Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

109 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

109 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
28
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 109 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews
So far so good.............
10/11/2013

Customer review by Cableguy4all2c

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by Cableguy4all2c
by Cableguy4all2c

The reason why I am writing this review is because, during my quest in searching for the right phone I depended on what people said in there review of the item. I've had my Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C for about 3 days now, and so far so good. The only issue I had was when I tried to have my number ported to Straight Talk. And I'm not blaming ST for this problem. I did the activation process online and during one of the steps I must have screwed up. So my bad. Other than that the phone is great. I will update this review in a few more days. cableguy4all2c / Portland, Oregon

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cableguy4all2c
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
First smart is excellent
12/20/2013

Customer review by Ohcamper

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Ohcamper
by Ohcamper

This reviewer purchased the the refurbished Galaxy Proclaim and $45. service card on the Straight talk phone website for $58.17 total.The phone came with charger and .2GB card. Using a galaxy tablet made the transition to a smart phone easier. as described in previous reviews the Verizion towers are used. I have excellent coverage in central Florida.family members have good service in Ohio .with straight talk using the galaxy Centrum. I have had NO PROBLEMS with this phone,coverage or loading apps. I agree with other reviewers that battery life is short and needs charged frequently but is not a problem for me. I purchased the phone as a trial before i cancel my Verizon in 30 days. after useage for 3 weeks I really like the phone. I definatley will save money when I drop verizon and I feel I,ll have the same quality. Straight talk is a good decesion for me

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ohcamper
Central FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love my Proclaim
11/29/2013

Customer review by meow514

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by meow514
by meow514

I have had this phone for 7-8 months and I love it! I am able to get on facebook, pinterest, play games and surf the web with no problems. Phone calls come in and out great, and the texts are great. We also live in a small town in the middle of nowhere (the cars are our neighbors) and I have no reception problems at all. I have had no problems and would recommend this phone to all.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meow514
Akron, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Good execpt for Battery usage.
10/20/2013

Customer review by DWade52

4.0 stars 10/20/2013 by DWade52
by DWade52

A great Smart Phone for Less than 50.00 plus you get a month worth of service. Works on Verizon's network. If you've never had a smart phone this is the way to go so you can learn how they work.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DWade52
Casa Grande, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for a beginner to smartphones.
12/29/2013

Customer review by JRods

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by JRods
by JRods

For my first smartphone, this phone is great! Easy to navigate through screens and apps. Also easy to learn how to use. The keyboard is small so it is challenging for texting, but phone has a voice-to-text feature so you can avoid typing text. My husband & I bought two phones online at Walmart.com for $55 each. The phones are refurbished at $10 each and each came with a $45 service plan card. We don't have any issues with them and they look brand new. Great price for great phones that work on Verizon towers! Can't be beat! We would highly recommend these phones, especially for first time smartphone users.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRods
Hixson, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a great value for an android phone!
1/14/2014

Customer review by Leon11

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Leon11
by Leon11

I bought this value package of a Samsung Galaxy with an airtime card. I figured, since it was basically only buying a monthly airtime card, and getting the phone for about ten bucks, it wasn't too much ritsk about it being a refurbished unit. So what did I get? Just as well be a brand new phone! Absolutely, near perfect condition. No scratches, fully functional, comes with a one year warranty. I got this phone as an extra phone for in case my other one stops working or gets broken. I already have this same phone that I bought brand new a couple years ago. I paid $150 for it new. So now you can get the same new phone for ten bucks? What a deal! I highly recommend this to whoever would like a good starter android phone.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leon11
Chatham, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Battery Life Problem Solution
2/2/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I received my proclaim last week and it drained the battery dead repeatedly in about 4hrs without even using it. The dialer was using the battery all of the time even though I never even placed a call. I called straight talk and they refused to honor the warranty because it was still under Wal-Mart's 15 day policy. So, before I sent it back I scanned the internet for possible fixes to this problem as many other customers were reporting the same issue. I found a site that reported the phone was not shutting down the apps properly before going into standby mode. The site recommended downloading the Task Manager App from Rhythm Software which has an auto kill list of apps that it kills when the screen shuts off. I added the dialer app to the auto kill list and the phone has worked great every since. I really like this phone so for anyone experiencing battery life problems it may be worth trying this solution before returning this item as straight talk can not provide an identical replacement and will offer to send you a Galaxy Centura.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Short battery life
11/8/2013

Customer review by Canopyfan2

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by Canopyfan2
by Canopyfan2

Overall I enjoy this phone with Android 2.3 with it's 1GB of onboard app storage and it accepts a 32GB microsd card, adequate for all that I do. I like that the microsd slot placement is external. The phone lacks an external message indicator and battery life is very very short. It came with a 4GB microsd card. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canopyfan2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Top 10 contributor
read below
10/28/2013

Customer review by ichoose2nothaveanickname

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by ichoose2nothaveanickname
by ichoose2nothaveanickname

This phone runs on verizon towers. it came with a 2gb micro sd card.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ichoose2nothaveanickname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for the value
1/24/2014

Customer review by STI9

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by STI9
by STI9

Excellent phone for about $54 with $45 card included. That's about $14 for the phone. It works on the verizon/3G. I tested internet speed at about 1mbps - download. The phone was like new. The battery holds charge for about a day using internet, light applications. Youtube plays fine. Good deal. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STI9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This phone does work in my area 29532!
11/15/2013

Customer review by terisue53

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by terisue53
by terisue53

I have one and the spec says it will not work in area 29532. Wrong! I have one and it works fine. Why does it say it does not. Do you not wNt people to purchase the deals or what?????

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
terisue53
Darlington, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed
12/10/2013

Customer review by Flyinfree1968

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Flyinfree1968
by Flyinfree1968

I have a 3 year old Samsung semi-smart phone which met my needs at the time but I wanted to be able to do more on my phone without the cost of a more expensive Galaxy. I actually had a Galaxy S4 but it was way too big. It did tons but it was more than I needed and wanted. I just got my Proclaim and I'm waiting for my old phone card to expire before I switch my number over to the new phone in a few days so I can't review how much of the phone part works but just playing around with what is there, it's a lot like my old phone but upgraded so I don't think I will have any problems using it. It has 5 home screens which is 2 more than my old phone and I won't use them all. Getting used to the widgets and menus. I'm looking forward to downloading apps and this has a larger screen so I will be able to use the browser more and be able to see it. You can't beat the value Straight Talk gives you for $45 a month. Very happy!

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flyinfree1968
Selinsgrove, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I defiantly recommend this phone
11/5/2013

Customer review by lovingmommy2013

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by lovingmommy2013
by lovingmommy2013

This phone highly meets my expectations for sure. I had another straight talk phone before this one and would always lose service when I went into my kids school but with this Samsung galaxy proclaim I have service no matter what. It definitely has some new and different features that I absolutely love .

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovingmommy2013
Havana,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not recommend a refurbished phone of this model
2/4/2014

Customer review by mom2265

1.0 stars 2/4/2014 by mom2265
by mom2265

I received a "free" (just had to buy a phone card for $45) refurbished phone to replace my original Galaxy Proclaim because it would not charge anymore. The phone turns off because it says it needs to be charged when it says it is fully charged! I love Straight Talk, but if you have a problem with your phone, you have to send it back before they will send you a new one and you won't have a phone until they do.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2265
Culpeper, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a bargain!!!
12/17/2013

Customer review by Mopicker

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Mopicker
by Mopicker

I couldnt pass this deal up. With the $45.00 card your getting the phone for under $15.00 including tax and free shipping. This is my very first smartphone. I'm very happy with it so far. Memory and speed seem great for me so far. I was even able to download a very large app to the provided 2MB card. I have installed many free apps from the google play store with no problems. The camera and video qaulity are lacking but adequate. For 15 bucks....i say there pretty good! Thank you Verizon and Straight Talk.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mopicker
Washington, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice
10/29/2013

Customer review by Carolinahome

3.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Carolinahome
by Carolinahome

The charger does not work as good as expected it charges sometimes sometimes it dont .

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carolinahome
annabell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not bad - I'm a newbie
11/9/2013

Customer review by HeidiHoHoHo

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by HeidiHoHoHo
by HeidiHoHoHo

I've been too cheap to buy into the whole smartphone deal.... This expands all options!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeidiHoHoHo
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good starter smart phone
11/6/2013

Customer review by Muddhead

3.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Muddhead
by Muddhead

I got spoiled by my iPhone 4S, but this is a great smartphone for the price. Sometimes web browsing can get a little glitchy but I'm happy with it. If you're hard to please then spend the extra and get an iPhone or Galaxy S3.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Muddhead
Jonesborough,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smart phone
2/5/2014

Customer review by cootnbear

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by cootnbear
by cootnbear

I already own this phone that I bought almost 2 years ago brand new. I got this one because I wanted a back up since my phone is getting some age on it and I like the way this phone works. I haven't had any bad things to say about this phone except of course the battery life. Other then that this is one awesome smartphone. It works just as good as any phone that I have had on Verizon but it is so much less expensive to operate then Verizon using Straight talk. I don't think I will go back to a contract phone again. When I got this phone as a refurbished phone I didn't know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised and happy. It came with another phone card, which I needed any way. I like having a back up just in case. And it didn't cost me the full price like the first one. I would totally recommend anyone wanting to try out or to have an extra phone to get a refurbished one first.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cootnbear
Nashville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good, But the reason why it lost a star...
1/23/2014

Customer review by mandyc67

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by mandyc67
by mandyc67

It is a great app lover! Play any apps basically, like Spotify, Facebook, Candy Crush, etc... Even though I'm young, I would recommend to anyone. Camera has no flash, no auto focus, hard to take pictures. Don't leave data on because it will burn your battery! Wifi is ok. Last but not least, they more you use it and get used to it, the more it will begin to get slower. It will drop calls or call the wrong person. Those are my doubts for this phone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mandyc67
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews