Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 73 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
Absolutely a great buy has everything I wanted!
12/30/2013

Customer review by leasl

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by leasl
by leasl
Top 1000 contributor

You will be so pleased with this fireplace! Has everything, thermostat, fan, heat or no heat, remote control, timer, 4 flame levels and flame brightness ( one level with just embers), large 26" wide by 17" firebox, LED for the flame and embers effects, very realistic flames and embers, flames mostly orange with slight blue and red flickers, amazingly realistic looking. Assembly is a breeze, it comes 85% assembled, just assemble the top and the two side shelf boards, that's it. Took me about an hour just taking my time and enjoying each of the results! The cabinet material is pressed wood, just like most furniture today, but don't frown on that, it is a very rich looking piece of furniture and should last a very long time. If there was one thing that I would like to have had, that would be a "crackling fire sound". But guess what, I made my own using miniature speaker. Couple the crackle sound with the fire display, so relaxing! The lighting on this model are LED, which means they are very efficient, will last a lifetime, never need replacing and provide better lighting for a very realistic looking fire! I have owned this unit for 2 weeks now, I am so pleased with it. I did do a lot of research before buying an electric fireplace, so I knew what features to look for and this one had them all! The price is amazing....comparable units are at least $150 to $300 more. I can't say enough good things about my new fireplace and my wife loves it! If you can find this, buy it immediately, they don't last long in the stores! Bottom line, if you can find this fireplace at Walmart store or online, buy it immediately, do not pass go! By the way, I am not easily impressed and usually find faults with most things, but this is as close to perfect as it gets!

Was this review helpful? (293) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leasl
Baton Rouge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Fireplace/TV Stand
11/22/2013

Customer review by Rimrider23

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Rimrider23
by Rimrider23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product was easy to assemble. It fit together well. And is of excellent quality for a "do-it-yourself" assembly piece of furniture. The fireplace is very realistic. And the heater works quite well also. We are very pleased with it. I looked at several of these online. And for the money. This is definitely a bargain. I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (143) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rimrider23
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Glad I went with this product!
11/29/2013

Customer review by HaydysMom

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by HaydysMom
by HaydysMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After searching and reading other reviews this seemed like the best choice simply because of the ease of set up and countless 5 star reviews. I received my stand in less then the time quoted and seriously only took 30 mins to put the top mantel on. The fireplace is realistic and the wood looks quality! I am absolutely happy with my purchase, there were several others out there that was more expensive.. But in my opinion; save your money and search no more!

Was this review helpful? (60) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HaydysMom
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful and efficient
12/30/2013

Customer review by HappyinABQ

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by HappyinABQ
by HappyinABQ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This fireplace/media stand is everything I was looking for. The assembly is simple and fast (about 1 hour for one person) and an upgrade to any living room. I live in a two story home and this is perfect for the lower level, it has a built-in blower and the remote makes it so convenient. The look and finish of this piece of furniture is outstanding. Everything I was hoping for and more.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyinABQ
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
11/29/2013

Customer review by Myscootch93

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Myscootch93
by Myscootch93
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had been looking for an electric fireplace that was not only elegant but efficient as well for several years and every time I skimmed through the information of the other units I was put off by price, quality issues, assembly issues, etc. This electric fireplace met my needs in the fact that it is not only a beautiful piece of furniture, well made, easy to assemble and uses a standard electric outlet which was extremely important as I live in an apartment. The flame is realistic and relaxing to just watch. The heat is also good and the only thing that would make it perfect would be an adjustable blower unit. I had purchased a Better Home and Garden desk which is why I trusted the brand as it also was a nicely built unit and fortunately both pieces match in my living room. I am not one to write reviews for standard items but with this particular item I felt so wonderful about it that I needed to write this review!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Myscootch93
Flanders, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy, Beautiful, and Right On The Money!
11/3/2013

Customer review by MrLightEyez

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by MrLightEyez
by MrLightEyez

My wife and I have been searching for a fireplace/TV stand for a while. We have been watching one at Lowes, and many other outlets, including Walmart. They have a few on there website; however, we did not bite the bullet until last night. We found this on their website and were amazed at the price considering all other were well over $300-$400. We actually picked it up from our local store and brought it home. It comes about 85% assembled and took me about 30 minutes to set up and about 45 minutes to hook up our cable, and surround sound speakers (all of our cords and wires not had to go through a smaller hole). Either way, the look of this fireplace it amazing. The color is amazing, deep, rich, and looks more like real real wood and not like that fake veneer stuff, although I am certain it is veneer. The cost is amazing and it even comes with a remote! This was one feature we had to have. If I had to name one con it would be that it will take a while to heat up your home. We have approximately 450-500 sq feet on our first floor, and it takes a while. However, once it is on and doing its magic, its solid. I definitely recommend this product. The name "Better Homes and Garden" should say it all. Its a solid piece of furniture, the price is great, and the look will make people believe you paid twice what you actually paid.

Was this review helpful? (290) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrLightEyez
Carlisle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice
2/16/2017

Customer review by bezz

5.0 stars 2/16/2017 by bezz
by bezz

Nice unit. New puppy tried to eat remote. Any ideas where to buy a new one?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bezz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a very nice unit !!
11/4/2013

Customer review by Trucker996

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Trucker996
by Trucker996

This unit is better than we expected. Not hard to set up with the instructions easy to follow. Flames can be used with or without heat. Looks great with flat screen on it or on wall above it.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trucker996
Small Town, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Been Looking for a LONG Time!
11/19/2013

Customer review by JoyfulHome

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by JoyfulHome
by JoyfulHome

I've always wanted one of these and there's always been something about them hasn't been right for our household. They are all most absurdly priced, so I knew I'd pay a lot for one. Not only is this one reasonably priced, it's gorgeous! My husband took it out of the box and it was mostly assembled. It took him about 20 minutes to get it all set up. We tried it out (even though it's in the 70s today) and turned on the heat. It starts blowing heat immediately, with many temps to choose from. Beautiful piece of furniture. I almost want to buy another for the bedroom. Thank you, Better Homes and Gardens, and thank you, Walmart for selling it at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoyfulHome
Rockledge, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect Media Fireplace
10/30/2015

Customer review by allenadale

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by allenadale
by allenadale

Just received this today. No cabinet damage. Unit was packed very well. Lots of Styrofoam and super heavy cardboard. Assembly took 1/2 hr but I am an experienced furniture builder. Parts were labeled well. All holes lined up. I felt the dowel holes were a little oversized but that wasnt an issue.. instructions were clear. We love the look of the unit. Many of the ones we looked at were big and bulky. This one is a bit smaller yet still has a big firebox. Very realistic flames. No crackle as others have mentioned but it wasnt something I wanted. Cable box fits with room to spare. I have a 55" TV on it and it does hang over a couple of inches on each side but I knew it was going to do that. My TV is well under 100 Lbs so that isnt an issue. I do have a Vizio Sound Box under the TV. It hangs over the back of the unit about 1.5 inches but I knew it was going to. Again, its not an issue. I would definitely recommend this unit to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allenadale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Total Frustration
11/15/2015

Customer review by johhnymontana

1.0 stars 11/15/2015 by johhnymontana
by johhnymontana

So I found this electric fireplace online and saw it had great reviews. Bought it online and picked it up last week. Got it home and no way you can save the box if something is wrong with it. Beautiful piece of furniture so I was excited. Plugged in the unit and noticed a loud clicking sound when I turned on the flame effect. Looks nice but very irritating to have a loud clicking sound coming from your fireplace. Called WalMart and they said I can return it. I knew that but such a hassle trying to return a big piece of furniture like this..especially if you do not own a truck. Assembled now ( easy assembly by the way). So then called Whalen customer service which takes forever. Finally got someone who told me to remove the back panel and see if anything was hitting the rotor that creates the flame effect..said that happens sometimes in shipping. So yesterday I pulled the back panel and found nothing hitting the rotor rod or whatever it is called that creates the flame effect. Turned on the unit and flames to see if I could see anything hitting it or whatever and heard the noise coming from the small motor that turns the rod. Heater is fine and warms pretty well but I still would like the flame effect as that is the point of buying this stupid thing to begin with. I would like to keep this unit but if I have to change a motor in it and wire it etc not sure it is worth the effort and maybe find something of better quality. Totally disgusted. Nice TV stand. Thats about it...fireplace noisy and not good quality. May just dump it in the trash or use it for a stand so I dont have to haul it all over the place and take this experience as a lesson learned. Do not buy this...oh and the service plan from WalMart is useless. They just tell you to go to Whalen.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 11/18/2015

Hello, We thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear about your experience you had with Whalen Furniture Barston Fireplace Console. Customer feedback is very appreciated, Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer. If this is still an issue, we would like the opportunity to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Service Department Team. Our contact information is located in your instruction manual. They will assist you in getting out replacement parts, instead of having to pack it up and take it back to Walmart. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture

johhnymontana
Would recommend to a friend? No
BH&G Ashwood Road Media Electric Fireplace
10/11/2015

Customer review by FRBLKB

4.0 stars 10/11/2015 by FRBLKB
by FRBLKB

Product is very nice BUT the shipping packaging is poor. Item WAS NOT wrapped in a plastic bag before putting it in box surrounded by Styrofoam. Corners were not protected by covering with cardboard or Styrofoam corner protectors. Therefore two corners damaged and Styrofoam pieces are in fireplace unit stuck to glass. The company is sending us a new top piece but it is back-ordered till mid December!! There is only way to remove Styrofoam pieces. We must take the back off the unit and capture them by a duster. Must be done carefully to not damage flame wheel. Also Styrofoam pieces was stuck on and thru out entire unit and eventually all over our living room floor. Shipping packaging could be done much better. Also the wood glue enclosed with assembly parts was bone dry. I don't know how old it was but it was not usable. We are using and enjoying the unit but will be more pleased when new top piece arrives.(undamaged we hope). Protect the unit better when shipping and you will get 5 stars from most customers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FRBLKB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fireplace
11/3/2013

Customer review by timybuk2

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by timybuk2
by timybuk2

Love this fireplace. Good quality for the price and easy to set up. Very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timybuk2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW - Awesome!!!
1/9/2014

Customer review by PMRHSB

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by PMRHSB
by PMRHSB

My husband put it together within a couple of hours. Assembly and instructions were VERY good and they even give you extra hardware pieces and a touch up pen if you scratch it. This piece is VERY nice, especially for the price!! It comes mostly put together so that's a plus. Packaged VERY well and after all put together everything works and looks great. My only complaint is that I wish it came in different finishes. The color is a dark cherry - very nice, but most of our other furniture is not this dark. After reading reviews on other media centers, we thought this one would "fit the bill" and sure enough it does. Love having the remote also. I can't say enough good about this piece. Love, love, love it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PMRHSB
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If you follow set-up directions its GREAT
12/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When the delivery company first dropped off my package I was upset. They damaged the box and merchandise. However it was so damaged that I wanted to make a fuss about it. I opened the box and felt overwhelmed when it needed assembly (Im a single female with no tools). I called my father over to help who is an average older male who refuses to use directions for assembly. After I got many kicks and giggles from his frustration I offered to read him the directions as he assemblied it. About twelve mins later my new Fireplace was together TV set up and it made a huge statement in my livingroom. I love the product and very happy WE DECIDED TO READ...

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Almost Perfect !!!
1/31/2016

Customer review by Christy

4.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Christy
by Christy

Recently picked this up after having it shipped to store. The box was in poor condition but after a limited inspection, I could see no damage, so I brought it home. A friend helped with assembly which was very easy. The piece was beautiful and had no visible signs of any damage to wood finish, but both magnetic catches on side doors were broken, and the pieces were on the floor of the cabinet. I intend to contact the company for replacements. Having read the reviews of others, I was mindful of the negative issues regarding shipment damages and defective fireplace mechanisms, so I was relieved to escape any serious issues. I must say the piece is well worth the price, and includes features of higher priced units. It was well worth the risk! Had it not arrived with broken magnetic catches, I would have given it a 5 Star rating.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Attractive and easy solution to heat a room
11/26/2013

Customer review by Cherokee6700

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Cherokee6700
by Cherokee6700
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered the product on wednesday and the projected date to recieve the product was on friday , product was delivered to my house on friday morning and was set up and running by noon. Quality of the product was excellent and exceeded my expectations , assembly was very easy and I would consider this product an excellent buy for someone wanting to heat a space as well as function as a tv stand.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cherokee6700
cincinnati ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Fireplace and Media Piece!
4/17/2014

Customer review by SashaTexas

5.0 stars 4/17/2014 by SashaTexas
by SashaTexas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a nice living room furniture piece. It adds elegance and warmth to a room. The media section can accommodate a DVD or VCR and another player in a wide and tall shelf. It has two media storage cabinets (one on each side) with an adjustable shelf. The fireplace looks real and works great with or without heat. The remote control allows you to adjust the heat temperature or turn it off/on. It also allows you to change the flame look and set a timer (30-minute minimum). The heater works well and warms a room nicely. Another nice feature is that you can see a red light display when setting it up but once you set it, the display light goes off after a few seconds, so it looks like a real fireplace. It is very relaxing just to watch the fireplace without the heat. In regards to assembly, it requires some assembly of the top shelf with easy to follow instructions and diagrams. The material is not real wood but it looks nice. We put a glass table top to protect the surface and keep it looking nice and new. We had been looking for a fireplace media piece like this for sometime but were waiting for the right one and the right price. We ordered it online and it was delivered to our home. Walmart offers free ground shipping. This is a good purchase for the money and we highly recommend it. Happy Couple in Texas!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SashaTexas
Wallis, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I wanted
10/19/2015

Customer review by Sherris

4.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Sherris
by Sherris

Researched online and this is almost exactly what I wanted (would have loved a lighter color). I had the unit shipped to me from Walmart as I am a single mom with no way to get 125 pound box to my home. The shipping time was excellent, however the box was damaged and the side doors were broken at the hinges. There was a small amount of assembly - added the top shelf for the media units. The assembly took me approximately 30 minutes and was extremely easy. I love the look and feel of the unit and will keep it even with the damaged doors. I would definitely purchase again AND have it shipped to my home.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sherris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice fireplace if you are able to hide the damage
10/25/2014

Customer review by Veranora

1.0 stars 10/25/2014 by Veranora
by Veranora
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The fireplace was shipped (free of charge) way before the scheduled date. Works well. I want people to know that this product is probably a factory reject that's why is very inexpensive. By reading other reviews before purchase almost everybody claims they received damaged product. Mine appears to have damage done not by shipping but by factory assembly. But the damage is minimum and is easily fixable and in a place where is not visible. I wish Walmart would place disclaimer informing shoppers if they want to purchase this product "as is". I am planning on contacting Walmart to see what they have to say about that.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/12/2015

We apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused. Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer, I will forward this email to our engineering team. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Veranora
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews