Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-11 of 11 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent quadcopter!
12/27/2013

Customer review by MMMMMikeyyyyy

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by MMMMMikeyyyyy
by MMMMMikeyyyyy

I just got this Sky Viper for Christmas and I love it. Do be careful with the 'flight sensitivity' setting. I tried it on the "beginner" #least sensitive# setting; it pretty much makes the copter uncontrollable. The sensitivity setting changes how far the copter will let you tilt it in flight; and the beginner setting makes it so you can barely move the thing at all. The throttle is unaffected by the sensitivity setting. While the sensitivity setting allows you to adjust how far the copter will tilt in flight #and setting it to the max will let you turn it just about horizontal, very tough! Keep it in the middle at first#, the switch for body on or off actually changes how quickly the copter responds. I find leaving it set to 'off', even indoors, is easier to control; it responds to your commands much quicker. It's almost eerie, it's instant! Keep in mind that the copter doesn't have any form of altitude control #none of them do that I know of#, so flying indoors, you will have to constantly make minute adjustments to the throttle to keep it hovering somewhat level. I tended to overcorrect at first; making it shoot up then drop, etc; be gentle! I've crashed it several times, but nothing has broken yet. Controls work well and are very responsive; I have been landing on things all over the house, and terrorizing our dog #she barks until it gets close, then runs away#. Controlling it is tough; I don't recommend it for young children #I'm a 27 year old who acts like he's 12# because I expect it will result in frustration and broken quadcopters. I wouldn't get it for a kid under 8-10 years old. Battery lasts around 10 minutes, and recharges in less than an hour #haven't actually timed it#. Extra batteries are readily available on amazon for $10, so I might get a second one! Be sure to calibrate it properly; after plugging the battery into the quad copter, set it down on something flat right away, before turning on the remote. I think it calibrates when the remote connects to the copter.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MMMMMikeyyyyy
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice little toy
2/5/2014

Customer review by dummyami

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by dummyami
by dummyami

easy to fly & doesn't fall apart when you crash it..well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dummyami
kingman,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice beginners quadcopter
11/29/2013

Customer review by reviewer1453227

4.0 stars 11/29/2013 by reviewer1453227
by reviewer1453227

As a beginner, my primary use is for training and learning the basics of quad RC flying and this suits my entry level needs. Foam body easily removable for stunts. My only issue is the very short battery life. Having to make all the initial adjustments and practicing takes some time due to recharging the battery every few minutes. I'm now searching for a better battery.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewer1453227
San Antonio Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
fun; easy to fly
12/23/2013

Customer review by fccid

3.0 stars 12/23/2013 by fccid
by fccid

The sky viper comes complete with everything you need except the AA batteries for the controller. The controller also has trim adjustments so you can start off without the quad wandering on its own. The battery for the quad is removable and it's recharged with a charger that plugs into the wall instead of one that uses up all of your batteries. This wasn't meant for indoor flight. For best results, fly during times of very little or no wind. It does well if crashed but replaceable propellers will start to show wear after a while.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fccid
Fort Myers, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good product at this pricepoint
4/20/2014

Customer review by Aerobat152

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Aerobat152
by Aerobat152

It is a stable flyer. It comes with a transmitter and hobby quality battery that may be removed and replaced. Flight times are as expected. It hobby quality performance at a toy price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aerobat152
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Proa and Cons
11/24/2013

Customer review by EagleEyeLite

2.0 stars 11/24/2013 by EagleEyeLite
by EagleEyeLite

For an experienced RC Flying Models user, this device might be Ok. It's true that it functions reasonably well. But I experienced a number of problems. To begin with, a brochure inside the box directed me to a website for a special deal on a spare battery and "body" (I'm not sure which body). But when I went there (it was several weeks ago) the web page was "still under construction." For a vendor selling through Walmart, this seems pretty inexcusable to me. After trying for several days, I was able to raise someone on the phone and he told me he was working on getting their site working withing a few days (which did happen, though incompletely) but they would not not yet be set up to receive payments via their webpage. I didn't find that the trim controls worked at all, or if so, not without difficulty. The last straw for me was that unlike the RC Airplanes and Helicopters I already own a number of, there's no easy way, when you are on the controls to figure out whether the quadcopter is facing away, or toward you, or whatever, so how do you know whether to use the normal control inputs for direction, or reverse them (as you do with an RC airplane when it is flying toward you). In the end, with some sadness because it's the least expensive quadcopter on the market, I returned mine to the store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EagleEyeLite
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not so fun
3/15/2014

Customer review by Flyer132

2.0 stars 3/15/2014 by Flyer132
by Flyer132

Granddaughter says it is a little fun. You have to charge it often and it is styrofoam. Not at all sturdy, comes with tape for when it breaks. Not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flyer132
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
quad-copter
3/24/2014

Customer review by mac12

1.0 stars 3/24/2014 by mac12
by mac12

one motor didn't work. instructions for set-up not very good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mac12
Zephyrhills, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sky viper requires a large open area to fly.
12/20/2013

Customer review by HunterSpecialty

3.0 stars 12/20/2013 by HunterSpecialty
by HunterSpecialty

Wal-Mart did not send the correct invoice in the package; I received an invoice for someone in Florida.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HunterSpecialty
Onalaska, WI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dont waste your money
8/4/2014

Customer review by KJDsNanie

1.0 stars 8/4/2014 by KJDsNanie
by KJDsNanie

first flight one of the wings broke when it landed on grass but my grandson did like it when it was flying

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KJDsNanie
Winter Haven FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gift
12/23/2013

Customer review by Edie000738

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Edie000738
by Edie000738

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my grandson. Since it's not Christmas yet, I can't really know whether or not this works or not. I may update after Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (0) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Edie000738
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.