Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

93 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

93 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 92 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
JUST BUY IT!
5/16/2014

Customer review by cddallas

5.0 stars 5/16/2014 by cddallas
by cddallas

I am not savvy about cell phones and actually had possession of a smart phone to look over for a month, but ultimately chose to keep this Alcatel. Very happy, too! It does nearly everything (if not everything) that my $250 Sprint Sanyo phone did, and I don't get a $55+ phone bill every month (for 450 minutes) since it's a Tracfone. If you're an old hand at cell phones, you'll catch on immediately to this phone -- there was a small learning curve for me. Even texting goes fairly quickly and easily, much to my surprise -- certainly there is no need for a smart phone in order to get a on-screen keyboard. The only drawback is that it doesn't have GPS, but you can go online and get that information, using up a few extra minutes. An excellent buy!

Was this review helpful? (203) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cddallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mother loves her phone
5/13/2014

Customer review by chambersla

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by chambersla
by chambersla

I purchased this phone for my mother to replace an older phone that she had been using, and she absolutely loves it. She loves the larger buttons and how the numbers appear larger on the screen. She won't use all of the options that are available on this phone, but she's extremely happy with it's simplicity.

Was this review helpful? (139) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chambersla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone service excellent, customer service, bad
7/24/2014

Customer review by Greta108

4.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Greta108
by Greta108

The phone arrived very quickly, within 3 days which was impressive. I followed the directions to the letter to activate online, and by phone(using the automated system), but finally had to call customer service. The lady on the other end of the phone, was cold, and unfriendly. When she gave me the codes to enter into the phone, she went to fast, and acted annoyed, when I couldn't understand her. Finally, she gave me the code numbers two at a time, and that did the trick. It was, very stressful, and not as simple as I thought that it would be. I urge anyone using tracfone, to call customer service as a last resort only. That negative aside, the phone itself is very good. The call quality is as clear as a landline, and the numbers are big, and easy to read. This is my first cell phone, so I am impressed at how easy to use the phone is. I like the flip phone because it feels like you're talking on a landline phone when you open it up. I don't have to go outside to use this phone, and the charge holds up very well. Thankfully, there are good tutorials online for this phone, so I didn't have to call the dreaded customer service line again. I would recommend this phone to anyone, but I would caution them about talking to customer service.

Was this review helpful? (88) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greta108
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for the price
12/3/2013

Customer review by Roadrunner777B

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Roadrunner777B
by Roadrunner777B

I really shopped around for a phone like this. Though it is marketed as a senior's phone, it is in reality, one of the best flip-phones on the market today. Physical - I bought this to replace a Motorola Razor. This phone's design and construction are very similar, that is, sturdy and reliable. I prefer a flip phone because it fits easily in my pocket and I don't need the features of a smart phone. There is a micro-SDHC slot for your photos and songs, 32GB maximum. Phone - Reception and quality are fine, comparable to other cell phones. It seems to have all the common options, contacts, voicemail, so forth. The included ringtones are a bit odd, but there are a couple of 'normal' ones to choose from, and of course, you can use your own song or whatever. Camera - 2MB sensor, and a surprising array of effects. I was impressed with it's low light capability, given it does not have a flash. FM Radio - I really didn't care about a radio function, but it is there, and seems to work well. You must have headphones plugged in to start the radio #antenna, I presume#. You can use the speaker, so long as the headphones are plugged in. From the home screen, pushing up on the 4-way switch jumps to the radio. MP3 Player - I was very interested in the mp3 player, since I usually carry an older low capacity mp3 player. The player itself does not disappoint. I'm not sure about playlists or anything like that, I usually just run it in random mode. My main disappointment is the integration of the mp3 player into the phone. It takes 10 clicks to get from the main phone screen to a first song. If you close the cover, it continues to function but when you open it again, you are back on the main phone screen, and 10 clicks away from the player again. You can adjust the volume with the cover closed using the phone volume buttons, but that's all you can do. To pause, skip, or anything else, you have to open the cover and click 10 steps to get back to the player. Fortunately, I use the mp3 player at my desk and keeping the cover open is no problem. If I were trying to use this phone as an mp3 player in my pocket, I would probably return it for another solution. Web Browsing - I sort of checked it out, but if portable web browsing mattered to me, I would have gone to a smart phone. Texting - I don't text, but I tried it out. Single letters work fine. There is a smart-type function that didn't work very well for me, but it could just be my lack of experience with texting. Plans - As of November 2013, this phone was available with either StraightTalk or TracFone service. It is there if you look hard enough and can live with ordering on-line.

Was this review helpful? (95) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roadrunner777B
Bemidji, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I bought this phone for my 81 year old mother...
5/9/2014

Customer review by onickeyh

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by onickeyh
by onickeyh

I don't have a house phone, I have a cell phone as most of us do now. Well, I got to thinking that when my mom comes to visit, she would not have a way to call for help should she need to... I checked several phones and plans and found the tracfone prepaid was the way to go for her.The numbers are large enough for her to see and when the phone is flipped open she said it feels like a real phone! She loves it and so do I!

Was this review helpful? (139) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onickeyh
Rancho Cordova, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
7/11/2014

Customer review by Highwayman1

5.0 stars 7/11/2014 by Highwayman1
by Highwayman1

Before I bought this phone I read as many reviews as I could find and decided that this phone would do what I need a phone to do. It has good signal strength, easy to use keys, is larger than my old phone so it is easier to hold on to and operate. As far as the choices of ring tones it does have one similar to an old time phone,and you can eliminate the key pad sounds. I don't make movies, listen to the radio, check email or surf the web with my phone, I just use it to make calls and sometimes text my kids and for these things this unit works very well. Would definitely recommend this phone to anyone who needs a phone and not a hand held computer!

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Highwayman1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for the vision impaired
11/29/2013

Customer review by cyogirun

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by cyogirun
by cyogirun

My husband is legally blind. he can see the numbers to dial and make calls. he is so proud of his phone. shows it off to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (75) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyogirun
Bonham, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mixed bag
2/9/2014

Customer review by Greenmanguy

3.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Greenmanguy
by Greenmanguy

Good phone for older folks who don't need smart technology. Large buttons and easy controls. On the downside- most of the ringtones were silly and the one I wanted (traditional ring-ring sound) was missing. Also, be careful of the mute feature- it mutes the annoying beep-boop sounds of the functions, however it also mutes the ring feature! These functions should be separate. But the biggest downside was the battery charge life. It is grossly over-exaggerated by the manufacturer. Even if you only have it on maybe ten hours a day and don't make or receive any calls or texts in that time- plan on charging it at least every other night.

Was this review helpful? (88) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greenmanguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Large Keys, works in my area great
1/2/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My wife wanted a flip-phone and this is the only brand I found that works great in my area vs any of the LG brand which would not give us coverage. Also supports MicroSD cards up to 32GB to load your videos/pictures/music(Mp3) on. The 2X airtime feature was also a must have for us. I liked it so well that I ordered myself one to upgrade from my 8 yr old Motorola brand Tracfone. Shipped via Priority USPS mail service and arrived in just a couple of days. Walmart was the only place I found that offered all the features we wanted in a pre-paid cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (69) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Brinnon, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value!
6/26/2014

Customer review by karmhall

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by karmhall
by karmhall

I purchased this phone for my husband, who has never had a cell phone. It was easy for him to learn to use, has good sound tone, & more than sufficient for his needs. It's small enough for him to carry, & not overloaded with gadgets.......& no monthly cell phone bill.........He's happy!!

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karmhall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone for person that prefers flip phones.
5/16/2014

Customer review by walmartian52

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by walmartian52
by walmartian52

If you were satisfied with the flip phone and are not text happy. If you prefer to use a regular computer for browsing the internet. This is a well made phone. Easy to use and carry. Quite a lot of features. Satisfactory, unless you want a Wi-Fi browsing device. Works good as emergency phone with limited email and texting option. If you wan to text or email a lot. You probably want one of the big screen phones with touch options. I just use mine as a easy to use and carry phone. In an emergency. I could text or email with it. It just takes more patients to enter text on it.

Was this review helpful? (61) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartian52
Fayetteville AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Got what I wanted (almost)
12/5/2013

Customer review by OldManme

3.0 stars 12/5/2013 by OldManme
by OldManme

Don't get me wrong, I like this phone. Of course it would be a lot better if you didn't have to depend on Tracfone tecnical assistance for help with a problem. I would like to change the sound of the alarm but it either can't be done or they don't know how. I spent four days on the phone before I gave up. So if you get this phone which is a really good phone or any other Tracfone for that matter I hope you don't have any questions.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldManme
Thomasville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice phone
1/22/2014

Customer review by Glennon

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Glennon
by Glennon

I bought this phone originally for one reason, I have big fingers and the tiny buttons of my previous phone was making me crazier. I really am not the kind of smart phone guy and this fulfills every need I have in a phone. I can receive calls and I can make calls. It plays MP3's and has an FM radio and the ever present camera. Now, is there anyone else who owns this phone that finds the start up music as annoying as I do? I figured out how to turn it off on my old phone, but can't on this one yet...HELP!

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glennon
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
2/6/2014

Customer review by kodako

5.0 stars 2/6/2014 by kodako
by kodako

This product is better than expected and the learning curve is much simpler than other phones I've had !!

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kodako
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone lost on Tracfone service.
9/21/2014

Customer review by quietstorm00000

4.0 stars 9/21/2014 by quietstorm00000
by quietstorm00000

Very pleased with the phone...but look out for Tracfone service. Its the worst service I have ever had. If your going to port (transfer) an existing number; good luck to you. It took them two days and then it was not correct. Could not get online. That took another day. Moreover, after calling several times and waiting for what seemed like forever, they disconnected me and I had to start all over again.In the mean time, I had no cell phone service. As a result, I am recommeding the phone but suggest you purchase from another company if available.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
quietstorm00000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Flip Phone Review
12/2/2014

Customer review by Delayne719

5.0 stars 12/2/2014 by Delayne719
by Delayne719

It works fine. I am in an area that a lot of phones don't get good reception. This phone was recommended for this zip code; and it works perfectly. I like the fact that it is a flip phone. I'm not the gentlest of people, and I feel flip phones like this are sturdier than those others. It is kind of sleek, and as you can tell, it is shiny. The front has the time showing at all times right there for you - without even opening the case. It has all the accessories it needs, such as alarm, ringer styles, airplane mode, volume, camera, calculator, text, talk, and customer service people are very helpful and right there for you.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Delayne719
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for a beginner.
5/11/2014

Customer review by E5724

4.0 stars 5/11/2014 by E5724
by E5724

Enjoy with one exception. I'm not able to make calls from inside my home. It works outside. This phone was recommended for this area code. Alcatel A392G. I was told that a Tin roof would interfere with signal?

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
E5724
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This phone meets our expectations.
4/15/2014

Customer review by Calasa14

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Calasa14
by Calasa14

What a treat to find a phone that is perfect for older people with little electronic talent. The numbers are large and so far so good. There is one problem. The booklet that comes with the phone does not explain how to set up your directory or how to choose the person you wish to call. We had to figure it out by trial and error and a few phone calls to our children.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Calasa14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD FEATURE PHONE
1/12/2014

Customer review by tlmart

4.0 stars 1/12/2014 by tlmart
by tlmart

the only disappointment i have with this phone is the recording quality from the radio-not as good as my last phone and is more subject to signal quality,but i did want a flip phone with the features of my last phone. this is a decent compromise.call quality is very good and the radio itself pulls in more stations.good loud ring tone but weak vibration.well built-feels good in hand

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlmart
san lorenzo,ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect Phone
11/8/2014

Customer review by Bevy1946

5.0 stars 11/8/2014 by Bevy1946
by Bevy1946

I love this phone. For those of us that are mechanically challenged this is the phone for you. Its easy to use and program.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bevy1946
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews