to hold the phone away from your face and ear. I changed to Walmart prepaid to have access to Verizon while traveling. The phone is constantly looking for 'GPS' location. Don't waste your money on this phone. I am sorry I did!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
travelingfortherapy
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Good Phone
12/12/2013

Customer review by Tobyslady

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Tobyslady
by Tobyslady

This is a very good phone have had no problems in the last 2 months that I have owned this phone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tobyslady
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WAY better storage than my old phone.
3/2/2014

Customer review by dangitmelll

4.0 stars 3/2/2014 by dangitmelll
by dangitmelll

I just upgraded from the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android which I had for almost 2 years to the straight talk ZTE Valet. My old phone had horrible internal storage, no applications would transfer to my SD card and I wasn't able to download more than at least 2 apps on my phone. The storage on this phone to me is great, I can download more than two applications and most of it will transfer to my SD card. And so far it hasn't slowed my phone down. Texting and calling is no problem so far. For being a pre-paid smartphone this phone has really good upgrades and good quality. I don't like the screen feel too much, I have trouble texting with the touch keyboard, it slows down. but not sure if that's just me or if the keyboard text reacts slow. the price for this smartphone is worth the buy. Definitely am much happier investing into a newer and fast running phone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dangitmelll
Southwest, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Aweful phone
11/15/2013

Customer review by Takari

1.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Takari
by Takari

I am on my second phone in the space of 3 wks. The first one I only had it about 2 wks. before I it started acting up. When receiving and making calls I couldn't hear a thing unless I put it on speaker. I took it back and got another one because this phone had a 5 star rating. The second one I have only had since Sunday and every time I download a game it kicks me off when I try to play. The internet cuts in and out (laggy). I only have one game app on this phone the rest of the apps come preloaded when you buy the phone. I have tried downloading a few other games from google play store but I couldn't play those at all. This phone has been a night mare from the start and working with Straight talk is an absolute joke. I do not recommend this phone to any one that wants to be able to play and download games

Was this review helpful? (14) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Takari
Sutherlin,Or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worts phone I've ever owned
4/24/2014

Customer review by cunningtonm

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by cunningtonm
by cunningtonm

I love the Straight Talk service I get but this phone is AWFUL. It freezes constantly, goes back to the home page when I'm in the middle of a text, the texting keypad freezes in the middle of texts, etc. It is absolutely worthless. SAVE your money- buy a different phone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cunningtonm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good buy for a smart phone.
11/28/2013

Customer review by SweetMommaT

4.0 stars 11/28/2013 by SweetMommaT
by SweetMommaT

I purchased this for my mom online and all was wonderful except the delay in recieving the pin from the phone card to activate the phone. Had a really hard time getting the site to pull up when retrieving the information. Other than that wonderful phone, straight talk has great service & for the price can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetMommaT
Harrison, Ark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great starter phone
12/16/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/16/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Although i prefer my iPhone , I purchased 2 of these phones for my Dad and my Uncle both whom are later 70's . The phones access is easy , screen responsive . The only negative to the phone in my opinion is the ALERTS . They are brief and the tones are not very loud .

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of money and time
4/10/2014

Customer review by utinfo

2.0 stars 4/10/2014 by utinfo
by utinfo

WIFI is so poor you have to be within 10 feet of a router to connect. ZTE was measure at 22dbm below my wife's Samsung phone when standing in the same spot. Very slow old technology. At times CPU utilization is pegged at 100% for periods of up to 30 seconds. I.e., the phone is locked up and your unable to do anything until CPU frees up some cycles. Android is unstable and Google apps terminate 2 or 3 times a day with errors. ZTE product support does not know the difference between WIFI and the 3G phone connection and unable to address any of the issues. Many complaints over the web on these issue as well as the lack of support. Based on my experience with both the product and the product support(or lack thereof# I will never purchase any ZTE product again. #Product was returned)

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
utinfo
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ZTE Valet - just say no!
6/7/2014

Customer review by DoniMarie

2.0 stars 6/7/2014 by DoniMarie
by DoniMarie

My husband and I switched from Verizon to Straight Talk after our contract was completed about 6 months ago. We both chose to get the ZTE Valet phones. Both phones have proven to have their very own personalities. Rarely they work moderately okay but neither are dependable. Many apps do not run correctly and often shut down while trying to use it. Black screens (lock ups) and Looooooooooong wait times are frequent. Weak reception using the telephone and always be prepared to pull over to restart Maps when using the GPS for directions. For $99, we expected much better performance. It will get the job done...... eventually. Just be ready to wait, and wait, and wait...... Do NOT get this phone if you are impatient! I would never purchase this phone again but will continue to use it until I eventually throw it out the window.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoniMarie
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible phone!
1/10/2014

Customer review by musicjunkie115

1.0 stars 1/10/2014 by musicjunkie115
by musicjunkie115

Got this phone to cut corners on having to pay a cell phone bill. This phone does not receive all of my text messages, and its very slow. It crashes and I am constantly pulling my battery out because it shuts off on its own and won't turn back on. I would not recommend this to anyone! Back to my iphone I go!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
musicjunkie115
LeRoy, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I hate this phone
10/21/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/21/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I used to have a galaxy proclaim and bought this phone when it died. The valet is kinda like a drunken valet....it works when it wants, freezes constantly, won't dial much of the time, reboots when I try to write a text and will simply not run the browser without freezing and crashing. Less than six months into owning the phone, now it will only work on speaker phone and even then the person I am calling cannot hear me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Basic Smart Phone
11/29/2013

Customer review by Travisman

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Travisman
by Travisman

I bought this phone for my fiancee after her Samsung Galaxy Proclaim died. She seems very happy with it. In terms of hardware, it has similar stats to the Proclaim, but it runs on a newer version of Android. My fiancee likes the configuration of this phone much better. I have a Galaxy Proclaim, too. While the ZTE Valet is a set up from the Galaxy Proclaim, it's not a big enough step to justify a new phone while my old one still works fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Travisman
Fort Stewart, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Im liking it!
7/3/2014

Customer review by JMH1969

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by JMH1969
by JMH1969

This will be short and sweet. I am on the Straight Talk $45 per month unlimited plan and had a Nokia E71 phone. I did not think I was getting the full value using that phone because getting on the internet was extremely slow if possible at all. With the ZTE Valet I can do everything that I need it to do. I have had no issues with the phone, unlike what others have stated.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMH1969
Athens, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone
2/19/2014

Customer review by justinesull

4.0 stars 2/19/2014 by justinesull
by justinesull

Pretty decent phone. If you're used to a normal smartphone screen like an I-Phone etc...the screen for this phone is a little weird. Other than that though, it's pretty good. Apps work well. Messaging is good...includes voice texting. On mine, it adds screens that I don't want, but other than that, it's fine. The screens can easily be edited off. Gets great service considering I live in the middle of nowhere and still get at least one bar.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justinesull
Rolla, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Average Phone Good Camera
6/18/2014

Customer review by Mamawtimes3

2.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Mamawtimes3
by Mamawtimes3

Switched to this phone from Samsung Galaxy S2 with Sprint. Never had good service with Sprint so I am very happy with the quality of the phone calls and texting. Calls are rarely dropped. Camera takes very good pictures during the day and very poor quality at night. Wifi works fine but is slow. You press an App or play a game and it is always delayed. 3G does not work at all. It drains the battery and shuts down so I can only use data when I have wifi. Every once in a while it will freeze and I have to take the battery out. If someone sends me a picture or a group text my phone will not download it. It is a good "transition" phone to see if I liked Straight Talk. Now I will spend the extra money for a better phone and stay with this plan. It is so much cheaper than the other cell phone companies.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamawtimes3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for Phone/Text - Unhappy with Web Browsing
11/16/2014

Customer review by KristyRichardson44657

2.0 stars 11/16/2014 by KristyRichardson44657
by KristyRichardson44657

My review is strictly of the phone model (ZTE Valet Z665C) and not for the carrier (Straight Talk). I had purchased a ZTE Valet from a different retailer a couple months ago. It was my first smartphone so I had no high expectations. My experience included notifications where the date and time made no sense (ex: 35/46/83 for date or 27:34 for time) and web browsing that would freeze or be so slow it reminded me of the old dial-up internet days. (When opening a web page it was like trying to download a song on dial-up internet - so slow to the point that I would just give up). The bottom line is that this phone is fine for making phone calls and sending text messages - but why would you buy a smartphone if that is all you wanted to do? I ended up returning this model to the store where I bought it for a refund and then came to Walmart and purchased a different model phone through Straight Talk (for which I am absolutely delighted). There were things that I did like about this phone. It was easy to swipe to a different screen to turn data on/off. I used wi-fi at home or wherever available so as to keep the data usage to a minimum - and this phone makes it extremely easy to do that without having to go through settings. I liked that all the Google apps were already pre-loaded. The camera is EXCELLENT - I really liked the Timer feature for taking pics and used it often. It also takes really good videos as well. The other thing I liked was that it came with a micro SD card already installed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KristyRichardson44657
Minerva, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews