Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 497 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

497 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

497 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
197
4 stars
91
3 stars
33
2 stars
39
1 stars
137
1-20 of 497 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 497 total reviews
1-20 of 497 reviews
EHH not happy with camera fls when sending to comp
12/28/2013

Customer review by Tattud

2.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Tattud
by Tattud

I upgraded from a proclaim to this zte majesty we did lots of research and read lots of reviews by other customers. I got because of the bigger screen and the better camera due to this had a flash an I love my photography. I love the size and screen, its amazing, HOWEVER the camera is good but when I send my photos to my computer to further edit its HORRIBLE!!!!! The file gets shrunk and its all pixelated. This never happened with my proclaim, I even changed the settings to the 5mega pixel settings and still the same. This is just a sad day for me. I love my phone but this is a HUGE PROBLEM for me. I don't know why its doing this. If anyone has any ideas please help. Or this needs to be addressed by the company, I fear its a software issue. BELOW is a photo I took, just off my porch. Look at how pixelated the branches are. NEVER happened with proclaim

Was this review helpful? (236) (94)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tattud
John Day
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I really wanted to love this phone but I can't.
11/2/2013

Customer review by MasteroftheWP

1.0 stars 11/2/2013 by MasteroftheWP
by MasteroftheWP

I thought that the ZTE Majesty would be my final phone with Straight Talk (I have had 4 good phones). It had a big enough screen for my thumbs, a fast processor running Android 4.1 and even a front facing camera! Boy was I wrong. I have had two Majesty models. The first one I picked up from Site-to-Store. After about a day or two I pulled the phone out of my pocket only to find what appeared to be a bubble of air under the screen. I was able to squeeze the phone and let the air out of the phone and this fixed the issue. However every time I put the phone in my pocket for an extended period of time this would happen. I returned the phone because this was bothering me and hoped that things would be different. Not only 2 hours after I got the second phone this started happening again. This time I was just going to deal with it since it didn't affect me using the phone at all. Then the phone started crashing. I would try to call someone or send a text and the phone would just crash, even if I didn't have any other apps open. I did a factory reset and this seemed to fix the issue. THEN, the phone started messing up calls. My girlfriend called me 3 times one morning and my phone only rang once. When I would be able to talk to her she was garbled and she said that I would cut in and out. I'm done with this phone. Returning it to the store today! DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!

Was this review helpful? (385) (95)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MasteroftheWP
Wooster, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good
12/10/2014

Customer review by midgamarine

5.0 stars 12/10/2014 by midgamarine
by midgamarine

I was very skeptical about getting this phone and I did a lot of research before purchasing it, I did not find a lot of negative reviews and low and behold, it went on sale for $59.99 @ straighttalk.com for a very short period. I jumped on board and I am truly happy with the phone. I bought the case and screen protector online but still waiting for the screen protector.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
midgamarine
Middle Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Best phone from straight talk
10/17/2013

Customer review by Ashley8313

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Ashley8313
by Ashley8313

If you're looking for a high end smart phone like the s3 or iPhone and don't want to shell out the money, this is the best phone for the straight talk user. It uses Verizon towers, large screan, faster processor and has a flash for the rear camera and has a front facing camera as well (no flash). My only qualm as of now with this phone is that it doesn't take a micro sd card. That would be my only issue. So if you're looking to save some money and have a good top of the line phone.... I would recommend this. Also, very important, I highly recommend the replacement plan. We bought one for a previous phone that we had for a year and a half and then began to have issues with it. I called it in and literally no questions asked they gave me a gift card for the value I PAID for the phone. So I got this phone with my rebate money and merely paid for the replacement plan. Highly recommend that for any phones, it even covers owner accidents. So yes good phone just always get the replacement plan!

Was this review helpful? (349) (67)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley8313
Baltic, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An OK Starter Smartphone, but major limitations
6/13/2014

Customer review by SRT42

3.0 stars 6/13/2014 by SRT42
by SRT42

I made the move to a Smartphone because I was leaving my old AT&T plan where texting was not free and I had an opportunity to pick up this phone at a bargain. If all you do is text and surf and use social media, it's a good starter phone, but with 768MB of RAM, you won't be loading many apps on the phone. If you max out the MicroSD slot at 32GB, you'll have some room for multimedia storage, and you can move some of your apps to the MicroSD card as well, but the preloaded Google apps won't move to SD, and even the apps you move may still store data in the internal memory and it will fill up quickly. Battery life is abysmal. If you turn off GPS and WiFi when you aren't using them, it gets better, but if you use your apps, you'll be plugging it up within a few hours. Even if you use it just for talk and text, it will have to be charged every night. I initially had a complaint that no OS upgrade is available, but the reality is that there's not room for an expanded OS, so it's fine.

Was this review helpful? (71) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SRT42
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone, great value!
10/29/2013

Customer review by samme10104

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by samme10104
by samme10104
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very good phone for the value. It has plenty of memory, an LED flash, front-facing camera, SD card slot to hold up to 32GB card, 9 customizable home screens. The only thing it's missing is a slide-out keyboard. It's a good phone, runs fast, does everything I ask of it. But with it being so new, it's still a little buggy. My phone call reception is fuzzy in about 25% of my phone calls, but hanging up and calling back seems to fix it every time. The thumbnail preview of pictures on my SD card are not the pictures that show up when I open the picture. The ringtones reset when I unmount the SD card, but that could be due to my ringtone app. The camera is very good quality and it's hard to find an LED flash on a decently-priced phone these days. I love that I can have a different wallpaper for my "lock screen". I also love that I can choose to have a normal wallpaper that doesn't scroll when I scroll through home screens. Overall, a great phone for a great value!

Was this review helpful? (214) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
samme10104
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best smart phone for your dollar
11/2/2013

Customer review by RollingRock

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by RollingRock
by RollingRock

Bought this phone after Samsung Transform Ultra phone from Boost started to die. Had it for 3 years so it had served its time. What interested me the most about this phone was that it does use the Verizon Network where Boost uses Sprint and my area is best served by Verizon. So far very pleased with the coverage, there hasn't been a place where I have not had service. Some things that I wasn't expecting, battery life has to be 4X better then my Ultra. Even texting, making calls, and surfing the web all day doesn't use the entire battery up. The other positive was the screen size, bigger is better and of the cheaper end phones this has the largest screen. And another pro is of the cheaper phones,you're getting the most recent Android Operating System.Even switching my phone# from Boost to Straight Talk wasn't that big of a deal given the horror stories with Straight Talk customer service. All in all,a good phone for the money and the cell service has been very good as well.

Was this review helpful? (283) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RollingRock
Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome for the cost!
1/3/2014

Customer review by JMG5

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by JMG5
by JMG5

This is my first smart phone - For the price I thought it might be low end and cheap, however, that does not seem to be the case. I love new tech devices but am not picky in what I have so I went middle of the road (not an iPhone but not a standard phone) and I love it so far! I love the screen size, logic to navigate (seems like a mix of Windows with a task manager to manage what is running and Mac with the click and drag to the trash app management). I wish it came with plugs for each port to keep gunk out and am a bit annoyed with the apps that are constantly running that I have to stop in task manager (not that this has slowed the phone at this point or drained the battery. Other than those 2 minor things, I love it! I am not one to spend a ton of money on a phone to have all of the features so this phone is a steal. Battery seems great so far, found some great custom cases online for it already and the processor seems pretty fast. I would say go for it.

Was this review helpful? (103) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMG5
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone for all!
2/23/2014

Customer review by Pokegirl56

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by Pokegirl56
by Pokegirl56

This is my first smart phone. I have been on Verizon since the first cell phone came out and was so afraid to change. I didn't think the service provided by Straight Talk would be any good. I did research and found this Majesty 796C worked on Verizon towers. I purchased the phone and found cases available on line. I have had this phone since Christmas and have not had any problems. Customer service was so helpful in transferring my old Verizon number to this phone. I love this phone. It is simple to use, pictures are very good and it is easy to download apps. Most importantly, there are no dropped calls and no dead zones. I don't know why I waited so long to switch. Now my son, who is on a Verizon plan until June is going to get this phone. He takes it from me all the time when we are out because mine runs faster than his and mine is $45 a month his is $110 for one phone and 2 on the data. I get it all. unlimited everything. Would never go back.

Was this review helpful? (339) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pokegirl56
Dothan, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really good phone for a non-techie
6/5/2014

Customer review by gansterginger

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by gansterginger
by gansterginger

I have had this phone for almost a month now and so far I am very pleased with it and its function. The only complaint thus far which is very minor is the sound quality when playing Pandora or other music sources. If turned up all the way while playing music it doesn't sound real loud but the ringer and notifications are very loud. The battery stays charged pretty much all day as long as your not using much data which is the case with most phones. Screen is a nice size and all the functions on the phone are really easy to use. I can't say enough about the camera, really nice quality pics and many options for the camera. I am one of those people who refuse to pay over $300 for a phone that will need replaced in a few years (like any cell phone) and for under $200 this phone is just as good as those high dollar ones in my opinion. Add in the fact that you're only paying $45 a month for unlimited everything including data and you can't go wrong with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (58) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gansterginger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I really like this phone!!
10/28/2013

Customer review by nydino

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by nydino
by nydino

This is by far the best Straight Talk phone around. It's fast (dual processor)has a big beautiful screen and it's running Android 4.1 which is a big improvement over my last straight talk phone running 3.2. Was able to use a free app called gcloud to move everything over which was a blessing. So far I'm very pleased with this phone, I always order my straight talk phones from Walmart because of the great return policy in case of any issues or I just didn't like the phone. But this phone is a keeper, it's even a good phone gets way better reception and signal strength then my last phone which was a Samsung. My only complaint so far is no cases available for it yet. I just ordered a ZTE force case, the phones are the same size so I'm hoping it fits well enough till somebody makes cases for this phone. I will try to post up the results of my case progress. OH yeah and the biggest reason this phone uses Verizon towers which work the best in my area.

Was this review helpful? (147) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nydino
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible!!!
8/20/2014

Customer review by MamaX291

1.0 stars 8/20/2014 by MamaX291
by MamaX291

Like most cell phones, you see a lot of good reviews, and quite a few bad ones as well. I'm NOT giving this phone a good review at all. It's getting a bad one! The cell phone is horrible! My husband and I both had the ZTE Majesty. We only had the phone for a week till be had to return them and got much better phones! My phone wasn't as horrible as my husband's was. Texting would be bad. I would go to text someone, and it would show up symbols, as if I'm cussing the person out! It would just do it for no reason. My husband's phone acted up at more. His texting would also look as if he's cussing the person out, internet would run slow at times. Wifi didn't always work that great on both our phones. Would just run slow in general at times. Phones would cut in and out whenever we had a call. Between those problems and others, phone was just horrible. Overall, it just wasn't what we thought. We took a gamble with these horrible phones, and lost the game. I'm so glad we no longer have these phones.

Was this review helpful? (26) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaX291
Would recommend to a friend? No
A REALLY Big Let Down
9/9/2014

Customer review by Whiteyy

1.0 stars 9/9/2014 by Whiteyy
by Whiteyy

I bought this phone after being phoneless for about 2 months. My previous straight talk phone lasted me 1 and a half years before finally dying. This time, I wanted a phone that had a large screen, front and back camera and just generally better than my last phone. When I first got this phone I was pleased with it, the second day of having it began the issues. I would press the power button to view my screen to go send a message or what not. The screen wouldn't light up for atleast 30 seconds, late delay. Every since that day (It's been 2 weeks) It still delays. I have to press it a million times before it'll so anything and I still have to wait forever for it to do anything. Secondly, my camera stopped working, it would freeze and it doesn't do anything. Another thing is the keyboard is messing up now, I will type something and it doesn't show up, I have to exit out of whatever I am doing and go back in. I'm tired of this phone, I don't want to keep it any longer. The longer I keep it, the more flaws I see. It is going back ASAP!

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whiteyy
Would recommend to a friend? No
TERRIBLE!
3/28/2014

Customer review by Malary

1.0 stars 3/28/2014 by Malary
by Malary

I bought this phone back in January. At first I thought is was an OK phone for about a week. Then I started having trouble with phone calls. It would constantly cut in and out like you kept pushing the mute button over and over. It got so bad that I avoided making calls. After contacting straight talk on 4 different occasions, they sent me a refurbished ZTE Majesty. That phone does the same thing, just not a often. Now people say I sound muffled and they can't understand me. When I get them to call me back, it is a little better. Also, when I listen to music it will cut off in the middle of the song and I have to push pause, then play to continue the same song. I contacted Straight Talk again, and they will only send out another Majesty. They will not even replace my phone with a less expensive phone. If anyone gets this phone, PLEASE PLEASE buy the store warranty so they can take care of any problems, and not Straight Talk.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malary
Abingdon, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
10/16/2013

Customer review by RuralRealEstate

4.0 stars 10/16/2013 by RuralRealEstate
by RuralRealEstate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Using my email all the time and texting can use a lot of space and this is the reason I decided to try this phone. I had a LG Zip and liked it. The texting was great on it but there just wasn't enough internal memory so that is what I looked for. The processor on this phone is one of the fastest offered by straight talk and the internal memory was MUCH more than my previous phone so I took a leap of faith and ordered the phone. I have had the phone about 2 weeks and all my google contacts and information transfered effortlessly which is a PLUS since I hate transfering info from one phone to another. The speed is great and I haven't had a single issue so far with storage even after approximately 200 text messages! Camera with a flash was a big bonus too! I would definately recommend this phone for someone needing a phone capable of handling lots of email and text.

Was this review helpful? (69) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RuralRealEstate
Winnsboro, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome phone if you dont want to receive pictures
5/22/2014

Customer review by LLadybug5555

1.0 stars 5/22/2014 by LLadybug5555
by LLadybug5555

I have called Straight talk 10 times within a week trying to solve my issue of not receiving picture messages. It will work temporary then it will be short lived. All they tell me is oh just restart your phone or just keep calling the programming number since this does not have a SIM CARD. There is about 10 or so complaints on the Straight talk customer service forum regarding this issue. (This does not have manual APN settings for you to enter either) I extremely hate this phone with a passion because of this problem. The 3g network is kinda bad too. Where on my Samsung Galaxy Proclaim I kept full bars, this one I am lucky to have 3 because it will quickly go back down to 2. I also do not like how the notifications for the messages, I love the flashing light , but it doesn't display on the screen and it will always send messages to the bottom then after read to the top. The rest of the phone works well. The cameras and 4.5 screen are awesome.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLadybug5555
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love It!
11/13/2013

Customer review by Keltess

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Keltess
by Keltess

I've had this phone for about a month now - upgraded from my Galaxy Proclaim. So far it has been reliable and fun to use. The bigger screen has been a pleasure to use and I haven't found the larger size to be a problem at all ... still very pocketable. Call quality, speed and sound from the speaker have all been good. Although the speaker is plenty loud for ringing and streaming, I have found the speakerphone not as loud as my old phone but has not been a problem. I was not liking the camera very much until I explored more of the settings in the camera software and found I did not have it set for the full 5 megapixels and could also adjust the color saturation, sharpness, etc. Now I'm liking the camera a lot more...have seen better but it's not bad at all. Friends and family members are jealous and want one too. Really glad I got this phone and would do it again and recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (129) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keltess
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My first smart phone, and I love it!
11/14/2013

Customer review by kmwlady

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by kmwlady
by kmwlady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have moved up by getting a smart phone. I use to think I didn't like advance technology and/or need all the features my new Straight Talk ZTE Majesty offers. I surprised myself in how much I really love this phone. It is so easy to operate. I now love getting on the internet with my new phone. Before I had internet service but never used it due to having difficulty in searching and using it on my old small phone. I am very pleased with my phone. Oh, the neatest thing about this phone is that it has voice text. I can't tell you how frustrated I was when others texted message me because I had to take the time to enter each letter and it seemed to take forever to reply. On a scale of 1 to 10, it is diffidently a 10! My husband researched all the phones and chose this one for me. Thank you sweetheart, You picked a winner. I have a great husband and now I have a great phone.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kmwlady
South Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
reception is weak,weak,and oh ya weak
10/17/2014

Customer review by cheatedinBristol

1.0 stars 10/17/2014 by cheatedinBristol
by cheatedinBristol

my wife bought a new majesty 796C in Bristol,VA. a week later I bought one in Bristol,TN. so its not one of those deals where she or I just got a bad one that's pretty unlikely unless the quality control dept. just stinks all the way around. The signal of my old phone (Samsung SCH-S720C) in our new home was 3 bars at all times even though we live out aways from town this majesty forces us to stand on the front patio to talk without breaking up we have 1 bar (or so it says) which is why we really hadn't noticed anything before I bought mine...OR I WOULDNT HAVE WAISTED MY HARD,HONEST EARNED MONEY !!!!!!!! the phone doesnt want to turn on all the time, it goes black while using, ringtone and notification tones and vibration intermittingly work reguardless of setting speaker phone volume is low dispite the extra app. Ive downloaded to boost it from time to time when I close an app. it will put a scambled pattern on the screen.... bottom line is we are so so so sorry we waisted our 300+ dollars on this phone !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheatedinBristol
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for basic users but....
11/19/2013

Customer review by murkey1st

3.0 stars 11/19/2013 by murkey1st
by murkey1st

I love that this phone offers more features than most other verizon based phones available for straight talk, and it was somewhat affordable but it is not for everyone. Thoughts to consider.... PROS: Large screen Smart phone Decent camera Runs on Verizon network CONS: Music player just randomly stops or fast forwards on its own, especially with activity the icon in text are LAME sound for alarms or the phone have a lower volume than my other phones even when maxed sound choices and quality for rings and alarms are lacking in sound quality and choices phone seems to just randomly restart ALL THE TIME. No rhyme, no reason. Just restarts. Sports apps that use GPS for tracking seem to work but doesn't track accurately. Ever. Period. Running or other heavy activity seem to cause issues with the phone. Stops running apps Doesn't have a swype keyboard but that is easily fixed with an app

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
murkey1st
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 497 total reviews
1-20 of 497 reviews