Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1374 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1374 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1374 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
803
4 stars
409
3 stars
77
2 stars
29
1 stars
56
1-20 of 1179 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1179 total reviews
1-20 of 1179 reviews
WOW! Great specs for the money!
12/25/2010

Customer review by ScottGreene

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by ScottGreene
by ScottGreene

I had been searching all over for the perfect laptop for my use (somewhat heavy multitasking, gaming, etc.) and just couldn't find the right one. Then I saw the Inspiron 15R and I knew it would be perfect. The processor is insanely fast (which means quick boot times), the hard drive is plentiful, and the Intel HD Graphics actually beat my desktop's ATI Radeon HD 4200 in the WEI (4.5 vs. 4.2). I think the function keys are great because I rarely have to use F1, F2, F3, etc. but always want to change the volume or turn off WiFi (when I'm on the road). The computer has very nice build quality but the one complaint I have is that the palm rests/lid catch fingerprints really easily. Besides that, this laptop is probably the best deal for the specs it comes with. I would highly suggest this to normal-to-heavy users!

ScottGreene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
its nice to use
8/20/2011

Customer review by Anil

2.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Anil
by Anil

its nice to use

Anil
anyware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not to bad
10/3/2013

Customer review by Munnin42

4.0 stars 10/3/2013 by Munnin42
by Munnin42
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am an online student, and I need a good computer that I can rely on. Previously, I have been dedicated to HP products, but right now, if you want an HP laptop that is not a "netbook" or has a CD DRIVE, then you have to pay over 900$...That was beyond my limited budget, so I got this one on the recommendation that a friend from school has the same one and loves it. I like it a lot, it dies what it needs to do, the touch screen is fun, I had a little problem this week with the BIOS update and my touch screen not working after the computer has been woken up from sleep... It's fixed now, seems to work fine. It's a sturdy computer, I don't worry about my 4 year old destroying it, and it's a good size for me. I would have put the speakers in a different spot but that's just me I guess. All in all I would say if you have a tight budget this is the way to go...just remember Dell customer service is a joke, and if you need tech support you'll have to hunt it out online from other people. :)

Was this review helpful? (39) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Munnin42
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/29/2013

Customer review by sndydvs

4.0 stars 8/29/2013 by sndydvs
by sndydvs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price, this laptop has exceeded my expectations as an email, browsing, social media pc. I realize after using that it will do much more and I'm enjoying the experience of a new toy! The housing appears tough, heavier than expected. There is a generous area to rest your wrists while using the laptop in your laptop. I have used the number pad on the right much more than anticipated. The laptop is thin but not the thinnest. It is not lightweight, but the weight isn't too much to handle. The screen is clear and vivid. The setup was easy and relatively dummy free which was great since Windows 8 is a new OS for me. The tiles are fun and easy to use but do not give access to the familiar settings that most of us are use to having. The touch screen is wonderful! However, it does on occasion fail. I am still investigating as advised by Support to when the failure occurs so I can troubleshoot. A quick reboot (and I do mean that it's quick) resolves the issue. Overall I am more than satisfied because of the quality for the price.

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sndydvs
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal
7/18/2013

Customer review by Schnookiedog

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by Schnookiedog
by Schnookiedog

I initially priced this computer through Dell then saw it on this site. The price is lower probably because you don't get the recovery disks and you don't have the 90 day phone support tacked on that Dell includes in the price whether you want it or not. So if you can do with a better price and a few less frills, this is a very nice computer with a nice touchscreen.

Was this review helpful? (115) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Schnookiedog
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price
8/19/2013

Customer review by KearneyMO

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by KearneyMO
by KearneyMO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does everything that I need it to do, with the added bonus of being a touchscreen. Like the size, large enough to read the screen, but not to large to travel with.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KearneyMO
Kearney MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The touch screen did not always work.
8/26/2013

Customer review by technonewbiePapa

3.0 stars 8/26/2013 by technonewbiePapa
by technonewbiePapa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We had an intermittent problem that the touch screen did not respond. We traced the problem to the connection between the screen and the keyboard. Dell sent out someone to replace the screen and provide back-up disks. Now it seems to work fine.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
technonewbiePapa
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Funtionally Fine, Physically lacking
8/30/2011

Customer review by EverydayUser123

3.0 stars 8/30/2011 by EverydayUser123
by EverydayUser123

It's hard for me to write this review because I have been a loyal Dell customer for years. However, this laptop's design has left me with buyer's remorse. Pros: Fast processor, nice graphics, functionally sound Cons: 10-key makes the keyboard feel off-balance. I understand why some would need a 10-key, but my guess is the average user does not handle a huge amount of data entry. I wish this were an optional feature with this model. The touch pad is extremely sensitive, in spite of applying strongest settings. It's common while online to switch pages in my browser due to accidental touching of the touch pad (which has some to do with the keyboard feeling off-balance as well). The speakers are on the bottom of the machine, which muffles the sound. And finally, the left side of the machine tends to run hot. If I could go back, I would buy a different model that did not have the 10-key, which is my biggest complaint. I hate to think that this feature is becoming standard on laptops.

EverydayUser123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dell Rocks !!!
9/8/2010

Customer review by Mohnish

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Mohnish
by Mohnish

I purchased N5010 with the following configuration: i5-450, 4GB RAM, 320 GB HD, 1 GB Dedicated Graphics Card. The windows rating it showed was 5.8(Thats low just because of my HD capacity i.e.320 GB and partly because of the rpm which is 5400. Anyways DELL doesnt allow to choose 7200 rpm for its Inspiron Model) Pros: 1. I got my system 2 days prior to the estimated delivery date. I got my system within 8 week days of placing the order 2. The design is just superb...I have fallen in love with system Cons: 1. Dell doesnt ship the OS DVD with the Model. Though the system allows to create recovery disk but what if i want to change the Hard disk partition by reinstalling Windows(i.e. formatting the hard disk). I dont want to keep just one partition. So Since the customers are purchasing the OS, i personally think DELL should start Shipping the OS DVD with the system or atleast keep the ISO image on the HD. Even that would do. Anyways as promised by DELL got a nice, powerful machine. Thanks DELL.

Mohnish
Mumbai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the touch screen
11/30/2013

Customer review by sunshine1967

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by sunshine1967
by sunshine1967
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a new computer anyway, but getting a touchscreen at this price was amazing! I would recommend this for anyone.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunshine1967
Hartshorn, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good large screen well performing system
11/7/2011

Customer review by happyWith17inch

4.0 stars 11/7/2011 by happyWith17inch
by happyWith17inch

I purchased this system a couple of weeks ago. I needed a system with greater emphasis on large screen and regular keyboard than mobility. My screen is displaying nicely at 1600x900. It has a good feel, right now I'm sitting in the family room, listening to itunes and typing this review. Performance seems very good, although I have not done benchmarks. Battery life seems not-so-great, but with a 17" monitor I did not really expect to have fantastic battery life. It is large. Easy to miss is that it has 1 USB3.0 port. Fast fast fast for devices which use it, and an external SATA port. I'm not using either, but it's nice to know if in a couple of years I need it, it is there. I guess the thing I dislike the most is there is no accomodation for lighting the keyboard, either backlit or using the "thinkpad" approach of a micro light on the top of the screen pointing at the keys. Video has a cute feature where you can nicely customize your image. I would buy this again.

happyWith17inch
NC, usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value but still getting used to Windows 8
10/28/2013

Customer review by Jeepster13

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Jeepster13
by Jeepster13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems to be a great touch screen laptop value for the money. We are used to earlier Windows operating systems. Windows XP and Vista ,so Windows 8 is a bit of a challenge to get used to. A couple of weeks in and still getting used to it but getting better. Processes reasonably fast, with nice optics and visual on screen reproduction of pictures.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeepster13
Doylestown Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is our second Inspiron 15R
7/13/2011

Customer review by jcdist

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by jcdist
by jcdist

Pros - I already had an Inspiron 15R and was thrilled to see they were still available when my partner needed a new laptop. Her old Dell was dying, and she was concerned she would go into withdrawal if we didn't get a replacement soon. I ordered this system and it arrived two days later, so she was saved! Cons - I have had occasional "hangs" where the system will freeze up for a couple of minutes, but then everything returns to normal. This system is heavier than the 10" Dell Netbooks we used to travel with, but worth the extra power and screen size. I have purchased nothing but Dell computers for the last 10 years, both for home and business use. I wouldn't use anything else! We use them for hours each day and both love them. We use them for internet browsing, video streaming, Facebook, email, video and photo editing, publishing, webpage maintenance, Skype, word processing, spreadsheets and many other uses. We are currently visiting the Czech Republic and wouldn't have thought of leaving them behind.

jcdist
Tennessee - USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I really do like my new machine
5/21/2012

Customer review by Cybercut

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by Cybercut
by Cybercut

Pretty snappy machine and reacts well to gaming and movies. It has plenty of drive space, ample memory and a really nice fullsized keyboard and number pad. The cover hinges feel real solid. The mouse touch pad can be turned off and on easily to avoid mistakes brushing it while typing and when using a wireless mouse. The function keys work well and are smart. My favorite is the instant “no video” button. It’s a real bargain actually. I would have liked a backlit keyboard, even faster-bigger hard drive and more memory but I would not have paid for all those options anyway as there were several other machines with all those features for almost double the price. It’s a good, smart and fast enough machine. Yes it’s a little heavy but for a desktop replacement it is a very good size and feel. Two observations: the face place around the keyboard tends to rattle distracting from its otherwise solid build and the eject button for the DVD drive isn’t obvious by touch at all.

Cybercut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Dell for the price!
7/23/2013

Customer review by falcnheart

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by falcnheart
by falcnheart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was looking for a decent lap top for my husband. Found this on Walmart.com and could not pass up the price. Way more expensive on other sites!! what a steal !

Was this review helpful? (43) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
falcnheart
West Warwick, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad Motherboards
6/3/2012

Customer review by FacePalm

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by FacePalm
by FacePalm

If you read the title, and thought I made a grammatical error by making motherboards plural, I didn't. I've owned this computer for less than three weeks now, and the motherboard has failed for a second time now. The first time it failed, support had a tech come to my house within 4 days which impressed me, until the new motherboard failed the next day. I'm normally an understanding person and a motherboard failure right out the box happens. With any mass produced item, occasionally you will get a defective part, either from a slight error during the production or instalation of the board. Knowing this, I was going to rate this laptop a 3 or 4 out of five just because of the great customer service experience I had. But with the second failure in three weeks and other reviews I've read on this website and other technical support forums, I am beginning to believe there is something wrong with the way Dell is manafacturing the boards for this model of computer.

FacePalm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good laptop!
9/9/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/9/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It looks very classy and works well.. but the main problems would be: -As said by people, the keyboards a little flimsy but it works fabulously and looks great. It makes a little noise like the inside is rattling and the keyboard feels cheap which is annoying though could just be my laptop. -the lights showing the battery charger in and power on etc is sort of under the laptop so i have to lift it to see the lights -any programs dont fit the full screen, they are not minimised and i have spent ages looking through the settings. however this doesnt happen to my friends laptop so this ones up to me to sort! good things that have improved from the previous 15R -the caps lock has a light -despite the cheap keyboard, the keys are nicer and easier to use -the processor works faster -the colour has darkened so the finger smudges are shown less which makes the laptop body look cleaner I like this laptop and am glad i bought it but am hoping it was worth the money i spent.. being a student, money doesnt come that easily!

An anonymous customer
northern ireland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Turned into my game PC
3/7/2012

Customer review by pizzamanva

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by pizzamanva
by pizzamanva

PROs : Fast, Cheap, Nice Looking... Cons : Keyboard - 101 keys on a laptop, make more errors. Batter life Got this after playing with my wife's Dell. I bought her a new dell laptop after her other one had power suppy issues, this was given to her on her trim to San Digeo, we were able to skype with her and she was uploading photo and all, better the he old Dell. I got to play with it when she came home and loved the speed and screen so when my broke the end of October I got one also along with the Blu-Ray and the WIDI box for my TV and just loved it. I work remotly working on fixing computer for customers as well as gaming, haven't had any issues, still super fast with an i3 processor and 4 gigs of ram. I'm now running, BF3, Skyrim and ME-3 with no issues at all, and I haven't had to turn down the graphics at all. Bearly use my Desktop custom built with an i5, 8 gigs of ram and HD display. This has been a great computer, and all of the computers I have gotten from Dell have been great, this is the 7th from them.

pizzamanva
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great and has everything
3/9/2014

Customer review by Franci17

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Franci17
by Franci17
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best laptop, it has a DVD-RW Drive and it has a touch screen which is easy to use. Although I do not prefer Windows 8, it will do. I like the fact that it has the numbers at the top and also on the side. It is light weight and works like a charm. Only thing I really don't care for is that when you use the touch screen your finger prints are left on the screen so I need to look into a screen protector for computers if they have any. Also if you have sweaty or greasy hands your prints are on the computer so if that bothers you then you have to keep wiping it. Other than those minor things, I love it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Franci17
Lakeside, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inspiron R Cheaply Made But Reliable?
5/8/2012

Customer review by saboken

2.0 stars 5/8/2012 by saboken
by saboken

I love the laptop because of the price and how reliable it is, if you treat it like a newborn child!! if you drop it or mishandle it in any way even accidently it's toast!!! I used to buy only Precsion laptops at a much higher cost for there durability but they all seem to have hardware issues I have been through 3 precisions all have had video card failures this is not a issue during the 3 year warranty after that for the same cost of this 17R I get a new card? I wish they made a laptop like this 17R that had durability and quality hardware!! the only reason I purchaced this 17R is because all the repair money I spent on the precsion could have paid for 20 of these 17R's it seems buying a few of these are more cost efective for when one gets droped, than paying 6x the cost for one that will become a paperweight that will cost more than a new "lower end" one! I am happy with it, it is fast and disposable it won't hit my wallet as hard when it breaks.

saboken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1179 total reviews
1-20 of 1179 reviews