Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 2721 reviews
5 stars
1341
4 stars
660
3 stars
242
2 stars
132
1 stars
346
Sort by: 
1-20 of 2714 reviews
1-20 of 2714 reviews
Love It - But too early to tell
5/19/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted a Red Printer, but the printer was way out of my Budget. When I saw the White Canon, printer I jumped at it for the price was right in my Budget. I picked up the printer at my local Walmart, which saved me a bundle on shipping. I did have to pay tax. I have only had the Canon Printer for a few days now, even though my rating seems high, I believe this printer is going to work for me. I do find the printer start up noisy, as it pulls the paper down into the print mode. I used the "silent", option, in the soft-ware, but still find the unit noisy. The printing effect is actually very quiet....I like the clean white look, and lines are very simple of this Canon Printer. I'm a simple person, and like simple things. At this juncture, only time will tell, whether or not, I made the mistake of rating this Printer to high. We'll see.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (358)No (107)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little printer for the price
10/2/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
Had to replace a older high end printer quick with little funds asap, chose this one and it's perfect for my temporary print jobs. This unit does not come with a USB cable like most do not do. I just used my old one off a HP. Nice software included, I like the interface. Printer is Not a high end and does print slow, just needed it to print out shipping labels. Love the color of this machine. At the time of purchase they did not have the ink in stock for this printer so I can't give a value cost for that. All in All, great printer for a student/child or a back up..for 29.00 it's worth every penny and more. The msp on Canon web site is 69.00.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (836)No (211)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simply Easy & Budget Friendly
6/6/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Price: I bought the Canon 2900 series (which is similar to the 2500's) during the holidays of 2014 on sale for about 15-20$ online, free shipping to my local Walmart. The most recent prices I've seen them being sold for now are around 25-30$ from in store. Compared to other printers this was very cheap so I took a chance since I would only be about 15-20$ if it wasn't worth it. I'll tell you right now. Even if it was 30$ I would buy it after having owned it now. Quality: It's a Copier, Scanner & Printer. It does a great job with all these functions, it's a fairly quick printer and the quality isn't bad either. I've always liked Cannon Cameras and Printers so I felt confident in the brand. The Printer hardware itself is all plastic, very big and blocky. The material is cheap and doesn't look very sophisticated but for the price I wasn't expecting it to be a Ferrari or anything if you know what I mean. THE NEGATIVE I will say the printing, the start up and functions are very loud and they do take a minute or two on the initializing once it's turned on. If you want something quiet and silent then this isn't for you. So noise knocks off maybe a 5% out of a 100% Software: Mixed feelings overall on the interactive software. It's not super fast, and takes a lot of time and processing from your computer on the start up. I have it set to not show up when I start up the laptop now so that's good that Canon put that feature in. You can do a lot of customization with the Canon Quick menu. You can Scan, Copy and even specify documents and photos and so on to scan for the best quality. So lots of options on the software, easy install. THE NEGATIVE I had the most trouble with setting up Wifi. I think perhaps that was because I didn't have a Disc Drive on the laptop that I was using but I found a few alternatives to make it work temporarily. The wifi set up is really frustrating with or with out the CD. Personally I'm not sure why companies haven't started using USB's to install software instead of the CD's that are slowly becoming outdated in the tech world, but I digress. If yo're not worried about the inconvenience of not having a wifi connected printer then this won't be an issue. If you want that wifi connection then just be warned, it can work but it's not always easy to set up. This knocked the rating down 15% because I did want it with the no hassle wifi connection. So overall, If you just need a Printer/Scanner/Copier, you don't care about looks, noise or wifi, then this is for you. Easy printer for everyone (kids/teens/adults/eldery/non-tech savy) to use with ease. Also the cartridge is easy to find, $50 usually for the XL black and color bundle, not super pricey so it's not bad. Overall Grade 80% (This was my first review on Walmart. I hope I didn't ramble too much lol. I took about 10 pictures but only allowed 2, bummer. Anyway, Thank you)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (443)No (51)
Report
Was this review helpful?
cheap and great
4/26/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i love this printer it works well and it cheap it scan good too and when it run out of ink don't go buy any it cheaper just to buy this printer again that comes with ink already
Was this review helpful?
Yes (301)No (70)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Canon PIXMA MG2520
6/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Excellent
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Bang For The Buck
6/29/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have had this little "all in one printer" for about a week now and it has more than met its expectations: unpacking this item was a breeze, installing software was easy and, so far, I haven't had one single problem with its operation. The only drawback regarding this product - if there is a drawback - it's the absence of the USB cable that connects the printer to your computer. Of course, I would have preferred that a USB cable be included, but the fact that they do NOT tell you the cable is missing - to me - is the troubling. There's nothing worse than getting this thing home, being exited about your new purchase, and having to go back to the store to buy a cable that - by all rights - should have been included in the buy. So please... If you're considering purchasing this printer (and I do recommend it), please pay attention to the reviews. There are several people who mention Cannon's oversight. Adding the USB cable to your purchase will help your experience be a more pleasant one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (124)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worst printer ever
11/6/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this printer with high hopes based on the previous reviews, but I have had nothing but trouble with it. It is fairly easy to install, however it has a lot of pop of messages randomly about the printer and it installed a weird L-shaped toolbar on my homescreen. Annoying, but fixable. The real problems came in when I started printing and scanning. I used the printer one time and it printed without a problem, however the second time I tried to use it it keeps saying there is no paper but it is full of paper. I've tried with one sheet at a time, many sheets at a time, shook the printer to make sure nothing was jammed inside, removed and re installed the software and ink cartridges, cleaned the roller, everything! The roller at the top is not catching the paper. It will grab it and pull in the paper for about an inch and then it says its empty. Over and over and over. The scan function is also very loud and not good quality. Very disappointed in this purchase, would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (131)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great multi printer with a great price!
2/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was looking for a multi use printer to replace my old one that had broken a few years back ( which was almost three times what I paid for this one) . I was'nt looking for anything over the top,just mainly to print documents,school and doctor forms for the kids ect.,and found the Canon Pixma . I asked around and apparently several friends also had Canon's and said they were extremely durable and trustworthy to last long ( my last was a different brand) . While the ink did go faster than i had hoped( mainly because my kids were so excited to finally have a printer again and printed a million pictures ) - it does come with starter ink which was a huge help. It prints clearly , the colors are bright ,and I have yet to have a single paper jam( which actually happened quite a bit in the past). The software is very easy and fun to use! and it scans fast as well . If your on a tight budget like i am, and need something reliable for day to day basic use, I suggest giving this printer a try!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (379)No (151)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GARBAGE
7/11/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a complete piece of garbage. I paid $35 for this, so I knew it was not going to be the best printer in the world, but thought it would be adequate because it is by Canon. I could not have been more wrong. Most of the time this printer simply does not print. The message that it is printing comes up, but it does not print! Also, even when using heavy weight paper, the printer tends to grab several sheets at once. This would not be completely terrible if the ink did not then show up on several sheets of paper. I should not have to cut and tape several sheets together to make one page. Another thing I do not like is the fact that the ink on the paper, when this printer actually prints, is wet after printing. Dry time is up to a minute, which can be problematic when printing more than one sheet at a time. Lastly, the ink is about $25 per cartridge, which is high. I should have gotten another printer. I simply wanted something to print only and this was almost useless.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (77)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Canon PIXMA MG2520 Inkjet All-in-One Printer
6/27/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I cannot recommend buying this particular Canon printer because I discovered it is discontinued and purchasing the printer ink at any kind of a discount will be impossible. The printer works just fine, quality is good but fortunately, I started looking at prices for both OEM and remanufactured cartridges right away and discovered there are basically no remanufactred ones available. I have an older Canon Pixma which I also paid only $29 for at least 3, possibly 4, years ago around Black Friday and I still have a very large choice of where to purchyase the best deal in my ink cartridges. I thought this older printer had broken but then discovered it was a defective printer cable causing the problem. But I was going to keep the new Canon anyway and give the other one away till I found out it is discontinued and the ink will come only from Canon or Walmart (at Canon prices) so WAY too expensive. So I ended up returning the prinjter and just buying a new printer cable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (309)No (102)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for beginners and professionals
4/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought this as my first printer because my highly skilled hightech friend said even a none tecky such as myself could make it perform like a pro. The price was spooky to me because how could something with such a low price be anything but junk??? WELL other than having to call Canon because I can't read for myself that this printer will only print photo's 4x6 and 5x7 with a border and I was feeding 8x10 paper and cussing my friend and Canon for my issue...WELL I am old and this is the first printer I've owned so that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it! Now with some fresh air to my brain and alot of great customer support and understanding I now agree with my friend this little thing doesn't have all the bells and whistles some people may want but it is 1 heck of a dandy printer/scanner and after my call to Canon and the less than 5 minutes it took the guy to kindly cure my ignorance (5 minutes from the time I dialed the phone to problem solved....unheard of in today's world) I will always own a Canon printer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (158)No (40)
Report
Was this review helpful?
wonderful for price comes with ink.
5/18/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Order this online. Picked it up next day. Paid 29 total. Came with ink. Popped cd in her xp dell. took about 10 mins for it to upload everything. At first yellow did not print but was just a little stuck as i went to paint and painted a few yellow streaks and it did then print. Must have just needed a min for in to get going. Was a little nervous at first when the test sheet did not print yellow but it resolved its self in just a min. everything worked great. Pulls one sheet of paper at a time does not bunch up. Was looking for ink for our old hp. went with whole new printer instead very glad I did. I will be throwing my other old hp printed away and buying a second for my house. Very happy with this printer scanner seems to be better then old hp was as well. Can not be beat for less then 30 bucks. I am hard to please and expect thing to work well. This printer did and if I give something the thumbs up then I would suggest you buy it. Hard to please lady that was please with this printed. Wonderful choice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a great deal!
1/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
I went to Walmart to get some ink for my old Lexmark printer/scanner and they were out. So I figured I'd check the printer/scanner section while I was there as I have needed a new one for awhile now. I was pleasantly surprised to find this Canon PIXMA MG2520 for $39; which was less than the ink would have been for my Lexmark and I even got the 2 year plan (warranty). And I also found out the ink is less than the Lexmark's was, as I also bought a spare black ink cartridge for the Canon, even though it came with both the black and the color. I would have bought an extra color too, but they were out! So I went home and hooked it up in no time and used my old USB cable that worked just fine with the Canon. I'm very pleased to have a new printer/scanner now and it's nice to be able to put a stack of paper in the holder again, as my Lexmark got to where I could only do one piece at a time and half the time didn't work without having to mess with it. I recommend this Canon PIXMA MG2520 to everyone and hurry in while they still have them!! :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1372)No (213)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great and inexpensive printer
5/15/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When our old printer died due to dust and living in the southwest US, went to walmart and found this Canon printer. It's inexpensive, does a GREAT job of printing as well as scanning and the ink cartridges lasted a little longer than i expected them to. The ink for this printer however, to replace the cartridges, is more expensive than just buying a whole new printer every time. Look at the pricing for the Canon ink cartridges: 245-black ($16.99) and the 256 tri-color ($20.82) at a total replacement cost of $37.81 plus tax. It's actually more economical to just buy a new printer every time and restock the electronics shelves at your local thrift store... Even at the original $39.99 price, it's comparable and you have a brand new printer without clogged jets or wear plus there's the warm fuzzy feeling that you've added more plastic to the earth. That's my biggest complaint; why the ink cartridge prices are so high in comparison to the printers they go into.. it's just so wasteful saving money by buying a whole new printer every time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (540)No (114)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't forget the cord.
9/12/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The printer is labeled as, 'all in one wired ink jet printer' it comes in a box. With one ink cartridge for the colored and the black. It wasn't till I turn it on that I realized that it is also wireless. And has to use the Internet. I have no Internet. So I had to go and find a connection cord for it to go to my laptop and ordered one. Which the cord itself on average costs $8-$30-$60. I have also found out that it would probably be best for anyone who types a lot, and prints a lot, to get the larger ink cartridges. Which averages $18-$21 for 1 of the regular size and $22-$30 for 1 of the larger sizes. It can get pricy oddly for ink. Not as bad as the larger ones. It is also tricky at first on figuring out completing the head alignment. Once you got it down it is pretty easy and exceedingly handy when or if a child or dog accidentally knocks it over. And so far it has not let me down. Glad that I have finally been able to print my stories out!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for occasional letter writing or copying ....
