Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 247 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

247 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

247 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
145
4 stars
60
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 stars
22
1-20 of 247 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews
phone for plain old-calling
3/4/2014

Customer review by needproductsthatwork

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by needproductsthatwork
by needproductsthatwork

Nothing fancy, no plan phone. I just need a phone on the road in case of car trouble, etc. This one uses Verizon towers and gets much better coverage then the G model trac phone. The Walmart staff that was working when I picked it up (site to store) activated it and switched my phone no. and all my pictures and saved phone no.s over from my G model. I don't know if the walmart staff have to go to all that trouble, but she was happy to do it.

Was this review helpful? (414) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
needproductsthatwork
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat features with such a low cost
4/21/2014

Customer review by editorneal

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by editorneal
by editorneal

OK, it's not a smartphone, nor is it a phone designed for constant chatterboxes or texters. It's a reliable, low-cost mobile phone for adults who just need a phone for emergencies or travel. Despite all that, it comes loaded with features you would expect on a phone that comes with a service contract. In addition to the basic telephone, you get a quite decent built-in camera that allows you to intuitively post photos to Facebook and Flickr in addition to just saving your pictures to the internal drive. You can text on it if that's your thing. There's Internet browser capability (but be prepared to burn minutes if you use it excessively). The reception and transmission is crystal clear. There's no long-term commitment, but in my case, buying 200 minutes worth of air time gained me double minutes plus guaranteed service through October 2014 (I purchased the phone in mid-April 2014, so that equates to a six-month period of guaranteed service). Programming the phone is easy using the Tracfone instructions included. Adding airtime is simple, especially via the Tracfone website, but if you are unable to access the website, adding airtime via the phone is also simple. Best of all, the whole package cost me just slightly more than $15 retail (airtime minutes are extra, but reasonable). Balancing the features against the base price of this phone, I don't think you can do much better if you are looking for a simple mobile service for, as I said, use by adults who only need a mobile phone for emergencies or travel.

Was this review helpful? (359) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
editorneal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great simple Flip Phone
10/31/2013

Customer review by Boblm

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Boblm
by Boblm

All features work fine and the screen is bright and clear. The sound is very clear and very loud with the Senior Mode on. However, if you are buying this phone to take pictures you will be disappointed, the 1.3 MP camera is worthless to take acceptable pictures. I would recommend this LG 236C.

Was this review helpful? (163) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boblm
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone
6/4/2014

Customer review by enjoyingflorida

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by enjoyingflorida
by enjoyingflorida

I had a trac fone for the last five years. This phone is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous one I had. Some said the sound was not loud enough they must have really bad hearing .. The sound is great I don,t even have it at max setting and can hear very well. Easy to use features. It is a simple phone but thats what I wanted for emergencys and a few personal calls. I am very pleased with this phone. If you are getting a new phone and have had trouble in the pass with having enough signal strengh you may want to check out which network you are on . If the phone identifcation number ends in C it is a verison network phone. If it ends in G it is a AT&T network phone. I now have verison network with this phone and it is 100 persent better than the pervious phone. Before I could not use the phone in my house or out in the yard at my address in Florida and there is a cell tower 1/2 mile frrom my home. With the new lg236c I can use it in the house as well as out in the yard, what a difference. Hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful? (307) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
enjoyingflorida
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great basic phone
3/5/2014

Customer review by stayingwarminaz

5.0 stars 3/5/2014 by stayingwarminaz
by stayingwarminaz

Easy to use. Great large display. Battery stays charged a long time. My husband has hearing problems and has no problem hearing with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (79) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stayingwarminaz
Tucson, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect cell phone for elderly
10/3/2014

Customer review by Aboutthesmiles

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by Aboutthesmiles
by Aboutthesmiles

I ordered the LG 236C for my 87 yr old father who wanted to still feel connected to us. Knowing he would not use the phone much, this cell phone ended up being perfect for him. I first tried activation online but ran into a glitch, so I called the 800 number and followed the instructions provided and the activation was very easy. I then accessed the Tracfone website to purchase minutes for the phone. It all really went smoothly, and the phone is ready for him to use. This was the answer to our prayers. I received the phone a day earlier than was stated, which made my day! It's a great cell phone, especially for the price!

Was this review helpful? (87) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aboutthesmiles
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the cost.
5/21/2014

Customer review by YellowstoneMan

4.0 stars 5/21/2014 by YellowstoneMan
by YellowstoneMan

This is my 5th Tracfone in 10 yrs. I like them. Thanks to product reviews, I recently discovered that model numbers that end with a "C" (LG 236C), use Verizon towers, which have the best coverage outside of large population areas. My last Tracfone used AT&T and my use was limited on hunting & fishing trips in rural PA & MT, so I am very saisfied with reception. This phone is simple to use with the basic features I need. I recommend using Tracfone's website instead of customer service-the operator's accent can be difficult to understand.

Was this review helpful? (135) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YellowstoneMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
4/19/2014

Customer review by SunnyNJ

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by SunnyNJ
by SunnyNJ

I have a land line phone and found no reason to keep an expensive contract phone with Verizon. I began searching a number of alternatives and I am very pleased with the decision to go with this Tracfone. Read a number of reviews on line about this particular model that were all excellent. This phone is very good quality, easy to use and simple to set up at home. The phone came with double minutes and extended the use time from three to six months. We purchased this phone for emergency and occasional use and could not be happier with it. The savings over a simple flip phone with Verizon will be significant. Highly recommend this model to anyone who is not a heavy cell phone user.

Was this review helpful? (100) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunnyNJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
8/26/2014

Customer review by cindyoh

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by cindyoh
by cindyoh

I've always used tracfone since I only want a basic way of communicating if an emergency comes up and I'm out running the streets. I don't text or even keep a voice mail, that's how old school I am. I maintain a home phone and answering machine and work from home, and everybody knows I'm not much for talking on the phone to begin with. I wanted an upgrade from my old tracfone and bought this one when I realized I could keep my old tracfone number and could transfer all my minutes over. The little camera is nice. I can do voice mail and text if I want (I don't). It's not expensive. My tracfone service is fine, no complaints there. My sister, who's more into playing with phones, says she really likes it and wouldn't mind switching down to a model like this one.

Was this review helpful? (83) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cindyoh
Kettering, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice phone!
12/31/2013

Customer review by Slicktwo

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Slicktwo
by Slicktwo

After reading several customer reviews I replaced another LG phone with the G after the model number because the service was pathetic and you wouldn't get calls and messages would be delivered 30 min. after the call when the phone was on and should have completed the call! So far this phone is a thousand percent better, you get calls when they are made and if you do get a message when you call to check your message you can actually clearly hear the message. Don't order LG Tracfones with the letter G after the model because the service & reception are pathetic. Forget trying to get your messages because the service is so garbled you can't understand the message and Tracfone will tell you nothing is wrong!!

Was this review helpful? (76) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slicktwo
Brick,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone could not be activated
5/13/2014

Customer review by IndyDaniel

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by IndyDaniel
by IndyDaniel

I tried to activate this phone online. I followed the directions exactly. After submitting the serial number, it gave a message saying that my phone number is pending and may take up to four hours to be assigned. Seven hours later, I got my phone number. I then tried to dial the star-five digit number that completes the activation process. After sending the number, a couple different messages appeared on the screen. Then it returned to the main screen and gave a message saying "Requires Activation." I tried calling the number again and it did the same thing. I then called Tech Support from my home phone and ended up talking to five different people during the next four hours. Each of them took me through the same series of steps of entering long lists of codes and doing other things to try to troubleshoot the problem. Each person eventually gave up and transferred me to someone else. After four hours, I finally gave up and returned the phone to WalMart for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (103) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndyDaniel
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Phone OK / Activation Not So Much
9/21/2014

Customer review by NightShift57

3.0 stars 9/21/2014 by NightShift57
by NightShift57

I bought this phone as a backup to my primary line. Wanted a flip phone I could carry in my pocket when I ran up to corner store or while at work in case I need to make a quick call. I went all through the activation process and it took 3 times for it to finally accept the serial number and activate the phone. Once it told me the serial number was already assigned to someone else but I verified I entered the right number and tried again and it took it. Then I tried to buy more minutes through TracPhone's website. I tried that 3 times also and so far it has NOT worked. When you go through the process, it tells you it will take 5 minutes. Well, it's been over 9 hrs and it still hasn't processed my request. One thing I can say for the phone though, I have a full row of bars on signal strength, and my other phone through a major carrier says I only have 3 bars. If I can get this thing working, I just might just stay with Trac Phone and get rid of the major carrier phone.

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NightShift57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great basic camera phone
11/24/2013

Customer review by RJDME

4.0 stars 11/24/2013 by RJDME
by RJDME

Easy to use, large screen for a flip phone and navigates very well. The camera is OK but not great. A bit larger than most flip phones but nice big screen.

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RJDME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Basic phone
3/10/2014

Customer review by Victor75

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by Victor75
by Victor75

I needed a basic phone without costly contracts. A phone to make, receive calls, perhaps a few texts, etc. This phone is correct for these needs. I also use the built in alarm clock. Low cost, easy to use. The site to store at Walmart was excellent with on time delivery.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Victor75
Victor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone, lots of features and affordable!
8/18/2014

Customer review by HappyinBP

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by HappyinBP
by HappyinBP

I basically bought this phone for my soon-to-be 90 year old mother for emergency situation(s). She had a phone & was on a plan with another family member but wanted to have her own plan that she could afford independently & Tracfone gave her that. She likes the double minutes feature, larger font, icons & screen clarity, and has picked up on the operation of the phone quite quickly. She's having fun taking pics and linking them to those in her contacts. She takes her Tracfone with her everywhere - even when she gets up during the night.

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyinBP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for my needs.
8/12/2014

Customer review by Thriftycat

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Thriftycat
by Thriftycat

Ordering, shipping, picking up of package, and activation went very smoothly. The assoicate that helped me was very friendly and helpful even though she was the only one working the counter. There was simply not enough help in that department, but she kept a big smile and friendly attitude. I really felt sorry for her (I almost went over and answered the phone for her. Two were ringing at one time.) Back to the telephone that I ordered. I keep getting phone calls and messages from telemarketers trying to get me to purchase extras for the phone. If I want something extra for my phone, I will let them know. This is eating up my minutes and it is making me mad. If they would leave me alone, I would be thrilled with the phone. It is exactly what I was looking for. So far the phone has been working very well, with no problems. It is easy to manage the settings, etc. I will be very happy if the telemarketers stop pestering me. I have already recommended the phone and the service to a friend and they are going to change and get one of these. Thanks Walmart for getting these back in stock on line. You really need to stock these in the store, too.

Was this review helpful? (49) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thriftycat
Toccoa, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to use
10/3/2014

Customer review by s130s322

4.0 stars 10/3/2014 by s130s322
by s130s322

My husband had an older Tracfone and not only was it showing its age but he was unable to get coverage in some areas that he travels to. His only needs were a phone with large buttons, loud ring tone and coverage for the areas he goes to. After researching all the tracfones I felt this would fit his needs and ordered it. I am happy to say this phone fit the bill. While this phone offers a camera and ability to go online he does not use them. His only problem would be the volume adjustment button on the left side of the phone that he hits accidently. When I setup his phonebook I also setup the voice mail and that is a problem because once setup it cannot be disabled. The problem is a voicemail he cannot hear and plays over & over thus using minutes up.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
s130s322
Waterford, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone & value for plain phones, making calls.
4/14/2014

Customer review by agitater

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by agitater
by agitater

This is a good flip phone for someone who does not need a lot of features as in a smart phone. It is easily programmable, voice quality is gppd. volume and vibrate features alert for calls, voice mail, etc. This is owner's first tracfone which is positive so far.

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
agitater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT PHONE FOR HUBBY!
1/1/2015

Customer review by Elisgreatgrandma

4.0 stars 1/1/2015 by Elisgreatgrandma
by Elisgreatgrandma

Ordered this phone for my husband for Christmas. It was a replacement for another phone that he had for a couple of years. He had a "flip phone" a few years ago and did not like his current phone. The " flip phone was easier to carry in his pocket instead of in a case on his belt. This phone is also more simple to use. He has a hearing problem, this phone is loud enough for him, no more, " I didn`t know you called, I didn`t hear the phone." The only problem we had was not with the phone but with the person I talked to trying to set up the phone, transferring minutes from his old phone and adding minutes that I had bought to add on. After calling again the next day and speaking to a different person, It was all made right. "Track Phone" Is the Only Way To Go with us elderly people! We do not have a lot of money for extras. Really I do not know why everyone does not use "Track Phone." It surely would save them a lot of money! Hubby is really enjoying his new phone!!!!

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Elisgreatgrandma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tracfone
3/3/2014

Customer review by Macattack844

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Macattack844
by Macattack844

The first cell I purchased didn't work in my home or office so I decided to go to this phone and so far I am very pleased, it's works like I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Macattack844
Dyersburg, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews