Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 283 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

283 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

283 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
149
4 stars
81
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 stars
31
1-20 of 283 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews
Black Friday Purchase
12/6/2013

Customer review by mamareadromance

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by mamareadromance
by mamareadromance

Bought this online on black friday, the player is excellent if you're looking for JUST a blu-ray player. It doesnt have internet connectivity, you cannot access netflix/hulu, it plays disc movies. I'm very happy with my purchase, if I want netflix I have my xbox/pc I needed something just for blu-ray/dvd. It's easy to set up, 2 simple cords, HDMI (not included) and power cable. Comes with a remote and battery, very small/thin player. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (99) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamareadromance
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Seemingly lot of bang for the buck
12/11/2013

Customer review by liberalartist

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by liberalartist
by liberalartist

Although fairly tech-savy, I am late coming to bluray. After vhs and dvd, I mean how many more versions of my fave films do I have to buy??? Besides, like everyone I was initially dazzled by the hours and hours of extras on dvd's and bluray's, but actually watched only a very small percentage of them. So, I use bluray as an adjunct to my already-huge movie collection. As bluray movies get cheaper and cheaper, it made sense to get a player. My first one I also purchased at Walmart during a black friday deal a couple of years ago. I purchased this one as a black-friday online special a few weeks ago and it is a deal. It installed unbelievably easily and so far, does everything you want a bluray to do. Bear in mind that you also need to order an hdmi cable with this; it does not have output for coaxial or other cables. It is strictly hdmi. Then, plug the ends into tv and player, plug it in, select hdmi on your input and you are ready to go. I have two entertainment systems in my house. The living room system runs through my stereo receiver so I get the sound through my monster speakers. This bluray unit would not work there as it goes through the tv only. However, my other system is tv-run, with all components being hooked up to the tv, including the soundbar. With this set up, this player really shines!

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
liberalartist
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap, no thrills blu-ray player does its job!
1/2/2014

Customer review by NewUserNewUserStL

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by NewUserNewUserStL
by NewUserNewUserStL

We purchased 3 of these over the holidays and they work very well. We bought one for my daughter's play room, one for my father-in-law, and one for my grandfather. We chose this blu-ray player because we needed something that was affordable, easy to set up/use, and didn't have all the bells and whistles of most players these days. Affordability: I looked all over the internet and couldn't find a cheaper player from a well known brand with good reviews anywhere. Still not under $25 like DVD players, but you can't beat under $50 for what you're getting with this player. Easy to use & setup: Can't get any easier than two cords. There's only one port option on the back and that's HDMI. The only other port you'll find is for the power cord. Use was easy as well; menus are clear and straight forward. If you need a blu-ray player but don't need all of the fancy apps and internet connectivity, then you can't go wrong with this player.

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewUserNewUserStL
St.Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Blu-ray Player
12/2/2013

Customer review by Adam7912

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Adam7912
by Adam7912

Just purchased this on thanksgiving day black friday sale in store! This is a great Blu-ray player for the price. I have already watched dvds, blu-rays & it also play cds very well. There is a usb port on the front which allows you to connect tablets, smartphones & other media! It does not have wifi so you cant stream video from youtube or netflix but that is a feature that i dont need because i have a smart tv for all of that stuff! This product very well gets the job done and is worth every penny!!! p.s This is a HDMI only unit!!!

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adam7912
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
small, very easy to set up and use
12/10/2013

Customer review by tckitty23

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by tckitty23
by tckitty23

I like the small size. Easy to set up and use. Plays blu-rays well. Not a lot of instructions and web site with LG pretty good for registration and other information. When playing the disk, for the price, I thought the picture was pretty good. Great for second tv, bedrooms, dorm rooms, small remote, light and portable.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tckitty23
rural texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Purchase!
12/15/2013

Customer review by bankswhip

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by bankswhip
by bankswhip

If you already have a Roku or similar device to stream movies and just want a Blu-ray player for your discs then this is a great player to purchase. It has great reviews and is certainly affordable. I purchased one for my bedroom and thought it was such a good deal I snagged a 2nd one for the living room a couple weeks later, they are both paired up with a Roku 3 allowing me to cut out my cable bill completely. If you need a Blu-ray player then this is a no brainer for under $50.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bankswhip
Westfield, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, basic Blu-Ray player at an excellent price
1/7/2014

Customer review by WalmartShopper666999

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by WalmartShopper666999
by WalmartShopper666999

I was looking for a small disk player for my office TV and this one fit the need perfectly. It's just a basic player, but very compact. All I needed was the single HDMI output and no need for Internet streaming - I can do that with my computer. Be advised that this doesn't come with an HDMI cable so make sure you have one, or pick one up when you get this. The ad also says, "Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery", which is puzzling because there is a battery included for the remote control. Also, the ad says, "Direct recording to USB". I downloaded the full user manual from the LG support site and it turns out it's only for ripping audio tracks from a CD to a USB memory stick. A nice extra feature though. In fact there are a number of neat features in this player so I would recommend you go to the LG support site and download the full user manual. No problems playing Blu-Ray disks and the upscaling for DVDs looks very good compared to the standard DVD player I was using on my computer. If you're looking for a basic player, this is an excellent deal. I've only had it for a day now so I can't comment on it's durability yet.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartShopper666999
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
simple and small
12/11/2013

Customer review by ridgerunners

3.0 stars 12/11/2013 by ridgerunners
by ridgerunners

For use with HDMI only. Does not have any other output connections. Has a USB input for pictures,etc. Picture quality is good. Menu has a good range of options.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ridgerunners
ridgerunners
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not for surround sound systems!
12/2/2013

Customer review by dafrix

3.0 stars 12/2/2013 by dafrix
by dafrix

There are no audio outs, so cannot be used with a conventional surround sound receiver. Very dissappointed, I assumed it would have audio outs, as the most basic dvd's have these. It is fine for HDMI to a 1080 TV and listen through the TV speakers

Was this review helpful? (29) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dafrix
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player
2/16/2014

Customer review by BlondiNativeAme3

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by BlondiNativeAme3
by BlondiNativeAme3

I love it. After reading other reviews before buying, I also ordered the 6' HDMI cable with it (also sold at Walmart online & stores). I had it set up and running in less than 10 minutes. Took it out of the box, attached the HDMI cable from player to tv and plugged it in and it was ready to go. I have it attached to a 2013 year model, 50" Visio Smart TV + WIFI. I have always had either a VHS/DVD combo or just a DVD player for viewing my VHS tapes and my DVD movies. This model Blu-ray disc player not only plays Blu-ray discs but, also my other DVD movies, and I have a lot, over 200. The Blu-ray player is that good that you can't tell if you're watching a Blu-ray disc or a DVD movie disc. This is an excellent Blu-ray Player for the price I paid and well worth it. "Just remember to buy your HDMI cable at the same time (under $5) so you can install player right away." I would definitely buy this item again as a gift for someone. This is my 1st time ever owning a Blu-ray Disc Player and absolutely love the fact it also plays movie DVD's, music CD's, etc. I also like it because I don't have cable tv, just rabbit ears on my tv and only get a handful of tv channels so I watch a lot of my DVD movies as well as 2 Blu-ray movies I have.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlondiNativeAme3
Southampton, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I had to return this
12/8/2013

Customer review by Joie2002

1.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Joie2002
by Joie2002

It turned on, but would not read any discs. I tried several brand new ones. I had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joie2002
Craig, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Value
1/20/2014

Customer review by Rsabbath

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Rsabbath
by Rsabbath

Great picture. Awesome features. Was pleasantly surprised with it considering how inexpensive it was. Great value! So happy I got this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rsabbath
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good player in my opinion
12/10/2013

Customer review by Flyer77

1.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Flyer77
by Flyer77

This blue ray player seemed like it was a good buy compared to the others I had looked at. But, I guess you get what you pay for. It seemed to work very slowly when I first turned it on. Then I tried watching my first blue ray. The speed in which the unit followed commands was very slow, then the unit became unresponsive to commands of the remote and on the unit itself. It also made some weird noises like something was dragging when you put a disc in or took one out. First use and the unit seemed to be cheaply built and did not even come close to operating as it should. Returned this LG and purchased a Sony. It was a little more, but was worth it. Seemed to be built better, was easy set up, no hassles and worked as it should have.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flyer77
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First blu-ray
1/22/2014

Customer review by washougalmom

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by washougalmom
by washougalmom

I held off as long as possible to get a blu-ray player because I didn't see the point. We got this one when my daughter's dvd player died because the price was about the same as a regular dvd player. We moved the dvd player from the living room into her room and hooked up the blu-ray on the main TV. It works great and does have a little bit better picture than the dvd player. I have not used any other features than just playing movies and probably never will.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
washougalmom
Washougal, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing for the price!!
12/14/2013

Customer review by NewBlurayOwner

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by NewBlurayOwner
by NewBlurayOwner

This is my first Blu ray player and it is awesome!! I should've invested in one long ago.. The only thing I wish would've been different is that it includes wifi capabilities. Otherwise for $44 it was well worth it!! (It was cyber Monday deals)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewBlurayOwner
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First time using a Blu Ray
12/10/2013

Customer review by Art1202

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Art1202
by Art1202

This is the first Blu Ray player I've ever had. Also, the first time I've ever watched a Blu Ray DVD. The sound and picture are both amazing! I'm glad I came across this product and that it was available for the great Black Friday price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Art1202
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great equipment
12/12/2013

Customer review by retiredmn

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by retiredmn
by retiredmn

The Blu-ray players were very easy to set up and worked perfectly, except I had to throw away the battery for the remote, they were dead. No be deal

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retiredmn
Harlingen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
blue ray plsyer
12/12/2013

Customer review by dlh2214

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by dlh2214
by dlh2214

Nothing fancy, but it does its job very well and set-up and operation are a piece of cake.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlh2214
okc, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price
12/14/2013

Customer review by CindyLou82

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by CindyLou82
by CindyLou82

Great deal. Bought on thanksgiving sale for $38. Worth it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CindyLou82
Philadelphia, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great simple Blu-Ray player
1/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Simple Blu-Ray player that can play all popular media files (including mkv). If you don't need a wifi enabled media player this blu-ray player is wonderful for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fairfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews