Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

43 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

43 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

35%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
25
1-20 of 43 total reviews
35%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
High Value for the money
12/2/2013

Customer review by LeanderTX

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by LeanderTX
by LeanderTX

The other two reviews are unfair because they cite being on AT&T towers versus the wanted Verizon towers. If you want to be on Straight Talk you need to do a little research. Check the boxes (bottom left corner) they tell you which network you will be on: GSM-A > AT&T CDMA-V > Verizon CDMA-S > Sprint The phone models have a hint in them too, like Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G < the “G” meaning GSM. If buying online don't expect the Straight Talk help line to explain which phone is which carrier, my experience they are clueless. Just do a little googling on user forums. Bottom line you can order online if it is not on your preferred carrier Walmart is fantastic about returns. Opened or not you can return within 15 days. I specifically bought this phone because I frequently travel to an area where the only tower is AT&T. I refuse to pay $500 for a phone. This one does everything I need maps, texting, internet, and oh yeah phone calls. Great phone for the price. It replaces my Galaxy Proclaim that was on Verizon. This phone has the newer 4.0.3 Android and has twice the internal memory 2 GB user usable. Do yourself a favor if you like to store stuff on your phone music, pics videos, etc buy a micro SD card.

Was this review helpful? (237) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeanderTX
Leander, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good deal for a smart phone....well worth the buy.
2/3/2014

Customer review by Rhino77ph

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Rhino77ph
by Rhino77ph

This was my first smart phone purchase...so needless to say I researched and compared many types. I knew I wanted a descent phone but did not have any desire to pay out the nose for just a phone. I was a little hesitant when I made my initial purchase....but my fears were quickly relieved when I received my phone and had it activated. I will say its not the quickest phone, but I sorta expected that. If you want higher speed processing and more ease of use, then go with a higher grade phone. But again....for the money and what I needed a phone for, it was a good buy and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rhino77ph
Monticello, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smartphone #2
5/25/2014

Customer review by rhcpfan4life

4.0 stars 5/25/2014 by rhcpfan4life
by rhcpfan4life

Before I purchased this smartphone, I had a LG smartphone. I wasn't impressed w/ that one, so I decided to try a different brand when I turned it in. In testing out two different brand smartphones, I realized there are some things that just seem to be common for this type of phone. One issue I've experienced w/ both phones was keeping the touch screen keyboard lit while I am going through automated prompts. The phone lights up for a second or two after I remove the phone from my ear and, some of the keys I have to try to press repeatedly until I finally can make my selection. I can usually bypass this frustration when automated system prompts allow you to speak your responses too. One feature I'm impressed w/ on this phone is the camera capabilities. For one, I think the quality of photos this camera takes are really good. I like that I have instagram-esque features built into the phone for editing my photos. I can make them black and white, sepia, auto-fix, add shadows, saturation, film grain, doodle on the pic, red eye removal, etc. Maybe I didn't play w/ my last smartphone enough, but I didn't notice these features on the previous phone. I had the last phone for a few months before I traded it in for this one. I marked down that the value for this product was excellent b/c I got this item actually at almost 50% off (I think it cost me about $60 before I added the Walmart protection plan). While I realize no phone is perfect (at least not in my budget, anyway), I am quite pleased w/ this phone. It has served my needs well. I'm glad I made the switch to this smartphone. My only wish is that the battery had a longer life (that was an issue I had w/ the last smartphone too).

Was this review helpful? (35) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rhcpfan4life
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I would not take this phone for free!
4/19/2014

Customer review by customer01010101001010101

1.0 stars 4/19/2014 by customer01010101001010101
by customer01010101001010101

The phone runs slow and the battery is not worth a flip. The battery will only stay charged a few hours even with all the settings to optimize the battery. Also the phone locks up and freezes often. Seems this phone should not have been launched out onto the market til all these issues were resolved. No wonder the prices range from 49.99 to 99.99. Beware of this phone if you do try it out make sure you keep your receipt for the return policy.

Was this review helpful? (36) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
customer01010101001010101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't beat it for the price
1/19/2014

Customer review by Hfryhg

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Hfryhg
by Hfryhg

Had it about a month now with no problems.does everything I need it to do. I like it

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hfryhg
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good phone or service provider
5/5/2014

Customer review by fairlady1966

1.0 stars 5/5/2014 by fairlady1966
by fairlady1966

This Straight Talk phone and their customer service is terrible. Paid for data that wasn't able to use and their representatives couldn't help troubleshoot to get it to working right. Straight Talk WILL NOT refund any of your money for the phone or the service when their product is defective. Long calls trying to get them to help you and their English is poor. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fairlady1966
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad choice for area that demands Verizon coverage.
10/11/2013

Customer review by BATeeek

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by BATeeek
by BATeeek

I bought the phone believing that it would only use Verizon towers. Being that I have lived and worked in the same area that I have used Verizon for the past 11 years, I have to say that there is NO way this was using Verizon. I have had it for two days. If it wants to call out, it will. If it doesn't, it doesn't. Some times people can call me,most of the time they can't. I never get more than 1 bar of the 3G network. Sometimes I get an E over the bars. To make matters worse, I get an error message that says sim not provisioned mm2. I never could get online, not even using my WI Fi. The original switch to Straight Talk involved an LG Optimus, reconditioned. I don't care for the phone's feel, speed or button placement, but it sure does make calls when I tell it to, receives calls and messages and surfs the web like no one else's business! I am returning this Discover and have ordered a Proclaim. The reviews for Proclaim say it pings Verizon towers only. I'll let you know how that works out. If not, strike three, I'll deal with the Optimus!

Was this review helpful? (31) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BATeeek
WNC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed
1/2/2014

Customer review by comet99

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by comet99
by comet99

This is the second Discover that I have had in the last month. The first one wouldn't hold a charge at all, within 6 hours of taking it off the charger the phone would die completely. Called straight talk customer service and I got nowhere. Took it back to Walmart and exchanged for another one, after two weeks , this one will not hold a charge either. Would never recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
comet99
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good deal!
2/3/2014

Customer review by Marshals

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Marshals
by Marshals

This phone is the AT&T version of the Centura. Centura operates on the Verizon network. I would have chosen the Centura as the Verizon coverage in far Western Ky is better. However, if you plan to travel toward the east in Ky, you should know that Straight Talk phones on the Verizon network will not work in the central part of Ky that is covered by Bluegrass Cellular. This extends from around Madisonville to near Louisville. So, if live in, or plan to travel in that area, you should select the Discover. Phone seems to be more than adequate for the casual user.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marshals
Benton, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets expectations
9/2/2014

Customer review by TheBandit1

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by TheBandit1
by TheBandit1

I personally love my Discover phone.In this area AT&T is by far the best service. I love it more than the I-Phone that I sent back in order to get this phone. I bought it at Walmart.com for $49.99. I want to get my daughter one but the price has went up. If they offer it again at $50, I'll buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBandit1
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Save your money
6/29/2014

Customer review by GRIN49

1.0 stars 6/29/2014 by GRIN49
by GRIN49

As a long time Straight Talk customer, I have used several phones. The Samsung Galaxy is by far the worst. Does not perform as claimed. With more than one function on, the battery life is 2 ½ - 3 hours at best. With no functions on, battery life is 8 – 10 hours. It takes pictures but will not send or receive any. Downloads disappear. The touch screen response is erratic at best. User directions have to be downloaded and were clearly written by someone with a poor command of English. For me, it is a complete waste of money. I wish I had my reliable flip phone back; I'll gladly forego the so-called great options of the Galaxy for the dependability of the old flip phone! And no, this is not the first "smart" phone I've used, but it might be the last.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GRIN49
Would recommend to a friend? No
HORRIBLE RECEPTION
10/14/2013

Customer review by LoveRulesALL

1.0 stars 10/14/2013 by LoveRulesALL
by LoveRulesALL

I go to UNC CHARLOTTE and this phone barely has any bars...also the phone dies fairly quickly and I havent downloaded anything yet. this phone DOES NOT USE VERIZON TOWERS, and I can definitely tell a difference from my previous phone which used them. if AT&T works in your area then its great, but if not STAY AWAY. The phone itslef is pretty nice. Its my first smart phone. great clear display. Pattern lock security. linking google account...and EMAIL which is important for me. I havent had any freezing problem yet but I just got it yesterday...No problems with WiFi...pictures are fairly decent (NO FLASH)

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveRulesALL
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not what I expected
12/30/2013

Customer review by spiritsfree

2.0 stars 12/30/2013 by spiritsfree
by spiritsfree

The battery won't hold a charge and when I called straight talk the person I spoke with didn't speak very good English so I got nowhere.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spiritsfree
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Prepaid Droid Phone, great network
2/13/2014

Customer review by GoSuperSonics

4.0 stars 2/13/2014 by GoSuperSonics
by GoSuperSonics

This is my second Samsung Smart phone. My last phone was a Samsung Galaxy Precedent which served me well. One of my favorite features on the new phone is the network, ATT. I've got good service at home and at work. The phone itself is a good piece of hardware and runs Android 4.0. The processor is only 800mhz but seems to get through the screens and runs apps without any problems. I haven't had any problems with the screen freezing. Surfing the web over the data connection or wifi is very good. Data connection is a little laggy at times (expected with mobile). The battery so far has been good, it could certainly be more powerful. As it is, with light use I've been able to stretch the battery 2 days without recharging. Of course your results may vary depending on your screen brightness, apps running, texting, talking and in general how much you use the phone. Connects and pairs with my bluetooth headset and speaker phone without any issues. Overall, this is a good entry to mid (maybe) level phone. The spec sheet is more on the entry side of things but the OS just seems to work well. Use this phone everyday as my primary phone (no landline) and have been fairly satisfied. It's not a Galaxy S3 or S4, but who can afford that phone off-contract anyway :).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoSuperSonics
Olympia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ready to throw it in the river!!
2/17/2014

Customer review by busiemommie

1.0 stars 2/17/2014 by busiemommie
by busiemommie

I had talked my husband into purchasing this phone for me when it was on sale during Black Friday. My phone at the time hadn't run out so it sat for about a week or two before it was activated. Now that is has been active for about 2 months it will restart itself in the middle of a phone call, crash, ask for updates and crash while trying to upload the update! I am so ready to throw this phone in the river! Checking out other phones to find something else. This phone turned out to be a joke. Don't know if it was refurbished or not, but didn't see anything on the box saying it was.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
busiemommie
Oak Hill, Wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Frustrating!!!
2/20/2015

Customer review by CrowtownLady

1.0 stars 2/20/2015 by CrowtownLady
by CrowtownLady

Do not purchase this phone! I repeat DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PHONE! I have had this phone for 7 months and it is the biggest disappointment. I'm constantly having to turn it off and take it apart to take the battery out to reset everything just so it will work. I did a total factory reset after 5 months because it could take up to 15 minutes to make a phone call. Today it decided to be on silent mode, all setting were set for it to ring with volume turned up. When I would make a phone call the other party couldn't hear me, but if they called me then they could hear me. What is up with that? Oh and a couple weeks ago it decided to not send or receive picture texts. I am soooo fed up with this phone and hate that after only 7 months I'm going to have to buy a new phone because this one is such a disappointment!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrowtownLady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Internet does not work
6/17/2015

Customer review by shannan

2.0 stars 6/17/2015 by shannan
by shannan

The 3G does not work in either of the two phones I bought. If you like to pay for internet and not use it .... this is the phone for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from TracFone Wireless - 7/6/2015

Hi. In order to get this resolved, we would need to gather more information. To better assist you, please send us an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com. Please include your name, phone number and the serial number or the IMEI/MEID of the phone.

shannan
Would recommend to a friend? No
waste of money
1/5/2015

Customer review by peculiar53

1.0 stars 1/5/2015 by peculiar53
by peculiar53

i got this phone when it was $100.00 a year ago. well the phone is not worth $100.00 nor $80.00. it is a basic regular smartphone. the camera doesnt take good pictures. battery life if your lucky 3hours max! the phone freeze up alot! when it freeze up turn off & take battery out. dont download games because they dont play very good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peculiar53
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad phone
2/23/2015

Customer review by konni

1.0 stars 2/23/2015 by konni
by konni

I had to return the phone it didn't work I am very disappointed

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
konni
Would recommend to a friend? No
you get what you pay for
6/14/2015

Customer review by anon

1.0 stars 6/14/2015 by anon
by anon

I thought it would be good for my son to use as his first phone but the screen flickered and died the day after i got it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from TracFone Wireless - 7/5/2015

Hi. My name is Ashley and I work with Straight Talk Wireless. We're sorry for the trouble. Please let me help you get this resolved. Send me an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com and we will resolve your problem right away. Include your name, contact number and your cell phone number or phone serial number.

anon
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews