Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1093 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1093 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1093 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
779
4 stars
187
3 stars
41
2 stars
26
1 stars
60
1-20 of 1092 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1092 total reviews
1-20 of 1092 reviews
Powerful with a few limitations
9/21/2014

Customer review by JKT1832

5.0 stars 9/21/2014 by JKT1832
by JKT1832

This is a really powerful phone and I am sure everyone has talked about all the great things it can do. Let me just go over the limitations first since that is a shorter list and maybe more helpful to a would-be smartphone buyer. 1. Cannot run anything that requires FLASH. So you won't be able to watch Amazon Prime videos for instance, which require flash. This by far is the biggest gripe I think most Android users have. Netflix, and YouTube will work just fine. 2. I personally wish that it had a better camera. 8mp is ok but all the newer cameras do much better than this. Sometimes I think the camera can be sluggish. 3. Battery life is generally good unless you have wifi or mobile data on then it just sucks it down quickly. Perhaps this is common among most cell phones though. Why should you get this phone over another? Larger easily readable screen, Multi-window if you are into that, loads of customizations, and this thing is really surprisingly durable. I have dropped it more times than I care to admit and it hasn't cracked or become damaged.

Was this review helpful? (919) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKT1832
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 10 contributor
Samsung Galaxy 3 Straight Talk
4/5/2014

Customer review by venus3182000

4.0 stars 4/5/2014 by venus3182000
by venus3182000

My husband and I ordered these phones, they were delivered within a couple days site to store.We are enjoying them so far.They have many of the features of an iPhone such as front camera,suri type voice app, 16gs of internal mem & can hold up tp 64g sd card.Web surfing is very fast & you can watch videos on YouTube without choppyness.It also helps if you have a wifi connection.The rear camera quality is nice quality 8mp, flash.The screen is large & the images appear very sharp & clear.The phone has many other features that will take us awhile to figure out :) We also purchased phone cases as Walmart that have an external battery & screen protector. The phone is slippery & large in the hand although slim so a case is definately needed.I subtracted a star because the call quality is less than our old Straight Talk smart phones.I think these run on the At&t network instead of Verizon. Also I think the price is a bit high considering they have already come out with the Galaxy S5. A

Was this review helpful? (596) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
venus3182000
MIDWEST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD BUY
1/15/2014

Customer review by ladydoll232002

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by ladydoll232002
by ladydoll232002

January 13, 2014 date purchased. Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 White, is the best Cellphone to get. Excellent signal for at&t and Verizon and T-mobile too! It has all the features you want. I love that I can just talk this phone instead of typing in the keypad to send a text messages. GPS is excellent service never lose signal with this phone. $45 Unlimited Nationwide Talk, Text, Data and 411 And if I want International Calling just buy the $60 card then I can enjoy talking to my family in Philippines everyday. I like this phone much better than iPhone 5S it's about the same features. My old phone was also No Contract paying $50.00 a month Unlimited Talk & Text plus Web but I can only check email, can't open other websites not even Facebook. I'm very happy & content that I choose this product it has everything I need. I've done all my research before I purchased this phone. Great deal, great Cellphone to have!!! Pictures are beautiful!

Was this review helpful? (1466) (211)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladydoll232002
Saint Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
There's a reason it's so popular
6/3/2014

Customer review by Chazzanman

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by Chazzanman
by Chazzanman

So far very few complaints. This is my first smartphone, so I'm still easily impressed, kind of like a caveman seeing fire for the first time. But I've talked to people who have had other smartphones, and they love the S3. I haven't really downloaded any apps to speak of yet, but the Netflix app works great on this phone. I work far from the city, and I still have a good signal, even better than with my previous Straight Talk "dumb" phone. The camera takes great pics, and I love the swipe to screenshot feature; very slick. I know this phone is capable of so much more than I'm doing with it, but I'll learn it eventually. Oh, and great battery life, as long as you're not running a bunch of apps all the time. Only red flag that's come up so far is that a little over a week after I had it, it freaked out a couple of times and froze up, so I had to take the battery out and restart it. I don't know if it was just a fluke or what, but if it doesn't happen again I'll have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (361) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chazzanman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Like Nike says, JUST DO IT!
12/10/2013

Customer review by BigTfromNC

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by BigTfromNC
by BigTfromNC

Went from Virgin Mobile which uses the Sprint network to this Verizon tower using monster! I NEVER loose signal. My wife has a Iphone 4 and (shhhhh) soon as a Christmas present an Iphone 5, but I like this S3 better. Too many bells and whistles to cover here. The 'gesture' operations are neat. I took about 20 camera shots in rapid fire before I realized what I was doing..lol Dog looked very worried at all that noise coming from my hand? Huge screen means the battery burns down fairly fast, but after a 12.5 hour day of light use still had plenty of juice. I see that Samsung has released an upgraded battery of 3000 mah (30% more power) that you can find online. But for me, typical light user, the installed one is fine. Very light, very responsive, and tons of on board memory (16 gb). Picked up a class 10, 64 gb microsd to go with it. In my opinion, this is the best bang for the buck on the no contract market today. Just look for S968C in the product code.

Was this review helpful? (400) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigTfromNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Goodbye Verizon!
1/21/2014

Customer review by Trekker2014

5.0 stars 1/21/2014 by Trekker2014
by Trekker2014

Our first attempt at ordering these phones was not successful. We tried to order two bundles that contained a phone, a case and a $50 gift card. We paid for rush shipping, the gift cards made it on time. Nothing else did. In fact the balance of our order was stuck in some sort of processing limbo. After a few customer service calls, the original order was cancelled and a new one was entered. This order shipped on time. Here is my experience activating and impressions of the Galaxy S3 after one week of use: 1-Call Straight Talk to have your phone activated if your porting over a existing phone number, it's much easier then doing it online. The activation process only took around a half hour, very fast!! 2- Make sure to research and make sure that the phone you are purchasing uses Verizon towers, other posts on here help with that. With that being said, I love this phone, and Straight Talk! Same quality as Verizon service, half the price! As long as your not a data hog, 2g is plenty per month.

Was this review helpful? (562) (81)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trekker2014
Perry Heights, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Verizon Straight Talk S3 at last
11/13/2013

Customer review by linton23

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by linton23
by linton23

So far I have done the main setup and transfer of my info to the new phone no issues. The nice thing it has plenty of room for my apps. The response to any application is fast. The screen is large and colorful as you would expect. It seems the wifi speed is better on this phone still only 3g service but it works for me. Great phone so far.

Was this review helpful? (201) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linton23
Perry Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic!
3/23/2014

Customer review by beckadawn

5.0 stars 3/23/2014 by beckadawn
by beckadawn

I have never been so satisfied with a smartphone before. I have had a few Samsung smartphones through Verizon and U.S. Cellular and they always had problems. I constantly received replacement phones for the same issues. This is my second StraightTalk phone (my first was a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim) and I only upgraded because I wanted a faster processor and updated android os. I am not sure why but for some reason it seems like these prepaid phones are of much better quality than those through the large cellular companies. The S3 is quite fast and I am able to download and use all the apps I had dreamed of having before, without any trouble. The rear camera takes amazing pictures. The front camera takes lower quality pictures but I never had one before so it is still nice to have. Battery life is better than my previous smartphones. I will be sticking with this phone as long as possible and will definitely continue to be a fan of the Galaxy S series.

Was this review helpful? (277) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beckadawn
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
beware before activating
8/22/2014

Customer review by bewareofactivation

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by bewareofactivation
by bewareofactivation

I paid 299.00 for this phone. i went to transfer my straight talk service and phone service to this new phone. i activated this new phone and loaded the prepaid 45dollars onto this new phone. when i went to transfer the service, they told me i would lose the 45 i just 2 minutes ago put on there. i stayed on hold for almost 1 hr waiting for a supervisor on the toll free line. i ended up losing my 45prepaid card because they made me de-activate the new phone that i had just activated. so whatever you do, dont ever activate a new phone. just transfer the current phone service to the new phone and then load the phone with minutes. walmart really needs to make that change by allowing the toll free people in another country able to transfer money from one phone to another when its that visible to them that you just put the 45dollars on the new phone.

Was this review helpful? (237) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bewareofactivation
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big Screen
1/15/2014

Customer review by oldbiker

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by oldbiker
by oldbiker

Like the big screen, dwarfs my former 4s phone. Bought it to replace a phone with Verizon where I was paying too much for too little calling features. Now I am saving $21.00 a month and getting more for my money. I bought it as it uses Verizon cell towers for transmitting. The S voice seems to work ok. Used it to make appointments on my phone calendar. Do not know if it will remind me or not as it does not have a place to make reminders as it did on my old phone. I bought an Otterbox Defender case for the phone to protect it which it does very nicely. Used Bluetooth feature to pair with my VW in car connect and with my HPe-print remote printer. Still getting used to using it and its features. It comes loaded with lots of useful apps. It was easy to set up with Straight Talk by following directions and I selected to have automatic billing for the $45.00 a month charges to my credit card. All in all I am happy to be saving money and getting more for my $s.

Was this review helpful? (238) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldbiker
Cloquet, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice Smartphone.
8/22/2014

Customer review by Bobsie1945

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by Bobsie1945
by Bobsie1945

I needed a smartphone for business purposes as well as personal use. My previous phone only allowed me to install 1 to 3 apps before it ran out of memory even though it had a 32GB SD card installed. That just was not useful at all. I ordered this phone via Site to Store and it was available same day. I have now installed over 2 dozen apps on the phone and it has hardly made a dent in memory usage. I use this with StraightTalk and it is very reliable. I installed a 64GB microSD card which newer phones are now accepting including the Samsung Galaxy S3. Both cameras work well. The only problem I have are with the apps. Some act up from time to time. The phone itself works flawlessly. I can now deal with my customers while I am on the go. I have an online business and need to access remotely often times. Perfect phone for any use and an excellent buy!

Was this review helpful? (99) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobsie1945
Alpena, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Most amazing phone ever!
2/12/2014

Customer review by violasmith

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by violasmith
by violasmith

I love this phone so much. It has so many awesome features that it would take me all day to describe them. The camera takes amazing pictures and videos. The only bad thing I could possibly say is that it says it comes with a 4gb SD card and it didn't have it with it. HOWEVER, I did get a 100 gift card as advertised in the special deal, so I can hardly complain. lol I like how it asks and converts my videos i take from my computer and put on the phone. My old phone I had to download a special app to watch avi files, this phone uses wmv but like I said, it converts them for you. I bought one for me and one for my husband, which was quite the price tag so I was afraid but I don't like iPhones and the reviews on this phone were great. They were all right. It was worth every single penny. Oh quick fun hint. Use the voice assistant and ask her weird and crazy things. I asked her "What do you think of my son?" and she said "I think he is adorable" hahahaha! too much fun, especially when you're bored and have some time to kill.

Was this review helpful? (247) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
violasmith
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
StraightTalk version won't upgrade OS
1/16/2014

Customer review by PurpleCrone

3.0 stars 1/16/2014 by PurpleCrone
by PurpleCrone

I spent a couple of hours online attempting to update the OS (Mine is the Verizon version; it came with Android 4.1.2 when I purchased it from WalMart 2 weeks ago; the updated version for this phone is 4.3). Unable to get the phone to update its OS, I called Straight Talk, who blamed the lack of update on the manufacturer. I called the manufacturer (Samsung), who said StraightTalk is responsible to enable updates. Called StraightTalk AGAIN, talked to a manager who also blamed the inability to update on Samsung. After some 30+ minutes, he FINALLY told me that because of some system modifications on the phone (memory modified, as I understand, by StraightTalk) the OS is stuck at 4.1.2 "for now." He gave me no estimate of when/if the Operating System would be updated. Although, this was not a "Bring Your Own Phone" device, through my experience I learned that if you want to use a BYOP with StraightTalk, best you CALL THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE with the serial number FIRST.

Was this review helpful? (179) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurpleCrone
Huntsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good phone but unreliable receiving text messaging
8/5/2014

Customer review by unhappyanddisappointed2

2.0 stars 8/5/2014 by unhappyanddisappointed2
by unhappyanddisappointed2

This is a great phone let me start out with that, it has all the bells and whistles you'd want except for....It cant do basic things like you know receive all text messages sent to it which is kind of a problem. Especially texts from iphones or group text some never make it to the phone and some do and it says click download button to download. The little time lapse circle will spin for a minute or two and then you will get a failure to download text notification which is helpful. I've checked the Straight Talk forums about this issue and this problem is rampant. Straight Talk is out right unwilling to discuss this problem publicly. Someone will post this issue and they say yada yada yada this is ST so and so Im sorry you're having this problem I sent you a private message to help resolve this issue. Do some research before buying maybe Straight Talk will eventually resolve this issue some time soon I guess I will see. Check this out for yourself https://straighttalkwirelessforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=6795&t=1263846

Was this review helpful? (243) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unhappyanddisappointed2
Would recommend to a friend? No
awesome phone
12/31/2013

Customer review by ClydeFrog

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by ClydeFrog
by ClydeFrog

This phone is awesome. WHITE S3 USES VERIZON TOWERS, BLUE USES SPRINT. I was going to get the iphone but it was out of stock so I went with the galaxy s3 and I'm glad I did. Its so much better than my mom's iphone 4. I've read a lot about the screen cracking easily when dropped so I got a case for it. Cases are very cheap on ebay ($5-$20). This phone does everything, the screen is so clear, the back camera is better than any digital camera I've ever owned. Front camera is good too. Everyday I find a new feature in this phone. The screen is huge, its a pretty big phone. Set up was easy, I got a new number and straight talk service in a matter of minutes. The verizon towers are superb in my area. Battery life is decent, I'm on my phone all day and usually only need to charge it once a day. Unlike the iphone, it has a removable battery so you can put an extended battery that samsung makes in it. The problem i had was the phone's screen went blank during calls, figured out that because of my case the sensor wasnt picking up movement and the screen turns off during calls so you dont press buttons with the side of you face. Click phone, hit menu key and click "settings" to turn the feature off. No complaints. Way better than iphone 4. Comes with android 4.1 jellybean, an awesome OS.

Was this review helpful? (73) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ClydeFrog
canton, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best deal out there !
11/27/2013

Customer review by AppleTree

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by AppleTree
by AppleTree

This phone works on the Verizon network. Excellent coverage in southwest Georgia. Thin and lightweight. Camera photos outside are spectacular. Inside photos are okay. Fast enough on 3g speeds. Many, many features. Buy a good case. The supplied case is a cheapie. Carry a charger with you if you plan on using it a lot. I can't put mine down ! It's a great phone.

Was this review helpful? (95) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppleTree
USA Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk's Galaxy S3 it's not for everyone
7/26/2014

Customer review by TheRSpot

1.0 stars 7/26/2014 by TheRSpot
by TheRSpot

I bought this phone because I Love Samsung products, features, and support. Samsung as a company releases OTA updates (Phone Upgrades) to nearly all of their flagship lines for several years after release. Samsung also has a large number of third party developers that create custom firmwares for their phones. These third party firmwares offer users all sorts of flavors of android. This gives users the ability to customize their phones to have the look, feel, and features of their own choosing. Well... I was sure in for a surprise. The Samsung Galaxy S3 is capable of 4G LTE connectivity. I knew b4 purchasing this phone that it was disabled, and only 3G was operable, but I still didn't give it a second thought. What a mistake... What I found out is that the hardware of the phone was modified in a way that third party firmwares Would Not be compatible with this version of the Samsung Galaxy S3. That said. This phone isn't all bad. It is very functional for being a stripped down S3. For someone who wants a good dependable phone this thing is Great! Pros/Cons: (Low*)<(High*****) Battery: **** (Great battery life with stock apps). Features: *** (Includes most of Samsung's great features). Performance:*** (This model is a few years old, but can still hold it's own). Service Coverage: ***** (This phone uses Verizon's network offering great nationwide coverage). Support: * (Straight Talk DOES NOT offer updates on this phone once so ever, leaving you with an older build of the Android OS, and several broken features because of the lack there of). I hope this review is helpful, and informative for those who are looking to purchase this phone. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (106) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheRSpot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Smart phone for price
12/18/2013

Customer review by Falcon007

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Falcon007
by Falcon007

Purchased phone on Black Friday sale on line to get features I was looking for in a smart phone. Nice voice recognition, have to learn to speak slower and more clear, but works great. Swipe is also a time saving feature. 3G is fast enough for me at this time. Like the larger screen over compared I4 and I5 phones. Recommend buying a phone protector with screen protector. When purchased on line, quite a savings through site to store option. I am a beginner with smart phones, wanted Jelly Bean operating system, phone, messaging, maps, etc at fingertips for work. Other phones with smaller screens can be tedious when typing, this one works fine at either direction. Verizon towers/service through straight talk or AT & T are only options considered. This one is Verizon by Samsung. Like Samsung and Verizon combo and recommend. Still learning new functions as time allows, lots of options available. Good luck with your search.

Was this review helpful? (89) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Falcon007
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Verizion network phone
12/11/2013

Customer review by robert1234l

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by robert1234l
by robert1234l

I have had Straight Talk service for the last year using a Samsung S2 that used the AT&T network. This S3 uses Verizon network. I can tell a huge difference in data speed and coverage. I am very pleased. Be careful to get the carrier you prefer when you order because Walmart carries two Samsung S3 phones, one that uses the Sprint network (blue #S960L) and one that uses the Verizon network (white #STSAS968CWTPWP). I purchased the ladder and couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (63) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robert1234l
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for Straight Talk customers!
11/30/2013

Customer review by danarog

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by danarog
by danarog

Got it in white. SO many more features than my LG Optimus Q I had before with Straight Talk. Prefer Verizon towers to Sprint too... better coverage and reception. Small complaints.. no ring tone option for "classic bell"... just annoying jazzy ones. And I DO miss my slide open Qwerty keyboard with actual buttons to press for texting. I don't have big fingers, but I swear, I can't type a typo-free text using this darn touch screen! Otherwise, a great phone! Easy to set up and navigate. Plenty of apps and screens. Good sound and reception. Easy to transfer my music and photos from my PC and set up email and Facebook. The free case that came with it looks good, but barely sticks up past the fragile glass phone face. We'll see if it protects when I drop the phone ;) Also has "OK" battery life... charge it once a day. Camera is great too. Nice to have a flash. Not a great bargain at $450 (including tax), but I guess to get it free, you have to buy through a non- Straight Talk carrier and pay a LOT more per month, not just $45. Guess it's worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (112) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danarog
Lookout Mtn., TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 1092 total reviews
1-20 of 1092 reviews