Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

83 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

83 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
17
1-20 of 83 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
My first smartphone and I love it.
12/14/2013

Customer review by LeeMT

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by LeeMT
by LeeMT

Have had no issues with this phone. Installed apps from the phone itself and directly at the Google Play website from my computer, with no problems. The only reason I do not give it five stars is, unlike my previous flip-phone, this Tracphone device does not give you your minutes and service balance. For that, you must go to the Tracfone website, and even though you can get your balance there, it still sends you a text, which does cost you. Unlike my old flip-phone, you do not have the option of deleting texts without opening them and getting charged for them. Transferring my old number to the new phone was easy, the recording said it would take from an hour to a full day. There was no notification from either phone when the transfer/activation was complete, so I have no idea how long it took - maybe a couple of hours? Instructions for phone use lack detail, I self-taught myself most of its functions. Still, a great phone and great value from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (143) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeeMT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Best Tracfone Yet!
6/29/2014

Customer review by Idunnonothin

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by Idunnonothin
by Idunnonothin

I have used Tracfones for many years and this is my favorite thus far. It has all the functionality of all the other smart phones out there in this class; WiFi, 3G, texting, browsing, Android apps, GPS, etc. This phone has a camera that is functional and not much more. If I want to take photos, I'll use my DSLR. While the keyboard can be a little difficult for old, fat fingers like mine, I would have the same problem on any other phone as well. I suppose you could always connect a blue-tooth keyboard if you really wanted to make a go of it. My phone is on the Verizon network and it has not failed to connect me in any location that I have traveled. I admit I am not a heavy cell phone user, which is probably true for many Tracfone customers, so I buy the annual card and the triple minutes/text/data associated with owning phone keeps me going all year long.

Was this review helpful? (125) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idunnonothin
Methuen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone!
11/28/2013

Customer review by Rick145

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by Rick145
by Rick145

I have had this phone for 2 weeks and it has performed quite well for this level of phone (entry level). This is my first smartphone and it has not had any trouble doing what I have tried to do. Some of the more complex web pages are slow to load and scroll but no more so than my daughter's $200 LG phone. Call clarity has been good and I have found no places with no signal yet, even with some vacation travelling. Total storage for apps is low (a little over 300MB for apps not preinstalled I think#, but it automatically stores parts of some larger apps in other internal memory #almost 2GB I think). Micro SD up to 32GB should be plenty for music, photos, video, etc. Runs all apps fine so far, but I have not put any huge apps on it because of the memory issue. No dropped calls or missed texts. Battery should be around 5 hours with heavy use, at least 10 days standby with wifi and data off. I would definitely buy this phone again, and with my typical use Tracfone service should cost me around $15 per month - for a smartphone - WOW!!!

Was this review helpful? (132) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rick145
Fayetteville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
3/3/2014

Customer review by FUZZZ

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by FUZZZ
by FUZZZ

I have owned a Tracfone for many years and thought now is the time to get my first "smart Phone". I am not really Tech savvy, but I do understand a few things about computers, phones, etc. I have read the reviews of the other Tracfone Smart phones and decided on this one because of it's processor size. I have owned this phone for one month and am learning about and how to use Apps, Widgits, Bluetooth and Wifi on this phone. There is a really helpful site on how to use the phone called "Straight Talk Huawei H868C" (Walmart), it has answered all my questions I have about operating this phone. I am very pleased with the preformance and the looks are really cool (old person term). The only thing I am disappointed with in this phone is that it doesn't have a flash with the camera, but I knew that when I purchased it. This phone costs me only $100.00 a year to operate as I use it sparingly as I have with my other Tracfones. You get 1200 minutes with the purchase a year card. If you have access to a wireless internet connection (WIFI) you can use it and not use up any of your purchased data from Tracfone, cool again.. I realize this is not a high end phone, but it fits my phone budget perfectly, it has Internet connection, Mp3 player, FM radio, phone, camera and the reception in rural Wisconsin has been great. I strongly recommend this phone to others, and yes...even friends.

Was this review helpful? (59) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FUZZZ
Rice Lake, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone
1/20/2014

Customer review by ggsgrandma

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by ggsgrandma
by ggsgrandma

I purchased this because my old Tracfone finally died. I have never had a smart phone, so this was a great choice for me. Mine came with triple minutes, so every time I load a card, I have triple minutes for talk, text and data. I'm not a heavy cell phone user, so has been great for me. No dropped calls. tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/tracfone/home.seam?locale=en_US&deviceId=1254&cid=992568. This is the website for this particular phone. I found it to be pretty useful with several of the things that aren't in the book. Tracfone's big problem is their customer support....it isn't very good and you really have to search to find answers. When I transferred my number, it took me about 30 minutes with the representative and it was done. I agree that a large volume scan disk for this phone is very useful. This is a great first smart phone and I love the "no contract" with it.

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ggsgrandma
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
First smart phone, great to learn on, good value
8/12/2014

Customer review by Kaeten

4.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Kaeten
by Kaeten

This is my first smartphone. Bought in January and struggled a bit. The online tutorial is ok, but trial and error is faster. Now, I whip through whatever I need. The only down side that I have is the downloaded application allotment. It fills up fast. Chrome wants to install updates and you are out of space every time. So, got rid of Chrome and voila, problem solved. Reception is better than any cell phone that I have used so far. This is the only phone I have had in which I don't have to go outside my home to talk on. It is nice not having to stand in the middle of the street. The wi-fi usage is great. I am not much for texting (would rather TALK to friends) so the text issues that most have don't apply to me. The bluetooth was easy to set up with my car. I wanted a phone with more options that just a plain cell - this one works. Tracfone has an app for balance, etc. Like I said, this is my first smartphone, so it works great for me without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (66) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaeten
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stay away from Huawei
1/24/2014

Customer review by GGsquirrel

1.0 stars 1/24/2014 by GGsquirrel
by GGsquirrel

I wouldn't buy another item from Huawei. At first we loved our phones too. But it became clear that there was a problem with the phones after the 8 month mark when the phone would not boot up at all until we did a "hard" factory reboot which looses all the text and contact information. The Huawei rep informed us they knew for quite some time that there is a software glitch in there phones, but continued to sell them. We were informed to buy a new phone. We asked if there is the same or similar problem with the new phones and the rep said, "yes". Why would we buy another one of the same brand if they don't stand behind their product?

Was this review helpful? (57) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GGsquirrel
Colorado Springs,CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does not show airtime balance remaining
11/12/2013

Customer review by newgadgetgeek

4.0 stars 11/12/2013 by newgadgetgeek
by newgadgetgeek

Does not show airtime balance remaining or service date expiration. Your have to go online to Tracfone to check balance. If you do that from your phone it will cost you time and data. Just bought the phone yesterday, and so far that is my only complaint.

Was this review helpful? (47) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newgadgetgeek
new orleans, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gotta get something else
4/9/2014

Customer review by Florida32539

1.0 stars 4/9/2014 by Florida32539
by Florida32539

This is the worst Tracfone I have ever had. Personally, I would sooner have one of the 14.95 units than this thing. Unfortunately, I bought 2! One for my wife and one for me. Neither of us like it and I came on tonight to see what other units are now available because these MUST go. The main problem is it is EXTREMELY user UNFRIENDLY. The only thing I found to work well and with ease was the Wifi and checking my email while at work. It also DOES NOT have the typical minute and time display that all other Tracfones have built in so you never know when to go buy additional minutes. Hence, running out at the worst time! We have had them about 6 months. At first, I thought it would be just a matter of time and we will both get use to them and how to get the most out of them. NEVER HAPPENED. The longer we had the the more we disliked them. Tonight my wife and I agreed...they MUST be replaced. Save your money and buy a cheaper Tracfone or a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (60) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Florida32539
Crestview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Phone Smarter Than I am
10/11/2014

Customer review by NeedNicknameNoOneElseHas

4.0 stars 10/11/2014 by NeedNicknameNoOneElseHas
by NeedNicknameNoOneElseHas

The phone does what it says it will do. I am just not sure how to use all the bells and whistles it has. It uses the WIFI fine. On a recent trip from AR to TX apps helped with finding stores, hotels, gas stations and campgrounds. TracFone Usages app even works great which I was apprehensive in loading because of negative reviews on it. Don't think it used data or text time to give me the info.. Really need extensive and advanced tutorial on how to use it. Basic one got me started now need more training but that is not the phone's problem. Can't say if it is a Data Usage hog because I have nothing to compare it to, this is my first Android phone, but it only used 59 minutes/units of data on my 6 day trip. Like that you can turn GPS, Data, and WIFI off if you do not want the phone to use them but still leave the phone on to get or make calls. Need to be aware that it uses Verizon towers, have trouble getting strong signal at home. (Not like old LG850g that used AT&T.) I had no problems on trip getting strong signal but kept to Interstates. Happy with phone so far.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeedNicknameNoOneElseHas
Northern Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Less than expected.
7/4/2014

Customer review by chickadeeB

3.0 stars 7/4/2014 by chickadeeB
by chickadeeB

I just purchased this phone. I'd read online reviews which were pretty good except on the Walmart site, so I took a chance. The phone itself is fine, and the activation was fairly easy and prompt but I had to do it by phone, as online it was just a nightmare. The biggest two issues are that 1. The key board is so small, it takes me forever to type a message, and there is no app to enlarge it. 2. The wifi is a good feature, but TEXTS ARE NOT APPLICABLE for the wifi. So, any message you receive or send, or checking your balance uses up your text allowance. That in itself is one reason to stay away from this phone. And that is the only negative point of having the triple minutes feature. I still have all my call minutes, and save my media minutes by using wifi, but I do more texting than either one of those so this is a major issue for me. I regret my choice and would suggest you try something different. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (48) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chickadeeB
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Huawei h868C is awful
8/15/2014

Customer review by sequimboy

1.0 stars 8/15/2014 by sequimboy
by sequimboy

I usually takes me two or three times to dial a number even with the big numbers keyboard without the wrong digit showing or starting dialing before I had finished. The Bluetooth connection drops shortly after connecting in our new CR-V Honda. The previous Tracfones worked perfectly. My wife who is less computer literate gave up and is trying to go back to the previous phone. The problem is the sim card is apparently a one time thing and she would have to wait until she received a new one in the mail, so we bought a new phone. She lost all of her previous minutes in the transfer and we are still waiting for activation so we can add the newly purchased minutes. Apparently that can take up to 2 business days. Since it is Friday that means 4 days. I have a garmin edge 800 cycling computer with a small touch screen and it works flawlessly in case you think I am just a klucks. As a long term customer of Tracfone I am thoroughly disappointed. Stay away from the smart phone offered by Tracfone even though they reduced the price by half of what I paid.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sequimboy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Almost what I needed
12/18/2013

Customer review by PropMgr2

3.0 stars 12/18/2013 by PropMgr2
by PropMgr2

This is my first smart phone. I expected good area coverage and am VERY Happy with that. However, there are some issues with memory allocation and use. I bought a high end microSD card and the phone recognizes it, but the storage graphic does not change after moving apps to it. I have to keep moving apps to the card as with updates and app downloads the phone runs to " insufficient memory" every time.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PropMgr2
waynesboro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just Purchased Yesterday
10/31/2013

Customer review by Luvdeals1

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Luvdeals1
by Luvdeals1

I just purchased this phone yesterday so I'm not familiar with all the bell and whistles yet. I can't give a fair rating but will hope it's a great phone. I have always had Tracfone's because of the inexpensive phone cards. My previous phone is an LG840 and I found it was a bit small to handle and I had to use a pencil tip to text. That became slow and old. The 840 phone is quick to respond, easy to send photos, but the 840 didn't download to my computer via a cord like the Hauwei will. I bought a phone card for the new phone but hadn't even registered the phone or added any air time and found with my home WiFi I was able to get on the web and send texts with out a card. That is nice and will save minutes on phone cards. I was a little disappointed in the screen size 3.5" and the phone size 4.25". A 5" phone would be nice even though that is only 3/4" larger. WM says they will let you try the phone for 2 weeks and if you don't like it you can return or exchange it. The extra warranty is only $9.00 which is affordable. I'm looking forward to having a web phone, although the screen is small.

Was this review helpful? (63) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luvdeals1
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The worst phone I have ever had!
2/18/2014

Customer review by dontwaistyourmoney

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by dontwaistyourmoney
by dontwaistyourmoney

When I first got this phone it was great!but,It was my first android also.After about a month it started freezing all the time.I had to take my battery out and put it back in atleast 3 times a day.When I get ready to make a call my phone doesnt dial it waits atleast 2 minutes then it starts dialing by then Ive punched in the number or hit the phone symbol a few times and when it does go through and I hang up it starts dialing that number back as many times as I pushed the phone button..Im so sick of this phone I could smash it!!I DONT recommend this phone!!Save your hard earned money and spend a little more for a better phone.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dontwaistyourmoney
Ft Ashby WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Most unhandy smart phone
2/1/2014

Customer review by Moboney

1.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Moboney
by Moboney

I have had 4 smart phones before this one and the Huawei I own is the most quirky phone I ever owned. It does not ever work the same way twice in a row, just does it's own thing no matter how I have set it. Might just be a bad one, but I am going to bite the bullet, pitch it and get another brand even though it is only 3 months old. Total waste of money for me.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moboney
Willard, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice Phone
1/9/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is A great phone and for tracfone its great meets my expectations. To anyone who gets this phone I recommend you get A 8gig micro SD card or higher for apps and things like that A 16gig is great. I recommend this phone to anyone who likes tracfone and or is A little tech savy it A really nice phone. does everything I need and more. only had it for A week or less but no regrets buying it. Thanks tracfone for A quality android phone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Petersburg PA 16669
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not good for a lot of texting
12/26/2013

Customer review by CanceLing

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by CanceLing
by CanceLing

Bought this phone for my son. Thought it would be a great phone for him. Very disappointed that nowhere on the box did it say that you only get so many texts with each card. We found out the hard way, when he received a text say insuffient funds. This was not the case with his old phone. Not a good phone for anyone who texts frequently. Also it was a pain to set up as it got deactivated after we had activated it and we had to call Tracfone to have it reactivated.

Was this review helpful? (18) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CanceLing
pratt, ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Debating returning to my basic phone an LG 840.
6/27/2014

Customer review by Doesiri

3.0 stars 6/27/2014 by Doesiri
by Doesiri

Disappointing. Keyboard is much smaller and most fingers are likely to make more mistakes trying to type on it. Even rotating it to landscape did not help much. A combination pen/stylus did not make it much better. Camera does a one shot zoom. My basic let me zoom in increments; much more amenable toward getting the photo I want. You must be sure you turn everything off you are not using or the MB's run up fast. My first smartphone, but I can do most if not all aspects on my iPad, and even larger. Not likely to use data much. The phone cost the same as my basic with the capacity to use data, texting, and internet, so for the same price there is more I can do if I need it, or if I want to get into using the phone like a pad or a mini-computer.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doesiri
Detroit MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Most affordable and functional Android Tracfone!
12/18/2013

Customer review by MonkeyKing92130

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by MonkeyKing92130
by MonkeyKing92130

I love it. I love it. I love it. Smart phone for the masses.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MonkeyKing92130
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews