Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 151 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

151 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

151 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
43
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
41
1-20 of 151 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews
Excellent Value
9/21/2014

Customer review by TNman2

5.0 stars 9/21/2014 by TNman2
by TNman2

If you desire a phone to talk and text this fits the need and it is cheap. It arrived early than projected. WM site to store was perfect at store 0698. A big improvement over presvious experiences. It has good voice quality and easy to connect to network. I needed no help and had it working in 10 minutes. I am not a slave to a remote phone and use it for basic communication. I have a phone to serve me not me be a slave to the phone. This one does that and it has Internet access I doubt I will ever use again after testing it works. I use a PC for Internet and a 17" screen is as small as I want to watch what I do. This refurbished was so well done I could not find any difference from a new one. If you have to have the latest phone model you will not be happy with this phone. If you want a working phone with good voice and text capability you will be pleased.

Was this review helpful? (107) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNman2
Cleveland TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great basic keyboard phone for texting and calling
11/8/2013

Customer review by LovesToDoodle

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by LovesToDoodle
by LovesToDoodle

This is the second one of these I've bought. If all you want is a cheap phone for calling and texting, this is a great value. The camera is very low resolution, but okay for the occasions when you just want to communicate and don't care about picture quality. I dropped my old one numerous times but it never broke. After about a year and a half some of the keys started sticking, which is why I replaced it, but being accident-prone, that's much longer than I got out of my previous phones. I've never cared for the internet on this phone, but if all you want from your phone is calling and texting, this phone fits the bill. This is NOT the phone to buy if you want something to play games on, surf the internet, etc.

Was this review helpful? (84) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesToDoodle
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the Price
7/24/2014

Customer review by BT2014

4.0 stars 7/24/2014 by BT2014
by BT2014

The text messaging program, which is why I switched from a flip phone, is not as user friendly as even my old flip phone. You have to stop when you reach 160 words and send the text and then re-enter the program to continue on with the text message. I did not have any problems setting it up. There is a book you can download from Straight Talk, for the phone, which I did later. One good thing is the Straight Talk Technical Department. Had trouble linking the phone to my wifi account since I set it up by phone versus internet. There is never a long wait time to speak to a technician with Straight Talk. (We have to fix my wifi every couple of months, usually after updates, and they are very knowledgeable.) I did not buy the phone for internet so I cannot comment on this feature. Rings loud and works with my car's Bluetooth. Talked for an hour, while driving on interstate, clear reception.

Was this review helpful? (64) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BT2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Voice Volume is practically non-existent
5/12/2014

Customer review by permanentnicknamename

2.0 stars 5/12/2014 by permanentnicknamename
by permanentnicknamename

My husband and my son got this phone brand new because of the querty keyboard. A querty makes texting much easier and faster. It worked for them for a while and then it got to the point where I couldn't call my husband anymore, I would have to text him instead because even though the calls would connect, I couldn't hear him on the other end, but he could hear me. So we replaced it with this refurbished one. Within a week, the same thing was happening. The reason I gave 2 stars instead of one is because I can still hear my son on his phone, but keep in mind, his was the brand new product. I would imagine that prices change, but for me when I bought this refurbished deal, it meant that I paid a little over $5.00 for the phone and got the $30.00 back with the prepaid card, but the phone is not even worth 5 bucks if you can't talk on it!

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
permanentnicknamename
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad if you dont expect too much
11/5/2013

Customer review by Lucky333

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Lucky333
by Lucky333

Its a good basic phone but you should not expect more than what you paid for. It has all the basic features you need and are used to from non android phones. In my case I don't need too much. The most important features to me are text and calling, alarm, calculator, contacts and calendar. It does have a camera which compared with what you can get in a phone nowadays is abysmal BUT as I said you get what you paid for and its alright for snap shots. It functions well. I haven't had any problems writing, sending or receiving texts and mms. The sound and signal is good when making calls. The qwerty keyboard is definitely made for small fingers. It took me some time to get used to it because the keys are small and close together (Ive had a LG similar to this one in looks and the keys were much easier to use) so its easy to accidentally press keys you didn't mean to press which can be annoying but its not a deal breaker just a matter of getting used to it. I don't have as many problems with it now. The display quality could be better. Sometimes the harsh contrast makes it hard to look at especially if you access your facebook page through the browser (the blue text on blue background is hard to read). But again not a deal breaker just somewhat annoying in specific instances. Pros: QWERTY!!!, cheap, service through straight talk works great, camera for snap shots, long stand by time Cons: small keys, could have better display All in all I would say if you are looking for an affordable, budget, basic function phone which has a qwerty keyboard this is a good phone choice for you BUT if you are easily bothered by a sometimes glary display or don't have small fingers I would probably stay away from it. You get what you pay for and for me this is a perfect in between solution while I'm on a low budget. I will most likely switch back to an android phone once I can afford it again but for now I'm just happy I don't have to deal with T9 and I can use the phone with the straight talk $30 dollar plan which helps with my budget as well. PS: I do know there are other qwerty type basic phones out there. I dont know how this phone compares to others like it so I graded it specifically on how this one met my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lucky333
Waterloo IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Package
3/24/2014

Customer review by AfrugalJane

4.0 stars 3/24/2014 by AfrugalJane
by AfrugalJane

I was looking for an inexpensive cell phone service to replace a Verizon plan. Replacing Verizon is really impossible, great coverage, reliability and service. I just about gave up until I checked into Straight Talk, the first of these prepaid plans actually getting service at the house. Wal-Mart didn't have the phone I thought I wanted in store so I went online. Got a really good buy on a Samsung phone and $30 prepaid card. Phone is refurbished, in new condition, and carries a 1 year warranty. Had some problems activating the phone with my old number using the online service, I would call in this circumstance. I gave a 4* rating because I am new to the service and really need to explore. Not Verizon but pretty good so far! 5* for Wal-Mart my order was here 8 days early!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AfrugalJane
Wenatchee, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Butt Calls
12/7/2014

Customer review by CSN2U

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by CSN2U
by CSN2U

The open keypad made me question purchasing this phone. I was afraid of "butt calls", where the phone buttons get accidentally pushed, making unwanted calls from my back pocket, however, the keypad auto-locks. I was also concerned about the tiny keypads, but they pose no problem for me; I have average-sized man hands. They keypads are also slanted, in a way that makes typing a little easier. The excellent reception is what I expected, and it is what I got! Sound clarity is perfect. Battery life is very long. Ringtone is VERY loud. In fact, I had it on a vibrate volume, and it went off in church. It was at the back of the choir, and I was in the front. It was rather annoying because the hummm could be heard throughout the entire church. This phone is a winner. Did you hear me? .....A WINNER.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CSN2U
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Refurbished = Still Defective
3/24/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/24/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this phone as an upgrade to replace a phone I was still using. After activating the R375C on the straighttalk.com website and following the instructions (as I have on 4 other straight talk phones) the phone would not activate correctly. I was receiving texts and voicemails but when I would go to retrieve them the phone would flash "Activation Required". I called straight talk technical support for help and after various requests to dial *22890 to activate, reboot the phone, and the service person seeming to "push" things to the phone, nothing was working. I was told to "wait 4 hours" and try to make a call and if it still didn't work contact technical support again. When I called support after the 4 hours and after telling them my phone number I was told they had no record of it. My phone number was gone along with 40 days already purchased service with no way to recover it - all tech support could do was shrug their shoulders and say they were sorry. This problem has caused me to move on to another provider. ***Experience*** 13 Years Professional IT

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
On The Internet
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Cant see pictures at size of screen
8/18/2014

Customer review by justsomestuff

1.0 stars 8/18/2014 by justsomestuff
by justsomestuff

The wife wanted a basic phone that she should could call and text with. We looked at a few phones but the price on the package was amazing and we had read so much about the large clear screen. Problem is when you try to look at pictures that you have taken or that arrive via MMS they are centered on the screen and so tiny you can barely see them. I have been through every option and there is no way to make them larger for viewing so the large wonderful screen you read about is worthless. The only time you can see an image that fills the screen is when you make it a desktop picture. I would not buy this phone and am currently looking for another one for her.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justsomestuff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awful experience
4/18/2014

Customer review by NearLogan

1.0 stars 4/18/2014 by NearLogan
by NearLogan

I bought two of these phones as upgrades. I had trouble activation one and never could get the other one to activate. I spend all day on the phone with straight talk so now I have to send it back and wait for them to replace it. But before they will do that I have to send them back the phone! Worse of all, they couldn't reactivate my old phone because the sim card was now no good. So now I will wait for however long it takes to get a new phone while paying for the service. I have no confidence it will work either. The reason I wanted the upgrade in the first place was because I had heard these phones without the sim card used a different network. My service was getting so lousy that I had to redial calls or resend texts about ten times before they would go through. I am very dissatisfied and will be looking at alternatives to straight talk.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NearLogan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
straight talk refurbushed
8/16/2014

Customer review by mustangjimmy

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by mustangjimmy
by mustangjimmy

We've only had this about a week or so. It seems to be perfect for what we need. He is rough on phones as he works in asphalt...so for the money it suits him fine. Always been leary about buying refurbished phones, but it appears to be just like new. No complaints so far!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mustangjimmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good enough for who it's for
6/18/2014

Customer review by Churt

4.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Churt
by Churt

I ordered this phone for my son in another state that loses or breaks phones anyway. He received it at the local Walmart in good to new condition. He said it was a little difficult to get set up, but the Verizon service (towers) as it is, (and why I bought it) works inside the house he lives at, while others didn't. Call quality is good and clear on both ends. Reviews on this refurbished phone are mixed, but it was worth the other $10.00 and bonus change in Straight talk $30.00 service plan being 1500 minutes and unlimited texts now. I think it's totally wrong people can't use a smart phone with available wifi on this $30.00 plan and switch back and forth. I had Verizon prepaid years ago and the service worked well, where others didn't. But I gave up the higher service costs of Verizon's 'quality service' for AT&T basic 10 cents a minute with rollover and currently use on a Lumia 320 windows phone (without data plan) which costs me about $100.00 a year. There's always a trade off.

Was this review helpful? (33) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Churt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for the price...
4/18/2014

Customer review by BountyHuner

4.0 stars 4/18/2014 by BountyHuner
by BountyHuner

Great phone for the price. Loug ring, easy to hear calls.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BountyHuner
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
4/14/2014

Customer review by UCIL

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by UCIL
by UCIL

Received the phone in a like new condition. Walmart delivered to store sooner than the estimated date which is a big plus. Battery and the back cover of the unit were in sealed bags. The buttons are small but this is not an issue to me. Had problems using Straight Talk website to activate the phone and transfer my number to this phone. Straight Talk support was unable to solve the issue during the first contact. After the second try they were able to transfer my number and active this phone. Overall this is a good value because it fits my usage very well.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UCIL
Champaign, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone!
2/20/2014

Customer review by missvip

4.0 stars 2/20/2014 by missvip
by missvip

I bought this phone a couple of years ago. I didn't expect much because it is a pretty cheap phone - price wise. However, it's went above and beyond my expectations. After dropping it several times in water and dropping it in general - this phone is still working like the day I bought it. The only thing I don't like is that the internet is slow but you have to expect that, though. I usually get the $45 plan and have no issues with the plan, either. Auto pay always works flawlessly. This review has been written as part of a deed for the Straight Talk Rewards Club but all opinions are my own. Please visit straighttalk.fancorps.com to learn more.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missvip
Naylor, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
This phone is HORRIBLE! Tried it 2 times-HORRIBLE
11/5/2013

Customer review by wxyzq

1.0 stars 11/5/2013 by wxyzq
by wxyzq

We ordered 2 of these. one for the hubby and one for me. We have used straight talk for years now. Wanted to keep our old numbers. Well, First it was time for my hubby to renew. It took him 4 days to discover that the phone was defective. He spent HOURS on the phone with tech support. It was miserable for him and in the end he didn't have a phone for a week. When it came time for my phone to be renewed, I was SURE that his was an isolated incident. NOPE. I went through the exact same thing! I am currently on day 5 of no phone. So, after 5 days of callling tech support and being on hold etc, we gave up and decided to keep our old phones....well, tech support deleted my sim card! So they will replace it but by the time I finally get my phone back, it will be 2 weeks without a phone! Ridiculous!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wxyzq
wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Very good for work
7/13/2014

Customer review by Babymomma16

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by Babymomma16
by Babymomma16

I got this phone to take to work in case it got wet and I didn't want to ruin my IPhone. it got wet (not droped in water) and shut in a car door and don't have a scratch and it works fine.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Babymomma16
Oskaloosa IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Free sample received:Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone
11/21/2013

Customer review by neoizzy

4.0 stars 11/21/2013 by neoizzy
by neoizzy

The r375c is an all right phone. The keyboard is small for my hands, but you can't beat the price. So far so good. I'm a little hard of hearing and have no problem with this phone, clear and loud. When you pay $35.00 for a phone and get a 1 month card for $30.00 you can't complain.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neoizzy
VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great basic phone with full qwerty keyboard
11/27/2013

Customer review by SWVANewbie

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by SWVANewbie
by SWVANewbie

I moved into an area that did not have good AT&T coverage so I Googled a cdma Straight Talk phone through Walmart.com. I scanned down the list found my phone and purchased it. It shipped to store very promptly and they were very helpful when I went to pick it up. I have been very pleased. Good job guys! :D

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SWVANewbie
SW Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
phone wss defective
6/26/2014

Customer review by pammy466

1.0 stars 6/26/2014 by pammy466
by pammy466

I tried for three days to get phone activated. Talking to different operators at straight talk but no go. Finally took phone to Walmart for a refund and the sales associate could not get activated either so ended up getting full refund.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pammy466
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews