Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

119 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

119 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
1-20 of 118 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
first phone
11/10/2015

Customer review by Paul

4.0 stars 11/10/2015 by Paul
by Paul

I'm 71 and never owned a cell phone. There are a number of choices for for older people and I have not surveyed the market extensively, but it seems like a reasonable choice. I specifically picked it for the larger display and larger keypad, however, I will only use it sporadically. I only wanted it to make calls when traveling (airports, etc.) since pay phones are hard to find these days. For my new purchase of the 60 minutes airtime card, Tracfone gave me 140 minutes and 150 days. The Alcatel phone is a GSM phone with a SIM card which allows one to simply remove the SIM card and install it into a new phone if you later decide to upgrade to a newer type phone (I'm not referring to a Smart phone). You can't do that with a CDMA type phone (even though some of them have SIM cards too). I especially liked the Walmart on-line purchase. The on-line price was less than the in-store price and I simply picked it up at the store. I'm going to consider Walmart rather than Amazon for for future purchases of some items.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Phone, Great Price!
10/25/2015

Customer review by JeromeB

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by JeromeB
by JeromeB

This is an excellent flip phone for the money. It has good volume (using the speaker phone setting) and seems to be able to make a connection inside stores and such which was a problem with my old phone. Since it is a flip phone it is small enough to fit into your pants pocket where it can be left "on", but will "awake" as soon as you open it. The camera works, but is best in bright sunlight. Set the camera for "low light", 1600 x 1200, high quality. Pictures on the phone screen aren't bad, but don't look like much if you view them on a computer. There is digital zoom, but it is of little value as resolution only gets worse. The shutter speed is rather slow and you have to hold as steady as possible in anything but bright daylight. I have used the calculator feature, which is handy to compare prices in the supermarket. Note that the Walmart price is quite a bit "less" than what this Tracfone sells for in other stores.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeromeB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My mom loves this phone!
1/6/2016

Customer review by Name0211

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Name0211
by Name0211

Works great for my senior mother who is technologically challenged. Big buttons and simple to use for basic use as it is all she wants and needs. Simpler is better for her!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Name0211
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Alcatel 382G Tracfone - some problems big to small
1/26/2016

Customer review by Angel1

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Angel1
by Angel1

First fo all the user manual is very limited but I found a tutorial on line that was interactive so it worked out okay. Battery life seems terrible - I have it one day - activated it and installed some settings - no calls, shut down at night and battery is already going down. Tried talking to Customer Service at Tracfone is useless - they sound like they are reading from script . I wanted a "no frills" phone - easy to use but....only time ill tell - very frustrating!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/28/2016

Hi Angel1. This is Linda from TracFone Wireless. Please send an email to TracfoneBV@Tracfone.com in order for us to assist you with your phone's issue. Thanks.

Angel1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't waste your money
11/17/2014

Customer review by AProfessionalBuyer

1.0 stars 11/17/2014 by AProfessionalBuyer
by AProfessionalBuyer

Please do not buy this phone. I purchased one a few months ago from Amazon. The outside display never worked. After a few weeks the battery started to last just 1-2 days on standby. Contacted Amazon and was told to contact the manufacturer. The manufacturer said that the nonworking display was a fault of the carrier and they would send a new battery to me in 7-10 days. After a month of waiting the manufacturer told me they sent the battery to Tracfone instead of me. Tracfone said that the display problem was with the phone set and not their service...they sent me another battery and the new one lasts just 1-2 days. I contacted Alcatel the manufacturer one more time and their tech support told me that there was nothing wrong with the phone and they could no longer assist me. I have used Tracfone and a few LG phones over the years with no problem. The Alcatel Big Easy is easy to see, fits nicely into your hand, and is a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (54) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AProfessionalBuyer
Germantown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Retro Flip
11/2/2015

Customer review by RChiare1

5.0 stars 11/2/2015 by RChiare1
by RChiare1

I just swapped my iPhone 4S for the Alcatel A392G flip. I know only Senior citizens are supposed to use flip phones, and I are one. None the less I have used 3 different 'smart phones', and I don't like them. First, they don't hold a charge for more than a few days. Second, there are so many small icons on the screen that I can barely see it. Finally I want a phone that is primarily just a phone. The Alcatel has a long standby/ talk time. It is great for talking either hand held or bluetooth linked to the car. It's cost is low enough that I am not overly worried if I break or lose it. Lastly, it reminds me of the original Star Trek communicator, which I always liked. It fits in my jeans watch pocket.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RChiare1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
JUST BUY IT!
5/16/2014

Customer review by cddallas

5.0 stars 5/16/2014 by cddallas
by cddallas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am not savvy about cell phones and actually had possession of a smart phone to look over for a month, but ultimately chose to keep this Alcatel. Very happy, too! It does nearly everything (if not everything) that my $250 Sprint Sanyo phone did, and I don't get a $55+ phone bill every month (for 450 minutes) since it's a Tracfone. If you're an old hand at cell phones, you'll catch on immediately to this phone -- there was a small learning curve for me. Even texting goes fairly quickly and easily, much to my surprise -- certainly there is no need for a smart phone in order to get a on-screen keyboard. The only drawback is that it doesn't have GPS, but you can go online and get that information, using up a few extra minutes. An excellent buy!

Was this review helpful? (254) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cddallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone service excellent, customer service, bad
7/24/2014

Customer review by Greta108

4.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Greta108
by Greta108
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The phone arrived very quickly, within 3 days which was impressive. I followed the directions to the letter to activate online, and by phone(using the automated system), but finally had to call customer service. The lady on the other end of the phone, was cold, and unfriendly. When she gave me the codes to enter into the phone, she went to fast, and acted annoyed, when I couldn't understand her. Finally, she gave me the code numbers two at a time, and that did the trick. It was, very stressful, and not as simple as I thought that it would be. I urge anyone using tracfone, to call customer service as a last resort only. That negative aside, the phone itself is very good. The call quality is as clear as a landline, and the numbers are big, and easy to read. This is my first cell phone, so I am impressed at how easy to use the phone is. I like the flip phone because it feels like you're talking on a landline phone when you open it up. I don't have to go outside to use this phone, and the charge holds up very well. Thankfully, there are good tutorials online for this phone, so I didn't have to call the dreaded customer service line again. I would recommend this phone to anyone, but I would caution them about talking to customer service.

Was this review helpful? (118) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greta108
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Flip Phone Review
12/2/2014

Customer review by Delayne719

5.0 stars 12/2/2014 by Delayne719
by Delayne719

It works fine. I am in an area that a lot of phones don't get good reception. This phone was recommended for this zip code; and it works perfectly. I like the fact that it is a flip phone. I'm not the gentlest of people, and I feel flip phones like this are sturdier than those others. It is kind of sleek, and as you can tell, it is shiny. The front has the time showing at all times right there for you - without even opening the case. It has all the accessories it needs, such as alarm, ringer styles, airplane mode, volume, camera, calculator, text, talk, and customer service people are very helpful and right there for you.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Delayne719
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
7/11/2014

Customer review by Highwayman1

5.0 stars 7/11/2014 by Highwayman1
by Highwayman1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Before I bought this phone I read as many reviews as I could find and decided that this phone would do what I need a phone to do. It has good signal strength, easy to use keys, is larger than my old phone so it is easier to hold on to and operate. As far as the choices of ring tones it does have one similar to an old time phone,and you can eliminate the key pad sounds. I don't make movies, listen to the radio, check email or surf the web with my phone, I just use it to make calls and sometimes text my kids and for these things this unit works very well. Would definitely recommend this phone to anyone who needs a phone and not a hand held computer!

Was this review helpful? (119) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Highwayman1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mother loves her phone
5/13/2014

Customer review by chambersla

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by chambersla
by chambersla
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this phone for my mother to replace an older phone that she had been using, and she absolutely loves it. She loves the larger buttons and how the numbers appear larger on the screen. She won't use all of the options that are available on this phone, but she's extremely happy with it's simplicity.

Was this review helpful? (200) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chambersla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mixed bag
2/9/2014

Customer review by Greenmanguy

3.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Greenmanguy
by Greenmanguy

Good phone for older folks who don't need smart technology. Large buttons and easy controls. On the downside- most of the ringtones were silly and the one I wanted (traditional ring-ring sound) was missing. Also, be careful of the mute feature- it mutes the annoying beep-boop sounds of the functions, however it also mutes the ring feature! These functions should be separate. But the biggest downside was the battery charge life. It is grossly over-exaggerated by the manufacturer. Even if you only have it on maybe ten hours a day and don't make or receive any calls or texts in that time- plan on charging it at least every other night.

Was this review helpful? (93) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greenmanguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value!
6/26/2014

Customer review by karmhall

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by karmhall
by karmhall
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this phone for my husband, who has never had a cell phone. It was easy for him to learn to use, has good sound tone, & more than sufficient for his needs. It's small enough for him to carry, & not overloaded with gadgets.......& no monthly cell phone bill.........He's happy!!

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karmhall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large Keys, works in my area great
1/2/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My wife wanted a flip-phone and this is the only brand I found that works great in my area vs any of the LG brand which would not give us coverage. Also supports MicroSD cards up to 32GB to load your videos/pictures/music(Mp3) on. The 2X airtime feature was also a must have for us. I liked it so well that I ordered myself one to upgrade from my 8 yr old Motorola brand Tracfone. Shipped via Priority USPS mail service and arrived in just a couple of days. Walmart was the only place I found that offered all the features we wanted in a pre-paid cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (70) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Brinnon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone lost on Tracfone service.
9/21/2014

Customer review by quietstorm00000

4.0 stars 9/21/2014 by quietstorm00000
by quietstorm00000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very pleased with the phone...but look out for Tracfone service. Its the worst service I have ever had. If your going to port (transfer) an existing number; good luck to you. It took them two days and then it was not correct. Could not get online. That took another day. Moreover, after calling several times and waiting for what seemed like forever, they disconnected me and I had to start all over again.In the mean time, I had no cell phone service. As a result, I am recommeding the phone but suggest you purchase from another company if available.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quietstorm00000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just a good phone
8/21/2015

Customer review by nikynewark

5.0 stars 8/21/2015 by nikynewark
by nikynewark

I'm a longtime Tracfone customer having owned and been happy with more than two dozen Tracfones. This latest didn't disappoint. It's a good phone which is what I want. The internet function just marginal. All the rest? Photo's, alarm etc work as advertised. What I liked most was the one handed easy to dial and because it's a flip phone, no pocket dials. The keys are large enough to dial and see We had Alcatel 382's last time and after two years the batteries were getting weak so we tried this flip Alcatel. I just love Tracfone. Always reasonable, no connection problems and we never lose our minutes. Again, this is a good phone, and I might say great except I don't think the GREAT phone has come along, yet. BTW, shop price and bring the best price into Walmart to match. Works for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nikynewark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Price, availability and shipping very good!
12/27/2015

Customer review by Cody

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Cody
by Cody

Purchased as a gift for a senior citizen and he was very happy to have a basic phone with large numbers on the key-pad.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cody
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good phone for person that prefers flip phones.
5/16/2014

Customer review by walmartian52

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by walmartian52
by walmartian52
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you were satisfied with the flip phone and are not text happy. If you prefer to use a regular computer for browsing the internet. This is a well made phone. Easy to use and carry. Quite a lot of features. Satisfactory, unless you want a Wi-Fi browsing device. Works good as emergency phone with limited email and texting option. If you wan to text or email a lot. You probably want one of the big screen phones with touch options. I just use mine as a easy to use and carry phone. In an emergency. I could text or email with it. It just takes more patients to enter text on it.

Was this review helpful? (64) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartian52
Fayetteville AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for a beginner.
5/11/2014

Customer review by E5724

4.0 stars 5/11/2014 by E5724
by E5724
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Enjoy with one exception. I'm not able to make calls from inside my home. It works outside. This phone was recommended for this area code. Alcatel A392G. I was told that a Tin roof would interfere with signal?

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
E5724
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice phone
1/22/2014

Customer review by Glennon

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Glennon
by Glennon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this phone originally for one reason, I have big fingers and the tiny buttons of my previous phone was making me crazier. I really am not the kind of smart phone guy and this fulfills every need I have in a phone. I can receive calls and I can make calls. It plays MP3's and has an FM radio and the ever present camera. Now, is there anyone else who owns this phone that finds the start up music as annoying as I do? I figured out how to turn it off on my old phone, but can't on this one yet...HELP!

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glennon
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews