Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
20
1-20 of 99 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
My first smartphone and I love it.
12/14/2013

Customer review by LeeMT

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by LeeMT
by LeeMT
Top 500 contributor

Have had no issues with this phone. Installed apps from the phone itself and directly at the Google Play website from my computer, with no problems. The only reason I do not give it five stars is, unlike my previous flip-phone, this Tracphone device does not give you your minutes and service balance. For that, you must go to the Tracfone website, and even though you can get your balance there, it still sends you a text, which does cost you. Unlike my old flip-phone, you do not have the option of deleting texts without opening them and getting charged for them. Transferring my old number to the new phone was easy, the recording said it would take from an hour to a full day. There was no notification from either phone when the transfer/activation was complete, so I have no idea how long it took - maybe a couple of hours? Instructions for phone use lack detail, I self-taught myself most of its functions. Still, a great phone and great value from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (176) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeeMT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
First smart phone, great to learn on, good value
8/12/2014

Customer review by Kaeten

4.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Kaeten
by Kaeten

This is my first smartphone. Bought in January and struggled a bit. The online tutorial is ok, but trial and error is faster. Now, I whip through whatever I need. The only down side that I have is the downloaded application allotment. It fills up fast. Chrome wants to install updates and you are out of space every time. So, got rid of Chrome and voila, problem solved. Reception is better than any cell phone that I have used so far. This is the only phone I have had in which I don't have to go outside my home to talk on. It is nice not having to stand in the middle of the street. The wi-fi usage is great. I am not much for texting (would rather TALK to friends) so the text issues that most have don't apply to me. The bluetooth was easy to set up with my car. I wanted a phone with more options that just a plain cell - this one works. Tracfone has an app for balance, etc. Like I said, this is my first smartphone, so it works great for me without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (69) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaeten
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone!
11/28/2013

Customer review by Rick145

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by Rick145
by Rick145

I have had this phone for 2 weeks and it has performed quite well for this level of phone (entry level). This is my first smartphone and it has not had any trouble doing what I have tried to do. Some of the more complex web pages are slow to load and scroll but no more so than my daughter's $200 LG phone. Call clarity has been good and I have found no places with no signal yet, even with some vacation travelling. Total storage for apps is low (a little over 300MB for apps not preinstalled I think#, but it automatically stores parts of some larger apps in other internal memory #almost 2GB I think). Micro SD up to 32GB should be plenty for music, photos, video, etc. Runs all apps fine so far, but I have not put any huge apps on it because of the memory issue. No dropped calls or missed texts. Battery should be around 5 hours with heavy use, at least 10 days standby with wifi and data off. I would definitely buy this phone again, and with my typical use Tracfone service should cost me around $15 per month - for a smartphone - WOW!!!

Was this review helpful? (156) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rick145
Fayetteville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Phone Smarter Than I am
10/11/2014

Customer review by NeedNicknameNoOneElseHas

4.0 stars 10/11/2014 by NeedNicknameNoOneElseHas
by NeedNicknameNoOneElseHas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The phone does what it says it will do. I am just not sure how to use all the bells and whistles it has. It uses the WIFI fine. On a recent trip from AR to TX apps helped with finding stores, hotels, gas stations and campgrounds. TracFone Usages app even works great which I was apprehensive in loading because of negative reviews on it. Don't think it used data or text time to give me the info.. Really need extensive and advanced tutorial on how to use it. Basic one got me started now need more training but that is not the phone's problem. Can't say if it is a Data Usage hog because I have nothing to compare it to, this is my first Android phone, but it only used 59 minutes/units of data on my 6 day trip. Like that you can turn GPS, Data, and WIFI off if you do not want the phone to use them but still leave the phone on to get or make calls. Need to be aware that it uses Verizon towers, have trouble getting strong signal at home. (Not like old LG850g that used AT&T.) I had no problems on trip getting strong signal but kept to Interstates. Happy with phone so far.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeedNicknameNoOneElseHas
Northern Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gotta get something else
4/9/2014

Customer review by Florida32539

1.0 stars 4/9/2014 by Florida32539
by Florida32539

This is the worst Tracfone I have ever had. Personally, I would sooner have one of the 14.95 units than this thing. Unfortunately, I bought 2! One for my wife and one for me. Neither of us like it and I came on tonight to see what other units are now available because these MUST go. The main problem is it is EXTREMELY user UNFRIENDLY. The only thing I found to work well and with ease was the Wifi and checking my email while at work. It also DOES NOT have the typical minute and time display that all other Tracfones have built in so you never know when to go buy additional minutes. Hence, running out at the worst time! We have had them about 6 months. At first, I thought it would be just a matter of time and we will both get use to them and how to get the most out of them. NEVER HAPPENED. The longer we had the the more we disliked them. Tonight my wife and I agreed...they MUST be replaced. Save your money and buy a cheaper Tracfone or a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (67) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Florida32539
Crestview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Tracfone Yet!
6/29/2014

Customer review by Idunnonothin

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by Idunnonothin
by Idunnonothin

I have used Tracfones for many years and this is my favorite thus far. It has all the functionality of all the other smart phones out there in this class; WiFi, 3G, texting, browsing, Android apps, GPS, etc. This phone has a camera that is functional and not much more. If I want to take photos, I'll use my DSLR. While the keyboard can be a little difficult for old, fat fingers like mine, I would have the same problem on any other phone as well. I suppose you could always connect a blue-tooth keyboard if you really wanted to make a go of it. My phone is on the Verizon network and it has not failed to connect me in any location that I have traveled. I admit I am not a heavy cell phone user, which is probably true for many Tracfone customers, so I buy the annual card and the triple minutes/text/data associated with owning phone keeps me going all year long.

Was this review helpful? (160) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Idunnonothin
Methuen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not enough space!!!
6/29/2015

Customer review by Jamie

3.0 stars 6/29/2015 by Jamie
by Jamie

Cons: You can only have a few apps downloaded. Then you cannot download any more apps unless you delete some of them. Plus when you try to update your apps the same thing happens, not enough space. So you try to delete some of the apps that come with the phone, the one that you NEVER use you cannot delete them. SO you buy a sd card no higher then 32GB. Because then the card will not work. So you try to move the apps to sd card, and you will find out that 9 out of 10 you try will not move. Even the ones that say move to sd card, will not even move. Unless you hack your phone, you are stuck with no space on your phone. Pros: Good thing is the signal!!! Great signal, I get to use my phone anywhere. Even in dead zones!! If I do not get a signal, I move to steps and I have bars!!! Another thing is the 3 times on the phone. If I get a 60 minutes card. I get 60 x 3 = talking minutes, 60 x 3 = texting minutes, and 60 x 3 = data minutes to surf the web. And when you are on wifi, its does not eat my minutes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great phone
1/20/2014

Customer review by ggsgrandma

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by ggsgrandma
by ggsgrandma

I purchased this because my old Tracfone finally died. I have never had a smart phone, so this was a great choice for me. Mine came with triple minutes, so every time I load a card, I have triple minutes for talk, text and data. I'm not a heavy cell phone user, so has been great for me. No dropped calls. tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/tracfone/home.seam?locale=en_US&deviceId=1254&cid=992568. This is the website for this particular phone. I found it to be pretty useful with several of the things that aren't in the book. Tracfone's big problem is their customer support....it isn't very good and you really have to search to find answers. When I transferred my number, it took me about 30 minutes with the representative and it was done. I agree that a large volume scan disk for this phone is very useful. This is a great first smart phone and I love the "no contract" with it.

Was this review helpful? (61) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggsgrandma
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
The Huawei h868C is awful
8/15/2014

Customer review by sequimboy

1.0 stars 8/15/2014 by sequimboy
by sequimboy

I usually takes me two or three times to dial a number even with the big numbers keyboard without the wrong digit showing or starting dialing before I had finished. The Bluetooth connection drops shortly after connecting in our new CR-V Honda. The previous Tracfones worked perfectly. My wife who is less computer literate gave up and is trying to go back to the previous phone. The problem is the sim card is apparently a one time thing and she would have to wait until she received a new one in the mail, so we bought a new phone. She lost all of her previous minutes in the transfer and we are still waiting for activation so we can add the newly purchased minutes. Apparently that can take up to 2 business days. Since it is Friday that means 4 days. I have a garmin edge 800 cycling computer with a small touch screen and it works flawlessly in case you think I am just a klucks. As a long term customer of Tracfone I am thoroughly disappointed. Stay away from the smart phone offered by Tracfone even though they reduced the price by half of what I paid.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sequimboy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Less than expected.
7/4/2014

Customer review by chickadeeB

3.0 stars 7/4/2014 by chickadeeB
by chickadeeB

I just purchased this phone. I'd read online reviews which were pretty good except on the Walmart site, so I took a chance. The phone itself is fine, and the activation was fairly easy and prompt but I had to do it by phone, as online it was just a nightmare. The biggest two issues are that 1. The key board is so small, it takes me forever to type a message, and there is no app to enlarge it. 2. The wifi is a good feature, but TEXTS ARE NOT APPLICABLE for the wifi. So, any message you receive or send, or checking your balance uses up your text allowance. That in itself is one reason to stay away from this phone. And that is the only negative point of having the triple minutes feature. I still have all my call minutes, and save my media minutes by using wifi, but I do more texting than either one of those so this is a major issue for me. I regret my choice and would suggest you try something different. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (48) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chickadeeB
Would recommend to a friend? No
cost effective functionality
1/12/2016

Customer review by jammer0625

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by jammer0625
by jammer0625

inexpensive low end smart phone. great for the kids.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jammer0625
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT enough memory for more than 2 apps
1/28/2016

Customer review by Barb

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Barb
by Barb

This phone's only problem is a very significant one. There is NOT enough memory on the phone to download more than a couple apps of your choice. The purchased/inserted 32G SD card is not an option for solving this problem. First, the app has to be downloaded to the phone and then I can transfer it to the SD card. BUT, the phone is incapable of taking it in the first place. When I attempted to set it up to download the apps by 'default' to the SD card, I have to allow anyone and everyone access to my phone... basically leaving me unprotected.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/30/2016

Good morning, Barb. Please send an email to TracfoneBV@Tracfone.com in order for us to assist you with your issue.

Barb
Would recommend to a friend? No
It's ok
2/2/2016

Customer review by Liza

3.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Liza
by Liza

It's a good phone the only problem I had it's that I could transfer the old number to the new phone. But above all that the phone is good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Liza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Phone
3/3/2014

Customer review by FUZZZ

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by FUZZZ
by FUZZZ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned a Tracfone for many years and thought now is the time to get my first "smart Phone". I am not really Tech savvy, but I do understand a few things about computers, phones, etc. I have read the reviews of the other Tracfone Smart phones and decided on this one because of it's processor size. I have owned this phone for one month and am learning about and how to use Apps, Widgits, Bluetooth and Wifi on this phone. There is a really helpful site on how to use the phone called "Straight Talk Huawei H868C" (Walmart), it has answered all my questions I have about operating this phone. I am very pleased with the preformance and the looks are really cool (old person term). The only thing I am disappointed with in this phone is that it doesn't have a flash with the camera, but I knew that when I purchased it. This phone costs me only $100.00 a year to operate as I use it sparingly as I have with my other Tracfones. You get 1200 minutes with the purchase a year card. If you have access to a wireless internet connection (WIFI) you can use it and not use up any of your purchased data from Tracfone, cool again.. I realize this is not a high end phone, but it fits my phone budget perfectly, it has Internet connection, Mp3 player, FM radio, phone, camera and the reception in rural Wisconsin has been great. I strongly recommend this phone to others, and yes...even friends.

Was this review helpful? (78) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FUZZZ
Rice Lake, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love my new phone
2/1/2016

Customer review by Cindy

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Cindy
by Cindy

Easy to use.Has speaker.Uou can listen to radio,without usuing minutes.Comes with triple minutes always.Battery seems fine. Camera is o.K.I like it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ease of use
2/1/2016

Customer review by Bopz

3.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Bopz
by Bopz

I find the phone is too complicated but maybe with more use it will perform ok.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bopz
Would recommend to a friend? No
great item
1/30/2016

Customer review by ghostwatcher

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by ghostwatcher
by ghostwatcher

This is great ,easy to do and lots of choice for apps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ghostwatcher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stay away from Huawei
1/24/2014

Customer review by GGsquirrel

1.0 stars 1/24/2014 by GGsquirrel
by GGsquirrel

I wouldn't buy another item from Huawei. At first we loved our phones too. But it became clear that there was a problem with the phones after the 8 month mark when the phone would not boot up at all until we did a "hard" factory reboot which looses all the text and contact information. The Huawei rep informed us they knew for quite some time that there is a software glitch in there phones, but continued to sell them. We were informed to buy a new phone. We asked if there is the same or similar problem with the new phones and the rep said, "yes". Why would we buy another one of the same brand if they don't stand behind their product?

Was this review helpful? (90) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGsquirrel
Colorado Springs,CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice
1/24/2016

Customer review by jerry

4.0 stars 1/24/2016 by jerry
by jerry

cant beat this , for what it cost

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Purchased Yesterday
10/31/2013

Customer review by Luvdeals1

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Luvdeals1
by Luvdeals1

I just purchased this phone yesterday so I'm not familiar with all the bell and whistles yet. I can't give a fair rating but will hope it's a great phone. I have always had Tracfone's because of the inexpensive phone cards. My previous phone is an LG840 and I found it was a bit small to handle and I had to use a pencil tip to text. That became slow and old. The 840 phone is quick to respond, easy to send photos, but the 840 didn't download to my computer via a cord like the Hauwei will. I bought a phone card for the new phone but hadn't even registered the phone or added any air time and found with my home WiFi I was able to get on the web and send texts with out a card. That is nice and will save minutes on phone cards. I was a little disappointed in the screen size 3.5" and the phone size 4.25". A 5" phone would be nice even though that is only 3/4" larger. WM says they will let you try the phone for 2 weeks and if you don't like it you can return or exchange it. The extra warranty is only $9.00 which is affordable. I'm looking forward to having a web phone, although the screen is small.

Was this review helpful? (64) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luvdeals1
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews