Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11926 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

11926 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

11926 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9780
4 stars
1846
3 stars
211
2 stars
41
1 stars
48
1-20 of 11924 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 11924 total reviews
1-20 of 11924 reviews
My cats' second favorite food
7/22/2014

Customer review by gimmeabreak4

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by gimmeabreak4
by gimmeabreak4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have 10 cats now, and they'd eat me out of house and home, but WalMart ships to my home for free with a $50 order, so why drive 40+ miles to the store and back??? Prices are the same, but no driving!! And gas isn't cheap, you know! Also, the store is often out of the bigger bags, but online never is!! Their other favorite is "Purina Cat Chow Complete". Why do I have 10 cats?? Because the local farmers shoot them when their numbers get too big...I'm the closest no-kill shelter, if they make it here! I worm them, and have them spayed and neutered at my horrible expense, and bring them inside every single night to keep the predators from having them for supper. I also have a rescued Doberman dog. God has kept me alive for 73 years with few problems, so I'm just paying Him back by caring for some of his smaller creatures. SPAY AND NEUTER YOUR PETS...IT'S THE HUMANE THING TO DO! Better for everyone involved.

Was this review helpful? (86) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gimmeabreak4
Cumberland, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fur is so much softer using Indoor Cat Chow!
10/26/2015

Customer review by AshleighB13

5.0 stars 10/26/2015 by AshleighB13
by AshleighB13

Using Indoor formula vs regular Cat Chow we've noticed our 3 cats are so much softer than before! Their fur coats are so nice & not course....which we thought was a cat thing but when a relative told us about the fur difference she noticed, we made the permanent switch to Indoor! Our 3 cats are indoor/outdoor & have always had Cat Chow dry food products. They 'free feed' always having a full bowl then once a day they share a can of wet food (which we've found also has differences as 1 cat pulls fur when eating the brand that starts with an F...) We are very happy to continue our cats on Indoor Cat Chow! There is no price checking or waiting for a sale - this food is what my cats love & they deserve what they want....speaking of price though the large bags are always our choice & are very reasonably priced! In addition to the softer fur, they don't bomb the cat box as bad as brands we used 6-7yrs ago! Lol TMI but with 3 cats that is a big deal! Having Cat Perks is just a BIG bonus!

AshleighB13
Mesa, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best cat food
6/1/2016

Customer review by ryuujin

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by ryuujin
by ryuujin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does not make them sick like the friskies indoor. Helps with hairball control very well. overall it is a very good cat food our ragdolls love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ryuujin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Already recommened
10/22/2015

Customer review by babydee

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by babydee
by babydee

I have been using Purina products for years and always seen how much my cats loved it and they were always healthy even there weight was good. About 5 years ago I adopted 2 cats brother and sister from the same litter. The girls had no problems at all but my boy had a sensitive stomach and the shelter told be he can only tolerated small hard food something easy to digest. So I bought chat chow indoor and they both loved it. I later switch to cat chow gentle it is even more gentle on his stomach. Well I have a friend who has 3 cats and she was complaining how her long haired cat always has hairball and they were all over the house. She would get her trimmed but it keep happening. The groomer recommended to her to try and change her food to something for hairball but her cat didn't like any of the expensive brands. So I took a bowl of cat chow indoor over to her and the cat loved it. So she purchased a large bag because all the cats love it and she said the hairball are not as bad.

babydee
Allentown, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Purina Cat Chow Indoor Cat Food 22 lb bag
5/12/2016

Customer review by MissCarol

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by MissCarol
by MissCarol

I have a lot of animals, cats mostly, but 2 dogs also I find it easier to leave the dry food out all of the time and they eat when they're hungry. It's a good product at a reasonable price and my animals like it. For me, the convenience of shopping online is huge for me. I have some health conditions that limit my mobility and also unable to lift heavy things. The fact that Walmart delivers to my door means I don't have to lift it off the shelf into my wagon then into my car then into my house is what I like the most.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissCarol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula
5/13/2014

Customer review by ABCDE

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by ABCDE
by ABCDE

This is a complete and balanced diet. I am a vet tech student and have learned so very much about the nutritional content of food as far as ingredients and labeling. The important aspects of this food: Turkey is the #1 ingredient. Cats are obligate carnivores and need meat, so this is good. Brewers rice and poultry by-product meal are NOT fillers. These ingredients are actually very nutritional for your cat! And most importantly, the AAFCO feeding label. EVERY pet food product should have an AAFCO label and if it doesn't, do not feed it to your pet!! This can be found under the ingredient list. Looking for this: "Animal feeding tests using Association of American Feed Control Official (AAFCO) procedures substantiate that (product name) provides complete and balanced nutriton for maintenance of (growth stage)." THIS IS THE IMPORTANT PART OF THE FOOD LABEL! Ingredient come secondary to this labeling. Purina meets all the requirements needed for a vet tech to feed this to her own cat :)

ABCDE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Indoor Formula worked for me
6/1/2014

Customer review by Dannielle

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Dannielle
by Dannielle

I have to feed our four cats Niggy, Sierra, Tom, and Sugar, but I don't always have a lot of money. So after trying multiple brands of cat food at mid-level prices, I finally found Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula. My cats, like almost all cats, have sensitive digestive systems and they get hairballs a lot. The kind of cat food you buy will definitely have an effect on hairballs and upset stomachs. All of the other cheaper indoor cat food won't control their stomachs as well, this is the only cheaper brand I have found that they can eat without it coming back up on occasion. Purina makes other more expensive cat food tat is even better, but if you are trying to make ends meet this kind is half the price with about the same quality. They carry this product at every major retailer and grocery store, or you can buy it many places online. Make sure you give this product a try before you waste your money on other similarly priced and comparable brands. It is the only value brand my cats can eat.

Dannielle
Belfry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great
7/16/2016

Customer review by crissyx5

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by crissyx5
by crissyx5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My cats love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crissyx5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hairballs No More
2/5/2015

Customer review by SammyMantha

5.0 stars 2/5/2015 by SammyMantha
by SammyMantha

I recently brought home a kitten and purchased Purina Kitten Chow for her. What I didn't expect was for my 8 year old cat to want to eat the kitten's food- Bella is a long haired cat and gets terrible hairballs, so she'd been eating a special, and expensive, formula to help combat them. When she began eating the kitten's food, she starting getting hairballs again. Nothing we did would get her to eat her own food, so I decided to mix the kitten's Kitten Chow with Purina's Indoor formula, which also says Hairball control. I'll admit I wasn't sure it would work, but since Bella has started eating the Kitten Chow/Indoor Formula combination, she's had significantly fewer and smaller hairballs. I have no doubt that once the kitten's old enough to stop needing the Kitten Chow, and we have only the Indoor Formula that Bella's hairballs will be even fewer and far between. If you have a long-haired cat who gets hairballs, I strongly recommend this product- it's effective but also easy on the wallet.

SammyMantha
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Cats do well with this product
7/13/2016

Customer review by Marilyn

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Marilyn
by Marilyn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cats do well with this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marilyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for my indoor and less active kitties...
8/28/2014

Customer review by RE4Lisa

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by RE4Lisa
by RE4Lisa

I have been using Cat Chow Indoor formula for 10 years or so for my indoor cats. I only feed wet food to dose medication...so Cat Chow kibble is it. There have been occasions that my store was out of Cat Chow and I would instead purchase a high priced temporary replacement...the results are always the same; my cats barely eat the replacement food and I end up going to another store within a day or two to get Cat Chow. They just love the way it tastes! Another reason I faithfully use and recommend Cat Chow is the proof of how nutritionally complete this formula is. The majority of my cats die of old age because they stay healthy for the most part. I can't tell you how many times a vet has done blood work on one of my senior cats to "show" me why I must switch their food to one of their high priced brands, to find my cats blood work comes back perfect. Enzymes, cholesterol and organs all functioning normally. This speaks volumes to me and has made me a loyal Purina Cat Chow user!

RE4Lisa
Gainesville, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Crunchers
1/11/2015

Customer review by Crunchers

5.0 stars 1/11/2015 by Crunchers
by Crunchers

Baxter is entirely an indoor cat. He absolutely loves his Cat Chow Indoor Formula, which we call his "crunchers". In fact, Bax prefers his crunchers to even the best wet food we also give him. We leave a bowl of crunchers out for him during the day, so after a busy morning of watching his birds and squirrels through his special window, and an afternoon of playing hide and seek, he can go get a snack of his favorite stuff before contentedly going off to power nap for a while. Bax is also very time conscious. He knows when certain activities should take place during the day. About 10 minutes before we eat dinner, he marches around, singing, to make sure we make our way to the kitchen on time. Then, after he has us where we belong, he sits down at his crunchers bowl and joins us for dinner. We are not sure if he really wants to share dinnertime with us, or if he is in a hurry to get some more of his Cat Chow Indoor Formula! We know he loves us, but he loves his crunchers, too!

Crunchers
Saint Charles, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
okay product
6/2/2014

Customer review by missy2012

3.0 stars 6/2/2014 by missy2012
by missy2012

I adopted two kitties from the shelter this week, a one year old cat and a two month kitten. I grabbed the big bag of Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula and a little one of kitten chow as I had always thought Purina was an "ok" brand and they were both going to be exclusively inside cats. I was wrong abut the former. My new cat only nibbled on a few kibbles of the adult before I busted out the kitten formula, which they both went for over the cat chow. I attributed this initial snub to the fact that cats will go for kitten food due to the higher fat and calorie content, but later I mixed the two foods, as I had read was a suggestion for the problem of getting everyone the right nutrition but I soon began to notice that neither of them were even touching the colored kibbles of the Indoor Formula.I rushed to the internet for advice on the subject and quickly realized I had made a grave mistake. Do you know what the first ingredient of Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula that I can see on my bag right now?

missy2012
Hubbard, OH 44425, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
MEOWS
7/4/2016

Customer review by June

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by June
by June
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My cat is doing great on this food and likes it best

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
June
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saved my cat's life
12/25/2013

Customer review by chell21

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by chell21
by chell21

I recently changed my cat's food over to Iams, well I should have stayed with the Indoor cat chow. I adopted sisters Thelma and Louise when they were 6 weeks old and promised them I would do anything for them. They just turned 10 and I thought is would be a good idea to upgrade their food, boy was I wrong. Thelma did not have any issues but Louise started to act different . She started to have seizures the Vet did not know why it was happening and gave her a shot. She was okay for a couple days but then they started up again, I did not know what to do. I finally found someone who had gone through the same thing, she said to go back to they old food. It has been a week and she is back to her old self, no fits at all. There is too much protein in the other food for her to handle. Even the vet was shocked when I told them so the moral of the story is Purina Indoor Cat Chow Saved Louise's life and now Thelma and I have our baby back. Thanks Purina I will never leave you again.

chell21
Mechanicsville, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good cat food
6/28/2016

Customer review by Celsianna

4.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Celsianna
by Celsianna
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good cat food, convenient size for me. Only wish it was cheaper in price-oh well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Celsianna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i cannot complain...
8/19/2014

Customer review by iheartMilks

3.0 stars 8/19/2014 by iheartMilks
by iheartMilks

MY cat ,Milks definitely loves the taste . I love the price and convenient availability. I honestly would prefer her eating a more quality nutritious (expensive) less processed ,whole, health beneficial cat food, [because whole real not processed diet DEFINITELY PROVIDES A HEALTHY QUALITY OF LIFE, fact]. Milks is a finicky kitty [would turn her nose up at milk or cheese!] So until I can set a good example on eating better myself, or being able to consistently provide expensive healthy cat food for her to try until we find the one she likes; she will continue to eat Purina indoor formula cat chow- like she has for the past 5 yrs. Thanks you for price and convenient availability, but no thank you to the empty processed un nutritional quality of ingredients. (Not meant to offend or complain) it's just a fact (whole, real live unprocessed diet = life longevity & quality ; processed by products ,fillers, artificial & preservatives = aged life, health problems and no nutrition for proper organ &body function)

iheartMilks
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
TWO HAPPY CATS
3/30/2014

Customer review by Sherry325

5.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Sherry325
by Sherry325

I have always purchased Purina products for my dogs. I just recently decided I wanted a kitty. As it turned out I ended up with 2. They LOVE their food. I got this as an add on to their canned food. It's turned out that the canned food is an add on to this. It is keeping them at an optimal weight and they have tons of energy (of course what kitten doesn't). Plus I LOVE having it delivered and not having to schlep bags of pet food from the grocery store.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sherry325
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Convert Outdoor cats to Indoor cat
3/9/2015

Customer review by jd0018

5.0 stars 3/9/2015 by jd0018
by jd0018

I have used the Purina Indoor Formula since 2005 we had to relocate because of Hurricane Katrina and we went back to the Gulf Coast to rescue stranded Cats & Kittens. We found a cottage that was surrounded by woods in Kentucky and did not feel comfortable with the cats being outside in unfamiliar surroundings. We bought the Indoor formula and the cats that had been hanging around the doors waiting to escape or howling to go outside, stopped. They just settled down and became completely indoor cats. We have rescued 41 cats over the past 9 years had them neutered or spayed all shots and rehabilitated those that needed help. We try to keep no more than 6 to 12 cats in our home if possible and the same amount at another family in Tennessee. We adopt them out mainly to Veterans and Disabled Veterans for therapy cats. I buy only Purina products for my cats and occasional dogs that come here for a better life. We always recommend that our animals stay on this product.

jd0018
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mya loves it!
2/19/2015

Customer review by aecl

5.0 stars 2/19/2015 by aecl
by aecl

Since I adopted my cat, Mya, nine years ago, she's pretty much stayed on Purina Cat Chow for her food. We've switched the varieties, but for some odd reason, always come back to the indoor formula. She is an indoor cat, has been since we adopted her. Though she is indoor, she's active and will run around the house like a lunatic. So, I can't really say if this promotes a healthy weight or not. Mya does gobble it up and thoroughly enjoys it. There are some darker brown pieces in the indoor formula that she has been spitting out as of lately. I have no clue what that is about, but she just doesn't seem to like them. So, I find myself sweeping them up quite frequently and tossing them out. I would have to say that the indoor formula does help with hairballs because when she is on this specific formula, she doesn't seem to have issues with them. This is definitely my go to formula and Mya seems to like it, despite not being thrilled with the darker brown pieces. I'd definitely recommend Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula.

aecl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 11924 total reviews
1-20 of 11924 reviews