Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 28 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
A Basic Phone for Making Calls
1/18/2014

Customer review by gklbll

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by gklbll
by gklbll

I can't believe the guys who review this phone and expected something different. They really should do some research before buying and trashing something. It's an inexpensive, bottom-of-the-line phone. What did they expect? Anyway, I'm older and have bad eyes. I don't text, use the internet, or any of that other stuff. I just need a phone to MAKE CALLS. This phone does the job. And it is NOT flimsy. It is NOT huge either. An iPhone is huge. It has an adequate display and nice big buttons. The sound is good at both ends of the conversation. It has some other useful features, such as a calculator, MP3 player and FM radio! The camera is okay too. One other thing... I didn't know I'd be getting Amber Alerts, so it was a little startling in the middle of the night. It sounds like a weather radio alert radio going off! Now I just turn the phone off when I'm home. No biggie.

Was this review helpful? (79) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gklbll
St. Peters, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Pre-Pay Flip Phone I could find
11/25/2013

Customer review by Roadrunner777B

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Roadrunner777B
by Roadrunner777B

I have had this phone for 2 weeks, no regrets so far. Details: Physical - I bought this to replace a Motorola Razor. This phone's design and construction are very similar, that is, sturdy and reliable. I prefer a flip phone because it fits easily in my pocket and I don't need the features of a smart phone. There is a micro-SDHC slot for your photos and songs, 32GB maximum. Phone - Reception and quality are fine, comparable to other cell phones. It seems to have all the common options, contacts, voicemail, so forth. The included ringtones are a bit odd, but there are a couple of 'normal' ones to choose from, and of course, you can use your own song or whatever. Camera - 2MB sensor, and a surprising array of effects. I was impressed with it's low light capability, given it does not have a flash. FM Radio - I really didn't care about a radio function, but it is there, and seems to work well. You must have headphones plugged in to start the radio (antenna, I presume). You can use the speaker, so long as the headphones are plugged in. From the home screen, pushing up on the 4-way switch jumps to the radio. MP3 Player - I was very interested in the mp3 player, since I usually carry an older low capacity mp3 player. The player itself does not disappoint. I'm not sure about playlists or anything like that, I usually just run it in random mode. My main disappointment is the integration of the mp3 player into the phone. It takes 10 clicks to get from the main phone screen to a first song. If you close the cover, it continues to function but when you open it again, you are back on the main phone screen, and 10 clicks away from the player again. You can adjust the volume with the cover closed using the phone volume buttons, but that's all you can do. To pause, skip, or anything else, you have to open the cover and click 10 steps to get back to the player. Fortunately, I use the mp3 player at my desk and keeping the cover open is no problem. If I were trying to use this phone as an mp3 player in my pocket, I would probably return it for another solution. Web Browsing - I sort of checked it out, but if portable web browsing mattered to me, I would have gone to a smart phone. Texting - I don't text, but I tried it out. Single letters work fine. There is a smart-type function that didn't work very well for me, but it could just be my lack of experience with texting. Plans - As of November 2013, this phone was available with either StraightTalk or TracFone service. It is there if you look hard enough and can live with ordering on-line.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roadrunner777B
Bemidji, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Hubby is very happy with it!
2/26/2014

Customer review by Repunzell

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Repunzell
by Repunzell

Husband needed something with bigger buttons so it would be easier to use. Plus he loves the radio that came installed on it. Camera is good enough. Doesn't use that too often.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Repunzell
xenia,oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Straight Talk Plan Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone
9/25/2014

Customer review by Bluerobe

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by Bluerobe
by Bluerobe

I've had a basic Tracfone for several years and was only using it once in a while. I just wanted a cell phone for when I was on the road for emergencies, if my car broke down, and for occasional calls to family members. Over the years I've gotten used to the convenience of a cell phone and find it essential to keep track of my busy family. I found I was buying a lot of more minute cards and it was getting quite pricey. I researched the Walmart site and liked the sound of the Straight Talk Phone Plan. I just needed to pick a phone. The Alcatel has the easy to use larger buttons. I also had a flip-top phone before and liked how it protects the buttons and the screen from damage. I've been playing around with the menu and seeing what else I can make it do. It has a lot of features that I probably won't use since I have a computer at home and still just need it to make phone calls but it's fun to play with anyway. What I do like is the contacts section where I can go under someone's name and add multiple numbers for them covering their fax, home, work, cell, and e-mail address. I used to have to list them separately and have to make up keyword descriptions in the list so I could match them up with who they belonged to later. It was very time consuming. The new system is so much more organized and quicker to load. Now I can see someone I know and input their new updated contact information for them easily right there on the spot. Everyone I know has been very surprised and happy when using my new phone and all it's features and they're even more surprised when they find out the price.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bluerobe
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Strait talk phone
3/26/2014

Customer review by DizzyLou

5.0 stars 3/26/2014 by DizzyLou
by DizzyLou

Is a very good phone for the money it has big numbers and clock you get sevice every where that the regular mobile services get, it's a good phone and well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DizzyLou
industry, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HUGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1/11/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 1/11/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

simple phone with HUGE screen and HUGE numbers. perfect for someone who need things magnified.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
nashville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone for talking and some text.
7/30/2014

Customer review by TomZZ

4.0 stars 7/30/2014 by TomZZ
by TomZZ

Gave this only 4 stars because I find the texting to be overly complicated. Otherwise I like the large bright screen and the large buttons. Voice clarity is very good. It is a bit loud when using the buttons and I don't know yet if there is any way to lower the volume since I have only had it a week. I don't think there is… All in all, a good basic phone.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TomZZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Basic Phone
9/19/2014

Customer review by Aquaeyes

4.0 stars 9/19/2014 by Aquaeyes
by Aquaeyes

I got this phone for my husband. He wanted a phone with a big read out and big numbers. This serves the purpose. It's a bit larger than most phones due to those features. It feels quite plasticky though. Not as durable as other phones we've had. The only problems we've had is with Straight Talk. Although I've been with them for years without any problems, of course as soon as I talk my husband into switching, we had problems! He didn't have the patience so I made all the calls and was transferred multiple times until we finally got his number changed from Verizon to his new phone and his new phone activated. Every time I was transferred I had to give all the information over again! Very frustrating! All is going smooth now though and his phone is working fine. He likes it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aquaeyes
Roscommon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for me
12/27/2013

Customer review by babyspoon

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by babyspoon
by babyspoon

got this for a christmas not a bad phone. mine broke so to get this one was a blessing might not be the best one but at least it is a phone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babyspoon
somewhere on earth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great all around cell phone
1/23/2014

Customer review by CookieCara

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by CookieCara
by CookieCara

I absolutely love this phone!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CookieCara
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Seamless Cell Phone Upgrade
9/26/2014

Customer review by lvscats63

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by lvscats63
by lvscats63

Bought for my brother. He LOVES this phone. Was to use set up and carry. Big enough to keep from losing it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lvscats63
lancaster, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cell phone & service
11/12/2014

Customer review by TOMHUD

1.0 stars 11/12/2014 by TOMHUD
by TOMHUD

I bought this item as a replacement for the phone I was using with a different carrier. I had trouble from the start with the phone and Straight Talk service, I found the phone had very little volume and the service dropping calls.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TOMHUD
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far we are pleased.
8/17/2014

Customer review by beml

4.0 stars 8/17/2014 by beml
by beml

I received prompt assistance via phone during setup. No long wait for each call. Only had phone a week but it works great off the AT&T tower close by.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beml
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very basic phone
12/25/2013

Customer review by MOMISHE

1.0 stars 12/25/2013 by MOMISHE
by MOMISHE

I bought this phone to replace my old Samsung slider that finally bit the dust right before Christmas. Selection in the store was highly limited, and it was one of the only Straight Talk phones not sold out. However, I am taking this lousy phone back. It's very long when fully opened, and it feels flimsy when using it open. I can't find a way to change keypad tone independent of ringer volume, so it's either a loud noise EVERY TIME I push a button, or no ringer at all. In fact, the sound settings are limited to "standard", "meeting", "inside", "outside", and "silent". And there is an audible buzz from the screen. And, for some reason, I could not access the Tools and Settings, among others, until a full day after having the phone. It's probably a decent phone for someone who doesn't do anything beyond making a couple calls here and there, but it's not a good phone for someone who actually wants to do things like change sound settings and text without annoying beeps for every single key.

Was this review helpful? (18) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOMISHE
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
easy phone no smart phone needed!
11/20/2014

Customer review by Jhawaii

5.0 stars 11/20/2014 by Jhawaii
by Jhawaii

This phone is basic and easy. None of the stores where I live carry it so I ordered ionline. The stores should carry it because it's easier for older folks like.me:)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jhawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for basic people
6/5/2014

Customer review by MagicLady39

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by MagicLady39
by MagicLady39

Both my mom and husband love this phone. They have said it does everything they need and it has big numbers to read.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MagicLady39
California, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to use
7/4/2014

Customer review by buffey123

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by buffey123
by buffey123

like the big letters

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buffey123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Cell Reception
5/20/2014

Customer review by NetworkingInstrutor

1.0 stars 5/20/2014 by NetworkingInstrutor
by NetworkingInstrutor

Phone does well enough if there is a strong signal, but in fringe, one bar on most other phones, zero reception. The LG Accolade VX5600 worked for voice and text messaging, not this phone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NetworkingInstrutor
Marion, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wont work in my area
6/22/2014

Customer review by tecnot

1.0 stars 6/22/2014 by tecnot
by tecnot

walllmart zip code finder says it will work, not worth a darn drops calls if you ever get them at all voice mail delayed by at least 24 hours again if you get it at all, liked phone, learn about gsm verses cdma before you buy i should have, dodnt throw your money away like i did.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tecnot
Would recommend to a friend? No
Piece of garbage
2/19/2015

Customer review by JoeM

1.0 stars 2/19/2015 by JoeM
by JoeM

I only bought this cheap phone because unfortunately I only get AT&T service where I live. After 7 months of light usage on this phone, the screen died, and now I need to get another phone that uses AT&T towers because Verizon doesn't cover my area. I will say once I got Straight Talk to get my account correct, I'm happy with their service, but not this substandard Alcatel phone!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeM
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews