Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 387 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

387 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

387 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
205
4 stars
116
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 stars
37
1-20 of 387 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 387 total reviews
1-20 of 387 reviews
Very "base model". Remote iffy.
12/24/2013

Customer review by Dannoson

2.0 stars 12/24/2013 by Dannoson
by Dannoson

This is our first Blue Ray player, replacing an old DVD player that seemed to cause objectionable noise through our sound system. This player doesn't cause the nasty noise, so that's great. It doesn't seem to respond well to the remote, especially trying to open or close the unit. I usually end up pushing the button on the unit. Only 1 HDMI output on the back. No other options, so not real flexible. Our amplifier is a few years old, and doesn't have HDMI inputs or outputs, so I'm not real sure if I can run it through the amplifier. As is, we run it directly to the LED TV, then take an RCA type analog signal from the TV to the amplifier. Good enough for me, though others might not be satisfied. We're mainly satisfied, since we got a cheap 47" LED TV, and needed something that would play 1080 HD content, and we didn't want to spend much, so it's been good enough for our needs.

Dannoson
Duluth, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Excellent simple player
7/9/2014

Customer review by Luke8400

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by Luke8400
by Luke8400

I wanted the Blu-ray experience with a reliable brand name at a good price, and this 100% fit the bill. I picked it up on Black Friday at around the same price it is now (shockingly low) and it's a great player with a small footprint. There is no online functionality, which is actually one of the reasons I bought it. I intentionally sought out a basic, no-frills player (surprisingly hard to find) because I already have multiple devices on my TV that can stream Netflix, Hulu, and much more. I would have never used the online functionality if this player had it, so I didn't want to pay extra for it. DVDs also look great on this player, and the USB port also plays every video/photo I've thrown at it via thumb drive. If you don't have a Blu-ray player, this should be your top choice. Use the money you'll save and pick up a Roku or Chromecast. You'll be much happier.

Luke8400
Athens, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Surprisingly Good
1/7/2014

Customer review by Have2SayIt

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by Have2SayIt
by Have2SayIt

This was a Black Friday-ish purchase. It was a great deal. At the low price that I paid, I wasn't sure what to expect but it turned out great. It is small and uncomplicated. I just plugged it in and it was ready to go right out of the box; no complicated set up although you can 'customize' its operation thru the on screen menus. It will accept input form CDs, DVDs, Blueray and flash drives. The video output and sound quality is very good. Really Minor Cons: There is no power button or eject button on the unit - you have to use the remote. This is more a preference issue. The remote is a little on the small side but that is not a big deal. All things considered, it is worth more than I paid for it.

Have2SayIt
Douglasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Destroys DVD
2/9/2014

Customer review by RumNcoke

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by RumNcoke
by RumNcoke

I gave a one star because it did play all the DVDs well, once. The problem is every DVD it played it also destroyed. The entire surface of the DVD had perfect circular scratch or burn marks left behind where it had played. I tested one DVD by playing for only 5 minutes and it only scratched a small portion of the surface it had played otherwise all the others I played left entire surface scratched or burned. The dvds would not play after that. Prior to playing the dvd had a mirror like finish after they had a milky white finish, kind of weird maybe not scratches but something just as bad like it was burnt.

RumNcoke
Bellevue, NE, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Bare bones blu-ray player
1/2/2014

Customer review by TheTXDude

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by TheTXDude
by TheTXDude

If all you are looking for is a basic blu-ray DVD player then this is it. I have watched 1 blu-ray and 1 standard DVD through this player so far and it worked as expected. If you want a DVD player with Smart functions or multiple A/V inputs or outputs, this does not have it. It has 1 HDMI output so make sure you have an HDMI cable since one is not included. The remote control has all the command features you need but it is on the small side of size if you have big hands. Also, the DVD player is small and light so it does not take up much space next to your tv.

TheTXDude
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Exactly what we were looking for
7/22/2014

Customer review by Theharleygirl

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by Theharleygirl
by Theharleygirl

This blu ray player was exactly what we were looking for. We bought a 70" smart tv, so we didn't need a streaming video player, just a basic blu ray player. We haven't had luck with previous players lasting long, so we wanted a very inexpensive one. This one fit the bill and works fine. It's easy to use and the picture is very clear. Went all over town looking for a simple, small, inexpensive blu-ray player, when all we needed to do was look at Sams club online. Shipping was free and it arrived in two days!

Theharleygirl
Springfield, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
unhappy with item
12/31/2013

Customer review by mashir

2.0 stars 12/31/2013 by mashir
by mashir

LG normally good products. This blue-ray player did not even have a cord to connect it to the television. So you have to spend at least another $15 to 25 before you can use it. I bought 3 of these, the first was given as a Christmas gift to handicapped kid. He got it hooked up, watched 2 movies then turned it off. It would not turn on the next morning and now I have to drive 150 miles to return it. Second one hooked up and has worked for 3 days, but no review on it yet. Third one not hooked up yet.

mashir
Eureka KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Getting what you paid for is not a bad thing
3/20/2014

Customer review by ManCave1

4.0 stars 3/20/2014 by ManCave1
by ManCave1

With free shipping from "Last Chance Buys" on Sam's Club website I got this to my door for under $43. I wanted a very simple player and that's what I got. You just need to supply your own HDMI cable and you can be watching up-scaled DVD's ASAP. That's what I bought it for and that's what it does for me. Works as planned, nothing more, nothing less. The lightweight remote probably wouldn't survive a typical drop on a tiled floor.

ManCave1
St. Charles, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Nice BASIC Blu-Ray/DVD Player
3/1/2014

Customer review by SatisifiedSteve

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by SatisifiedSteve
by SatisifiedSteve

Nice BASIC Blu-Ray player. Plays Blu-Ray, DVD and recorded DVD's(DVD-R). Unit does not have a LED display - just a green "power-on" light. Plug-in play right out of the box. Excellent pic. Only has one output - HDMI and one USB input. Easy to use Remote and menus. Ordered on-line from Sam's on Sunday and received it on Wednesday with Free Shipping!!!! Would definitely recommend if you don't need SMART or Wi-Fi accessibility.

SatisifiedSteve
Colorado, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Product at a Great Price
1/1/2014

Customer review by JRV1

4.0 stars 1/1/2014 by JRV1
by JRV1

LG is a quality brand overall, I bought this disc player during the 2013 black Friday sale. The best part about that is that Sam's Club offered this item online! Anyhow, the only reason that I didn't give this item a five star rating is because I haven't used it enough to tell whether or not it will last a long time but so far all of my Blu-ray discs looks fantastic with this device, super crisp and clear. No complaints.

JRV1
Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Nice inexpensive device !!!!
2/24/2014

Customer review by DVDWatcher

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by DVDWatcher
by DVDWatcher

For the price, it can't be beat !!!! It up-scales nicely and plays just about everything except divx files. Nice to have the front usb port too !! The only thing I notice is that it doesn't have a counter on a front display. The only reason I mention this is because all my other players had this and you kind of get used to it. Other than that, it's perfect.

DVDWatcher
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
A great little Blue Ray Player
4/29/2014

Customer review by CPOP

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by CPOP
by CPOP

It does not have all the bells and whistles that my more expensive unit does, but for watching movies it is more than adequate. The only feature it is lacking that I would have liked is two rca jacks for normal audio out...No complaints on my part I knew what I was buying when I bought it and the price was right. Sam's Club is a very good place to shop.

CPOP
Lemoore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Lowest price - great picture
1/2/2014

Customer review by OFGdad

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by OFGdad
by OFGdad

This Blu-Ray player is the lowest cost unit I have seen over the last year. There is no wi-fi, internet, display, or even very many indicator lights. The software is minimal at best. It is exactly what I wanted. I have great visuals, the Blu-Ray picture experience and, under the same circumstances, I would buy another one in a heartbeat.

OFGdad
West Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Poor Quality
1/18/2014

Customer review by Hosenfeffer

1.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Hosenfeffer
by Hosenfeffer

Since I have received this DVD Blue Ray player I have had nothing but problems. The tray for the DVD is of poor quality, DVD's do not fit well also while the Picture quality and ease of use is fair the player emits a roaring noise while playing DVD's. I am very dis satisfied with this product and would not recommend this player.

Hosenfeffer
Perry, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Excellent Blu-Ray player for the money!
12/24/2013

Customer review by RiversRivers

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by RiversRivers
by RiversRivers

Excellent Blu-Ray player for the money! I bought 2. It is very light weight. Has tiny remote. You can hear the disk spinning while it is loading. It does not come with a HDMI cable. But the picture and sound are awesome for a $38.00 player. I wholeheartedly recommend this player for a first time purchase!

RiversRivers
Irving, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Very good value
1/21/2014

Customer review by HolidayShopper2013

4.0 stars 1/21/2014 by HolidayShopper2013
by HolidayShopper2013

Our Blu-ray player broke and we were not in a position to buy anything expensive. We found this model at Sam's Club online. So far it has been working great. It is a basic simple model so the menu system is not great, but for $40 it is well worth it to be able to watch our Blu-rays again.

HolidayShopper2013
Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Perfect for Rv.
4/30/2014

Customer review by Traveler462

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by Traveler462
by Traveler462

We own a small travel trailer and have used a blu- ray player before but it was a pain removing and reinstalling it in the house. This small player will take up less room and will be dedicated to the camper and we were amazed at how inexpensive it was. I would definitely recommend this.

Traveler462
Wichita Falls, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Value Blu-Ray Player
4/23/2014

Customer review by CWalk

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by CWalk
by CWalk

Being small in size and having a great feature with the digital video player makes this blu-ray a great buy. The quality of the movies are great, but again the digital movie option is the best feature. Can insert a 16GB drive full of movies and my daughters have hours of entertainment.

CWalk
Blytheville, AR 72315, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Not to impressed
5/5/2014

Customer review by dksmommy

2.0 stars 5/5/2014 by dksmommy
by dksmommy

The products need to come with the required equipment or atleast prompt the option to buy the required equipment extra. Was a bit upset that I had to make extra purchases to be able to watch the player. And still yet have yet to hook up my other one because the part wasn't with it.

dksmommy
Huntington, WV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
No updated outputs
1/1/2014

Customer review by chicgeek

1.0 stars 1/1/2014 by chicgeek
by chicgeek

Was very excited to buy this product. However it does not work with our updated surround sound system. If you have an older system with a single output it will work. However if you have anything past 2006 it won't. Can't use it unless it is hooked up to our TV. Very disappointing.

chicgeek
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 387 total reviews
1-20 of 387 reviews