1/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I used to do a lot of daily printing, (approximatly40 - 50 pages a day). If I had to do that with this printer, it would never happen. I don't know how easy it is to set up, because someone did it for me. But once it's set up, it's very easy to use. This is a good printer if you have to write an occasional letter or a spread sheet NOW & THEN. It is VERY noisy, even on the quiet setting. I haven't had any problems scanning or copying, but it does use the ink up VERY quick. I found an old picture of my Mother and made a copy of it. IT CAME OUT BEAUTIFUL!!! That made it worth every penny! For $4. extra, I got a two year extended warranty. Hopefully I won't need it, but for $4. you can't go wrong. But don't try to register on-line, when they ask for your zip code, they only gave options of Canadian codes. By phone they were extremely polite and helpful Other than that, like everyone else is saying, "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR" I'm not disappointed, because I didn't expect much, it's perfect for what I need . . .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (126)No (57)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Money saved on printer spent on ink
2/5/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very affordable and compact printer. I was initially impressed with the simplicity in both the appearance and the the set-up procedure for this printer. However, after using the printer for a few months, I have a bit more understanding. First, the scanning software seems limited and saving images is not very streamlined. When I scanned some of my artwork, it yield much loss in the detail with the simple way to adjust the issue. The software seems confusing, does not prompt you to save the image in the usual way other such programs I've experienced. I have been purchasing only the black cartridges and have purchased 2 cartridges for $20 each in this past month alone, just for basic household use (printing forms and documents). Maybe all printers are similar in this regard of low yield per cartridge. It is only a fraction cheaper than to print at the library (10 cents a copy) but much more convenient and quicker than printing at the library, which is why I feel it is fair to give this product the average rating.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (123)No (55)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Company
1/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Is the printer perfect. No of course not. It is available at a wonderful price. You can print black and white and in color. It is a scanner. Because it is a scanner you can also you it as a copier! Now when I moved into my new apartment my printer got knocked around while moving I am sure. Shortly after I moved I couldn't even get it to turn on. Being the type of person I am, when I couldn't get it to work I looked at the instructions that it came with, and called then number to speak to someone to see what I could do to fix it. Oh my Gosh! Best idea I had ever! When he found out that I hadn't even had the printer for a year. He got my information and Canon sent me a new one! I sent them the one that stopped working and I guess I would looking at it to see what went wrong. My advice this is a great company and it is a wonderful printer. Always keep all the information that comes with your products because if you really have a problem with the product contacting the company is the best way to fix it. Good companies do what they can to resolve the situation.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (182)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty awesome printer for the price
8/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I actually bought this printer on short notice because the print heads on my other one were shot. The print heads for that printer were $65 each and, unfortunately, I needed two and just did not feel like paying that much. I was working on some last minute business stuff at home and needed to be able to print in color. I found this online for $29 so it was a steal. I did the pay online and pick up in store, which worked great. Only cons for me: I had hoped it would have wireless connectivity but it does not. It also does not have the fax capability either, but that's OK, my old one is still plugged in for that. I mainly use it for printing in color since I have a laser printer for black and white but I am thoroughly impressed with this little printer thus far. I can't say I have tested it for photos, only for simple print jobs. If you are looking for something inexpensive that does a pretty darn good job, this is a great printer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bundle for the price
3/11/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I spent 2 weeks researching printers from a wide variety of stores. I wanted an All-In-One that was reasonably priced. I also had to have a white one, I have vision problems, and black is too hard to work with. The controls on printers are so small! So I finally settled on this one, I liked the bundled price, better than other stores for this model. I was afraid it would be larger than my old one, but it's a bit smaller, fits in the spot nicely, I had trouble installing it, took a while. But I finally got it and so far it's cool. Haven't printed much; just installed it yesterday. I notice that while it has some cool features, they must be accessed via computer, not available from the printer directly. Not even a Menu. The thing I would have liked most is a direct USB port to print without having to use the computer. Bottom Line: for the money, this was a good buy, and I hope it will bring me many tears of service!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (125)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641780, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-