Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 326 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

326 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

326 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
204
4 stars
65
3 stars
18
2 stars
13
1 stars
26
1-20 of 326 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 326 total reviews
1-20 of 326 reviews
Great laptop for school
11/10/2013

Customer review by Rawr11

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by Rawr11
by Rawr11

Its light weight and easy to use. I love the Ocean Turqouise color its fantastic. Its great for any college student who doesnt need all that unnecasarily programs on a laptop, its great when you use the online programs instead of spending money on microsoft word when you can just use google docs or windows live for microsoft word. It turns on in exactly 7 seconds it automatically turns on as soon as you lift the lid to the laptop. The laptop comes with a 100 gb for google drive for two years and that is true. It even says you get 200mb from tmobile each month for internet for 2yrs but when i just set up the sim card for tmobile i got an email saying it will end by next month so i didnt get the 2yrs internet like it says on the box and internet, other then that it is a great laptop, easy to use, its very quick, and you can even take screen shots of whats on the screen just by pressing ctrl and the fifth button after esc i think the button called fullscreen. its a great laptop for school if you always have internet or wifi where ever you go its a good laptop and if you dont have wifi its probably not a good laptop if your a heavy internet user. I love this laptop !

Was this review helpful? (444) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rawr11
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best laptop I have ever used!
10/17/2013

Customer review by getcashmoney

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by getcashmoney
by getcashmoney

I have used the brand new HP Chromebook 14 A LOT over the last 24 hours so I thought I would share some of my thoughts on what I consider the key components of the "Chromebook Experience". Performance: This Haswell-based processor just screams through anything you throw at it. Don't let the Celeron tag remind you of the old Windows laptops which were plagued by terrible performance. The usual culprits of low performance: The Verge, Google Maps, Google+, Google + Photos, etc. really don't slow down at all. Even the scrolling on those specific pages (which was TERRIBLE on my sARMsung Chromebook) is very smooth and responsive. I would compare the performance to be about 25-50% better than the Acer C7-10 (with 4GB ram) that I am currently typing this on. I finally feel comfortable having multiple tabs open without worrying about lag and slowdown. I think having 4 GB of RAM should be a requirement for all Chromebooks going forward. Keyboard and trackpad: The keyboard feels fantastic. The keys are spread out enough that you won't be hitting the wrong or multiple keys. They are soft plastic, and are quite silent. The trackpad is the best I have used on ANY laptop (disclaimer: I won't buy Mac devices but I have heard their trackpads are incredible. They also cost upwards of $1000. But I digress.). It is smooth and feels great scrolling through websites. I have been wanting a larger track pad for a long time and to me this feels like the perfect size. Screen: I think us Chromebook owners are never meant to have a high resolution display simply due to the price sensitivity of the market. That being said, I think this screen is above average for the resolution, and very respectable. Due to the fact that it is 14" and you are likely to be sitting further away than with an 11", text is clear and easy to read from a distance, and doesn't appear very pixelated, if at all. The screen gets very bright, but still looks good at about 50% brightness, which is what I keep it at. Battery: The HP Chromebook 14 has simply UNREAL battery life. It is rated at 10 hours I believe, and it easily reaches that estimation. I own the sARMsung, and this easily outlasts even that very impressive battery life. It is the first laptop I have used where I would take it with me to school without bringing a power cord "just in case". To me, that adds something to the experience which is hard to quantify, but is immensely gratifying. I haven't tested the battery life using only mobile data, but I imagine it's still very impressive. Other thoughts: -It's really nice having the option for mobile data. Yes, you only get 200 MB per month (for free), but if you treat this as a traditional laptop, and only use the mobile data when you desperately need to connect to the internet, I think you will be just fine and glad you had the option. -The device is somewhat heavy, but still lighter and thinner than a Samsung 14" Windows laptop I have. -I feel like they could have eliminated some bezel around the screen and, in connection, some plastic around and below the keyboard, but I'm satisfied with the dimensions. -The speakers are VERY LOUD and sound great. I had the volume at 2/3 and asked my wife what she thought, and she said they were loud and sounded good. Then I turned the volume up all the way. She was blown away. -The build quality is truly remarkable. It doesn't bend or crack when you are lifting it around, and everything just feels SOLID. The rubber-type coating which covers the entire exterior feels very nice in the hand. I would compare it to the soft-touch 2013 Nexus 7 if you have felt one. I am EXTREMELY IMPRESSED with the HP Chromebook 14. It's the best laptop I have owned, and is the best machine you will get for the price BY FAR. I liked it so much, I cancelled my pre-order for the Acer C7-20 and ordered a white one for myself (the one I tested was turquoise and it is now claimed by my wife). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone as the best Chrome OS experience. Period.

Was this review helpful? (181) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
getcashmoney
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid, Quick, Capable
11/22/2013

Customer review by Luobo

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Luobo
by Luobo

Well constructed, nice feel, fast, and can handle lots of open tabs. No problems at all so far. Have had it for a few weeks now. Have owned two other chromebooks (Samsung $250, and Acer $200). (Liked the Samsung a lot because it was light. Gave the Acer to my son, so haven't used it much, but he likes it.) The only things I don't like about this HP 14 is that it's considerably heavier than the Samsung, the glossy screen can be too reflective sometimes, and the white color is too white for my likings. But it's a dang solid machine, and I like that. Plus, the TMobile connection seems to work decently so far, for the most part.

Was this review helpful? (111) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luobo
Kihei, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One word: Amazing!
11/2/2013

Customer review by HITECH808

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by HITECH808
by HITECH808

I purchased this because I needed something just to surf the web. My tablets were not that great as I needed a keyboard to type and my other laptops were too heavy and bulky, not to mention that it is old and slow. The chromebook itself is amazing. I love the keyboard and how spaced out the keys are. The chromebook is light compared to my old dell inspiron. The build quality is awesome and feels very sturdy even though it is made of this plastic. The screen is not the best especially coming from a retina MacBook Pro, but it does the job and viewing videos on it is better than okay. The speakers is pretty loud coming from this light chromebook. The battery has been great and last very long. Overall, this is an awesome chromebook and I highly recommend it. Pros: 1) Great build quality 2) Keyboard 3) Battery 4) All the extras (100GB google drive & 200MB a month t-mobile) 5) Speed (start up time is ridiculous) Cons: 1) Color (besides the white, the red and green is kind of girly)

Was this review helpful? (142) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HITECH808
Oahu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Chromebook is Incredible
2/23/2014

Customer review by WeirdExponent

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by WeirdExponent
by WeirdExponent

What I love about the Chrombook: 1. Speed is FAST. Everything is lightning quick. 2. Peripherals work without any fuss: used multiple TV's/Monitors with the HDMI port... no problem. Used a "USB to Ethernet adapter" no problem! USB Thumb Drive... no problem either. 3. If you can wrap your head around using the "cloud" for storage and programs, your next computing device should be this. 4. No Viruses/problems with malware... only other extension I run to block Advertising is "Adblock Plus"... amazing! 5. Light and Battery life is impressive when setting screen to 50%.. 9 hours! 11 if you use an external monitor and close the lid, which works awesome (not like Windows going into sleep mode when you close the lid by default...which you can change, but really... Chrome does it right from the start!) 6. Trackpad is great... 3 finger swipe to change tabs is awesome! Very responsive and solid feel to it. 7. Easy Maintenance!!! Unlike my Surface Pro with Windows 8, the Chromebook updates in 5 seconds worth of reboot... amazing! Not the 8 hour ordeal of "Windows 8 is Finishing installation for 4 hours, when you realize it's not going to reboot, ever" and then you have to "refresh the Windows 8 device, if you can reboot and get into it, and then refresh the PC, and run updates... ridiculous "insane time wasting maintenance from Microsoft products" should be enough to scare you away from a Windows 8 purchase. Sorry, I was on a rant because of the 4 hours Microsoft wasted of my life. (1,000's if you count the years of trying to fix Microsofts slop OS)

Was this review helpful? (86) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeirdExponent
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome buy
11/21/2013

Customer review by chromeOS

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by chromeOS
by chromeOS

If you looking for an easy to use laptop this is for you! This laptop was out of box and up and running in under 2 minutes. Now it helped that I already had a Google account, but it is an amazing buy. Used it at a conference for 7 solid hours and it still had 3 hours of battery life left. Other CPUs were struggling for juice well before lunch. I was able to easily share a document with a coworker attending the same conference but different workshops and easily collaborate on our learning. With HDMI, 3 USB ports and a SD slot devices are easily connected. If that wasn't enough, its Bluetooth enabled and works with my wireless mouse, keyboard and Bose speakers! The extra, extra bonus was the free 200 MB of 4G LTE service that came with the machine so that I can be completely portable!! So, if you're ready for a cloud based system, this is the machine for you!

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chromeOS
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a college student
1/20/2014

Customer review by mryoungwifey

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by mryoungwifey
by mryoungwifey

After researching all Chromebooks that were available on the market, I chose the HP Chromebook 14 because it was the perfect size to fit in my backpack for school. Another benefit about this product comes with free 200 MB per month for two years with T-mobile ( I upgraded to 2 GB per month). It has a rubber type covering to prevent damage. I also love that if has an Intel capability. I can actually sit in class and take notes, while having knowledge that everything is stored on my Google drive, and I do not need to save my documents on my Chromebook. You can customize it by the app store; Google has thousands of apps a person can choose from (majority are free). My Chromebook is light weight and it very convenient to use in my daily activities. It's simple to operator, and it has a fast start up. However, I still have not figured out how I can convert a PDFs into a word documents. Once I figure that technique out I would not have a complaint. I actually typing my review on my Chromebook. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mryoungwifey
Tupelo, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it!
12/6/2013

Customer review by fairhope101

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by fairhope101
by fairhope101

When my daughter came over and showed me her new computer running Windows 8, I knew I had had enough of Windows. I am older and tired of fighting computers, their language, the breakdowns, virus protections, and now Windows 8 without a start button. I don't know how long this model will hold up, but Chrome gives me everything I want. I have read complaints about the glare on the screen, and they're true, but you can adjust it out in most cases. It doesn't bother me. I'm still getting use to the touch pad. It's different. I don't need air to blow off the key board anymore as the keys are closed in. Just open the lid, type in your Google password and like a light, you're up and running. I can play movies, and do all I did before, so I'm a happy camper. Walmart is a hero, as they take anything back, and if you don't like it you don't have to ship it back, even if you bought it online. This system is NOT compatible with Ethernet. It is wireless only. No more waiting for programs to load, no more slow IE. No more viruses, and as AD Block is downloaded for you, no more ads. Yippee!

Was this review helpful? (102) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fairhope101
Mobile, Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's not a computer - be forewarned
12/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is one of the best Chromebooks so far. It's basically just a web-browser. The apps available are limited. If you want to tinker a little, you can install Ubuntu Linux and it will function more like a full-fledged notebook computer. I like the screen, keyboard, the many connection ports (USB 3, HDMI, SD Card), the T-mobile data and the thin and lightweight design. If you read the discussion forums for Chromebooks, these are the most common issues people have: --Printing: you can't just connect a printer to the USB port and print. --Apps: you can't use Windows programs (.exe) or Android apps on a Chromebook. --Storage: there is probably more storage space on your smartphone than on this Chromebook. You will have to save things in "the Cloud" and use USB/SD memory devices. --You cannot play DVDs and some video content, even from an external device. Overall Conclusion: This is still just a toy for Geeks and Tinkerers.

Was this review helpful? (67) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mountain View, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bigger is better
10/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The HP14 Chromebook is a great balance of inexpensive and powerful. The Intel Haswell processor and 4GB of RAM ensure that the your experience never bogs down no matter how many tabs you have open, and the free monthly LTE is a great perk. On top of all that, it has great battery life! Having used past Chromebooks and the Chromebook Pixel and HP11, this is the best value Chromebook on the market. The only thing that keeps this from being my favorite is how much it weighs.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HP Chromebook 14
12/17/2013

Customer review by camshaft268

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by camshaft268
by camshaft268

Overall this Chromebook is very good. It pretty much is on as soon as i open the cover. I replaced my netbook with this as it took too long to do anything with it. It is way faster than my netbook so I am a happy camper. I haven't had any problems surfing the web. I work with spreadsheets and MS word. That is where i have some problems. I can open those files in dropbox, but if I modify them they do not update in dropbox itself so I cannot see the updates on my other computers. I can use my Google drive, but I prefer Dropbox. Most things I have done have worked on this machine. There are some services that do not work, but I can live without those. The screen is pretty clear,, but not as good as my netbook. Other than those issues I think this Chromebook is worth getting for everyday tasks. Definitely happy I bought it and would again. If you keep in mind that business applications and intense gaming are not supported you will be happy.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camshaft268
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Laptop if you know what you are looking for
11/22/2013

Customer review by clavinova

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by clavinova
by clavinova

Overall, I am very pleased with my first Chromebook experience. I am definitely spoiled now with how fast it loads and operates. 2 seconds to boot and start browsing vs about 60 seconds for my other laptop. It looks and feels more expensive than it is and has a great keyboard. There are a few shortcomings. The touchpad is like a cheap afterthought ripped off from Apple. It is by far the worst I've ever used including those ancient blue pencil eraser things from years past. The cursor moves jaggedly and scrolling is very unreliable. Luckily, any decent mouse will solve this. Also, I have had a few issues with the T-mobile connectivity being slow or unavailable. This is somewhat rare, but discouraging when I can browse the internet on my T-mobile phone but not on the laptop itself. And no, I haven't gone over the 200mb limit. I knew what I wanted when I purchased this and I have not been disappointed. For what I use it for, there simply is no better alternative. Also, the battery life is the best I've ever seen on a laptop. Outlasts even my phone.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clavinova
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Google Has Something Here
3/7/2014

Customer review by LordBusiness

4.0 stars 3/7/2014 by LordBusiness
by LordBusiness

I just received my HP Chromebook 14 with 4G last week and I am impressed. I haven't purchased a laptop for a long time so I was concerned about the reviews on tech web sites which stated that the HP Chromebook 14 was heavy, thick and plastic. The employees at those tech web sites are clearly spoiled with high end gear as I think the HP Chromebook 14 is very thin, significantly lighter than my previous laptops and the Snow White version looks good. Setup was incredibly easy. The time between pushing the power button on a cold start and browsing in chrome is less time that it will take you to get in your chair. I had been thinking about a chromebook for a while so I planned ahead and bought a printer that included google cloud print, which I successfully tested on the chromebook today. One final thing - I am currently located overseas with my Chromebook and I was able to insert an activated foreign (not T-Mobile) sim card and immediately connect to the internet via HSPA+.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LordBusiness
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Chromebook almost perfect
1/10/2014

Customer review by Denny2014

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Denny2014
by Denny2014

My Chromebook is everything that I hoped my tablet would be. The only issue I have is that Slingbox is blocked by Google for security reasons. I expect that Slingbox will fix their software and get it accepted by Google. Without a cumbersome operating system to get in the way, the Chromebook is always very fast compared to a laptop or tower. It boots almost instantly but with the long battery life I seldom even shut it down. I connects to WIFI and 3G without pain and works great with my GalaxyIII tethering too. Key board and screen are the right size and the pad works fine, and I got it a wireless mouse and it works perfectly. For those who criticize the Chromebook for not being a laptop, I say understand what it is and why it's better than a tablet or laptop before you buy it. Having everything in the cloud is very reliable and secure. I don't have to worry about the security or viruses or even the loss of the Chromebook. And I even like the color...

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Denny2014
St Louis, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Chromebook for Always Online Users
10/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Picked this up today at my local store. And as the title says, it's a nice Chromebook for the always on users. I got the white one, only one available at my local WalMart and I'm pleased I did. The other colors look garish. The speed compared to the previous generation of Chromebooks is impressive. 4GB of Ram and the faster processor help out a lot. It runs smoothly, boots incredibly fast and offers no issues as far as performance is concerned. The display is what you'd expect from a 14" 1366x768. It's decent, but not as crisp as it could be if they bumped it up a tiny bit. What can you expect for a sub-$300 notebook. The display doesn't reflect as much, a nice thing. The glare is below normal meaning I can actually use in it direct light and still see what's on screen. The images could be sharper however. It doesn't have a very wide angle but I don't care about that. I'm the only one who needs to see the screen. I like the keyboard okay. It's not as responsive as some, but better than others. I got used to it after awhile. I have to pound a little more than normally. The clickable trackpad is excellent for this class of machine. The chassis with the faux aluminum finish and white bottom/top looks impressive for a plastic laptop. I like it. I have had time to test out the ports, the camera or much else. I didn't test the T-Mobile and in my area there's only Edge so no 3g or fake 4g since it's not really LTE. I wish I could pop in an AT&T SIM card in to the strangely exposed slot on the side. I've owned one other Chromebook so setup was super fast. I just logged in and waited a minute and all my apps restored to their spot on the other C-book. I love that. Don't buy this if you want more than online web apps. You can't install complex software unless it runs online. To test this, use all of your web sites inside a Chrome browser on a Mac or Windows machine. If they work, they will almost certainly work on the Chromebook. Haven't had time to test battery life, but it did charge from about 50% to 100% in under 90 minutes. That's pretty good. May have been faster. I left it and came back 90 minutes later and it was at full steam.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hickory, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good performance
10/27/2013

Customer review by rrsale

4.0 stars 10/27/2013 by rrsale
by rrsale

This Chromebook offers improved performance over the Samsung Series 3 I was using. It renders pages quickly and doesn't bog down with many tabs open. I can also cast to Chromecast without problems. The build quality is good and it looks good too. I like the rubberized feel of the chassis. The keyboard works well and the track pad is large and accurate. Battery life is also very good. I can get around 8 hours of use out of it. The speakers are decent too. On the negative side, the screen is not great. It's serviceable but lacks high contrast and sharpness. Also, this Chromebook is much larger and heavier than the Samsung. In summary, I think that the good performance and build quality of this Chromebook make it a good value even if the screen is not stellar.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rrsale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best budget Chromebook Ever !!
10/30/2013

Customer review by RENTATEXAN

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by RENTATEXAN
by RENTATEXAN

I have been waiting for this model to arrive in stock and Walmart was the first to have stock of the HP 14" Haswell based Chromebook. The great thing about this Chromebook that makes it stand out from the crowd is the 14" Screen which if you use it a lot it is easier on the eyes than the 11.6" versions. The Battery life is amazing at 9.5 Hours on a full charge in use. The CPU is 50% faster than the original HP 14" Pavillion Chromebook which opens up browsing sessions about 2 seconds quicker than before. The fact that this model also comes with a 4G LTE mobile data card built in with 200MB / Month allowance for 2 years is sufficient to give you access in between WiFi areas. All this and the overall quality & Style of the finish is far better than the previous model, with its rubberized coating in White, Orange/red, or Blue colors. This was a present for my wife, but after using it for a while I have decided to buy another one for myself as I am so impressed with the features and quality for $350.00. If you can do without Microsoft Windows and locally installed Apps, then maybe a Chromebook is for you, no anti-virus needed as it cannot get a virus, only a Google account needed which is free as is Google docs which can easily replace Microsoft Office if your not a power user. You also get 100GB of Google Drive cloud based storage free for 2 years which is a saving of $100 and 12 free GOGO Inflight WiFi sessions when you fly for 2 years which if your a frequent flyer will end up paying for the Chromebook in the savings made. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RENTATEXAN
Forney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Highly recommend for anyone
11/19/2013

Customer review by The2ndSaulter

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by The2ndSaulter
by The2ndSaulter

This is not a desktop replacement, and it will not replace an upscale laptop. But since this computer is under $400 I'm assuming most people don't expect it to be. I love this computer because the battery life is better than almost any laptop out there (7-10 hours depending on brightness of screen). It has more than enough ports inlcuding three USB, a dedicated HDMI port which is extremely convenient, and a SD card reader too, which is more than the Chromebook 11 offers (no SD reader, no dedicated HDMI). It might be a bit heavy for someone wanting something like a lightweight netbook or Macbook Air, but for me it's very light. Along with the battery life the speed of the quick SSD is a huge selling point, waking the computer up from sleep-mode or from shut-down is literally instantaneous (same to shut it down). Some people might find the design/build of the laptop a bit cheap looking, but compared to my Dell Inspiron it may as well be a Macbook Pro. The keyboard is very comfortable for me, and feels very well made, I read somewhere that's common among HP laptops. The screen might be a problem for some because it isn't as bright as the Chromebook 11, but for me it's totally fine, at home I usually use it in dim light, and at school even when it's bright the screen looks fine. The only problem would be for someone that wants to use this outside everyday in the sun. I know some people will be worried about not being able to install certain programs, but the mirror-desktop Google app has solved that for me, so if you want to use Word or something (which you can't install on a Chromebook), you can use the mirror app to take control of your laptop or desktop at home, all you have to do is leave the computer on, and you can use any of the programs on your Chromebooks screen, although the size of the screen is a bit smaller but it gets the job done. I used this feature in class so I could use an electronic textbook on my Dell laptop at home that has to use the Nook Textbook program, which you can't download on the Chromebook. Overall I would say the build, design, quality, and performance of this laptop more than meets my expectations, but that's because I've been using a 2010 era Dell Inspiron laptop, so someone that uses a high-level laptop might not be as impressed. But I was most worried about the whole "you can only use it online" features and that the whole theme of the Chromebook just might not work since I've always been a Windows user, but it's been great for me so far (2 months of use). My top features of the laptop are battery life (at least 8 hours every day), performance (instant on and off), and ease of use (no updating, installing, Ctrl-Alt-Del'ing, etc.). I'd recommend this even more to anyone with an Android cell phone and will be using Google's Drive app and Google Calendar.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
The2ndSaulter
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE BEST laptop I have ever owned
5/6/2014

Customer review by 12thMan425

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by 12thMan425
by 12thMan425

I was a little skeptical when I first started to research the ChromeOS. But the more I read the more I realized Google is getting it right in so many ways. This Chromebook 14 has a Celeron processor, Intel originally designed the Celeron to run Windows. Windows is a huge massive operating system, rightly so, it can do so many things and needs a big processor. ChromeOS requires extremely low processing power. Why? Because it is built from the ground up to be a "Thin Client" which means it is relying on some other system to do larger processing tasks. What is that "other system"? All the servers you access on the Internet. So the Celeron in this Chromebook is BY FAR more power than you will ever need. You see ChromeOS (which is what is running on the Chromebook 14) is built to use a web browser (Chrome) to facilitate 90% of what the typical user needs to accomplish. Think about it, how often do you take your $1000 laptop, turn it on and immediately open a web browser? I bet for most people it's every single time. To use the Chromebook it will almost be imperative to have Internet access. Okay fine so when you are at home, restaurant, McDonald's, friends house you have WiFi, but what about when you are in the car or park? This Chromebook 14 has you covered, as a feature you get free 200mb of wireless data (through T-Mobile)! Now does this mean you can stream movies while eating at your picnic in the park? No. But what it does mean is you can still access the Internet and do, most likely, almost everything you normally do. Which brings me to this point. After the Internet, the most used function for a laptop is Office stuff like Word and Powerpoint. Is that a problem? Nope, Google has a suite of online applications like Google Docs, Sheets and Slides (Office it would be Word, Excel, Powerpoint), so you don't miss a beat. I almost bought the Chromebook 14 on Amazon but saw a post recommending I look on Walmart.com. You see the Chromebook 14 on Walmart.com is a different version because it has 4 gigabytes of RAM and the free T-Mobile cellular access. The Walmart Chromebook does cost $49 more than the Amazon version. The Amazon version does not have the T-mobile access (remember the picnic above?) and only has 2 gigabytes of RAM. To me doubling the RAM from 2 to 4 gigabytes is worth it on its own, throw in the T-mobile access and it's a no-brainer! Last thing I will say is, if you use an Android phone, this Chromebook will feel very familiar. Hope this helps. Now go get one of these amazing devices!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
12thMan425
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Laptop.
10/20/2013

Customer review by bwsummers

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by bwsummers
by bwsummers

I really like this laptop. It boots up quick and I never lose anything because everything is in the cloud. I can do anything on this laptop I could do on a Windows PC with the right web apps. The OS is lightweight which improves my day to day activity. I use the laptop for business. I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bwsummers
Sandy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 326 total reviews
1-20 of 326 reviews