Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 305 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

305 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

305 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
177
4 stars
79
3 stars
19
2 stars
5
1 stars
25
1-20 of 305 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews
TracFone LG236C cell phone
12/29/2015

Customer review by Bruce

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Bruce
by Bruce

Wanted a basic phone to carry on trips. I don't text, take pictures with phone surf the net or spend much time talking on phone, so this is a perfect phone. Decided to order the 236 rather than the newer 237 model, as the older phone has longer battery time. Simple to operate without all the useless bells and whistles. Coverage with Verizon network has been good. (C model is Verizon, G model uses ATT network) More than adequate volume on speaker. (don't like to hold these near my head) Did not set up voicemail as I use this to call out only, so won't be bothered with any robocalls! I'll stick with the flip phones any day. No accidental "butt-calls" and small enough to carry in my pocket. I'm actually thinking about buying a "spare" in case they decide to drop this model. Excellent basic phone and cheap phone time using TracFone.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bruce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PHONE FOR HUBBY!
1/1/2015

Customer review by Elisgreatgrandma

4.0 stars 1/1/2015 by Elisgreatgrandma
by Elisgreatgrandma

Ordered this phone for my husband for Christmas. It was a replacement for another phone that he had for a couple of years. He had a "flip phone" a few years ago and did not like his current phone. The " flip phone was easier to carry in his pocket instead of in a case on his belt. This phone is also more simple to use. He has a hearing problem, this phone is loud enough for him, no more, " I didn`t know you called, I didn`t hear the phone." The only problem we had was not with the phone but with the person I talked to trying to set up the phone, transferring minutes from his old phone and adding minutes that I had bought to add on. After calling again the next day and speaking to a different person, It was all made right. "Track Phone" Is the Only Way To Go with us elderly people! We do not have a lot of money for extras. Really I do not know why everyone does not use "Track Phone." It surely would save them a lot of money! Hubby is really enjoying his new phone!!!!

Was this review helpful? (55) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elisgreatgrandma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Phone OK / Activation Not So Much
9/21/2014

Customer review by NightShift57

3.0 stars 9/21/2014 by NightShift57
by NightShift57

I bought this phone as a backup to my primary line. Wanted a flip phone I could carry in my pocket when I ran up to corner store or while at work in case I need to make a quick call. I went all through the activation process and it took 3 times for it to finally accept the serial number and activate the phone. Once it told me the serial number was already assigned to someone else but I verified I entered the right number and tried again and it took it. Then I tried to buy more minutes through TracPhone's website. I tried that 3 times also and so far it has NOT worked. When you go through the process, it tells you it will take 5 minutes. Well, it's been over 9 hrs and it still hasn't processed my request. One thing I can say for the phone though, I have a full row of bars on signal strength, and my other phone through a major carrier says I only have 3 bars. If I can get this thing working, I just might just stay with Trac Phone and get rid of the major carrier phone.

Was this review helpful? (79) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NightShift57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great phone
6/4/2014

Customer review by enjoyingflorida

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by enjoyingflorida
by enjoyingflorida
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a trac fone for the last five years. This phone is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous one I had. Some said the sound was not loud enough they must have really bad hearing .. The sound is great I don,t even have it at max setting and can hear very well. Easy to use features. It is a simple phone but thats what I wanted for emergencys and a few personal calls. I am very pleased with this phone. If you are getting a new phone and have had trouble in the pass with having enough signal strengh you may want to check out which network you are on . If the phone identifcation number ends in C it is a verison network phone. If it ends in G it is a AT&T network phone. I now have verison network with this phone and it is 100 persent better than the pervious phone. Before I could not use the phone in my house or out in the yard at my address in Florida and there is a cell tower 1/2 mile frrom my home. With the new lg236c I can use it in the house as well as out in the yard, what a difference. Hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful? (381) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
enjoyingflorida
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone could not be activated
5/13/2014

Customer review by IndyDaniel

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by IndyDaniel
by IndyDaniel

I tried to activate this phone online. I followed the directions exactly. After submitting the serial number, it gave a message saying that my phone number is pending and may take up to four hours to be assigned. Seven hours later, I got my phone number. I then tried to dial the star-five digit number that completes the activation process. After sending the number, a couple different messages appeared on the screen. Then it returned to the main screen and gave a message saying "Requires Activation." I tried calling the number again and it did the same thing. I then called Tech Support from my home phone and ended up talking to five different people during the next four hours. Each of them took me through the same series of steps of entering long lists of codes and doing other things to try to troubleshoot the problem. Each person eventually gave up and transferred me to someone else. After four hours, I finally gave up and returned the phone to WalMart for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (110) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndyDaniel
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A Superior Flip Phone
1/28/2016

Customer review by Fred

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Fred
by Fred

I had an LG236c for over a year and was very satisfied with it. Reception has been consistently excellent everywhere I go (New England, New York and Pennsylvania. The phone is very easy to use. Most important to me, the battery life is amazing. I mainly receive messages and make a few calls. This phone can run for continuously for three weeks or more before it needs charging. When I needed another line I couldn't find this model at the store, so I picked up an LG237c. That phone is very similar, but slightly bigger. It works just as well, but battery life is only about 4 days. I sought out another LG236c. It has now been running for 7 days and still has a full charge. If anything ever happens to the phones I have I hope I will be able to find one as good as this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good
8/26/2014

Customer review by cindyoh

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by cindyoh
by cindyoh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've always used tracfone since I only want a basic way of communicating if an emergency comes up and I'm out running the streets. I don't text or even keep a voice mail, that's how old school I am. I maintain a home phone and answering machine and work from home, and everybody knows I'm not much for talking on the phone to begin with. I wanted an upgrade from my old tracfone and bought this one when I realized I could keep my old tracfone number and could transfer all my minutes over. The little camera is nice. I can do voice mail and text if I want (I don't). It's not expensive. My tracfone service is fine, no complaints there. My sister, who's more into playing with phones, says she really likes it and wouldn't mind switching down to a model like this one.

Was this review helpful? (87) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cindyoh
Kettering, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for my needs.
8/12/2014

Customer review by Thriftycat

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Thriftycat
by Thriftycat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordering, shipping, picking up of package, and activation went very smoothly. The assoicate that helped me was very friendly and helpful even though she was the only one working the counter. There was simply not enough help in that department, but she kept a big smile and friendly attitude. I really felt sorry for her (I almost went over and answered the phone for her. Two were ringing at one time.) Back to the telephone that I ordered. I keep getting phone calls and messages from telemarketers trying to get me to purchase extras for the phone. If I want something extra for my phone, I will let them know. This is eating up my minutes and it is making me mad. If they would leave me alone, I would be thrilled with the phone. It is exactly what I was looking for. So far the phone has been working very well, with no problems. It is easy to manage the settings, etc. I will be very happy if the telemarketers stop pestering me. I have already recommended the phone and the service to a friend and they are going to change and get one of these. Thanks Walmart for getting these back in stock on line. You really need to stock these in the store, too.

Was this review helpful? (54) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thriftycat
Toccoa, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to use
10/3/2014

Customer review by s130s322

4.0 stars 10/3/2014 by s130s322
by s130s322
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband had an older Tracfone and not only was it showing its age but he was unable to get coverage in some areas that he travels to. His only needs were a phone with large buttons, loud ring tone and coverage for the areas he goes to. After researching all the tracfones I felt this would fit his needs and ordered it. I am happy to say this phone fit the bill. While this phone offers a camera and ability to go online he does not use them. His only problem would be the volume adjustment button on the left side of the phone that he hits accidently. When I setup his phonebook I also setup the voice mail and that is a problem because once setup it cannot be disabled. The problem is a voicemail he cannot hear and plays over & over thus using minutes up.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
s130s322
Waterford, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect cell phone for elderly
10/3/2014

Customer review by Aboutthesmiles

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by Aboutthesmiles
by Aboutthesmiles

I ordered the LG 236C for my 87 yr old father who wanted to still feel connected to us. Knowing he would not use the phone much, this cell phone ended up being perfect for him. I first tried activation online but ran into a glitch, so I called the 800 number and followed the instructions provided and the activation was very easy. I then accessed the Tracfone website to purchase minutes for the phone. It all really went smoothly, and the phone is ready for him to use. This was the answer to our prayers. I received the phone a day earlier than was stated, which made my day! It's a great cell phone, especially for the price!

Was this review helpful? (97) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aboutthesmiles
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
4/19/2014

Customer review by SunnyNJ

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by SunnyNJ
by SunnyNJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a land line phone and found no reason to keep an expensive contract phone with Verizon. I began searching a number of alternatives and I am very pleased with the decision to go with this Tracfone. Read a number of reviews on line about this particular model that were all excellent. This phone is very good quality, easy to use and simple to set up at home. The phone came with double minutes and extended the use time from three to six months. We purchased this phone for emergency and occasional use and could not be happier with it. The savings over a simple flip phone with Verizon will be significant. Highly recommend this model to anyone who is not a heavy cell phone user.

Was this review helpful? (106) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnyNJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TracFone LG 236C
11/24/2015

Customer review by Travis

5.0 stars 11/24/2015 by Travis
by Travis

A great phone for the basics plus a few frills. NOT a SmartPhone, not in that league. Has the speaker, camera, BlueTooth, texting and web access, and a few other perks. A reliable phone to keep in touch and assist with your daily business and travels. Very economical and reliable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Travis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Phone
12/24/2015

Customer review by LuckyLinda

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by LuckyLinda
by LuckyLinda

If you need a no contract phone, for basic voice and texting (not web surfing), this is a fine phone. You can send and receive photo messages. When left on most of the time, battery lasts about a week. If you don't like texting from a keypad (hit "2" 3 times to get letter "c", etc), then this phone is not for you, but if you do n't mind dealing with that, then this can be a great, very inexpensive device for you. Provides double minutes. I don't travel a lot, so can't advise how it works from more distant locations. Tracking service was actually pretty decent recently, to activate phone w/ my phone number, transferring over minutes and service days. I use this mostly for texting, staying in contact __ not a great deal of voice calling. For me, it was a great choice and value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuckyLinda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice phone!
12/31/2013

Customer review by Slicktwo

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Slicktwo
by Slicktwo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading several customer reviews I replaced another LG phone with the G after the model number because the service was pathetic and you wouldn't get calls and messages would be delivered 30 min. after the call when the phone was on and should have completed the call! So far this phone is a thousand percent better, you get calls when they are made and if you do get a message when you call to check your message you can actually clearly hear the message. Don't order LG Tracfones with the letter G after the model because the service & reception are pathetic. Forget trying to get your messages because the service is so garbled you can't understand the message and Tracfone will tell you nothing is wrong!!

Was this review helpful? (90) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slicktwo
Brick,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT PHONE, SMARTPHONE MINUTES WILL NOT TRANSFERE
6/11/2015

Customer review by MsKat

4.0 stars 6/11/2015 by MsKat
by MsKat

My dad purchased aTracfone smartphone exactly 1 week prior to purchasing this phone. The smartphone was too difficult for my 92 year old father to use. He purchased the 1 year airtime card alone with the smartphone which gave him triple the minutes of the card amout. A week later we were able to find this much easier to use phone with larger numbers. But because this phone was not a smartphone they COULD NOT transfere the minutes he had already purchased a week earlier to this phone. $100 down the toilet!!! My dad was keeping his same phone number, he only changed to a easier to use phone. Tracfone said they COULD NOT TRANSFERE his previously purchased minutes even though the box said you can transfere from one tranfone to another tranfone. I think this is absurd considering all of the new technology that is available. Tranfone needs to be MORE specific about what can be transfered in BIG BOLD LETTERS. So, buyer beware!!! We had to purchase another 1 year airtime card in order to use this phone which makes NO sense at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsKat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
phone for plain old-calling
3/4/2014

Customer review by needproductsthatwork

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by needproductsthatwork
by needproductsthatwork
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nothing fancy, no plan phone. I just need a phone on the road in case of car trouble, etc. This one uses Verizon towers and gets much better coverage then the G model trac phone. The Walmart staff that was working when I picked it up (site to store) activated it and switched my phone no. and all my pictures and saved phone no.s over from my G model. I don't know if the walmart staff have to go to all that trouble, but she was happy to do it.

Was this review helpful? (519) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
needproductsthatwork
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
1/5/2016

Customer review by ShopperAuntie

4.0 stars 1/5/2016 by ShopperAuntie
by ShopperAuntie

I bought this phone for my mother, who only needs one very seldom. The phone is easy to use and has the senior mode and speaker phone - handy because she is hard of hearing. It was easy to use and Tracfone is the cheapest way to provide service for her.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperAuntie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LG236C
2/5/2016

Customer review by YogiB

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by YogiB
by YogiB

Received the phone promptly. Properly packaged, no shipping damage. Charged phone, followed activation guidelines with Tracfone. Purchased 90 days service card at Walmart the next day. No problems adding the additional minutes. Phone is working properly. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YogiB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't beat features with such a low cost
4/21/2014

Customer review by editorneal

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by editorneal
by editorneal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

OK, it's not a smartphone, nor is it a phone designed for constant chatterboxes or texters. It's a reliable, low-cost mobile phone for adults who just need a phone for emergencies or travel. Despite all that, it comes loaded with features you would expect on a phone that comes with a service contract. In addition to the basic telephone, you get a quite decent built-in camera that allows you to intuitively post photos to Facebook and Flickr in addition to just saving your pictures to the internal drive. You can text on it if that's your thing. There's Internet browser capability (but be prepared to burn minutes if you use it excessively). The reception and transmission is crystal clear. There's no long-term commitment, but in my case, buying 200 minutes worth of air time gained me double minutes plus guaranteed service through October 2014 (I purchased the phone in mid-April 2014, so that equates to a six-month period of guaranteed service). Programming the phone is easy using the Tracfone instructions included. Adding airtime is simple, especially via the Tracfone website, but if you are unable to access the website, adding airtime via the phone is also simple. Best of all, the whole package cost me just slightly more than $15 retail (airtime minutes are extra, but reasonable). Balancing the features against the base price of this phone, I don't think you can do much better if you are looking for a simple mobile service for, as I said, use by adults who only need a mobile phone for emergencies or travel.

Was this review helpful? (431) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
editorneal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice little basic phone
1/25/2016

Customer review by NoName

4.0 stars 1/25/2016 by NoName
by NoName

Needed a basic phone on the verizonet network. Unable to buy a "c" phone in any of the stores. This phone is easy to use and I was able to transfer my number and time from my old TracFone (battery was not holding a charge any longer) to this one in about an hour using TracFone's website. I wanted the phone for basic calls and do not use the web browser. These phones batteries generally hold a charge longer than a smart phone. A new upgraded phone model is less than the cost of a replacement battery. Not the newest or the best-but a nice phone for basic use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoName
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews