Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 283 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

283 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

283 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
149
4 stars
81
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 stars
31
1-20 of 283 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews
Cheap, no thrills blu-ray player does its job!
1/2/2014

Customer review by NewUserNewUserStL

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by NewUserNewUserStL
by NewUserNewUserStL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased 3 of these over the holidays and they work very well. We bought one for my daughter's play room, one for my father-in-law, and one for my grandfather. We chose this blu-ray player because we needed something that was affordable, easy to set up/use, and didn't have all the bells and whistles of most players these days. Affordability: I looked all over the internet and couldn't find a cheaper player from a well known brand with good reviews anywhere. Still not under $25 like DVD players, but you can't beat under $50 for what you're getting with this player. Easy to use & setup: Can't get any easier than two cords. There's only one port option on the back and that's HDMI. The only other port you'll find is for the power cord. Use was easy as well; menus are clear and straight forward. If you need a blu-ray player but don't need all of the fancy apps and internet connectivity, then you can't go wrong with this player.

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewUserNewUserStL
St.Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seemingly lot of bang for the buck
12/11/2013

Customer review by liberalartist

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by liberalartist
by liberalartist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although fairly tech-savy, I am late coming to bluray. After vhs and dvd, I mean how many more versions of my fave films do I have to buy??? Besides, like everyone I was initially dazzled by the hours and hours of extras on dvd's and bluray's, but actually watched only a very small percentage of them. So, I use bluray as an adjunct to my already-huge movie collection. As bluray movies get cheaper and cheaper, it made sense to get a player. My first one I also purchased at Walmart during a black friday deal a couple of years ago. I purchased this one as a black-friday online special a few weeks ago and it is a deal. It installed unbelievably easily and so far, does everything you want a bluray to do. Bear in mind that you also need to order an hdmi cable with this; it does not have output for coaxial or other cables. It is strictly hdmi. Then, plug the ends into tv and player, plug it in, select hdmi on your input and you are ready to go. I have two entertainment systems in my house. The living room system runs through my stereo receiver so I get the sound through my monster speakers. This bluray unit would not work there as it goes through the tv only. However, my other system is tv-run, with all components being hooked up to the tv, including the soundbar. With this set up, this player really shines!

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
liberalartist
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Black Friday Purchase
12/6/2013

Customer review by mamareadromance

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by mamareadromance
by mamareadromance

Bought this online on black friday, the player is excellent if you're looking for JUST a blu-ray player. It doesnt have internet connectivity, you cannot access netflix/hulu, it plays disc movies. I'm very happy with my purchase, if I want netflix I have my xbox/pc I needed something just for blu-ray/dvd. It's easy to set up, 2 simple cords, HDMI (not included) and power cable. Comes with a remote and battery, very small/thin player. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (99) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamareadromance
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good, basic Blu-Ray player at an excellent price
1/7/2014

Customer review by WalmartShopper666999

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by WalmartShopper666999
by WalmartShopper666999

I was looking for a small disk player for my office TV and this one fit the need perfectly. It's just a basic player, but very compact. All I needed was the single HDMI output and no need for Internet streaming - I can do that with my computer. Be advised that this doesn't come with an HDMI cable so make sure you have one, or pick one up when you get this. The ad also says, "Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery", which is puzzling because there is a battery included for the remote control. Also, the ad says, "Direct recording to USB". I downloaded the full user manual from the LG support site and it turns out it's only for ripping audio tracks from a CD to a USB memory stick. A nice extra feature though. In fact there are a number of neat features in this player so I would recommend you go to the LG support site and download the full user manual. No problems playing Blu-Ray disks and the upscaling for DVDs looks very good compared to the standard DVD player I was using on my computer. If you're looking for a basic player, this is an excellent deal. I've only had it for a day now so I can't comment on it's durability yet.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopper666999
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great Blu-ray Player
12/2/2013

Customer review by Adam7912

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Adam7912
by Adam7912

Just purchased this on thanksgiving day black friday sale in store! This is a great Blu-ray player for the price. I have already watched dvds, blu-rays & it also play cds very well. There is a usb port on the front which allows you to connect tablets, smartphones & other media! It does not have wifi so you cant stream video from youtube or netflix but that is a feature that i dont need because i have a smart tv for all of that stuff! This product very well gets the job done and is worth every penny!!! p.s This is a HDMI only unit!!!

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adam7912
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
small, very easy to set up and use
12/10/2013

Customer review by tckitty23

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by tckitty23
by tckitty23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like the small size. Easy to set up and use. Plays blu-rays well. Not a lot of instructions and web site with LG pretty good for registration and other information. When playing the disk, for the price, I thought the picture was pretty good. Great for second tv, bedrooms, dorm rooms, small remote, light and portable.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tckitty23
rural texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player
2/16/2014

Customer review by BlondiNativeAme3

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by BlondiNativeAme3
by BlondiNativeAme3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it. After reading other reviews before buying, I also ordered the 6' HDMI cable with it (also sold at Walmart online & stores). I had it set up and running in less than 10 minutes. Took it out of the box, attached the HDMI cable from player to tv and plugged it in and it was ready to go. I have it attached to a 2013 year model, 50" Visio Smart TV + WIFI. I have always had either a VHS/DVD combo or just a DVD player for viewing my VHS tapes and my DVD movies. This model Blu-ray disc player not only plays Blu-ray discs but, also my other DVD movies, and I have a lot, over 200. The Blu-ray player is that good that you can't tell if you're watching a Blu-ray disc or a DVD movie disc. This is an excellent Blu-ray Player for the price I paid and well worth it. "Just remember to buy your HDMI cable at the same time (under $5) so you can install player right away." I would definitely buy this item again as a gift for someone. This is my 1st time ever owning a Blu-ray Disc Player and absolutely love the fact it also plays movie DVD's, music CD's, etc. I also like it because I don't have cable tv, just rabbit ears on my tv and only get a handful of tv channels so I watch a lot of my DVD movies as well as 2 Blu-ray movies I have.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlondiNativeAme3
Southampton, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Purchase!
12/15/2013

Customer review by bankswhip

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by bankswhip
by bankswhip
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you already have a Roku or similar device to stream movies and just want a Blu-ray player for your discs then this is a great player to purchase. It has great reviews and is certainly affordable. I purchased one for my bedroom and thought it was such a good deal I snagged a 2nd one for the living room a couple weeks later, they are both paired up with a Roku 3 allowing me to cut out my cable bill completely. If you need a Blu-ray player then this is a no brainer for under $50.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bankswhip
Westfield, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
simple and small
12/11/2013

Customer review by ridgerunners

3.0 stars 12/11/2013 by ridgerunners
by ridgerunners
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For use with HDMI only. Does not have any other output connections. Has a USB input for pictures,etc. Picture quality is good. Menu has a good range of options.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ridgerunners
ridgerunners
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
1/20/2014

Customer review by Rsabbath

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Rsabbath
by Rsabbath
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great picture. Awesome features. Was pleasantly surprised with it considering how inexpensive it was. Great value! So happy I got this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rsabbath
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good player in my opinion
12/10/2013

Customer review by Flyer77

1.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Flyer77
by Flyer77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This blue ray player seemed like it was a good buy compared to the others I had looked at. But, I guess you get what you pay for. It seemed to work very slowly when I first turned it on. Then I tried watching my first blue ray. The speed in which the unit followed commands was very slow, then the unit became unresponsive to commands of the remote and on the unit itself. It also made some weird noises like something was dragging when you put a disc in or took one out. First use and the unit seemed to be cheaply built and did not even come close to operating as it should. Returned this LG and purchased a Sony. It was a little more, but was worth it. Seemed to be built better, was easy set up, no hassles and worked as it should have.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flyer77
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First blu-ray
1/22/2014

Customer review by washougalmom

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by washougalmom
by washougalmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I held off as long as possible to get a blu-ray player because I didn't see the point. We got this one when my daughter's dvd player died because the price was about the same as a regular dvd player. We moved the dvd player from the living room into her room and hooked up the blu-ray on the main TV. It works great and does have a little bit better picture than the dvd player. I have not used any other features than just playing movies and probably never will.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
washougalmom
Washougal, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not for surround sound systems!
12/2/2013

Customer review by dafrix

3.0 stars 12/2/2013 by dafrix
by dafrix

There are no audio outs, so cannot be used with a conventional surround sound receiver. Very dissappointed, I assumed it would have audio outs, as the most basic dvd's have these. It is fine for HDMI to a 1080 TV and listen through the TV speakers

Was this review helpful? (29) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dafrix
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Basic player
12/17/2013

Customer review by hersheylab

2.0 stars 12/17/2013 by hersheylab
by hersheylab
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let me start by saying I have NOT used this yet. I purchased this item as one of the 1 hour in stock gaurantee items on Thanksgiving. I was in store well before 6 pm but they were all gone already. Got the ticket for it and placed the order early Friday morning. It took more than 2 weeks for it to get to the store. Now I have the tv and the player. Took the player out of box only to find there NO way to hook it up to the tv. Now have to BACK to the store to get a cable. Very frustrated. Good thing I opened it now and didn't wait until Xmas to watch the movies that were purchased to go with it. So with that being said it looks easy to set up, just plug in and connect cable to tv. It is the basic player so it should be simple to operate. Does not meet expectations due to not having what need to use it and that is why only gave 2 stars for value since have to purchase cable also.

Was this review helpful? (3) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hersheylab
Meredith,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I had to return this
12/8/2013

Customer review by Joie2002

1.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Joie2002
by Joie2002

It turned on, but would not read any discs. I tried several brand new ones. I had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joie2002
Craig, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Amazing for the price!!
12/14/2013

Customer review by NewBlurayOwner

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by NewBlurayOwner
by NewBlurayOwner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first Blu ray player and it is awesome!! I should've invested in one long ago.. The only thing I wish would've been different is that it includes wifi capabilities. Otherwise for $44 it was well worth it!! (It was cyber Monday deals)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewBlurayOwner
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Basic player
1/2/2014

Customer review by JimMNH

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by JimMNH
by JimMNH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does a good job playing all the media types listed. Upsample of DVDs isn't as strong as my older middle tier Phillips DVD player. Upsampling introduces excessive dithering and isn't as detailed or sharp as the Phillips. But for the money it's a fair player. You must have HDMI as this is the only output option from the player. USB feature doesn't allow you to plug in a thumb drive or use your iPhone or Android device as a media server so it's largely useless from my perspective. Drive noise is a little noticeable from time to time (chapter switch and such) but not bad. Nice small size. Careful with the tray .. I suspect it's easily broken. Remote is acceptable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimMNH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great black friday buy!
12/15/2013

Customer review by tonew4you

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by tonew4you
by tonew4you
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was an item purchased out of a whim. I didnt want to go to the black friday sales cause of all the people. I went online and saw the sales there. Ididnt have enough money to spend but could pass up the chance to buy this item. When I received the item I couldnt believe how easy it was to instal. Just the power cord and HDMI cord to the tv and that was it. The picture quality is awsome also. It is a great item at a great buy. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tonew4you
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Way better than expected!
12/15/2013

Customer review by fromney

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by fromney
by fromney
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For an inexpensive Blu-Ray player, this little thing surprised me! Easy setup, simple instructions, and fabulous picture clarity! Why pay twice the price for a big Japanese player when this one works just as well? The footprint is so minimal, it fits in half the space my old slimline DVD player took up. I've played a dozen discs so far, and everything is ship shape. We'll see how long the honeymoon lasts. :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fromney
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for a first timer
2/1/2014

Customer review by osobaboso

4.0 stars 2/1/2014 by osobaboso
by osobaboso
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am new to the whole blue ray thing. This was easy to set up with the exception of having to go out and buy a HDMI cable for it. I think that is something that should be included. It is relatively easy to figure out, so far. I only have one set of disc that is blue ray so I don't have as much experience with it yet, but that will change with time. Overall, I am happy with the product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
osobaboso
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews